(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="aa00aa">Ava - Yes, Kieran wasn't dark at birth but has been getting progressively darker as the months progressed. He is way darker than me now, and even darker than daddy...very weird considering that he is not even exposed to direct sunlight. I don't mind of cos since he is a boy. Guess he is just living up to his name - he is dirty, grubby, very chor-lor, and now dark (Kieran = small dark warrior).

mrsseng (mrsseng) - K hated water at the beginning as well cos he hasn't had anything besides BM, but is now more okie with taking a couple of mouthfuls. Just keep persisting? I usually get him to drink some after his puree feed (especially more sticky feeds like sweet potato, also to rinse off the food bits in the mouth). Or if u are already onto fruit purees, then add some apple juice into the water for some taste (1 parts juice, 10 parts water).

✿Mamyvelle✿ (mamyvelle) - your girl looks so pretty with the pink suit and her huge eyes!
Btw, don't think she is too young - just make sure the pool is relatively clean. I have been bringing my son to swim almost every weekend since 4+ months.

Your girl sleeps at 11+pm? So late? I put K to bed at 9pm, but he usually still wakes up 2X per nite (2am+, 5am+). Sometimes 3X a nite! I usually latch on, else hubby feeds EBM (but i still latch on while he warms the milk). Also pump at least once each nite.....lack of sleep, but used to it i guess!</font>

Sorry, forgot to add that once I hit $250, I wont take anymore order, cos I'm not earning any extras for organising this.. Hurry ok! ;)

Hi Rac,

I'm keen but any other collection points besides Tampines? I'm shifting out of bedok reservoir tis week so wun be hanging out at tampines mall tt often anymore..

Mamyvelle, ur girl is so cute.. really wish to hav a baby girl
and yes, my boy still wakes up everynite
he always sleep at 12.30am then will wake up at 3am and 7am for feed, very tiring hoh ?? luckyly Iam SAHM.
cry out method is useless for me, coz my boy will cry till his face turn black.. quite scary.

Pacifier,

Any mummies out there using pacifier on their babies when they sleep?
My bb K is taken care by nanny and she uses pacifier on my bb whenever he wants to sleep. And moreover he's going through teething period now, all the more he's reliant on the pacifier.

So after his night feed, I would put him down on bed for him to fall asleep on his own.. But after a short while, he would cry for his pacifier and I would always give in to him.

When he wakes up in the middle of the night, I would just stuff the pacifier into his mouth and he would stop crying or 'eh eh eh' and falls back to sleep again.

Any mummy facing the same prob?

skinny pig,
i'm facing exactly the same prob as u! haha.. sometimes i carry her &amp; sing songs to her, she'll sleep
w/o the pacifier but she will still wake up in the middle of the night
&amp; in goes the pacifier again. my mom looks after her in the day
&amp; uses the pacifier for her nap times. I wanna wean her off the pacifier but yet tell myself tt the poor girl is teething, maybe she really needs it!

mamyvelle
I started feeding my boy water since he bb, only recently he reject drinking even when i add apple juice he will just "Eng Cho" drinking a few slip.

Skinny Pig
I start giving my boy pacifier when he's abt 4mth because he suck his thump till his finger skin peel off.
He only can hv his pacifier when he wants to sleep n will spilt it out during middle of the night.

dmbb,

So I am not alone lor... whahaaa...

Yes, they are teething now, so if got pacifier they can sleep better and we mummies can sleep better too!!!
There were a few times when he cried in the middle of the night. I ignored his crying and refused to give him the pacifier. He kept crying non stop lor, so after 5 mins I threw in the towel and stuff his 'du-du' to him!!

mamyvelle.. ur girl v cute.. so funny, we stay so near each other but yet nv meet b4, shld meet up one day. where do u bring Lovelle to swim?

mamyvelle: i belted her already. i tot she will be safe so i left her to go washroom, who knows she tried to pick up her toy tat she drop on the floor then fell off from her chair. aiyo.. nw have to 24hrs look at her.

Rachel Lim (rac_lim) : oh his head fell into the pail. must hv drank a mouthful of water leh.. nw tat our little ones know hw to sit/crawl we really hv to be BY THEIR SIDE all the time. tiring...

water
My gal also rejects water. sometimes, i also forgot to feed her water. :p oopss..

Mamyvelle:
Ur ger look so cute.
Think can bring her to swim la, but not too long.
ppl tend to make comment one la.
when i 1st put my ger to infant care, ppl comment also. So young put her, this n that la.

skinny pig

Same as you, my baby uses pacifier to sleep herself. W/o pacifier dont think she can fall asleep herself. Last time is with pacifier plus me patting her to sleep on my arms. But after a week training, she can sleep on herself.

Sometimes midnight if she is hungry but not really want to drink milk, we would just stuff pacifier into her mouth when she 'eh eh eh'.

pacifier:
sometime i use pacific too. I start to give her pacifier when she kept on sucking her fingers. Specially at night, she like to suck her finger while I pat her to sleep. If she don feel like sucking pacifier, she will just pull out n swing in the air or put one side then start to suck her hand, sometime she can suck her hand with the pacifier in her mouth. But she also will spilt the pacific out when she fell asleep.

Night Feeding
I have been giving my ger water when she woke up in the night. Unless she keep crying n reject water, then i will make some milk for her. maybe in the day time, she never eat full.

Jasmine yeo,
how to train baby to sleep on themselves ?
me going to carry just to make my boy sleep. he is super cranky when want to sleep, always carry him on hands + pat + singing.
somemore he is heavyweight baby at 10kg

So there are so many mummies out there who use pacifier to put their baby to bed..
At least I am relieved that I am not alone who let baby cultivate this 'bad habit'.. hiak hiak!!

hey mummies...

mu boy oso use pacifier...
i think it's ok for them.. beta den sucking their fingers...

hmmm... just check with u all on hw to use the baby cubes.... we puree the carrot already..den put it in the baby cubes and keep it in fridge? can keep for how long? hw to warm it for the bb? put it in hot water or wat?

toilet train... when can we start training?

my gal dun take pacifier but she suck her lower lips and must have her bean pillow. during daytime, she wants me to pat her to nap but during nite time, i just have to give her bean pillow and switch off all lights and stand by her cot sing song and she can sleep on her own. last time used to pat and sing too but dunno why suddenly she dun wan me to pat. haha mayb she knows mummy is also tired.

nite feeding
she has been sleeping thru since 3rd mth but recently she will wake up at 6am (used to sleep til 8/9am) for milk. tis only happen after she start solid.. weird tho..

i agree with Jo

Is better for than to use pacifier than sucking their fingers.

yun
I let my baby cry herself but we are beside her. push her to sideway and let her hug pillow/bolster/beansprout pillow with pacifier.

rlrenn...

my boy used to slp thru out oso.. (till 8++ or 9) but nw he dun... sometimes wakes up at 4.30 or 5am for milk!

jo: dunno why the change hor. altho mine is wake up at 6am, but still early to me leh.. i try to ignore her but after awhile, she start to eh eh eh liao.

toilet train: i tried once when she wants to poo.. but too late, she already poo in her diaper. but i still let her sit on her potty after that coz she is still pooing. who knows when she is done, her shit drop onto the floor. sorry abit gross. :p

Yun, babies do not know the art of falling asleep on their own, especially if they have learned all the wrong sleep associations like pacifier, rock, carry, nurse to sleep, etc etc. In order to teach babies to learn to fall asleep on their own, you will need to let them "cry out" and fall asleep, then they will eventually learn to sleep on their own when they are tired. (May not apply to babies who is not used to any of the wrong sleep associations)

I'll nurse my boy to sleep at night. During day time, I carry and pat him to sleep. These are wrong sleep associations. But in order to train your baby to sleep on his own using the cry out method, you need to ensure that your baby is not crying due to hunger. I think storeberry did this training before?

Jo, baby cubes can be kept in the freezer for up to 6 weeks. Same procedure on how you warm up milk. Either put the baby cube in a bowl of hot water, or use the warmer.

Yun: I just make her lie on her side n pat her plus the pacific. of cos there is time she is carnky, got to carry her n pat, but I will be sitting bed, so won't be so tired. Plus I will tell her "time to sleep, u going to childcare tml, ur friends n teachers will be missing u, mummy need to work tml also, so we sleep together ok, if not tml will ne late", don knwo she understand a not la, but most of the time, she will fall asleep after awhile. Whole process, maybe 15-30 mins.

Jo / rlrenn..

I'm also experiencing the same thing! My girl has this auto alarm clock tt wakes her up at 4.30 or 5am without fail every morning when she used to zzz till 8 or 9am!

Rac

Will u b trying out the CIO method? I wld like to but each time I try, my heart will soften when her cries get louder &amp; louder.. moreover my mom is v agst tis method..

ya rlrenn.. i oso ignore... but when he goes eh eh eh.... i cannot tahan already! hahahaha

oo rachel.. thanks... but for some fruits... of we puree it.. and keep it in fridge... will it turn colour or becomes not so fresh for the bb already?

and hw to puree them? izzit... boil / steam already den blend them? so sori... so many questions... cos i haben start doing any feeding yet.... my boy already 6mths and few days old...(lazy mum)...

btw,.. any mummies put the rice cereal in the bottle for the baby to drink?

i dun use cry it out method. my heart will also soften. but so far no prob for my baby. wat i did is i will carry her for a while, say nite nite, then switch off the lights and put her on her cot and i will sleep on my bed and sing song to her. so far she can sleep within half hour the latest. mayb can try sleeping together with them? as in they sleep on their own cot but u also pretend to sleep

dmbb, no I didnt try that method, cos I dont know if my boy is drinking enough milk, as he still doesnt take bottle in IFC. So his daily milk consumption is very little, sometimes as little as only 200ml during the day!

Jo, usually unless I'll be using it the very next morning (when I puree at night), or within 24hours, then I'll just put into the normal fridge compartment. Otherwise, I'll always freeze it. Steam, then blend or mash. Fruits like banana, no need to use blender, just mash it cos it's quite soft already. Try not to boil as it takes away more nutrients than steaming.

Jo
i put cereal in w/ FM for my boy, he love it.
i mix around w/ rice cereal, wheat n brown rice.
so far so good, poopoo also normal daily.

dmbb : My mum also against they CIO method. But i really super tired. yesterday middle of the nite replace her milk with water which she dun like and nv drink, cry abit den she slp. skip 1 milk feed. will try again tonite

Yesterday we got chalet at downtown east and went swimming there. But I tink after tat will be bringin her to mum's geylang condo for swim

Rachel, my boy really can cry until face turn black then shivering.. I got scared by him few times already.

Jasmine, my boy wont let me sit on the bed while patting him.. must stand up and walk here and there... "pai mia"

rlrenn, ur baby is so nice..
Iam sleeping with baby, dun dare to let him sleep alone coz he will flip in the middle of the nite then sleep on his tummy

yun, my baby will flip and sleep on her tummy too. coz she can flip back herself, im not worried. my baby is getting naughtier! only sleeping time she is ok. now whenever i walk pass her, she will fuss and want me to carry her. if i din, she will cry. aiyo.. difficult to do other stuff, sometimes got to bring her along whereever i go, even to the toilet.

yun: maybe u try stand first, after awhile, then sit down, at 1st i just like u, carry her n pat her, then she start to feel sleepy, then i will sit down n rock my body a bit n pat her.

sleeping on tummy:
when she know how to flip, she also flip n sleep on her tummmy, her daddy got shocked n go flip her back, then we observe her while she sleep on tummy, she actually know how to turn her head while she sleep. so if ur boy already know how to flip n lift his head, then shouldn't be problem. Maybe u can observe his sleeping position first.
my ger will also turn to sleep on her tummy, no worry, just don left too much pillow around him. sometime she might cry abit, i will just flip her back n she went back to sleep or else she will carry on with that position till morning.

CIO method
there is one time, I carried her, she cry, put her down she cry, so i left her on bed n let her cry for 5 mins, then i carry her, she kept quiet. but second time i use, failed. she kept on crying, even thought i already carried her. end up, i need to apologize to her, telling her i won't do it again, then she stop crying. faint sia. so whenever i need to do something, i will talk to her, even taking med, i will tell her u r sick so have to take med, praise her, be good, then she can guai gaui let me feed her all the med.

jasmine: i tik babies are really very clever. my gal when she is naughty. i will say u r a naughty gal. then she will fuss and cry. but when i say, ok lah u r a good gal. then she stop. waliao, really need to praise her one lor. sometimes really buay tahan my gal

i also put my boy to bed with his pacifier. but sometime he will just spit it out before he fall asleep. talking about sleeping thur the night, my boy still unable. still wakes up 4 hrs drink his milk,wakes up for 30 min. to a hrs before he goes back to sleep again. tiring

Hiya all =)
My first time posting in the thread.
I'm Pei &amp; my son Cayden was born on 30 Aug 2008, Gleneagles.

I'd pumped exclusively for 4.5 months as I can't latch on. Cayden is now drinking Enfalac.
Eating porridge twice a day.

He is abt 71.5cm tall &amp; 8.8kg now.

2283156.jpg

I shld be in Aug thread but somehow I find the Sept thread's posts easier to be related to.

Hope to learn &amp; share with all the lovely mummies here!
-----------------------------------

On sleeping habits,
Cayden needs his pacifier, me carrying, rocking, patting &amp; singing! (Busy me lol)

Still trying to train him to slp on his own..
Tried patting him several times on bed, successful if only he is very tired, otherwise I always "surrender" cos he will cry really loud &amp; wriggle vigorously like an angry worm!

cutieyunyun : ur boy wake up in the middle of the nite same timing as mine. she slp 11plus pm , wake up around 3plus den 7plus a.m. Am a SAHM also but i very tired after taking care of her whole day ...

think will slowly try the method and slowly droppin her feed.

EJ also fell from the bed on monday!! hurt me so much that I cried with him and keep apologising to him... now i dun even dare to even step away from him for 1 second coz he already knows how to move around although not really crawl yet.. .

to date.. EJ only has tried carrot, sweet potatoe, apple and going to start him on pear tml... so far i always let him try a few mouthful of the puree and mix the rest in the rice cereal...

but i haven't really increase his amount for solid food so he is taking about 2 - 3 tbsp of HT cereal with 1 - 2 tbsp of puree... supplemented with 150ml of milk half an hour after the feed...

any idea when we can totally replace the milk feed with solid?? how much solid must he be taking before we can eliminate the milk feed after each solid???

rlrenn: i agreed with that also. sometime i never 'inform' her on what i going to do, she will fuss. sometime, i will leave her to my mum while i out for a drink, my mum will had a hard time to coax her to sleep or i left the house when she slept, the next morning wake up, if she didn't see me, she start to fuss until i appear in front of her. This make my mum n sis surrend n called me to go home faster.
It was like; I don care what u do, but u need to inform me what u do.

Hi, Pei

Your boy is cute.. can see the fat thighs though he is in his leg warmers..
Very siong to carry and pat to sleep.. I can relate to it well cos my boy also needs that and he is abt 11kg plus.. OMG!! He is born on 15 Aug 08 but EDD supposed to be 12 Sept so that is why I am in Sept thread..

Hi, Jeraldin

Heart pain hor to see baby falling off.. my boy only fell off from the bouncer to the platform, i already heart pain.. We have to be very careful cos they can move very fast these days..My boy loves pear puree and it helps in his constipation. yesterday morning, he is trying to poo and ony manage to poo out a peanut size poo and his whole face turned red.. poor thing.. so I have to give him yoghurt to see if it helps or not..Milk should still be the bulk. you can have 3 solids plus 4 milk feed.. I go to go.. later then come back with my feeding schedule when in office..

Hi, Jo
Nowaday, i increased to abt 3+ 4 spoon of cereal to mix it w/ his FM. U can try starting by a spoon. I increased the cereal because my boy drink his milk abt 4-5hr apart, afraid he will be hungry. HeH, think all mummy the same afraid BB will go hungry.

My boy now can sleep through the nite w/o waking up. He last feed between 7.30-9.30pm then sleep till morning 7+ 8am then want his milk. his intake average 150-180ml.
His last weighted was 9.7kg Height 75cm.

He frist word was "MUM MUM"= eating not MA MA haiz... think most BB frist word is "MUM MUM"

LC
Hello, thks for the welcome =)

Mrsseng
Your boy is very tall!
Did u train ur boy to slp thruout?
Or he slept thruout by himself out of a sudden?

<font color="aa00aa">Pei (peilovecats) - Hi Pei welcome!
Your son Cayden has the same birthdate as mine! Kieran was born on 30th Aug as well, but i started chatting on the Sept thread before that as my EDD was 9th Sept.
Baby K is about the same weight &amp; height as yours, and also has ba-bak thighs!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Btw i think they even look kinda alike! Here is a photo of him topless, after his bath.</font>

2284166.jpg

Pei - welcome.

LC - i just bought yougurt. can i ask if you just feed it cold. I want to start my little e on yogurt but don't know the best time and temp to do so and how many tsp or TBSP. thanks