(2008/10) Oct 2008

good morning, mummies

feeling really lousy today coz' I have blocked duct. Not sure what caused it but my nipple is very sore hence affecting my letdown. can only pump 1/3 my usual amount. Now breast is hard and painful yet when pump nothing came out. Sigh...

morning mommies

i wonder if any of you experience mom can help me. my ger has some random red, flat rashes on one of her arm and no on anywhere else on her body. anyone knows what it is and wat cld b the cause?

Jenny,
Did you use hot towel to compress and massage your breasts at the same time? Drink hot drinks also. They're supposed to dilate the milk ducts. For sore nipples, apply Medela purelan. I find it very useful. Don't feel lousy la. I've been re-pumping since 1 week plus ago. I only had 5 - 10ml everytime for the past 1 week. This week I got 20 - 30ml now and I already feel very encouraged. This morning I got abit of engorgement and I was so happy.

pinkmum,
We bf becos we want the best for our babies ah. It's easy to forget amidst the setbacks in bfing. When I had an ok milk supply, I felt depressed pumping out milk becos of the engorgement, sore nipples, leaking breasts etc and decided to stop milking becos I felt that I wasn't happy doing it. But now I feel that I want to do it and don't feel depressed about all these anymore. Compared to having no milk, I would rather have milk.

Jill,
hahaha, my son also does all that you have describe to his little brother. But my son will smile and laugh when I shout at him. I also did the same and question if he likes to be bullied this way. So far I have not seen any result yet. My son can sometimes be really rough with his brother. The latest is to throw remote control at his brother. Seriously, I never thought my son can be this mischievous. Before the arrival of his brother, I hardly even have to raise my voice. He will listen when I speak sternly. Now... Sigh... I am becoming one of those mothers that shout and run after their children.

daisybuttons,
It is so nice to hear gor gor loves mei mei. Me too have does a little read up on sibling rivalry coz' I do ancipate this coming. My elder one is very possessive. He does not even allow his father to even hold my hand. So I know I have to be very careful when dealing with him. Hence, since pregnancy I have never use his didi as an excuse. But with all the prevention I am still facing with a jealous son. I am giving him lots of priority until sometimes I feel bad for my younger one. Sigh.. sometimes I really hope there is a second me.
Maternal love no matter how great, we are still only humans. We need to eat, sleep and only have 1 pair of hands.

Hi jenny, little doggie

No leh.. i didnt do anything special.. jus fit the teat in lor...
Does ur leak v badly?
I monitor the 1st few times when using it, it does not leak.. Hmmm .. i will go monitor again when feeding later and get back to ur.

lili, ppp, littlealmond, monyetnakal, daisybutton,Joanne

Let's meet up at my place (Blk 69, Redhill Close, #26-80) on Friday 26th December, 2pm.
To reach my block, must cut through the cluster of new flats opp redhill MRT,cross a small 2 way road before you see my block.
1) Freda & BB Gareth

xinying

Poor thing. At least this week is short work week.

Pinki

My philosophy now is just feed as much as I feel up to pumping. Now only pumping every 4-6 hours. Much happier. No point spending all my time being miserable pumping. Must be tough for u being there without help. Any chance yr mum can fly over to help u for a while?

hi pinny'
please come along! Mine is a point block, quite near the old low rise flats.

Let's meet up at my place (Blk 69, Redhill Close, #26-80) on Friday 26th December, 2pm.
To reach my block, must cut through the cluster of new flats opp redhill MRT,cross a small 2 way road before you see my block.
1) Freda & BB Gareth
2) Pinny & BB

26th got guests coming my house, can't go.

Joanne & Lili,

I m able to join if u all choose 30th see Freda can change to this date? If cannot never mind I can meet u all next time.

freda and rest
I cant make it on 26 dec. Need to go infant ctr collect mattress cover and make payment. And go Tmc to submit bb bonus forms.

You gals enjoy!

ppp
30th , i cant too. Only 31 dec lei. Else 5 or 6th jan before i start work on 7th but alone cos bb will be in infant.

Jenny,
Think I felt the same way as you yesterday, super lousy. At least you still managed to pump out some milk, mine was really hard and couldn't pump out much. What I did was to massage really hard, when I saw some milk trickled out then I hand expressed and pumped. Then I let the boy suckled, trying different positions. But I think he did not get much milk. Then I took hot shower, water spraying at my breast then I massaged and hand expressed. Right after that I feed my boy. Then I used hot towel and massage some more and expressed. Now breast is softer but still feel pain. Sigh.

rains,
Yeah, I keep reminding myself that it's the best for my boy and I had persevere for so long,from no milk to now. Sometimes the engorgement, blocked ducts and hassles just get into me and i would be ranting away.

dimpletot,
How do you decrease the supply gradually? Now I think even if my boy sleeps through the nigh, I also need to pump or risk blocked ducts again. I actually fired my helper here last night. Then now the new helper can only start work full time 1Jan.

icylemon
u mommies met up?? how come no jio me! hehe....bluey mention wanna meet up at someone's place so its easier......remember to call me hor...

cheezel we met up at raffles city for lunch yesterday. ok! next round i jio u.

infact when the bbs are slightly older. when they kow how to crawl. we can organise something for them. like gymboree lah.. my gym lah.. can be quite fun for the babes.

rains:
how long did you stop pumping when you decided to start again? how often do you pump now?
i also stopped coz im back at work.. but now feel like pumping again.. coz i feel so guilty for giving up

<font color="ff6000">pinkimum

well, after i got sick and couldn't pump every 3-4 hours, i got very bad blocked ducts. so painful till i couldn't use the PIS even on lowest. then i hand expressed one session. after that tried PIS on lowest again, and could get a little out. thereafter pumped every 4-5 hrs and massaged hard, drink hot water, use hot compress etc... then slowly over a few days the blocked ducts eased, but my supply for one boob was still low. then the other one had blocked duct but after that eased the ss came back. now i don't feel engorged until 5-6 hours after last pump.

sometimes i feel like life would be much simpler and i would be a happier more relaxed mum if i didn't bf. but i guess there are many benefits that I have experienced that I'm taking for granted, like quick weight loss, good immunity for bb (although some friends shared that their bbs who are on tbf still fall sick v often, more so than formula bbs!) so far, and of course saving money on FM... haha.

for decreasing ss, if you REALLY want to stop, my gynae's advice is to pump at longer intervals (e.g. 4 hours first, then 5 hours) and don't drain the breast. just pump enough to ease engorgement. then slowly slowly body will take it that your bb needs less milk and produce less till zero.

another way, is to take pills. 2 pills and the next day zero milk, zero engorgement.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Littlealmond
Ya lor! So many things to buy for gal gal. I buay tahan, kept buying clothes for my gal, from bb to 24 months ones. Haha! A bit funny but cannot resist the temptation leh. Just bought 4 hair bands from pumpkin patch for her. </font>

dimpletot, i hope my ss wont die on me cos for past 2wks i've been pumping at very very long intervals. The long intervals are like 6-8hrs or more :p Cos had been going out and only brought my PIS out once to pump. The rest of the time, i tahan the engorgement and pump when i reach hm. So far i still manage 700ml+ or sometimes 800ml+ which is very close to my previous ss (800-900ml per day). I hope i dont jinx myself by saying too early!

mousebb

I oso bought two pumpkin patch hairbands for kate. Hee.

Everafter

Wah I THInk u still ok lah. That's enuff to tbf right?

In case I dun have time to log in tomorrow. I wish all of us a Merry Christmas. This is going to be the first Christmas for our little ones.

icylemon
no prob. remembe rto jio me....sien...going back work soon. ya.....my elder boy also attend such classes with his peer from the forum.....quite fun

xinying
u have to pump consistently inorder to get more milk. theres once my ss drop to 10ml nia nwhen i go back work after my 1st preg....very depressing n stressful....n i began to pumpm every 3 hrsly after tat....n ss then goes up n then i slowly reduce to 4 hrs so that not so xiong at work.....

hi mummies/www.lovedbaby.com

Just wondering if any mummies need anything rompers, caps or anything from there? cuz i'm ordering from there again.

Only thing is 1 size per color, you hv to order 2 pcs for rompers, caps etc. maybe you want to share with another mummy.

pls sms 94525107 for fast reply or email [email protected]

Hi cheer bear, I'm keen with the leg warmers for my son too.

Hi Lili, Joanne, PPP, Freda, I might be going shopping on 26th (Boxing Day, so alot of places with sales).

Hi cheezel, did u eat anything to get the supply back? Supply on one side also drop until almost zero after a high fever... but recently I just latch my boy on that side and it seem that the supply did increase a bit but still far far away from the other side. Still hoping to increase the supply so baby can continue to have bm even when I go back to wok in Jan.

Hi mousebb, so good can doll ur gal up. Gals have so much things to buy. Always envy mummies with little gals, can doll their little princess up....haha.... I'm no way better, went gillmill sale and bought some clothes that is for 24 mths old... hmmmm.... Ethan gotta wait for very long before he can wear man!

Gap gap gap
Okay, I just went shopping and bought two more rompers for my girl. I also realised that I stocked up a lot of 6 - 9 months romper. Hmm, but at that size, should wear cute cute clothings already. Nevermind I will keep the rompers for at home.

Anyway. Gap is having very good sale. Hmm, tempting. Anyone wants to join in?

karen

i luve gap rompers...the material is very soft and good.

I bought some timberlandrompers too, they are a bit thick, not that suitable for our weather.

Mummies, just to ask, what strollers are u all using ah? Cause i'm using capella 705 and i find it too heavy for me to handle. Any lighter wants? And easy to handle wan..

Hi candle, I'm using combi Ricco. It looks filmy but it has shock pad to protect head, body and hip. It's also very light and one hand operation so I can bring bb out on my own.

lili,
oops sorry.

purpleangel,
can you choose another colour?

ribenali,
is ok. have a speedy recovery.

jengcc,
I tot you're taking the blue pixies and pink mjb?

candle, initially I have problem in turning the stroller but after a few uses I manage to handle the stroller and so far no sore arms. But maybe depend on individual cos combi stroller give the impression of being very filmy.

I chose this stroller cos I wanted to bring my bb out alone sometimes and I dun know how to use the sling. Furthermore, it is easier to shop with a stroller

little almond,
ya..i have the same thought as u and my hubby is worried with me handling the capella nx time alone as its quite heavy to me. its also very bulky. in terms of chicco, combi and aprica, which would be gd? i'm at a lost as to which i shld get..

candle, wun be able to comment on other brands cos I din check out the rest as I went direct to Tai Sing (combi distributor) to get the stroller.

My decision is based on weight and operation. Think you should test out the rest of the brands. Heard capella 228 not bad... but the weight is abt 6.5 kg if I remember correctly.

mint, sorry but actually i'm a bit blur liao..
each mummy suppose to choose 3 or 2?
cos if 3 then the yellow rosies i wanted is taken if 2 is ok then i will go ahead cos i have gotten 1 box @ lifebaby for xmas but don mind extras if i can get different colours/ designs

littlealmond,

i see.. okok.. oh dear.. really headache now. have seen some mummies using combi though.. and seems quite nice to use. HAHA. but then again.. i guess it depends on individual..

dumbo,
I can't remember the exact no. of days that I stopped. What I did was: I started out pumping furiously at 4 hours interval, then dropped to 6 hours, then dropped to twice a day, then once a day, and then totally stopped for about maybe 1 week. It didn't even stain the breastpad at all then.

I'm pumping at 3 hours interval now, except for the night. My last pump is either 10pm, 11pm or 12am. Then I sleep until 6am or 7am until I wake up on my own. And I start my pumping regime again.

I'm taking fenugreek, drinking hot milo before every pump, and eating oats when I'm hungry between mealtimes to hopefully increase the supply. I read somewhere in this forum that oats helps to increase supply. The other day, I also read that a lactation consultant said that it's possible to restart the milk supply within one year even if you've ceased breastfeeding. I felt very encouraged when I read that.

Good Morning Mummies.

rains,
Thank you for your advise. I am in the office yesterday so no towel and purelan. After reading your post. I drank hot drinks pour hot water into my breastpad to use as hot compress. After 2 pump only manage to get a little bit of milk out. But much better compare to this morning. Went back early to nurse, phew what a relieve. He clear it, really painful. Today, breast is still tender from all the massage and kneading but at least no blocked ducts.

You have to Jia you, Jia you. I remember when I had #1 I read some where that emptying your breast at night is important. It has something to do with our hormones at night so long ago I cannot remember liao. If you can afford it try wake up in the middle of the night to pump.

babe99, little_doggie,
Oh yes, it leaks very badly for mine. Once I had to chg my son 3x due to the leakage. Even when it does not leak the teat collaspe easily leh. I am also using the latex one.

pinkimum,
Is your blocked milk duct better today? I can imagine how painful it is. Even when your boy did not get much milk get him to suckle. Really nursing is the most effective way of clearing out blocked duct. Yesterday, I was so tempted to take half day to go home and nurse him. Your case of blocked milk duct seem quite bad but you are on the right track. Jia You, ok. It will clear up real soon. Yeah, in times like that we really question ourselves why did we bother to bf in the first place. But at the back of our head we know bf is really good for our kids and also a good excuse to carry our little babies in our arm. Listen to the rhythm they suckle on our breast, hear them breathe, see they eyes flutters due to the endorphin rush. Then we think it is all worth it. We mothers are so easy to please.