(2008/10) Oct 2008

Congrats yvonneho!! Same here, my first preg was quite smooth... This round seems more tedious.

Juz Me,
Dr Douglas Ong is from Mt E hosp and he do delivery at Mt E n Mt A hosp.

A&E,
Went to see Dr Ong b4 cny, was told that there's a growth (polyp)which is the cause of my spotting. He gave mi some antibotics and told mi that the growth will drop when at the point when i deliver.

Hi Diane,
Me same same as you le.. LMP 1st Jan. tested +ve last Sat...
very anxious to hear the bb heartbeat but reading from all your post, seem like I must wait patiently first.

Pray that all our babies will grow healthily and all mummies will be stay happy.

BTW, anyone know any experienced & good gynea from GlenE?

<font color="#006600">Hi all

Jlow>> My friend is seeing Lisa Chin in GlenE. She seems popular and well liked in the forum too.

littleger>> glad to hear things are ok =) I'm gonna make an appointment tmr for Saturday. Also at Mt E but with a female gynae Dr Dolly Wee, altho I worry she a bit elderly dunno got strength if must c-sect not. Anyone heard of her b4? she was my sis' gynae last time. my hubby and i feel more comfortable with female gynae leh. can i know why you chose a male gynae?

yvonneho>> i havent see gynae so no 'official' EDD but u can calculate it from several websites online based on you last menstrual period.

Autum>> wah so nice, you three both times pregnant so close. can share many of your experiences =)

hey my emotions gone all haywire leh. normally i quite stable one. now i keep crying over small thing. i hate it. anyone else got this symptom not? anyone taking anything other than folic acid? and did u gals start taking b4 tested positive or only after. i din really take b4hand. only when i rmb. after positive liao then take more regularly. hope it isn't too late

also got same qn as diane about counting weeks, do u all start from est conception date or from LMP? hee... thanks</font>

Juz Me,
hihi.. yah, it so happens that all 3 of us from the same thread and now preggie. quite fun to share the same journey again, especially when we all had the same age baby.

How are u feeling now? It's quite common to feel emo, just tell yourself it will pass and try not to get upset. i dunno if it works, but for my 1st preg, I laugh a lot.. really really laugh a lot.. i force myself to laugh at everything and be happy.. and my 1st bb is now a very happy bb! He always laugh and smile, generally very happy kid. So u tell yourself to stay chirpy ok.

As for counting, all the docs will count from the 1st day of your LMP. That is how they usually count. But they may adjust if say your usual period is longer. Like in my case, mine is 35-days cycle.. so instead of 6wks, I am considered 5wks preg.. something like that.

Hi Guys,

I just got confirmed today by the GP that I am preggie. Really excited! Hope to share some impt info and learn from you guys too.

My CD is 1st Jan and EDD is appro 10th Oct 2008.

Now I am looking for a gynae for Mount Alvernia Hosp, anyone can recommend? I want those that are really patient and not wanting me out of their clinics ASAP kind.

<font color="ff6000">hi everyone,

I also tested pregnant yesterday from two test kits! My LMP 1st day was 5 Jan. So now wondering which gynae to make appt with. Any recommendations?

Is it common to see a gynae first and not continue with that gynae? also not sure how fast i can get an appt, esp if all the good gynaes are so popular....

Think my EDD should be Oct 08 cos ovulation was around 20 Jan and my cycle is abt 32 days.... will confirm whether i really belong to this thread after visiting the gynae i guess!

Dimpletot

Hi all mummies to be,

First of all, happy lunar new year to all. I am from the Jan 08 thread and I have just delivered my baby boy on 30 Jan 08. Doing confinement now. My confinement lady is good and she has everything under control which is so important to me as a first time mummy, everything also blur.

Anyone interested in looking for a confinement aunty? I can recommend you mine. Just wish to share this with you all coz I understand the concerns and anxiety we face during pregnancy and still gotta think about confinement.

I also tested positive two days ago. Will be seeing gynae on this coming sat. If everything goes well, this will be my second bb. LMP on 30 Dec and so i guess edd is somewhere in early Oct 08. Am seeing Dr adrian woodworth at his sengkang clinic. He also delivered my lst bb.

juz me,
i get angry easily... first pregnancy i always laugh... but wierd... this pregnancy, mood swing is like roller coaster... i can laugh so badly till i got stomachache, later u will see mi black face liao... if i m not wrong, fish oil help? i forgotten liao... last time don noe heard from where, fish oil can prevent depression.. so i guess can control our mood swing better?

<font color="#006600">
Hey Autum thanks for the tip! I must really try to psycho myself to be happy then. I do know its mostly in my mind =)

Leah, CH Lee, mousebb>> Congrats on just testing positive! hey i notice Dr Adrian is quite popular. any comments as to why? I'm also still choosing gynae, but i think is quite common to change gynae at the start. later on from week 1x onwards, some gynaes have packages that could be more economical, then if sign up then cannot change le. but but i think most gynaes charge more for 1st consultation vs repeat visits. so unless money is not an issue i guess most ppl might prefer to stick to one gynae?

yvonne >> (just saw ur post ;P) fish oil helps? is that like cod liver oil type? err can we stomach the taste not. i find my tastebuds oso abit out of whack le hee... dunno am i creating my own symptoms not hahaa read too much le

Juz Me
The most important thing is you must be comfortable with the gynae you have choosen as this person will be sort of 'accompanying' you throughout this pregnancy journey.

juz me,
i also not too sure, but i hate the fish smell... cannot take it... and if i take tt, i cant drink milk... sure merlion...

i m sticking to my own gynea... he is veri good... thou there is a mistake in baby weight(still in my stomach) before i gave birth... but many ppl said is quite dangerous la... cos i may need to have E c-sect if baby cannot come out... my gynea got shock when baby come out... he nv tot my baby is so big...

I am new to this thread. Doc was telling me tat i could deliver in early Oct 2008. I am a first time MTB, very excited and nervous at the same time.
I have been having cramps, no spottings. Is this normal? I did a blood teat 2 weeks ago and Doc was telling me tat my hormone level is very low to carry the baby, so i'm now on weekly injection and oral hormone pills. Am i alone here?my hubby and myself are worried abt this situation.

Hi Leah,
Congrats to u. I have yet to noe my EDD until i see my gynea on the 18th Feb. The last visit to my gynea, he still can't confirm my EDD. My gynea is Dr. Douglas Ong. He delivers in Mt E, I guess he oso delivers in Mt A. I m currently seeing him in Ten Mile Junction clinic. He is really very nice, patient and he really shares the joy of seeing his patients having baby. U may want to consider seeing him.

Best wishes to u and baby.

Juz Me,
the fish oil that Yvonne is talking abt is not cod liver fish oil. it's fish oil meant for pregnant women. There is a brand called Neurogain (when I was preg last yr).. i think there are other brands around. This is in the form of a soft-gel capsule, so u won't get to taste the fish oil.. just swallow. But some very sensitive preg ladies may still taste it (but very unlikely). Different gynaes have different views abt when to start taking this fish oil. Some believe take only in last trimester cos they feel u take early, bb also cannot absorb.. by the way, it's meant to be brain food for the bb, not for the preg lady. My gynae a bit kiasu.. he will ask me to take from 2mth onwards.. but he leave it up to me.. cos some pple might not be able to afford. It's about $1 per pill per day. To my gynae, if u can afford it, there is no harm taking it early.. afterall, even if the bb doesn't absorb, it does help the mummy (it's a supplement).. one of the by-product seems to be able to help the mummy if she is depressed.

As for gynae, u must ask yourself what type of gynae u like. There are those really naggy ones (usually lady gynaes), but some MTBs like those because they feel assured and is being given a lot of advice. I personally don't like a naggy doc.
My current gynae is a rather laid back person and i like his style. It's ok to pick and choose.. like what Mousebb said, most impt is u must be comfortable with him/her.

Hi Ribenali,
Hope that you have a safe and smooth preg. Try not to worry too much okie. Cheers!

Hi Autum,
Thanks for your encouragement. My job is rather demanding. I need to run around meeting clients and attending meetings to meetings outdoor. I am planning to tell my Boss to cut down my workload so that i can rest more as my pregnancy is not stable yet. Wat do u think?

Ribena,
Can I ask What profession are you?
I also intend to tell my boss I'm pregnant but I so worry that he will show me "black face" but if I tell him only after 3 months later when I am more stable, I scare I may have too much work stress and it may stress my pregnancy.

Sigh...

Ribenali,
If your boss is the understanding type, then I think it's good to let him/her know early that u are preg and that the preg is not very stable yet. I think most pple should be kindly enough to sympathise. But it really depends on your company's work culture as well.. and also if your boss is married and with kids too.. cos if single, I think definitely he/she will find it more difficult to understand (my personal opinion la).. I have nothing against single people but I think it's difficult for them to understand simply because they have not gone thru this parent/pregnancy route.

Jlow,
erm, same advice to u.. it really depends on what type of boss u have and the work environment.

Hi ladies!!!
I'm on 5 days hosp leave, sigh! Last night had fresh blood spotting again, called my gynae and I went down A&amp;E to see him. Was told this time, there's this blood clot near the water bag which is the cause of my spotting. Sigh! First was the growth now blood clot! Doc is more worried on the blood clot so he asked mi to rest more these few days. I prayed hard that the spotting will get lesser these few days.

Juz Me,
Try to stay cheerful... it's good for ur baby as well as for urself. I rem my first pregnancy was quite smooth and i also laughed alot... now my girl is a very chirpy girl!! hehehe...

Hi RibenaLi!!
Hey, we are seeing the same gynae - Dr Douglas Ong!! How many weeks are u in now? Hmm... did u go for ur jab last tue (b4 cny eve)? I rem i saw this lady telling jenny sth on weekly jab... was it u?

<font color="#006600">hi all!
i just called to make my first appointment. $150 leh!! err is it just me or is that kinda ex? furthermore must pay cash or cheque. if we don't visit the gynae is hard to know if the gynae suited or not isn't it? so do u ladies suggest start out by visiting different gynaes? but 1st appt like so ex :`( and my company don't cover one. hai... cheapo cpy ;P </font>

<font color="ff6000">thanks everyone! I'm considering Dr Joycelyn Wong and Dr HK Ho... also open to other recommendations - need to read around the forum more. Anyone here lives in the east? doesn't seem to be any highly recommended gynae who lives in the east.

As for informing superiors, my immediate supervisors are all single... the bigger boss is married but i think no kids. Don't think I will tell them so soon, esp since first trimester is quite touch and go... but if work gets too stressful or if I am asked to travel (high chance) then I will have to tell.

Do you guys usually take half day leave for first appt? I'm wondering how to take half day without saying too much to my boss, esp now that we are quite busy, should not take off without good reason...

dimpletot </font>

<font color="#006600">dimpletot>> hey i oso considered Dr Joycelyn Wong! She has good comments in the forum, but no one i know personally visited her b4 leh. so in 2 minds about it. how u shortlist? Dr HK Ho is from where?

as for taking leave, i asked when i made my appointment. u can request for an MC to cover u for the day.

Juz me,
I just went for my first appt at Mt E Dr Kek LP.
Consultation 80
Ultrasound Scan 70
Total cost 150 too. accept all credit cards except Amex.

<font color="#006600">hey thanks Jlow! can i know if the doc is male/female? how was the checkup?? cfm u how many weeks and EDD not?</font>

Hi Corrine,

My last menses was on 3 Jan and i'm already tested positive. Maybe u should get tested too, it's no harm testing anyway.

Juz Me
She's very gentle and there's a thread on her too.
Everyone says she's very motherly, I agree too. She explains and is very patient.

I called up the clinic this morning to tell them I tested positive and if I can see her today due to some cramps. The recet says must see me today and slot me in immediately hee hee.

The clinic is always packed and may need to wait quite long. But the waiting time today was very short .Upon arrival, they gave me a strip to test if I am negative to glucose and other syptoms, explaining to me that this is a routine for every check up.

Then they took my weight and blood pressure. Taking record of all details such as LMP and medical history.

The nurse then estimated the EDD and weeks of pregnant from a chart. She taught me to add 7 days and 9 mths to your LMP to get the EDD..

Dr Kek will then do a scan, since it's still very early stage, she did a virginal scan.. and I see the sac! hee hee

She then estimate from the scan to see how many weeks I am actually pregnant. Then after we fix another appt to see her in 2 weeks' time to see the foetus' growth..

That's about all. Very exciting..though too small to see but very glad that the little sac is settling well in the uterus.

dimpletot
My fren is seeing Dr Sandy Lek from Joo Chiat, and He delivers in East Shore.

Is KK convenient for you? Another fren of mine is seeing Dr HH Tan from , good also.

<font color="ff6000">Juz Me, HK Ho is from Mt Alvernia.

My friend recommended Joycelyn Wong - said she had a great experience with her, very patient, short waiting times, and great stitching skills, can walk around with no pain on day 2.

Can't quite decide between MAH and TMC... but i suppose these are early days... will see MAH for first appt and maybe TMC (J Wong) for second so i get a feel of both gynaes and the hospital facilities...

<font color="#006600">Jlow>> does she deliver at Mt A/TMC or only at Mt E? your 1st visit sounds exciting! i'm looking forward to mine too =)

CH Lee>> Do let me know your assessment. Dr HK Ho is female? got any other clinic? i know Joycelyn Wong only at TMC, thats why I'm hesitant to sign on with her. ok i oso deciding between these 2 hospitals. my friend says there's a hospital tour leh. hee u can go on it b4 deciding ;)

oh no i realise why i so hard to find gynae le. coz i hope to deliver at Mt A or TMC oso ok, but for normal visits, i'm hoping for somewhere more convenient like Mt E. coz is not so easy for me to get to TMC/Mt A unless hubby drives me. but that would be very inconvenient unless i schedule all appts in the weekends.

Hi ladies, been viewing this forum for a couple of months, just signed up because im going to be a MTB on early Oct too. On the 20th, i will be visting my gynae. Anyone of you have symptoms coming already??

Juz Me
I think she is accredited at MAH not so sure if TMC. I will ask her for you when I see her next time. Meanwhile. enjoy the new arrival..and don't get too stress on the Hospital thing first ok.. still a long way to go..

Yvonne! u r preggie too!

based on my own calculation, i think my edd shd be early oct. but since both my boys were delivered at week 38..i think this bb might come out mid-end sept.

shd be gog back to dr adrian woodworth. having real bad nausea all day long...and this time...having congested nose as well. can't sleep well at night.

<font color="#006600">Jlow>> o she accredited at MAH means that can deliver there? ok will check it out! BTW whats her package price and from which week onwards? and how u know of her? thanks!
ya haha i very KS one, now already looking for books on parenting...fainted

youngmummy>> congrats =) ya i got symptoms liao
sad to say haha emotional rollar coaster, feeling very bloated, slight nausea, certain food craving/aversions but not very serious kind

littleger>> how are u now??? u mean hosp leave but can rest at home issit? take care ya?

Is it normal to have on and off symptoms ? Some days i would have seious ones but some days it's like back to the normal days.

Juz Me,
Yea, Dr said no need to keep me in hosp so I was given 5 days to rest at home. I'm grounded by hubby! He don't allow me to go out anywhere...

blueroses,
Yea... it's perfectly normal.

Halo

I was tested positive on Saturday morning.

This is my 2nd child. My 1st one (boy) is now 6 years old.

I'm seeing the gynae at East Shore Specialist Centre at Bedok. Called up this morning to make appointment with her but she's fully booked for the whole of February and her next available booking is 3rd March. I've to wait another 3 weeks to know my EDD.

<font color="#006600">littleger>> he oso concerned about you mah =) rest well and take care ya? appreciate this time to rest and relax before baby comes heehee

Linda>> congrats =) wow your gynae so popular, everyday booked til march?! thats really quite amazing! Can I know which gynae it is? thanks =)

Juz Me

My gynae is Dr Heng from East Shore Specialist Centre at Bedok and she's attached to East Shore Hospital. My boy was delivered by her. She's a friendly and bubbly lady. My sis-in-law is seeing her too. Her 2 sons were also delivered by her.

linda, this is my 2nd preg. Hee... i have a girl turning 2 in apr.

Juz Me, ya lor... take this chance n "nua" at home lor! Actually being preg isn't a bad thing... everyone will treat u like a queen at home! hahaha...

<font color="ff6000">Juz Me - so fast getting books on parenting?! I'm taking one step at a time, searching for books on pregnancy first...

HK Ho is male... apparently very experienced... there is a thread on him in this forum also. No other clinic - his clinic in MAH 2nd floor only.

I called him just now, so made appt for 19 Feb morning already.

Btw, any of you MTB experience bloated stomach already ah? Wah the thought of feeling like that for 9 months, with each month feeling more bloated really is quite scary! I think the uterus must be expanding. Or maybe I am just imagining, since now there isn't supposed to be much expansion in waist. maybe my waist is expanding for eating too much over CNY! gotta look for looser clothes soon. Have you all already started wearing looser clothes?

CH Lee,
Hahaha... tink u ate too much during CNY liao! Yea... there are a couples of day i felt so badly bloated and suffering from indigestion!!! So terrible ley.. den i saw my tummy protruding out.. Luckily, after visitng toilet for a few days, i felt better!

<font color="#006600">littleger>> eh no leh. i dun feel i getting any more special treatment
haha mabbe from hubby a bit bit only.. hai

CH Lee>> haha coz i already got preggie book ;P hey i m oso very very bloated!! feeling darn ill in office becoz of it
i'm definitely not imagining it coz of all the gas that comes up (or down
) i go toilet poo poo oso no use leh. are u constipating? </font>

<font color="#006600">littleger>> haha but it IS my first!! haha but mabbe coz house already got 2 young boys (my nephews) so my news don't excite anyone but me and hubby haha</font>