(2008/10) Oct 2008

rains
Wow, really??? Hmm, if only I know how to extract milk out from the breast pads. Hee. But I don't think my husband would agree to it.

Clothes
I just looked through my bursting wardrobe. Feeling damn depressed. Not because I can't fit into the clothes, but I have no way of wearing my clothes if I go out because most are not nursing-friendly. Since I do latch-on 24/7 (almost), I need clothes that allow 'easy access' and I realise that a lot of my clothes do not allow that. So I'm actually back to square one, just like my pregnant days - can't wear my pre-pregnant clothes. Anyone like me?

Karen,
i haven't got around to wear my pre-pregnancy clothes yet either, but my reason is becos I've put on weight. My arms are so thick and my tummy is still baggy. I would love to lose weight but becos I'm trying to get back my milk, I have been eating and drinking continuously. I used to eat only when I feel hungry, but now I eat regularly and drink hot milo before every pumping session.

Have you looked at moms in mind website? They've a host of nice nursing tops.

mspiggy,
yes, the plan is to send the BM everyday..

whitepaper,
that's the exact same plan i have as u.. i.e. to bring Kieran back home on Fri nights, and send him back to my mum's plc on Mon mornings.. but just yday, my hubby.. looking at how Kieran was crying so hard.. asked if we shd engage a maid at home instead.. im not sure abt this option.. due to the many scary stories we see on the papers!! but then, it may seem like another possible alternative..

to my hub, he thinks a maid can resolve the nursing to sleep at night + maid can help us do the housework, leaving us free from it + we can eat our meals properly (duh!).. i really dunno man.. haizz.. he's thinking of asking a filipino we knew who went back home.. and see if we can engage direct.. but then again, i aint sure of this option due to:
1. not sure if she can take care of kids.. her cleaning abilities is not an issue..
2. not sure HOW my OWN PARENTS will take it!! especially since they were expecting to be the caregivers..

jollyhoppy,
i understand ur reservations too!! but i would agree that other options be looked at other than IFC.. there's actually 1 IFC near to my hse, but i dont think i will consider this option.. my coll left her 2nd baby at the IFC, and i think her baby had infections/virus attacks due to it.. maybe an isolated case, but the chances are higher at the IFC...

have u left Ashton alone with ur mum or MIL before? i have not done so yet, and to be honest, not sure how my mum will end up as she hasnt taken care of an infant for years..

everafter,
eating out with BB is never easy.. if we are lucky, baby might sleep in the stroller and he might just sleep thru the meal.. but if we arent lucky.. its most likely 1 parent will have to mind the baby while the other eat first!

Karen,
lucky you! i cant utilise my current wardrobe.. more so because I havent lost the weight i gained due to the pregnancy.. i cant wear 99% of the bottoms.. and i cant wear 99% of the tops either!! :'(

karen,
yea, same here. i try to wear my normal tops if i go out without my baby, but very rare since i normally latch. plus i am still trying to fit into most of them like rains!

rains,
i am going down to MIM on tues to try their nursing tops. My old ones seem tighter, wondering if it is because i am fatter than my last pregnancy or like what my MIL said, they shrunk cos we put them in the dryer!

i am very particular when it comes to "accessing" my nursing tops, some of the design are really hard to access. I only like 1 design from the MIM range so far!

hi lili,
oops so sorry. will try to amend the pic and send to you.

yah. coffee bean a bit noisy and not enough space also. next time we find someplace quieter.

freda, monyetnakal,
sure.. will let you know when we meet up again.

rains
Thanks!!!! I saw many nice nursing tops. Sigh, means spending more money :/

Forest
No la, where got lucky. Already said cannot wear many of the clothes. Hee.

dreamyjo
high five! hahaha evil moms... though you are one notch more evil than me... kekeke

forest
personally I do not feel good leaving the kid alone with the maid... unless you have someone at home to supervise. Eventhough I got a maid for my mum, the maid will not be doing child-minding work, my mum will be doing that. On weekends, the maid will come home with me but I'll still be the one taking care of the kid. Unless, of course after observing the maid, you are comfortable in leaving the kid in her good (hopefully) hands...

Mommies

I hope I won't jinx myself by telling you ladies this.

Think I can go buy 4D already. I can see CH is trying to adjust his sleep hours at night.

Last night he had his last feed at 10.15pm, and he only woke up at 4am this morning for his next feed! And he's still sleeping now!

Okokok I know it's nothing great for mommies with babies already sleeping thru the night. But for me, it's am accomplishment! Hope he keep on dragging his hours longer and longer.........

maids,
i agree. I have a maid that does the housework while my MIL (who lives with me) looks after the kids. When i go back to work, my MIL has to bring my toddler to Nursery daily and I am still wondering if it is wise to leave my baby to the maid to take care for 1-2 hours that my MIL will be out of the house..

Forest, remb we're almost the champion weight-gain mummies here! How much kgs u left? hehe..u latch-on so often, should b losing quite alot of weight yah?

Whitepaper, CH still drinking 140ml per feed? Bryan is on milk strike recently...Sometimes drinks 30ml only!! Yesterday he slpt frm 130pm to 6pm!! His total intake dropped frm 800+ to 580ml! Getting worried manz

<font face="good morning mummies!

essanna">
same here... i have to leave Nat with maid for abt an hr while my mum fetches Wes back. Still not sure if it's ok</font>

mspiggy,
yea, especially now i am supervising the maid at hm cos MIL always complain the maid nvr do what she is supposed to when i was working. my MIL told me that the maid asked her when i am going back to work! worried that she take revenge on the baby when she is alone with her.. hmm, dunno if i am being paranoid or not.

whitepaper, essana,
I know wat u gals mean.. Tats y i'm not sure if i will take this option or not. But for a moment the thought of it does seems a better alternative in a way.. Sigh.. Will need to work out something soon.

Whitepaper,
Wow.. Must b really happy tat CH is sleeping thru!

Everafter,
Ya.. Of cos i remember! The last time i weighed myself, i still ve 9kgs to go!

mint,
Can i choose the sweet sweet colours for Claudia?? Thanks!!

I'll be out whole day till nite. Let me know how much to pay u. Thanks for ur help!!

monyetnakal, pinny, freda, joanne, ppp, littlealmond

when shall we meet again? Maybe next gathering, meet at Greatworld, Vivo or Tiong Bahru? since now we have more mummies &amp; babies...

<font color="aa00aa">Mspiggy, whitepaper, everafter
Thanks! Altho she is a smaller drinker but she very "you fen liang" esp her face looks so bak bak. I give her a new nick name "xiao fei niu". My hubby said both kids look like him cos when he was a bb, many pple called him "han bao bao" and his cheeks was super chubby too!
She only drank around 570ml for the last few days.

everafter
Managed to get a top from metro. Compass Point was super crowded. Din shop much. Altho I was early but still waited some times at the clinic for my turn. After that quickly rushed home cos promised wen xuan to bring him go shop for his christmas present.
Dont know why but when I go out w/o my kids, I would start to miss them esp my son leh...</font>

everafter/mousebb
isit that bbs will adjust the amt of milk they drink? my ger, esp after her jab, her appetite v poor leh. we feed her abt 6 times, each time abt 60-90mls. am getting v worried as well. not sure if this is normal.

<font color="aa00aa">Jollyhappy
I agreed with whitepaper. Having a close relative to take care of your bb is better than putting your bb at IFC. I did that last time was bcos I have no one else to take care of my son when I returned to work. Hence after some strugglings and consideration, I think it is better for me to put my son at IFC instead of leaving him at home with the maid. You can still visit your bb after work everyday to bond with your bb. Alternatively, if there's spare room at your IL's place, you and your hubby may want to consider moving in with your ILs.

Whitepaper, Forest
Both of you gals are so lucky to have your mum helping with your bb and you gals can fang xin go to work le. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
Yesterday we went to bugis junction to have Ajisen cos wenxuan likes to eat japanese noodles. Wenxuan was in the child seat and we brought wenmin out from my sling to sleep in wenxuan's stroller. The moment we put her in the stroller, she immediately wake up from her sleep and refused to sleep in there. My hubby was feeding wenxuan and so I bo bian but to carry wenmin with my left hand and eat with my right hand. So cham hor! The easiest way out is to have fast food but every time eat fast food also sian liao! </font>

Mousebb, wah Wenmin drinks so little ah, then i guess its ok for Bryan too. But the sudden drop is making my fridge bursting with EBM liao..Not that i've alot to store but my fridge is ALWAYS full everyday..sigh~ Muz b u feel guilty cos need to split your time btw the both kids thats y u rather b at hm with them
Motherly love!

Central Mummies gathering
Let's meet again quickly cos Joanne gg back to work in Jan'09. I vote for either Vivo or TB cos I don't know how to get to Greatworld from my place using public transport. keke...don't wish to take taxi, must save money.
Alternatively, since there are so many mummies, wana come my place?

Pinny, i stay at block 69. Do you stay near me too?

Good Morning became Good Afternoon. I actually spend the whole morning catching up the thread. Read until all goggy now.

Mint, Mousebb,
I thought I have prepare #1 for the arrival of #2. Actually, he is really nice to his brother before just recently he likes to beat or throw things at his brother. Now afraid to scold him too much when he bully his brother coz' afraid that he resent his brother more. Sigh... really dun know what to do.

Chezel,
how old is your elder one? I dun dare to leave #2 with #1 coz one time when #2 is crying and I am in the toilet. My mother in law caught the elder one attempting to carrying his crying brother to me.

Enya,
Ok lah. Just have to clean up a bit. On the bright side, now the tub itself smell nice.

little_doggie, lili_fc
Yes, I have tried using a premium nuk teat on a avent bottle. It also leaks easily. I have also tried premium nuk teat on pigeon bottle. It does not fit well and the air vent is block so the teats collapse easily. In the end, I gave up and bought a nuk bottle.

leeyiling,
When my son reject nuk teats but latex and silicone last time, I gave him the pigeon teat. He is ok with that for a few months before he suddenly reject and went back to nuk. Strange but true. You might want to try pigeon teat.

jellypurin,
my boy also dun want to sleep after waking up at 03.30 am. But he is so smily and making the coo sound. Really did not have the heart to scold him so I play with him lor. Hopefully he does not make a habit out of it. else in the morning dun know how to go to work.

rains,
ai yo. your hubby really blur leh. Poor baby.

mousebb,
wenmin so chubby and happy. make me miss my boy. must rush home to play with him this evening.

Any advise on what to do with the flabby tummy? CNY coming and my tummy is still very flabby. I am still wearing my maternity jeans. Still cannot wear any of my pre-pregnant jeans. Sigh... think my butt is wider now.

How much BM are your babies drinking now? I am still giving Ethan 100ml/per feed/2.5-3 hours. Not sure if I am giving enuf. Should I increase it to 110ml?

Wah Mousebb, Wenxuan eats jap. noodles now? Meaning he no need to drink milk? It was diaster when i went suntec on sat. Ate at Sakae sushi and my hb went to take my PIS in car while i con't to eat. Suddenly Bryan cries and i try to feed him. The space is so pathetic at the table and i had to stand next to my table. Worse still halfway he poo ALOT and refused to drink. The finale was his poo leaked! Argh~ We quickly settled bill and chiong to nursing room! Sigh~ I cannot imagine u all gotta handle 2 kids lor!!

whitepaper,
Hi 5, Kai slept from 10.30pm-4am.... First time too! And I also hope I don't jinx myself telling everyone here. Let's update each other tomorrow!

Karen,
I am also running out of clothes to wear. And it is winter here. So I have been wear cardigan as normal tops to facilitate nursing.

Anyone having blocked milkducts? I keep having this problem. So pain.

<font color="aa00aa">Jenny
I can understand how you feel. I guess we have to be very tactful when we handle the elder child cos now is at a very sensitive transition. The elder child may think that we dont sayang them anymore after another bb comes along. The first and only time when my hubby raised his voice at my son when he saw him touched his meimei very rough, he cried and cried non-stop until I almost cried with him cos it really breaks my heart to see him cry until so pitiful. </font>

essanna
like that not sleep through yet lah... must sleep at least till 6am lah...

everafter
Yah still 140ml. But you don't worry, CH also dropped his milk intake last week, he can only take in at most 110ml per feed. This week, his appetite was back! He drank 220ml at one go yesterday!

forest
Take some time to think thru and consider all alternatives. Am sure there's a way out, don't worry!

pinkimum
actually CH sleeps for such long periods every night, it's just that his timing is usually wrong... he will sleep from 8+pm to 2am etc... instead of our "usual" sleep hours. So, it's just that he woke up for his last feed at 10+pm yesterday, that's why can sleep till 4am lor!!! Hope he also can wake up "on time" tonight!
And please massage your breasts with a hot towel or during a hot shower k? Must clear those blocked ducts if not will become more serious!!!

monyetnakal,
Is there a nursing room at TB plaza? I'm very keen to join in the gathering.... but i got another 3 year old boy at home. So it depends on the timing of the gathering.

Mummies interested in socks (rosies, pixies or maryjane brights design):
1. mint - red pixies; pink rosies; purple mjb
2. jellypurin - white mjb; purple rosies
3. Karen - purple pixies; red rosies
4. lili - red pixies; red and yellow mjb
5. jengcc
6. rains - pink pixies; white rosies
7. ribenali

Mummies, due to my bad maths, actually each mummy can have 3 pairs of socks and 3 mummies can have 4 pairs. So please add on your colours.

purpleangel,
Yes, please let me know the colours that you want.

5. jengcc
7. ribenali
8. purpleangel

So now each mummy can have 3 pairs.

whitepaper,
6am... i am waiting also. now so far, baby has slept from 11pm to 5am, but not consistent cos she doesnt always wake up to drink at 11pm. if i wake her up to drink, she doesnt finish the milk.. sigh

mousebb, jenny,
my elder also suddenly become very naughty these few days. absolutely refused to listen to me. insisted on doing things that i say is wrong or dangerous. like jumping off the sofa and a host of other things! pinch her sister's head/ neck, have to watch her closely. but i dont dare to show her that we are watching her when she approaches her sister, wait she thinks we dont trust her, even worse. my MIL says this is just a period and will pass when she knows that i am still here for her.. sometimes feel suffocated by my toddler.

Hello mummies...
Few weeks never pop in.. as usual so much post to catch up!

Re: Pineapple tarts...
mummies... do you have any good recommendation on pineapple tarts??
this yr.. my malay colleague not selling already so no more pineapple tarts lobang.. so sad

5. jengcc
7. ribenali
8. purpleangel - pink and purple pixies; yellow rosies

Mint
can i change to:
4. lili - red pixies; red mjb; and bright yellow rosie

they are so cute... i don't mind getting more if there's any balance left... heee

Updated
4. lili - red pixies; red mjb; and bright yellow rosies
5. jengcc
7. ribenali
8. purpleangel - pink and purple pixies; yellow rosies

purpleangel,
Yes, please let me know the colours that you want.

5. jengcc - blue pixies; yellow rosies; pink mjb
7. ribenali
8. purpleangel