(2008/09) Sep 2008

icyclaw, you can try corn. I mix corn with potato and carrot.

Porridge combination:
Once a week, I buy a variety of vege then i cook them and pack them into cubes. Each day, I just use a variety of cubes for the porridge.

Some combinations I have tried so far:
1. Carrot + potato
2. Pumpkin + zucchini + potato
3. sweet potato + green peas.

I havent introduced chye sim and all. My elder son took it only at a much later age.

can try different grains no wthat the kiddoes are older...

meals
a selection of at least two grains: white rice, brown calrose rice, quinoa, millet, barley, oatmeal

vegetables: one fruit/seed veggie (egg plant, zuchinni, bnut suqash, peas etc), one root veggie (carrots, sweet potato, pumpkin etc), one leaf veggie (brocolli, spinach etc)

one meat: (egg yolk, pork, fish or beef)

soemtimes i add flaxseed or mixture of lecithin and wheat germ into her porridge too..

just some suggestion. all the above can be bought from organic store...

like missk..
haven tried the other leafy veggie yet...think spinach and brocolli is the most nutrients dense.the rest is for taste and variety i guess...

icyclaw, u can try:

French beans
Parnsips
peaches
turnip
cabbage
appricots
tomatoes

Basically, if your gal is already 11 months, i think she can try all types of food. Even strong tasting ones like mushroom can be introduced between age of 9-12 months.

Mummies, read about corn first before you introduce.

It is very tempting to introduce corn to baby as early as possible - after all, many of us adore its sweet flavour and the bright yellow colour makes it seem very appealing as a first baby food. But giving your baby corn isn't actually recommended until he's at least one year of age - and there are a few reasons why this advice is given.

Corn is a fairly common allergen, which is the main reason that pediatricians recommend avoiding it during baby's first year. The risk of your baby experiencing an allergic reaction to corn is higher if there is a family history of any type of allergy, including eczema and allergic rhinitis.
The symptoms of corn allergy in babies can be any of the typical food allergy symptoms, including - rarely - anaphylactic shock. Corn allergy is different from corn intolerance, which is when your baby may experience digestive problems as a result of eating corn. Corn intolerance symptoms are generally less serious than those of corn allergy.

http://www.homemade-baby-food-recipes.com/introduce-corn-to-baby.html

yoz missk...

when will you be back to singapore again?must meet up!! cy is ok, and ch is eating like a lil champion!
...how are your two boys?? cris and gosh forgot the younger one's name. quite unique name i rem...

your msn was down?

<font color="aa00aa">Rachel Lim (rac_lim) - I have actually introduced corn to Kieran some months back - think when i started weaning him at 6 months. Also introduced him to fresh mushrooms about a month ago. Now that he is 9 months, I am quite open to letting him nibble on most stuff, as long as it is not salty/spicy/oily.

On allergies, this is less common than we perceive it to be - think <5% of babies are allergic to certain types of food...then again, of cos you should err on the safe side, especially if there is a family history of allergies.</font>

Actually, I've also introduced corn (without checking).

Taken from website:

Corn does offer some nutritional elements to your baby's diet, including
•protein
•vitamin B1
•vitamin B5
•vitamin C
•folate
•dietary fibre
•phosphorus
•manganese
•beta-carotene
However, the natural sugars in corn rapidly turn to starch once it is picked. This reduces its nutritive value to your baby and is the reason it is not considered to be as beneficial to an infant's diet as other, more nutritious vegetables.

So I stopped giving corn! kekeke...

Breadmum, see ya on sunday. Probably will ask hubby to take some nice nice photos for us ok!

hello mummies.. its finally school hols so got more time to join in the forum..

breadmum, i was looking at your FB photos, can't really see the flatness of your son's head, is it completely ok already?

mummies.. need to ask, if i make porridge and store it in the baby cubes, should put in freezer or fridge and how long can it last?

jaymickey

u didn't puree the asparagus? can your gal chew on it?

rachel: tks for the info on corn. i still hv two cubes to go. will try to mix them into the porridge to finish them once and for all..

zuchini:where to buy the zuchinni?

anyone feed the silver fish? how to prepare silver fish for bbs? do u remove the head with eyes?

cloud: why do u freeze porridge? can u cook it fresh daily? also, one bb cube is very small. how much can ur bb eat per meal? mine is already eating one foogo jar per meal.

flo.. if i'm at home i can cook it daily, i'm not sure whether my maid would be able to do it if i'm not around, i thought that i could make things easier for her by pre-preparing.. yah, mine is also eating close to one foogo jar.. the baby cube now like not of much use coz so small.

missk,

ya aso read somewhere tat corn not so very fantastic so didnt give yet... thanx for sharing anyway.. zucchini is the "japanese cucumber"? - can steam n eat?

kocaan, just to share, asparagus even though cook until very soft, the strands of fibre could be very hard for babies to eat - so i try to only give the top part, but now finally got the munchkins puree "machine" (abit too late) then ok...

iliboymum, brown calrose rice, quinoa, millet, barley, oatmeal - all these are not cereals, but grains?? - then u cook like rice? (rice i cook with lotsa water + 1 meat &amp; steam) all these babies can aldy eat? wah - i tot i aldy very adventurous... haha...

bnut squash get from where?

how do u all usually cook the meat? my Pd say pork can go n minced and then add abit of cornflour n cook so very soft.. but so far never try.. abit turnoff by the cornflour part...

flaxseed - can eat aldy??

lecithin - tried to search online on whether baby can eat, but no info at all even though i noe lecithin is good for human beings...

wheat germ - read tat only Non-GMO is gd for baby, but so far went to 4 shops they cannot confirm theirs is non-GMO....

can ask which organic store u go to? went to a few dun have all of which u mentioned le..

rachel, French beans - how to let baby eat? - the whole thing steam n puree?

Parnsips
peaches
turnip
cabbage
appricots
tomatoes

- all these except for tomatoes cant seem to find organic version le...

flos -silver fish very good meh? y so int?

btw, have u guys tried feeding ur babies bread aldy? if so, what kind is gd? actually shld start aldy?

and just to share, just spoke to a PD today, say by now, can let baby try all vegetables liao - nai bai, cai xim etc, as long as puree(until got teeth at the back to chew) - dun really trust le... though he PD la.. any views?

btw, anyone of u staying in west side with fantastic PD to share?

Oh... my baby so far max can eat 2 1/4 tablespoon of rice (before cooked to porridge) at one go, not including vegetables &amp; meat.. but average ard 1 3/4 tbsp so far &amp; cereals average 5 scoops of similac blue scoops.. &amp; each meal ard 120ml of FM to go along with... H20 each day ard 2 munchkin dora bottles?

hi mummies, I usually blend the fresh bean, peas and carrot then put on the baby cube and freeze it. Is it the nutrient gone? My MIL keep complaint that my boy didn't eat the fresh vege, no more nutrient le..Is it true?

icyclaw
hee interesting nick...

i consider them grains lah (millet, quinoa, oatmeal etc), though quinoa is technically a seed or something, but i cook it like grains, so mix with rice lo...the variety gives a lot of vitamine Bs and amino acids, in fact these are all better than white rice in term of nutrients.

bnut squash can get from anywhere, even cold store.

as for minced, i dont add any corn flour, ust cook till nua lo, coz my girl will choke on big pieces anyway.

yah both flaxseed and lecithin are brain food. flaxseed can give coz it's a replacement for animal omega3 anyway. lecithin too.

i patronise a small organic store near my place. the lady blend wheat germ with lecithin into a yummy mixture. else lecithin has a very fishy smell. i dont cook it, just add to porridge then serve.

i didnt ask her if it is non GMO. come to think of it, i'd ask her next time. but problm is singapore govt dun require labelling on GM stuff, that's why the vagueness in this sian hor..

btw, are you sahm?

blackberry, i tink i read somewhere tat freezing doesnt kill the nutrients, and can keep fresh.. better than let the food become rotten?

lilboymum, hehe.. its cos of my super long fingers la... btw, where u stay ah? can share which organic store? i tink the grains most organic stores sell.. but now on the non-GMO issue, tink gotta start researching before starting on these... bnut squash in cold storage n all is organic? me... shld be considered sahm la... cos tats wat i do most of the time... but actually doing something tat is otot wan.. haha..

hey CY, so happy you still remember me. Not going to SG anytime soon becos of swine fl
. Like ur first child, Krist is skinny!!!! Falls sick every other week. Faint! Arya is doing ok. Somehow, I feel like I am not giving him as much attention as I used to give Krist. And yes, I would love to meet up with you when I go back to Sg.

Re: Corn
Wow ...corn sounds scary! I prepared a batch but I havent given yet.

Zucchini Vs Jap cucumbers
I think they are different? I dunno actually. Another name for Zucchini is courgette.

icyclaw, wah ur child can eat a lot!! Fantastic!

Rachel - okie will get hubby to take nice pictures for us all

cloud - hi hi : yes little e is no longer flathead. The physio paid off. am so glad my little one is ok. He is super hyper now.

Get a shuttle chef, then put everything in a n boil for 10 mins before going to work, then by lunch or dinner, bb's food is ready. Try not to freeze porridge as old folks believe it will ahve wind. So far I'v done fresh everyday and remaining, hubs and i will eat, just add soy sauce and its very tasy. Loads of vitamins. Hubs and i say this is the surest ay to diet . LOL

cloud - sets of exercises which we did with him. Its mainly stretching exercises. I also bought the secure sleeper ultra to help him.

cloud = its neck stretching exercises. must demo then can. else hard to explain. i can fax u the sheets but remember i did these before he was 6 mths, so he was still developing his neck muscles. Now that they are almost 9 mths, i think its better to seek professional advice, if u are concern.

The secure sleeper actually is like a memory pillow and it will help prevent reflux and flathead.

thanks mummies for the advice on solids/porridge. i tried pork over the weekend, very tough aft cooking...any way to make it more tender? i don like the idea of mixing with cornflour, esp for babies.

<font color="aa00aa">Cordelia, Evelyn &amp; Rachel - wah, you ladies had a baking session
That sounds like good yummy fun!! Did the babies go along as well? Did you take photos of the goodies you made?

Freezing porridge - i have been guilty of doing that, cos its impossible to cook such small portions...and i don't fancy eating porridge for dinner almost every day! Usually cook about 1/3 cup of calrose rice (add carrots, sweet potatoes, egg, herbs, other root veggies, meat/fish), which makes about 4-6 baby cubes. I have about 4-6 versions in the freezer and mix and match everyday. So far, K has not been passing wind or suffering from any discomfort. I am a fan of freezing (except for BM) - he eats quite abit of mixed frozen veggies (Watties brand) as well.</font>

icyclaw (icyclaw),

French beans preparation - as per normal, same with other veg. Steam / boil then puree. You can find organic Parnsips and turnip at cold storage.

Breadmum / Cordelia, I'm hopeless in kitchen stuff! So u ladies bake, I take care of the babies ok! hahaha.. I've got sweet tooth, so I dont mind tasting!

Bigtoes - we met but did not bake. We are planning for a baking session in the next 2 weeks. you want to join us? I'll pm you my contact.

I guess the men and Rach will be helping us take care of the kids :)

<font color="aa00aa">breadmum (breadmum) - I would love to join u gals for some baking, but hubby would faint if i ask him to take care of Kieran alone! Maybe if there is another gathering just to chat &amp; eat (preprepared cakes, not self made ones)-and I can keep an eye on K, then we can join

Bigtoes - oh sorry..wat i meant is all of us gather and the men will take care while we do our stuff. So they are all within sight. Preprepared will be the doughs and mixes. we just need to shape and bake type. So there will be the fathers and sons bonding time, while we bake. ha ha.

i think all the men will faint if we leave them all at home. Actually the fathers can bring the sons for a swim, if the weather is good.

Yun
I used either Kraft cheese stick or slice cheese for Ryan.
Ryan latest favorite food steam potato n pumpkin mash w/ cheese. Ryan can finish one full rice bowl.

Hi Bigtoes,

Come and join in the fun! We can take turns to bake and take care of babies at the same time. The fathers can discuss abt their camera's specs, functions and photography the whole day. I have Wii set in case our big boys start to get restless and fidgety. Haha...

Yun, I bought organic cheese (can be found in NTUC or cold storage).

Millie, we haven't fix a date yet, and yes, held at Cordelia's place at your own home town! haha.. come join us!

Anyway any mummy know when can start using walking wings? those that straps on to the child when they learn how to walk ? receive one as full month gift that time but dunno when to use.

I have an Enfagrow A+ $5 off voucher for 900g of Enfagrow A+, valid until 11 sep 09, can buy fm cold storage, giant, shop n save, guardian n marketplace. Got from the EnfaMama club today but Leraine is now on friso. Anyone interested can pm me, self collect at Bukit Panjang area near my hse.
Btw, kiddy palace having 20% discount storewide for member n 15% for non-member. There's oso avent GSS promotion, just take any 3 old milk bottles and exchange for 3 new avent ones for $17 for 125ml and $17.90 for 260ml avent bottles. Promo until end of july, quite worth it!

The baking party will be held at my place in Tampines. Everyone's invited to an afternoon of tea party and delicious home made bread and cakes. Will keep you posted!

<font color="aa00aa">✿Mamyvelle✿ (mamyvelle) - walking wings = something like a child restraint? I guess you can use it whenever your baby starts walking. I am planning to get a child restraint strap soon too, cos Kieran is walking with handholding already, and its easier on our backs with the strap, than to stoop to hold his hand.

Cordelia (evan_gigi) - count me in for the baking party! How many mommies can squeeze into the kitchen?</font>

limay : yah .. something like this. got 2 long strap for the parents to support the child when he's learning how to walk. long forgotten bout this gift till my mum found it in the cupboard . she say last time she hand sew something like this for us when we learn how to walk

http://www.upspringbaby.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&amp;cPath=1&amp;products_id=3

cordelia : count me in too... dun think i know how to bake , can help u all take care of bb and help to eat
with rachel . haha , anyway is when ar?