(2008/10) Oct 2008

pinkimum, I am located overseas too :p I totally agree with you abt the test kits. I used about 4 test kits.

Oct08, ha, you having MS now ah? haaha...today I feel slightly better and thought about eating. All thanks to ur positive energy last night :p How was ur red bean paste last night? I feel like eating steak later :p

Rei-chan, I also took a nap. Don't know is it sleep too much, now a bit headache leh. I am in Beijing. Just went to a hospital tour on Saturday, recommended by a friend. But I am still not sure where to give birth
Alot of things to consider.
I can't imagine my mil with me when i give birth. hehe...

dimpletot, both my hubby and I are the youngest in the families. So not the first grandchild. But hubby is the only son, and only male in his generation. Guess his family will be more kancheong about it. Since the relatives all asking during CNY.

missk, kekeke... NICE! i had PIG Liver porridge last nite too. yummy! nvr hug toilet bowl after tt, so i am very happy! wahahhahaa. This little fellow very noti, sure get spank by me when bb comes out. when i have #1 i can only drink tea, now... any liquid goes in will hug the bowl. haiz.

Rei-chan, i went into Delivery suite direct, no observation etc wor.

opps.. whahahha.. oct08mummy is me.. :p cos i dun wan hubby to know i am here. kekkeke

Hihi, i think i can "Xian Sheng" already. gng into 8 weeks.

Once again, HI HI to all new friends here. I am Carole.

Juzme add more details for me

Delivery: Raffles Hospital (Dr Thong)

rei chan
ur MIL's superstitions seem very irritating. I dun mind them having diff beliefs but cannot take it when MIL tries to impose her beliefs on me/us and try to psycho/reason with us to follow her way. Cos no matter how she reasons still got no logic!!! The more she insists the more i wld want to go against her cos I hate to be forced! But to date have not reached that stage yet, luckily.

Think mebbe now only way out is to get ur hubby to ASSERT to ur MIL that HE wants to be there. If her son himself insists, what can she do rite? Unhappy also boh pian. Otherwise she stand guard at the delivery suite and bar him from entering??? If u do the talking she might blame u if sth 'unlucky' happens.

Pig pig
huh? Must stay in obs ward first? My first time I went straight into labour room at TMC. Was still thinking I shld go earlier this time round otherwise if 2nd time very fast i give birth in car or at home then jiat lat... But u say like that then I dun want to go so early anymore leh...

poohy
u've had 2 kids. From ur exp, issit u had to stay in obs ward too? Or both times straight to delivery room like u mentioned earlier? Thx

Isabelle,

That's not the end of all the older folks beliefs ok. I cannot eat beef (affect baby's skin), cannot eat mutton (something about 'yang dian feng'), no crab (wait bb comes out 'many hands', touch here and there), cannot cut things on my bed, cannot hammer things in the house, no painting...etc.

The latest thing is that I'm advised not to take a seat after another preggy woman has sat on it. Reason: The baby gender might be swopped, ie, maybe I carry boy, then kena switch to girl. Even my mum haven't heard that one ok, I laughed until my belly hurts.

But mostly, I very easy going lah. So just go along loh. The only one which upset me was the hubby cannot go delivery with me. Other than that my mum in law really nice, helping out with the housework, buy tonic and bird nest for me...etc.

I think hubby will say something this time lah. Since we already went thru once with the delivery and he never kena anything bad, so should be no reason to accompany me for this one also.

Rei-Chan, aiyoo.. the gender switch is so funny!! Kekeke... I think when you deliver then you inform your MIL then in that case she has no choice cos you already gave birth!!

mousebb: Rest at home & don't do anything yah? Take care!

Isabelle
I guess for those women who have 'show' but cervix not yet dilated, they will be placed in the observation room till they are ready to push bah. One of my friends was inside the observation room for 17 hrs before she gives birth.

rei-chan, who say cant eat beef? I ate tonnes of Cheeseburger, at least 2 burgers on each Macdonalds visit during #1. My girl has lots of hair at birth, thanks to BEEF! Mutton to many old folks is not good, but is very good (not excessive). Well, you eat already no one knows. kekekek... unless your hubby "bao tou" you.
Har?? cannot sit on a preggy woman seat? kekekkeke sooo weird. pls lor... boy or girl is via the X & Y of her son lahz.
I consider my MIL most pantang person in the world, never know yours is far far more ULTIMATE! My mil dun even allow my female dog to give birth in her house then, and making us move back or get rid of my dog to somewhere else. Then when my dog given birth, each time we come back, we have to wash with her prepared water lor. But she never dun allow my hubby to go into delivery suite wor.

Praise the Lord! I am into my 8 weeks now. Not much of hugging the bowl so far, but started to hate food. give me a bed, i can just dun get up.. how bad.

MISSK: how you? what did the 2nd opinion says?

Beef is good, i heard. But not good to take mutton/ lamb. Crab - moderate lor

Try not to take "Pig liver" cos' no good.

Like KangKong, MIL said can eat but moderate but Mum said can't eat.

Same for watercress. /Sigh... who to listen? so, better dont' eat much.. LOL

pig pig
thx!

reichan
so funny! the gender swop thing! It's so ridiculous ppl can even believe that!
Yah, I know all the crab stories, cannot turn screws blah blah blah. (MIL was so horrifed when she saw me fixing the screws into the baby cot, she claimed baby's head wld have a hole!!!)
Then to convince me to believe in this she tried to use the following example: in the past people used make their own things. She said cannot stuff cotton into baby pillows when preg otherwise bb's head will have a lump when born. She did that and BIL had a lump. But once she returned home to remove what she had stuffed, the lump went away. Then she said: So u wanna believe or not?
I just smiled awkwardly and kept quiet cos NO, I dun believe! Despite her efforts!

But ya lah, she was very nice to me and brewed tons of bird's nest for me etc that's why I din argue much with her. Just keep quiet lor...

lili: water cress cant eat, cos is cooling. my hubby went on website to surf during my #1 and came to tell me tonnes of NONO. He is more KPO than me lor.

Pig liver is good for iron, but excessive will lead to Jaundice. I had lots of them, cos i love pig liver, and #1 came with jaundice but dun have to stay extra day.

Morning all...

Pig liver cannot eat due to high level of Vitamin A so it's better to refrain...as too much Vitamin A is toxic....

carole,
yes, i agreed watercress can't eat. But MIL said if boiled with pork, is okay. But Mum said can't. Anyway, had liao, so now try to avoid.

lili, water cress boiled with pork or chicken is the same. its cooling
so dun touch. i think only soup can drink is Lotus root.

Elch, yes i know, but i got nothing to eat already
if not will be gng on diet soon haiz...

isabelle,

for my first, I was only 2 cm dilated but my gynae wanna break waterbag and deliver because bb show distress in monitoring. I stayed for a short while in observation area and was asked over to the individual delivery suite very soon. My gynae break waterbag there and I stayed there for about 3 or 4 hours before delivering.

for my 2nd, I go in to the observations room already 5cm dilated. Then my gynae break water right at the observation room. Then I was wheeled to the delivery suite. Within 30 min, I deliver my no.2.... so both time I spend barely 30-45min in observations room before going to delivery suite liao.

Maybe u can ask the TMC nurses when u go for a tour of the hospital

<font color="119911">ok i know its been a while with so many new mummies join us. so pls let me know if my details are outdated ya?

foodwise, i'm so glad to hear i'm not the only one turned off by bland food!! thats all i get every night (my in laws are health junkies)! and u know now supposed to eat nutritious food, i keep feeling guilty i only crave those flavourful less healthy food. hai

mousebb>> u tender now? dun u feel a bit wasted? like no maternity leave. i oso very tempted to quit leh, coz every morning wake up tired. yesterday suddenly take leave haha coz cannot take it le. then this morning i still feel not rested enuf yet
i really hope after 1st trimester ok liao...

littlebluey and Jess>>btw i oso looking for confinement lady leh. if u not keen on Jess' recommendation, pls share the contact with me? anyone wanna recommend pls let me know too. many thanks

<table border=1><tr><td>Name </TD><TD>LMP </TD><TD>EDD </TD><TD>Doctor </TD><TD>Child </TD><TD>Zodiac </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Autum</TD><TD></TD><TD>Sept 2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>storeberry</TD><TD></TD><TD>Sept 2008</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvonneho</TD><TD></TD><TD>25/09/2008</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang (TMC)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>rabbit </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>RibenaLi</TD><TD></TD><TD>27/09/2008</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong (Mt E)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>rooster </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Littleger</TD><TD>24/12/2007</TD><TD>1/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong (Mt E)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>snake </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lili_fc</TD><TD>26/12/2007</TD><TD>7/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne (TMC)</TD><TD>1st </TD><TD>rabbit </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juz Me</TD><TD>27/12/2007</TD><TD>1/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee (Mt E)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>horse </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jollyhappy</TD><TD>27/12/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Makebaby</TD><TD>29/12/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Precious</TD><TD>31/12/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian (Sengkang)</TD><TD></TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazeline</TD><TD>1/1/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian (CCK)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diane</TD><TD>1/1/2008</TD><TD>6/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>rooster </TD></TR><TR><TD>leeyiling </TD><TD>1/1/2008</TD><TD>7/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Tham KF (GlenE)</TD><TD>2nd </TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD>CH Lee</TD><TD>2/1/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr HK Ho (MAH)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Everafter</TD><TD>2/1/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian (Sengkang)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pinny</TD><TD>5/1/2008</TD><TD>12/10/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jyo</TD><TD>5/1/2008</TD><TD>16/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Han (KKH)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>snake </TD></TR><TR><TD>AvrilMummy</TD><TD>5/1/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr HK Ho (MAH)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>cow </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Buffy</TD><TD>6/1/2008</TD><TD>13/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong (Mt E)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>snake </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelbliss</TD><TD>8/1/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emma</TD><TD>9/1/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>CarolNg</TD><TD>9/1/2008</TD><TD>16/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Thong (Raffles Hospital)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wan_a_mousy</TD><TD>10/1/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>snake </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane_lin</TD><TD>17/01/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD>elchwong</TD><TD>20/01/2008</TD><TD>26/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Adrian (Sengkang)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Rooster </TD></TR><TR><TD>PureBliss</TD><TD>21/01/2008</TD><TD>27/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong (TMC)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine</TD><TD></TD><TD>8/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin (GlenE)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chris Lin</TD><TD></TD><TD>8/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Adrian (Sengkang)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>dog </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janey</TD><TD></TD><TD>10/10/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jess Li</TD><TD></TD><TD>14/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Traz</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian (Sengkang)</TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>diaz</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mousebb</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lovebug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD>bunnyhop</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xuanting</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>monyetnakal</TD><TD>16/01/2008</TD><TD>23/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Mary Yang (GlenE)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>LeahKeh</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Lim Y W (MAH)</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>preggie</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Ann Tan (Mt E)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MrsLau</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs H</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chea</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>reichan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr TC Chang (TMC)</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Karen</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mspiggy</TD><TD></TD><TD>9/10/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

chris,
cos' is all pig organ so abit worry.

carole,
noted on the watercress.

just had ginseng chicken (korean) at taka foodcourt last evening. yummy... can eat right?

<font face="tahoma"> Hi ladies, i'm new to this thread

EDD is 9 Oct 08, I have a son coming 21 month soon. Going to see my gynae again this coming Fri... hope bb will continue to grow well and stay healthy!.

Hi Poohy and missk,
our kids will be in same mth again! kekekee</font>

juzme
i also vy tired, really don't feel like coming to work every morning till past 1st trimester. Gynae said i will experience more MS now but still coping well. Likely lose weight cos' of these period. But after that, will be good and can even travel during april - jun period.

i've applied leave on 20 Mar to enjoy long weekends liao... LOL

how many wks are you to past 1st trimester?

u all stayed so short in delivery suite..... so amazing.. i stayed in delivery suite from 8am to 6am next morning before i went into my room. i delivered my girl at 3am. Wonder why so long... cos i itchy backside want to tahan the contractions, then in the end back fires and refused to dilate and landed to ask for epidural at 4.15pm.

This time, i wont tahan so long before i ask for epidural. learnt my lesson already and causing my girl to be in distress. haiz.

<font color="119911">lili_fc>>me about 10 weeks now, have plans to travel during the good friday weekend or start of april. so hoping will energize a bit more by then ;P

littlebluey>>ok no rush i guess. hee we still so early find CL le ;P but i only seem to hear bad stories leh. hardly heard any good ones

btw, anyone knows what kind of baby bonus is available for 1st child? seems mostly is 2nd child onwards? and anyone going to the taka baby fair running from this weekend to next?

Juz Me
My hubby wants me to take care of our boy at home instead of sending him to infant care center everyday when we go to work. He feels 'xin tong' to wake him up at 5plus every morning lor. I only discovered that I'm pregnant again after I tendered. Come to think of it, although is wasted (no maternity leave) but may be better for me bcos this pregnancy is giving me a lot of problems plus my boy always wake up in the middle of the night and me always dont have enough sleep.

Could you help me update my info, pls:
LMP: 30 Dec 2007
EDD: 19 Oct 2008
Child: 2nd

Juz Me,
Please update my info. LMP: 5 Jan, EDD: Oct 24, 2nd pregnancy, my zodiac: snake. Thanks!

Mousebb,
Are you feeling better today? Hope the bleeding stopped?

poohy,
With all those wheeling around in the hospital, what do you do with your stuff your brought from home?

Carole,
I'm not sure about the beef thing, the gist I get is that it will cause rough skin in the bb. I don't really believe lah. So many people told me beef is good because of the iron it provides. The worst thing was that I was in US and everybody is eating steak right in front of me, including hubby! I sorta of hint hint to him to let me eat and not tell his mum. (Actually, I know he won't tell lah. I just need a partner in crime) The heartless creature told me to go ahead and eat and if baby comes out with anything, I'll be responsible. Hahahhaha. In the end, I didn't take beef cos I have already refrain for so many months in Singapore already. Just tahan for a few more weeks till I give birth, then I can eat all I want. Also cos I like my steak medium rare mah and if pregnant, supposed to eat totally cooked steak, not appealing to me also.

Aiyah, all this beef talk is making me crave for steak already. Yikes!

Morning Mummies,

Hope to get some advice from you all. Do you think I should hire a CL or a maid? Got one maid now but her job mainly housework and taking care of my no.1 and dun think she can handle no.2... moreover she is my MIL's maid.

Lili, watercress cannot eat? OMG, I eat almost everything...

Mummies, how do you all relieved backache and can we go for pre natal massage now or after 1st trimester?

rei-chan, how come both mouse n ur edd so funny. my LMP is 9jan, and my edd is 16 oct and yours even later.. blurz

Good morning ladies

Janey, I'm not very favourable of bringing my baby over to my nanny's place because I had set up everything very nicely for my kids in my own house and I would really prefer them to stay at home. My gal is brought up in my own house and in my opinion, it is a great choice.

Also I'm going to bf my baby and to bring my baby to my nanny's place meaning I have to transport expressed bf over every morning as well. A lot of other things which are quite inconvenient in my opinions. Anyway though she will accept a lower salary, overall it doesn't have much saving for me in the end 'cos of the travelling and double expenses in buying extra set of everything.

Anyway, I'm still discussing with her. Haven't finalise everything.
I'm also intending to get the maid by June.

Ya, it is a joy to watch our kids grow each day.

JuzMe, for 1st baby, you will receive $3000 cash from the govt. You will receive in 4th installment of $750 each time. I think payable when your child is born, 6 mths, 12 mths &amp; 18 mths.

Carole,
This EDD is according to fetus size, not LMP. Actually I dun think it will be so late, cos my last baby is kinda small also. So her LMP due date and size due date is different. In the end, baby came out right in the middle of these 2 dates. Hahaha. I think it's the same for this pregnancy also.

carole,
i guess as much. EDD is according to the fetus size. i tot i'm 8 wks, but gynae said i'm into 9wks +. so happy, counting down to past 1st trimester

rei-chan,

actually only my 2nd birth wheeled from triage/observations to Delivery suite which is just a few steps away. The nurses bring my bag along if my hb is not ard (still doing registration). I was wheeled only because I was more than 5cm dilated and waterbag broken liao... I doubt I can walk even cos in active labour.

<font color="119911">EDD>> think depends on gynae one. lili and my LMP vary by one day (hers earlier) yet my EDD is a week earlier than hers... i oso blurz...

lilinow feel a bit better wrt appetite but still bland food make me fan wei. bloating etc oso better liao but oso could be coz i take yoghurt and vitagen regularly. so far i only see gynae once leh, so i cannot confirm if her EDD 1/10 has changed yet coz her last est was based on LMP and not fetal size

maid or CL>> i have same concerns, but i think maid must be long term thing. so for now CL is my option unless i just get help from PILs. Jess, you CL is from malaysia issit? 012 is where? she speak what language one? thot ur bro's gf's mum meant she is local

Carole
Dr said bcos I have ovulated late. I also thought it should be in early Oct.

Rei-chan
Thanks. I notice when i guai guai and dont move or walk so much, the bleeding stopped. However, the moment I walk again, the bleeding come back again.

justme,
my LMP is esti only cos' i didn't jot down only that month. but gynae said to put EDD as 7 Oct eventhough it shows 4 Oct. To me, doesn't matter, still falls in both our birthday week.

Re:CL
Wow! You ladies already scouting around for CL. Think for this round, will told hubby to cater confinement food for me. Dont think want to have a confinement lady cos for my 1st one, we also din let the CL take care of our bb at night. Her job is simply to cook and bath the bb. Since we already have a maid at home, she will do all the washing for me and bb. Hubby has also agreed to take 2 weeks leave to help me out at home.

Re: food
Nowadays me always feel hungry leh. Keep eating non-stop. Last night I told my hubby i feel like having tom yam soup. Had no craving for last pregnancy but this round, seem to crave for different food leh. Jokingly told my hubby that i will not spare him this round since i din have any craving last time.

<font color="ff6000">yah this whole EDD thing is not an exact science. when i went to first gynae, he said according to my LMP (2 Jan) and usual cycle length, i was supposed to be 6 weeks 6 days preggie. But according to fetal size I was 6 weeks 1 day preggie. He didn't want to say EDD but i think i sneaked a peak at the card and it said 9 Oct.

Check with you gals, when you say LMP - is it the first day of brownish spotting or the first day of strong flow? cos i counted start as from brownish spotting. If count flow, then my LMP should be 3 Jan....
kao_confused.gif

<font color="119911">jess>> okie thanks! hee my mandarin sucks but think should be able to manage. any idea how her food? btw whats her name? thanks</font>

hi jus me,

What's your dialect ? i think she is "teochew ren"....

I ever heard from her daughter, she can cook very well but sometime also depend on your taste bug after you delivered.