(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="0000ff">Max doesn't like sweet potato + pumpkin + carrot!!! Screamed when we fed it to him.. ended up gotta revert back to his cereal</font>

Drinking water

I gave water on my boy when he started semi-solid food about 2 weeks back when he turned 6 months old.
He doesn't like water!!! He will suckle for 2-3 times and push the bottle away...
I am afraid he's not having enough water cos he's on DIY brown rice cereal 2x a day.. Scared too heaty for him.
He's on breastmilk anyway.

Any mummies facing same prob of bb not drinking water?

blackberry ,
i mash the sweet potato up .. so soft .. dun have to use blender .. have addtional washing .. keke .

last day of trying sweet potatoes and moving to carrots tomorrow..

<font color="aa00aa">skinny pig (skinny_pig)- Kieran was also on TBM (and no water) until very recently. Just get ur boy used to drinking a little each time (i feed Kieran water whenever he hiccups nowadays - which happens whenever he laughs too hard!) He also doesn't fancy water, but can now drink about 20-30ml per session (which is alot by his standards - used to just swirl the teat around his mouth and drink 5ml a few weeks back). Other than that he is on BM and rice cereals and it seems ok so far.

yun (cutieyunyun)- okie, thanks!</font>

Millie, how did u get the voucher and free milk powder! Share leh. Keke

Blackberryb, seems like nestle is a well-known SWEET cereal huh? My IFC bb most of them are taking FRISO. Any comments on Friso?

Storeberry.. so to mash any FOOD, the FIRST step is to STEAM it lah? Kekek..

Bigtoes, I am oso equally confused on wat to mix into wat.. lol.. hope to get some enlightenment here. My bb is on PURE rice cereal for 1 week liao+ ! OMG.. am I supposed to give him puree like potato or wat liao huh? GLUUPZ

My IFC has been helping me to feed bb loh. Btw, how does the rice cereal supposed to look like? Nua nua one rite like nose mucus?

bigtoes

i will prepare 2 bowls, the new food and the cereal and feed together with FM. its my attempt at weaning J off the TBF. So far J has taken well to the sweet potatoes,papaya, apple. But he is allergic to avocadoes i think and today's banana is producing a few rashes i think. sigh.

skinny pig
my boy also refuses to drink water from the bottle. actually he just refuses the bottle. period. then i saw yan's video of amelia drinking from a cup and decided to try and lo and behold! he is now drinking water 2 to 3 times daily from the cup! much easier than spooning and no struggling with the bottle. maybe u can try.

<font color="aa00aa">Goldfish (goldfish1395) - You can intro new food every 3-4 days. I am planning to do it every Sat &amp; Wed for Kieran's case. Here are some useful sites:
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/startingsolids/introducing/
This site has info on when it is okie to intro what types of food:
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/

dseptkon (dseptkon) - allergic to avacado and banana? Hope nothing serious. So far, i have allowed Kieran to suck on some fruits (jackfruit, apples, even oranges which i know i am not suppose to cos it is acidic). He had rice cereal for the first time over the weekend but was looking at us so pathetically when we were having fruits after dinner that i ended up giving him banana with BM which he lapped all up! No rashes, but ended up with more fitful sleep (maybe from a sugar high)! Anyway, i will try harder to stick to what i am suppose to feed him from now on and not give in to his greediness!

Btw - are u using a sippy cup or a normal adult cup for water? K also drinks more water if its not fed from his bottle (my MIL uses a spoon, but that is too troublesome and i want to get him a cup as well).</font>

Sean Lau Baby Photography is looking for 5 babies be featured in an advertisement for a leading pharmaceutical company.

Please refer to our Business Thread for more information.

have started my little girl on cereal for 3 days but it seems that she does not like it and throw out the cereal using her tongue...am using brown rice HT cereal. any suggestions?

Well, guess I need to be more patient in getting my bb to drink water

I got a sippy cup from my colleague. Intending to use that to train my bb to drink water from the sippy cup. Just started today, don know how he's doing so far, will need to check with bb-sitter this evening.

rabbit
tongue thrust reflex. your daughter might not be ready for solids. try again a week later i guess. no hurry in introducign solids...

bigtoes
i think J is allergic to avocadoes cos after the feed he had red blotches around his mouth and cheeks where there were none before. as this did not happen with the other foods, must be some kind of contact dermatitis and he was also a little whingy the rest of the day. with the bananas little red spots started appearing about 10 min after the feed but disappeared after half an hour or so. I read up on avocado allergies and about 1% of ppl have them and those ppl usually also have banana or latex allergies.

drinking from a cup
J uses the adult mugs or kor kor's thomas the train kiddy cup.
the water does spill out but he gets a lot more in than using a spoon and since it's just water, we just clean up and change shirts
no prob and he finds it fun. on the other hand, he didnt like the magmag sippy cup we bought him.

How do you all mix the veg like pumpkin or carrot into the cereal?

Have been back to work for more than a week now, miss my baby very much. I call back to check on her at least twice a day but I can't even talk to her over the phone as my MIL believes that it is not good for the baby to listen to the phone. Sometimes, when I speak to my MIL, and hear my baby's voice, I'm so sad as I want to talk to her so badly, even though she may not understand me yet.

But ever since I started going back to work, she has constipation. How do you solve the constipation problem? Funny thing is, over the weekend when I take care of her, she will poo. But once the week starts and I return to work, she doesn't and it's getting worrisome, cos she may not poo for 2 days or even 3 days! And after that, can see her straining to poo. Haiz... Any solutions?

Flos, Avent warmer can warm the baby cube? good news ..kekeke! I had the Avent warmer use to warm the milk but long time never use it....can continue to use now :p
Maybe my measurement not accurate, my hubby din bother me, just 1 cm wor!aii...

Goldfish, Not sure about Friso. Mostly they feed heinz and Nestle

Storeberry, blender trouble to wash, hehehe..lazy mum

who is drinking similac ? i have a complimentary tin .. my boi drink enfalac .. so can give away or exchange .. keke ...
Millie how do u get the vouchers and free tin ?
abott called me to give me the similac .but mead johnson never call me lei ... My sons are loyal to them lei .. refused to change them ..

All root vegs and vegs need to be steamed before puree. If you are feeding fruit or veg puree to bb, need not add FM or BM. Water will do fine esp peas, sweet potatoes and pumpkin. Poo tends to be v hard after consumption of the above purees. For rice cereal, add FM or BM for more favour cos itself taste bland.

Questions for sippy cups
Those with sippy better or those with straws?

chewy_ring
Me! J is on similac and doing ok so i may stick with it. can PM me?

Nan HA and Nan Pro 2
I have one 400g tin of each to pass onto anyone who wants cos like i said i think i will let J stick to similac. pls PM me if u want

<font color="0077aa">Bacon: I gave sippy cup, cos it has the sucking action so might be easier for baby now. Will upgrade smallberry to straw later around 8mths.

Goldfish: Yesss... I usually steam the foods first, the only time I boil is green peas.

rlrenn: The luckybaby food preparartion was a gift so not sure which brand is better. But then again mashing food also very troublesome! But I have no time to go &amp; buy a blender!

Bigtoes: I usually will give the vege for 1-2days 1st then the rest of the 2 days mix with cereal cos the cereal have 30days expiry after opening so need to finish it fast!

Sasa: I gave about 3 tablespoons per time but how come my HT cereals still a lot left?</font>

storeberry, haha.. me also find my HT cereals never finish one, I giv my boy 5 spoon cereals once a day.. now almost 1month, my HT still got 30%.

Mummies, how do we defroze baby cubes ? I took out from freezer then warm it with microwave directly wor... Am I wrong ?

Tik should invest a food maker liao, need to mash food. use blender is troublesome..

storeberry/yun - ya, my HT cereal also like moving slowly. Lets ask Guru Kym, is it Tablespoon before mixing with milk or after being mixed?

Also which FM are your little ones taking?

<font color="0077aa">Yun, breadmum: Yah lo.. so long still alot left! Sasa's lil M can finish like in 2weeks? Sasa, how to?

Yun: I defroze baby cube in my Avent warmer. I don't have microwave. The thing about microwave is that it might heat up the food unevenly. But I find blender easier, just now I puree &amp; strained the carrot at my kitchen counter, its so tiring &amp; took so long!</font>

Storeberry, I dun have warmer

blender might be good, but I dun like to wash it..hohoho

Breadmum, My boy drink Enfalac since his first day until now..

Chewy, Gmarket send huggies to you already ? how is their service ?

Yun,
I defroze by steaming the puree using the old method - put puree on a plate in a pot with water
Used to use the pigeon food warmer but think no good to steam in the plastic container provided plus the water always spillover..

Bigtoes, thanks for the link.
So actually if we wanna to add potato and stuff, it is to mix together with cereal rite? Or do u all feed separately huh? Btw, when can start giving porridge? My hb told IFC today to give bb eat porridge!!?

For food allergy, issit shown on the face first one huh??

My bb was drinking enfalac and lately I switched him to Similac cos I find the repackaging of the bear pix looks CUTE! Lol

Did u all experience YELLOW stains on white bb clothes?? How to remove it huh??

yun ,
yes received the huggies .. they delivered at 930pm loh ... after my boys sleep ... they took 2 days to deliver .. think lots of order ba ...
Any it is so cheap that i ordered again after check ing teh stock yesterday .. esp pull up pants .. after calculatin , i stock up for Zenneth from 9-12 mths .. cos gg to use mostly pull up from then onwards .

Hi Mummies, im from the Oct thread, and i would like to start a BP selling bb clothing or any accessories. My 1st stop would be Bangkok, followed by Japan, after which Taiwan. Mayb someone could suggest what type of items are sellable in Sin,or wat would you like to buy, if i go to these 2 countries?

Long time no log in, how's everyone doing?

I have a complimentary can of 400g Similac follow-on formula expire 06 Oct 2010 and an abbott $3 discount voucher when purchase a 900g of Similac follow-on, voucher valid till 30 Sep 09 to let go. Kindly pm me if interested.

Chewy, yah, tik they hav a lots of orders.
Me might want to order from them in future (cheap and free delivery).By the way, ur DD use huggies pull up ? I found that the cutting is small leh...what size are ur DD using ? currently My bb use Huggies Ultra diapers "XL" and mamypoko pull up "XL".

Bacon &amp; egg, hm... noted..thanks.

Complimentary Enfapro :
Pls register at MEADJOHNSONASIA.COM for free 400g Enfapro and vouchers. They will call u up to arrange for appointment to deliver to ur home/office.

Bigtoes,
I give the fruits/veg puree separately from the BM. Normally i let him finish the puree first followed by milk. If i give him fruits/veg puree in the afternoon, then i give cereal for dinner. I dun mix them tog.

Want to seek u gals opinion ? Is it necessary to steam apples and pears before blending into puree ?? My hubby's aunt (caregiver) says just blend will do, but the recipes found on the internet mostly require steaming followed by blending. I think steaming just makes it softer right ??

Goldfish,
My hubby's aunt feels that so long as bb got teeth, can intro porridge, but for me, i dun intend to give Alston porridge until he turns 7mths next mth. In the meantime, i will give him cereal and veg/fruits puree. BTW, it will be good to intro veg puree first then fruits cos veg is not as sweet as fruits, if not bb might reject veg if u intro fruits first.

Desptkon and other mummies whose bb are taking Similac :
I have a tin of Similac Stage 2 ((small tin) at home. I think it's going to expire soon, should be june if not wrong. Pls PM me if u want it.

burping...
do u all still burp ur kido?

potty train...
when shd we start?

food...
1 teasppon of cereal need to put nw much milk? cos i'm gng to start my boi with solid food... soon

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Storeberry</font>
eerrrmm... i oso dunno how come leh.. how many times u feed smallberry with it per day? Max is taking it twice a day, lunch n dinner. anyway, mine no standard one lah.. some scoops like mountain, some juz standard scoop :p</font>

Breadmum,
Same here.. the brands are majiam so alien.

Btw, wat kinda of 'brainy-toys' are u guys getting for ur bb to play now? My bb onie knows how to bang his fingers on a toy piano. I saw a GIGO Junior Engineer set at United Square. Looks quite brainy wor.. bt onie for 1 year old onwards nia. Anyone got tat before?

Millie, according to Guru Kym, to steam the apple is because apple is acidic...

As for cereal, i think no hard and fast rule on how much milk/water to add.. depends on baby prefers which texture.. and some cereal absorbs more liquid than others.