(2008/10) Oct 2008

forest / bbgoh - ya that's what my gynae told me. I also hv that yellow discharge. Apparently some women are more prone to it. But nothing to worry abt.

forest - bubbles ah..then I dun think I've experiencd the bb kicks yet leh..sigh. cant wait.

weoweek - am gonna take 1 more mth after the 3 mth maternity to care for my gal. Heard the bb starts to be more reactive and can lift his / her head in the fourth mth and I dunn wanna miss that. Dun wanna hear from my in-laws or the maid (horrors) that bb did this or that leh.... wld love to quit my job..but really enjoy what I am doing and the opportunity cost will be v high. DH will not entertain my shopping nds leh.... so need to support my frivolity..

Anyone know how they count the 3 mths maternity leave ah? Does it include PH and Sat and Suns? If so, we lugi right???

<font color="0000ff">Ruffles,

Maternity Leave is counted as 12 wks and not 3 mths wor, so technically we will luggi on those PH in Oct - Dec ;p</font>

Aiyo lugi big time! Oct got Deepavali, Hari Raya Puasa, Hari Raya Haji and Christmas!!! When is CNY 2009 anyone knows??

phtanus, Weoseek, lili

Ruffles
Congrats! That could be your bb's movement! My boy also very responsive to loud noise while he was still in my tummy.

Found this at the MOM website:

Public Holidays 2009

New Year's Day
Thursday
1 January 2009

Chinese New Year
Monday
26 January 2009
Tuesday
27 January 2009

Good Friday
Friday
10 April 2009

Labour Day
Friday
1 May 2009

Vesak Day
Saturday
9 May 2009

National Day
Sunday*
9 August 2009

Hari Raya Puasa
Sunday*
20 September 2009

Deepavali
Sunday*
15 November 2009

Hari Raya Haji
Friday
27 November 2009

Christmas Day
Friday
25 December 2009

* The following Monday will be a public holiday.

The date, 15 November 2009, for Deepavali needs to be checked against the Indian Almanacs when they become available towards the end of 2008. Should there be a change in date, the Ministry of Manpower will announce it towards the end of 2008.

Looking at the Public Holidays 2009, seem like for those who are working, can have super long weekend next year liao.

<font color="0000ff">Ruffles,

Quite hard to map my leave wor, was told that I've to take full 3 mths ML else they cant get a contract staff in to help cover.

how many days in advance b4 our EDD u all will to take ur ML?
i m trying to work till delivery if possible, hope to use more ML after delivery so can spend longer time with bb

bbgoh
Towards the end of your pregnancy, you can ask your gynae to give you mc so you dont need to start your ML or waste your annual leave mah.

littlebluey
you are right on calculating the ML..
based on my edd 3 Oct, i will be back to work in 3rd wk of dec... and likely take AL till Jan cos' bb only have seat by Jan. sob sob

Wow, this thread really moving very very fast.

Breast pumps, I just saw from this website www.breastfeeding.org.sg that you can try out their demo pumps there. This might give you a better idea which pump to choose before you commit

Maternity Leave is counted as 86 days including all the PHs and weekends. We are quite lugi especially the Dec month. I'm thinking of taking 2.5 mths, go back to work in early Dec and then take another 0.5 mth in Jan as my gal will be going to pre-nursery in Jan 09. So tot can take leave to accompany her for the inital journey. Still planning.

I won't take ML before delivery unless my gynae specify I can't go to work.
But I think she will give me MC for tt.

mousebb,
thanks for ur gd idea huh.. but dunno my mc ll used up or not leh, i only have 14days mc &amp; this yr evr mth go gynae check up alrdy use up. hope in the end still got left bah

wow, i didnt know that our ML is counted as 12 weeks only... we really lugi alot leh.. cos all the hols at second half of the year starts in Oct....

im also thinking of keeping my annual leave and taking them after my ML.. still planning and also need to get approval cos' that might mean, i'll be away for up to 4mths...

Wah biang... you mommies are posting madly! So fast! Panting again...

mousebb - CONGRATULATIONS!!! phew!!!

phtanus - the promotion is off now, but may be back again, so i'll constantly check and let you know once it's on again k?

All - yes I'm early again today
And yes I have a wonderful boss who happens to be a guy whose wife had just given birth last year

whitepaper,
wish i have your kinda boss... does he wanna recruit pregnant woman?? hahahahahahahahahahahahahah... my boss is female, but yet isnt as understanding... sigh..

whitepaper
No wonder your boss is so understanding! That's why I always prefer to have a male boss than a female one.

<font color="0000ff">Lili,

When will the infantcare have vacancy for your bb? Early Jan? Dec got alot of holidays so I think u dunnit to take alot of leave, else now start saving leave

jasminetea
i was thinking along that too... take 2 mth ML &amp; 1 mth in Jan. Already talk to my RO, need me to check further details. BB can only go infant in Jan 09.

where's your infant ctr?

littlebluey
vacancy only open in Jan 09. they will let me know if Dec 08 still have vacancy if i confirm immediately.. once confirm means i will have to pay deposit liao.... sob sob

jasminetea

lili
yap. Upon confirmation, infant care centre will ask for 1 month fee + desposit (deposit no subsidy). But as what Littlebluey said, there are a few days holidays in Dec, so if really no vacancy, then you just take leave lor. No choice mah. Dont worry too much.

everafter,
I am in my 15w+, EDD is end of Oct. I think Mid Jul still ok, as long as you dun miss any class lo. In fact many ppl prefer to start later, as worry they cant remember the lesson taught when approching due date.

whitepaper,
Thanks! U must take care urself also, dun keep visiting the shop just to check for me k? Hee...
I also want to join ur boss lay!

Phtanus, wah im 18wks+ right now leh..my EDD is 12-Oct and i still start the class later than u. But when i called TMC, the lady says its ok to start in Jul when i told her my EDD.

everafter,
Think we spoke to diff gal, mine more kiasu maybe! Ya, I also find that is ok to start sometime in Jul, in fact, I am considering to start later lay. I will in my 20w+ only by end of Jun, by the time I finish the class, only abt 26-27w. Still have abt 10w b4 delivering. Will check with them again when i go down this Sat.

mousebb,
Congrats on the good news!

I am also wondering how does bb's movement feel like. Sometimes I thought I feel something moving, but maybe its gas. Haha. Anyway, I am 16weeks today.

What kind of maternity pants did you all buy? Those V-kind that sits under the belly or those that cover the belly?

whitepaper,
what a pity!! hahahahaha..

ooohhh, i think i just felt bb move.. felt ripples at lower abdomen... but sometimes, i can dont feel anything for days...

pinkimum,
i bot those elastic ones, so i can fold it down n it sits under the belly... those V-ones doesnt suits me.. as if i tighten the waist adjustable band.. i get lotsa gathers at the back.. n thats not v pretty.. :p

TraCe,
pls ask n let me know.. i also dont itch.. and my appt is end of the month.. just curious if i have to go for checkup now.. hmm..

forest,
Yeah, I had the V-ones and realise not pretty at the back. I got to wear a long top to cover the gathers. Those elastic ones, is it tight at the hip? So when belly becomes bigger unfold to cover the tummy?

pinkimum
Thanks! For maternity pants, I prefer those that sits under the belly cos as the tummy gets bigger, it would be quite uncomfortable to wear those that cover the belly.

Wah! tht's really ex!! Didn't know infant care is so expensive, somemore talk abt asking couples to pro-create in the end all the misc exps are so high!! hmmm...concuss -_-</font>

littlebluey
yes, i compare 2 infant ctr near my place. 1st ctr cost $600 &amp; 2nd ctr cost $800 (both after gov sub). But concluded 2nd ctr cos it's nearer to my new pl and 1st is rather inconvenient even if we have a car.
Cos' after work, i try to pick up bb myself, if really can't, then hubby pick. sob sob... no $$ liao..

trace, good luck for your checkup. Keep us posted.

forest and littlebluey, I talked to my bb leh. All along I kept getting a feeling that it was going to be a boy and I have been telling my hubby that. Then the night before, I told him that I would prefer a gal. So today when cannot see the gender, I was so disappointed. Hubby said must be I keep changing my mind about what I want so bb decide to keep me in suspense longer. Aye! Maybe that's also why the bb wave at me. Muahahaha! Trying to tell me not time yet for me to know.

No choice lar, wat to do? hmm...in SG everything oso very ex leh...juz hv to set aside the sum and scrimp on other misc exps, that's why was telling my DH raising a child in SG really not cheap man! Everything is $ $ $ -_-""

Trace,

Update us on your next checkup ya

Mint,

U have different thots at time on having a gal/boy?? I remember the night before my checkup, I dreamt of my bb coming to me and tell me that he's a baby boy and the next day the scan shows 95% that he's a boy!! hmmm....prior to that I had several dreams about fortune teller telling me it's a boy and 1-2 dreams that it's was a gal..hahaha..;p

Bb so cute, want to play games with the mummy first ^_^</font>

mousebb,
Just now I went to a maternity wear shop here. And the locals here insist that I should wear pants that cover my tummy, else not good for the bb. And wearing pants under the tummy will restrict the bb. The saleslady even insist that I should wear those high high underwear over my tummy and was shocked at what I was wearing. There I was, puzzled and left without buying anything. Haha.

I dun feel comfortable wearing pants thats under belly cos baby hasn't move up yet so when I sit dwn the pants seems to be 'cutting' into my lower abs area...so for nw I prefer wearing those over belly kind...

pinkimum,
i normally dont cover my belly with the elastic band.. the band is a big piece of elastic band, n i usually fold it down half so it sits under the belly.. n since its elastic.. its v comfy..

TraCe,
thanks alot!

mint,
u so cute.. how come suddenly U-turn also!? my colls, family and hubby have been telling me that they think its a bb boy... so, i've been psycho into thinking it could be a boy?? but the other day.. when i felt my abdomen feeling soft, i suddenly thot bb could be a girl.. hahaahha... anyway, i will wait till detailed scan n not speculate further.. hahahaha...

my mother n brother v funny.. when they first got to know im preggie, they wanted to lay a bet together.. but both of them bet its a boy.. so how to bet huh!! hahaha

pinkimum,
hehehe.. tats normal.. u know in china, the pregnant women will always wear a piece of thing that covers their tummy or chest.. to prevent the rays from PC or TV... my china colleague asked me if i want it.. she says can buy for me!!! hahahah

hi Weoseek,

Yes I've a Dec05 bb. That thread is getting quite quiet nowadays.

The Ergo carrier is better for kids from about 5-6 months onwards. The good thing about this carrier is it can carry weight of up to 40lbs.