(2008/09) Sep 2008

Cloud ,
your cluster schools should have lots of references for questions ... setting maths paper is the easiest ... haha ... just follow the guidelines from your school based on the syllabus taught and the percentage of questions weighted against the level of toughness in the questions / topic ...school had so much data base to utilise .. i dun teach pri school .... but I have data base for sec school papers ...

Cloud ,
I was asked to set Mid year exam papers and the marking load for both sec 2 Acad and sec 4 Acad mid year papers( asked to mark the level paper too )when I am just a "Contract teacher" back in Secondary school waiting to enter NIE ( not even trained) .. haha ... that was a challenge then .. after that .. hmm .. no more chance to set maths paper anymore cos posted to JC to teach PE only...
After I come back from shanghai back to schools , i think i will be posted back to sec schools to teach Maths ... keke ...

Hi, Bigtoes

Your K is so cute mann.. he is a hardy boy!!! Feel like pinching him.. hahaha.. Naughty auntie!

Hi,Breadmum

I am feeding my boy slightly cold (but not those very cold kind) yoghurt. I am not very traditional so I dun really believe in giving baby cold stuff, especially now my boy already 7month.. He loves it! I will give about half the tub which is about 2 to 3 table spoon (after he passed the allergy test on yoghurt of course).

Hi, Mrs. Seng

Envy envy envy!!!! Your baby can sleep thr the night.. So envy.. My boy lately has unsettled sleep. Can I know if you are latching your boy still or already got FM for night feed?

LC... somehow i feel my boy is taking very little le.. but he seem like not interested to take can i can't force it down his throat le..

his feeding schedule is like this...
7.30am - 90ml to 120ml milk
11am - 2-3 tbsp cereal + 2 tbsp puree
11.30am /12 pm - 90ml milk (sometime he will skip this and take his afternoon nap)
3.15pm - 120ml to 150ml milk
6pm - 2-3 tbsp cereal + 2 tbsp puree
6.30pm / 7pm - 90ml milk
9.30pm - 120ml milk..

so his daily milk intake is about 480ml to 570ml (if he takes the 12pm milk)... but i read that the minimum milk intake should be about 600ml per day rite?? wondering issit coz i increase the solid too fast or he is tired of the milk taste le...

pei
welcome!! your boy is a good looker :p

chewyring
you will only be posted to sec school if they call you up to 'talk to you'...usually posting back to the same level.a friend was posted to sec school from jc so had a call from moe and even assured he will be posted to a 'good school'

mummies, my jayden definitely is a baby monster.. 24hrs stick on me one, even tell him "mummy want to poo poo" or "make milk for you". he also won't let me off. no choice have to let him cry. poo poo or take bath hav to wait hubby come back home then can do.
last nite he is very guai to sleep at 10.30pm after feeding somemore sleep on his own...hope this will last everynite...(please pray for me)

any mummies interested to take baby for photo ? there is a mother's day promotion from FOTO-U.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/556344.html?1237958628

oh yes, here is my baby feeding schedule
9.00am - 150ml milk
12.01pm - cereals + puree + 120ml milk
15.00pm - 180ml milk
18.00pm - 180ml milk
20.00pm - puree
21.00pm - 180ml milk
12.01am - 180ml milk
03.00am - 120ml milk
06.00am - 150ml milk

Hello Jeraldin, my feeding schedule is about there a week back. My boy doesnt drink much also, and I always have to worry whether he hits the minimum 500-600ml of milk. Now, I try to do 3 solids (2 cereal meals + 1 puree), and 3-4 milk feeds, and I try to give 120-150ml per feed.

Yun, you can try to cut back on your baby's milk feed, and increase her solid intake. Too much milk they will cut back on eating solids.

By age of 1 year, baby just need 350ml of milk. So we should work towards increasing more and more solids.

Limay
Hello =)
So you're from the SMH forum!
I rem seeing one of Kieran's singing video in FB from Evon's link.I even msged u =D

Cayden was born on his EDD.Normal delivery.What a coincidence tt both boys are born on the same day!And yes, they do look alike in some ways =D Just that K is chubbier than C.
K look very sturdy and strong!!! =D

Here's C topless during sponge time!
(At 4months +)
2284835.jpg

Breadmum & lilboymum
Thank you =)

Yun
Your son is really a "bay lay gor - teochew"!
My son used to be like that (from birth to 4th month old)
When I was alone with him,
I feel very exhausted, with super messy hair at the end of the day =D

I rem once I was showering halfway & kept shouting "Mummy coming!!! wait..wait...wait...!"
when he woke up from his sleep. I just put him in bed for 5 mins!My neighbour must be laughing hard after hearing me shouting frantically =D

Now before I leave him alone on the bed, I kept motioning the "wait sign" and tell him repeatedly that I'm going to get the milk for him.
He listens.

Rachel, u also tik my boy's milk intake is too much hah ??? me tik so too but sometimes even after taking his 180ml milk, he still make a fuss

Pei, I miss my working day.. pretty pretty go to work .. not like now, with messy hair all the day.

rachel lim.. makes me feel better.. coz he used to take about 150ml max on a 4 hourly basis 5 feed a day... but now he seem to cut back on his other 3 milk feed ever since i introduce 2 feed of cereal + puree feed ..

but the good thing is he is still sleeping through the night... and on days when he didn't take his 90ml after his afternoon cereal.. his nap is not affected..still can sleep from 12.30pm to 2.30pm/3pm so i guess.. maybe he is not tt hungry for milk ya???

Afternoon mothers! very long since i logged it and looks like the topic now is on baby sleeping pattern, food etc. Me too have been carrying & patting my boy to sleep since day 1 & he is too used to me putting him to sleep that he will cry if papa or grandma was the one coaxing him to sleep instead. He have been sleeping through the night, last feed at about 8+, 9pm, then he will wake up for his feed at 6am. So far, he had tried apple, carrots, pumpkins, spinach, green peas, potatoes. This lazy mummy have ran out of ideas on what to let him try next. I'm still giving him one feed of cereal per day & will only increase to 2 feeds when he start on porridge. will be starting him on porridge once he hit his 7 month mark.

Pei, Welcome! your son is so handsome and he got a stylo malo hairstyle! haha, my boy got that leg warmer too!

LC, breadmum, what kind of yoghurt you giving baby? My sis just bought me some baby yoghurt, but have yet to let my boy try. Does your baby enjoy it? Not sure if wanna give him coz his poo is always the watery kind. Scare give him, it will become worse. =p

Bigtoes! wooooo.... K is so chubby... Can you resist biting him?? =p

Would like to share my feeding schedules for comparison.

I noticed that some of us here have fixed timings.
Mine is estimated cos i feed according to my son's demands.

7.00-8.00am * 130-150ml milk

9.00-10.00am * 100-130ml milk

12.00pm-1.00pm * 1 small bowl of porridge
~ With carrot/broccoli/spinach/amaranth 苋菜/sweet potato/pumpkin/potato
~ Sometimes with anchovies/scallops stock

3.00pm * 130-140ml milk

3.30pm * Steamed apple/pear/pumpkin puree

6.00pm * 1 small bowl of porridge/brown rice
~ Replace with wholegrain cereal or milk when going out

8.00-9.00pm * 140-150ml milk (Goes to bed ard 10-11pm)

1.00-2.00am * 140-150ml milk (Drinks in slp)

4.00-5.00am * 140-150ml milk (Drinks in slp)

Yun, if he's fussing after a milk feed, he's obviously still hungry. Increase his solids, milk is no longer enough for him.

Jeraldin, ya, since he can still sleep thoughtout the night and during nap times, he's obviously eating well! I've also stopped forcing my boy to drink (just try to encourage, but if he doesnt want, I just throw the milk away).

oh pei you still dreamfeed your boy at 1am and 5am ah? very hardworking le.. admire!!

my boy normally takes his last feed at 9.30pm and knock off by 9.45pm / 10pm and he will only wake up in the morning at 7am - 7.30am for his early morning feed.... and he only takes like 120ml to 150ml for his last feed... think he wants his sleep more than his milk

Jo

I gave my daughter 1 scoop(similac scoop) of HT cereal with FM.

Just came back from PD, gal had fever on sat, after recovering from fever, she had cough and phelgm now. So brought her to PD this morning. Doc say she is on the small side. 7kg on 6mths 2wks 5days. =( Ask us to give her porridge. My hub and me is on small side wonder izzit she takes after us.

My gal only tried avocado once, apple once mixed with cereal. My MIL got no time to prepare for her so my gal have to wait till weekend. Hais~ I see so many mummies here have already given so much food to their babies.

My gal drinking time is depend on her, interval is 4+ to 5 hourly. Intake is 180ml only. She sleeps at 8 to 8+pm everyday and wake up in the midnight for milk once.

Jeraldin
Ah... Dreamfeed. What a term =D
No choice, cos his cries are really deafening and continuous. Only milk can stop his cries lol

I have to change his diaper after each dreamfeed too, to let him sleep better.

hi all mummies,

i havent log in for a long time too.. And the thread is moving real fast.

My boy is now 6 mths old. I just him on cereal 1 or 2 wks ago. Just like to check wif mummies what kind/ type of cereal u all give ur baby? I gave my boy Eu yan sang brown rice cereal (si shen fen).

ANd hw to train him to drink water. He doesn't seem to like it & he wil push away even tho i added in gripe water. Any tricks?

Jeraldin... how I wish my boy can be like urs

Rachel, noted. will try to increase his solid.
actually, he has a lots of cerals too. I mixed abt 6-7 table spoon with fruit or vege puree. and he can finished all.

I dragged his feeding time to 4hrs interval sometimes back but get a scolding from my mum. she said " baby so small, how can u drag to 4hrs ? no wonder his weight is not increase" sianzzz, then I replied " don't you know that ur grandchild is a overweight baby ?, slim down abit is good for him" hehehe

Ade - i bought the yoplait baby yogurt from NTUC. Comes in a pack of 4, mix of plain and banana. Am asking my mum to give it to him this afternoon as a first try. Will update on progress.

Yun: Wow ur boy intake a lot.

Since my ger is IFC, i did pass them a tin of cereals, so her intake:
9am - 180ml
@ IFC (can't really remember her intake there)
12pm - cereals (50 - 100ml)
1pm - 180ml
4pm - 180ml
back home
7pm - food or milk
10pm - 180ml.

I bring her to see doc once, n he told me base on my ger weight she should drink 160ml not 180ml. My ger now weight at 6.9kg, not sure of the height, last measure is 64cm and that is 1 mth plus ago.

Pei:
Me too. When i'm alone with my ger, when i doing something she cried, i'll also keeping telling, wait, mummy coming. Sometime when i'm doing housework, i just put her in the bouncher beside me, so i do hosuework at the same time entertain her.

Jasmine, sometimes he will skip one feed at 3pm becoz of afternoon nap. but still consider a lots huh ???

Breadmum, yogurt ? new thing leh... yes, please update the progress. like to giv new things to my little J. loves to see him eating

Breadmum, my sis bought that too. Din know NTUC got sell. She went all the way to Paragon Market place to buy.

yun, my MIL also liddat. At times, he refused to drink even though 3 hrs is up. And she will just make noise & say i starve my son. Worse thing is she refused to increase the intake for his cereals coz she believe that milk is still the thing that make baby put on weight. She is only giving him about 2-3 tablespoon whereas for me, when i feed him during weekend, i will give him 7-8 tblspoon of cereal mixed with a bottle of puree (if we are out) & yet he can still finished it.

hey millie, ur boy how old already? seems like he's quite steady in the water. I tried to bring my boy swimming once & he resisted & cry. Dunno if its the cold water.

hey yun,
i'm worse.. I drag my boy feeding to every 5 hrs. In rare cases, i will give him 15 mins earlier (4hr 45 min). FYI, now he drink 7 ounce of milk already..

Chewy_ring, I have a few samples from the cluster link.. but the more the merrier.. so good, you only teach PE, I wish I could do that then no marking to do.

Yun: seem like a lot. ha ha ha...
maybe i didn't really take care my ger, so not very sure of her inatke, but her feeding time not very actual one, The one I wrote is average time she ate. Sometime she will skip one feeding, then she will mess up the feeing time. sometime her last feeding can be 9 plus or 12plus.

my gal feeding schedule:

6am - 200ml FM (but today only manage to finish 120ml and fell asleep)
11am - puree + 120ml BM
3pm - 150ml BM
6pm - 4 tbsp cereal + 120ml BM
9pm - 200ml BM

Her feeding time is more or less fixed already. I tried to increase last feed to 210ml but she still wake up at 6am. I hope she will revert back to wake up at 8/9am soon. hehe

Feeding schedule for my 7 months old Baby K:

7am - 80ml milk
9am - Brown rice cereal, mixed with either sweet potato or carrot puree
12pm - 220ml milk
3pm - 220ml milk
6pm - Healthy time cereal, mixed with either apple or pear puree
9pm - 200 - 240ml milk, sometimes only 150ml

Intend to feed him porridge after 7 months.

I don dreamfeed him. He has been sleeping through when he's 3 months old

whoa I need to catch up on all the posts!!

My son's feeding times are:

7am - 200 ml (1 scoop cereal)
10am - 180 ml(1 scoop cereal)
12.30pm - 180ml with cereal+puree
3pm - 200 ml with cereal
6pm - 180 ml with cereal+puree
9pm - 180 ml with cereal

Quite irregular

OMG
all the babies out there are BIG DRINKERS!
mine still hovering 120ml to 130ml at every 3hr feed.

still using the small milk bottles!!! LOL

Millie, ur bb grow up alot from the last time i saw him!!! :p

anyone of u still religiously clean ur bb mouth? i always forget loh

oh dear
looking at everyone,i think i need to start keeping track of how often J eats. still total latch on so i have no idea how much he is drinking either. but he does have cereal in the morning for breakfast, at lunchtime with puree and in the evening cereal. but he is still waking to nurse:-( still cant bring myself to do the CIO method so am suffering the consequential lack of sleep. my only consolation is that i am not working now.

btw does anyone's baby take Friso Comfort? I have 24 tins to let go at $10 cos my FB who was taking it until recently for his constipation has finally stopped. Exp date is 06/2010. pls PM if interested.

hi pei
welcome to the thread. your son has got cool hair!

bigtoes
can munch munch munch on K? he's quite mesmerising!

My boy's feeding schedule (when I am around):-

5am/6am - BM (latch on so dun know how much)
10am/10.30am - BM (200ml)
12pm - Fruit/ Veg Puree + Cereal
2.30pm - BM (200ml)
6.30pm - BM (2ooml)
8pm - Fruit/ Veg Puree
10.30pm - FM (180ml)
3am - BM (latch on so dun know how much)

Its always 4 hours intervals for milk feeding..

Hi,Breadmum, Yun, Ade

I bot baby yogplait too fr NTUC. Marketplace selling another brand which I think its good too. Take note that if baby has regular and watery poo, should avoid introduce yoghurt.. and yoghurt should not be warmed up as it will kill all the active good bacterias in it..better to serve it a bit cold.

Hi,Mrsseng

i suspected that my boy is unsettled for sleep maybe bec he is used to be latched on to sleep.. so when i gave him his last FM feed via bottle, he is very unsettled cos no more usual latch on.. Guess have to let him get use to bottle cos i am planning to stop breast feeding soon.

Hi, Goldfish

Me me me.. I am still cleaning mt noy's mouth every night.. and also his little "p" too.. there was once I forgot to clean for a few days and there are white stuff accumulated..

Hi, Dseptkon

Looks like we are facing the same prob ie. our baby wan to be nursed.. I just plain lazy too to wake up at 3am to make milk. Just wonder how to slowly train them to sleep thr..... sigh..

Agree with goldfish!
Most babies are big drinkers!

I was very worried at first...
My boy with small tummy is growing well, at 75 percentile, so I reckon more milk intake is not necessary better.

Different babies have different appetite, nutrients absorption & growth rate...

However it good to know how the peers are doing =D

wah... agreed!
most of the babies are taking 200ml... EJ has NEVER cross the 150ml before...

but his weight gain is very steady and is always at the 50 percentile.. so I guess I am happy with that as well...

Hippie,
Alston is 6mths old.

Goldfish,
Ya he grows in length but not the size la

Jeraldin,
Alston also doesn't drink much milk, most of the time oni 100-120ml every 2-3hrs. But as long as he's growing, i'm fine wif it.

Breadmum/LC, which NTUC have Baby Yoplait? I can't find it leh.. Only seen Yoplait Petit Miam so far...

Milk schedule - I think I'm the laziet mum, I dun keep a schedule and no fixed timing. Little A doesn't wake up during the night too.

Millie
Haha.. now that u emphasized, yah.. alston is quite lengthy leh!!! ur hubby beri tall??

Skinnypig,
any feedback on ikea highchair? issit tat good? issit beri 'cramp' huh if ur bb next time grows 'bigger' in size?

Goldfish,

It's cheap, economical and practical.. He would always make a mess on the high chair during feeding time. I just need to wipe off the mess with wet cloth, unlike other highchair with cushion padding, still need to wash the padding etc.
For the time being, my baby doesn't feel cramp inside the high chair.
Going forward if he grows bigger, just remove the tray lor.

LC, so it means my baby cannot eat yoghurt? His poo is quite watery, coz he is on Nan HA. Very seldom will find his poo a bit hard. Then mama shall eat it instead... =p

yan, i saw the baby yoghurt at tampines NTUC last night. Perhaps you can try there if you live in the east.

Goldfish, i saw a new range of high chair in Ikea last week. It's black and white in colour. Was so tempted to get it, but i already have one. But the material is not the plastic kind, it's in fabric. Think it's about $69.

skinny pig,

ur bb looks so stable on the highchair! my son always slouch/lean forward n can nvr sit properly during mealtimes. i always put him in his FP rocking chair so it'll b easier to feed him. btw, my son is 7mths old alrdy...

Eve,

Sometimes he will sway left right in his highchair too!! So I will prop him up with my pinky piggy cushion

Mine also 7 months old liao..