(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi hi , long time no post.

am toying with weaning to FM and am stuck with deciding Enfrapro, Dumex or Similac. Seems like most of you are taking Enfrapro - any reasons of this choice?

Also, my little one seems to have fever for one day, 2 days ok, then fever again. Is it an allergy cause i don't see any teeth so i doubt he is teething.

Thank you l'l CY^^l'l CH for clarifying. =) Now I'm more relieved. So weird baby move only on 4s very well at the age of 5mths.

ypg, my baby was 4months old when we brought him 2 taipei in jan. =)

momopanda,
washable swim diapers are more economical if u go swim often. i gt mine from motherworks. kushies brand. 18.90 i tink. n we usually bring baby 2 'dip' in the water.(neck high) he likes 2 splash the water.

chewyring: i try to put myself in her shoes and recall the tiring days when I was still on maternity leave....sure, she is in her 60's, no doubt, but don't forget I provide her with maid support. she only needs to bathe my son every week day. How tiring is that, compared to playing mahjong for 6 hours?

i dun like disruption and I see her frequent 'leave applications' as escapades or 难听点, shirking of responsibilities...

when r u going to PVG?

<font color="aa00aa">Weaning baby - Kieran finally had his first taste of rice cereal today and he lapped it all up with minimal spillage.
Ended up giving him 1/3 of a small banana with milk as well, though I wasn't intending to start him on fruits till after the rice cereal/veggies/root veggie stages.

Huggies swim pants - I got mine from Cold Storage but the lady (Cindy) selling diapers on the BP is offering them cheaper if anyone is interested. Was planning to bring Kieran down to the pool today and graduate him to a tube (rather than the neck float), but it was storming &amp; pouring and we didn't get a chance to.</font>

yun
I would not dare to bring Rachael to the public pool yet cos of her eczema. Guess will have to wait till she is older than can do so...

Overseas trip
Is anyone going on hols overseas anytime soon? Me have not gone on a tour with hubby for like 2 years, and we finally decided that we both need to take a short break, so went to book for a short trip in June to HK this noon. Nowhere far, cos can't bear to leave R with my mum for so many days!

Mummies, any of ur babies can sit up without support?? Rachael managed a good >10-sec one today!! She totally surprised me, as I was doing some marking for my students' papers, and then when I turn my head to see R in bed, she was sitting up straight without any support!! Hubby helped her up, then let go for a long time, and Rachael just sat there, totally on her own! Oh my...I was soooooooo happy to see that!!! Surprisingly, she is only learning to crawl a bit, but only backwards, and now she can even sit up on her own, for more than 10 secs! Keke..me such a silly mummy, getting so hyped up!

Sarah,

Thanks for the website. Will certainly check it out. Nowadays travel quite different with budget airlines coming into the picture. Cause we consumers can book own airflight n the travel agent do not have a better deal than us. This is the 1st time I book my own airflight n look for hotel to stay in. Often I go through travel agent. Guess got to get used to this new way of traveling. Cant be too mountain turtle liao. Haha...

Thanks for offering to show me the way. But we dun have much time. Probably will just choose Casa Real Hotel that is near to the Fishermen's Wharf n have a stroll at the beach after a romantic Portuguese dinner with my hubby over there. Hope can strengthen our love n bond with him further since now with the task of caring for our bb, we cant devote as much time for each other. So must use this opportunity to pay attention to each other.

Then the rest of the trip guess mostly trying my luck at the jackpot machine at the casino together with my hubby. To me, the jackpot machine provide a good form of entertainment. Lot of pretty graphics n fun ways of playing. But I not gambler la. I dun go queue up for 4D or Toto here.

I been to Genting 4 times with my hubby since we start dating. Last visit is when I am 5 months pregnant. We will put in RM50 n play together slowly. It is sort of our couple time lor. We very bad hor, corrupt my daughter with gamble vice when she is inside my tummy. Hehe...

As we not bringing our bb along n both my hubby n I will miss our bb alot, we only going for a very short trip. 3 days 2 night trip. So dun think can go to HK or Zhuhai.

Hopefully, when my bb is bigger, 3 or 4 yr old, my mum allow her to go overseas with us and we can go for longer trip. Also, she will enjoy the trip more.

Kym,

7 days without BB. I dun think me and my hubby can do that. If we put up webcams like u n see our bb, I think I will miss her even more. End up not enjoying the trip.

C.Ttt,

I went Taipei for my honeymoon. Both me and hubby enjoy the trip greatly. We will certainly mark this as place to go in future. But for the next time, we will bring our daughter with us to enjoy.

jas
congrats! ch still doing the tripod :p

can bring bb for your overseas trip too?at that age they are quite ok..brought for fb hk when he was 4.5mths, and it was ok.just use a good bb carrier..subsequently we went to msia, taiwan etc...ch's going hk this april...haha, but more for her brother lah, what with disneyland and ocean park...

chewy_ring,

Yeah.. did notice ur posting..but tik to change Enfapro for my baby, so I didn stock up. But after trying enfapro stage 2.. My son's stool is watery.. So I change back to Enfalac..
But increased by $5 / tin is a bit too much...

Sarah May, u r the most welcome

Jas,
Iam not sure my baby's red patch is eczema or not...tik will just let him play with the water with legs (not dip).
And yes, my baby can sit quite firm without support..

Flos ,
leaving on the 6th april ... u have friends in shanghai ????? introduce me so that i am not so bored ... but keke .. dun think the first month there i would have extra time .. try out 2 mths there .. if i cannot settle the two little ones i will fly back and settle zac to school here..

Sitting ,
Zen still cannot sit yet .. keke .. everyone in the family complaining how flimsy, soft he is .. haha .. asking my maid not to carry him ard the whole day and not to let him sleep so much ..

Yun ,
i stick to enfalac 1 till 12 mths old .. keke... in fact i am stuck to it for my zac till he is nw 21 mths .. still drinking the exp one ... he refused to change .. tried gain , similac , enfapro stage 2 , stage 3 .... think i am trying thekarihome goat milk this week .. bought a small tin ..I ended up drinking his milk when he refused to change cos the milk tin cannot keep for more than one month due to oxidisation .. keeping my fingers cross nw .

<font color="aa00aa">Jas (mobilesuitegal) - Congrats on baby R sitting upright without support.
Baby K started sitting on his own since about 5 months, and yes, he started crawling backwards first so that is perfectly normal. He is crawling forwards now, but not too keen and will only do so if he wants to reach out for something. Otherwise, he is way happier asking us to lift him up to assist him in 'walking'. Here is a photo of him standing with support

2228080.jpg

Going overseas for holiday - Other than for short work trips, I don't think i can bear to leave Kieran with my MIL just yet.

chewy_ring (chewy_ring)- Let Zen sleep more during the day! I wish Kieran would, but he gets by with 1+ hour of naps per day("power naps" of 30 minutes each). And this morning (Sunday), he woke up at 6am and started chatting with us. Haiyoh!

Limay ,
Zen wakes up at 8 plus .. sometimes slightly before 8 am .. then play and bath .. about 10 am sleep again till 12.30 pm .. sometimes one pm .. then next sleep time is ard 3.30 pm or 4 pm till 5.30 pm ..
hmm .... then he will sleep from 9 pm or 10pm all the way till next morning .. and wakes up once or twice in the night for feeding..
that is y is is super soft .. cannot even sit yet

hi chicken little, i am impress tat u r able to out regards the pecoware i am trying to buy in bulk also (i already have that the blue car which i brought from kittymum) not very nice to ask her how she bring over as she is doing it for biz.

yun: your bb's stool is watery? I hv not started on Stage 2 enfaro yet. Do u know u need to change it progressively, i.e. Start with Feed #3 of the day (the rest of the feed still Enfalac), then second day Feed #3 and #4(rest of the day still enfalac), then third day Feed #2-4, so on and so forth...

U cannot change wholesale like that...accordng to Mead Johnson's stage 2 feeding chart.

chewyring: gosh, i've lost touch with most of them since I left PVG in 2007. hardly see them on MSN these days...The SG there are very scattered...too many of them...for me i hung out with my ex-colleagues (but they are singles and might not be interested in me now!), my hub's long-time friends (&amp; their wives), my hubby's Shanghainese friends (&amp; their Chinese wives), my neighbours...do u stay in a place with many SGs? Why not lookout for those national day events organised by the SG Club in SH or SZ? I think u cld hook up with ASH (a Sept mommy living in SH now).

Zac is still drinking Enfalac now? Is Enfalac more exp than Enfapro?

Flos, ur MIL beri 'good' in siam-ing babycare wor! :p

My IFC caregivers are telling me that bb who are going to start teething will have watery stools wor. Dunno zun or not lo

I just came back frm my mum's place and my niece was there just now. I realized that whenever we wanna to change bb diaper, my hb will always tell my 7 years old niece to leave the room. And he will tell my niece, bb wanna to change diaper, u cannot see his 'didi'

-_-

and of coz my inquisitive and sticky niece will still stay on wif me in the room loh and personally i dun find it a BIG DEAL loh. My hb told me cannot let my niece see loh. Issit reallie tat BIG DEAL? I feel that the more we try to resist her not seeing it, the more she will be hao-qi or wat leh

Any one has similar experience?

Breastfeeding

Anyone still breast feeding now and intend to wean off at 6 months?

I am currently pumping exclusively and baby is on total breast milk. Intend to introduce FM to baby when he reaches 6 months. Can anyone please advice how should I go about introducing FM and semi-solids since both will/should start around the same time.

<font color="0000ff">Goldfish: I think its ok, cos only baby mah! LOL!

Jas: Yess, happy when our baby pass a ilestone right? Smallberry can sit on his own but sometimes when he too absorb in playing, he will swing...keke.. Gotta to watch over him.</font>

any baby drink lesser milk after eating cereal? my baby used to drink 180ml per feed. now she only manage to drink 120ml.

rlenn,

My daughter drink less in term of feeds, her each feed is still the same amount, at 6oz. She is on solids for about 3 weeks liao.

I notice my daughter prefer cereal than milk. When she is hungry, she will cry for food. But when we feed her milk in bottle, she still cry. So we got no choice, feed her cereal in apple juice or apple puree in milk. Then after that, we will attempt to feed her milk using spoon. She drinks. Therefore, the problem dun lie with the milk powder.

I wonder is it time to switch from bottle to cup, which I think far too early since she just turns 5 months yesterday. Or is it time to switch teats? I am using Avent No. 2 currently.

Any experienced mum can advise me on that?

Flu: My daughter will sneeze out or some running nose on few occasions these few days. Is she having flu? It seems to affect her breathing also, her breathing seems to be heavier n louder these few days. My mum will bring her see PD today if situation din improve. Any of your babies like that b4?

hi ypg,

my boy do have some translucent mucus running down his nose past few weeks. (on off occasion)and his breathing is quite noisy (block nose i presume).

I was told by our PD that he is sensitive nose. and one of my friend told us once one has running nose, most likely is due to viral infection.

Maybe other mummies can advice?

Can anyone advice on how do we change swap baby from drinking formula A to formula B?

Do we:

1) Replace with one feed at a time? (Eg, Was 6 feeds Formula A per day... Now: 5 Feeds Formula A and 1 Feed Formula B)

or

2) Mix Formula A (2 scoop) with Formula B (1 scoop) for one feed?

Flos ,
yes it is more exp .. but the prob is with zac .. he refuse to change .he reather dun have milk and i dunno y he inherit his daddy sharp sense of taste.. add other FM into his milk he will notice and take it out and refuse the milk ... so the bottom line is as long as he is still drinking milk , i just feed him enfalac .. easier to buy too .. cos both brothers drinking the same milk.
I never check the contents of the milk , that is compare stage one / - 3cos i presume infant milk is always safer to drink and contains calcium ..( that is y we feed milk ).. so dun bother myslef since zac enjoys his enfalac .. he is still drinking about 3 tins per month.

Ypg
I travelled with my baconboy last weekend to HK. It was a good trip though with a bb, u tend to shop less, and return to hotel earlier cos bb needs his sleep. But overall its a good and fun experience..great bonding time. I would recommend it..

hi yun ,
thanX for the link so cheap the huggies.. i just ordered pull up pants and huggies ultra... instead of ard 50 cents to 70 cents a piece when i buy outside, ordering online only cost me 0.315 cents a piece .i stock up for both sons .. haha ..

Chewy, no problem.. I haven try to order from that website coz I had paid my order from Bulk purchase before I know this web.
So, when will they deliver the stuff ? should be today also rite ?

Rachel, the link U mentioned Is what I order from..but the website that chewy ordering is cheaper.
Tik about $13.40/pack for huggies ultra

Rachel ,
the gmarket one is cheaper ... the pull up pants each cost only 315 cents .. if u buy from the bulk , it still cost 44 cents each .. hmm .. if we count by per piece ..

Yun ,
should be by today .. if tomorrow

infant care
Thanks mummies to give me information. I planning to put my son when he turn to 1 year old. I prefer that at ToaPayoh with air con, what is the infant care name? My son need 100% attention wan, he always need my mum sing/talk/read/play with him, he don't want lying on mat or playpen playing his toys.He will but only last 10mins. He like play the gym but need somebody to whole him on stand position. My mum very tiring to look after him, but she still able to cook for us
When my son start crawl, not sure she able to look after him or not, no enegry. My mum quite young but she very weak! That's the main point I look around the infant care.

I tot infant care can let them learn more things, am I wrong?

Enfalac/Enfapro : increase so much!

Weaning
any mummies started to give baby puree? any one make own puree??

My MIL insist me to start porridge for my son when he turn to 6 months (next week), she said no need to eat puree. She keep saying buy the fish bone cook the porridge have more calsium better than I give my boy cereal and puree. But im thinking using slow cooker to cook poriddge will it over cook? the nutrient still there?

teething
I saw my son have 2 teeth/gum ( 1 can see the white )but hor, the teeth look crooked. So sad to see that

Goldfish, funny!For me is ok lar...baby ma!

chewyring: I see...anyway, i'm not in a hurry to change to enfapro yet cos I hv at least 3 cans of enfalac at home now. cannot change so quickly, cos I am introducing his first type of veggies this weekend. i dun want to intro too many things at one go.

I already bought 6 cans of that though...lol...

Flos, me too..6 cans of Enfapro, left 2 cans of enfalac
what type if veggies you intend to introduce to him? puree? my son no interest on his rice cereal..1 teaspoon also can't finish

blackberry: I must go home and refer to the chart. I wanted to start with carrots, but am afraid of the beta carotene...wait bb's face become orange like Umpa Lumpas in Charlie and the Choco Factory!!! MUAHAHAHA

u feeding HT? My son loves Nestle...can finish three tbsp each meal. he is 8.5kg and 70cm at 6 mths.

Flos,
Can i ask how come ur maid cannot bathe ur son ? Cos i'm not sure bathing the bb will cause ur MIL to have backache ??
I decide to start Alston wif sweet potato first which is on this Wed. Pls do not use the leftover water from the steamer (after u steam the carrots) to thin out the carrots puree cos it contains nitrate which is harmful to bb.

I just got my complimentary 400g tin of Enfapro and vouchers from MEAD JOHNSONS today

Flos, yes, cannot take too much of carrot, pumpkin too!I bought the heinz, is it HT? Nestle good? My colleague told me Nestle quite sweet. My boy smaller size and short
, he only 7.6kgs and 64cm at 5 months. I measure just now, only 63cm..gosh!
I bought the ice cubes tray, don't know how to use it..hehehe!

Millie/Chewy_Ring, after steam the sweet patoto, just mash it? or use blender?

<font color="0077aa">Chewy: Smallberry don't like sweet potatoes also but he like green peas &amp; potato! He prob don't like sweet stuffs.. hmm...

blackberry: I steam &amp; use the baby preparation set to mash it but blender definitely easier!</font>

millie: well, becos my MIL refuses to let her:p

chewyring/storeberry: sweet potatoes are really not popular huh?

blackberry: NT is Healthy Times. Many Sept moms bot that I think. Nestle is sweet. I'm going to feed my son with si sheng cereal this week. MIL is cooking the ngor fish this week as well...maybe he'll eat less of nestle now.

how can your boy shrink in height?!!

I also bought my bb's own knife and chopping board ytd!! yippee...

Storeberry: the babycubes fit into my Avent warmer nicely
Anyway, maybe I dun need to freeze so many cubes since my MIL is super 'on' abt making the fish porridge...

hi ypg

now my gal only take 150mlx4feed + 1 solid meal in the afternoon. she used to drink 180ml x 5feed before solid.

my gal like sweet potato leh. so far i let her tried HT brown rice cereal, pumpkin n sweet potato.

blackberry: me! me! i make my own puree. just mash can liao. blender need to wash. hehe. lazy mummy.

storeberry: which baby preparation set did u buy? i dunno whether to invest or not coz i already bot a blender

My boy dun like sweet potato as well.
He prefer pumpkin and banana..
Had intro many things for him, tomorrow my mum will make him carrot puree (will use slow cooker to cook)

rlreen, me also thinking to invest a food maker , so far only pigeon is BPA free...

Nice to see our babies weaning nicely!

Scarlett is now on 2 full meals of solids (lunch and dinner combined with 2 feeds of 180ml FM)and 3 full feeds of 210ml FM.

She is also on a variety of purees and porridges, and so far has yet rejected any sort of vegetables or fish except for corn which i think may be a little overpowering to eat it plainly. Lett is well pass the potatos, apples and pumpkin stage and has since moved on to chicken and vegetable soups, cod fish, trouts, fresh catfish, fresh japanese anchovies, and self-grind brown and calrose rice (calrose to increase consistency).. she is spotting 3 tooth now, and is learning to concentrate on tastes and chewing, to encourage exploration, we will occasionally place one or two grains of cooked rice or mashed potato into her mouth to encourage her to chew..

With regards to stage 2 formula milk, Scarlett is still mainly on Friso comfort, but we have since introduced nan probiotics 2, and we are transitting via 4: 3 friso vs nan 2 mixture, aiming to move to nan 2 entirely by the end of this or mid next month..

As i have started work.. admittingly, it can be rather taunting to have to wake early to prepare her meals for the day, so far its been almost 4 weeks down the road, its actually quite enjoyable now!

Sarah:
GD updated their curriculam? I have only just started dots and english with Scarlett! and oh by the way, you wanted to share the paper right? I'll share with you!.. but i find that 600 pcs is actually insufficient.. if you plan to introduce english, math and chinese progressively into the future.. for english alone, probably will take up 200 pcs.. and dots will take around 150 pcs, considering dots, equations and numerals.. chinese worse- i found 500 preschoolers single words and i've yet included sentences! wa.. sounds like a huge chunk of materials man!!...

tinkerbell, i am trying to wean baby off my BM too. I read online and asked some mummies for info. One suggested mixing formula into the breastmilk to let baby try to see if got any reactions, like diarrhoa, or rashes. I think i will feed my baby half breastmilk and half FM at one feed, choosing the feed that she is least fussy. This way if she dun like the FM, i dun waste my BM.

kymz, lett drinks FM after her solids?

rlrenn, my dd is having exactly the same intake as ur gal! afternoon she will have the chinese si shen brown rice cereal with fish and vegetables+tomato!

Hv a question... if i'm giving baby mashed potato/sweet potato, etc. do i hv to add in milk into the mashed portion or can i jus it to baby w/o mixing wz milk??

<font color="aa00aa">Kym - wow, Lett is really an advance eater!
I am not intending to start Kieran on porridge/fish/meat till he is at least 7+ to 8 months (am following the chart that came along with a free Similac hamper - very idiot proof as to when to start on what food, and in what portions.) So far, he has only been on rice cereals for 3 days - am introducing him to peas tomorrow!

Question - when u gals intro new items like peas, potatoes, pumpkin etc...do u still mix this with rice cereal, or just the veggie + FM/BM? Or veggie + FM/BM + rice cereal and water if necessary?</font>