(2008/09) Sep 2008

anyway mommies realise that some of you are using the FM scoop to measure cereal... so is 1 scoop = 1 tablespoon??? i feel its a bit smaller though...

em... lili

i gave my boy 1 tablespoon of HT cereal.. don't know how much water i added.... just make sure that it is smooth will do..

wah!! that is like 3 times of wat EJ is taking le...

he can only finish about 2 to 2.5 tbspn per feed... but he has another 2 tbspn of puree though...

Jeraldin (hppymom)

I tried using tablespoon and pour to the FM scoop, it is lesser about 3/4 full only. I'm using Similac scoop. My baby normally take 1 scoop together with her milk. On weekend, i give 2-3 scoops for 1 or either 2 feeds.

How to prepare carrot puree? I intend to give my baby tomorrow.

<font color="0000ff">lilboymum
aaaahh.... Max can't crawl yet...

Yun
Max oso taking abt there.. haha.. in fact, he has 7 tablespoons for lunch and 8 for dinner

hi ladies, im doing a pre-spree on bb clothing, adult shoes n bags. let me know if you interseted. and i can email to you. I dun wan to post it here, else get warning. ha ha

Got 1 question to ask u all leh. When u all bring bb out for trip ... how do u prepare the food? how to bring the food out? Any recommendation?

Cause everytime my poor girl always miss her dinner cause mummy dunno how to prepare. and so far onli try rice cereal , carrot and sweet potato onli.

I think i serioussly need to go read more on bb food...

Jeraldin, Jo,
I added 1tablespoon of fruit or veges puree to cereals + FM everyfeed otherwise my boy dun wan. and he can finished up one whole bowl.

Mamyvelle, I didn prepare anyfood when go outside wor... juz let him hav milk only.

cutieyunyun : ok meh if they miss one of their feed? was thinking of getting avent VIA cups for feeding on the go. but comes in 10 and I dun need so many.

Jasmine
<font color="808080">Hello =)
You just have to skin the carrot,
slice it, steam it for 15-20mins @ medium fire,
mash/puree and it ready to eat!

Personal preference:
- Use only carrot head (sweeter)
- Cover the bowl with microwave wrap, to prevent misture from dripping into the bowl.</font>

Mamyvelle, I put the cereal in a container(those that u used to put milk) &amp; mix it with water when baby wanna eat. Will also bring a bottle of baby jar out &amp; just warm it with hot water. Mix it with the cereal when it is warm. For porridge, will just pour the hot porridge into the thermos flask &amp; Just eat when he is hungry. I will also bring some baby biscuits so he can munch them when he wants.

isnt ok to cook potato together with their porrige. that Cause i read from the internetit is better to feed when they are 8mth plus. Seem my boy like to eat potato a lot

Hi, Lili

Though some mummies start to give brown rice but I would suggest you give normal rice cereal for a start. cos brown rice tend to make the baby constipation.. so for a start, especially, if it is your baby 's first food, rice cereal is better..

Hi, Yun

Jayden is indeed taking a lot of cereal..
And, glad he enjoys it too..

pei what's a microwave wrap? so fair i just let whatever moisture from the steam stay in the veggie when i puree it. of course i din deliberately scoop the juice, only that i din deliberately drain the liquid out...

head of carrot is sweeter? ok, i'll try next week.

LC: my son is ok with brown rice cereal. still pooping per normal.

yun: 7 tbsp? that's really a lot man!

jasmine: boil? steam is indirect heat, so the nutrients are retained i suppose???

ade: i dun even warm up the bottled puree. i just mix into my cereal which is mixed with warm water from my thermal flask.

jeraldin: i use the enfalac scoop which is about 1 tbsp. So far i only feed 3 tbsp to 30ml veggie puree. then i top up with 180 FM per mealtime.

Hi,Flos

Guess it is up to indivdual babies.. my PD told me not to give brown rice as first baby food cos of constipation.,, i steam the veg and fruits and you are right that steaming retain more nutrients. I will use the juice that is in the bowl after steaming to thin the puree but i dun use the liquid left fr spinach and carrot..

Jasmine &amp; Flos
<font color="808080">Steaming is the most ideal/best.
Steaming retain more nutrients as compared to other methods of cooking(Nutrients are "locked" in the food)

I read that water soluble nutrients such as Vit B &amp; C will be lost in the process of boiling.
If you prefer boiling, try to use as little water as possible.If can, use the water for bb's consumption as most nutrients are in the water.

Microwave wave wrap are those transparent 保鲜纸 that can "tahan" high temp.
Glad ones are good.
I'm quite "gao jie" =D
I use M.wrap to prevent "dirty" water from "polluting" the food, plus I will usually let my bb consume the water/juice from the steamed food.</font>

Kamie
<font color="808080">My boy was 8.5kg &amp; 71cm at 6 months old</font>

Koras
<font color="808080">I give my boy potato too. Think should be fine. If your boy isn't suffering from bad tummy, I think u can still continue to give...

I feel that some info on the web are too westernised.We have diff culture and genes.

Our parents brought us up in this old-fashion way, we are all fine &amp; healthy isn't? =D

pei: u mean u use cling film to wrap the bowl when u steam the veggie/fruit to retain the moisture?

LC: my brown rice is about to finish...feel like trying rice cereal.

when dun use the liquid left from spinach and carrot? what's the rationale?

i just pureed potatoes and sweet potatoes. the jap sweet potatoes are really nice but too sticky. need to add more water to thin in.

Hi, Pei

Me also use the transparent wrap to cover the bowl before I send the stuff for steaming.. hahaha.. I tot i am the only one that is so "gao jie"..

Flos, I am using rich cereal but will start on the si shen brown rice soon cos mine rich cereal going to finish, dun intend to buy cos as you know, my boy is going IFC soon, they will give him porridge too.. For spinach and carrot, I dun give the left over water cos worry that it might contain nitrates. When I puree the red potatoes, it is also sticky sticky and I hate to waste the blender after that.Jap sweet potatoes is nice.. and I will finish up those that my boy can;'t finish.. hahaha... nice nice..

LC: only water from spinach and carrots contain nitrate? u bought organic spinach? how to puree spinach har? so leafy...

im also feeding si shen brown rice cereal. the nestle brown rice is for going out.

i also took some of the jap sweet potatoes. keke

Flos: I bot the organic spinach. you can either steam or boil the spinach with litte water just enuf to cover the veg, after wash and removal of the membrances and then just puree per normal with some boiled water. u need to add some water or milk to blend. I find the end pdt yucky :p have u try parsnips?

I got my yogurt from NTUC Tampines Mall as well. So far little e is taking well to it. And his stools are still pasty.

The only thing which is puzzling us, is that he tends to clench his fist and kind of shiver and get angry. Is this a sign of constipation? Does any of your babies do that. It started recently after i introduced zhao mi to his evening feed. Today i decided not to give him and see how he is tomorrow.

I feed him barley without sugar as well, since he drinks very little water too.

My boy is currently 6 months old le, also born Sep 08.. I just came into this thread... when did u start to give barley water to your babies?

Yun
<font color="808080">Your boy was heavy @ 6 months old!
The heaviest I ever heard was 9kg lol

Ur hb is a big-sized guy huh?</font>

cutiegal
<font color="808080">Hiya! I'm new to the thread too =)
I give my baby barley water only when he was down with fever last week. He had false measles then.

However, I'm told to give only chinese barley (Ayam brand) as English barley are too "cooling"

Whatever it is, my boy dislike it.
He can tell even I mix it it in his milk =D</font>

hey mummies.. just want to ask.. my boy went for his 6-in-1 jab about 2 or 3 weeks ago.. and up to now there is still a lump at the injection site. is it normal?

sasa...when will the HT stuff arrive? me girl finishing her rice cereals already...

i hear someone giveing biscuits..wat kind ?? can give at such a young age? i thought must be like 9 mths before giving biscuits..

Springles53

I'm giving my boy heizn teething biscuits n Gerber star shape strawberry favour biscuits.
He enjoy them especially when i need him to sit in his high chair.

mrsseng: i nearly bought the heinz teething rusky but thought it looks kinda phallic!!! GULP! So I told my maid to put it back cos I dun want to see my son gnawing on a beige colour phallic looking biscuit!!! LOL

Yoghurt: me curious too. waht bbarnd?

I bought the NTUC frozen sweet garden peas. I hope it's ok. Also got the Australian avocado...

hi cutiegal: i gave my son barley mixed with water many times already...

LC: milk with spinach? it's damned gross...haha

koras: wow! your son is big boy!

Flos- er ya. THink it the gene. Cox my hubby is considerig size too.

mrsseng-heizn teething biscuit i tried giving to my boy. It seem soft and i scared he get chocked on it. Wondering isnt the biscuit should be hard or soft.

Today just tried giving my boy taste a bit of cheese and he seem like it. Or i shld say food into his mouth he just ate it

Hi mummy,
My baby cannot wear M size diapers, so would like to sell them off.

1. Mamy Poko Diapers
Size: M (6-11kg)
Qty: 85 pcs
Selling: $25

2. NTUC Diapers
Size: M
Qty: 55 pcs
Selling: $8

Self collect at Hougang.
PM me for deal.

At 6 Months:

Scarlett's weighing 8.3kg and measuring 68cm :p

Barley Water:

Scarlett takes barley water once every week too, usually mixed into her milk.

As for pre-vaccine 'cool down', we give her american ginseng water (Pao Sheng) instead, Scarlett's only got fever once (because we did not prepare her), other than that I feel the ginseng water surely helped =)

Letty says Hi ^__^
2297313.jpg

2297314.jpg

2297315.jpg

2297316.jpg

springless53/Flos - its Yoplait baby yogurt. Comes in vanilla and banana flavored in a pack of 4 tubs.

Flos- am also feeding my little one with NTUC frozen sweet garden peas.

Anyone in the east knows where to buy fresh peas? do share.

Mrssend - teething biscuit- must have teeth then can right?

my little one has not poop since yesterday morning, i hope he is not constipated. I fed him papaya today. I hope he poop soon. Else anyone any tips besides bringing him to PD? Am suspecting Similac to be the cause.

breadmum - hi..my confinement lady once told me that similac can cause constipation, d unno if its true, she said to take enfalac last time..

me also got ntuc frozen peas, they are nice...i tried them after steaming.
hard to get nice sweet potatoes to blend the peas with, maybe pumpkin better tasting.
i need to try more new veges..

mrssend- i know..the gerber graduates melt in ur mouth rite? i scared she choke, gave her one to try today, my friend was giving her son so she let me give my girl to try one.

alot of yoghurts are loaded with sugar, i will go have a look at the yoplait baby yoghurt. its impt not to give too much sugary stuff at such a young age.

Flos
The Heniz Biscuits i brought is the less sugar n w/ soya. Got it from carrfour. This biscuits u can soften it n mix w/ warm water n it become cereal, i try it before giving my boy, taste n smell good ang also very convenice when i bring him out n lazy to bring bb food. wat a lazy mum i am.

Koras
The Biscuit i brought is normal biscuit hardness but melt in mouth very fast. Will only soften if i leave it open air for more then half hour.

Breadmum/yun
Not necessary to hv teeth cos it help bb to reduced itchness on gum when they chew on it, once they chew the biscuit will melt. By the way my boy hv two teeth on his bottom gum liao and he love to chew on his toys especially my finger whenever he get the chance.

Springles53
Yap, it melt in mouth. My boy finish his first bottle soon, just brought him the 2nd bottle last nite.

Have anyone got their bb passport done up?
I want to help my boy apply but wondering to get him one by himself or just join to my passport.

How to prepare spinach? Using the stem or leaf?

Opps i didnt came in on weekend and prepared carrot for my gal by boiling it and i added alil of the water while puree it.

thanks for warm welcome and sharing....

Hi Pei, thanks... hmmm... maybe i can try to give my boy barley water mix with water too, just like Flos.....

and for yogurt, when to start him? 6 months can eat already?

Hi Breadmum, my boy also no poo poo since sat... i gave him some papaya yesterday, hope today he will poo....

i also bought the Heinz teething rusk but my boy dun like it... i think i can try the gerber one... hee...