(2008/10) Oct 2008

ribenali
I've also added you

dimpletot, i think mothercare sells bf pillow.

leeyiling, my gal also born 9 oct 08!

littlealmond, no change in my shoe sz during/ after pregnancy. but i am already sz 7!ha! wah, karen, 50 pairs!! my hubby nags when i go beyond 20 pairs...

bbgoh, Izzy also dun like to be on tummy when she's awake. think it's the bb preference.

ruffles, Izzy also gave me a scare when she didnt want to latch a few days ago! She will latch like 2 seconds & stop! Luckily now ok, I am still monitoring.. thot she rejecting my breast!

monyetnakal, yea i went to Studio Loft at 1230pm. Bedlam! Hello to Jollyhoppy and Christine (is it, I didnt hear too clearly just now)! Jollyhoppy, didnt say bye bye to you just now. Utter mayhem & I am near my wits end after 2 hrs there with my hyper toddler. Alamak, spent more than $100+ there, might as well book their package?? I definitely recommend going there by 10AM.

mousebb, wah wenmin can sit already!? Izzy still nodding all over the place and tumbling down..

mint, not quite the green i was expecting. can i just get the pixies off you?

xinying, the taggies look very DIY-able leh!

joanne tan, patz.. such is reality. Although my coy definitely wants me back, I was told to put my stuff in boxes before I left on ML. My seat was passed to someone else. When I go back, I will be re-assigned a new seat. Nevermind, you only have 1 month, look fwd to the end of it.

essanna : no worries =)i understand..it was so crowded. ya, for mummies gg for fri fotoshoot, pls go early.. i waited for abt 1 1/2 hr..even more crowded than e x'mas one..wanted to do a sitting shot, but guess bb abit blur blur after he wake up..& kept 'dozing' off..& my mum was like shouting..'no la, his head nt too strong, dun wan la,," in the end..took the 'lying down' setting..

xinying : ya, i think can DIY e taggies.. go spotlight to buy nice nice fabric & scrapbookin shop to buy the lovely ribbons..hee =)

essanna,
yah. really can't complain cause i will be leaving soon also. so have to bear with it. looking forward to the 1month finish already so that i could spend everyday with baby.

mint, i would like to have both pixies.

jollyhoppy, Izzy used up all her smiles on the mat. When on the chair shot, she cannot smile anymore. My MIL says also because she is not comfortable on the chair, very unstable.

<font color="aa00aa">Thanks, mummies!

Whitepaper
That time when I wanted to buy the bumbo seat, I also felt the seat is not practical since it can only last for some times that why i decided to get a preloved one from another mummy. I think it has been put into good use cos wenxuan used it until he was 10 months old and now wenmin can take over liao.

essanna
I guess it is bcos wenmin's neck is short that's why it is quite steady now.

Ruffles
It depends on the size of the bb. My son used it until he was 10 months.

Mint
I bought that carters romper very cheap, 5 pcs for $12.50 nia.</font>

mommies
i got a dumb question to ask. my ger dun like to bath,wipe down or change clothes. anything wrg w her?hiaz... she screams and screams every time i bath, wipe or change her... i dunno what to do

Jellypurin,
don't think there's anything wrong.. some babies are just more difficult to handle. my ger didnt like to at first either.. kept crying and crying.. but we still need to clean her.. and now she's fine with it.. i find that being calm and talking her through.. even singing at times calms her. Now she enjoys her bath time and can laugh and kick her legs in the water.

congrats to Regine having teeth...

I just started Baby Zac on brown rice cereal with formula today, he is coming 3 mths on 24 Jan. Is it too early?

So tempted to go to the studio loft photoshoot. Do i have to bring my own costume? I don't know where to buy leh.

Can add me on facebook [email protected].
SMS 91158251.

xinying
so gd to meet marcus and you. all the best in making ur first pouch!

dumbo
hmm, i tried those before. singing, talking. i even tried bathing her after her feed/nap, but still dun work. i am wondering if i did anything wrg or is she hurt by me when i bath her. this is going to b a major problem cos when i go bk to work, my mom will be the care giver and she finds it difficult to handle my ger when she wails

christina
that's v early. i read from net and books that bb's should start w solids between 5-7mths. but i guess if ur boy is taking it alrite, no harm cont, i guess.

jellypurin,
what i did for my ger is to make sure she's fully fed, play with her abit and then slowly take her clothes off.. as if tricking her that taking her clothes off is part of play time. duno if i got lucky or it actually worked.. i will also wrap her with a nappy first so she doesnt feel "exposed". will wash her hair first with a washcloth, then her neck, underarms and arms and back. only removing the nappy when i put her in the water. but MIL started to hold her hands in the beginning (now she's ok) when she's in the water coz she will struggle, scream and cry.. holding her hands close to her chest, according to MIL, makes her feel secure.. also ensure the windows and fan is off so she dont feel chilly.. for wiping down, i wipe her face first (with clothes on) then remove the top, and put a nappy over her while i wipe part by part, and den dress her to her waist.. den remove pants if she's wearing any to wipe her legs. after that i remove diapers and clean her bumbum.. sounds like many steps but its actually quite easy. i hope this helps..

jellypurin, my gal also hates bathtime..
when CL was ard my gal shower can wake me up from sleep in aircon rm..
then after CL left i shower myself also like tat..
i tried talking/ singing/ playing/ diff positions/ diff steps/ diff timing/ diff water temp..
now she is slightly better so i guess maybe they insecure or got scared b4 so paranoid or maybe like my hb told me the fortune teller whom i got my gal's chinese name from say my gal "ji shui"..
but for now its all the methods..

now i get her into a pattern..
after 1st feed in morning i let her rest for 30mins b4 i tell her i am going to shower her then i bring her to her rm, play with her a bit while taking her clothes off then wrap her up in towel then i tell her going to toilet shower liao then will be "pang pang"..

inside bathrm i tell i "brush" her teeth..
then tell her close eyes i clean her eyes also play with her a bit n keep talking to her..
she usually starts when i start to wet her head which i also tell her n at the same time i do it quick then after that is "splashy time"..
funny thing is my gal only enjoys when she is tummy time in bathtub..
so enjoy till can eat her drumstick..
but the moment i flip her to front she start to "bian zui" then starts to scream..
somwhow she hates being butt down in bathtub..
despite me telling her every step n wat i doing sometimes is still unavoidable tearing down of my bathrm..
so the key is observe wat they don like u to do n try to speed up that step so avoid screaming..
always tell them wat u doing..
don jus drop them in water like i usually slowly put my gal in so she don jump due to the temp of water..
as for wiping down.. my gal is c mood.. sometimes she grouchy no choice jus let her scream but some times she ok.. so must c mood one lor..
usually i avoid the time when they r tired cos when they stoning n u wipe them they get frustrated..

gd luck to u!!
everyday b4 i shower my gal i say my prayers *ahaha*
i now have u in my prayers

morning mommies

jen
hehe.. u r so cute! u know, i try to do everything fast fast...the thing is, the moment i wash my ger's hair, she starts to scream! when she was much younger, singing helps. now, it does not

i will try tummy down next time when i hv my mom around to watch her as well. my ger is not that strong with her neck yet, but yes, i have seen this being done before

thnks for keeping me in prayer!

christina &amp; ribena - added u to FB.

jelly - I think some bb dun like to bathe ;) Can try talking to your baby. It takes time. I always talk to Vicky when bathing. Tell her it's 'bathing time', 'clean eyes', 'clean ears' etc. She really enjoys it. Think she understands the words even. After telling her to 'sit', she sits in the tub with me holding her neck still instead of 'standing- pushing' with her legs. The other important factor is the temp of the room n water. Not too cold or windy, and always pat the bb w some water fr the tub and tell her 'it's bathing time'.

christina - was it recommended by your PD to feed your bb solids now? It does seem a wee bit early. Read that usually the PD will recommend solids when the bb weight slows, when the bb takes less milk, and or when the bb shows interest in food. My PD told me that there is no rush in feeding my bb solid as yet; milk is still key to her growth. I suppose if your bb is doing ok w the cereal, then no cause for concern. But do cont to feed milk as the main source of nutrition.

morning mummies

Anyone uses softener for bb's laundry? Cos I feel that it sometimes driesquite hard. Cannot use adult softener right? I haven't come across bb softener...

Something I read on Introducing Solids to Your Infant:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/512426.html?1166543051

Q&amp;A on weaning babies:
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/startingsolids/introducing/
http://hcd2.bupa.co.uk/fact_sheets/html/baby_weaning.html
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/readyforsolids.htm (Is my baby ready for solids?)
http://www.askdrsears.com/html/3/T032000.asp (Starting solids - 6reasons to wait till 6mths)STARTING SOLID FOODS: WHEN? WHAT? AND HOW?
Ready to open your baby's mouth to a whole new world of textures and tastes? Is baby ready to open her mouth? Get ready for the joys � and the mess � of eating solid foods. When you begin feeding your baby solid foods you want to progress in a way that sets baby up for healthy eating habits. You are not only putting food into your baby's tummy, you are introducing lifelong attitudes about nutrition. Consider for a moment that during the first year or two you will spend more time feeding your baby than in any other interaction. You both might as well enjoy it.

WHY WAIT? 6 REASONS
Gone are the days when pressured mothers stuffed globs of cereal into the tight mouths of reluctant six-week-olds. Nowadays parents feed their baby on the timetable that is developmentally and nutritionally correct -- as determined by their baby. Don't be in a rush to start solids. Here are some good reasons for waiting.

1. Baby's intestines need to mature. The intestines are the body's filtering system, screening out potentially harmful substances and letting in healthy nutrients. In the early months, this filtering system is immature. Between four and seven months a baby's intestinal lining goes through a developmental growth spurt called closure, meaning the intestinal lining becomes more selective about what to let through. To prevent potentially-allergenic foods from entering the bloodstream, the maturing intestines secrete IgA , a protein immunoglobulin that acts like a protective paint, coating the intestines and preventing the passage of harmful allergens. In the early months, infant IgA production is low (although there is lots of IgA in human milk), and it is easier for potentially-allergenic food molecules to enter the baby's system. Once food molecules are in the blood, the immune system may produce antibodies to that food, creating a food allergy . By six to seven months of age the intestines are more mature and able to filter out more of the offending allergens. This is why it's particularly important to delay solids if there is a family history of food allergy, and especially to delay the introduction of foods to which other family members are allergic.

2. Young babies have a tongue-thrust reflex . In the first four months the tongue thrust reflex protects the infant against choking. When any unusual substance is placed on the tongue, it automatically protrudes outward rather than back. Between four and six months this reflex gradually diminishes, giving the glob of cereal a fighting chance of making it from the tongue to the tummy. Not only is the mouth-end of baby's digestive tract not ready for early solids, neither is the lower end.

3. Baby's swallowing mechanism is immature. Another reason not to rush solids is that the tongue and the swallowing mechanisms may not yet be ready to work together. Give a spoonful of food to an infant less than four months, and she will move it around randomly in her mouth, pushing some of it back into the pharynx where it is swallowed, some of it into the large spaces between the cheeks and gums, and some forward between the lips and out onto her chin. Between four and six months of age, most infants develop the ability to move the food from the front of the mouth to the back instead of letting it wallow around in the mouth and get spit out. Prior to four months of age, a baby's swallowing mechanism is designed to work with sucking, but not with chewing.

4. Baby needs to be able to sit up. In the early months, babies associate feeding with cuddling. Feeding is an intimate interaction, and babies often associate the feeding ritual with falling asleep in arms or at the breast. The change from a soft, warm breast to a cold, hard spoon may not be welcomed with an open mouth. Feeding solid foods is a less intimate and more mechanical way of delivering food. It requires baby to sit up in a highchair � a skill which most babies develop between five and seven months. Holding a breastfed baby in the usual breastfeeding position may not be the best way to start introducing solids, as your baby expects to be breastfed and clicks into a "what's wrong with this picture?" mode of food rejection.

5. Young infants are not equipped to chew. Teeth seldom appear until six or seven months, giving further evidence that the young infant is designed to suck rather than to chew. In the pre-teething stage, between four and six months, babies tend to drool, and the drool that you are always wiping off baby's face is rich in enzymes, which will help digest the solid foods that are soon to come.

6. Older babies like to imitate caregivers. Around six months of age, babies like to imitate what they see. They see you spear a veggie and enjoy chewing it. They want to grab a fork and do likewise.

a good website for baby food chart (4-6mths)
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/solidfood4to6montholdbaby.htm
this gives u a good idea on what to give and what not to give.

Essana, my boy also didnt smileon the chair shoot for CNY, i think because its not comfy for him yet to sit. Regret that i didnt request for lying down shoot for CNY
. Luckily the xmas shoot we took lying down, so got some smiles.

So much talk on starting on solids. Will consult my PD next visit after CNY, which is when Marcus is 4mth+

Taggies,
Ya lor, look very DIYable. Bt i'm thinking make for wat leh? Will MArcus enjoy playing with it?

Jellypurin,
U looked tired last night. Haha... Thanks for the loan. I'm going to buy cloth tonight or tmr.

Studioloft
So many of u went. Tempting me more and more. Do share pics!

Chris Lin, tempted to go studioloft again on Fri to take baby jo photo in lying down position for CNY ..
but i think my hubby will not agree.

Forest - When are you closing the spree? I confirm my item with you by end of today, if you are ok?

mousebb - Your wenmin is so adorable!
Hope my bb gal can sit upright soon too. My MIL and hubby don't want to get a bumbo seat, say cannot last long... but i thought it's good to let bb learn to sit in the chair. Now I keep placing her upright sitting on back of sofa, but she always falls to the left or right.

Jellypurin - my girl initially did not like bathing too. What we did was to play with her first, make her happy, talk to her. When her mood good already, then we bring her to the water tub. If her mood no good, we don't bath her. And yes, must close all windows to ensure no wind. After a while, she begins to enjoy bathing. Afterall, being in water reminds them of the days in our waterbag.

Re: solid food - if possible, I will start at the 6th month :p. Coz me lazy mum, solid food more hassle to prepare than milk!

studio loft - Hmm... hubby told me last night he's taking leave this Fri. hehe....... very tempted to go studio loft afyter hearing so much from you all!!!! Do they only provide the festive settings? Coz I don't think wanna go buy those festive outfits as MIL will nag lor..
.... maybe will go buy some hats from kiddy palace to cover her botak head and match some of her existing rompers..... that's more impt! Hehe..... Who's going down this Fri? What time do they start?

My hubby taking leave this friday too.
Now... my turn to go take leave, then can go SL.
Hope won't be too crowded. If have to wait too long, think hubby will nag. He keep saying it's a waste of $$.

Surf,
They will provide the CNY settings, but not clothes.

Chrislin,
2 settings $70 ok lah. For X'mas, i also did 2 setting, but i didn't get extra pics.