(2008/10) Oct 2008

blur
i hv 2 get xl for her cos uggies pull up's cutting is small

busybee
she is... er bum and tummy's BIG! kekeke... but i like... rolly polly.. like to squeeze

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="ff0000">HELP HELP!!!

Mummies on FB that play RESTAURANT CITY.

My colleague just intro me today.

But now, all my staff suddenly doesn't cook or serve.... I dun know wat happen.

HELP HELP</font></font>

Jelly,
He can walk well but he like to hold my hand and ask me to go with him which is tiring.. hahaha..

Pull up pants:
Is the cutting smaller than normal diaper?? My boy wearing L now, but not sure if to get pul up now as I got 6 packs at home.. keke..

Blur,
Is yr staff at rest?

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">tweety,

wat is at rest. The chefs are not coooking, waiters outside of the restaurant.</font></font>

<font color="0077aa">tweety
i only use pull up pant while goin out. easy to chg

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">no leh,

chef is standing infront of stove but not cooking for customer leh.</font></font>

<font color="0077aa">Jelly: Bigflamingo and I are in Serene Centre wor. So if you eventually sign up at UE, we will not be seeing you.

Bigflamingo: wah, yr HB supportive hor? mine is more like he lets me do what I want with Cate 'cos I see her more and so, can decide if she is ready for such play classes. Looking forward to seeing you both in Jan!

Wan Chuen: babe, u SAHM? 'cos you were opting for Tues and Fri? Hmmm... originally a lot of ppl also commented that I send Cate in v young (since I started at like 10+/11months but I treated it as more socialising and exposure for her. It is not class class per se, if you know what I mean. With her gg on Sat, I can also rest 'cos that would mean I do not have to teach her that day. Hahahahahaa</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">not enough ingredients. 3 ingredients, still got 1 in gray.</font></font>

jellypurin, little doggie (hehe... ur nick remember me of my wilder days),

Thanks. I done liao, with western union. Transfer today, within half an hour, my maid hubby can collect $ liao. Actually I loathe her hubby, everytime onli know how to get $ $ from her, why cant he go find a job.

Karen,

Here is more info on Erik Erikson 3th and 4th stage:
Stage 3 Play Age: 3 to 5 Years
Ego Development Outcome: Initiative vs. Guilt
Basic Strength: Purpose
During this period we experience a desire to copy the adults around us and take initiative in creating play situations. We make up stories with Barbie's and Ken's, toy phones and miniature cars, playing out roles in a trial universe, experimenting with the blueprint for what we believe it means to be an adult. We also begin to use that wonderful word for exploring the world—"WHY?"
While Erikson was influenced by Freud, he downplays biological sexuality in favor of the psychosocial features of conflict between child and parents. Nevertheless, he said that at this stage we usually become involved in the classic "Oedipal struggle" and resolve this struggle through "social role identification." If we're frustrated over natural desires and goals, we may easily experience guilt.
The most significant relationship is with the basic family.

Stage 4 School Age: 6 to 12 Years
Ego Development Outcome: Industry vs. Inferiority
Basic Strengths: Method and Competence
During this stage, often called the Latency, we are capable of learning, creating and accomplishing numerous new skills and knowledge, thus developing a sense of industry. This is also a very social stage of development and if we experience unresolved feelings of inadequacy and inferiority among our peers, we can have serious problems in terms of competence and self-esteem.
As the world expands a bit, our most significant relationship is with the school and neighborhood. Parents are no longer the complete authorities they once were, although they are still important.

I love the module on children educational psychology so I spend quite alot of times on the super thick book during my NIE times. I find his theory very true of myself so I believe. Another one big name to look out for in children educational psychology: Jean Piaget. Hehe... Do I re-fresh ur memory?

Jean Piaget's Stages of Cognitive Development
1)Sensori-motor (Birth-2 yrs)
Differentiates self from objects
Recognises self as agent of action and begins to act intentionally: e.g. pulls a string to set mobile in motion or shakes a rattle to make a noise
Achieves object permanence: realises that things continue to exist even when no longer present to the sense (pace Bishop Berkeley)

2)Pre-operational (2-7 years)
Learns to use language and to represent objects by images and words
Thinking is still egocentric: has difficulty taking the viewpoint of others
Classifies objects by a single feature: e.g. groups together all the red blocks regardless of shape or all the square blocks regardless of colour

3)Concrete operational (7-11 years)
Can think logically about objects and events
Achieves conservation of number (age 6), mass (age 7), and weight (age 9)
Classifies objects according to several features and can order them in series along a single dimension such as size.

4)Formal operational (11 years and up)
Can think logically about abstract propositions and test hypotheses systemtically
Becomes concerned with the hypothetical, the future, and ideological problems
Hope I dun make all of u dizzy with these theory. Paiseh, I get carried away sometimes when talk about this interest of mine. Haha...

dimpletot,

U going Polliwogs tmr?

<font face="comic sans ms"> <font color="0077aa">mummies!!
i'm down with fever.

TML's day surgery postpone to Mon! urgh~</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">eelyn

Jelly
My son is very stubborn. We tried to coax him but no use and when we force feed him, he struggles and cries like we are trying to harm him.

bbgoh
Brought him to see a PD this morning liao. </font>

<font face="comic sans ms"> <font color="0077aa">YPG
oh is it? i dunno leh.
guess i too engross in the forum. LOL!!
yup. went to doc liao. doc say i'm down with flu.
</font></font>

I think sleep training depends on the kid also. Mine is never afraid of dark. In fact, I used to rock him in the total darkness bathroom when he refused to nap. He is easily distracted when it is bright. So I even changed my curtains to block out the light in the bedroom. And when he wakes up from naps, sometimes he doesnt even cry for me or shout for me. He just plays.

I went for kindermusik and the teacher commented that Kai needs more discipline. I wonder, how do we discipline one year old? I know my boy is active, but I think he is exploring.

rebecca,
Oh, do take care. Maybe you are too kancheong? Rest more.

<font face="comic sans ms"> <font color="0077aa">pinki
nt too kancheong. is i already a heaty body.
den i think i go drink some kind os liang teh.
den it "force" all my heaty out of my body.
den got fever lor..

XY
dun la.. ltr u lik eme fall sick how..
u cannot get near lil Marcus leh...
just like now i cnt get near my lil Erin.
</font></font>

jelly

also dunno looking for what... recall when babes were a few months old we used to always buy lots of things en masse!

XY

got good beeeeg brolly? go home lah. can take hot shower.

ypg

another friend changed plans to lunch with me tmw, so won't go polliwogs... u still got school rite?

brolly i have.
But... it's a 8min walk to the train station. With this rain, with brolly also will get wet.
Sigh... rain rain go away!

<font face="comic sans ms"> <font color="0077aa">XY
aiyo! u din bring umbrella?
ask ur col in ofc see who got umbrella to lent u?

mousebb
thanks thanks. will take care.
</font></font>

buffy
actually Serene centre is closer to me. i live at upp thomson

reb
take care

mousebb
xin ku ni le!

dimple
i know..."ji ti gou wu"...

Pinkimum
wow I will be off the teacher right away if anyone told me my girl needs more discipline now. Discipline at this stage should be about parents making the play area safe, distracting them from harmful objects.

dimpletot,

Ya, this is the last week liao. Sat is Primary 1 orientation. To let the form teacher bring the kids to their new "place" aka 2nd home for the next 2 years. Parents will get busy listening to Principal talking n filling up forms.

Then next week a couple of days will be used for end year review n meeting n tat is, school holidays liao.

Karen,

Agree with u. I mean discipline a kid under 1 cause she not very focus in class? Haha... I will give her the stare. Wonder wat knowledge or childcare experience they had to make such comments.

mousebb,

Jiayou!! Understand when children get bigger, harder to get them to listen. They got their own will/mind liao. I thought kids medicine usually very sweet? Perhaps u can talk reason with him? Tell him if he dun take medi, he will feel worse n cant go school play with his friend, wenmin or blah blah blah.

<font face="comic sans ms"> <font color="0077aa">Jelly
thanks thanks!

mousebb
WX dun take med? mayb u can try to reward him aft he take the med?
for me, i dun hve such problem.
coz all my kids like to take med. i also dunno y.
just that if they are to sick,
they will vomit aft take it.
den the med go wasted...</font></font>

karen, ypg,
Yeah, I am very pissed off with the teacher. And the worst part is she told my friend about this. Any feedback should be to the parent and not someone else. So I had decided not to sign up. She sounded as if I have a naughty kid or I did not discipline my kid. Thanks, now at least I know there is nothing wrong with both me and Kai.

went to fox sales today. those clothings r more for bigger kids. Not much for our tods. Socks selling at $1 each, shoes at $3....am gog to try my luck again this sat..

<font face="comic sans ms"> <font color="0077aa">mummies
Nick vomitted just now!

i fall sick he also fall sick.
</font></font>

pinkimum
Strange that the teacher tells someone else instead of u.

Discipline: i do not know wat the teacher means in her context. Maybe u shld clarify with her. Perhaps its an misunderstanding.

i do discipline aless and ey since baby-guiding and telling them what they shldnt do and what is dangerous although it sounds a bit ridiculous to do it to a baby/tot. Ie he understand that he shldnt climb up after i put him down on the floor each time he climbs up the sofa. He also understands why i say the floor is wet and he shldnt come over etc.
To me, that is discipline.

Anyway, babies and toddlers are highly intelligent these days. in my opinion, they understand more than what we think they do.

EY,
Yeah, when the boy is doing something dangerous or wrong, I will take him away and tell him no-no, because it is dangerous. I guess sometimes he knows what he is not supposed to do but still test the limit since he will try to do it again, and check by looking at me, seeing if I am looking at him.But during the class, he was just very active and walking everywhere. And he couldnt sit still and participate in those exercise and songs. The teacher did mention to me before that he is very active. But now she actually tell someone else that he needs more discipline. That sort of offended me.

rebecca,
What happened to Nick? Ate something wrong?

<font face="comic sans ms"> <font color="0077aa">pinki
i dunno him leh.
now the weather is getting more n mroe cold.
he cough until he vomit.
what i worried most is his asthma. haiz...</font></font>

pinkimum
Lol. The teacher is a fruit cake. How do u stop a tot from moving? aless will never listen. Anyway, there are many people like dat ard.
Thats why i never like the ideas of sending young tots to classes. Its mission impossible at their age to make them keep still.

anyway, at their age, they like to explore. esp boys who are more adventurous in nature. aless ventures all over the house, opening, closing cupboards, dig out all the contents...tear, break or throw them ard. And they got short attention span at this time.

and u know what i mean i prefer montessori class. Cuz the teachers respect the idea that all kids are different, they develop at different pace and hv different areas of interest. Hence, the kids are allowed to decide what they want to do.

hi rebbie
Sorry to hear dat both u n boy are sick.
Yeah. The weather very bad these days.

Poor boy. Try giving him warm water. Shld soothe the throat

EY,
Hey, I sent him to montessori trial classes before. And I really like them. He was happy exploring.The teachers guide him along the way. And I get no complaints. In fact the teachers commented that it is good that he is exploring and adventerous.
During that particular kindermusik class, he was the only boy and the other girls were really more cooperative. Haha.

pinkimum
If aless were to join the class with kai...guess that fruit cake wld die.....1 godzilla and 1 kingkong...ahahahahah... Tell her to state that only girls can enroll in her class

pinkimum/EY
I have never been to a trial class where the teachers said any tot was active. I'm actually surprised this came from a teacher from kindermusik. As said, tots are expected to move around. Their attention span can be as short as a couple of minutes and that's perfectly normal too!

My Jo is a girl, the last time I checked, and she can be very active. Ask anyone who lunches with me before. She's no Kate nor Rianne. She's the everything-also-must-touch-high-chairs-are-meant-for-standing-Jo.

I just think they're tots and they're curious, and naturally would want to explore. Over at Little Gym, the teacher even stressed that some would want to go explore on their own, while others would be shy, etc. and I thought that should be the right frame of mind for a toddler-class teacher.

Pinkimum, Can't agree more with Karen, our tots are still young and are still at the exploring stage. Besides, each child is an indiv. if everyone were to behave the same they'll be like clones! Dun let that teacher's remarks get to u. A curious child is definitely better!!

Karen, hee i know your pain. Miki is quite a must touch everything girl too. But I Jo can be a sweetie too. Love how she manjas with u. Are u attending class at Little Gym?