(2008/10) Oct 2008

mummies, kyra fever up again 38.6 n her skin turining purple..
so legthagic..
so sad c her like tat!!
shd i bring her to KKH?

also i am so bloodly PISSED till i dunno wat to say n MIL jus now finally "sort of" admit is the aunty spread to kyra one + she can also tell me the aunty also dunno she fever!
wat F***ING bulls**t is tat!!

jen
pls bring kyra to the hospital... its worth the trip or at least bring her to the pd... skin turning purple does not sound gd dear... i pray that kyra will be well soon!

<font color="0000ff">jen,
yes, pls bring kyra to hospital now, straight away, don't delay le.</font>

<font color="#C24641"> Jen
send her to hospital now. dun care abt them liao. Viral infection can cause serious consequence. relax ur mind so u can make the correct n fast decision.
need someone to talk to. text me.

jen,

i would think u shld bring kyra to a PD or KKH now. No point getting angry with those folks nw,most imptly is u muz b in pink health to take care of kyra n get kyra back to normal temp. That's the most impt things to do nw..

mousebb,
I bought a roll of durian and a roll of kaya! was told this 2 are their bestsellers!

Thinking of buying some tops for my boy from Baby Mall Online...do let me know if any of you are buying so that I can lombang k...thanks!

<font color="0000ff">jen,
pls take the cab, cannot wait for your hubby liao. tell him to meet u there.</font>

<font color="#C24641"> Jen
dun panic. u need to calm down. quickly send Kyra to KKH. give hubby a call n inform. if he still choose to stay work. den u told him to come KKH ant. U decide urself. </font>

Jen,

Aiyo...bring Kyra straight to KKH and meet your hubby there...don't waste anymore time...direct your energy to Kyra don't get angry with those old women 1st...take care!

benefits of infant-parent play (escalona, s, 1968)

finding: even if the infants in a control group were given a variety of toys to play with, the sensorimotor play of babies playing alone was less complex and sustained than of babies who had an adult to interact with.

when infant and toddler play is facilitated and encouraged by a caregiver's structuring role and that the play results is more sophisticated than would be found in children in limited access to adult play partners.

mother/caregiver's role to play:
to adapt play activities in response to what the child was doing. e.g. varying rate at which they offered new play materials, introduce variations and inrease the intensity of play whtn child seemed to be losing interest, reduce level of activity when child becomes overly excited, offer reassurance when babies were having a difficult time, reinforce them when they did something well.

benefits:
-increased length of attention spans
- keeps infant at optimal level of arousal,neither bored nor overly excited
- gives infant a feeling of control over its environment, fostering confidence and promoting intellectual growth.
- exposes infant to intense social interaction with its parents and so facilitates process of parent-infant attachment
- encouraged infant to explore its surroundings (have chatted with karen and dimple about this before if you realise while exploring you are like a secure base, your baby will look for you and assure itself that you're there then continue exploring object/environment)
- causes infant to attend more closely to social aspects of language

------------

i was thinking leh mint, on the infant curriculum. i've not planned for infants before and i suppose i could because i have books to reference and an actual bb to experiment on but i cannot do so either. because i'm not your bb's teacher.. right now, you are. i don't know what motivates regina, havent spent enough time with her to read her social gestures. plus, while our babies are def interested in each other, babies might be content to just touch each other (i suspect they're objects to each other) so not much meaningful interaction yet. from what i read, more meaningful interactions might take place from 10 mths onwards and more predominantly 15-20 mths where babies start recognising their peers as potential play partners other than their caregivers/ other adults.

i know this is lengthy, but i hope it helps. i'm reading for myself and abby anyway. strange thing is that i've read my texts prob hundreds of times but this period of time might be the only time i'm reading it because i'm genuinely interested. ehhehehehe the rest of the times, just using the content for references in my work.

jen,
hope you're on your way to kkh now, docs will look after kyra. i will go into frenzy, not as calm as u. take care!

mommies,
u know all that stuff i shared from my texts, well i don't do them all the time either. the person who wrote it is writing it from researcher perspective. he obviously did not spend the whole day in, looking after his sons when they were infants. i can't keep abby at an optimal level of arousal much that i want to mostly because 1) i'm not working a job right noe 2) i have shitloads of housework to do seemingly. i almost feel guilty typing out and rereading the crap i just wrote. once again, for reference hor mommies.

anyhow because she's sleeping and i finally had time to take a dump, i've been thinking about the above theories. does that mean that an attentive caregiver at infantcare could benefit a child more than a bo chup grandparent/maid at home?

<font color="ff0000">Jen,

Are you giving Kyra the brufen and paracetamol on time?? Sounds very serious, think you better bring her to KK, don't wait any longer. Ignore your MIL and hubby for now, Kyra is more important.

Hope Kyra will get well soon.

<font color="aa00aa">Jen
Hope you are already on your way to kkh. Cannot play play with fever.

elch
Good choice! </font>

pil
me quite bz lor...trap in a project i dun fully understand ... hardpressed by management and client tpo produce something i have v little direction of... but it's gd learning... if i get this right, might just be gd for me!

jen: hope you are at KKH now..and that kyra gets well soon !!

mint : share share more on the weaning talk =)i always love Mrs Wong talk and a good point to rem to add a portion of meat and veg..

jelly: ya, add this project to your portfolio..btw, i have jus signed up for the 'sch of life' class..see you!!

pildough : always love to read your research..good to have you to summarise all that you have read and share with us.hee..

oh ya, i jus rec my 1st mother's card yest..the IFC teachers made a heartshaped card and had Ashton's lil toeprints all over the card..i melted~ =p

Gio,

I keep having back prob. its super aching nw!

jolly,
the IFC is so sweet! u can put it at your workstation yah

<font color="ff0000">Trace,

Is it because you kept bending over to carry Arielle? Must remember not to do that cos it will strain our back. U can get some deep heat rub from pharmacy and see if it helps. Hehe can 'manja' hubby a bit and ask him to massage it in for u.

<font color="0000ff">jolly,
tat's so sweet of the IFC
hmm...i would love to get 1 too.

mayb force my DH to make 1 for me...hahaha</font>

<font color="0000ff">Trace,
I m having shoulder ache, it's so tight &amp; hard

My mom massaged for me liao, still vy achy. Think really need to go for a more pro massage this wkend.</font>

<font color="#C24641"> Trace
is it that ur "aunty" visit u soon? coz some woman will hve backache as a symptoms.

orh u drink too mcuh cold water liao leh.. keke... or is it the weather? ppl say if last time we fall or hurt out back b4.. when the weather is kind of 'pek hor'(in hokkien). den the back to ache first b4 it actually rain.

LOL!!! drink too much cold drinks liao la.. control lor nxt time.. den the backache will be under control.

reb,
is Erin alright?

I had a busy day today. Couldn't finished reading all the post.

Dumbo,
I'm interested in the little seat as well. I hope its not too ex... Keep me updated k.

Porridge:
I've started Claudia on that. I put fish and spinach into it. Initially, she dun take much but she's slowly increasing her in take. She's turning 8 mths this 18th and she stil show no signs of teething.

I'm starting to see white discharge on my panty. Does that mean my menses is coming?

jen,
skin turn purple shld be quite bad liao.. anyway hope that kyra is fine.. send my hugs to her

trace,
recently my backache came back too.. last wk one of the day was so pain that i took time off home.. cant take it liao.. now is use the tiger ko yo to paste if really pain.

jolly,
so sweet of the IFC teacher.. if i receive such card, think i will cry.. so touch

chris,
me not going for the sch of life liao.. going to use this $ to buy the ssw playmat for my son instead

jolly - so nice!

xy - save $$ on pads mah.

penny - I also noticed white discharge 2 wks before aunty came back ... maybe its true.

<font color="aa00aa">Rebecca
Poor Erin! She must have cried badly! Sayang her for me hor!

re: menses
Am still waiting too! </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Penny
I have been having white discharge for sometimes le but still no sign of my "aunty".</font>