(2008/10) Oct 2008

Guess I'll jus go ahead and have it for lunch...no appetite for bland tasting food since last nite...feel like eating saltish and sweet stuffs....so I'm thinking of having Italian BMT later....yum yum...

elch
i ate a couple of subway melts. all ham.
But i dunno if there's any concern over ham...

mousebb
at first i also felt like i was in jail... but later when my ms got real bad, i din even want to step out of my hse... In fact past two to three weeks, i have not stepped out, only once see gynae or at home got nothing to eat then i boh pian...

Hi Buffy:
I am with Dr Ong at Mt E. I'll be 10 weeks when I next visit him, if everything is alright. So soon I have to consider signing the package, I heard package starts at 12 weeks.

You are rite abt the hormones med. I just hope my own hormones are not dropping so fast that the med no effect. Other than not having MS, I also don't seem to get hungry that often. My problem now is insomnia. Cant fall asleep =(

Hi Mousebb:
Do take care and rest well.

Hi Purebliss:
Congrats, its double happiness for you!

Isabelle
My hubby wants me to guai guai stay at home to rest and he gets the maid to cook for me. So me no excuse to go out. He din even want our son to stay at home with me cos scared our chubby son wants me to carry him all the time. Usually if i dont need to go to work, my son also doesnt need to go infant care center. He will stay at home with me.

I also scared if i walk too much, the bleeding will become worse. My doc has verbally given me a list of things which I cannot do during this period. That's why he want me to eat, sleep and watch TV, dont even think of other things!

<font color="ff6000">wah you're making me hungry, elchwong.

oh cannot take too much ginger ah? thanks for the advice.

mousebb - so both sides of your parents don't know? wow that means you're really close to your colleagues.... sometimes i wonder whether my colleagues suspect anything. cos my tummy is popping out from my normal clothes liao. maybe they just think I'm getting fat. hahaha!</font>

I think i'm going to eat malay rice for lunch later! Asam fish!! And then the sauce on the rice... make it more appetizing!
Hmm... My gynae never say "no" to salad (raw veggie) ley.. he only told mi no raw meat/seafood/sashimi... but veggie he said ok.

Hey ladies, do u all tend to burp every now n then? I think i'm a super "burp-er" ley.. until i also cannot tahan myself! I always have the suffocated feeling and I can't sleep well at night!*sobs* Very tired n sleepy but just can't sleep well... it's a torture!! I read that it's advisable to sleep on our left side so all these while, i tried to sleep on my left side and don't know why i just feel very uncomfortable!! In the end slept on my back! Sigh...

Diane: Mi too!! Starting from 3 or 4 plus... i will feel very uncomfortable in my stomach and then everyday after dinner i will have the tendency to vomit!

Any of u experiencing indigestion? Like last sat, i had soya milk for breakfast den evening time when i vomit, the soya milk came out!!! After so long still never digest???!!!! OMG!!

Been thinking bout sweet and saltish food since yest after lunch hrs....tat's y i lose my appetite for dinner when wat hb prepared was healthy brown rice porridge, blanched vege n steam fish...hahaha

hi Jasminetea,

True lor, 2 sets of toys can be really expensive...lucky for you the nanny is willing to travel to your place. I know some will not, unless the pay is high :p

Ya, talking about expense, mine is going up up up..hahaa...once the maid comes in, i got to pay for another extra person salary. Imagine i am not working leh.

Cutting back on luxury item is true, but more than that..like lesser to spend on resturants visits or savings..

Do you drive? if so, u can imagine paying for car and petrol..hahaha..lagi shiong

mousebb, i emphatise with your situation. It's really boring to sit ard and do nothing for a long time. It happened to me during my last pregnancy.

Elchwong: I'm so craving for those nice n yummy food but ever since i got the indigestion n vomitting prob.. i lost all my appetite! Now i only hope all MS will disappear soon and my appetite will come back again and i can sleep well every night!

I never encounter all these nonsense when i had my first one... sometimes i just can't help feeling sorry for myself now.. suffering...

dimpletot
Yup. Both sides parents all dont know. I scared if i tell them now, they will be very gan chiong and give me a lot of stress. Also, since my pregnancy is still unstable, it is better that i dont let them know first in case they get disappointed in the end...

Me not really close to my colleagues but need to let them know is bcos i have been on mc regularly since this pregnancy. Feel that i should let them know the truth otherwise they think I'm trying to 'clear' my mc. Trying to tong until end of this month cos have tendered my resignation and serving my notice now.

How many weeks are you now? I also feel that my tummy is popping out leh. But bcos my boy is only 6 months now, most of them may think that i have not shed off the extra weight i put on during my first pregnancy.

<font color="0000ff">Dimpletot, I've been wearing loose fitting tops/pants...found out that I can't fit in to most of my pants le...over the wkend, DH managed to buy some new ones for me ;p...

Littleger think the 1st trimester is the most discomfort stage, we just have to grin and bear with it.....

Good morning ladies

Very nice weather today.

Littlebluey, do you have anybody to help you to do your confinement if you don't engage CL? My mother and MIL can't help me at all, so I do not have much choice but to engage one. I also very hesitiate to engage one initially due to cost and also I don't like stranger in my house. But in the end, I'm very glad I engaged one 'cos my CL is very good and with her around, I can build back my health in that 28 days and also concentrate on bf my baby. Without her, I think I won't be able to bf my gal 1 yr 'cos I'm those type who have very little milk. Need a lot of effort to get the supply.
So it really depends on your needs and situation. I'm engaging my CL back again this round.

Dimpletots, you can do waxing at Strip during pregnancy as well.
I had done that last round and glad I had done it before delivery.

Buffy, my boss isn't very supportive during my 1st pregnancy either. In fact, since he knew my pregnancy, he had been showing me black face for 1 mth. So I haven't announce my this pregnancy to him yet. Can't imagine what wil happen if I announce. I just don't care lar but at least I prepared for it. Last round was a bit taken back 'cos normally he was quite a supportive boss but don't know why he wasn't supportive of my pregnancy. Maybe 'cos I got to be away from 3 mths and he is not prepared for that.

Janey,
Yup quite lucky to get a nanny who is willing to come over. However, she has yesterday hinted me if I can bring my 2nd baby over to her house instead and at a much lower salary. However, I'm not very keen on that. I'm still discussing with her. Let hope everything will turn out fine.

Haaa.. true true got to cut down on resturants visits (actually had cut down since my #1 is born) as well as savings. I guess not much a choice? Unless our salary suddenly go up which don't seem to be possible at the moment. :S

Ya, my hb drives. So can imagine the expenses. I guess we just have to manage as it goes

When will you be getting your maid if you do employ one? I'm thinking if I should get her in my 3rd trim 'cos by then I might need some help around when my hb is not at home with me. Still thinking about it.

Cheers~

Hi missk, I am in China and I only managed to find the local brands kits. The first two that I bought only cost sgd3 each and so I doubt their accuracy though I tested positive on both. Then I bought another one at sgd6 and was also positive. So I went to the gynea here and went through the tummy scan to confirm

karen, thanks for sharing. As we are overseas, we will pretty much be on our own. No parents and good friends here for support. I have not decided if I should give birth here or back home. So much things to consider. And I am considering if I need a helper here as I am worried that I cannot manage alone. Currently, we have a part-time cleaner, it is more on the baby part that I may need help.

elchwong, I had subway last week. But I ate terriyaki chicken, so it was actually 'cooked' except for the vegetables. Not sure if it is advisable to eat those ham, but I will probably try to avoid that.

I had diarrhea yesterday and then stomachache until now. Now paranoid, not sure if anything wrong with me and should see the doc or not leh
And i did not eat much since yesterday lunch. No appetite.

Littlebluey, I tried wearing my favourite jeans last week and got to unbutton when i was having my meal... hehehe...

hi Jasminetea,

I will probably get her in around May/June period. So i can train her and few months down the road, she will be helping me out at home

Hmmm..your nanny suggested to bring both kids to her place? It depends on what you think, i think its best to be at your house, furthermore, if you get a maid who is good in handling baby, perhaps you need not spend on nanny. How much cheaper is she willing to cut down, this is also a factor if you want to consider..but every morning, you got to drop the kids their before you go off to work lor.

Actually my resturants visits are limited to weekends..hahahaa...after 5 days of homecook meals :p Car is the expensive one, one month we got to spare 1k for car, then plus maid around $800, don;t think can have savings liao :p But, seriously i am super happy with my lifestyle now, no stress from work, no need to hurry every morning and looking at my kid growing up each day..

<font color="0000ff">Jasminetea, my mum did hint to me the other day that she won't be able to cook for me daily and she did ask if I'm getting a Cl? But I told her it's still too early to say anything as yet.. am still considering it wor. My mum has many years for babysitting experience and I've learnt how to take care of a baby along the way so more or less I hope I can cope with it.

My DH said he will help with the household chores and i basically dunnit to do anything at all..
hahahaha...but will have to think abt it again I guess hmmm...

Pinkimum,

Most of the pants that I "almost can't fit in" have to be unbutton when I'm sitting down or having a meal hahahaha...that's y now wearing a baby doll dress is more comfy hahahaha...tht's really bad! hmmm...

Littleger,

Everything shd be taken in moderation I guess

Hi Mummies, good afternoon!!

Jus curious, mousebb, is your gynae Dr Adrian Woody?? I have been on MC for one month plus liao, super bored!! Even though in between I still go to work one or two days but the recent bleeding make me stay at home for one whole week!

Ribena: I also play the Mahjong at the webby but it can get quite ired sometimes...

I do wake up a few times in the middle of the night. Last time I can sleep throughout cos I am a pig!! Haha... Now I sleep like 10 hours, nap in the afternnon &amp; feel so tired...

hi Isabelle,

I sacked the CL bcos she is very lazy and very very unhygien. I dun mind my house is not clean but most important is all the food and utensils must be clean b4 and after cook. the most angry part is she ignore my baby when he poo in pamper and told me that "at nite poo no need to change, tomolo morning then change can liao" wah!!!!! if my baby kenna rashes then how??? she even change all my kitchen arrangement and spoilt my wok. haiz.... a lot of bad experience with her, so i decide i take care my boy, at least i no need mentally stress and physically stress.

mousebb, me also have brown/pink discharge. during my 1st preg, i also need to go back to jab twice per week. now #2 also have to go back twice per week
. really dun want to see the brown/pink discharge

i cannot bed rest bcos i still need to take care my boy.

Littlebluey, as I am in China, even if i wear skirt or dress, I still need to wear leggings. Luckily its turning warmer now, so I dun need to wear longjohns. Anyway the last I weighed, I din put on much weight leh.

ladies, any concern with drinking chrysanthemum?

i just ate subway last evening. hubby told them to heat up the meat so said can eat. so, i ate.

i'm experiencing bloated &amp; tired after meal during in office. But feel better during the dinner. Woke up twice if didn't have a full dinner else will be once.

Hi Snoopy Tea, I am with Dr Adrian Woodworth, I am going to his Choa Chu Kang clinic and he goes to all the private hospitals to deliver, not only TMC. I find that he is very reassuring, no nonsense, straightforward, talk fast &amp; kind. He does not volunteer info but is very willing to answer if you have any ques. My appt is vert fast as he has alot of patients so waiting time is only about half an hour...

Littleger, I ask about the sting ray ques in another thread, they said eat in moderation should be ok..

storeberry: thanks. Cos i rem an ex-colleague told me preggies shld not eat stingray but she didn't tell mi the reason. I did a search on this just now and i think it might be due to the mercury it contains.

I m back to this forum. My MS still worse, puke few times a day. Very tired. Cant sleep througout the nite also. But pregnancy is like that one need endure lor.

Hi Karen,

My brother's gf's mother is CL, she is super clean lady and she take care bb very well. plus she is a quiet person unlike some aunties (talkative and kepo). Some mummies did often her to stay for another month to take care bb. Let me know if you are interested ;-)

<font color="aa00aa">mousebb: yah, i do take it after meals but my system is just not able to take on 3 tablets a day. actually, i did do some research and it seems gastro-intestinal sensitivities is one of the side effects. i guess i am one of the "lucky" ones lor. :p but if the dosage is 2 tablets, i am actually ok.

wah biang, after lunch now, i am quite darn sleepy man...</font>

yah I think I also over ate... chilli sotong with rice and fried egg.... now feeling slightly nauseous! but before that I was so hungry and my tummy was growling so I ate all the rice! ;P

elchwong, must remember the golden rule! many small meals, not one subway + one ock all at once! how about drinking a few sips of juice? it might make you feel better.

xuanting....guess I was too greedy as I was too hungry jus nw! Hee...no juice available but I'm eating some sourish preserved fruits nw....

i think the big glass of warm barley is also causing everything to EXPAND....

xuanting - yah must remember that advice... mine is 2 big meals (lunch and dinner) and 2 small meals (breakfast and teatime) these days... must change liao...

pinkimum - i think chrysanthemum is ok - don't think it contains caffeine.

littleger - i think sting ray should be avoided for mercury also...

Hello, mummies! Just woke up from nap, so very good mood now. Hahahha. One of the perks of SAHM, can hug hug my girl and nuah together in bed on rainy days. But house messy now, and must start cooking soon.

Stephy: Ya, I think if you don't say anything, they shave you here in Singapore. In US, they dun do it anymore for natural birth. I think they shave previously because people think it's more hygienic.But actually, no real benefits lah.

One lady in my pre-natal class asked her hubby to shave her before they went in to hospital to deliver only to be told by the nurse that it's not necessary anymore. Hahahaha. But if you really want to shave, better to do it yourself at a waxing salon loh.

One question, mummies. Do they have delivery suites here in Singapore? I haven't go to the tour at TMC yet, so I dunno. The hospital where I delivered last, we are assigned a room like a hotel. Then you wait, deliver and rest there throughout your stay. No need to move here and there.

Cos my mum in law don't want my hubby to be with me when I deliver. Some supersition about the birthing process will affect the guy' luck or something. Then we got excuse cos it's delivery suite mah, everything done at the same place, so where else can he go? But now, in Singapore, if I kena push somewhere else to deliver, she might want my hubby to stay out until the baby is out. Sian leh, the last time when she said this, I was so angry (lucky I in US, and she in Singapore). I told my hubby if I gotta give birth alone, that's setting me up for post natal depression.

But now, we are all in Singapore, so hmm.... don't know how to avoid this issue....

<font color="ff6000">aiyoh, that is really quite an awful superstition. Maybe if you have a fierce gynae you can let the gynae emphasise to her how impt it is for your husband to be there.

i think MAH has such delivery suites though i'm not sure. I haven't gone to the tours yet either... intending to go TMC one this Sat.

Anyone's bb going to be the first or second grandchild in the family? Mine's the first for both my parents and hubby's parents. Also going to be the first great-grandchild on both my mum's side and my hubby's dad's side... I'm the second oldest grandchild mah.</font>

Mousebb: Hang in there! The results will be worth it.

pinkimum: Where are you located in China? Take care of what you eat ya. I used to stay in Shanghai a few years ago. When I eat outside, I simply make myself not think about what's going on in their kitchen. Hahahaha.. But now you preggy, must be more careful loh. Can start to ask around for hospital/nanny/helper recommendations loh. Then can make better decision for you and baby.

dimpletot: I think my mum in law will volunteer to go in with me instead of hubby. But i think I'll just giggle all the way if she's there. Hahahaha. How to give birth????

Actually, looking back, my hubby was kinda redundant at the last birth. He's not the talkative type, so don't know how to 'an wei' me at all. Worse still, he just sat in another chair and play with his blackberry (during my contractions!!!) But during the last part, he more pro-active lah, hold my hands and telling me to push....etc. This time round, I must give him more detailed instructions....

Rei-chan,

TMC has a triage area were they will do all those pressure taking, enema, shaving while u wait for registration. After that, you will be allocated a delivery suite/room. Then u wait, watch tv, deliver there

rei-chan, count yourself lucky! whahahahaah mine sitting there and zzz-ing away. lol.

I called my CL who did confinement for #1, and she confirmed she will be helping me. I am soo glad.

When i am typing all these, my maid is cooking. the smell is killing me making me wanna puke!

Rei-chan
For TMC, you will be put in the 'observation room' until you are ready to give push, then they will push you to the delivery ward and after you delivered, you will be pushed back to your ward. During my hospital tour at TMC last time, i thought I saw there is a sign at the 'observation room' that says only husband is allowed to stay in the observation room. In that case, you can tell your mother-in-law she cannot go in with you, only your hubby is allowed.

poohy: Thanks for the info. I'm stuck with TMC anyway cos just signed package with gynae and he delivers there only. Must bring hubby there one day for the tour.

Oct08mummy: I think we can laugh now cos it's over already. But if I had extra energy then, I'll probably smashed his blackberry. Hahahahahaha... Let's hope our hubbies can do better this time round.

Pig pig: So observation room is for 1 couple only or many many couples?? I think my hubby will probably run if there's other pregnant women going thru contractions there....

Rei-chan
The observation roon is just like a 4 bedded ward with curtains...so your hubby can only stay by your side and have no chance to see other pregnant women going thru the contractions lah. hehehe