(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="ff0000">dimpletot</font>,
u r so lucky to have very thoughful parents.

haiz...

<font color="0000ff">juz me</font>,
i used to prefer boys. but ever since i have a daugther, i prefer girls now. they seems more tian xin. boys are very active. i had alot of complaints from my friends abt their sons. kekeke...

Icylemon: my gal is born on 6/1/7. Oh dear..zodiac signs nt very impt. The most impt tin is bb come out healthy. Tis is wat my mum says 2 go childcare will be poor thing. Nw, both my parents are looking after her, so my mum sees no point 4 me 2 send my gal 2 childcare. I want my gal to explore and learn new things..sigh..Nw I enrolled her in once weekly class.

i also thot girls more kuai. esp in pri sch age time. but then i have a friend who has a very very very active girl.

she said her friend with two boys is less tired than her. i saw her girl before, really scary!

<font color="ff0000">shortcake</font>,
i sent my gal to sunday class oso. kindermusik @ tanglin mall. alo of changes ever since she attended such classes. she is more open to ppl. she loves music too.

<font color="0000ff">dimpletot</font>,
girl being so active. seldom see. ur poor friend. how is she going to cope? how old is the girl now?

Icylemon: how is the charges like?

the girl is 2 yr plus. my friend's parents take care of her. not sure whether she goes to school. But when i saw her at another friend's house, she really couldn't stay still. running everywhere. not even walking! and she's really strong. can lift up heavy things and want to touch everything. she lifted this heavy bag and threw it down! She's still very cute, but i felt tired just looking at her run around.

do you all go for your scans with a full bladder? I was only told by my gynae that i need to have "more urine" when i went for my 3ed scan last friday.

<font color="ff0000">shortcake</font>,
kindermusik class is abt $266 including GST &amp; materials.

<font color="aa00aa">dimpletot</font>,
woah! she is so strong!!

diane,
ya i was told tat by gynae too.

juz now i drop by EYS.

saw the cordyceps sellin price at $1688. my jaw nearly drop!

<font color="0000ff">Diane,

In order to have a clearer scan, it's preferred that your bladder is full. Normally, when I go for scan, the clinic assistant will ask me to drink water till bladder ready to burst hahahaha ;p</font>

hi..
yah..i din know cordyceps is soo exx..when my mum told me..i was shocked too!!
that's why in the end, the guy @ the medical hall told my mum to only brew it when i'm 5-6 months preggie..too exx to drink now...

Icylemon: I kena food poisoning &amp; went kk 's A&amp;E on 28/2. Tis is when i discovered I am pregnant. So, I went to my gyn the following sat &amp; obtained 5 days mc and nw my appetitie is < than 50% of my usual. 2day n 2molo took extra leave 2 rest @ hm.

Lilybud: Yes, full bladder.

Shortcake,
You take good care of yourself then. Appetite will come back soon, remember your folic acid and vitamins in the meantime.

thanks...no one told me leh...maybe thats why i cannot see my bb's hands and feet lor...can only see the head and body structure...ok my next scan will drink until my bladder burst also...heehee

everafter - if i am not wrong, colic means the baby will cry and cry because of wind in the stomach...maybe the other mummies can correct me if i am wrong!...heehee

Jollyhoppy,
Which part of Japan you going? Tokyo Disneyland? Me going to central part of Japan. Planned to go Universal studios at Osaka, but so many rides cannot take now cos preggy. Such a pity....

Rachel's mummy,
Sorry to hear that ur kid had colic. Must have been tough for you to cope with the crying, even tougher with the blaming hor. That's why I 'kuai kuai' now, trying to avoid any 'I told you so's later on. Hee hee

Everafter,
I think colic is when a baby cries continously for no apparent reason for at least 3 hrs a day. There's no much the doc or parents can do except to bear it out. Supposed to stop on its own by 3 mths or something.

<font color="ff0000">littlebluey</font>,
ya. my 1st pregnancy, dr adrian woodworth was my gynae. his clinic assistant oso asked me to drink water to fill up my bladder.

<font color="0000ff">jollyhoppy</font>,
ya lor. i tot is abt $100+ - $300+ per liang. $1688 my jaw drop man. if tonite i strike toto should will buy. kekeke....

<font color="aa00aa">shortcake</font>,
OMG!! food poisoning. take care gal.

everafter - i think colic is like excessive wind in the baby's stomach. makes bb very uncomfortable and crying all the time.

I am so sian at work now. late afternoons are the worst! can't wait to go home... friend went overseas and brought back krispy kreme donuts. I took one, but after eating half too jelat to continue.... now feel like sleeping!!!

<font color="ff0000">rei-chan</font>,
tat time i 1st time mummy. anything happened to my gal i will rush her to KKH A&amp;E.

now i know le. will stand by a bottle of infacol at home for the 2nd one.

<font color="aa00aa">everafter</font>,
like wat diane &amp; re-chan said. is like wind in the stomach. babies feel uncomfortable. but not all babies will have colic. but is very common tat babies have colic.

some serious cases of colic will last a few hours. is either happened in the day or night. if night, get prepared to have sleepless night. tiring.

Colic,
Ok, here's what it's says abt colic from this book What to Expect: The First Year. From the same authors of What to expect when you are expecting:

* At least 3 hrs of crying a day, 3 days a week, for at least 3 weeks.
* Begins around 2-3 week after birth, diminsh by 12th week.
* Eating and sleeping patterns upset because of the crying
*1 in 5 babies may have it (OMG!)
* No apparent reasons to have cause colic but a few possibilities are
1) Sensory overload from the new environment
2) Immature digestion (gassy baby)
3) Smoking in the household
4) Milk supply problems
5) Parental anxiety

Important thing to note is that babies with colic do not turn out any worse than babies without colic. I think it's the parents or caretakers who have it tough when they have a screaming non-stop baby on their hands. Let's all keep our fingers crossed!!!

Hi Rei-Chen,
we'll be gg to tokyo &amp; osaka. gg to disneysea cos DH is not a thrilling ride kinda person..so he was glad when found out that i was preggie..so he dun have to take the rides..mmmmmm....

Icelemon,
really exx to "bu" my cousin say bird nest (later stage) @ least more reasonable, at least you eat the bird nest..but definately not the "dong cong cao" heee

I m using B-free bottle and so far my 1st one doesnt have colic problem so i intend to buy additional bottle for my 2nd one.

Just to highlight that, you need to burlp you bb at least half an hour after every feed. It helps to prevent colid for bb as well - tip for 1st time mummies.

<font color="ff0000">jollyhoppy</font>,
i ate EYS bird nest for my 1st pregnancy. those bottle form one which can last abt 2 weeks. each time eat abt 1 teaspoon.

<font color="aa00aa">jess</font>,
i oso heard B free bottle is good. but not cheap right? i m still using avent.

diane,
finally i got the book from borders just, yeah!!

all,
do you sleep normal "up" or "side" already? i feel uncomfortable sleeping at side. anyone experience that?

rachel's mum,
i heard of this bird nest , 2 bottles in a pack. 1 bottle can last 14 days. how much? where you got it? what's that brand call? good?

lili_fc: i've been trying to sleep on my side but like wat u said, it's quite uncomfortable! I couldn't sleep well so sometimes i don't bother n just sleep on my back!

hi jasminetea,

Did you bring your girl to the disneyland in hongkong? how was it? i heard long queue for the ride. How many days did you spend in hk?

btw, did u bring your pram along? I am getting a lighter stroller now to bring to japan :p mine is super heavy!

i like sleeping curled with a bolster on my side, so not having too many problems... only feel achy these days... looking forward to massage!

anyone have flu and cough during pregnancy? Any good ways of curing it? I had medicine from Dr woody but no signs of recovery. It's been 5 days. Really feeling terrible. Worried that the bad cough will affect the baby's development.

Hi lili_fc,

hurray!..Happy reading!!

I have habit of sleeping on my tummy since young...but now when i try to sleep on tummy...feel vey uncomfortable and bloated. So will try to sleep on side. I remembered someone in this thread said we shld sleep on left side because the blood circulation is better.

So maybe we shld try to do that lor

Hi Precious

1 of my friend was sick for 1 mth during pregnancy...flu and v bad cough...she refused to take the medicine by doc ..scared will harm the bb....i think maybe u shld try to take more vit C and eat more citrusy food. Hopefully it helps a bit.

<font color="ff0000">lili</font>,
i normally sleep on my left.

as for the bird nest, izzit lao hang jia??

<font color="0000ff">shortcake</font>,
if i m not wrong hor... kiddy palace got sell le. tat bottle is really not cheap but very effective.

precious,
during my 1st pregnancy i had this problem. drug allergy esp to painkillers, will coz me to have swollen eyes. so when ever i have sickness i will try to tahan not to eat any pill. but sometimes is really very sick then bo pian.

i was like ur friend scare the medication will harm the baby.

Precious...I had very bad cough and flu 2wks back...didn't dare to take much medication except for lozenges (Tussil to stop persistent cough) prescribed by my GP...only take for 2 days or so till my cough's nt persistent n I stopped....dun dare to take more...till tdy still slight cough and lots of phelgm...granny says nt to take grapes and oranges as it'll increase phelgms...

yes, B-free is good and its bottle is anti-toxin and anti-xxxx 'cant remember the word' which is harmful to bb. Remember there was a news on TV few weeks ago saying most of the local milk bottle contains "xxxx" and the harmful chemical will leak if you steam the bottle ? B-free is free from tat. And it helps to prevent colic as well.

But bad news, b-free already closed down the business as Dr Brown sues them by stealing their design. So they closed B-Free and start another company called Born free ;P. Funny hor...

The price for one bottle ard $16..if i m not wrong.

Hi Rachel's Mummy,

Yes, me too. I also scare medicine is harmful to bb and resist taking any medicine even from gynae. I remember i was having terrible headache during my 1st pregnancy and pain unti wanna to dead...*haha* i still say "NO"...haha...abit silly hor...

Just for information.

I found Metro at Paragon has many B-free stuffs...like tube, teats, bottle and etc.
If you cant find in kiddy palace, can try your luck there.