(2008/10) Oct 2008

i like yakult and meiji yoghurt.
vitagen also nice, but feel it's slightly milkier...

Hi mummies...

Pinkimum, oh i see... so now can try that drink for MS. Keke!

Mummies, today went chinese medical hall and enquire about cordyceps... When the lady told me the price... I almost faint. $500 per liang. That time when I had my no. 1, only about $300 per liang... so ex. Stick to my duck and red date soup liao.

I already tentative confirm one CL ( strongly recommended by my friend ) $1700 for day and night. Hubby says if get maid then no need CL liao.

Hi Ruffle, welcome to the thread.
I have a dream too... hahaha! I dreamt a woman squatting beside me telling me that she is going to due soon and suddenly her waterbag burst and I delivered for her. Then I carry the baby girl and run away... Dunno y dream is one baby and reality I have twins.

Elchwong, ur hubby so funny... hahaha! I told my hubby my dreams, he says I FOC.. ( FULL OF CRAPS )

Hi JuzMe,
I had not visit Dolly yet. Too early to go now and I wouldn't be able to see anything. But she only give Folic Acid during my 1st pregnancy.

<font color="0000ff">Cordyceps' prices have steadily increased over the years as pple prized them now..not surprisingly those better grades cost that much..the other time my mum bought a box I can't remember how many "liang" but it cost abt $5k+ a box then I told my mum "wah piang, eat gold siah" *faint*</font>

<font color="0000ff">Yes, Dimplethot - so unbelievable right? when my mum told me, my eyes popped out, I was like "WHAT??!!" but becos her body is not very strong so my dad bought it for her to brew and take..but it's really too ex le!!</font>

wah... $5k can pay for the whole delivery plus maybe ante-natal consultations liao...

time is really crawling very slowly today. Am hoping my team leader won't ask me to go with him for this external meeting at 4:30pm!! otherwise i can kiss my early friday goodbye...

Juz me - Dolly put me on folic and pink vit b, i m not sure what type of vit b, but during my first preg, she did mention that if i have MS, the vit b may help w the nauseasness altho it didnt do much for me the last time

Rachel's mummy - yeah, hear alot of scary maid stories ard, I also not v keen, but have to see how it goes, maybe I really got no choice, cuz I dun want to split my kids -- one to MIL, one to Mom, cuz i want them to grow up together and play together

I think cordyceps r damn exp cuz my MIL was talking abt it last wk, but I really like the taste of the soup. I also like chicken essence taste, dunno is it I m wierd, but my SIL absolutely hates the taste of these two things.

You ladies are really funny.
Anyone without MS yet? Am crossing my fingers cos just have slight nausea. Maybe still early huh? I eat pretzels when I feel sick.

If i m not wrong. Expecting mummies are not allowed to take cordyceps....please check with the doc before taking hor...

Isabella, oh u are a hypno mum! hehehe nice to know that.
but i din get a doula, though Ginny is my trainer lah. my hubby helped me during labour. so did you end up having a drug free birth? my labour a bit too long, so i had to go for epi in the end. its been a blotch on my otherwise wonderful memories and feelings towards my birth.
so for the next one, i am going to try hypno and drug free. and also, i suspect my labour so long coz my MIL go and rub my tummy the night before! brrrrrr....the contractions started just after she did that, but it was irregular. 8 hours later it become regular. that was 4am. sigh....

Juz Me, NT Scan is part of OSCAR, with the same purpose of finding out baby's risk of down syndrome. NT Scan is the scan of the thickness of nuchal fold (NT) behind baby's neck. Oscar is that plus the the blood test to test the risk. in some hospitals or clinics, i believe they refer to it as the Triple Test if i am not wrong.

and yogurt and vitagen is fine. just stay with the low sugar vitagen... both are good for preventing yeast infection. when i was tested positive for a period of time in 1st pregnancy for strep B, i panick. besides the antibiotics, i took a lot of yogurt, Yakult lite (less sugar version, i also prefer yakult) and garlic hehee.

oh u asked about if i am taking oscar huh? yes i think i will take again for this pregnancy.

you also asked about hypnobirthing? basically i guess both Isabella and I believe in natural birth, and hypnobirthing teaches you that your body is fully capable of going through labour, birthing ur baby, naturally, drug free and without outside intervention. it teaches you to be assertive with regards to ur mommy's rights, understanding that interventive measures like induction, breaking waterbags, drip etc are all not necc if baby and mom is doing well. it basically teaches you how to respect ur birthing body, to have a relaxed and comfortable birth. for me, i intend to try it again as i wish to have the same type of pleasant memories i had of my 1st birth.

rachel's mommy, i tried natal essentials confinement food before, for the period after my CL left till 40 days (i did confinement for 40days). the food was YUMMY!!! i am going to do that again for this 2nd birth.

purebliss, ur dream is so cute!!!!! wow....hehehehe!!!!

I just visited my gynae today, kinda for the first time for this pregnancy. EDD based on size is exactly the same as what i calculated from LMP. as i have brown spotting, she put me on hormone pills...sian lah. i know hormone pills make me more moody and my nausea worse.
so sian.....

jesslee, yah, what i understand is 1st tri dun take cordyceps or any herbs. but cordyceps can take in 2nd tri...but shld stop closer to EDD coz too heaty.

ruffles,
me! me! me! i dun have much MS.

bunnyhop,
really! nice ah natal essentials food. ok. i can give it a try then.

Finally Friday, the happiest day in the entire week :p For me! Hope everyone has a fantastic weekends, full of fun and rest

hi jasminetea,
how is your planning for Japan coming? Oh, the maid sourcing, have you decided which agency to go to? We will probably visit 2 to compare, one is Nation, the other one will be Jack Focus.

littlebluey, i also tend to get very cold at night leh. nowadays i wear a jacket to sleep...maybe u can try that? i dun switch on aircon nowadays, weather so cool.

juz me and littleger hehee u girls so funny, talking about small boobs. i also have small boobs ah. but dun worry lah, towards EDD will see some expansion. else when you breastfeed sure see SIGNIFICANT expansion hahahaa. i look so well endowed for those 15mths that i breastfed hahaha. now back to small small. :p litteger but if u feel breathless, means ur underbust oredi expanding. can use bra extension...

everafter....i know what i mean. the MS really not enjoyable. esp when you feel the acid coming up and u knew u will feel like vomiting. sigh...my first pregnancy i dun feel so much acid...though i was also nauseas lah. what u can try is tell urself it will LIKELY get better after 12 weeks. reason being the beta HCG level in our blood is rapidly increasing during the 1st trimester. this hcg protects ur baby, and also kinda causes our nausea. so when i feel terrible, i tell myself my baby well protected. the hcg will level out and drop after 12 weeks, when pregnancy stabalises. thats why some mommies feel better in 2nd tri, the honeymoon period. but then of course, in the 3rd tri, stomach bigger, acid may come up again..hehehee...

Just checked out the natal essentials website and went thru their menu. Sounds so delicious! Making me hungry... snack time!

So bunnyhop, their food not too oily or salty ya?

Rachel's mommy, guess what? the part i am looking fwd to during confinement is the food! hahahaa. the food in TMC, the CL food, the food from natal essentials. what i like about natal essentials (compared to Neogarden's confinement food that time) is that it comes with tonic soup. so you get 2-3 dishes, 1 tonic soup in those traditional soup containers, and 1 flask of hor red dates tea.
but its not cheap lah. i ordered 7 days worth of meals that time, cost me around $190.

<font color="0000ff">Bunnyhop, I agree with you, indeed they say that during 1st trimester we cannot take any "tonics" yet becos later too "bu" the bb cannot tahan, so it would good to start from 2nd trimester onwards

I always buried myself under the duvet and wrapped tightly until my DH sometimes complain he's too cold becos he was unable to "unwrapped" me from the duvet muhahahahahahaha ;p...I used to zz with aircon + fan but now even with w/o fan I alrd felt cold brgh!! somemore with the recent weather laggi worse! </font>

oh sorry the $190 is only for 1 lunch per day for 7 days ah. not 2 meals like what is in the website hehee. coz that time dinner my parents cook.

Rei-Chan, i find the food not oily or salty ah... but hope you like it too hehehe. maybe to me, i love all food during confinement coz right after i give birth, all nausea immediately dissappeared and my appetite came back with a vengence!! i was eating like a PIG then! heheheee....

There are two type of cordyceps. Please check with the chinese medical hall. (1) Wild one and (2) cultivate one. Cultivate one CONFIRMED CANNOT TAKE THROUGHOUT the pregnancy.(2) WILD one need to check.

littlebluey, yah! the weather is horribly cold recently! plus my side super windy kind. i can't even stand the fan. i ask hubby to turn the fan away from me. i hate fans.

bunnyhop,
Now I already looking forward to the black vinegar pig trotters. Hahaha... every time go for dim sum, will try to order. But 1.7k for 2 meals for 28 days is kinda pricey. Must discuss with hubby first.

The only part of confinment, I'm not looking forward to is the 'cannot wash hair' rule. I 'ren' for 1 week, in the end, I was so miserable that my mum boiled some special herbal water and helped me washed my hair. I felt like a brand new person after that. Hahahhahaha.... Anyone 'ren' for 1 whole month????? How you do it?

bunnyhop: I aldy using the bra extension and dunno why still feel breathless!! Think i going to get bra without the underwired. If not i think i'll die of suffocating!

<font color="0000ff">Bunnyhop, I agree wor, weather so cold lately..cannot stand..brghhhh!!!....

U know i got a fren who dun even suffer from any MS and now she's alrd in her 20 wks le..so good rite? I heard from her that her mum when expecting she and her bro oso no MS de..so lucky</font>

Rei-chan: My mom asked mi to ren for at least 2 weeks b4 i get to wash my hair... After the one mth confinement, my scalp kenna dandruffs!! Arrggghhh!!! Cos my scalp is the oily type so a few day no wash it's aldy like... -_-

Littlebluey,
I guess MS depends on many factors lah, ur health, genes, age...etc. My last pregnancy, I had no MS at all. Only felt queasy ONCE for the ENTIRE pregnancy. No fatigue, can work and play like normal. Eating was such a joy also. I can eat 1 meal and already start planning for the next. Hahahaah... My MIL puked for 3 whole months, and she could not believed I got away so easily... ahahhaha

This time round, my MS is a surprise, especially the burping!!! Gross.... Meals time became such a misery. But because I couldn't see the heartbeat of fetus during the 1st appt, the gynae said that my MS is actually a good thing cos it shows that pregnancy hormones level is high and my baby should be holding on quite well inside. So I guess if you look at it another way, having MS is a good thing. Hang in there everyone! Just a few more weeks to go. (I hope!)

chris lin, u are SO LUCKY!!! envious lah...
littlebluey, ur friend also one of the lucky ones! my friend also told me for both pregnancies she has no idea what is MS!?!!!!

Rei CHAN!!!!!!!! PIGS TROTTERS IN BLACK VINEGAR!!! my Favourite!!! gosh! why did u mention that, now i super looking fwd to confinement!! my aunt cooks a mean dish of that! she promised to cook that for my next confinement yippeeee!
this time i ask her cook more hehehe! *SLURP*

oh...hmm... i am one of the wierd super ks ones who DIDN"T wash hair for one whole mth. hahahahah! i didn't even sponge bath until the allowed 12 days. then i sponge bath once in a while, until the day of the full mth party then i wash my hair with herbs. before that, i used the dry hair powder shampoo twice. din help much but better than nothing. how did i do it? for me, i think about my health. i dun wanna be gung ho and suffer later in old age. my health not been very good from young, so when i heard during confinement u can BU back ur health, i definitely very guai. but the only thing i shld have done diff, is i ate too little ginger. that time i tot ginger will reduce milk supply. so i din take, although the food got cook lah. end up near to 28days i got achy shoulders, so scary. then i found out, ginger to avoid f baby have jaundice. for my boy, he has mild jaundice in first 1 week, but was better after that, so on hindsight, i shld have taken more ginger after 2 weeks lah hehehe.

littleger, can try using 2 bra extensions??? I did that hehehee. but for this pregnancy till now i have not used. i cant find the old ones!!! and too lazy to go buy new ones...ooops.

<font color="ff6000">wah i think there are too many herbs that it's hard to know... even ginseng got american ginseng, and chinese ginseng, korean ginseng. i know the slices one is heaty, the tiny roots one is cooling... but even then might have exceptions right?

i heard that breastfeeding cannot take some confinement foods - is it true? i suppose esp those red wine chicken or what... alcohol will enter milk stream? aiyoh so much to learn...</font>

Rei-chan: Same here! No MS for my first preg... can run can eat can sleep well! This time round, like u.. MS is terrible and meals time is a misery!! I eat but don't enjoy at all, after that still vomit out! Sighz!

dimpletot. breastfeeding CAN take confinement food. but like i mention above, if say baby got jaundice, then avoid EATING the ginger. as for food with alcohol, if the food is boiled or cooked at high heat with alcohol, the alcohol wld oredi have evaporated. so its safe. but i know of friend who play safe and avoid breastfeeding for 4 hours after that. i feel that the alcohol has evaporated coz i know how DOM tastes neat. the brewed chicken DOM soup tastes super sweet to me, and no taste of the DOM alcoholic taste at all. for me, after my boy's nursing schedule more stabalise, i actually drink DOM neat before i sleep. but i make sure its 4 hours before i breastfeed him. coz a TCM told me alcohol leaves the body after 4 hrs.

i heard of a story once. hubby's friend nursed baby oredi so tot wun need to feed soon. so she drank DOM. baby suddenly cried for milk, and she bo bian nursed. and baby dropped right off to sleep very long. aiyoh...its funny yet scary at the same time hehehe.

rei-chan,

same as you, my first preg with my boy was also a breeze in terms of MS. I din have any morning sickness despite taking the progesterone in oil jabs twice a week throughout first trimester.

But 2nd preg with my girl, it was not those really bad MS but I did feel giddy very easily and more easily bloated.

This time round, same as the first preg... feels great most time. I was tellng my hb maybe its a boy.

dimpletot: I rem for my first pregnancy.. my mom every meal also got add the red wine ley. But den again, i didn't do total bf at tat time cos not much milk supply!

littleger,
About the hair washing, I actually go search for those taiwanese websites to check. Quite a few says it's ok to wash hor. But must take precautions, like cannot turn on the fan, cannot soak in the bath, dry hair immediately...etc.

The most important about confinement is actually the food. It's like 70% about the food, 30% about lifestyle habits like washing, bathing, clothing...etc. I think I agree cos I used to be the type who feels cold easily. Must always bring cardigan out. After my mum made all the soups for my confinement, I became very 'yong'. hahahahaha..

I also checked with my 1st gynae at TMC, Dr M Tan. She told me that the 1 month no bathing rule is ridiculous. I guess it's up to the individual mummy to make her own decision.

<font color="0000ff">Rei chan, hv been feeling nauseous on/off with bad gastrics and headaches sometimes, I agree on the burping part, seems to be burping more than often these days... hmmm..-_-

Bunnyhop, U really can tahan wor...good for you! I dun think I can stand not bathing for 1 mth, I will go mad bah..lolx...</font>

Rei-chan: I think 1 month no bathing I also cannot tahan! And it's damm unhygience when we bf our babies lor... I still rem my first pregnancy whenever i need to pump or latch on, i will use wet hot towel to clean my breasts first.. worried got sweat then bb suckle liao taste salty salty! hahahhaa..

Ya lor, Bunnyhop. You really good ah. I'll probably ripped my hair out, if I cannot wash for 1 mth.

Can you imagine, if the Oct mummies-to-be all go out for a meal together now? After eating, half will go puke and the other half will sit around and burp? hahahahhah.......

We probably won't be welcome back at the same place again. Hahahaha. There's nothing more scary than a bunch of pregnant, pukey, burpy women out on a meal, I guess.

I mean, we should really all get together someday leh. Before our 1st, 2nd or 3rd babies arrive. Now is (obviously) not such a good time lah. Maybe when we are in our 2nd trimester, find a place with nice big buffet, many roomy toilets(just in case)...etc. Hor? KIV for now lah.

Hooray! It's officially weekend! Have a good one everybody!

Rei Chan, thats FUNNY! hehehehehe!!! what a sight it must be!

About hygiene, during confinement, i always clean my breasts with sterile gauze and warm boiled water. so boobs are definitely clean hahaha. and of course i wash there there after every pee even coz of the wound.so i feel for my, hygiene wise managed quite well. at least milk not salty hahahaa.

littleger, are u going to TBF this time? if u are determined to, you will sure have enough milk supply. you just have to follow certain guidelines and know what to look out for and what to do. sure can one!

Rei-chan, oh ur gynae is M Tan?? so now ur gynae is TC Chang issit? when did you change and how did they allow u to change?

<font color="ff6000">yah yah i think in 2nd trimester it'd be good time to meet. Buffet ah? can only put on 1 kg a month know! haha.

Have a good weekend mummies! Here's to a restful time, and overall a very healthy pregnancy.</font>

Rei Chan, great idea to meet up, will be very fun.
my prev thread (1st baby) mommies keep in touch all this while. lets do it when all of us in 2nd tri. I guess that will be after 20 April issit? that shld be the 12th week for the mommies with EDD as late as 31 Oct. did i count right?

Rei-Chan, yes after giving birth i also can take the cold better than before hehe. oh can ask you, what kinda tonic soups you mum make during confinement? besides the usual DOM/martini chicken soup, Du Zhong Bu Yao Tang, black bean soup what else ah? I have no idea what my CL makes hahahaaa... and how often do you drink them? i dun rem so just wanna recall.