(2008/09) Sep 2008

Xuanting ,
pull up pants used when they start fussing and moving when wearing diapers .. i found it quite good esp when I am outside ...just change them when they are upright.. i am sacred of the germs in bb changing rm outside .. haha .. always bring my plastic disposable sheet.. so when they are 7 mths - 12 mths and can stand , i will change them in upright position unless have poo poo .. different case .

Hi Lilboymum,
How’s CH now? The spots diminishing liao mah? What kind of spots issit? Not tiny red spots I hope??
Which Gigo engineering set do u recommend? I saw like many different kinda wor.. and not cheap sia! U got any cheap lobangs mah?

Btw, how u all thaw frozen puree? Issit ‘dangerous’ to thaw in the fridge or not huh? I started with Sweet Potato as the first puree for bb.. abit sweet leh.. kinda of regret..

Millie, I saw u prepared peas wor.. issit hard to prepare? Saw it that nid to remove the outer skin stuff liddat??

Goldfish,

I tham frozen puree in the fridge compartment, the night before I want to use them. Cos I freeze them using baby cubes, I will warm in hot water before use.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi mommies, we bought Kieran down to swim over the weekend, using his "big boy" tube. He loved this alot more than the neck float. Recommend upgrading our babies to a regular float already

See - http://smallfattoes.blogspot.com/

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - don't need to peel the skin for the peas - just blend everything together with some water/rice cereal. The puree is sufficiently thin. I gave peas to Kieran as his first veggie.</font>

hellow mummies...
Its the holidays and I finally can really sit down and read through the postings.. Seems quite quiet these few days..

Everyone is weaning their babies and I think I'm doing it very slow and steady. hee..My little sumo has only tried carrot, avocado and banana so far..So far so good...

Sigh.. and after returning to work for 6wks, I've got not much time to pump due to packed timetable and my bm is declining very very fast. So Reyes is almost going to be on 100% FM. Only 1 latch per day now.

I've got one question to ask. If you feed twice FM when you are out, do you bring out 2bottles? or do u wash the bottles in the toilet?

Bigtoes, have been wanting to bring reyes down to swim but the weather's been bad.. Hoping this sat's weather will be good!

Koras, I have not started porridge. But from what I see, my mum puts ngor fish into the porridge that she prepares for my nieces and nephews.. And vege depends.. Can be pumpkin/carrots/green leafy vege(I dont know wat)... Very yummy and sweet.. But best not to feed protein now.. Shd be fed only abt 8mths on..

hi crayonshinchan, i will bring 2 bottles out.

Goldfish: what i did is i don't fully cook sweet potato if i wan to freeze it. Just partially steam (50%) and then put it into babycube and freeze it. Then the day if i wan to give it to my gal, i will take out and thaw for a while and steam another 50% to make it cooked. Then just mash and give it to my gal.

btw mummies, do u all give organic food?

Crayon,normally I bring out more than what I want, I didn't wash the bottle at outside.

Bigtoes, Kieren so smart looking! Yesterday I also let my boy swimming at home, he only swim for 10mins and don't want to wear the neck float. Looking for the regular float now. Where you bought the swimming suit for him?

Yun, you super fast leh..Me just looking the potty
Any recommend?

Honey
I read somewhere else, should not to feed baby under 1 year old. But I saw the Nestle Rice Cereal with Honey. Is it safe?

limay ... kieran damn CUTE lor. saw his video of him crawling
must use food to atttact? hee. my girl still not moving. only know how to flip and turn , flip and turn to get from one corner to the other corner. anyway where u got the float? his tiny body won't slip out?

<font color="aa00aa">crayonshinchan (crayonshinchan) - yes, the weather has been bad lately. We swam during lunch time on Sat, and even then it started to drizzle. I usually keep his swim sessions to 30 min so as not to wear him out. In anycase, i think he is more relaxed in the tube rather than the neck float and was happily floating around.

blackberryB (blackberryb) - Thanks
The swimsuit he wore over the weekend was actually a hand-me-down from his cousin
He has another new one from OG (OG has a decent selection of baby swimwear).

rlrenn (rlrenn) - yes, i am feeding Kieran organics now, but quite tempted to switch to normal veggies simply cos these are yummier. I made organic carrot puree for him yesterday and tested the carrots - not sweet at all! Hubby said we should just get the really sweet small baby carrots and puree these instead.

Honey - this may cause botulism and is not usually recommended for babies below 1 year old.(see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Botulism)

✿Mamyvelle✿ (mamyvelle)- heh, thanks! He is not a big fan of crawling though - perfers to make us hold him up to 'walk'. On the tube, this has "leg holes" at the bottom, so he doesn't fall out. I bought this from Metro some months back and just took it out to use over the weekend - the top of the mushroom already has a leak, need to get a new one!</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">yun (cutieyunyun)</font>
wah... u started potty training le... hehe

<font color="ff0000">Bigtoes</font>
U tempt me again, after looking at K's pics. Looks like I muz try Max on the normal floats. but den again, kinda worried coz he's still not able to sit unsupported.

on a side note.. K can really crawl VERY VERY fast, hehe. food!!!</font>

goldfish
hihi..ch is ok now. spots clearing up, still dunno what...

mine is the gigo junior engineering set. the cheapest i think...around $79 or cheaper, cant rem coz there is a discount...but it can last the kiddoes quite long, my boy is still playing with it now, just that his 'structures' have matured to the more complicated ones

dunno cheap lobangs, but i saw one mummy selling her full set (not the junior one, think it's around $139 full px) at around $90...so you can go see see look look at WTS

chewy_ring, thanks for the info. No, I'm using a Medela, but been keeping it in the office so thinking of getting a manual one that I can use at home.

I'm still feeding my baby breast milk, with no mix of formula milk at all. It is fine with I go out with her as I can latch her on anytime she is hungry. But ever since I started working, my MIL has been taking care of her and talking about bringing her out which gets me really worried since she says she will just bring bottles of breast milk out with her. Is this safe? I thought BM needs to be refrigerated all the time? Does anyone have any advice for bringing out BM? But of course I would rather her not bring baby out at all. If there is a first time, there will always be other times.

<font color="aa00aa">wingkei (wingkei) - I don't think the solution is to not let ur MIL bring ur daughter out. For my case, K is was on TBM until i started weaning him (BM and puree now), and i don't latch on outside - but pack EBM and bring this along. Just need to get a fridge-to-go (for longer trips = can keep chilled for up to 12 hours), else I pack the EBM in a bottle pouch and pad the inside with the freezable gel (the blue color type). Keeps chilled for up to 4-5 hours easily. Also, i carry a thermoflask of hot water to warm the milk up, else if we are out having a meal, just ask from the wait staff.

If you express at work, how do u transport ur milk home then? I keep the milk in the office fridge and transfer into the pouch with the freezable gel after my 2nd pump at 4.30pm. Milk is still cold when i get home at 7+pm.

rlrenn (rlrenn) - I shop at Cold Storage, so they still have some organic stuff. Of cos, these are less appealing appearance wise, and more expensive.

sasa (sasa_xie) - actually, K wasn't crawling very fast in tha video. He is usually quicker! He is the greediest baby i know

yun,

I dun think I am able to start my daughter on potty so early. Till now, we cant catch her cue when she want to poo. We onli realise when the smell come out. Even my experienced nanny cant catch her cue. My daughter facial expression dun change when she poo. she can continue eating or playing while she poo.

So good that ur son got signal to show that he is pooing.

Bigtoes, like you, I would keep the milk in the office fridge and transfer into the pouch with the freezable gel which comes with my Medela pump. My MIL does not have that pouch as I am using it everyday. Hmm... is it alright then to keep the bottle of milk in a thermoflask of hot water when going out for a few hours? I usually latch on when I bring bb out, I never bring any milk along, just me will do.

Bigtoes - i just bought little e his swim wear at the Taka fair. I picked the 2 piece type in case the zip types gets dangerous near his private part.

Can i ask where to buy floats?

Haven't been participating in this forum for long time already. Been busy with work and bb of course!

I got an surprise this morning when I found out I'm pregnant with #2!
It was definitely unplanned. Argh...will be seeing my gynae tml..

Haha...dunno if she'll 'scold' me cause she mentioned to me that it's best for our womb to rest for 1 yr before having #2... :p
Adding on, I had an emergency C-sec.

breadmum...
zip gets dangerous?eh, but they will be wearing swim diaper mah???i tried many times, my boy's private still there :p...kakaka...ok one lah..

lemon
CONGRATS!!!! a good news, planned or unplanned. one thing you can rejoice in is that when everyone is struggling with #2 next time, you sen nang already...just get it over and done with
, and the siblings can grow up together...

regrading swimming aids
eh i know im going to run a little contrary to mummies here, but just a bit of info from the other side

swimming aids like neckfloats and floats are actually not advisable if you wan the kids to really learn swimming (as opposed to 'playing in water'). coz swimming aids give false security to the child. eg in swimming it is important for the child to get used to having his ears wet and face half submerged in water (nose above lah).most importantly, the child should not panic when they feel water over their face, or when floating on water (if you notice, floating on water involves having their ears, back of head, and bit of face in water..quite scary if the child is not used to it..)

that is why in many swimming schools for infants and todds, no swimming aids encouraged until they are around 2 years old (when they are better able to swim independently) in order to help them correct their strokes etc...

JTS...maybe when the child is more comfortable, the aids should be slowly removed.concern is if they actually fall into water, they learn at least to turn around, and kick to the nearest edge and climb up
...im a paranoid mummy...the worse case scenario kind..kakaka

<font color="0077aa">Lemon, congrats man!!! Happy for you!!

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum): Enhh.. so if no neck float how do we let our baby swim in the pool? Or must enrol in the swimming lesson for the expert to teach? </font>

rlrenn and blackberryb, bring out 2bottles a bit mafan.. hee.. guess I have to start bringing out huge bags from now on. Used to do direct latching which is so much easier. Lazy mummy!

breadmum and lilboymum, hahaa.. u 2 are funny lar! I wanted to just bring reyes down to the pool with only diapers on leh. Too cold?

wingkei, I will put my bm in the pouch with the gel if I need to use up my bm. It can keep the milk cold for at least 3-5hrs. If u are worried, u can get one for ur MIL to bring out. That solves the problem.

lilboymum, wat happened to lilCH? In any case, I hope she's better now.

Lemon, congrates!! haaa.. thats very fast!

storeberry, probably u gotta hold zane under the armpits and all lor.. then sit at the shallow end with the steps and let him sit on the water and splash abt.. just like shower time.. I heard from my sis that if u go to swim schs like aquaduck and masden, they'll dunk baby into the water.. so prob we can do that? LOL

I dono if what I'm doing is proper or not. In order for him not to be "afraid" of water and become squeamish and all, I'll pour water slowly over his head during shower time. As he is oredi sitting in the tub on his own, the water will flow down to his eyes and face. I hope i will not scare him instead.

storeberry crayonshin
yes, just hold them and let them paddle round..can dunk them...ask them to kick while holding their face near water...but more tiring lah, so half an hour enough for me liaoz...kakakak

Hello mommies... how's everyone..

super busy with work.. been coming home at 8pm almost eveyday for the past 2 weeks... but going on leave on wed .. planning to "officially" start weaning EJ...

Lemon .. congrats!!!! should be happy.... pleasant surprise!!

swimming.. haven't brought EJ out to the pool yet.. planning to do so after he finish his last dose of 6-in-1 jab... but he enjoys his bath time alot... kicking the water super hard that water splashes onto his face..

crayonshin.. me oso pour abit of water over his head... apparently he is not too concern with that.. haha too busy with his kicking.. so i guess should be fine bah...

anyway... if EJ is taking about 3 tbsp of HT cereal.. still need to give him milk after that??? normally he takes about 150ml every 4 hours.. so if i were to give after his cereal.. how much milk to give??? kym kym... advices???

lilboymum, i dont think i'll dare to dunk him into the water. haa. I believe i'll be the one who will cry instead of Reyes..

jeraldin, at this point, I believe milk is still the most impt food for our babies. Plus most of us are at the introductory stage. What my mum does is, she'll prepare the 150ml which Reyes will take and she'll use part of the milk to mix his cereal. Then after the cereal, she'll let Reyes finish off the milk. FYI, Reyes is taking 2-3 tablespoons of HT cereal + 1 tablespoon of watever mashed food I've prepared.

Lemon,

Hi, though never chat with u on bb stuff b4, here is my congrats to ur #2!

Dun worry too much, enjoy ur #2 pregnancy as much as u do for the #1.

Ur gynae concern is not unfounded, so please eat more good nutrient food from now on to nurse ur body.

Goldfish,
I bot fresh green peas for Alston and i removed the outer skin. I steamed the peas then puree it . It takes a longer time to puree green peas than other food (eg sweet potato) . So far, wat has Ethan tried ?

sasa, hw much is OG selling the thermal swimsuit? I saw from kiddy palace, they are selling at $60+ if i remember correctly.. also thinking of buying for my gal

Bigtoes, thanks for your information. I will go down OG look for the thermal wear!

Lemon, congrats! Do updated us after visit dr.Tracey ya! How many weeks now? Eat more nutrient foods now onward! Take good care too!

Yun, sometime my boy have the face expression then we know, but it's too late to put him down at the potty

lilboymum, wah, without float very tiring leh ..kekeke!

Crayon, my boy very crazy to play water.Once you take off his clothes, he keep smile and he know is shower time!I also pour water over his head too , he don't care, still continue kicking the water.

<font color="aa00aa">skinny pig (skinny_pig) - There are 2 types of baby carrots - of cos if we get these, would look for the actual completely intact baby carrots (with the head and bottom), and not those cut from remnant pieces of larger carrots!
Not sure they even sell these type of repackaged carrots in supermarkets?

breadmum (breadmum) - Why would the swimsuit zipper get stuck? Have to wear swim diapers when swimming!

lemon (lemon1000) - CONGRATS! That came as a surprise I am sure!
My hubby would faint if we get preggers again so soon...our hands are already full taking care of Kieran without any domestic help!

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum) - there is some logic to what you are saying, but Kieran enjoys his swim sessions in anycase. He actually started using his neck float from 2 months, and is now using a tube. He loves the water and has no problems getting his eyes and ears wet during bathing (he also sits upright), so shouldn't be a problem dunking his whole head in water!

Thermal suit in OG - yes, this is available in OG. Not sure about the pricing, but i think it should be from $40+ onwards (non-thermal ones are at about $25+). Btw, they are having a member's sale tomorrow (Wed), and alot of stuff are going at 40% discount!</font>

Hello everybody!

It has been a long time since I came to the forum. How's all the bbs? My little J has been sick, no thanks to the weather and his korkor. He's a lazy fella, only learnt to flip in the last month, so nowhere near being able to crawl. Enjoys his bathtime (yet to try him in the pool).. Shaved his hair recently too for the scholar's brush, now botak (most pple say more handsome though). Now that he's 6 mths old, more activities for him (starting Kindermusik class in IFC in Apr)

Any outing or lobang, remember to PM me...

Lemon,
Congrats! The more the merrier!

crayonshinchan, I can buy one for her, but she will not use it and be unhappy about it too as she keeps insiting that just putting the bottle of bm in hot water is enough, can keep for a few hours. As I have no experience in bringing bm out at all, I want to check with mummies here if this is fine. I'm worried about my bb drinking bm that has gone bad.

Hi everyone!!!

Thanks for your concerns and wishes!!! Wohooo..

Went to see doc this morning. Still doing good. Saw a small sac and small little foetus, just 2.8mm with faint beat beating away....

Haha...this feeling came back real soon. LOL!

Doctor didn't scold me lah. Kekekee.. she did detailed check to see everything's going fine. I am in my 6wks 2 days now.
Well, going into another cycle again.

Yap, told myself it's all good to have this little boy/girl (of course I wish it'll be a girl!) so close so that 'xin ku' once and for all!

Well, thank god I have a great mum to help me look after my baby (babies) to come.

blackberry: ya! i remembered now...you consulted dr tracey too right? haha, times flies...

my #1 already 6 months plus now. Very active boy. Babbles alot and aloud! very noisy....i bet he's gonna ask my load of questions when he's older...

lemon: congrats! so excited for you. I miss being preggie! hehe ... can still rem how we all went thru this period together, thru thick and thin!

it's been a long time since i visited this thread too. hv been busy with sharmaine and the older 2 kids.
just some updates on sharmaine's progress:
1) able to sit by herself at 5 months
2) able to crawl at 5.5mths
3) At 6 mths, she is able to stand by herself gripping onto something firm like her cot railing or a chair.
4) she is taking cereal feed 1x per day.

But she was only 5.8kg at 6 months. her weight gain is v slow..

lemon,
congrats to you!!