(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="green">jellypurin,
i initially go to the thomson pd clinic at tiong bahru plaza. but since my pd moved to another clinic i shifted also. but thinking of going back to the thomson clinic.

Hi Mummies..

How's everyone?? I haven been busy taking care of bb till no time to come online..
Varner is growing well just that his face got terrible rashes lately.. I wonder y that happen le.. I have been going back Indonesia as I'm really tired taking care of him alone.. Need to pump milk, do housework and cook for myself..

My BM supply damn low now... sad..

xinying
i seldom sling her when she's awake! i do sling her when she is aslp and we are out.. sound contradictig i know.

joanne
u ever tried dr adeline wong? i find her quite good of the pd clinic

purpleangel,
No lah, just that if order together easier mah...

I use the calendula cream on my girl's face.

Karen,
Sleep is good. Helps in growth. I feed baby a little bit of water. Not everyday cos she refuses anything that is from the bottle but I still try.

mspiggy,
Yes, I want the nepia diapers. How much? What is the weight range for M size nepia diapers?

surf,
I'm not sure if the S26 bottles can accomodate more than 100ml. They are the glass bottles from hospital also.

jellypurin,
Mrs Wong did mention not to give too much soy milk to babies cos it alters their hormonal system. For girls, she said that they will reach puberty at an earlier age than her peers.

xinying,
Wow! You can sew ah? I can't even sew a button properly. heehee!

whitepaper,
Haha! You're funnee lar... maybe can suggest to maryann to have all these walk-ins... kekeke!

jill,
Good for you. My girl still refusing it until she super hungry and got no choice. Sigh!

rains,
The milk is of diff temp. So it's better not to mix.

dimpletot,
Not using pillow cos bb sleeps on tummy. Only use the bean pillow on her tummy when she sleeps on her back.

Talking abt sling.. My mum made one for me.. haha... my bb like to be carried vertically leh.. sling not useful for me now as I don knoe know to carry him vertical by sling..

Ladies - ever encountered CLOWNS who pinch your baby's cheeks when they are asleep, and then baby cry the WHOLE NITE through? Well, I just had tat 'wonderful' experience. SICK. Went for a extended fam dinner, and a distance aunt of my hub came by and started pinching Victoria's face when she just fell asleep. Naturally my gal cried and cried, and refused to be pacified the WHole nite (7-11pm). Then just when she managed to quieten down and sleep, the WOMAN came by again to make unnecessary comments that it's like that .. babies keep crying etc,,, and TRIED TO PINCH HER FACE AGAIN. I am 'what the F%%%'! I told her 'dont touch' and pushed her hands away before she could do anything. She was shocked, but I had to protect my ger and me right? I din even get to eat din you know, and my arms were aching from all that carrying. Sorry for the ranting.. but am so SIc of that stupid woman. Really flabbergasted.

And guess what - am now eating burger instead of enjoying the expensive dinn I paid for.

ruffles, i can totally understand wat u mean..
there r jus some ppl who dunno wat is AUTOMATIC or RESPECT!
but sometimes we can only come in here n rant tats abt all if we say out loud wait offend the family ppl etc..
Haiz~

jellypurin, thanks for the link..
i DL liao n hb is so damm PISSED!!!
wahahaha! gonna start my evil plan tml *wish me luck*

WTF!

ya slap her dirty hands away. so inconsiderate.

usually i'm ok passing the bub around if she's awake but if she's sleeping then it's a no go zone. we have a rule in the household, the person who wakes abby has the responsibility to lull her back to sleep again.

my dad in law kena a few times but he doesn't mind lah and eventually my mil will take over.. then me and husband will joyously skip back to our room and watch tv for a short while ehhehe..

i'm watching ch 16 travel and living now.. mmm prata. me.. want.. prata.

surf,
i'ld check out the ml for the bottles for you.

oh oh.. now they showing how to make laksa. mmmmm...

whitepaper,

baby pumpkins are very cute. like anne geddes.. we ought to get a few babies, line them up in pumpkin suits. hehehe

actually even if Studio loft has walk ins for the stated holidays.. could be fun. imagine dressing baby up as a baby ganesha (elephant god i think) for deepavali, a songkok on baby for hari raya, a baby mooncake for mooncake festival, baby ba chang for dumpling festival, the possibilities are endless.

the only scary part is if studio loft entertains walk ins for..

thaipusam.

kekekekekkeekeekekek

karen,
no love, very jaded. i love my students though, both the big and little ones, just not very fond of the organisation. prob go back to childcare and apply for some research positions around.

Jellypurin/ergo
can buy from metro or www.mummysmilk.com

i bought one too for my gal. used until i was pregnant with no.2. i love it so much.

studioloft pictures
all pictures of you mummies'babies look so good!!!

whitepaper
i wish to bring 2 too...but it seems impossible. one is cranky and the other always tantrum.sigh

everafter
did you use the breastmilk tray? it's reusuable so you wont waste it. I used to use the trays too. saved alot of money.

pildough
alternative 1
i hv to look for a changing room with multiple changing mats. put no 2 on one and no 1 on the other. change no 1 while no 2 screams his lungs out.
alterative 2
cab straight home to change :)

surf/ergo/bjorn
ergo is cheaper. baby is in sitting position. baby face in, and on the back.

bjorn, different types. baby hanging on crotch.
baby face in and out.

Personally, i love ergo.
ps: where do you stay?

Xinying/ribenali
i think she has started work, so busy. she came to my place to collect stuffs the other day!

hairshaving
i didn't hv my gal's hair shave. i think new grown hair is thicker and rougher after you shave.

ribenali
thanks! your gal too...so adorable :)

pureangel
me too...calendula all over..my boy and gal.

Xinying/more BP!!!
wah lau!!! nice stuffs..sigh but no money to buy anymore.

Pil, dirty hands is the least of my worries actually..
my BIL's gf is a NYP training nurse n she always stay over @ MIL place n she always wear her uniform &amp; shoes back!!!
full of germs n dunno wat n she goes near to my gal!!!!
i damm hate it but cannot say in front of MIL wait she black face..
tat day after my gal 6in1 went back to MIL place n that stupid gf SHOUTED out loud when my gal was trying to sleep &amp; cos my gal to b startled n cry #$^@&amp;%$*^)(*&amp;

jen,
put a handrub next to your girl's cot and hint to her hehehe, she's a nurse in training, she should know what to do with a hand rub but she might surprise you, this world is full of idiots.

enya,
you make calendula sound like creme de la mer for children. ehehhehe on the other hand, your babies are starting to sound like sandwiches.. getting smeared generously with calendula like lobster pieces in bearnaise sauce. mmmmm

i'm hungry.

can u all tell?

maybe i should have maggi mee. heee heeeee heeeee

wake up with gushing fountains of milk!!! PHWOAR

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies

pillow for babies:
mine also sleeping on folded nappy. PD's advise is to only let baby sleep on pillow at 1 year old. Now not so good for the neck and spine.

pildough
ahahahahahahaha thaipusam!!!!!!! wah biang, when CH grows up, he's gonna hate me for this...

rashs on babies:
PD says it's common for babies this age to get rashes on face and neck coz they are starting the salivate (though not teething) and using their hands to rub all over their face. He gave me this cream called "EF cream" (dunno what's the full name) which is super good and effective. What I do now is I wipe baby's face and neck with cooled boiled water after every feed.

need advice from all the mummies, my boy's diaper very easy to full and leak sometimes after 2.5hr, sometimes 4hr+. I only let him wear at nite. Now I am using huggie ultra slim &amp; NTUC Msize, all happend same thing.my boy sleep from 8.30pm to 9am. but wake up at 2am and 5am. i did change new diaper at 8.30pm and 2am. and the leak will happend b4 2am.

Is it i need to change his diaper b4 i sleep (~11pm)? Any mum do it also? but I scare will wake him up if I change for him

I feel that he wake up not bcos of hungry, is bcos of wet (2am). How can I prevent him sleep in "water flood"? I tried huggie, fitty and NTUC. all happend leak. Is my boy too much urine?
Haiz... dunknow how to do... for those baby sleep thru nite mummy, did u change diaper for ur baby in between sleep?

thanks! really need some advice

Karen,
Does your boy sleeps face up or tummy down? My boy sleeps tummy down from 8pm-6am, waking up at 5am for a feed. He use to leak very often till I wrap the diaper higher up to his front..

Jellypurin - Friso Soy is quite heaty lor. Try to alternate the feed with your BM. When she finally poo...my goodness, it's machiam like stone, unlike the usual "tomato sauce" if it's BM feed.

Karen - My bb on TBM but I feed her water sometimes, e.g. when she cries for milk before time. Sometimes, she's just mouth itchy, so we use water to coax her. And we also hear the saying that if you don't try feeding her with water, she will not want to drink water in future. IF you give FM, confirm must give water, if not very heaty. She will be constipated.

essanna / Xinying - now I know why you ladies are crazy abt HotSling.... it's really very nice leh!!!! :D. the prints and design. But are they the same as the pouches that we discussed earlier? With no buckle...wah.. but the price is like 2-3x difference.....

Oops... we been putting powder on bb's buttocks whenever she pee or poo leh... get rid of the smell.....

dimpletot - my bb been sleeping on small bean sprout pillow since day 1. We also bought her the longish version to put across her chest as she's scared easily when sleeping.

mint - are the socks the leg warmer? Am looking for leg warmer.......Thanks. Let me know abt the bottles aft you hv checked it out. No hurry.

Enya - I stay at Toa Payoh. Erm... you know me? Hehe :p. On ergo and Bjorn, we waiting for sales to chek it out.... What is this BM trays that you were mentioning?

Haha... Whitepaper, all the themes for Studio Loft....... think they can engage you for art direction liao :p I pray hard hard that my girl's hair grow fast fast.......

Just fed my girl with FBM..... the fishy smell is really yucky.... she made some fuss but still finish up the whole bottle.

think bm has quite high water content gave my boy water only when he started solids at 6 mths, no problem, he loves to drink water. guess no harm giving younger, only concern if baby feel full with water may take less bm, less nutrients.

trying to get z to sleep on the oval pillow with a hole in the middle, recently felt a flat spot on the back of her head. but she always wiggles her way off the pillow, think too warm.

pildough, mint, i want the glass btls if u're giving!! Really not enough btls to use. pildough, my mum stays at tampines, i can collect frm u on sundays? mint, u staying which part of west side?

Jill - you tried letting bb sleep on bean sprout pillow? It supposedly mould accrodingly to baby's head shape, so will nto affect the devet of the head.

Everafter - are you using glass bottles to freeze or to store in fridge for consumption within 48 hours? Just wondering how come your 10 bottles cannot last if milk to be consumed within 48 hours?

Sorry mint, I was referring to pildough to chk on the glass btl ml for me. :p

pildough - If it's also 100ml, then it's fine. Do the bottles come with ml markings?

Surf, i dun remb how many btls i hv in fridge, mostly are in my freezer cos im a weekend mum. But everyday i will deliver my EBM to my mum's plc, so i hv to split the btls btw 2 homes. Not enough to use leh..Previously bought 100pcs milkbag and now im using the last pkt of 25pcs.

Enya, the milktray difficult to handle? cos the nuk btls opening are small leh..the cube size can go in? then how u take the cube out? with bare hands?

Pillow
Oops, I actually let baby sleep on a pillow but it's so soft, almost non-existent.

Ruffles
Hee I know it's frustrating but it's funny, your story!

Mummies thanks for the pillow advice.

Karen sg

My dd gets a diaper change just before her last feed at 11 and next diaper change when she wakes up abt 7. So far no leaks using mamypoko and even ntuc which I like apart from the noisy sticker. Don't think I'll buy anymore ntuc cos the sticker like drypers, sticks on skin! Just bought a pack of huggies dry comfort that was on offer... 18.45 for 66.

On bf,
any mummies here bf on the bed in sitting position? My back is complaining.

<font color="green">dimpletot,
i bf on the bed cause my butt complaining already when i sit on the chair to bf. hehe.. but i sit at the edge of the bed. so far my back is ok.

karen_sg,
i change my baby's diaper before her last feed as well. around 11pm/12pm. then when she wakes up in the morning (after 5/6hrs) then i change her again. so far there's no leaks. i'm using pampers though.

elchwong,
my boy like to sleep on his right side. He dun want tummy down or sleep flat. I tried to pull the diaper up and pull more to right side. but still fail

ya... I also use pamper b4, also fail. Think my boy really got too much urine.

joanne
dr adeline wong is stationed at bishan. isit too far for u? if not too far, i can give u her contact

surf
fed my ger w isomil... okay leh her stools. i'm gng to cont for another day n resume normal FM by monday. but thanks for letting me know. will give her sm water

karen sg
if ur bb pees alot, i think u shd chg as often when u can. leakage wise, i tried alot of brands, they will leak at times. no one brand wouldnt
also, i chg my bb b4 she slps. if she wakes up for her feed, i chg her as well, in case it is wet n it will leak. i had chg my bb when she is aslp. u may hv 2 do it in the dark so not to wake her. and yes, but waterproof mattress protector

purpleangel
i went to her place at NTU to do the exchange.

karen
you have to wear the pamper higher up his waist and make sure you stick it tighter ard the waist but at least must have 2 finger space lor, else it will be too tight for him after he has his feed. cos baby tends to lift their legs in the air thus making the urine backflow easily or makes the pamper drop lower to his hip.. by right, a good pamper like huggies should be able to last whole night long... my baby used his pamper from 8.30pm til the next morning 9am when he finally wake up for his bath.. (nite feed i didnt change his pampers for fear of disturbing his slp after milk)

<font color="0077aa">shameen: wow.. all the way there to change... think most likely i'm taking the turquiose one tmr... hb say ok..

so after changing, is it ok? any feedback?

pillow
arh.. cannot sleep on pillow ar? hv been putting my gal on pillow wor...

dry skin
oo... rub w calendula cream... i've also ordered the cali lotion.. think mayb meanwhile i will apply seba med lotion ba.</font>

Pildough...ur post always make me crack!

Surf,
Hotslings designs are sooo lovely! I really wanna get 1.

Essanna, think maternalove will sell us 3 hotslings at 15% off? So far only, u, me and Jellypurin interested.

Ruffles, go pinch that lady's cheeks when she's sleepin lah. Ask her if she'll like it.

Dimpletot, i bfeed baby lying down when on bed.

Karen,
i'ld change her sleepy or not because if not sleepy, still can pat to sleep but if diaper very full and the barrier cream gets washed off, bum will turn red from abrasion from diaper and sting from long exposure from pee and poo (longest time is mm prob 5-6 hours). I've tried most of the diaper brands because tmc gave them out, fitti is out, huggies ok, mamy poko excellent absorption but very thick, end up pampers active baby wins my vote (buy them in bulk when they go abit cheaper), i don't mind pampers dry as well. sigh.. so you see, have to go back to work because pampers very ex. ;) p.s. not afraid of pee leaks but am very discomforted by poo streaking up to the edge of her back. urgh.

Frozen breast milk:
i've tried abby a one month old bag of fbm, not fishy but very oily, have to scrub and scrub the bottle and teat. what's the use by date for fbm again? 2-3 months?

glassbottles,
confirm, share between babe99, surf and everafter, let me check out the qty, markings and ml and text u back.

xinying
ooh! that's great! must be lotsa fun watching him do that.

think my ger dunno how to flip... i read on the net that some bbs will miss this flipping stage. dunno if that is a developmental problem

u know, speaking of cool boiled water,

i know we've supposed to use sterile cotton swabs to clean baby's eye (different piece for each eye), i did for maybe 3 weeks then after i came back to my in-law's place and after using the plastic kiappers to pull out the last piece of swab, i was like f this, who has so much friggin time and money.. pfft. so now i just clean her face with the bath cloth (clean one everyday)and gently wipe the eyeshit off.

tell me mommies, reality is..
anyone of you still doing the sterile cotton thing?

jelly,

abby is not flipping but i think it's alright lah. no pressure, it's not like our daughters are dolphins. don't think it's a developmental problem either.

i'm not worried about her flipping but i'ld be worried if she has plans to elope with a north african conman or less severely, if she dun gimme money money money when she is financially independent. hehehe this mommy so gian lui.

purpleangel
i stay at jurong so its not too far for me.. the sling is not too bad but i tink my baby doesnt like to sleep in it. he managed to sleep only 10mins.. guess its abit hot for him.. and quite hard to place baby in and out.. mayb practice makes perfect!

pildough
i neva use the sterile cotton swabs before. i have only been using cotton wool soaked in cool boiled water since the day he came home..

Pildough,
I never use cotton lor.
Same hanky is used to wash his mouth, then face then body, lastly, head.
Keke...

Abt flipping
When we went to the PD 2 weeks ago, PD was asking me if Marcus can flip yet, i say trying, but not success yet.
PD comment was : He's too heavy lah. Give him more time.
I was like WTF... then asked, when is baby suppose to flip, his reply was around 4 to 5 mth. Pls... Marcus was only 3mths then. Silly PD.