(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi Flos, yep, it's in.. thnx!

heee...i use california baby. spf15 only. actually i read in some recent mag report that says even if you get spf120, it only offers 10 to 20% more protection than spf50...so dun need too high, just dun stay in the sun too much. but it's good to put it when they are out coz of harmful uv rays..kekekek...

Mamyvelle
For the ikan billis powder, best is buy the small silver fish from Japan (chinese pronounce as Yin Yu).
1)Rise the fish in water to get rid of the salt.
2)Dry it with the kitchen roll.
3)Heat up ur non stick wok or pan then put in the "Yin Yu" using slow fire kept stiring it till all "Yin Yu" turn crispy n golden brown in colour.
4)Grind or pound the fishes into powder form n keep them in an air tight container, then its
ready to use any time u need.

Anyone got any tips in getting those thermal food jar huh?

I am intending to get one in view of the GSS bt duno which one is more practical loh
:S

Mrs Seng
Endo brand? Okok, I will keep a lookout
Btw, wat kind of food jar thermal did u buy? I went to Taka and saw that there are many kind.
Some is purely put soup/porridge, and others can put like majiam like rice + 2 dishes (as in got compartment)

But I dunno which one is more ‘practical’ loh
To buy one purely storage of porridge or with compartment… I cannot forsee what I will feed my child next time whne he grows up

have you tried giving eu yan sang brown rice with si shen powder for your baby?
cos this powder need to cook for at least 5 min, so i think cannot use breastmilk right? cos breast milk cannot cook de?

need advise from you all... thanks!

hello hello!

It's been soooo long since i last posted here! Hehe. Been busy!

twendy: Did you ask your doc about the meds or perhaps try taking him to see a Paediatric homeopathy specialist?

l'l cy: organic egg? from where? i can't feed e any egg products now cos of his skin. sigh. do you think i can use california bb for ezcema prone skin? i am thinking of whether to buy cbb sunscreen. i got the mustela one. is the cbb one easy to apply?

mrs eng: do you find that endo rusts a little after some time? my friend's one did. so not sure if it is the way she used it.

goldfish: my boy also has red spots on his head! and he keeps scratching!!!! esp at nite. and he pulls his hair!!! what is it ah? is it cradle cap?

hihi mummies ,
Free nw to pop in and say Halo again ... been busy ( same as Sarah) back in sin so no time to post and catch up with mummies ... back in shanghai nw and under house arrest again..

Goldfish ,
it migt be rashes ... consuly doc??

IICY ,
U have PM ...

Hello Cutiegal,

Mine is not from Eu yan seng though.. but I have the brownrice mixed with si seng power. (Brownrice had to be washed before it's being grind into power form)

Basically, just mix the power with water, and boil it for 3-5mins. Then serve when it's cool.

I tried cooking breastmilk once before (in replacement of water) when I was steaming fish.. but it doesnt work out well. Breastmilk once boiled, has a VERY "rusty / fishy" taste/smell.

sarah
we tried the mustela sunscreen but i rem it was very very thick wor. had difficulty properly applying it on their faces.

organic eggs from cold storage. get form their dairy shelf (cooler dep), not the normal egg shelf. btw organic eggs will make you wanna eat it too..when you hardboil egg, the outcome is always a very yummy looking orangey yellowish core. try it...egg yolk should be fine, just dun give him egg white.

goldfish
thermal jars...
the Tiger brand of thermal jars are very popular with mothers feeding porridge. it can keep hot for many hours and can even cook porridge for you. just boil for five minutes rice and ingredients then dump into the tiger flask and a few hours later you have nice glooey porridge for you lil one.

of course another question is how long you'll be needing a porridge jar?how particular you are about feeding your bb and toddler to be outside food?if you get those multi tier ones, they are really good at keeping food warm and rice and porridge and soup, but by then many todds will be eating outside food liaoz.for me i got the multi tiered one as i can use it for ch's porridge and then cook rice and soup and dish for cy (my toddler)...so yes how many kids do you intend to have and their age gap :p...

cutiegal
cannot cook breastmilk. the nutrients does not survive high temp...

Goldfish
I brought the small unit only for porridge n soup.

Sarah
Using for quite sometime, no rust. Maybe ur friend did not totally dry it before she kept it.

Cutiegal
I brought the "Rabbit brand" instant brownrice mixed with si seng powder for my boy. He finishes three boxes, now the fourth box.

Rachel and lilboymum
thanks.. i think i will just use water to cook the brown rice then.

mrs seng
oh, the Rabbit Brand... think will try this after the EYS one...

lilboymum: eh...we still haven't arranged to meet! hehe. yah! the mustela one is gooey and hard to apply on face. So thinking of buying CBB no fragrance sunscreen. You used that one before? Someone on this thread selling it for q ok price. think for 24 bucks. So thought of getting it along w the calendula.

Annteo: Hmm. Maybe she didn't dry it properly. How is the Rabbit Brand brown rice? Is it tasty? How much does your boy take each feed?

TIGER: I have one tt was given to me. But it's rather small. So still can use it to cook my porridge?

ANYONE LIVING IN EAST KEEN ON MEET-UP? Perhaps at the new Tampines 1?

sarah
haha, can sms me if you still have the hp?coz havent installed msn in my new mac.

there are different kinds of tiger jar..not sure if it's the same one we are talking about.

hey l'l cy and saraymay, thanks for ur advice.
i guess his sensitive nose flared up bcos his main caregiver recently moved hse. so he's in a new hse with plenty of unpacking activity going on. it has since subsided and he has resumed a smiley personality :)
had wanted to bring him to see PD. but on the sat morn itself, his mucus stopped, so no pt seeing PD w/o any symptoms to show. who knows, that afternoon, mucus started flowing again!

Hi Sarah
Long time never see u in this thread! How’s ur bb now? Saw in FB before that ur bb was suffering from eczema? Is he better now? The red spots on my bb head disappear suddenly. I suspect it is due to heat!

Lilboymum,
Erm.. I abit mountain-turtle but I din know thermal containers can COOK porridge!! You mean just boil it for 5 mins and it will turn into porridge (xi-xi) one??!!! Quite IDEAl for working mama to boil it before going to work and can serve when back home??!!

Btw, my friend just gaf me a link on the danger of vaccinations
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/1524014.html?1215586543
I din know there are so much concerns abt vaccinations!!!

goldfish
yes cooko for 5min, then immediately put into the flask..of coure you must rem nutrients of veggie cooked in this way is..ehmm..best minimal....

there is another kind of shuttle chef which does the same job, cant rem the brand..but there were a few BPs on it sometime ago...bigger than the tiger jars though...

btw, my todd boy did not go for MMR.some vaccinations are, well, for precaution.he will take the booster for mmr at a later stage at 6yrs...CH will not take her mmr too

Hello fellow mummies

Jus want to say hello. I finally have time to read e forum again. It has bewen quite crazy with teo children.

Thermal containers
I use zojirushi to keep the porridge warm. Very good. Can keep the contentd warm for a good seven hours. I have been using for 3 years. Still in good condition.

any plans to celebrate ur child's one yo bday? Or issit too early to plan?

Koras mickey mouse is lovely. My elder son had it for his 2nd bday. For ds2, we intend to order winnie e pooh, the only charcter he knows. There are a few threads discussing bday. U can take a look at them

Im ordering 250gsm blank flashcards(aft sticking the 80gsm paper that i will be using to print out the contents, total will be 330gsm as recommended by a mummy on kiasu parent.

A5 size: 800 pcs.
A4 size: 500 pcs

Let me know if you would like to share with me.

Price will be at:
$3.30 per 100pcs of A5 size
$6.60 per 100pcs of A4 size
to pay for me to collect from the supplier, will need to take a cab cos of the weight.

Collection point will be at Bukit Gombak Mrt.

Order will only be confirmed when money is received. Please let me know order quantity (in 100s) & size and i email back with the bank account no.

Packing is in 200s, so prefer orders to be in 200s.

Cheers! :D

SarahMay,
Alston has very sensitive skin and eczema as well. Previously, his skin has rough patches on all the edges- ankles, elbow, wrists...Then I tried Elomet cream ...thanks to SkinnyPig and his skin recovered within a few days. U may wan to try it on Elisha and this can be bot at GP.

Millie,

Good to hear that Alston is cleared from eczema!!!
Now that he's cleared, must moisturised him more often to prevent recurrence.

Skinny Pig,
Ya ya...i'm using the emulsifying ointment to act as soap during bath time. When this is used up, i may try QV bath oil. In any case, emulsifying ointment is very gd as it's very oily and can be used as moisturiser too.

Goldfish (goldfish1395), U can try the foogo food Jar. small and easy to bring around. Good size for 1 meal... BP is $30.. can watch out for it..

As to Pig Liver, i give it to my gal.. is very tasty.. i just use the favouring.. i never let her eat it.. another meat to try is fresh frog.. sweet and nice.. not so oily compared to chicken.

Tinkerbell, yes, u can start giving asparagus from 7th month onwards. Same goes for Brocoli. However, do note that these 2 vegs may cause wind in the stomach. But ok for my boy. Been giving it to him every week.

I started letting my 11mths old baby gal eat asparagus since she is 6mths ;p

Can ask mummies here what vegetables / fruit you give to baby?

So far i tried:
· apple
· potato
· cauliflower
· carrot
· sweet potato
· green peas
· broccoli
· mashed ripe banana
· mashed ripe avocado
- pumpkin
- sweet potato leaves
- chye xim & kai lan (these 2 failed - cos not soft enough)
- papaya
- beetroot
- chinese spinach

what else can i try?

jaymickey, thanks for the reply. will try cooking asparagus with porridge over the weekend for my gal.

icyclaw, i have so far used more or less the same veg/fruits for my 8+mth gal. except i have not tried beetroot. how do u cook it?

also, can mummies share some porridge combination? so far i have tried fish with carrots & spinach, fish with brocolli and chicken with pumpkin. thanks.

so far, everything i cooked, i used steaming until they are soft (20-30mins)... like quite bad, meaning all the vitamins died?

porridge only cooked with chicken, fish or pork so tat porridge will get the taste and also so nutrients go in. Cos actually my gal prefer plain porridge and very fussy. at times vegetables / fruits if i mix with porridge, she refuse to eat tat means whole meal gone. Also i read somewhere tat we shldnt mash everything so tat at least tat can tell wat they are eating - and we are supposed to go:" here is the carrot etc..."

hi icyclaw,
may i know where can buy the beetroot? i look for it wetmarket and NTUC but cannot find it. Could u share with me where u get it? is it call "tian2 cai4 gen1"?

hi karen,

I bot it at an organic store. let me noe if u int in which one exactly... will PM u the detail... cos i dun really like tat store anymore... hehe...

Sorry, dunno wat it is called in chinese... btw... so no mummies now wat other vegetables / fruits tat baby can eat? as in tried to look at wholesome baby and all website, but they are "ang moh" sites... they dun seem to eat vegetables like chye sim, nai bai, kai lan and such...?