(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi Mummies , here's the updated list with our high tea all in place. Will pm you Cordelia & my address and contact nos., this weekend. Look out for it.

Date : 11 July
Time : 1pm to 4pm
Venue : Tampines (will pm you the address)
Place : Function Room

1. Cordelia +Hubs + BB (fruitcake)
2. Rachel + Hubs + BB (jelly)
3. BigToes + Hubs +BB (bread and butter pudding)
4. Breadmum + BB (choc bread + tuna apple filling)
5. Mamyvelle + BB (ribena)
6. Mille + BB (fish balls)
7. dmbb + hubs + BB (chicken nuggets)
8. Angeline Goh +BB (curry puff)
9. Sri Leo +BB (fish fingers)

personally i don find the walking wings is good.

<font color="#C24641"> Good Morning mummies!!!
I'm frm the neighbouring thread. can i join in ur thread?
my gal was EXPECTED to be an Oct BB but UNexpectedly to be a Sept BB.

currently, i'm a mother of 3.
eldest son - 4yr old.

2nd gal - 19mths old.

3rd gal - 9mths old.

Hi Rebecca! Welcome to the sept forum! Gosh.. how do u handle 3 kids?
I am going crazy wif just 1 so far bt still want to have a 2nd one soon bt dunno how to cope wif household chores wif bbcare etc then.

Mummies, issit safe to feed bb those WAN WAN snacks? I am munching on it now and it is addicitive. Wonder shld I share with it wif bb.

Yesterday I cooked chicken meat and I blend it the chicken with cheese. Beri nice!!! Like majiam mashed potato tat kinda of feeling bt taste of chicken and cheese lo.

Btw, will the nutrients be gone if cook the chicken for too long huh??

Goldfish, I tried feeding my Jaden with the Wan Wan before actually. Only 2 small bite size, more for him to try the taste cos he was looking at me longingly when I was eating it! Once in while, I will let him try my food but always only 2-3 small bite size to try the taste.

Mummies, I see that there are mummies out there that started feeding their baby yoghurt? U feed them straight from the fridge or let it warm abit before feeding baby? Is there a difference between the baby yoghurt and the normal yoghurt?

Hehe! Just to share a photo of my Jaden......I just bought him the Pigeon mag cup and he has learnt to suck from the straw!

2635489.jpg

JP
My Ryan also using the same Mag Mug as ur.

Goldfish
Me too, did let Ryan hv a taste on "Wan Wan".
A few bits is ok cos it a little salty.

Did u mummies let ur bb drink Yakult?

<font color="#C24641"> Hi Goldfish
I'm staying with in laws.. so not a big problem

re: WAN WAN snacks
I feed my kids with that too but I will control them. i will break it into a few pcs. n only allow them to hve max 2 pack per day.
too much of snacks afraid that might hve 'gam chek'

re: cooking for meat
normally i will steam it. if boil in water.. the nutrients will gone. unless u are making porridge for them la.. den boil in water is ok..

hope my info helps.

how do u u all mummy out there handle baby now when they are so active. my parent normally put him inside walker then they able to do housework and cook

I didnt use the walker for Jaden. A nurse in one of the seminar that i attend told me that they do not encourage walker as it may be dangerous and that it does not really teach the baby to walk cos it's not using the same muscle when in walker and when baby is actually walking.
I put Jaden in a playyard, got him a really big one so he has room to move about and play with his toys. He cant stay inside by himself for long though unless someone is in the playyard with him too.

Mrs_Seng, tik its not recommended to give baby yakult until they are at least 2yrs old. I remember hearing this from one of my colleague, something about the active bacteria in yakult which baby's stomach cannot process that well..... I need to check with her again...

Yeah, I think the Mag mug is better than the Avent spout. Jaden seems to like drinking from the Pigeon one than the Avent one.

would like to check about milk teats.
My gal now drinks much faster from the bottle. The hole in the teat seems too small for her to suck. She got irritated and my MIL cut the hole in the teat bigger so that the flow is faster. However I heard its not good to do so due to plastic leach.
So my question is, is there any brand of standard size teat that is larger than L
So far i used pigeon brand and the largest i can find is L size
thanks alot

Hi JP, ur bb is so cute!!! And oh yes, time to upgrade to straw drinking liao. I am still using spout! Anyone using Nuby huh? Can the spout be changed to a straw? Cannot find it in kiddy palace leh. Sianz

Koras, household chores is a nitemare. Usually I try to do it when the bb is sleeping!!! Bt it is majiam a race against time loh cos’ u never know when he next wake up!!!

Mummies, is any of ur bb ‘addicted’ to any cartoons DVDS huh? I am tinking of showing those cartoon DVDS to my bb during feeding time to distract him bt aiyoh.. dunno wise or not.

And do u all still bathe bb in bath-tub? My bb is getting abit too active and vigorous in bath tub sessions..
-_-

2636647.jpg

Rachel : haven do. becoming lazy , 1st one even before u send the voucher already completed le. u finished ur 2nd album le? so fast. Think i will slowly do ba. from 6-12mths. first book was 0-6 ma.

Discovered this thread only now.. My name is Orange n my baby girl Chelsia now 9.5mths (11sep).

Heard abt the mygym from the above posts, are u all still sending bb to classes, I suspended my bb's class due to the recent h1n1. Is it still safe to go?

Xianee,
I bought baby yoplait from ntuc finest at bt timah, normal ntuc dun have baby yoplait.

Goldfish,
I'm still bathing Alston in his bath tub and ya he's very active inside it, standing up here and there to touch things, floor,etc. I often need to "wrestle"wif him and hold him tightly in case he falls.

As for household chores, i mop the floor even though he's awake and i usually put him in his play yard when i mop. Like u, i don vaccum b4 mop and i use the Scotch Brite type of mop head- the flat "Ban mian" kind.

Baby Yoplait
I usually buy from cold storage.

goldfish- true. i try 'throwing' him in to the playpen and he doesnt want to stay long in there. So when i am handling him, nightmare. have to 100% to attend to him, play with him. When he rest faster do housework and bath as his, powernap sometime only last 30 min then he woke up. Got to get rdy his porrige.Bath with him...

millie- where to get that kind of mop. My is those less then $5 type of miop and the hair just keep sticking onto the mop.Which make it more difficult for me to clean

Thanks to all,
will go cold storage and market place to look for baby yoplait..

yakult: i dare not give my bb but i dun know why cannot.

Hi, Mummies.

Need ur advice here. Saw in the posts here that some of you are putting the lil' ones in the playpen. Hw are the bbs faring? Coz my gal is still not able to sit properly on her own n always falls backwards n simply rolls over. She is always trying to climb out of the Bright Stars seat now. So we have no choice but to put her in a walker.

I checked with my colleague and this is what she say about the Yakult :

1) The sugar content is very high ( apparently even higher than soft drink? )
2) Yakult is formulated for the adult digestive system so may not be appropriate for baby or even toddler. She is not even giving to her kids who are already 8yrs old. She think its better to wait for them to be at least 10yrs old.

This is base on what she say, how true, I also dont know, just to share with you all.

a note here. yakult contains probiotics (the l casei shirota name is just some fancy nancy name for it lah), it's the same as lacteolfort. this is in a satchet form that doc/PDs give your toddlers when they fall sick sometimes.one satchet is more potent than one bottle of yakult. also sometimes later, you will wanna give your kiddoes vitamins. one of the popular ones is probiotics, super ex but same as lacteolfort actually...

if give, dun need to give yakult or all those expensive probiotics powder. just get those satchets from docs. super cheap (i think...)

Hi Goldfish,
Your baby sure looks like he's enjoying his bath time. My maid is the one who bath him during the day and she use the bath tub, I suspect it isnt easy too cos he wants to touch everything! In the evening, me and hubby will give him a quick bath, hubby will hold him by the armpit and I will soap him, so he kinda shower while standing. It's getting tough cos he will be doing his little dance all the time so abit difficult to hold and shower him.

BTW, the Pigeon mug is quite cheap, about $8 from kiddy palace. I got it during sale with 20% discount. I tik the straw kind is easier for baby to handle themselves cos they dont need to tilt the bottle to drink (the spout kind can be a big challenge esp if not enough water and they got to tilt really high ), they just need to learn to suck. The Pigeon one has straw that extends and bends at the end so even there is very little water in the bottle, they can still drink.

DVD &amp; mealtime : I let him watch Teletubbies/Baby Einstein after his lunch. I dont let him watch during mealtime cos I dont wan him to associate eating with watching TV. I restrict him to watch only about once or twice a day as to whether he is addicted anot, I dont tik so bah, dont tik baby at tis age can get addicted right? haha! For me, mealtime is strictly mealtime so i dont give him any toy to distract him. I will set him up in his high chair so he knows that it's his meal time everytime he sits on the high chair. When he is done, I will remove him from the high chair immediately. So far, it seems to work and he finish up his meal all the time within about 15mins.

Goldfish, that's a cute picture! Yes, it's a tough time to bathe them now.. Always trying to stand up in the bath tub and pull this and that! I tried putting him into my own bath tub once, I had a hell of time! TOUGH!!!

Mag mag with straw - I tried yesterday, but bb dont know how to suck from it. Only knows how to bite. How to teach ah??

Mamyvelle, yes, I completed the 2nd album. Initially wanted to do "MY FIRST YEAR" album, then realised got too many photos to include, so in the end, I did "MY FIRST ALBUM" &amp; "MY 2nd ALBUM"...

Mummies, anyone uses electric slow cooker to cook bb's porridge??

My son seem to be enjoing his bath in the bath tub cox he like to beat the water and splashing around. but its a big struggle trying to wear pampers or clothing as he like to flip to his tummy

Sippy cup

Mine still doesn't know how to drink from sippy cup, be it the avent one or pigeon mag mag...
He will just bite on the spout...

Tsk tsk, hopeless boy... whahahaaa...

Anyone same like mine?

breadmum
My apologies... I cant make it to our gathering.. sob.. Supposingly my chalet on 11th-12th but dear sec frens book chalet on 10th, 11th &amp; 12th morning go back... Will join u all nxt time... So sorry...
those who hv facebook, do post some pics for me to see ya! thks...

My 9mths old boy is still incapable to sleep thru the night. My hubby commented that the method I impose is wrong to train him to sleep thru.. Possible if mummies here can enlighten me abit.. =)

1) would like to ask when do you last feed your bb?
2) what time do you let your bb sleep? (everyday around this time => +- half hour)
3) do u dream feed ur bb at about midnight?
4) how many hours you bb sleep in the afternoon? (how many times? => late morning / early afternoon)

Dear pretty Mummies,

Its been a longgggg time since i posted! This is what I have been sooo busy with:

My bloggie is now up!

Please go to http://www.bluebambino.com (I will link kymberleyteo.com to the blog soon too)

I am now open for bookings~ (pls contact me for a sept mummy special :p)

My facebook is also up too!

Thanks for spreading the word!
Kym

Tinkerbell,

1) My boy's last feed is 9pm
2) He will fall asleep latest by 10pm
3) I don dreamfeed all this while
4) First nap @ 11am for 45min - 1hr, 2nd nap @ 4pm for 1hr - 2hr

hi rachel lim,
I use the slow cooker to cook baby's porridge.
First, I use a separate small claypot to boil water, porkribs, rice, ikan bilis stock (prepared beforehand), vegetable. After boiling for 20mins, den I put into the slow cooker to simmer for 2 hours.

hi skinny pig,

your boy manage to sleep thru?

sorry, more questions:

5) what time do u wake him up?
6) do u need to wake him up or he will wake up on his own?
7) do you feed him milk right after he wakes up?

sorry.. consolidate my questions here.. =)

1) would like to ask when do you last feed your bb?
2) what time do you let your bb sleep? (everyday around this time => +- half hour)
3) do u dream feed ur bb at about midnight?
4) how many hours you bb sleep in the afternoon? (how many times? => late morning / early afternoon)
5) what time do u wake him up?
6) do u need to wake him up or he will wake up on his own?
7) do you feed him milk right after he wakes up?
8) How much milk do u feed him in the day and how much for his last feed?
9) BB manage to sleep thru after this last feed?

Skinny pig - same here, my boy don't know how to drink from mag mag also, whether it's spout or straw!

orangeymum (orangeymum) - if you cook all the ingredients first, will it not lose all the nutrients? Hmm..

Tinkerbell, my boy hasnt slept through yet.. but I'm not too concern about this. As long as he doesnt wake me up every 2 hours, I'm fine. :p

At this age, you will need to impose some sort "sleep training" if you want him to sleep through the night. (usually will not be related to hunger anymore if your baby is still not sleeping through) One method will be the CIO (Cry it out) method. You can try to read more about it on the web, or from books.

Hi Rachel,

ya. thats what i thought so too. in fact, my pd oso mentioned that they are actually seeking attention.

so, this leads me to experiment on him 2 days ago.. haha.. normally, he will start to fidget at around 2am. but i just let him suck his paci and ignore him. then at around 3 to 4am, he starts to make noise (din cry) and open his eyes. so, i quickly make his milk, gave it to him and he went back to sleep.

I'm actually, wondering is he really hungry or he is seeking for attention...

hi tinkerbell,

I oso having the same problem as u... to mi i think he;s hungry leh.. i oso make milk for him.. after tat he will went back to Zzzzz till next morning...

Tinkerbell,

5)He would normally wake up @ 7ish am.
6)Depends. Sometime he would wake up on his own, sometime I would need to wake him up cos need to bring him to bbsitter
7)Yes, I fed him milk after he woke up cos he would definitely be hungry by then.
8)About 500ml in the day and 180ml for last feed
9)He has been sleeping thru since he was 3 mths old

When he was 5 mths old, he would wake up once or twice fidgeting in the night, due to discomfort from teething. I used to pop the pacifier into his mouth and he would fall asleep shortly.

Now that I have weaned him off from the pacifier, I would either rock him back to sleep, pat his buttocks or bring him to my bed and let him fall asleep on his own.

Rachel,

Yours also ah? Don't use sippy cup or straw?
I really want to rest my case lor... Everytime bring the cup in front of them, he would just push away or bite on the spout.

HI skinny pig,

thanks for your reply.

wow! envy envy.. uru boy slept thru since 3rd month!!! thats amazing..

My only wish now is i can successfully wean him off his paci and him to sleep thru..

Tinkerbell,

I trained him to sleep thru after his 1st month. But it was a difficult process and it took me 2 mths to train him sleep thru.
During the process, the training backfire a lot of times and he ended up sleeping at 3ish am almost everyday. And I suffered with him as well... whahahaaa..

noted Sri Leo - we'll miss you. catch you another time then.

Tinkerbell - my little one too, does not sleep through, we tried the CIO and water method but failed. We concluded he wants his milk.
So he will sleep at 8.30pm, wake up for feed at midnight, then at 4 or 5am another feed.

Cordelia - here's the updated list. 12 pax.

Date : 11 July
Time : 1pm to 4pm
Venue : Tampines (will pm you the address)
Place : Function Room

1. Cordelia +Hubs + BB (fruitcake)
2. Rachel + Hubs + BB (jelly)
3. BigToes + Hubs +BB (bread and butter pudding)
4. Breadmum + BB (choc bread + tuna apple filling)
5. Mamyvelle + BB (ribena)
6. Mille + BB (fish balls)
7. dmbb + hubs + BB (chicken nuggets)
8. Angeline Goh +BB (curry puff)

Sleep training - I've read 2 books on this before, though I've never tried them on my bb. You will need to slowly wean them off their night feed first (slowly cut back on the amount that they are taking). So eg, if your 2am feed is 180ml, try to make only 150ml, 120ml, 60ml... then you can start giving water if your bb still wakes up. Eventually, they will try to drink more milk / eat more solids during the day, so that they will not be hungry in the middle of the night.

However, do note that at this age, you need to put your bb through CIO or "cold turkey" (meaning leave them in the room and never come back) once you are sure that their wakings are not due to hunger.

There's a lot to talk about this.. and honestly, i dont have any real experience on this (only read 2 books so far). So mummies will need to do more search on this... It's usually easier to train the babies when they are much much younger.

Skinnypig.. yeah!! So now I'm just trying to make him drink water from a cup, and will progress that to drink milk from the cup...

I read from a website that we can also train our bb to eat together with us. I am going to try that tonite cos bringing bb outside for dinner and going to bring out his porridge as well. Keke.. at least if he made a mess of himself, it is ok cos’ it is not my house. LOL

Rachel, erm.. I wonder whether issit time for us to bathe bb not on bath-tub, but just place them on the toilet floor.. as in seat down on toilet floor. Ermm..
I am using endo thermalpot to make porridge for bb. I cook the porridge at 7am and den put it in thermal pot all the way till I am back from work which is ard 7pm!! SO it is like 12hrs in the pot. Opps.. I told my auntie colleague and she was tsk tsk me say GOT WIND leh liddat. Bt oh well.. I bo time to cook porridge when I reach home leh… it is race against time when my feet touch home manz… :S

Tinkerbell, same as u.. I oso dunno bb issit eyeing for attention ornot lo. Bt I still feed him when he fidget cos if I let him be, I cannot sleep well. At least feed him liao and he happy and close his eyes, I can go back to sleep! keke

Thanks breadmum for the list! Wendymum, u joining?

Sleep training
My method is to ignore him as long bb has his last feed at 9pm or 12mn. If baby wakes up, do not go to him or make any movement and after a while, bb will get the hint that mummy &amp; daddy are sleeping. After a while, he will go back to sleep on his own. I usually leave a bottle of plain water by his side in case he is thirsty.

goldfish- by the time you reach home does the porrige turn cold. If not i dont think will cause wind i guess. I cook my porrige from 8+ in the morning till around 5+. But the flask i use need to change the hot warm t the bottom to keep it warm. Very troublesome was hoping that i coudl find a flask that could keep the porrige for long

cordelia, are you asking for me? i'm twendy, not wendymum. i cannot confirm attendance. tampines is very far, doubt my hubby has the energy &amp; patience to drive all the way there. plus we have to rush off at 3-plus for a class. can i sms u nearer the date? will try to psycho him a bit...