(2008/10) Oct 2008

forest, your mum and bro so funny. This kind of thing bet is still 50-50 chance mah... haha!

Now I also have to wait for detailed scan to see the gender. Aiyoh, 3 weeks to go... hehe!

I also had chee cheong fun and yam cake for brekkie today.

littlebluey, must we show anything at the library to prove that we are preggers so as to get the baby journal? Nowadays library quite rich hor... must be all the fines that I paid for my overdue books. Hahaha!

ladies, I went to isetan sale this morning. Hehehe! No time to really shop, just grabbed the food warmer, thermos flask and the pigeon steriliser then paid and left. It was really crowded at such an early hour. *faint*

<font color="0000ff">Mint,

Dunnit leh, just tell the counter staff that you want to obtain the bb journal. Think the staff was not convinced that I was pregnant then she told me the terms, then I tell her I'm currently expecting due in Oct, then she let me fill up the form lolx...

U got the steriliser! Quite a good buy, did u see alot of pple grabbing it, my fren oso want to buy it
Such sales surely alot of pple de, thot of going to look see but I'm not isetan member leh hahahaa ;p</font>

Mint
Wow! So early went to Isetan sales liao! Good for you!

Mummies with kids/nieces/nephews
Anyone bought crocs shoes for your darlings? There is a bulk purchase going on and I'm thinking to order a pair of shoes for my son cos he will be 1 yr in another 3 months' time. However, have no idea what is the smallest size

Rachel's mom, my sis mayb juz preggie too (she got a vy faint line on her test strip) so my bb &amp; hers mayb only 3mths diff in age wor.

So tat will means my mom &amp; the maid have to take take 2 bb &amp; a 2yr old...stress loh.

Will c how bah, my sis is gng to test again by next week.

did u check b4 the pricing for nanny (baby sitter)?
i heard is abt $700, if abt this price then not much diff with infant care leh..
and i thk infant care ll provide better care &amp; education for bb bah, how do u thk? as i often see those nanny bring baby go downstair coffeeshop or anywhere they go and just feed there dunno the milk still warm or not loh.

please advice me if i m wrong

littlebluey, Ok, I will try to ask the counter staff... I'm not surprised that they are not convinced cos now our tummy not big enough yet not small so sometimes look fat rather than pregnant. Haha!

The steriliser still have a lot. I think if you go tmr still will be able to get it.

bbgoh, I paid $149 for the steriliser then got additional discount with isetan card.

mousebb, didn't really get to shop much. I reached there at 8.30am. Done shopping at 9am. Really grab and go lor.

bbgoh, nanny so ex now? Last yr pricing is ard $500 lei (my friend's &amp; cousin's kid in punggol) but I heard location also affect the rate.

Yah, I also don't really like nanny. Coz there's once when I went to pick up my cousin's gal, I saw the nanny juz let her sit in a low bb chair &amp; placed it near the window. Juz let her sit there alone &amp; stare outside the window while she go abt doing her own things. I think this is worst than child care.

mint,
ya lor.. my family quite cartoon i guess.. hahaha..

wow, u bot so many stuff.. seems like a good deal, cos u still get the member discount... i still dunno which steriliser i shd buy leh... hmmmm.... :S how did u mummies decide on which to get huh???

Mint,
thanks for info.. when the isetan sales end?

JJmom,
last time went clinic see doctor got a nanny bring the baby loh, then got kaypoh auntie ask her so i overheard hehe but 700 maybe is for stay overnight one, nvr go &amp; chk leh.. ehmm i stay at AMK, maybe have to ask my MIL check for me le..

<font color="0000ff">Mint,

My fren is keen, isetan card got additional discount?? so wat's the final discounted price? I alrd got the avent one from the last robinson sales le ;p</font>

<font color="0000ff">Babysitter,

Current mkt rate is going from abt $500 - $600 (day care) $700 (overnight) with some nannies charging additional $50 for solid food when the baby reach 6 mths of age. So it all depends, not all babysitters are black sheep lar, there are some good ones ard, if really want to engage one hv to go and see the environment and find out more about the caregiver

my coll got this nanny for 1.2k..ex hor? its only day care..but this nanny cooks for the family during dinner..but dat doesnt not includes marketing

lili, yah loh, infant care vy ex hor. My sis is saying getting a maid more worth it wor...hahaha, 7-11 care.

yah loh, my mum also suggest me get a maid but getting a maid must at least got 1 family member at hom.
my pil both got work so day time nobody at hom de
so either nanny or infant ctr only loh

<font color="0077aa">mousebb</font>, my girl has a pair of crocs minnie mary jane. i bought her size 4/5. the smallest sizr in store is 2/3. how long is ur son's feet??

<font color="ff0000">jjmom</font>, wah.. faint line ah. maybe is pregnant liao. early stage. when i missed my menses in january for 4 days. my result oso a faint line. tat was becoz is only 4 weeks pregnant.

or Y not u employ a maid? then put ur baby &amp; maid there with ur mum in the day time.

<font color="0000ff">Trace</font>, $1200K!! so ex!!

<font color="aa00aa">lili_fc</font>, ya $800.00 is ex leh.

i think for babysitter hor... different housing area got different charges oso. for instance jurong area, i know the mkt rate here is ard $500-$550. once on solid food extra $50. there are quite alot of babysitters here in jurong.

<font face="tahoma"> hello ladies

today's topic on babysitter huh? for myself, i shd be hiring a maid to help my mum and my mum will still be the main caregiver. </font>

Rachel's mom, dunno lei, 1 maid already making us headache at times, put 2 maids together...dunno will it be hell more than help boh.

Sigh...think we will have to take it as it goes for now bah...c how later.

Thanks for your kind advise

I am hiring a filipino maid through recommendation. Bringing her in myself without agent. Hope she is as gd as recommended. But I also cant trust her with the bb entirely. Still nd to work out if my mom or in-laws can help. Altho my inlaws live next door, they have 3 kids to take of already...dunno if they can cope...... sigh.

Ladies - for those w moms/inlaws help, how much do you give them with the helping of taking care of yr bb / child? Is $500 too much or too lil?

Lilbluey - I ate rice w veg and meat lor... actually these days I crave for an kind of noodles...

Littlebluey,
yes yes.. i had claypot noodles... sour plum drink.. followed by a tomato + celery + carrot juice... :p

Ruffles,
how much are u paying your filipino maid... my part time maid is returning to the philippines, and i did think of bringing her over to help if we couldnt cope... but we calculated, and we can definitely not pay her enough like what she's getting now working part-time in SG..

i also have not worked out how much to give my mum for helping me.... sigh... dont wanna give her too little either...

<font face="tahoma"> hi bbgoh,
very close! my add shows ave 6 but actually it's nearer to ave 3

i think rachel's mummy also staying in AMK.

hi littlebluey,
how's lunch? i had pork chop today

<font color="0000ff">jjmom</font>, ya maid can give you headache one. sianz hor...

<font color="ff0000">littlebluey</font>, yo!! afternoon. taken lunch le. you??

<font color="0077aa">forest</font>, ur fruit juice like very nice wor.

<font color="aa00aa">mspiggy</font>, i stayed at jurong east wor.

<font color="119911">Phtanus</font>, do u live near toh guan? think ard there got alot of baby sitters.

can i join..me EDD is in early Oct though doc say i might delivered early. So now normally i am looking at both Sept/Oct thread heehee

Wanted to know if anyone got CL to recommend me..
Me jus call 2 CL , both not free to do for me.
If you have known of good ones, please pass to me ..thanks thanks!

Also phtanus,icylemon
Me also staying in Jurong area, (jurong west) amd also looking for bbsitter..any good recommendation

<font color="ff0000">mousebb</font>, think too big for him. 2/3 maybe juz nice.

my gal is abt 12cm. 4/5 is abt 15-16cm.

tonite i go home measure. tmr cfm with u again.

forest - I agreed to pay her S$350 per mth with 1 day off per mth. No PT work allowed on offdays. Heard it is the std rate now. IF your PT maid is gd, why not ask her if she is keen to help u. You dun hv to train her again. I cld not go for Indon maids cos I cant speak Indon / Malay.

Am trying to budget the amt of $$ that will be spent mthly with bb lor.

Anyone knows how much we will spend on diapers mthly if use Pampers Premium daily? Dun intend to get those washable ones cos scared maid dun wash it cleanly and water bills also go up leh....I hope I can bf totally too so that will 'save' some milk powder $$ at least for the 1st yr and help me bond with bb lor...

hi <font color="0000ff">LIM</font>, welcome.

my EDD oso early oct. i oso think i will pop during end of sept.

me staying at jurong east area. not too sure abt jurong west area.

Hi JJmom,

Instead of hiring 2 maids, why not put the 2yo into full day childcare? Since she is big enough liao, gd for her to go and mingle with other kids and learn something new. Rather than stay at home all day. They teach some music, english, chinese, stroy telling etc at childcare.

Hire 2 maids may not be a gd idea coz if either maid is not gd, it can "influence" the other, like own hp, chit chat all day long etc..

Then the maid and ur mum can care for the 2 babies. Just a suggestion

Rachel Mum
Thanks very much!
Me too, think will pop by end sep leh cos I'm likely to go for c-sect again which my gynae will usually arrange at week 38,

<font color="0000ff">Ruffles,

$500 is quite a reasonable amount, I believe your mum dun look at the $$ factor lar, it's her grandchild after all. The most when the bb is older and when it comes to solid food, maybe can top up abit more.

Wat noodles u crave for??

Forest,

U had so much to drink! hahahahaha

Mspiggy,

I had pasta + pizza hahahaha oops!</font>

Rachel's Mummy,
hehehe.. ya ya.. its nice.. def v cooling in this hot weather..

btw mummies, does Tangs or Taka carry any baby stuff??

Ruffles
When my son was still a newborn, I only let him wear pampers (those yellow packaging one) during night time or whenever we go out. As for day time, we used fitti premium. Agreed with Rachel Mum, it's very exp leh. We usually changed his diaper like 3 hourly...

<font color="0000ff">Ruffles,

If you intend to use only the brand Pampers, would suggest you can consider getting them from medical shops, my fren told me they sell it cheaper! I think when the baby comes along, then we will feel the pinch, now still the tip of the iceberg only hahahaha ;p</font>

For mummies who bought Medela PIS, how much you pay for the Medela PIS? heard there's 2 model (2007 &amp; 2008). which is good?

Also, slingbag / backpack is good?

Rachel's mom - ya I heard Pampers Premium v ex leh...but gd w no leakage. Shd we stock up any NB pampers or S size pampers or what the hosp gives will be enuff?

BF - Ya I hope I can lor. A lot of sacrifice and nd to educate my inlaws (if they taking care) to use my expressed bm cos my SIL did not bf cos she say she got no milk wor...

Lilbluey - Hee ...i like maggie mee w soup, dry chilli mee pok (the one at bedok simpang), and the joo chiat wanton mee (fei fei). I dun live near these noodles places and actually hv HB drive me down every wkend for them!

Hi Ruffles,

I m paying my mum $600 for taking care my girl, + one month bonus on CNY + tour (once a year) max 1K. And i m going to hire a maid to help her when 2nd one pop out. My mum is off on Sat and Sun.

Ruffles
Diaper
Jus a suggestion,
initially the 1st 3month, maybe u can use a cheaper brand such as fitti or huggies cos BB poos very often so is kind of waste.
At night then u use the Pampers Premium or Mamo Poko, then at least can hold longer. It cheaper this way.

Pamper Premium -> 50Ct or more per piece if i remember correctly.
So daily usage maybe is quite alot for newborn eg. 2-3hr change ,so for 18hr a day = 18/3 = 6pc
So daily cost could be $3.00!!!

Also another suggestion is dun get the newborn size unless the bb is v. v small size. Get S size else the newborn size i think the bb 1 week old cant wear liow..the thight area might be too tight

Hope it helps..

----------------------------------------------

so anyone got confinement/bbsitter to recommend ?