(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi mrs seng, voted le....

mrs seng,
voted. Ryan is so cute ;)

Thks mummies for your advice on minced meat. I let Evan tried minced pork with brown rice but he throw up after his meals. I think I will try mixing minced beef or Chix and see his reaction. It could be the brown rice too... hmm...

mrs seng:
voted.

Cordelia:
My mum actually add a bit water to the minced meat, stir it before adding into the porridge. By doing this, the meat will become even more small pcs, it will be much more easy to swallow. i used to put the meat into the porridge and stir, but it turn all stick together, a bit hard to let my ger to swallow, but by doing this, i can just feed her the meat, no problem, else i have to left out the meat while i fed her the porridge.

Koras, may need to ask your hub to check on how do we to transfer from SG because the Maybank account is from Malaysia. I called the bank, they said cannot just transfer like that, has to go down to the bank to do a telegraphic transfer, etc...let us know if there's any update. I've emailed Sin Chew newspaper, but no reply yet too.

<font color="aa00aa">Cordelia (evan_gigi) - maybe its the brown rice being too difficult to digest? As for mince pork porridge, just wash the minced pork so that it is all in small bits when it goes into the rice pot. Shouldn't be a problem. Nowadays, I hardly puree anything anymore, just mash the bits of stuff that goes into the porridge (carrots, tomatoes etc) and K can pretty much eat everything un-blended.
Btw, on the bread &amp; butter, I suppose ur expectations are way higher than mine - argh...hopefully, mine taste edible enough!
Anyway, here is the photo of it looks like as promised....http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/photo.php?pid=1109523&amp;id=650743986</font>

minced meat: i learn from a tv program, u can even add hot water (eg hot boiling rice water from the porridge u are cooking) to the minced meat 1st and stir it to loosen it before putting into the porridge. the effect is even better

chillicrab- he be also checking on that. once he cmf everything i mean the ccount it is a real one and cmf its isnt a spam thing wil let u all know

blackberryB- not really throw la. as in u know 'throw' a bit in the air and catch him. and he forget that there is one low piece or ceiling there and he just 'throw' then end up knocking his head on that ceiling. Lucky that night nothing happens. But last night heard my mum say he having slight fever and a bit vomit out his milk. nt much only a bit la. so have to monitor him tonite if stil the same have to bring him for a check

Mummies, there's a bp on thermos jars, not sure if I should get a shuttle chef... hmm...

Big toes, when you use your rice cooker to cook the porridge, how much water should we add? Also, if you throw all the veg into the cooker at the same time, with the rice grains, will the nutritional value of the veg be gone by 2 hours?

Hee.. I've not cooked any porridge till date. Been using instant porridge all the while. Just add hot water or milk!! :p Lazy mum!

Rachel, I experimented with the porridge cooking last nite after reading Bigtoes post on porridge.
I use the rice cooker to cook bt under PORRIDGE menu. I used 2 tablespoon of RICE and aga aga pour some water into it (ard 3cm of water to cover the bottom of it)

This is my FIRST TIME using rice cooker loh believe it or not.

Everything is aga-aga and I keep monitoring it by opening it in the midst of cooking to see whether is the water evaporated or not.
And it turn up to be ok wor… the grain is soft but still grainy bt after I blend it into blender, it turn out to be beri smooth wor! Yum yum!

U trial and error loh…. Give it a try!

Cloud, my bb got 2 small teeth nia.. bt like kena stuck there liddat.. .not growing 'taller' liao
:S

Bt my bb still quite bo-tak!

cloud : my bb girl just started to grow only. grow 2 teeth below. can see white white now but haben grow out yet. quite slow also. think some baby has as many as six now.

my girl totally hate her food. except yu yun (ikan bilis) she only has interest for the food tat we eat. my mum ask mi to bite abit let her try but even worst , she keep wanted for more , keep sayin mum mum. holding to her playyard and keep jumping. issit too early to give adult food?

Cordelia - agree with Bigtoes that its most probabbly the brown rice. Try cooking with calrose rice. For starters, you can use the pork stock add to the porridge for the first 2 days, to give it flavour and taste.

Rachel - i swear by the shuttle chef, cause i've burnt little e's food before till my pot was black. With the shuttle chef, its really convenient and thermos is a good brand besides Tiger. Don't get the Le Gorurmet one,cause it does not work as well.

Goldfish - "wave" long time never see you online.

cloud - the chinese saying is that when bbs hit 9 months then the teeth starts to grow, so you don't worry so much, just make sure you give enough calcium via milk.

Hi ladies.

Has anyone started looking around for your Sep babies' birthday venues yet? Hope you can give me some ideas. My guest list is abt 100 pax. Thanks! =)

Hi, Goldfish.

My gal is also still very much botak and has only two little teeth at the bottom. Do you have any gd suggestions on how to make her hair grow? Everyone says that she is a boy!

<font color="aa00aa">Rachel Lim (rac_lim) - I usually use 1/2 a measuring cup of Australian calrose rice, with 3 times the amount of water (so 0.5 cups is to 1.5 cups or more)...would depend on your rice cooker as well? Mine is the very small compact one (one of those with several setting options, but take ages to cook). I just throw everything in at the beginning - assuming that the nutrients would still be in the porridge.

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - Congrats on your 1st attempt at cooking porridge
Actually, if its still grainy, just press the "porridge" setting again and cook another round. Mine is still in soft grains and watery after the 1st session (about 1 hour), but turns nice and gooey after the 2nd round (another 20-30min) - don't have to blend

cloud (lovelycloud) - I think the slower the better when it comes to teething. It gets messy (alot of drooling), and some babies get cranky (esp at nite) cos of the pain, or even develop fever. I was hoping that K wouldn't teeth till 1 year, so that I could latch on till then, but his teeth started appearing at about 7 months, and he now has at least 6. Don't think there is a specific timeline for teething, my SIL's daughter didn't have teeth till maybe 14 months, and now she is 19 months and has just 4.

✿Mamyvelle✿ (mamyvelle) - Adult food in moderation should be okie, just nothing spicy, oily &amp; salty.</font>

thermos jars- cant keep the food for long right.like you cook porrige around morning and put it to store til around early evening. i keep in a flask like every 2-3 hr need to change the hot water

Keke... have been reading the thread silently lo :p

Breadmum, u seems quite into thermal stuff. So is endo brand good huh? Now taka and ck tang got sale on endo thermalpot. Wondering shld get or not loh

Talking abt porridge, anyone ever like soak the rice in water and put it in cooker and set timer to cook like maybe 6hrs later? Meaning the rice will be soaked and in the rice cooker for 6 long hrs lo. Will the rice turn 'bad'?

Bigtoes, thanks for ur advice on the porridge thing. Will give it a try! :p

Btw, those thawed fish in supermarket hoh... can actually freeze it again when we bring it back home huh? I am thinking if i wanna to prepare in small portions for consumption, can i chop it into portions and stored it in fridge... erm...

Anyone still using playpen for baby to slp ? I'm actually thinking of selling my baby cot to get a playpen cause bb always knock on the wood.. fisherprice baby cot mobile can't be fixed on to playpen right?

Mamyvelle:
Mine is a cot cum playpen, but so far i haven't remove the top layer, so i'm not sure, if me ger sleep in, when she cry, will i have problem to carry her out.
as for the bb cot moblie, don think it can be fix as the playpen is made of fabric.

Goldfish - i have a LA Gourmet and now i use it as an ice buket as it cannot keep food warm long. So i invested in the Thermos Shuttle chef and its been a wonderful investment.

As for the endo, i've seen it but don't know much about it. Its better to stick to trusted brands like tiger or thermos.

Mamyvelle
I'm using Lucky Baby brand playpen (the largest size in mkt)for Ryan sleeping bed because no need to worry he will harm himself cos it very safe.

Goldfish,
Alston is oso very botak till now though he has very little hair at birth and after shaving at 1mth old, he's still very bald. Tried Olivin olive oil but no effect leh.

Cooking Porridge :
I find that using stainless steel pot to cook calrose rice is faster than those non-stick film coated type. I cook the calrose rice for abt 20min till the grains are a bit soft, then put in the fish/veg/sweet potatoes/pumpkin/carrot and cook another 10-15min till everything turns very soft. Normally i will put the harder texture food (carrots/sweet potatoes) first and wait till these turn soft before adding fish and veg so as to retain the nutrients of veg and fish. The whole process takes abt 30-35min.

Thermos Brand Flask :
I bot the Thermos brand 300g jar and i feel that the food will turn slightly cold after 4hrs. Jar label actually indicates food will keep warm for 5hrs for 300g and 7hrs for 500g jar.

Cooking Porridge :
I also using stainless steel pot to cook too.
If the rice is pre-soak.
Mostly i will steam all veg to retain the nutrients.

Walking:
Any BB here can walk on their own yet?

My lazy lazy boy can cruise around with support n crawl at super speed when there things that interest him.
Most of the time crawl a short distance then sit there yelling n crying waiting for someone to carry him.

Teething:
Mummy be very careful if your bb hv some teeths.
Ryan hv 4 teeth on both upper n lower.
He bits me on my lip two days ago because he saw somethings was in my mouth n he wants to share.
Sob! Sob! A painful experience i will never forget.

Millie (millie22):

Cooking porridge:

Hmm... so need to steam sweet potato first? or just wash/peel/cut then put into porridge to cook during the last 10-15mins?

Thermos Brand Flask:
4 hours only??? Hmm...

mrs_seng (annteo):

Ryan so cute! :p Ask him to kiss kiss mummy back!

Cordelia, I go buy calrose rice grain then we share share. I'll try to cook this Sat! hahaha.. If u free, u can come over on Sat to pick up the rice grain, and taste my porridge! :p

Millie - did you get the thermos Forgo? and when u put your food in, is it still boiling temperature? Mine last me almost 6 hours , and still steaming hot and by 8 hours, its still warm. If its only warm and you put it in the flask, it will get cold by 4 hours.

xuanting - i bought it last year when thermos had its yearly warehouse sale. Its usually cheaper. But my neighbour got hers from the Isetan members sale . So u can look out for either of the sale. I heard the zojirushi brand is also a good one to consider. I use their water flasks :)

Rachel/Cordelia - i don't mind sharing the rice too. 3 persons sharing is more worth as bb eats so little.

<font color="aa00aa">Millie (millie22) - Suppose to rub XO on the head to stimulate hair growth! Old wives tale on using high concentration alcohol, not sure if it works

mrs_seng (annteo) - Hold to one/2 hands and lead ur son around the house to encourage him to walk? Kieran has been walking with hand-holding for about a month now. He can most probably manage on his own, but i am not going to encourage him to walk by himself till he is steadier, cos he is already collecting enough bruises from cruising and climbing up furniture and stuff!</font>

Millie, Bigtoes
DO Not even think of trying the Alchol rub.
Yes, it will help to speed up the growing speed but the hair that grow out will be thick n curly.
My auntie try on my cousin n his hair now is like africa hair cur.

Hey mummies
Have u all been ‘religiously’ teaching educational stuff to ur bb?
i tried to make a pt to do flashcards or wat… bt bb like ‘spaced-out’ or rather more interested in chewing it lo

Wanna to relag and just play wif him bt sometimes oso KIASI depriving him from learning more tings.. humpz…

koras - mine too have not shown signs to crawl. sometimes i wonder if he is lazy cause he used his tummy to move backwards and clockwork most time. He loves to tumble left to right and back. Such that we cannot even change his diapers without him flipping.

He can sit unsupported but refuses to prop himself up himself. Am wondering, if putting him in playgyms will "pressure" him to do these motor skills. My dad is of view to let him take his time :-(

Goldfish
I will try to point out n name out everything to Ryan.
Example: Fan, Light, fruits name, veg, fish, crab etc....
I realised that Ryan pick up very fast, now he can point out apple, tomato, Drangon fruit, banana, fan, pacifier etc....
He understand give n return too.
Don't rush ur boy, just pratice more n he will learn.

breadmum.. sounds familiar.. heheh. my parents feel tt i shld let my girl develop at her own pace, but i want to at least do something to help. i've just signed her up for a trial at My GYM, hoping it will help expedite her motor skills development.

Limay, wanna check with you how to add the egg yolk to the meals.. do u hardboil the egg 1st then remove the yolk, or separate the yolk fr the white before cooking? know it sounds like a silly question :p

<font color="aa00aa">Goldfish (goldfish1395) - I have loads of books but don't have any flashcards for baby Kieran at all...all we do is unstructured play. My view is that we should follow the lead of the baby, and do what they want - so no point forcing them to sit and go thru the flashcards if they are not keen

See also an article in Baby Centre which mentioned "Play doesn't mean music class, organized sports, and other structured, "enriching" activities. Play is when children invent, create, and daydream."
http://www.babycenter.com/0_how-to-raise-a-happy-baby-and-child-birth-to-12-mo_1490882.bc?showAll=true

Like mrs_seng (annteo), I do walk Kieran around the house &amp; point out objects to him. He picks up pretty quick as well, understands alot of words (english &amp; mandarin) &amp; has already started speaking some. Anyway, there is no right/wrong - so you do what is best for your baby and don't follow the crowd.

dmbb (dmbb) - On the egg yolk qtn, I usually just crack the egg &amp; seperate out the yolk in the shell, then use it in the porridge or puree.

dmbb, I do hard boil egg, then separate the egg yolk and egg white, then take the egg yolk and mash it into his veg puree or porridge or cereal.

dmbb - am glad i am not alone :) when i go on leave in 2 weeks time, i'll bring him for trial class too. do feedback if My gym is good.

Rachel - http://www.anzocreation.blogspot.com check this out. there is a BP on this. very interesting. Am now asking hubby to work on this.

I've not started on egg yorks, i shall try this weekend too.

rach, thanks! i'm hoping the yolk, being a new food, will give her more motivation to finish her food.

breadmum, yep, will update u! remind me if i forget

mamyvelle:
so far she haven't learn how to crawl out yet.
HB was thinking of buying 2 more mattress in when we remove the top layer in order to raise up. Hopefully it will work, if not i will have hard time carry out when she cry.