(2008/09) Sep 2008

morning mummies ,
so happening today ..... so many posts ..

Millie ,
BB alston looks big

My Zen never drink more than 100 ml .. haha .... his regular is 90 ml
feeding is one FM , one expressbM .... never keep track on his total daily milk intake .. twice cereal daily .. other puree fd ... i onl tried to give sweet pototoes and banana ... no time to try nw .. super bo eng with stuff to settle before heading to shanghai ..

catch up with u gals later ..

Skinny pig,

I also have a pic of my baby 'Kiao kar' in his high chair ..

2287920.jpg

<font color="0077aa">Yah man, so many posts!!

Goldfish, mine also still using the small bottles.. kekek... Don't know when can upgrade to big ones, I already wash them but haven;t use it yet.. Mine is drinking 120ml - 140ml..

My boy schedule:
5 or 6am: Latch on
10am: Latch on
130pm: 1 sccop of rice cereal + 1oz vege puree + 110ml of milk
530pm: 1 scoop of rice cereal + 140ml of milk (Only recently added the cereal)
630pm: 1oz of fruits
830pm: 100ml or latch on
11pm: latch on (dream feed)
2 or 3am: Sometimes have to feed as well..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">wow, so many cute baby photos
Seems like all our babies are growing well!

yun (cutieyunyun) - Jayden can doo-doo in his potty already? I haven't even thought of potty training Kieran yet! Knowing him, he would doo-doo 1/2 way and start standing up &amp; jumping around (he cannot sit still! My hubby says his "si fat chim" (sharp backside in Cantonese).

skinny pig (skinny_pig) - ur baby K is a big boy!
How tall is he?

dseptkon (dseptkon) - hah, we 'chew' on Kieran's hands and thighs all the time &amp; he laughs like crazy cos its so ticklish! (He gets amused very easily).

K is not a big drinker too - about 110-120ml every 2.5 to 3 hours during the day, and latch on whenever i am at home. Still quite chubby though, think its cos my BM is quite fatty (he was on TBM, and now TBM + puree.)</font>

Bigtoes,

Yes, my Baby K is a big boy.. My SIL call him 'hippoppotamus baby'..

He weighs 9.35kg and 68 cm tall when I brought him for his 6 mths vaccination in early March..
PD said he's overweight in fact, 95% percentile for weight and 50% for height - Buay balance.

<font color="0077aa">seems like alot of babies can sit w/o support alrdy... haiz, my son still cant leh. everytime make him sit against cushion, he'll jus slump to the side or the front, like tofu lor. making me worried cos he's alrdy 7mths! btw, he only started to flip when he was 5.5mths n he can only flip to his right. so far, he has not progressed to flipping to his left/crawling/sitting yet.</font>

Eve,

Not to worry so much. Even though my 7 mths old baby K can flip, sit and crawl (a bit forwards but mostly backwards) but till now, my bb can only flip to left.. When I try to encourage him to flip from right by using toys to attract him, he's stucked!!!

<font color="0077aa">skinny pig,

wah... at least ur baby can sit n crawl liao... envy envy. really hope mine will surprise me soon</font>

<font color="0077aa">hello pei

he's not that fair actually. maybe its the background lighting... ur boy is also v adorable n I looove his thighs! so chubby chubby</font>

Peas or beans puree,

For those mummies who have tried peas or beans puree, does it cause alot of gasiness or wind in the baby's tummy after consumption?

Do we buy those frozen peas (those green peas that we eat for salad mixed with carrot &amp; corn)

Goldfish,
My hubby is 178cm/179cm tall. Very curious to know how tall is Alston. Will ask the nurse to measure him when i bring him for Hep B at Polyclinic next Mon.

My aunt adds 3 spoonfuls (the milk powder spoon) into Alston's milk bottle twice a day and his milk feed is abt 120ml. Is it a lot ?

Skinny Pig,
I bot fresh green peas. But u can buy frozen peas as well. Don tink it causes a lot of wind. So far Alston oni tried once (3 days in a row).

Skinny Pig, yeap yeap.. I haben bot the high chair yet.. heard good reviews on Ikea chair bt hb finds it like too hard!??
Will check out the new series of highchair at ikea!

Rachel, ur bb si bei YOGA leh!!!!
And Mrsseng, did i see little ‘boobs’ popping out? :p kekkeke.. so cute!!!

Regarding peas, I made a mistake before. I got snow-peas that time loh. And my stupid HB told me, dun remove the stem and e ends before steaming cos nutrients will be gone. After steaming, the peas all turn soft… so hard to remove the ends and stem w/o disfiguring the PEAS!!! And at the end of the day, my bb dun like it lo… I tink I got the wrong type of PEAS!!!

haha eve you will hope he doesn't know that once he actually know it..

ever since my boy can crawl forward (leopard crawl style)... it become so dangerous...

limay... EJ oso got sharp backside... cannot sit for even 1 min one.... to make things worst.. he like to jump when we hold him under his armpit... he is training everyone's arm muscle man...

Feeling curious..

Just wanna see how mummies feel between formula feeding and breast feeding to our baby.

=> So, by comparing both feeding methods, which is more convenient and easier to manage?

("Manage" as in mummy will feel more comfortable and not feel so tired even if night feeding is required)

bigtoes,
iam a lazy mummy..its my mum who trained him on potty...
he doesnt reject it and quite cooperative.
and ur kieran can stand n jump already ? its fun.

tik we will be getting more n more tiring liao since they can crawl.. hav to catch and catch them.
like me, always shout "stop" whenever jayden crawl out of his bumper mat.

whoa I've not been following this thread for a while!!
welcome Pei! Yr boy looks v cute!

And my so many cute babies and BIG drinkers!

Lil S has difficulty finishing her milk and my helper was even asking me to reduce her milk intake and up her cereal!! her schedule is like this:

6am: 170ml EBM
10am: 170ml EBM
2pm: 140ml EBM + 6 spoons cereal + 1oz veggie mixed with 30ml EBM
6pm: 170ml EBM
10pm: 170 EBM

Lil S also hates drinking water. ONly manages 10-20ml a day.

Am wondering whether I should start her on evening fruit purees.. is this served neat or mixed with milk?

Also, couple hours ago (8pm) my MIL asked me if she needs to wash the bottle teat for drinking water that Lil S drank from in the morning.. need or not ar?

Hi,Ade

I would suggest that you makan the yoghurt instead of giving it to your baby cos might be senstive to the tummy, later lao sai then jalet...

Hi,Springz

Lil S is drinking quite decent amount (considering she is sweet baby girl) from what I see from the Schedule.. For Fruit puree, I serve it neat for some fruits but I serve it with a little BM for Avocado and banana.. soemhow fine the texture a bit too dense so add a bit of BM. For the bottle teat, I gather you are referring to the teat of those sippy cup. If so, I dun sterilise it but I will wash with the liquid detergent every night..

ask u all huh? do u alll do frozen fruit puree? and store in baby cubes?? can be done or not?? i feel like doing some fruit puree at one shot lo.. bt dunno issit recommended or not leh

Check with Mummies here, does your baby poo poo more when they have eaten carrot?
This is not the 1st time my boy poo more when he had carrots with his cereals. Yesterday, MIL gave him some carrots again, and he poo 3x yesterday(usually is once a day) and once this morning. His poo is always the watery kind, so i'm not very sure if he is having 'Lao Sai'. Is this an allergic? The 1st time he tried carrot, he poo about 2-3 times too. Am so worried &amp; wondering if i should bring him to the PD tonight.

Thanks Ade for the info.. Hehe.. Tampines too far away i'm at the west side. Anyway will ask hubby to bring us to the NTUC finest at bukit timah shopping centre to try my luck! hehe!

<font color="0000ff">My bb poo more when he takes sweet potato. Haven tried carrots AGAIN. he rejected it the last time we fed him</font>

yah mine too!!!

EJ poo like so many times after he takes sweet potato le..

i realise his poo poo will be slightly orange after he takes carrot for 3 days... issit like too much of the same food??

<font color="0000ff">Jeraldin
YES!!! Max poo-ed like 3 times after he ate a baby cube of sweet potato. He usually only poo once a day leh.. if not once every 2 days de

hhhmm... dun give him too much carrots k..

Oh btw.. Max is now like EJ.. forever jumping jumping when we hold him at the armpits</font>

er want to ask do we normally feed porrige before the last feed of milk or what.

6-7am 100ml
9+ 1/2 small bowl porrige
12 2 tea spoon cereal 3 scope of pear+banana
2 100ml milk
5 small bowl porrige
7-8 150ml milk
11-12 200ml milk
3-4 200ml milk

Baby K still wake up for his milk.
then midnight duno around wat time, he will flip over and start playing OMG. tiring. Not sure why he want to wakes up middle of the night to play for around 1/2 -an hr

my gal poo more when she had banana! last nite she even wake up at 1am to poo. tis has never happen before after she can sleep thru. and her poo is watery kind. yday she poo 4times. tik i shld stop banana 1st?? As for carrot, her poo will also be orange and have carrot bits leh. mayb i din blend it well..

My boy poo once everyday but will poo twice if he takes banana, sweet potato, oranges n yogurt.
He dislike take carrot n porridge.
He likes rice so i cook it till very soft for him.

Do u mummies gives bb "cooling drinks" like chestnut water, barely water???

<font color="0077aa">jeraldin,

think most mommies r like tat. when our babies haven't learn to flip/crawl/sit, we'll worry abt their development... but when they start to learn, then we'll worry abt their safety lor. haiz... but i'm still looking fwd to the day my son can at least sit w/o support.</font>

<font color="0077aa">I've been having this BIG problem wz my son's milk feeds since almost 2mths ago!

One fine day, he just simply refuse to drink his milk n I've tried all kinds of methods, from the soft approach to hard approach, nothing works... On good days, he can take at most only 2oz per feed n on bad days, he'll just simply refuse to suck. so his milk intake has been drastically reduced. He used to be able to gobble down at least 6oz of milk w/o any fuss.

The weird thing is, he can finish his milk (even up to 6oz) at night. Maybe he's too blur to protest in the middle of the night... so this poor mommy has to end up waking up several times at night to feed him milk. Its ironic when so many mommies r hoping for their babies to slp thru the night n here I am, waking my baby a few times every night.

I brought him to the PD who just said my son is simply being naughty by refusing milk n he may or may not resume drinking. Sigh, I'm at my wits end alrdy. I've been hoping everyday that he'll be back to his normal self everyday but its not happening lor</font>

Eve
Not to worry, its ok. it happen to my boy last month too. So wat i do is feed him cereal n bb jar food more then milk increase more to feed him during the nite.
If consuming is a little during the day, i will make it a point to wake a few time more during the nite to feed him. Just stuff it into his mouth while he asleep is much much more easy.

Sasa time to train your arm!!! hahaha
EJ has been jumping like this since he is about 3.5 months... so it has been like this for the past 2.5 months..

But apparently the jumping strengthens his legs muscle alot... he can now pull himself to standing position by just holding on to my fingers... and he can stand by supporting himself on the railings of the cot...

and i think EJ is like Kieran.. like standing than crawling...

hehe.. looks like most of the babies here will poo more after sweet potato, my little J is like that too, but that is not a concern .. rite ?

<font color="0000ff">Jeraldin
ah yes!! he's able to go from lying down to sitting down n standing up by holding my hands. but he hasn't tried standing up holding on to some other things yet. mayb coz he doesnt have a cot where there are railings for him to hold bah

oh ya... really train arm muscles leh.. so tiring wor..</font>

sasa
your max is quite good wor. can switch positions so soon!ch still crawling around nia..but she is one happy explorer la, so no complaints here..

Assessment
CH went for assessment the other day, at 6 mths old she weights only 6.3kg, 43cm for ofc and 63.5cm for length. im thankful she is a girl, can always tell people she is petite (as opposed to 'underweight'

the nurse commented she is underweight, and i merely retorted she is not, less than 50th percentile is NOT underweight, just smaller than average...blah blah...then the nurse looked at me and say, yah she is below 25th percentile leh...(cant she read chart, dunno anything about stats huh!!!???)

eve
are you working, if not midnight feeds are good source of nutrients. im a paranoid mummy, coz my fb was grossly underweight and we had to wake him up to drink milk in the middle of the night and he refused solids as a bb...so whatever it is, just make sure he doesnt lose weight can liaoz...

hey mummies
i'm from Oct thread mum.
just need advice on making cereal. I intend to give my girl brown rice cereal (healthy time) this weekend.
Could i know for a start how much cereal to give?
1 scoop/ 1 tablespoon?
Need to add FM? how much FM to prepare?
or can just add plain water?

mrsseng: I do give my ger barely water. I just boiled the barely w/o add anything thing. Sometime i will feel her or I will just mix with the milk and feed her.