(2008/10) Oct 2008

jasminetea
no need "ke qi"... just pop it out & ask if he can help sometimes... i'm sure your hubby will love to do that for you.

For me, i return by ironing clothings for him lor.. heee

Littlebluey, Trace, Jess,

I come across 2 moms who DIY their placenta capsules in the other thread & got the method from them liao.

let me know if u interested, will email the method to u then.

Littlebluey,
i sure hope so... guess 1st kid.. i am really quite gan chiong.. but also cos' my gynae doesnt give so much vitamins like the rest of u.. he is more of a natural food kinda gynae.. hahaah..

Jasmintea,
hehehe.. ya, u r so ke qi... think for me.. am the complete reverse of u.. kekeke...

Exercise:

I skipped climbing stairs when I know I m preggie. But have decided to climb as normal now tat I m into 2nd trimester. & DH has been making me going for 15~30min walk ard our estate after dinner, a few nites a week.

Hope to go for yoga class if I can find 1 that is near my place.

Any1 has the antenatal parentcraft class programme details for TMC like what they teach & stuff?

I m trying to compare btw KKH & TMC? Thanks.

JJmom
after preg, i really no energy to work leh. even nw in 2nd tri huh also same. if continuos walk abt 15min lata i ll feel so tired alrdy

after rch hom i have to cook dinner & eat. then haven do washing bathing.. no time for shanbu leh

dimpletot,
Thanks. The 16week check-up here actually consists of the triple test. So now I think I will let them know that I just need a normal check-up.

So far, I only take the concentrated birdnest. Just bought some paosheng yesterday because my hubby said he wana take. So not really buy for me. Haha. Is it okie to use a slow cooker to brew the tonics instead of the double boiler thingie?

<font color="ff6000">anyone feels like their wedding rings are getting tight?

mine can still take off and put on ok, but feel they are getting tighter!

on exercise, I've been wanting to go swimming but haven't gotten round to it... now with HMFD also must be more careful...</font>

Hi jjmom2008,
Here is the details:-

Lesson 1
Physical &amp; Mental Preparation • Antenatal Exercise
• Nutrition Before &amp; After Delivery
• Myths &amp; Traditions
• Coping with Pregnancy Discomfort
• Back Care &amp; Postures
• Instructional Video
• Q &amp; A

Lesson 2
Pain Relief • Antenatal Exercise
• Physiological Approach to Breathing Relaxation
• Changes in Pregnancy Leading to Signs &amp; Symptoms of Labour
• Other Alternative Types of Pain Relief in Labour
• Instructional Video
• Q &amp; A

Lesson 3
Labour • Antenatal Exercise
• Physiological Approach to Breathing Relaxation
• Learning to Cope in Labour
• Mechanisms of Normal Childbirth
• Husband’s Role
• Hospital Tour
• Instructional Video
• Q &amp; A

Lesson 4
Practical Hands-on
Baby Care • Hands-on Child Care
• General Care
• Skin Care
• Diaper Care
• Bathing
• Coping with a Fretting, Crying Baby
• Coping with a Sleepy or Wakeful Baby
• Coping with Colic
• Instructional Video
• Q &amp; A

Lesson 5
Feeding • Breastfeeding
• Bottle Feeding
• Sterilization of Feeding Equipment
• Weaning (introducing solid food)
• Learning to Enhance your Child’s Physical &amp; Mental Development
• Q &amp; A

Lesson 6
(Doctor’s Talk)* • Husband’s Role during Childbirth
• Problems Associated with a Newborn
• The Process of Labour
• Living with the In-laws
• How to Raise a Brighter Child
• Post-natal Depression
• Back Care &amp; Postures
• Instructional Video

For more information or bookings, please call our Thomson ParentCraft at 6251 4090

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm

dimpletot: pai sei ah, so many postings until hor, i din see your question to me leh. :p

For me, I'd ask the CL a few things:
1) Ensure that the previous confinement assignment as compared to mine is 1 - 2 weeks apart so I do not get bumped if I deliver early or the previous assignment delivers late!

2) If she does cleaning (some CLs dun do basic cleaning - mopping and sweeping of floors, just dishes and laundry for mummy and baby)

3) If she cooks for Hubby (for dinners only) 'cos some CLs charge extra for this

4) What dialect group is she from (I prefer Cantonese due to cooking style)

5) If we can meet up prior so that I can at least have a face-to-face interaction and at the same time, ask her what are the things I need to prepare for her (some CLs actually allow you to drop into their current assignment to see and gauge).
Hope this is useful

Everafter: Traditional Hot Yoga (Bikram) is meant to allow the person to stretch deeper 'cos muscles relax when it is heated up. Bikram was invented where the 26 poses done in a systematic series allows you to work on the entire body and the heat helps with detoxification, hence acheiving purification.

Therefore, it is not unusual to feel giddy or nauseous if you are new to it 'cos that is apparently one of the dotox symptoms. Having said that, Bikram or ANY TYPES of HOT yoga for the matter is NOT suitable for preggie ladies ok? Same reason why we cannot do sauna / steam room. I know 'cos I asked and I am missing my Hot Flow classes already!

Pre-natal on the other end focuses more on stretching, strengthening and opening the areas which are good for child birth, particularly the hips.
If you have not been exercising for some time, you may feel muscle soreness after the first 2 classes (I did 'cos I stopped for 4 months!) but they should be those OK soreness, not sharp pain. The important thing is to take it easy and not overdo it. Listen to your body, if you can only stretch that far today, it is fine. Do not push it 'cos you need to listen and honour your body. This is esp. important right now 'cos with our pregnancy, relaxins increase and hence, our ligaments soften so we could overstretch. Go to a good school and they should know their stuff. I do enjoy my sessions 'cos after each class, I feel a bit euphoric and somehow, more energetic - could be the endorphins which are good for our babies too. Enjoy and remember, take it S-L-O-W!

<font color="0000ff">Bbgoh,

Maybe you can check with your MIL, am sure she will tell you de, or maybe she thinks that the timing is not right yet??

Jasminetea,

I think we just give and take in some ways, he cook we wash or vice versa, but sometimes too tired then am sure your DH will be most willing to assist in the washing up as well
as long as we dun take them for granted can le!!

Mousebb,

Muz take note dun take too sweet wor!!

Littlealmond,

"Pao sheng" is ok, I think medical halls now have those pre-packed tonics, all we need to do is maybe to buy some pork/chicken, add the herbs in put water and stew it...

dimpletot, mine is the other way round. put on ring ok but difficult to take out. So now i stop wearing liao :p dunno if still can fit in after delivery or not. Cos i bought a quite tight-fitting ring in the 1st plc :p still alter to make it more fitting! haha...now jialat liao

<font color="0000ff">Forest,

My gynae oso same as you leh, he prefer me to take more natural food than popping pills wor! hahaaha

Pinkimum,

A slow cooker works perfectly fine!!

Dimpletot,

I dun wear my wedding rings de so I dun feel it hahahaha ;p</font>

buffy, wow u sound like a pro in yoga! mm...gotta see if can find any class nearby my hse..cant really travel far cos always feelin tired and too much walkin makes me breathless too!

mummies...
i so wish i can take a nap now!!!!!!

Littlebluey,
yeah... so they have same school of thought.. but sometimes, really wonder if im taking enuff or not.. sigh.. btw, does any1 know if avocado juice is fine for preggies? I've taken a few times, but now thinking of it.. aint sure if its good.. hmmm..

buffy,
u really sound like a pro in yoga! so u r also taking antenatal yoga at pure yoga???

bbgoh,
im also tired easily nowadays... seems 2nd trimester i still feel as tired..

jjmom,
wow.. good that u r going for walks.. i also thot of doing that, but sometimes, by the time we finished dinner and shower.. its already late.. sigh.. think i'll ask hubby to try to go for walks with me.. take it as pak-tor-ing as well.. kekekek

<font color="0000ff">Forest

I agree with you, even though now 2nd trimester alrd but I still get tired easily and the worst is my headache never cease to make its sudden and adrupt appearance which will result me in being a merlion!!
boo hoo hooo...

Think avocado is ok, since it's very rich! I love avocado milkshake with honey and strawberries! hahaha</font>

forest / everafter:

ai yoh, so pai sei. no lah, i wish i was tat pro! LOL. just that i am really quite interested in yoga, hence i read up a lot. additionally, at Pure, it is unlimited access u see, hence, to maximise my dollar worth, when i first started, i used to try out the various styles of yoga for the experience lor. Heh...

forest: yah, am doing pre-natal at Pure. i usually sneak off a bit early during lunch time to go for the pre-natal class and then will work back the time by staying on a bit later in the evening. i just got the all-clear to alternate pre-natal with my regular classes so am really happy about it.

tell u girls something funny. before yoga, i was very into pilates and there was once i bumped into an old friend who was suddenly v toned and lean and she told me she went into ashtanga yoga. i was thinking wah, yoga looks simple leh, so fluid and graceful. i think i can do it leh... nice to look graceful and toned as well.

and so.... i signed up for one trial class with 3 other friends. my goodness!!!! no one warned me how tough it was! it takes so much effort to look so fluid and the funniest thing was the next day when we all went back to work, our arms were so darn sore that NONE, and I do mean NONE, of us were able to reel our chopsticks in towards our mouths. We had to physically lean outwards towards the chopsticks! what a laugh that was!!!! see lah, so shallow right? LOL... so hor, remember not to overdo it! Kekekekekekeke... i learnt the hard way!

Littlebluey, me signed up with TMC antenatal class for July cos hubby is not free to attend with me for the June class. Hope it wont be too late then.

Littlebluey,
yaya... strange, and in all the books i've read.. we are supposed to get back our energy in our 2nd trimester! oh no, u r still having headaches n merlion ahhh.. do take care ah!!!!!

avocado milkshake with honey and strawberries?? i only had avocado milkshake today.. shall try it with strawberries next time!! hahaha... sounds yummy!

btw, i've already signed up my antenatal class.. starting on 12 June!

buffy,
good that u r so into yoga!! i also took classes up at the sports hall few years back.. but i never kept it up... quite a pity as well, but due to inconvenience n being away for work, i missed some classes, and eventually died down.. hahahaha....

right now, really thinking if i shd do more exercises so as to aid in the labour.. but dunno what to start with and what is convenient.. since convenience is a huge factor for me now! hehehe..

littlebluey,
Thanks. Thinking if I should invest in a slow cooker and make some tonics for myself.

wedding band,
Mine still fit. My hubby is the one growing fat and need a new band. He said that he always got to finish the food that I can't finish. Haha.

<font color="0000ff">Everafter,

Won't be too late lar
Too early later forgot what is taught during class then how?? So when will your first class be starting?? u opt for wkday/wkend classes?/

Forest,

Ytd evening, went dinner with my parents, was alrd having headache since afternoon and despite trying not to take panadol and vigorously rubbing medicated oil I still never feel better! then merlion outside (but at toilet lar) tht's why now I very scared of headache once headache surely will become a merlion
cmi!! Still trying to see if any souce of food trigger off my headache -_-" *sighs*

Pinkimum,

Slow cooker is a gd investment next time u can use it to cook porridge for your bb as well

avocado is good for pregnant &amp; nursing mummies.

<font color="0000ff">from web:-
A healthy diet will give your baby a better start in life by providing the essential nutrients to grow and develop normally. Avocados can be part of a healthy diet for both pregnant and nursing mums.

Sodium- and cholesterol-free, with monounsaturated fats, avocados also have life's essential vitamins and minerals and are a good source of folate.

<font color="0000ff">from web:-
In addition, avocados are the perfect food for pregnant women. The folate in one avocado per day provides almost 30% of the recommended daily dosage and helps prevent life threatening birth defects of the spine and brain.</font>

Littlebluey, i'm only worried that by then will my tummy be too big? Now i already find it heavy to walk abt :p I opt for sun class 12.30 to 2.30pm. Its starting end July leh..

TMC antenatal class
Mine will be on 14 June, Sat 4.30pm class, anyone same as me?

Wedding band
Still can wear cos' it's loose in the first pl. haha. Purposely cater for that..

blur
thanks for such a good information abt avocado.
i like it very much, just bought 1kg yst to make juice

u all mummies ll attend antenatal class mah?

Littlebluey,
u poor thing.. maybe shd identify what u had before u get ur headache attacks?? do u see a sinseh? maybe can consider 1 if u are comfy with it...

everafter,
when's ur EDD again?? i think shd be ok, cos the classes are meant to help us thru pregnancy.. but if u r concerned, suggest u call up to check as well...

lili,
i start 2 days before u... wish i cld take sat classes as well, cos i find wkday classes a little tiring.. but cant go for wkdays as sometimes, hubby has to work..

hahaha.. my wedding band is also the same... still can wear cos we also purposely made slighter looser ones... but my hubby cant wear his le... he has put on weight since after ROM lah.. hahahaha...

btw ladies, any nice restaurants to recommend?? dating anniversary with hubby coming up, and thinking of going for a nice dinner... hehehe... ;)

blur,
thanks for the great info on avocado too!! glad that i had made a good choice in my choice of juice.. kekekeke...

<font color="0000ff">Everafter,

Your class is later than mine wor, how many wks are you along now?? Me starting somewhere mid July wor

Forest,

Am thinking maybe I shd see a sinseh too else like that headache oso nightmare, no choice ended up eat panadol then go zz very early last nite...</font>

Forest, Littlebluey, i'm 18weeks right now and my EDD is 12-Oct. When i called TMC, they asked me if i want June or July, i asked her if it will be too late for July classes but she says ok leh..

Littlebluey,
i think shd really consider seeing a sinseh.. my hubby is also v prone to migraines.. but all the western docs would recommend is a dosage of painkillers... our sinseh suspected his muscle at his spine has issues, n told him to get an x-ray done.. turns out his muscle was hardening up.. n then he started to do more neck exercises, and ba gua with acupuncture.. slowly its getting better..

dont think urs is anything close lah, but probably with the pregnancy, the sinseh can give u some tonic which helps the pregnancy and which might also alleviate the headaches...

ooohhh... i think ala-carte is better than buffet bah... thinking of nice ambience ones.. if there's good buffet, also wont mind.. any suggestions??

<font color="0000ff">Forest,

Wat about Les Amies or Au Jardin, but u will really have to make reservations to secure a place
U might want to give it a try, nice ambience!

If buffet, u might want to try the one at Ritz Carlton, Royal Plaza Scotts or Shangri-la got a good selection of food!</font>

I dun like Au Jardin leh... too expensive and food not that great. I think Buku Nero (fusion western food) is quite nice, along Tanjong Pagar Road. Or Porta Porta (Italian), near Amoy St). Cosy home like environment. Can consider...

Stroll :

Yah, actually I still get tired easily but I will still go when DH ask me to since I know :

1. he meant well
2. we may not have time to when bb is here to enjoy this kind of stroll together for awhile
3. i really do enjoy strolling with him

4. gd for bb &amp; me too
5. gd time to practice taking deep breath while strolling

Mayb can try to take a short nap b4 u go during the weekends? Tat's what i do

Weekdays, stroll after dinner also make me sleep better

TMC antenatal class
I opt for June class so that i can take the rest of Sat to sort things / buy things preparing for arrival of bb (although still early) :) i worry by 3rd tri, i might feel even tired to move around.

Littlebluey,
U don't accept PM, can I have your email addy then email the DIY mthod of placenta capsules to u later.

Jess,
Yah, tat's my main concern too. So I found out from other moms on how they DIY themselves. If u interested, will email it to u too.

But hor, DIY also got problem for me leh coz I will be doing confinement then so ask who to do for me, not a simple task leh. &amp; also the need to purchase the equipment loh.