(2008/10) Oct 2008

busy bee
Both hubby and I like Little Gym but felt that Jo would benefit more if she's older. The class that I 'trialed' with, the tots were all walking steadily. And most exercises were catered to them. Jo was crawling then and didn't had chance to do much stuff on her own. Oh yah, and the teacher was your friend. I like her!

I m feeling v confused now.. Haiz
My aunt who is looking after Claudia told me she wanna go to work and she starting her work in jan 2010. Wah... She win liao.. Now in tis short notice, how m I gg to look for alternatives.

May I ask for those who have maids, how long does d whole process take? How much does it cost and anything tat I need to take note of? Thanks in advance!

Rebecca:
Rest well and recover 1st. Don't keep thinking about the op. Hope Nick is alright.

Buffy/ Eelyn:
I am PTWM like Eelyn =p Agree with Buffy that the classes for our bubs now are for socialising and exposure. Hehe bonus is that we mums get a "break", although need to accompany them, we don't need to crack our brains on how to entertain them for that 1 plus hours. I am choosing between the Tues and Fri slot (Thats if I sign up la). Eelyn gg to send Kaitlyn 2x a week

Karen, yes she is really good with kids. I too like their classes, I am still contemplating whether to join their mini term since JG breaks for holidays after this week.

Wan Chuen!!! waves.... classes also socialising time for us mums!!

Busybee:
Haha true true. Missed out this big plus point!

Penny:
Oh dear, hope you can find a maid or alternative caretaker soon..

Penny, you must be feeling so frustrated. Hang in there. To hire a maid, if you take in a transfer maid it can be as fast as a few days. For fresh maid, it prob take 2 weeks. Agency fees differs from firm to firm and initial outlay would be the insurance for the maid and the loan amount which is the equivalent to 6 months of maids salary up front.

<font face="comic sans ms"> <font color="0077aa">EY,
thanks for concern.

he's feeling much more better.

i thot of boiling some barley water.
but afraid will be too cooling for him.
dun wish to trigger his asthma.

pinki
den i think ur previous care center is nt a professional teachers. or should i say nanny?
how can they made such comments that ur boy need discipline?
if she is really so professional,
get her to open a class for those mummies who are having BBs at the age of 1 on how to discipline them la!!
even Nick's teacher also told me that 'if a kids nvr misbehave, they are nt call kids!'
n my Nick is already 4yr old coming to 5!
i nvr heard frm any of his teacher that he need discipline!
but anyway, thank God u change it to Montessori.
of what i know is that the center's teacher are all with good patience.

Karen
LOL!!!! y u like that say ur Jojo. she is cute leh!!!
but did u get her biscuits while u were eating?
my Erin is a sweet girl. only aft she get to see how Gracia "make full use of the high chair".
she is totally change!!!!
but now i will bring along few packs of biscuits for her.
den she will settle down by enjoying her biscuits.

Penny
oh dear?! how come ur aunt din let u know earlier?
if engage a maid, who u wanna leave her with?
if send her to Child care it will be too ex.

Wan Chuen
thanks for concern.

coz i'm ready for the op liao. den such things happen. *faint*</font></font>

Penny,

Is this the 1st time u employing a maid? If yes, even if u got transfer maid, u still need to wait around 2 weeks cause u need to attend online course, get the cert n apply with MOM n the documentation. Also, u got to check how long ur transfer maid liao. Is she due for her bi-yearly medical checkup. I also kena tat time. Was promised tat I can fetch my maid in 2nd week of June but end up onli manage to fetch her back at end of June.

Is there any one to supervise ur maid when u r at work? Which country maid u looking at?

hi pinki, EY, if my boy joins ur sons in class, the teacher will get 1 godzilla, 1 king kong and 1 monkey..haha.. we just went to kindermusik trial and like bibinogs trial there is no way my boy will sit there and follow the lesson. He is into "ur ball looks nicer than mine, i taking it" and "wooo the glass door is intersting cos auntie is at the other side smiling at me"...to conclude i was more tired than him after the lessons! haha to think i want him to burn energy...

good morning mummies.

penny,
your aunty the "aeroplane" damn big. i suppose is a boeing A380. given such short notice.

morn mommies

penny
ypg is right. takes more than 2 weeks if you are a fresh employer... for me, even as a multiple time employer, it takes 2 weeks. u will hv situations when u choose the maid, she dun come... she suddenly ill and so on... all sorts of scenarios... also, i strongly discourage leaving ur maid alone with claudia. maybe u try and work something out w ur mom and see if she can supervise. if u want "clever" maids, try filipinas w children ... indo maids, i think older ones are better...

vanilla
my tot also v active... she cant sit still... but i realise bring her to trial, she like become "gong gong"... dunno how to interact... se does v well at church though, like her playground...

pinki
i have v bad temper... if i were to hear what the teacher at kindermusik said abt rebby, i will ask her what she means and will happily write a formal "compliments" letter to "compliment" her!

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies

Last night at around 10.30pm we went down to tmc to see the 24-hrs family clinic there cos wenxuan refused to take his medicine no matter how we tried to coax him and his body temp kept going up. Was 38.6 degrees when we were at the clinic. The doctor inserted the medicine into his rectum. It took effect within half an hour. We were so relieved cos we were so scared that his body temp would raise to above 40 degrees above in the night. Today he is still having slight fever but a lot better as compared to yesterday. Now I'm worry about his cough cos PD mentioned prolonged coughing to him is not good and she is also quite concerned about his cough too. We have to keep monitoring his condition and find ways to let him take his cough &amp; flu medicine. </font>

tweety,
Giant is selling Huggies Dry Pull Ups @ less than $12. I can't remember how many pieces inside. But is about 27 cents per piece for M size. I heard this new Huggies Pull Ups not bad. For day use.

Currently Regine is using Drypers Pull Ups. Giant also got promo now. $14+.

mousebb
hugs... must hv been a tough nite for u...rebby had persistant cough for 6 weeks, but after her latest bout of flu, she seemed to hv stopped coughing... quite a miracle ...

icylemon
think i hv 2 skip the fox sale... hv 2 meet my vendors for lunch to talk over something...

jelly,
for regine she drinks.

and i normally boil the whole thing of luo han guo.

you can add abit of "jing yin hua" or "ju hua".

but to clear the heatiness of our kiddos' body i still advice to boil "sen shou yi mi". tat is very tasteless. so can mix with milk to let them drink.

currently Rachel &amp; Regine is taking "pao sheng" powder on alternate days. it helps to prevent them from getting heatiness too.

morning mummies

pinkimum,
totally agree with EY.. go tell the teacher to state that her class is only meant for gals to enroll. our bubs are jus too active but like wat my aunt always said "u wan him to be active and run ard or jus sit at a corner which shows no interest to things ard him?"

busy bee,
i got ur email but u never state ur bank acct leh.. how to transfer to u?

mousebb,
oh dear hope wx is better liao.. shawn also hates to take med so i add in his milk but he will only drink half but i think is better than he keep shake his head to say dun wan to take and also crying, struggling to push us away.
btw, how long has he been coughing? dr lilian got give him some med to "bu" the lungs? she did give shawn but is a ex med.

reb,
hope u and nick feels better.. rem to see doc and rest well.

penny,
if u cant find a maid in time then maybe can consider nanny first?

r&amp;r mum,
my mum say jin yin hua too liang for our bubs but ju hua still ok leh.

hi jelly - haha...reb v clever..behaves in class! ya if the teacher were to tell my fren that i sure give that teacher and school a piece of my mind ...have u decided whether to go to the zoo? My son likes it alot..he is also into animals..what we can see round our estate - cats and dogs..so when we go to the zoo he is so fascintated by the elephants, flamingos etc....

hi mousebb - hope ur son recover soon...maybe can bring him see TCM? my fren daughter takes dong cong cao...

<font color="aa00aa">R&amp;R mum
My naughty son only likes ribena. I tried to give him barley and water chestnut water he doesnt like it at all. Dont think he would guai guai drink the luo han guo and lin yang water.

cheer bear
Yesterday dr lilian wasnt around so dr allyson was the one who seen him. She prescribed another type of cough med and clear airways one for wenxuan but obviously these medicine have very strong smell which he doesnt like it. Yesterday iy cost us around $116 at kids clinic! very exp hor!</font>

r&amp;r mum,
of coz not everyday la.. ok so not liang then i can tell my mum liao.. thanks

r&amp;r mum/jelly,
shawn also crazy abt mickey and minnie but he loves minnie more.. y i say so?? coz he will play with minnie but bo chap mickey hahaha :p

busybee,
ok u sms me then i transfer to u during lunch k.

<font color="119911">mousebb,
i boil the barley water for vy long &amp; use it for making Nat's milk. Mayb u try for WX too?

i actually prefer to give ju hua tea but might b a bit bitter.</font>

hi jelly - ya i think she will like it. we did not stay too long cos it will get hot and he was sleepy..but we sat the carousel at the playground..he so loves it..haha..u might want to bring some extra clothes and her swim gear so she can play at the water park...

hi mousebb- maybe u try mixing the ribena w the barley water or lin yang water? more ribena to cover the smell?

penny, new maids if no passport will need to wait ard 4-6weeks, now i m waiting for my new maid to come. cos they need to train the english then come to singapore need to take the test and health check up. trf maids may not be available so better to take into consideration of taking new maids.

ypg, no prob.actually i find all the maid very poor thing, work so hard then all the $$$ give to their family....but wat to do and say, its their call.

Jellypurin, the cough could be due to the phglem cause by the flu...so when u see rebby running nose, the phglem are out so the cough also stop. tats is what i learn from my PD. both my son also kena cough for more than 2 mths, only stop when PD give them antibodics after their 3 visits. sighz....cos me more than $500 for all 3 visits. but luckily they are fine liaoz.

vanilla
Aless same too.he likes older ladies....wahaahahha. We tried to introduce younger gals ard his age to him but he only got eyes for aunties. Faintz.

Pinkimum
Anyway, the teacher is crazy.

kudos to all the teachers here. I dunno know how u handle so many kids. I like kids but its very stressful esp tots and preschoolers. and they ask alot of strange questions which i dunno how to answer. I feel stupid whenever ey does dat.

ey asked me b4 why her poo poo looks like snake. my answer was a hum...hmmmm...cuz.. mummy has to go and prepare lunch.
Or she will ask why mummy is girl, daddy is boy...why daddy has penis and mummy doesnt, why i dun hv....my hum hmmm answers apply too...sometimes i mention god's creation. She will ask who is god, where is god, what is he doing up there.
Next thing is while she is playing play pretend, she will say god is inside her playhouse with her, or God says she doesnt hv to eat. Faintz

Kindly enlighten me how you answer questions like these.

<font color="0077aa">morning mummies.

wan chuen: ohhhhh...u PTWM too? wah! good leh, good balance. yah, me too... i bring cate for class and outsource her once a week so that I do not need to entertain her. hahahahahahaa...

jelly: ohhhhh... so if u sign up, will be at serene branch ah? good leh! then we will have more kah kees! Kekekekekekeke

tweet: need ah. still need to acc... but at least for that 1.5 hours, i just take the teacher's lead and follow, dun need to crack my brains to think of activities. i lazy lah. hahahahaha</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Morning Ladies
3260585.gif
3260586.gif
3260587.gif

everafter,
got ur reply.

Reb,
Wish Nick &amp; U speedy recovery.

R&amp;R,
my gal using the Huggies blue. before that she was using red, comfort dry. Change her to blue and it seems ok. It can still last her overnight.</font></font>

<font color="0077aa">pinkimum: seriously, that teacher is crazy. how did you hear abt the comment she made to your friend? 'cos i would have called the school up and like jelly, given them some "feedback". 'cos information / comments such as these are not supposed to be freely shared what.

in my humble opinion, kids at this age have v short attention span and will explore around because they are prob curious abt everything around them - the sound, the colour, the feel, etc. hence, cate also walks around in class and at home non stop looking for more things to touch and taste (to my horror), etc. this is the way they learn! what discipline? EYmum is nice to call her only a fruit cake. I would have called her chiffon - all air and fluffy!</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Giant is selling Huggies Dry Pull Ups @ less than $12. That's cheaper than the Tampines Auntie but dun know whether have time to go there.

Hubby send his car to service today. So carless for probably 1/2 day ba.</font></font>

penny
never entrust your baby to a new maid, in fact never entrust your baby to a maid at all, thats my advice. Unless there is someone supervising the maid.
I suggest a childcare center, trusted nanny or babysitter. Even its a sucking idea, but i feel the nanny, bbsitter or teacher will be more professional than a maid.
Yesterday i just saw a scary image. There was this maid who had a bb/tot in the stroller. She stuffed the milk bottle inside the tot mouth. then she tilted the day stroller more than 45 degree as she walked to make the tot drink his milk. I was watching with amazEment.

<font face="comic sans ms"> <font color="0077aa">Good Morning Mummies!!!

mousebb
hope WX is getting better now.
how come he dun take med?
i thot all kids like med coz sweet syrup ma..
ur WX clever wor~ knows that too much med no good. haha!!
but anway, glad that his fever drop liao lor..

i feeling much better but vry giddy.
body aching like nobody business.
as for Nick, he like fainted.
keep sleeping n sleeping.
so worried for him.

R&amp;R, Jelly
i gve them drink whatever drink i can find.
like barley, luo han guo, yang shen ju hua.
they just drink like nobody business.
n also it seems like nt enuf for them.
but dare nt to gve too much.
scare too liang for them.

Cheer
i went to the doc liao. restng at home lor.
but hard leh. my Nick nt feeling well too.
Gracia n Erin wont let me off easily. LOL!!!

Blur
thanks thanks!!
</font></font>

penny and jelly, my case typical example of how long it takes for the maid to come. i waited close to 1.5 weeks then passport approve. then the maid (waiting at indo training centre) suddenly say sick cannot go collect passport. wanna go back home to rest hahaha. very funny. so we gave her up and look for another one. sigh....

<font color="0077aa">rebecca: i can actually visualise how hard and tiring it must be for you to be home with 2 active kids and 1 sick child! plus you are not feeling good yourself!

can you mum help out a bit so that at least u can rest for an hour - take a nap or something?

take care yah?</font>

jelly,
you make me gia to go to the zoo this saturday. maybe friday i will try to get the coy zoo pass. hehehe...

mousebb,
like tat hor. abit difficult leh. how is he now? fever subside le mah?

woh... seems like quite alot of our kiddos like mickey &amp; minnie. maybe becoz they are born in the year of the mouse.

bbgoh,
the quality ok? coz i tot of changing huggies dry comfort to huggies dry if there is not much different.

my poor regine.... last time Rachel is wearing mamy poko all the way till 2 years old. giving her all the good stuff. but when comes to Regine, i downgrade alot. no $ ah!!

<font face="comic sans ms"> <font color="0077aa">EY
HUH?! so AMAZING ar the maid?!
she trying to perform some act is it?!
crazy!!! lucky my i got a Spy Agent Nick.
he will report to me what had happen at home.
the granny scolded his mei mei.
all he will tell me. haha!!!
even my BIL gf come, he will also report to me!
den tell me the GF always go into his uncle room.
these n that! LOL!! funny lor!!</font></font>

pinkimum
I think u shld confront her abt it actually. Cuz teachers like her shld be corrected/eliminated for her/others' good. sometimes, i feel some ppl need to be corrected in the hard way, otherwise, they will keep thinking that its okay and they are right. I cant imagine if boywere to be older and he understands what she say. Probably wld hv caused certain degree of damage to him mentally.