(2008/10) Oct 2008

bbgoh,
haizzz.. really wish to gatecrash somewhere... :p we have a server room which has a door.. the server room isnt really used now... maybe will ask IT director to let me use it?? but must ask the IT guys not to barge in.. sigh..

weoseek,
that was me asking!! thanks.. now i know how to defreeze the milk le.. :p :p

bbgoh,

i oso bought mine at the robinson sale, cost 150 bucks

they going to deliver to my mum house today coz they run out of stock when i was there

Hi Oct mommies,

Yes, weoseek is right, if u work in town u can use the shopping centre's nursing room. I even went to pump in Raffles City and China Square Shopping Centre, they do hv electric plugs for ur electric pumps too. Otherwise, try to borrow a room, storage room, filing room, cleaning auntie's room (where she kept all her mops, vaccum) etc. Or if u own a car, hide in ur car to pump, put car shades to block. Worse come to worse is to use the toilet. But like some mommies said, better to pump and dump lor, at least maintain ur supply. I tik not gd to let bb drink the milk pumped in toilet (though i heard of mommies still giving it to their bb lar).

Had bf my boy for almost 2 yrs, and my job requires me to move from client to client, had a period of time when i reali explored all possible areas to hide to pump. Worse still, some office don't hv fridge. But im glad that i hv changed job, for my #2, i can pump in peace in the nursing room and store it in my pantry's fridge

For frozen milk, i would take it out to the chiller compartment the nite before. When i wan to use it, put the milk bottle in v.hot water. Remember though, do not re-freeze milk that has been thawed. Best is to let ur bb drink freshly expressed milk, those that u pump today, keep in chiller and let ur caregiver heat up for bb nx day. Only freeze those excess stock.

Hope that helps.

hazeline,

thanks for sharing with us! at least now i have a clearer pict
initially i tot all milk must be freezed, no matter wat. but it seems like as long as i pump today n intend to give baby to drink tomolo, i can just put it in chiller

btw, if excess stock put in chiller, can last for how many days?

juz to share, i also have difficulty finding a private place to pump and toilet is out.
so i thought, mayb i'll try pumping at the staircase coz most pple wont use the stairs.
Only thing is gotta use manual pump and use a shawl to cover and must pump quickly in case someone happen to use the stairs.

whitepaper,
My work pl also have learning vision too. Am thinking to put bb when 18mth. Before resume work, will put bb at nearest infant ctr.
Breastfeeding
I will opt for manual pump instead of electric. Cos i heard electric is much painful and cant control at all.
Nursery in office
Our office have nursery for bf mummies. Have fridge too.

Didn't know Ameda electric is cheaper than Medela PIS!! Maybe will check that out! My colleague is now pumping in one of the empty room available so I would also use the room. The only thing is we need to bring ice-pack to office to bring the BM home.

Good morning Mommies!

I'm already at work

Think I'm quite lucky when it comes to expressing milk... Changi Airport is equipped with many nursing rooms lar. And my boss will be converting one of the small meeting room for the 3 preggies in our office to express milk. The meeting room will have a small fridge, comfy chairs and will only be accessible by the 3 of us.

Good morning mummies
!

Whitepaper
wow! you are very early! You are so lucky to have such a understanding boss!

Jasminetea
Totally agreed that medala PIS is a very good pump but expensive yet it is a good invest. Used that for my son also.

lili
Personally i think manual pump is quite tiring as it takes a longer time to express esp if you need to express in your office once you go back to work. Electric pump is not painful at all. It depends on which model/brand you use. Was using Medala mini electric for three days before my hubby bought the Medala PIS for me. That mini electric pump caused me to have sored nipples and even bled. I almost gave up during that time.

breastfeeding
Must try to be more discipline this round. LAst time bcos my son has G6PD and hence was hospitalised for a week therefore I had to shuffle between hospital and home every day just to keep him accompany. In the end, my milk supply wasnt very good and had to supplement with FM. I still gave him ebm till he was about 4.5months. This round, I tell myself no matter how, I must try to express every 2-3hrs to keep my milk supply coming in. If possible, would like to give my girl tbf.

Hi morning all mummies

whitepaper,
you are so early! you are working at airport?

Mousebb
do you mean Medela Pump-in-Style (PIS) - the electric one? where can buy?

lili
Yap. That's the one. I brought mine at "The First Few Years" at KKH. Initially wanted to get from TMC parentcraft but no stock and a kind lady there 'whispered' to us that we can get it from KKH at a much cheaper price. It was only last year and the price was $669. I saw it at Mums & babes also. Think you should be able to get it from those big departmental stores which have a good range of baby stuffs.

Have anyone already feel your baby movement? I am at my 18wks but still feel nothing yet. Wonder whether this is normal. Or my baby is small tat is why i cant feel anything yet?

Jeregiam
it's normal.
my last scan, i saw bb so much movement.. but don't feel it. maybe coming to 20wks you will feel harder...

lili_fc, yup heard abt tat. but think the carrier is not cheap. i used MOMS IN MIND de pouch & sarong sling.

lili
Medela PIS consists of the followings (i copy from the box):
- removable pump motor bag with pockets and carry strap
- double pump kid with personal fit breastshields
- adjustable speed and vacuum control for personal comfort
- stands to keep bottles upright - no spills
- roomy messenger bag with endless uses and adjustable straps
- colour coordinated cooler bag with ice pack keeps milk cool for 12 hours
- extra bottles with lids
- battery pak in padded case lets you pump anywhere, anytime
- AC adapter
- converts to manual pump
- sturdy work surface for on the go pumping
- 2 mesh pouches for storages

jeregiam
Dont worry cos I heard some babies are very active so they tend to kick alot causing lots of movement whereas some are inactive and therefore not so much movement. When I had my boy, he was very active and on some days can really create lots of movement. This round I'm expecting a girl, I feel that the movement is not so much liao. If you are worry, you may want to check with your gynae and see what he/she advices you.

mousebb
thanks so much for the Medela PIS....
maybe will consider to grab a manual first to see if have milk supply or not... if don't have, wait buy so expensive one... i cry.

lili
I remember last round when I went for my antenatal class at TMC, Mrs Wong advised us not to get the breastpump first (at least not until discharged from hospital) cos some breasts 'required' a very good pump but for some, any other pumps also work perfectly well. In fact, Medela PIS was recommended by one of the midwives in TMC.

For info, if you intend to get breastpump at TMC parentcraft, they do have this business like you buy the pump from them and after 6 months later, you can sell it back to them at a lower price and they would then sell these 2nd hand pumps to other mummies who need it but not particular for a brand-new one. They also have special discounts on the breastpump for in-patients.

hazeline,
thanks for the great info!

whitepaper,
wow you are early again today! and you have such a nice and wonderful boss... i think i'll b frowned upon for making requests, but i dont care.. my co. is prob one of those around which are still not very pro-employees...

lili,
whats the Ergo Baby Carrier? :p

Rachel's Mummy,
and what's the MOMS IN MIND de pouch & sarong sling?? :p

Hi beary,

From wat i read, milk in chiller for not more than 48hrs. If u tik u dun need it within 48hrs, juz freeze it lor.

I hv personally tried Avent manual and PIS. Find the manual one v.tiring as my hand got to keep pumpin and sometimes nothing came out but my hands still got to continue pumping. But i hv heard many gd reviews on Avent pumps though. Many of my frds and colleag swear by it, they did comment that initially it is v.tiring but aft a while they got used to it and the milk flow is v.fast. I hv personally seen them coming out from the nursing rooms with a big bottle of milk within 30mins while mine is still a miserable half bottle.

One way is to borrow/rent a pump to see which one suits u 1st. Otherwise, buy the manual one 1st since it is only abt $80 (can be cheaper during sale) rather than investing in a $700 machine. Alternatively, if u are not particular abt 2nd hand pump, buy a PIS from Yahoo auction which cost abt half the price of a brand new one

Mummies with kids
I dont know what happened to my son but these few nights he couldnt sleep well and would wake up crying badly. Nothing we do can comfort him. Dont know was he having nightmare but how can he be having nightmare for so many nights? Should we bring him to see a doctor?

<font face="tahoma"> mousebb,
could it be the weather? too hot? too cold? how old is your boy now? some babies have problem sleeping during teething periods too. </font>

mspiggy
My boy is coming to 9 months. We did on the air-con for him bcos he is very scared of hot weather, and hor, daytime also have the same problem leh when the air-con was already on.

<font face="tahoma"> mousebb,
maybe its teething... you try to check to see any white bubs "popping". it's rather painful for him... making him very umcomfy. </font>

<font color="0000ff">Zou San Everyone,

Raining heavily!! How I wish can stay home and snooze, tis morning when I woke up was asking DH how come sky still so dark and he wake me up so early lolx ;p

Whitepaper,

U are so early!! Gd to know that you have a understanding boss</font>

hi lili &amp; forest,

I've an Ergo carrier which i used on my no. 1. It's the best carrier i ever used, I've bought the sarong sling (but very bad at using it even after they taught me), and another baby carrier. But when i tried on Ergo with my boy, aiyo, so comfortable! Cos the weight of the child is on your hips rather that on your neck and back for most other carriers. Best of all is my hubby is ok with using Ergo cos it doesn't look very "womanly".

Of cos i think if you're eventually good at using the sarong sling, it's good, cos only need to carry the a long piece of cloth (which is much lighter than any carriers).

Was not able to see the baby gender during the scan last night as baby's leg was blocking the view... have to wait till detail scan on 6 June.

<font color="0000ff">Mousebb,

Did you son has too much play time activities before going to bed, if so might affect him as well. Children tend to develop nightmares when they play too much at times..maybe try to limit his playtime activities before bed, try giving a warm bottle of milk or maybe keep a small light during his zz, might make him feel more secure?</font>

Pinny
i like the ERGO carrier seem very useful &amp; confortable. how much it cost?
where u get it? on line mah?

mousebb, when baby is teething is painful on the gums. maybe ur son is teething or it mite be part of growing stage. coz i remember my gal used to do tat too. even now... some nights.

bear with it.

Littlebluey
We always keep a small light for him during his sleep. I guess it could be like what you said, he has too much play time activities before going to bed liao. Thanks for your suggestion. Will give it a try.

bbgoh,

There's a local distributor for Ergo carriers. You can call her up to check the local pricing for their carrier. It's not cheap though, if you and another other friend buy 2 together, maybe she can give you some discount. They deliver directly to your designated address. If you've friends who've Ergo, try it. But actually i think baby carriers can wait till your baby is out, then after your confinement, you do some shopping and see which suits you best. I don't mind letting you try mine, only thing is you've to come to my place to try cos i'm still on bedrest.