(2008/10) Oct 2008

Cheer Bear,
That's alot! When will that happen? The job market's actually picking up so I believe you'll get a job soon if you really are 1 of them to be axed.

ecreative cake:
i ordered from them for my ger's birthday.
I find it ok, as i'm quite picky when come to cake.
but again it depend on individual.

mispiggy, my maid put bleach into a pot of soup my MIL cooked that my hubby and PIL will drink.
its a police case now. aiyoh so dishonest? sigh...after this incident i also realise my maid can lie very well. for this 14 mths, i trusted her so much after observing her actions, and i find she's a good person, good worker, and honest. then now realise she's not honest. when she was suspected of putting bleach, she even have the cheek to proclaim her innocence tearfully to me over the phone (i wan't there). sigh.......

karen, I know you need the leaving school results I think, to show you graduated from there. but sorry i dunno what else liao to bring coz sadly i am not old girl of ANY good schools....boo hooo...my hubby too...booo hooo hooo...
maybe u can call up the school to check?

little doggie, the soup taste and smell funny. can smell and taste, very pungent.

you know hor....if she add such chemicals, can taste and smell. but if a maid add urine or add hair, you also wun know. cannot tell. sigh....so having a stranger in the house really a gamble.

<font color="0077aa">hi mummies, am here... good thing was that Cate's party went v well yesterday; guests enjoyed the food. Only regret is that I did not have so much time to talk to them... Was hopping from table to table but we planned it in such a way that there are a few groups of people who know each other so at least they can sit together and dun get bored.

daisybuttons/Iceylemon: ai yah, in the midst of trying to save 1 trip back to the car to load the pressies, I pulled my back! So that was the bad thing lor. Carried from an awkward angle and then WHAM, i pulled something. ppl with bad back are more prone lor. it was totally my fault, should not have been so lazy! So went to the chiro earlier and had some heat pad and stuff lah... Going again on Wed.

The funniest moment for Cate's party was when we were singing the birthday song and she leaned soooooo far forward to try to get a bite of the cake and my husband was holding her back 'cos everyone was still singing. when she finally managed to nip a bite of the chocolate fudge cake, she was so damn happy that she went "AHHHHH" and then clapped her hands in glee! Everyone laughed !!! So yes,Cate is quite the glutton and joker!!!</font>

Buffy,
Cate's so cute from what you described! Haha! Do get well soon!

Those who brought their babies/toddlers to the zoo, do they enjoy it? I'm thinking of bringing Dylan to the zoo this Thursday on his actual birthday but I'm afraid that he'll not enjoy it and find it hot. Besides the zoo, any other suggestions if the weather's not cooperative?

Purple,

Goodness! I have been mistaken bbgoh as jellypurin. So sorry about that. Me is blur blur mummy.

elch,

For my school, we encourage ex students to become alumni cause they will be guaranteed place once they register with us. Also, best to register with their alumni, can receive news on their program n school later development. Hehe...

I decide to bring my gal to the zoo after she can walk on her own then she can play to her max in the rainforest water play area.

daisybuttons,

U r scaring me about my maid. But my life motto is always "Hope for the better but Prepared for the worst". I hope my maid wun be so silly.

Cheerbear,

Dun worry. U sure can find new job soon.

Nice to meet u all at Shokudo just now. Luckily I sian about going home to face my mum nagging n decided to come join u all after Kai Tong's JG trial today.

Paiseh to come uninvited. Hehe...

ypg....sigh...what to do....it was a rude awakening for us. ur motto very good.

elch wong, brought Jaz to zoo when bring my boy, but she was sleeping or nursing most of the time that time hahahaa. so didn't see much. i think i will bring her only when she can walk herself. more fun.

Now it is my time to rant my anger n frustration. As some of u know, I listen to my mum n try my very best to be a filial daughter. But today, I really feel so sick n sian about giving in to my mum all the time.

My gal have a great time outside today n she came back home, still got the energy to play with my cousin in the small pool we got. After she finish her porridge, my mum insists that she din get enough sleep n went to rock her to sleep in yaolan. So end up she vomit.

My mum just keep on saying hurting remarks that why I dun listen to her, keep bringing my gal go out, now my gal dun want me liao kind of words. I feel hurt. I feel upset tat my gal vomit but I feel even more upset that my mum say such harsh things to me.

After a while, my gal is OK liao n doctor also say she is fine. She is happily playing. She lift her hip upwards, head turn down. She been doing that to try standing up without holding onto something. But my mum just shot me, say U see la, U see la, wat u bring her to class to learn this type of things.

I really try my best to listen to her but I do have my own right as parents too right. Even if wat I am doing may be wrong, isn't it my privilege to be able to err n learn from my mistake? I am so sian about it.

Sorry to rant about this. I know I already very fortunate that my mum stay with me, help me look after my gal b4 we got a maid &amp; some of u face ever worse treatment from MIL.

Ypg

I think your mum should let you be the parent. Grandparents are just grandparents. They are not the parent and should not try to be the parent. They had their chance to have full control over how they brought u up. That chance is over. I kinda subtly told my mum that before.

Having said that, once I go back to work I acknowledge that if I need her help I will not have full control over what takes place when I am away. But if I am around, what I say is the final say. And my mum knows that.

What to do? Can't live without the help, so gotta live with the interference. My sympathies totally with you.

ypg,

Don't apologise for ranting. We are here to share all woes and joys!

I agree with what dimpletot says. Grandparents are grandparents! Voice out when there's a need to. Being filial doesn't mean you've to be submissive all the time.

Let your mum knows that lifting hip up and turning head down is very common 'act' for babies/toddlers their stage. Dylan also fond of doing that pretty often though he didn't attend any classes before.

ypg,

I fully understand how you feel. I felt that way too when I had my first baby. My mother was constantly doing things opposite the way I was doing. She would use shampoo to wash my baby's body although I've told her several times not to becos my baby had eczema and sensitive skin. She would make my baby drink burnt talisman drink when she knew fully well that I was a Christian. She also put talisman on my baby's body secretly, inside her shirt, knowing that I wouldn't approve of it. She even said things like,"If we go to court over the baby, the judge will give me the custody of the baby (becos the baby is closer to her)." We quarrelled quite a lot over the ways to take care of my baby and the more I quarrelled with her, the more she did things her way which agitated me more.

Then I went for a job interview and a lady waiting beside me talked to me. I mentioned my baby and I groused a bit about how I didn't like the way my mother took care of my baby. She said,"The method is not important. What's important is to get things done."

It woke me up to my senses. From then on, I controlled myself and let my mother did what she wanted or said. I tried very hard to see things from her perspective. She loved the baby and that's all that mattered. And it was also why she did all the things she did and said all the things she said. She didn't know they would hurt me or exasperate me. After all, it was her first time being a grandparent. She was anxious to have the baby close to her.

But after I let go completely, I felt that things got better. We stopped fighting every day over how to take care of the baby. Occasionally, we groused abit here and there but it was no longer so tense.

Next time your mother said those things, just grin and agree with her. There's no point for her to continue to 'niam' when you already agreed with her.

Eh, what school you're teaching in? Very curious. Is it RS?

Re: zoo
I'm not going to waste my money on my baby yet on the zoo trip. I'll wait till she's able to appreciate the animals first, maybe 2?

Re: school
Karen,
You just need the report book to prove that you were from the school.

ypg,

hmm...conflicts sure bound to hv. matter of giving n taking..last time i dislikes my mil's ways of taking care of Arielle. But my hub said to me bef, do u think my mum will harm Arielle? No right? Its just different way of handling the kid. Ultimately, no harm is on the kid, dats ok wad....

nw i tried to let her handle it..unless something dat i dun think is right, i will tell her. Old folks r like dat! its normal my dear..
dun take it to heart...come and think abt it, they meant well too, just dat the way they care is a hinder to us...haha

Ypg
if there are stats to show, I think women are 100% more sarcastic than men. And sarcasm is a sharper knife than explicit language, IMO. My mil is good at it. Just this Sunday, she said, wow wear till so nice when Jo wore black. Those were not true words cos she's super traditional. She must think I am a mad woman to let my girl wear black. My mum is nice to me but I know with the right person, she can be very sarcastic. Same goes to me. So I know what frustrates a sarcastic speaker. Act stupid. Totally act like you don't get the sarcasm.

I know you will not be able to ask your mother to let you have your ways. Guess that will hurt her deeply. Just tell her for this play idea, can she let you have your way.

Hi mummies, just want to hear if any of you have brought your bb to star cruise before? I intend to bring my 13th month old boy there soon, just wanna hear some experiences from mummies here so that I can get better prepare :)

dimpletot, elch, rains, Trace, Karen,

Thanks for all ur kind words n console. It warm my heart after enduring the cold my mum just gave me. I cry a bit so to vent out my frustration. Now feeling better after a short sleep.

My mum is a Gemini who is famous for dual aspect of their personality. She will be constantly changing n I have a hard time cause of that. Do u know in the 1st place, she is the one who encourage me to bring my gal out to have fun n go for classes? Then after a while, she change her stand. I suffer many times cause of her constant changing attitude n stand.

I wun be saying much to her about wanting to take control of my gal. I can just continue to bring her out n go for class. I know my mum will change again soon.

Haha... I dun read horoscope for today type of stuff but I believe in characteristic for horoscope cause it is super accurate. Especially about my mum so I will certain avoid May 22 to Jun 21 EDD if I am planning for #2. No offence to Gemini mummies here.

Also as an aquarius, a fixed + air sign, I am someone who got my own principle n can get super stubborn to give way on my principles n opinions. So it is really very hard on me to give up my own principles n opinions.

Anyone who believe in horoscope personality like me?

Going for PSLE marking for 4 days straight. Wun be accessing internet until I finish work at 5pm. Letting u know in case u thought wat happen to me after the "battle" with my mum. Haha...

good morning mummies.

nice meeting the mummies for yesterday's lunch.

Joanne,
Nice meeting you.

Mint,
Nice meeting you. Din get to really talk to you.

Jill,
Saw you from far but din get to talk to you too.

ypg,
Nice meeting you.

karen, XY &amp; Dimpletot,
3129680.gif

r&amp;r,
very nice meeting you too! thanks so much for helping me get the tempura sauce yesterday.

ypg,
*hugz* don't worry about your mum. parents are sometimes like that. do what i sometimes do... in one ear out the other. hahaha..
by the way, i also believe in the horoscope stuffs.

ypg,

agree with Joanne. 1 ear in &amp; 1 ear out. old folks will always feel tat they are right. my mum oso like tat. but she always kena "suan" by me.

sometimes i will ask myself. will i be like her in future? i hope not.

is nice to have lunch with so many mummies and bb (oppsss shld be toddlers).. jus too bad i need to come back for work.

big boss is back and having meeting at 10+ later for the list.. think i will be one of them

ypg,
me also aquarius leh.. regard ur mum - bo bian one coz we need help from them so jus close one eye sometimes and like wat other mummies say she will still love our bb and dun harm them which is the most impt

hi elch - i went to the zoo on my son bday..he loves it. We were worried he cannot appreciate but he doe. We werent ambitious and only cover abit of the zoo + the child waterpark..totoal from 9-1145? cos he needs his nap. he likes it and can smile and look for animals.

becos of this positive outcome we decide to go to the bird park - cos he loves to look out for birds at home...

hi ypg - becos u are her daughter she is more callous w her words...same case we daughters are also more"easy" with our words w our mums cos we know blood is thicker than water. No matter what she loves ur daughter and only want the best for her. Her tone and words might be harsh cos she has a bad day/menopause?? I too will get irritated when i am feeling tired or sick and will answer back to my hb in a tone he absoulutely hates...

today buy her her fav food...a piece of cake, a nice dessert.. say how much u appreciate herhelp...she will feel touched and regret her words and will attempt to watch the way she talks to u...

CheerBear,
Look at the bright side. Might not be you. But I know how you feel. Coz I kena before too. That one time is hurtful enough.

<font color="0077aa">morning mummies

YPG
i m gemini mummy here :p
abt yr mum, i understd yr feeling. feel heartache, rite? no choice just try yr best to close 1 eye, both of u love Tong Tong just on diff way.
hope u feel better after vent &amp; cried out
*cheer up*

r&amp;r,
thanks just the same.

cheer bear,
nice seeing you again yesterday. sorry didn't get to talk to you much. agree with r&amp;r. look at the bright side. maybe it won't be you.

vanilla,
After seeing so many posts regarding bringing our 'fresh' toddlers to the zoo. Hubby and I decided to wait till he can walk to bring him there. So now, I'm thinking of where to bring him on his actual birthday this Thursday. Any suggestions?

cheer bear,
oh dear! *hugz* i hope that the package they're giving is good. look on the bright side. at least you will be able to spend more time with your bub until you find a new job.

hi cheerbear - hugs.. hope they give u a big fat package... take some time to relax and enjoy Shawn's company... holiday trip? if u are in accounts in bank i might have something for u..can pm me?

hi Elch.. how abt the underwater world? aircon and no need to walk too much..and he can see the fishes really near. hope weekday will be less crowded..

cheer,

take it easy! as i tok to u on msn dat dae...its cld b another blessing! this means u can spend more time with Shawn and can slowly find a more suitable job for yourself. Jobs r everywhere, matter of finding the right one. But quality time with Shawn is not all the time..

CheerBear,

*Hugz* is the coy waste tat they din keep you. Take a deep breathe. Sky so high... Is a sunny day. I m sure you will get a job real soon!!

joanne,
the package is norm - 1yr for 1mth so nothing fansantic. yes maybe will be at home looking for job and also spend time with shawn.

vanilla,
pm u liao.
holiday trip? hmmmm let me think and plan something

trace,
cant slowly find la.. coz too many commitment liao.

<font color="119911">cheerbear,

*hugz* yah, like what the other mommies said, take some time to bond with Shawn, rest &amp; relax &amp; look for another job tat suits u.</font>

cheerbear - hugs ... not sure your qualifications and skill sets. My bank is hiring if you are keen. PM me with your details and I can help forward to my HR?

r&amp;r mum,
thanks for the sms

jjmom,
think the only thing i am happy is they ask us to stay until 31 Jan 2010 as they are slowly closing here and set up in india.. so i will hv a super long cny holiday

ypg,
Old pple are like that lah... I also wanna vent about my MIL. On Sunday, we went to her place for dinner. Regina didn't want to eat the pasta so was being fussy. Then the woman still stand there and say,"not nice huh?" Grrr!! Nvm. Ask me to give her the soup that she brew. So I purposely say cannot cos got salt inside. She got quite defensive and rattled off her ingredients. Haha! Then one of the ingredient is scallops so I quickly said oh got seafood. Then she said old people said scallops is good. Then I say doctor say cannot plus Regina is sensitive. So she shut up immediately. Hahaha! One-zero!

With my mum I can always tell her off so she does know when to back off. And for my mum she knows that if it's old wives' tales without any logical explanation, she can forget about telling me cos I will never buy it.

btw, I'm also an air sign so the part about being stubborn is so true. And unfortunately for me, Regina is the same sign as me... haiz!!!

<font color="119911">cheerbear,

hahaha...gd tat u have this strong mommies network up here LOL

so don't worry too much

Trace,
Some of the words in Baby Can Read US version might be different from SG version cos we're using the Queen's English here. The spelling of the words for US version won't have the letter 'U' in some words.

Wah... talk about star signs? I dun really believe in all these. Just remembered i was telling Marcus dun come out too early. Coz Virgo dun really sound good for boys. Haha...

Ypg – Dimpletot is right. Being filial doesn't mean you have to be subservient to your mom. However, I suppose your relationship with your mom has always been you the submissive daughter, and she the dominant know-it-all mother. It is difficult to change this bit, so you will have to live by it. Although your child is yours, and your right to discipline, bring up etc, it all becomes grey when you are not the main caregiver &amp; worsen by the status of your mother-daughter r/s. My mom tries to input some traditional and old-wives tales when she cares for Vic, but I always use the line ‘the doctor says ..’ and it helps. Like Mint, my mom knows I buy no nonsense when it comes to non-scientific tales and stuff. She has been respectful in the way I want Vic to be brought up, so am thankful for that bit.

karen,
yes i am going to bring shawn out for the next gathering

ruffles,
let me go update my cv first.. dun hv time to do it yet... thanks for the offer

Good Morning Mummies,

Mint, I have no objections to go ahead since domestic shipping is so minimal. Sorry haven't had chance to log to reply earlier I had been down with Sinus infection and Miki was unwell too. Loose Bowel Movement I think cos she is teething. As she did not have any fever and was her usual chirpy self. PD told me to just monitor, luckily condition cleared up in a day.

Cheerbear, dun be too worried. Gambatte!!

vanilla,
Shall consider underwater world at Sentosa...any indoor playground that's located in/near shopping malls that I can bring Dylan to?

Cheer Bear,
Hope you'll get a great job soon. Cheer up!