(2008/10) Oct 2008

Hi gals!
I m new here! This thread is so interesting and active! I m about 5 wks preggy, EDD 29 Oct, LMP 28 Jan 08. Just saw my gynae last Fri and can only see sac, waiting to see her 2 wks later to see whether can see heartbeat, abit anxious, really hope everything will be smooth. My gynae said MS is a good sign but so far, I have no MS! abit worried..i have alot of gas though..This is my 2nd preg (unplanned), my son only 8 months old, really wondering how i can cope next time. One baby already v xiong - both physically and financially...

Juz Me: We have the same gynae, Dolly Wee fr Mt E. She delivered my first baby and I think she is really good!

Pure bliss: I also have backache leh, for my 1st preg as well, but my MIL didnt allow me to go for massage, so just ask hb to massage..heehee But I did pre-natal yoga and I think it helped w the aches and also made delivery easier...

Just to share, I had a CL for my 1st preg and it wasnt a great experience. Cuz she couldnt cook well (no variety, everyday same food or rotate btw 2 days), and wasnt pro-BF, kept saying formula milk is better, somemore keep commenting on my milk SS, made me feel really stressed. Plus, I didnt feel that she did much, every time she got nothing to do, she just sit infront of TV and watch while carrying the baby. maybe just my luck, could have better CLs out there. So this time round, I dun intend to get one. I m thinking of ordering confinement food and just ask my mom to help me w the baby. Anyone did this before??

For me, i ate less during my 1st confinement and i only stick to simple food like fish soup and red wine chicken + fried onion (i love it). And i take care my daughter at nite so i dun need CL and my MIL & mother just cooked for me and help to bath my bb.

But if you have the intention to hire CL, better let her take care the bb at nite then you can have a good rest. I felt weak during my 1st confinemnt and i think i have not enuff rest.

Kimberly
When i was expecting my son, I also din have any MS. It was considered quite a easy pregnancy. With this one, I feel like vomitting throughout the day. So miserable! My gynae said it is normal that some women would not have MS. Dont worry.

hey pinkimum, me in Jakarta at the moment. Will definitely go back to delivery!!! I dun trust the medical system here.

CArole: PIG LIVER ...ooooo..yummy!!!!!! I must eat all these when I go back to Sgp later this month
SEcond opinion is good!!!! i am relieved now ... But he says I shouldnt go island hopping at this moment. Wait till first trimester is over :p And I also saw my bb move yesterday

JUzme, can I trouble you to add me to the list?
Edd: 04 Oct 08, Child #2, GlenE, Dr Oei Pau Ling

mspiggy..yes...our children will be born in the same month..but I think mine might be in late Sept cos I am opting for Csec.

kimberly, welcome!
my CL is very pro BF and she is a good cook. I told her i hate Garlic and told her no garlic in my food. I hated Ginger then, but she shred it so fine like pork floss. cooking is good but my mum critized till very bad (esp when my mum cant cook and yet telling my CL wat to do). my hubby and myself just love the coking and nvr complain a bit. I told her no need to handwash any clothes, just machine will do. i am not fussy over the laundry thingy as long as bb is well taken care of etc. my mum just find things to complain, and we just ignore.

when we celebrated my girl's 1st mth, my mum kept carrying my girl and left CL doing nothing. and my mum can complain to me, see see ur CL doing nothing. i was like telling my hb, wat you want her to do? you are carrying her job and left her with nothing. cant be expecting her to clear the tables etc wat... thats nt her job.
we kept the CL for another 4 more days. she did a rather great job. She retired now, but she promised me that if i call her, she will help me again. So i called her yesterday and she agreed! thank god, if not i will have a big problem looking for a CL.

<font color="ff6000">hi everyone, seems like hiring a CL seems risky. More bad ones than good ones out there. then heard some stories, good ones for one mummy can become bad to other mummies oso. sigh. not like they are cheap either.

Wanted to hire one, even though my mum will be helping me with the bb... also still dunno whether to quit altogether after maternity leave, or to find another less hectic job. hard to give up the good pay, haiz! maybe will quit after number 2. more reason to stay home...</font>

<font color="0000ff">Hi Jess,

Thanks for the contact no but how do we address her? She's teochew?? Btw, u aren't employing her to do your confinement for you?

Btw gals, was oso thinking of catering confinement food and just get my DH or mum to help out if I can't get a gd CL, anyone with experience catering confinement food before?</font>

Kimberly, Congrats! I also do not have MS until now. I do not have MS for my #1 as well and my #1 is fine. I do worry sometimes too if my baby is progressing well 'cos there is no sign at all! However, I do feel hungry all the time.

Hi Jess,
Thanks! Maybe I should look ard for an alternative then. Actually I found my CL's food v bland. I dunno if that's what most CLs cook, but every morn, I had mee sua with ginger &amp; meat, lunch &amp; dinner - either steamed fish or chicken cooked with black fungus &amp; ginger. Sometimes both lunch &amp; dinner same -she cooked one big pot during lunch and lasts till dinner. It was really v boring until my MIL feedback to her, then she add abit of variety, like change the mee sua to beehoon/ kway teow. I heard some of my friend's CLs actually cook chicken wings and pork chop!

Mousebb: Thanks! I had MS for my first preg and it lasted till almost the 5th month, then it stopped but the preg was pretty smooth, so I was wondering if no MS, means my preg will be less smooth this time...hopefully I can skip it and stil have a smooth preg...heehee

Hi Kimberly,

Can I check with you where did u sign up for the pre-natal yoga during your 1st pregnancy? When can we start doing it?

i tried New baby Catering for 1 week in Oct when i went for a D&amp;C. not too bad esp food in tupperware and good for warming up. But dun expect hot food and sometimes fish overcooked.
i m not fussy with the food, but i must say i love the soup.

their Confinement package is abt 1.3k. but if you hire a CL is abt 1.7-1.8k. this person will be able to help to look after the bb while 1.3k is on food alone and no help. is more like an apple and an orange issue.

i might spend more on food when i get CL, as i need to pay for her food and extra PUB, but at least you will get complete rest with a CL ard. i have friends telling me, no CL... mil or mum helping. then in the end mum or mil is tired and the new mummy has to take care of the new born in the middle of the nite. its nt gng to be easy.
when my CL was ard during my #1, i was very blessed. she really helps to look after my girl in the nite, though i KPO to pop over to see my noti girl. maybe very excited.

When i had my first baby, i hired a CL. She was really bad. She gave my baby formula milk though i told her there was expressed breastmilk in the fridge - btw, she took the glass of formula milk (from the hospital) from the cupboard and we didn't tell her at all that she could do that - her cooking was only so-so. she went out with my helper to the market and ended up shopping for her own stuff and even bought 4D! she told my helper not to hurry her with the marketing. She overslept and continued to have afternoon naps. She always chat on her cellphone, ate alot and was very picky with the food we bought for her. eg she wanted a particular 3 in 1 coffee. In the end, after 8 days, i told her she could go. and since then i have not hired any CL lady.

With my 2nd pregnancy, no CL. Just got my mom to cook some confinement food every other day. and my helper cooked some simple dishes for me during the first month.

doubt i'll be hiring any CL for this pregnancy. so not worth the money.

Carole - your CL sounds good leh. actually mine was a replacement last min cuz the original one whom I already paid deposit forgot abt me!!

Jasminetea - I feel hungry all the time too..heehee, got to watch my weight, I havent lost all fr the last preg!!

precious - i signed up fr www.inneryoga.net --think I saw it fr some thread in SMH too, but i went to their website recently and it seems like changed liao, didnt see any prenatal class...i started at 15 wks..I can't remember exactly, but i seem to remember the teacher saying anytime also can start up to ard 38 wks. but I stopped ard 36 weeks. I also hope to do prenatal yoga this time rd, but dunno whether got any lobang in the east, plus now w another baby, v little time.

kimberly, forgotten abt you? thats bad... Mine kept constant communications with me. visits me each time she in SG. her daughter stays in SG, and when she here, her daughter will follow to my house. CL got pressies for my girl each time she pops over.

when i told her abt my D&amp;C, and i ordered New baby confinement food, she asked why i nvr call her. She will rush down to stay with me 1 week. I so paisey and at the same time very glad she offered to help. Frankly, she is a very nice lady. that's why hubby gave her a rather big angbao.

guess its the human relationship we have with her. I m not fussy, and she can work better. only fussy is my MUM! nothing else better to do and always complaining.

Even after CL has left (after so long) she still complaining. She too free also pick on my maid, saying i must do all things myself including shower my girl, feed her etc. Where got time... i cant even take care of myself, least to talk abt showering my princess lor.

even to the smallest thing my mum make noise. like gng supermarket. I went to make some bill payments and i ask my maid to bring my girl to supermarket, suay suay my mum called. i told her, my girl with maid at supermarket and i gng to pay bill, she can make noise saying i should bring her along etc. NO PEACE... everyday call just to chk on my girl. My hubby also nvr call everyday home to see if his girl noti or good.

opps... i am complaining n complaining.. haiz...sorry for the lengthy complains.. hai

Hi Kimberly, welcome!! Don;t worry, next two weeks you would be able to see heartbeat already... Even though I am in my 13weeks, I am still very jittery when seeing gynae, cos now we cannot feel bb so need to depend on ultrasound for the heartbeat...

I should be getting my SIL's SIL from M'sia, hopefully she will be able to help me. My SIL told me her cooking so-so but she really take care of bb from day till night.. Don't seem to have time to sleep &amp; very hardworking.. Kekek.. Hopefully she will be a great help to me!

Yah i think getting enough rest for our body to recover properly is v impt... otherwise cannot bf properly cannot take care of bb properly if body is weak... so will still take the risk and pray for a good CL to hire!

Carole, i think i understand what you are saying. hope my mum doesn't react like that... cos this her first grandchild... somehow i get along better with other people's mums than my own mum. she's very naggy lah... and then one story can repeat ten thousand times. i guess between my MIL and mum I'm still more comfortable with my mum. But actually sometimes i feel like i get less irritated and impatient with my friends' mums and we really connect! so weird hor.

lol MIL cant cook confinement food, so i cant rely on her. during confinement of my #1, PIL pops by as and when. MIL is nice, she is frank that she cant cook. and i dun expect her help too. she will only sit there and supervise my girl nothing else.

Does anyone of u experience Giddiness? My world seems to be spinning from the moment i woke up this morning till now. Feeling very terrible and weak. I slept for abt 8 hours last nite.

Kimberly, I'm also staying in the east. If you happen to know any lobang for prenatal yoga, please keep me inform. Can the hubby join during the yoga session?

Hi Littebluey,

I m not hiring CL for this pregnancy as i m going to hire a maid to help my mum to take care my #1 and #2 + house chores. So will get the maid to help up during my confinement as well.
How to address her ? i also not very sure. Call her aunite ba >_<.

Hi RibenaLi,

Yes, feel giddy sometime. Think is normal. Dun sit up straightaway when u awake.

My MS worse than 1st one. I puke throughout the day. Abit depress sometime...haiz...

Better dun do any yoga course during 1st trimester as bb still not yet stable. Start from 2nd or 2nd mid tri ba.

I'm also staying in the east... so far it's precious08, kimberly and me. Think there is one more... can't remember who though.
Hands up, east Oct mummies!

<font face="tahoma"> We have quite a few mummies with babies here

Jess, I also feel worst for this preg compared to the first. Plus still need to take care of #1, been feeling very tired lately.</font>

Like Carole, my CL is also very good and is really a good cook. She cooks a lot of variety. Even got western food sometimes! She will ask me what I want to eat etc. She cooks very well for my hb also. And even when I have guests over, she don't mind to cook for them if I ask her to do so. She also done very well in housework. My only little conflict with her is during the 1st few days 'cos of bf problem. But after a while, some understanding and give and take, everything is fine.

She helped me with everything for my #1 full mth also. Cleaned and cleared everything and attended to my gal fully. I still keep in touch with her also. That is why I just give her a call this round and she cfm will be doing confinement for me.

I had heard of many bad experiences too, so I believe it is a matter of luck. But with a good CL, you can really rest, have good meals and like me take time to learn how to bf etc.

Carole, I'm very "bad". I banned my in-laws and even my mother from coming over to my place during confinement 'cos I scared they will comment this and that, esp regarding my CL. I scared I will be very frustrated and be affected by their comments. So in my whole confinement, my in-laws only came by once and my mum about 3 times. Even so, they did make some comments here and there esp my mum when she saw me eating bee hoon soup for my confinement. She was so mad, kept telling me I got to eat RICE. Confinement period can only eat RICE. I told her my CL is the pro one, so let her decide. But she still can't accept. Haaa.. in the end, my CL heard and then explained to my mum herself heeee..

Kimberley, I hv no courage to look at weighing machine anymore haaaa.. :p

Ribena, are you okay? Perhaps u want to give ur gynae a call?

Hi Misspiggy,

Poor thing, i can understand as i also feel tired when i take care my girl during the weekend. Do you consider to hire a temp maid to help up ur house chore ? or get ur MIL / Mother come to help ? Just for 3mths ?

Jasmine, ya right! see how irritating can they be. haiz. i cant ban them from coming for sure. Now i stay with my in laws, guess my mum will come less often, cos she hates the plc i am staying. always complain this plc small and condition etc. Frankly, a roof over head is a roof over head. Who dun like to stay in nice big houses. We need time to do up my current hse (bought over my in laws hse in Dec 07) of 36 yrs old. We cant change things over a night. My hubby always complain saying my mum acts like she born with golden spoon.

weighing machine:-
i put on 2 kg since i discovered i am preggy... stress manz.

Carole, is your parents' home much nicer/ bigger than your in-laws' home? maybe your mum feel like wei3 qu1 her daughter...

dimple, no. cos my hse before this is hse, was a 3storey and bigger and cleaner and of cos closer to my mum plc. Now in amk, a much smaller hse. she is not afraid to wei qu me, but wei qu her granddaughter. tts the problem.

hahahha, that's quite funny leh Carole.

Actually it's true, after the grandkids are born, our status is much much lower than before.

so you are renovating the 3 storey and will then move in with your in-laws after it's done lah... aiyoh, so it's temporary not so bad.

my friend who lives in two storey condo unit, her bf wanted her to consider living with his parents in 4 rm flat. she gently tried to persuade him that it would really be quite squeezy.

no dimple, sold my 3 storey and bought my in laws 2 storey. well, even my aunties and uncles wonder why i sold that hse to buy my in laws. they said i am asking for trouble.. whahahhaa
so far, MIL is nice to me... nothing to complain

<font color="119911">Kimberly>> hey! u're a first same gynae as me! hee =) wow manage 2 really sounds tough esp so young. but don't worry too much. baby is blessing, sure can manage de!

ribenaLi>> i oso feel giddy!! fortunately it was bad only over the weekend. now better le. i hate the giddy like floating on air feeling...

yoga>> is it must go for specific pre-natal and not other type of yoga class? i know got shop in tanglin birth and beyond got class. but like quite ex...

CL>> ya i think find a good one very hard leh
carole, jasmine u gals real lucky get good one. too bad same period cannot share haha

carole - yeah, the first CL forgot abt me, and she came up w some stupid excuse, but the thing was she did not inform me beforehand and only told me the reason when I called her after I delivered.

ribena - I also experience diziness during my first preg, like when i woke up and opened my eyes, the whole room spinned and very giddy, cannot get up to walk at all. But I realised for me, when I eat, I feel better. Maybe body needs food for energy. So I ate and ate during my 1st preg and in e end put on a lot of weight!!

precious - I will keep you informed if I know, but maybe like Jess said, should wait until after 1st tri. Do keep me informed too if anyone else knows of any pre-natal yoga class!

Jasminetea - I wish I can ban my ILs fr visiting me this time too, cuz I feel that they are over-kancheong over everything, and like to comment on every little thing, makes me very irritated and stressed and sometimes behave like they are the baby's mother instead of me!

ms piggy - yup, i think it's really tiring having to take care of another baby/kid while preggie. Altho I m working, but I find that after work, I have not much energy left plus wkends, I m completely drained cuz my boy is so active. For those with older babies, do u all still carry them as often? I actually feel abit sad that when my tummy grows bigger, I cannot carry him any more...

i went for my 1st visit to the gynae last night. Can't see anything from the scan. From the scan picture, it shows 5 weeks.

Is this normal not seeing anything if when in 5 weeks pregnant?

Carole,
Why not keep your old house and get ur in laws to move in? Anyway, done already, so should not have any regrets. Besides, doesn't matter how big or nice the house is, important thing is the environment inside. So long as everyone 'he he qi qi', can relax from daily work and stress, that's the most important thing hor.

Me staying with MIL since got married. Initially not so happy lah, cos every bride wanna have some alone time in her own place, I guess. But now, I think overall it's a good thing. MIL is nice and supportive, especially with my girl. We also go out for shopping trips and dinners together when hubby not around.

Confinement month:
Dunno wat to do yet leh. Hubby dun want CL cos he's kinda private person, plus our flat no space for another person. My mum can cook confinement food for me but she may not be able to do so everyday. Also dunno what to do with my first girl. Send her to full time child care? Hmm... decisions, decisions, decision.

My fren went to this agency where you can select from a pool of CLs. Anyone heard before? She was full of praise for her CL. My fren stated very clearly beforehand what she wants, i.e, CL's age, breastfeeding...etc.

reichan, so far MIL is nice to me.. not much fuss except some exchanges from maid and her. i simply bo chap kind. as long as dun step my tail i will keep my cool.

nanny...dun worry abt it at all. It happened to me when I was in my week5. i was terrified but everything is ok now
Chill yah..just see the gynae maybe 2 weeks later?

nanny,
Did u see a pregnancy sac at all? What did the gynae say? For my first scan at ard 6 weeks, we almost missed the fetus. Can see the sac but could hardly see the fetus, let alone heartbeat. Was kinda worried. But 2nd appt 2 weeks later is better. Don't worry so much, take care and see how during the next appt.

Ribena
I also feel giddy esp when i need to bend down to change or bath my son.
Take care hor. Dont suddenly stand up or what. My dr keep telling me since I'm now pregnant, everything I do I must do it slowly liao.

nanny
During my 1st visit to gynae, he only managed to see a tiny dot. On the second visit at around 5.5 weeks, we saw the sac growing much bigger and obvious as compared to 1 week ago. 2 days ago when I went to see my gynae again bcos of bleeding, we can finally see the heartbeat. Should be around 7-8 weeks liao bah. So dont worry.

Thanks for the encouragement.

Saw the sac and that's all. Gynae prescribe duphaston, folic acid and vitamine for me. Will be going back to see him in 2 weeks time.

littletwinkie: thanks for the kind advice. I ate the whole packet of chicken rice and felt better for a while then the giddy came back again. so angry.

Juz me: I'm glad ur giddy is gone. I believe mine will go off soon as well.

jasminetea: Thanks gal!! i'll monitor the situation first and if it got worse. i will call.

Jess: Ya, I should slowly get up in the morning. Now got to suffer. My hubby oso heartpain to see me gg thru all tis.

dimpletot: Tink u r rite!! Thanks for enlighting me. I have a history of low blood sugar. I will go get some stuff with a bit of sugar level.

Ladies: Thanks for all the advice for my giddiness. Its really terrible feeling but the tot of u gals around to give me encouragements, support and advices, really makes me feel that i'm not alone!! Thanks!!!
kao_kiss.gif

<font color="119911">lunch time confession
i ate macdonalds mcspicy meal!
hai... actually wanted to eat rice with achar and beef rendang one, but the canteen under reno argh no choice eat macs...

rei-chan>>think here are a few confinement agencies around. is it from blissconfinement(http://www.blissconfinement.page.tl)? many mummies here get from there i think. but i heard that dun trust the website recommendation letters. is scary to get when no one u know recommend to u leh.

nanny: Dun worry abt not seeing anything except the sac. When i was 5 weeks preggie, i oso only saw a small sac with a small dot inside the sac. Its normal and the dot is only 1mm small.

On my 8th week, i can see a small head and and the dark shadow of the limbs and its 17mm le. can oso hear the heart beat. U got to be patient with the progress ah. Do keep us updated on ur next scan. Meanwhile do take good care of urself.

<font color="ff6000">Ribena - welcome!

Nanny - it's very very tiny at 5 weeks. At 6 weeks, with a V scan, mine was only 3.5mm! Don't worry yah?

Carole - oic... great that you are bo chap and get along with MIL. ren yi shi feng ping lang jing. and I'm sure she appreciates that you sold your big house to live with them! not many gals today will do that kind of thing.

Re: Bloatedness - Another thing i realised, I feel a lot less bloated if I eat slowly. Today I ta-pao lunch to eat, so i surf a bit, eat a bit, work a bit, eat a bit. Now not feeling uncomfortable at all!
For those who feel queasy after meals, try this!</font>

Juz Me: Dun worry!!my baby is a junkie!! always craving for mcDonalds even in the middle of the nite. Thank God they got 24 hrs delivery. If not, i sure die.Hahaha!!