(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi mummies, sorry to intrude.

I had 3 boxes of Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags(50 each) to let go. Each selling at $23(inclusive of local normal postage).

Please PM me if you are keen. Thanks You

hello ladies!
it's been a while since i've appeared here. life in macau is proving to be a great new adventure - i mean, i'm cooking, cleaning, caring for the baby, working part-time ....and without my family here. my hubby even jokes that i'm turning a bit 'yellow' (read : HUANG1 LIAN3 in mandarin) argh.

so many of you started on semi-solids already! i've yet to start. waiting to bring e for 6 mth jab then will begin.

anyone using the nestle rice cereal? got my parents to buy me 2 tins at the baby fair last wk. wonder if it is sugar-free tho. heard from my SIL that nestle cereals tend to be sweet.

Sasa & Bigtoes: I'm v guilty of being a lap sak mummy....aiyo...cannot tell you how lazy i am in trying to wipe his mouth , face and hands tho he drools so much. his toys that he chews and sucks on i also don't wash that often.

RED PATCH on cheek: Erm,not sure if this is milk rash...but he's got this BRIGHT RED patch the size of a 20cent coin!!! how do i get rid of it?!!! started w a few dots...then it got worse! i feel so sad looking at that angry red blemish. argh...

STERILISER: Where can i buy the avent steam steriliser cleaner?

Yun, How to use lemon to clean it? Mine's a hand-me down avent sterilser....got a lot of brown stuff on bottom...not sure if it is grime or just wear-and-tear!

Hi sarahMay,
I cut the lemon into two
1st part.. i use to rub the browish area
2nd part.. i just throw inside the empty steriliser then let it steam (8mins) then all the brownish stuff come out.

SarahMay
D has the same red angry patch on his cheek that refuses to go away! I feel so sad too when I see it. It has been there for 3 weeks. The skin around it is dry & flaky too & I think it itches as I see him scratching it. Poor thing. I have made an appointment to see a baby dermatologist next week.

sarahmay: Avent products come with descaling tablets/powder. I descale my steriliser and warmer every 6 weeks. I suppose u can find them at leading kiddy stores?

RED PATCH: oh, no worries...mine got that all the time. I just clean the area with a damp cotton pad and apply some Desowen lotion prescribed by PD.

NESTLE cereal: I heard it is slightly sweeter than other brands and my MIL is against me feeding miniflos with Nestle (cos she prefers those Si Sheng cereal)...So far, my son loves it and doesn't reject it. I dunno where my MIL got the idea that NESTLE Brown Rice cereal (not sure abt White Rice cereal) is very heaty...I told my hubby that most of the bbs here also are sweating buckets, so it's not due to Nestle lah...most of your bbs are taking Healthy Times or Bellamy right??

missy: there are no manual cars these days yah? those are dinosaurs already

Red patch
Evan also has red patches ard the cheek area which is caused by his tears. Abit of mild steroid cream and moisturiser will do the trick. So far, it didnt appear again

SarahMay,
The California Baby Calendular cream is quite effective for red patches/rashes.
Heard fm my SIL tat Nestle cereal is rather sweet as she tried the taste b4. Heinz/Healthy Times/Bellamy is not so sweet.

Flos,
I think the Si Sheng brown rice cereal might be better cos it has those "bu" ingredients inside to strengthen bb. Tats what i understand fm the Yu Ren Sheng staff. But my friends told me tat some bb don like it cos it got a kind of smell. Her bb when younger tried a few times only and dun like it, so she still has a big bottle left.

Mamyvelle, ya lor..I just thinking..I didn't receive your PM, pls send to me again yo! My hubby not keen lor, he prefer own parents, at least we sure parents will look after well....

SarahMay, I bought at Philips warehouse/factory. You can try Tiger brand wan..same type..Tiger brand citic acid mostly use for thermoflask...I even use it to clean my kettle
also can use at Avent Sterilizer...Fresh lemon also can if you can't get those citic acid..

Hi Mei

U can try SebaMed Special healing cream, i used that on my boy whenever he hv some red patch or rash. It will disappeared the next day after applying.

Blackberry, my infant care fee costs us $450. Bt currently, we made deductions from CDA a/c. Keke
I am quite happy wif my infant care. The caregivers are all ‘ah-soh’ and reminds me of my confinement lady!

And lately, i just started bb on cereal and got the pigeon feeding set and the spoon is those plastic plastic. and they told me not good, ask me get tollyjoy one cos it has a softer tip!

Sarah, I bot 4 tins of nestle cereals leh! I haben try it myself whether issit sweet or nt leh.. Glupz…

Blackberry, I send my ger to infant care too. I pay $200 after the subsidy. Most of the caretake are mummy themselves also, so far so good.

Who was asking for activities to do with the babies? Yesterday I brought my kids swimming.. My boy didn't like it (see his expression) though jiejie enjoyed herself and didn't want to get out of the water.. Spam some pics..

2223254.jpg

2223255.jpg

2223256.jpg

2223257.jpg

blackberry: i'm also scouting around for infantcare centres....but must make sure it's near to ILs or parents' place, so they can help to pick up on our behalf...both my hubby and i are getting more busy towards Q2 and Q3...

Infant care:

The price varies.. mine is $671 after govt subsidy. Some centers charge as high as $1k after govt subsidy. The caregivers are generally ok.... sometimes, you dont really know if they are taking great care of your baby cos afterall, they have 5 to take care of! (the ratio is usually 1:5) So, generally, most of the times, your baby is just lying on the mat, playing by himself..

If you are expecting infant centers to read to your babies, I highly doubt they have the time.. play and sing.. perhaps for a short while....

How is everyone's baby doing with their weaning?

Just updated my bloggie with some fishie recipes for our babies, do check it out! xanga.com/meetscarlett

millie, I used yellow lemon, and last nite I use the same method for my thermopot.. u can find dot sands on the pot's wall and bottom (have to clean it also)

and yes, Iam using the calendula cream for my little Jayden's red patches.

Mamyvelle: Perhaps it's too cold for his liking although the weather was really quite warm yesterday and we went at around 4pm.. I will try again until he gets used to the water.. If weather permits today, will bring them swimming again..

Hi mummies, any one with such experience:

Soiled clothes left in basket till 1 week later then wash.. then realised that the clothes has molds on them??

How to get rid? I tried soaking, and scrubbing, the molds are still there..

<font color="aa00aa">A&amp;A (2as) - Like you said, it was most probably too cold when he hits the water!! Kieran fusses a little when he gets into the water as well, but once he gets used to it, he enjoys himself. We have been bringing him down to the pool to swim almost every weekend since he was about 4 months. See my photos on FB
Would help to get one of the neck tubes or even a smaller version of what ur daugther has (now that the neck is firm) so that he can paddle on his own?</font>

would love to take my bb swimming too but we don't have a pool and it's too much of a hassle bathing and changing her in a public toilet. we've only tried letting her swim in the bath tub but that's really too wasteful!

infant care centres
how do the other babies sleep when one of them starts crying?

Bigtoes: Yah, I think so..
When I only had my girl, I brought her swimming much earlier at abt 4mths too.. Have become lazier with #2.. Haha.. I have arm floats for him but they were deflated and I didn't want wait to inflate them. Will bring them down today..

Xuanting: To save the hassle, once in a while in the bathtub is a great idea..

As for the question on infant crying disturbing others, I think they just learn to get used to it. Just like in the hospital nursery, there're bound to be some babies crying at ant point in time, and the other babies still could sleep through.

Xuanting:
I don know abt other bb, but my ger continue to sleep when other bb is crying.
Actually at infant care, I seldom see bb crying, some cry when they just woke up.

hi mummies ,
been busy with zen today and yesterday ... Zen was down with fever after the vaccination for a day and today his fever disappear and i bought him to collect passport ... a wholesome one and half hour wait ..

I have just settled my booking for airtickets and confirm flying off to shanghai for a period of 2 mths first to try out. Flying off on 6th april

Cleaning of bb toys .. keke ... i asked maid to wipe clean the toys every few days and the soft toys and mattress is change every week .. I cannot stand the saliva n milk smell ..

Flos ,
i thought ur boi ar IL place ... y need to send to infant care ?

A &amp; A ,
so funny your boi expression .... i have not tried Zen yet ... but i am qute sure will be the same face ...

Jasmine and goldfish,
IFC , i thought they are very costly .. have such rate meh ?

Mamyvelle:
The centre name is Ci You locate at whampoa.
well, mine is so cheap is because it is non aircon, found another at toa payoh, after sudsidy, I need to pay $380 and that is aircon. Chose to put at whampoa cos it much nearer to my workplace.
I find it ok, at the most is 12 bb with 3 to 4 caretakers

Just to share Carrefour suntec having promotion on pampers ! I just happen to stumble on it during lunch time. 2 carton for $59.90. Each carton consist of 2 packs of 44 pieces of M size. So is 88 + 88 pieces for $59.90 !

I stock up like 3 carton of M and 3 carton of L and ask for delivery

Not sure when the promotion will end though

OMG.. Price increased on Mead Johnson's formula milk
I used to buy Enfalac A+ at NTUC @ $36.85... now selling $41+...
Enfapro stage 2 is selling $38

SarahMay,

U moved to Macau right? I book airtickets to Macau during Jun holidays liao. Too good to miss the offer. Only need to pay the to Macau trip and the return trip is free. So I only pay $410 for 2 persons, which include the airport taxes and travel insurance. Din get it through Natas fair. Book it online myself.

Now only need to book the hotel. Wonder if you recommend whether Rio Hotel better or Casa Real hotel better? N need to ask u where to buy those goodies like Almond cookies back.

Paiseh, 1st time go Macau. At 1st want to bring my mum and my bb along to HK for 4 days trip. But my mum say bb too young, best not to travel. N me n hubby will miss bb so only going for 3 days 2 nights trip to Macau.

Any mum here travel with bb? Or travel alone with hubby for romantic 2-person getaway?

Actually feel a bit guilty to go on the trip without my bb. But really need a break. Any mummy has same feeling with me?

Dear Ypg:

In fact we did both!

Was in Korea for a good 7 days without baby and now moving onwards to Taipei for 7 days with baby in april!

Its actually rest for us which is past due.. not guilty at all! Enjoyed ourselves thoroughly in Seoul, though we did install fixed webcams so we could see our girl any time of the day, and so made us miss her less.. of cus at the end of the trip, we were both longing for hugs and kisses from our bb so we rushed back from the airport immed!

<font color="aa00aa">momopanda
U can get huggies swim diapers. I saw it once at Toys R US

Driving instructors
Anyone else have good driving instructor to recommend with SSDC? Im still looking for one.. Needs to be English speaking, cos im not Chinese.. :p

yun
i brought my boy for a dip in d public pool when he was 3mths++. He was ok after dat, no rashes n all.. Only water too cold, so he wasn't in d water for very long. About 30mins.. </font>

ypg: hello! yesh...i'm here in macau. well, you should check out http://www.macau.com/en cos they have great deals! there is even a hk-macau ferry package of sorts. my fren used to be the editor and she told me that they work w 95% ofg hotels here and offer better deals than if u book from hotels (except for the big american ones like wynn, venetian). macau goodies are everywhere - senado square on macau island OR rua do cunha in Taipa. I'm prob here in june. if you want, gimme a ring or let me know when u are coming. can perhaps show u around.

u shd prob make a trip down to zhuhai too! good shopping...nice cheap massages and food. how long u going to be here? a trip down to hk will be nice too.

anw ur baby isn't too young to travel. however i wld rec she has done her rota and pneumococcal jabs if travelling. BUT a romantic getaway for u and hubby is very good! i've yet to have that! now, for a few hrs every nite, i'm already happy tt bb is asleep and we can have some couple time.

BLANK CARDS for home-made flashcards:
Wondering if anyone who is staying in the east, tampines esp, who might want to share an order of cards to do homemade GD flashcards???

RED PATCH; phew! thank goodness i'm not alone in having a bb with red patchy cheek! you think i can use desitin? my SIL says can. but i did then i noticed it started drying up.

mei: let me know what your doc says

millie: i dun have the calendula cream. :-(

flos: i don't have desowan. can use fobancort?

yun: thanks for the tip!

ACTIVITIES with baby:i read, sing , do exercises, dance , go for makan w frens, go for walks w baby.

ok will check it out.... thanx!

when you bring your babies for a swim, do you just let them dip in the water or put them on a float?

yun ,
i thought i posted last week that enfalac is going to increase in price thou i dunno how credible the source was ,... i stock up one carton = 12 tins of enfalac 1 for zen .. just in case ..

I have a Fairprice voucher to give away for enfapro A+ stage 2 , PURCHASE 5 cans 9f enfapro A+ 900g at $183 and get 1 Free 900g can.

Means 6cans at $183.
any mummies interested?

chewyring: yeah, but my MIL has wanderlust...she is always finding excuses to go jalan and this extra infantcare duty is really bothering her i can tell.

For the past 3 weeks, she has been coming up with excuses like needing to go to malaysia to see 'voodoo' TCM doctor for her aching shoulders and poor eyesight. THe doctor told her need to go back a few times to cure her ailments and the number of trips is indefinite! Because of that, my hubby and I gotta take turns to apply for leave for the past few weeks, and my MIL is so 'bitchy' aka kuai lan and would not relent or budge even when her son (my hubby) was going overseas for one particular week! She insisted on going despite knowing I'll be alone and cannot take leave! She simply said, your mum cannot take care for u meh?!

THAT"S NOT THE POINT! My Mom has said she is not buying in to such an excuse given by my troublesome MIL! She will not give in to help my MIL take over my son and maid on an indefinite basis, more so when she found out it's not a genuine case of common flu/cold/fever; it is merely an old ailment that got worse because she cannot stop playing her weekly mahjong for long hours (hence the shoulder aches and painful eyes!)

My mom got really mad with my MIL for wanting to go gallivanting in Malaysia, and said she is occupied with taking care of my bro's two babies...well, but of course! My bro gives my mom a token and I don't, so my mom should fulfil her duties to help my bro take care of his two babies. My MIL cannot assume that my mom is forever her backup or covering infantcare centre, when my mom is already bogged down with two babies! It's really sickening that she just tell you, I gotta go to Malaysia, so dont bring your son here on Monday, as and when she wants to go visit that voodoo doctor. There is really no end to these visitations! FED UP!

sarah: I've no idea what medicine u mentioned

mamyvelle: I already got those 6 cans of enfapro.

Flos ,
can understand... try to understand your MIL really have backpain too la ... old people can really get backpain watching over small children ... Last time my MIL everyday complain pain here and there too ..and I can only fetch her to physician at night or sometimes she haev to make the trips there herself .. so pai seh too cos she and maid take care of the little one the whole day ... They really cannot withstand the long hours having to carry and take care of the little one ..