(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi Breadmum,

It depends on the size and the design leh.... In any case, i am getting 2 tier customized design cake serving abt 40 to 50 person. I paid over $200 plus... abt the same as cupcake divinity.

But much cheaper compare to cherlyshuen and the pattisser ...

if you want to book cake from ai mummy, cupcake divinity or dreamyhouse etc. you have to book very early cos they have limited baking schedule.

<font color="aa00aa">Ai mummy's pretty cakes - I also ordered Kieran's cake from her some weeks back. His is going to be a 2 tiered customized design as well - getting one just for immediate family of 16 people, for $160.
K's bday is on the 30th of Aug, so if your baby's bdays are towards the end of Sept, I can provide feedback before you order!</font>

Koras.. me tried Ai mummy too.. same thing.. fully book.
Then I quick quick booked with cupcake divinity,luckyly still have. If not, me must be headache looking for his Bday cake.

Bigtoes, me too.. will celebrate little J'bday on 30Aug.

Cake order

Cham..me getting into 'anxious' mode liao after seeing them fully booked..
was lazy in starting the engine going..looks like need to call up 2morow!

Cherysuen cake

I call them up yesterday &amp; their cake was vvv ex man! for a 2tier cake 40-50 costs over $300+! faint..even for freshcream type also over $300+.Haiz...she recommend me do minicupcakes whereby she will 'put' them into a cake with design on top. Each mini cups $3..100pcs oso = $300

I am still in a dilemna over who to choose..haiz..

Little e's bday is in mid Sept. Yup they are all fully booked.

I've decided to take an easy way out. I signed myself up for cupcake decoration class in 1st week of Sept and the weekend before his bday. Hopefully, i can master something home made.

am not good with crafts so i see what i can do.

<font color="aa00aa">breadmum (breadmum) - Wow, that is very dedicated of you
Have to take a photo of your cupcake creation and share when that is done! I am sure it will turn out lovely!

Didn't expect the cake bookings to fill up so fast. Luckily I booked with Ai mommy already - Kieran's Bday is also on 30th Aug.

Angeline Goh (angeg) - I think prices for customized cakes are all about that range. Initially, I was intending to have a bigger gathering with all the relatives, and enquired with Ai mommy for pricing of 2 tiered cakes for 40-50 pax, and she quoted me about $260-280.</font>

Cherlyshuen cake look very pretty ! I nearly go with her fun and joy cake. The 2 tier slanted cake with mashmellow sticks... she quoted me about $350 i think. But later go, i hear from antoher mummy in aug thread that her cake look good but dont good... That i change my mind and go for ai mummy

bigtoes

yeh..its all about there..but cupcake divinity will be cheaper abit.cham so fast all fully booked liao..cherysuen still got slots...hmm..sian man..tinking of getting a design i like &amp; gave it to pine garden to do it for me...haha..worst then book pattisier again lor..

jojo

my fren went to her shop &amp; she gave her a cupcake to try.say the cake will be the same taste.she told me not that nice as well. cake abit dry..

angeline
actually whats' wrong with pattisier? it's sooo yummy! better than any other bday cakes ive tasted.

ill most likely go for something cheap like PG this time round, else two bdays a month apart will surely burn a huge hole in hb;s pocket

I love the cake from The Pattisier as well. But they quoted me abt $500 plus. I dont intend to spend so much just on a cake... as i have birthday cakes, agar agar and cupcakes for dessert leow...

I consider PG as well but heard lot of mix review and apparently they are couple of screw-up for birthday cakes before...i contacted them and they only do cream cake which i wanted a fondant cake this time round.

Cupcake divinty, i order my 5 tier cupcake from them during baby m full month celebration. It look very nice and many kids cannot bear to eat it... But review from adults are not positive as they find it too sweet... But i personallly quite like the chocolate cake (top tier of the 5 tier

Hence this time round, i search for other cupcake vendors... deicided to give cupcake divinty a miss since i am engaging them for my other friend;s party
which is going to be two weeks before baby m party..

CY

nothing wrong with pattisier..haha..i ordered once before..just thought of trying others. Pattisier's cake yummy! i like strawberry shortcake..:p

for PG..i am oso considering as its cheap but bad reviews.i went down 2x to buy n try their cake &amp; try to ask them abt customised cake but bad service..v bo chap..my hubby is not really keen on PG due to this..

i still headache over where to book..

1) Cherylsuen - 100mini cupcake cake $300
2) Cupcake Divnity - $200~ for fondant cake/ $120 for cream cake (my elder's cake)
3) Copy design give PG do.. $180~
4) The Pattisier - 2.5kg $280~

Angeline - i used cupcake momma for my boy's 1st month celebration. I did not try it. but my colleagues says they taste and look good. I only got pictures of it.

Bigtoes- i know my cupcakes will taste alright but i cannot say for the deco. will post after my classes. :)

am also planning for my boy's 1st birthday in Sep 09...

have you heard any reviews about cake avenue? ai-mummy is full in sep too.. sigh... hope to get feedback from all of you....

<font color="#C24641"> Hello Mummies!!
din post here for quite some time.

anyone here stay at sembawang area? can share with me which childcare did anyone here put in ur little ones? thanks!!

Hi Millie

Bascially it Is a customised design cake according to my theme. 2 tier serving about 40 pax...

Most of the home made customised or mass produce one (ecreative) are about $200 to $300. Then the commercial one (cherlyshuen) is about $300 to $400. Then the premium is The Patissier loh, they quote me above $500

Jojobar (mummychanel) - Wow, $500 is abit too extravagant for a baby's 1st Bday cake! No wonder those like Ai mummy get booked pretty fast - her's is 1/2 the price and she is really accomodating with the types of customizations people request. Hopefully those who have yet to book can find something nice and reasonably priced.

Bigtoes,

I also ordered a customised cake from aimummy on 30/08...

Baby K also holding his birthday party on 30/08, even though he's borned on 27/08... So kind of belated celebration.

Hi Tinkerbell,

I am getting Terror baby from BP to decorate the venue with balloon. I also bought some banner and high chair decoration stuff from birthday direct to dress up the place a little.

Hi jojobar,

icic.. did you engage anyone with the deco or you will be D-I-Y?

do you intend to have helium balloons or whatsoever?

I will be having the mickey mouse theme (as usual) haha... search on balloon deco on mickey and interested with the mickey balloon set up.. but hor, $40 per Mickey siah!!! so ex! so am considering if i could get the raw materials and diy.. wondering if its feasible.. =)

Hi Tinkberbell,,

I am not very creative sort..so no DIY.

Engaged Terror baby to decorate the place and i had gotten balloon bouquets from her as well. She mention that she will come earlier to decorate the place for me

I am also buying the banners and such which i will put uo myself.

If you have the time then DIY loh. Else you can give a budget to terror baby and ask her to work around it and propose something

for those of you have went to the Fisher-Price toy sale (think it was earlier this year), i know many of u have bought the Hop n Pop toy. anyone of you want to sell it off? since the baby should have out-grown the toy by now.
i have sold mine off. and there is another mummy very interested but i cannot fulfil her wishes. if u are willing, pls pm me so that i can give u her contact. i feel so bad abt disappointing her.

Jojobar,
I called up Patissier today and they also quoted me abt $600 for a 2 tier cake. Actually wanted a 2 tier cake too, but i'm not willing to fork out $600 for a cake. I guess i will take up the mousse cake and get Patissier to design the cake based on Mickey Mouse theme. They quoted abt $270- $300.

Hi Millie,

Wow $600 ! I am also very keen on 2 tier cake hence i go with aimummy. Did you check out ecreative ? They also have some nice two tier cake ?

Hi mummies!!
Been quite bz the past week, 3 boys all sick. Baby got bad flu and cough with lots of phlegm. Seen normal GP not ok, then brought him to Children's clinic at bishan. Just finish antibiotics today but not fully recovered. *Hai*

Jojobar,
Where will the bday party be held? I'm holding it at my blk's function hall. Very near to playground, so the older kids can play. Not sure if I wanna rent a playball pit for the 1yr+ kids. I actually thought of Gymboree or gym related classes. But wondering if it's a waste since he can't crawl yet. Maybe I'll go for the trial to see if he likes it
You're really efficient man, everything for bdae done? Buffet from which caterer?
Now that Jayden is sick. He lost weight too. Only around 8.2kg. Really hate it when kids fall sick. Especially I have 3, when 1 is sick, usually in no time all 3 will gena.

Bigtoes,
I'm a FTWM. So seldom have time of my own.
Kieran is considered very fast. 6mths &amp; he started to crawl already. By his bday i guess he'll be able to walk without help. I can't imagine when Jayden will start walking. He looks like a small baby(though he's still a baby
). But speech wise I think he's quite fast compared to his brothers. He can imitate sounds/words quite well.. Like aunty, isaac, dy-dy(daddy), maaaaaa..

Breadmum,
I agree. Different kids have different growth rate. Now Jayden is doing leopard crawl on the bed, sometimes on the floor. But he's super clumsy and dependent on others. While he's on his tummy, all of a sudden he'll just flip to the side. Always assuming some1 is there to prevent him from knocking his head. The same when he is seated too. Cannot be left alone. haha.. will just suddenly lean back assuming some1 is behind him.

Hi Angeline,
Cupcake divinity quote u $120 for 2 tiered cream cake? they quote me $150 for 2 tier mickey cream cake. How's their cake? Is it too creamy? Wanted fondant type but scared it'll be too sweet. It's sugar paste rite? And fondant cake are a little more ex.

Btw mummies, what other classes are your babies attending or planning to attend? I thought of letting Jayden go to GUG after his 1st bday. Went for trial already.. nothing really special just that I feel my boy enjoyed it. But prices are a little on the high side for me, since his 2 kor kors are also attending nusery and enrichment classes.

Hello mummies, I'm collating orders for healthy times. Collection can Raffles place or Tampines only! Let me know if you are interested. Once I hit $250, will not take anymore orders.

Hi Kel,

I am holding the birthday bash at my cousin condo function room. It is where breadmum stay ... Baby M is attending Gymboree classes every weekend so i wanted a different thing for his birthday.

Oh, the ball pit with 1000balls is really fun ! Cos the kids attending my party are all young toddlers or babies so i was thinking of some playground for them.

My cater is orginally chilli padi. However last month i heard from some July09 mummies, the caterer Water-rise is cheap and good. their presentation of the buffet is very nice as they cater to the party theme. So i change to water-rise.

Baby M is still weighing 8.2 kg ! Hmm hmm if you keen, i can post some of the gymboree pictures that baby M attend... so you can have an idea

But to share with you, Baby M was doing lepoard crawl for a long time, until i send him gymboree, his crawling improved ! You might want to consider that ....

Cupcake divinity: I order from them during Baby M full month. The cream cake is quite nice. The cupcake look very pretty. However the feedback is too sweet ....

Hi Mommies.

Hope you dun mind me joining in here. It was beneficial reading your posts about the lil' ones' bday. Anyone has any suggestions for party venue? I am thinking of doing buffet at a hotel. And yes! I am also looking for a cake. AiMummy looks gd but what is the price like?

<font color="aa00aa">kel (optimus_ke) - yah, Kieran is a v impatient boy! He started on tummy time at 2 months, so I guess he had alot of practice &amp; thus could crawl at 6 months.
Speech wise, he is doing okie - I speak to him in english, &amp; my ILs in mandarin cos babies pick up languages pretty fast. He can recognize most of the things around the house, knows to call me "mama", and can say about half a dozen words in the right context, like mum-mum, fish, cold cold, bird, etc...surprisingly he doesn't say "papa" though....but i don't really care as long as he says "mama"! My FIL also thought him to make weird animal noises on command (pig, dog, rooster noises etc)- quite silly when he does that!

He is growing up so quickly, we don't even think of him as a "baby" anymore - even weight wise, he is heavier than most of the babies here at 10.2kg!! Hubby doesn't even treat him like a baby and plays rough with him all the time (like pretend wrestle) i miss his baby days sometimes!!

Btw, on Jayden leaning back and assuming that someone is there all the time - you just have to let him know that you aren't. Kieran did that when he was younger at times when i was behind &amp; went off without him knowing. Just say something like "mama is not behind anymore okie!" and Jayden would know not to lean back.

bigtoes: i just read that you posted something on baby needing to spit out First Teeth toothpaste? I thought it's non-rinse formula? I don't rinse his mouth afterwards!! OOOPPPSS

Koras: your son is extremely cute!

kel

$120 was the rate they quote me in April for my elder gal's BD in May..their cake is normal i guess.cant be compared to Pattisier &amp; the likes but their cake very pretty..haha..anyway, i only taste abit as my gal's childcare kids wiped out the whole day..the cake size not enuff for 80+ over kids.haha

blackberryB (blackberryb)/Flos - I meant to say that it would be preferrable for babies to spit out the toothpaste but they don't know how to at this stage!

First teeth toothpaste can be swallowed (according to their packaging), but if u read the ingredients, these are still artifical ingredients, albeit harmless ones ...thats why i said i haven't been using toothpaste for Kieran yet. I haven't even been consistently brushing for him!

Baby's 1st bday!!
Im getting excited planning for Lil Q's b'day too.. But mine needs to be postponed for 1 month, bcos his bday falls on fasting month. Which means, i can only celebrate his b'day on the 2nd or 3rd week of Hari Raya. Still havent decided on the dates yet..

Baby's Cakes
Didn't know they will cost a lot leh...
Now need to do my homework already.

Breadmum
I think u have the best idea.. Going to cake decorating classes. Can save a lot.. Can i noe where u taking d classes at n how much up paid for..

Hihi jojobar,
Pls show me the pics.
And where did you get the ballpit with 1000 balls?? I already put a deposit to book the date for cupcakedivinity. Hmm, I think the most important thing is to have a nice and "wow" mickey cake for Jayden. haha.. nice anot, I guess my guest will still swallow it down. So crossing my fingers and hoping it'll taste as nice as it looks.

Bigtoes,
Kieran is super fast.. I always thought Jayden is considered quite fast coz his bros were much slower.. haha.. Your boy can even say words like fish, bird.. It's really amazing. He's like the da ge type here lor.. haha
So much faster!!
As for Jayden leaning back.. not sure when he'll stop. Tried to "scare" him by "pushing" him to the hard cold floor.. haha, but no use. Maybe will try Gymboree to like what Jojobar says.

Angeline Goh,
Your girl's cake also 2 tiered? $30 bucks lesser. Maybe becoz mine is mickey issit? But anyway, I've settled with them for the Bdae cake. Wanted to get mickey jelly from Mrs Chan too but they declined me... hahaha, say they need to block that date to make mooncake jelly.

I haven started using toothpaste on Baby Jayden. He only got 2 little teeth on the bottom jaw. Quite slow for his age at 10mth++ rite? So now only using towel and gauze

hi all....i've just joined and can't help myself from seeing all the talk about birthday cake....i'm also trying to get a good recommendation for my gal's 1st birthday cake...and i would like to know if any of u know the pricing for Ai-mummy...

Long time never really chat here. Now the talk is about birthday cake. Want to join in to kaypoh.

I book Ai-mummy on 4 Oct, lucky she still available.

Mich,

Ai-mummy cake price depends on the design &amp; slices u want. I take a 2-tier cake, now is deciding between 28 guests (slices) at $60 or 40 guests (slices) at $210. HTH. I would recommend u to go to ai-mummy. She is very helpful &amp; friendly.