(2008/09) Sep 2008

Jasmine Yeo,
Tik ur ger and my boy got sensitive skin,
My boy used J&J previously and his skin get irritated, then PD gave me "BALNEUM WASH", so far so good. GUARDIAN is selling "BALNEUM BATH OIL" at $18++, but dunno its same or not.
For the rash, my mum said its because of his saliva+sweat+milk = Big heat rash...

my gal is also using cetaphil skin cleanser and moisturing cream. very good. she has mild eczema, same as her daddy.. sobsob. so im apply cetaphil moisturizng cream twice daily after her bath to keep her body moisturise. used to hv a red dry patch on her arm but now no more.

after reading so many mummies washing their soft toys, i just took mine for first wash today. hehe

Halo mummies... Its been soooooo long since i write something here... Heheheh.. Been too busy.

Anyways, im also another lazy mummy. Never wash Lil Q's toys at all!! Hahaha... D thought kinda slipped my mind totally. Meanwhile, my son is busy putting everything he can reach in his mouth. Aiyoh...

Yun
Your baby growing so well. 10.2kg!! Hahahaha!! Must take quite an effort carrying your little one. My baby was 7+ kg when we took him to d PD at 5m2wks. Already my arms so tired. Now hubby carry him most of d time. Heheheh...

Weaning

Have started feeding my Lil Q since last week. Fed him Heinz's egg custard. And he loves it. Wanted to make him my own puree/ baby food but don't know how to. Will start googling receipes from now on... heheheh.. ;p

Anyone using NUK steriliser?
I find that the bottom portion of the steriliser where it holds the water is turning CHAO-DA! (brownish)

I tink it all started off when i did not put enuff water bt after tat i put more than sufficient bt the brownish effect seems more jia-lut? Anyone got similiar prob?

Missy,
Not carry him very often,my wrist already injured(wearing wristband if hav to carry him) use stroller most of the time. Iam not using sling or baby carrier also coz even shoulder also can't tahan.

think my girl is mini compared to most of yours. went for vacinations last sat. 2 days short of 6 months, she is 7kg.

i already cannot take her weight alr. wonder how you mummies managed. hahah

how's life been??!!!

A&A
hmmm..one interesting point from the article you posted form bbcentre -that since the back to sleep campaign was initiated, more bbs are delaying or skipping crawling phase. very intersteting..coz i also read that the Back to Sleep campaign was done wo a single shred of evidence supported by proper research. it was more of a social-political move to start the campaign.

regarding sleeping on back and SID
o yah btw, when a child is smothered between sheets while sleeping on tummy, it's called 'suffocation' not SID.SID is most likely associated with neurological problem.so those beddings we buy with holes for breathing, it's to prevent suffocation, cannot prevent SID

crawling
o, it is important for the development of convergence in sight - for development of writing, reading...also important int eh development of spatial perception, eg perception of depth, distance...

but of course we can argue that the bb will eventually get there

I'lCY: Didn't know there's a difference between suffocation and SID until you bring it up..

Sure the bb will eventually get there, but is the order relevant in the discussion? anyway after talking to the mums at my other thread, felt much more relaxed abt the whole thing now. Most people cope with difficulties that associate with dyslexia. even LKY himself was a dyslexic.

Hi bigtoes, thank you for the links. I'll try to help him move forward, i only see him wriggling his backside with his shoulders on the bed in a prone position, but just cant move forward. And.. mayb its related 2 me putting him 2 sleep very often. hee. I make sure he sleeps at least 16 hours everyday.

thanks A&A, yep. i've heard of crawling for mental development. but i've not heard of crawling by 5 months.. so when i heard it from the ppl at the GD booth, it got me stressed up.. =) cos my baby has been flipping for quite a while liao.. n duno have 2 help him progress..

thanks for all your advises. =)

goldfish
the brown stuff is rust stains or chemical deposits. u need to use kitchen towels to mop away any excess water after each sterilisation to prevent this from happening. also can put some water and lemon juice into the steriliser and just sterilise empty and it should come out.

Tinkerbell ,
Zen feeding 100 ml per fed only .. and about 5 feeds a day .. sometimes he could not finish the 100 ml feed.. No stress man .. as long as he is still growing and smiling and pooing .. haha .. My theory is as long as they are happy and no health issues .. everything is okay !
Feeding cereal ( 2-3 tablespoon ) per feed for twice everyday ..
Waking up ... Zen start to wake up in the night nw .. twice ..this week .. and think it was bcos zac started crying disturbing his little bro .

Bringing zen for injection later but think have to wait till tomorrow .. raining and ouring outside .

hai.. till now baby K doesnt show much interestedin flipping yet netherthe less crawling

any way i tried cereal on him, but how come once i put in FM to stir very fast turn very thick again

I always have been a silent reader of this forum. Hardly post. Mummies, anymore gatherings? I never been to one. One more thing, can i add the Healthy Times brown rice into her milk bottle?

Goldfish
My hubby uses vinegar to sterilise the steriliser every mth.

XuanXuan
My daughter crawl backward too and turn ard herself.

Injured wrists
Any mummies carry baby till hurt the wrist? Any remedy? I went acupuncture (dunno how to spell) once, no cure, i want tui na also no cure. The tui na shi say it wont cure de unless dont carry baby at all. How to dont carry lehz... hais!

My baby gal on CNY
2211069.jpg

jasmine
hihi...your girl's cute!!!i can see a faint dimple coming on!!pretty!

xuanxuan,jasmine
it's normal for bbs to start crawling backwards, once they get the hang of it, they will go forward...my girl only crawls in circle and sideways, like a crab...

tt - on GD
GD has a rather liberal definition on 'crawling'.

crawling - on stomach
creeping (on fours)

when he mentioned crawling, it means a natural inclination to move on stomach/tummy. that is why he mention we should let bbs crawl as soon as they are born, bcoz the bbs would naturally 'move' when you put them on stomach (but that doesnt mean they have the intention of moving from one place to another then)..by around 6mths, when they understand means to ends, then they will move around with intention...that is what we normal people call 'crawling' :?

IICY: Thanks.. According to GD, then my baby is crawling, not creeping yet. Haha..

Xuan, Jasmine: It's normal. Learning to go backwards first is normal for walking and even riding a pushcar backwards..
You'll see..

FTWM
Any of u, ur child is "sticky" to u?

As for me, when I'm at work, mum said she's nt cranky at all.. But once I'm back frm work hear my voice, she'll be cranky... expect me to tend to her...she don even want to slp in her bb cot... Muz slp beside me..

Is it bcz they wants our full attention?

bigtoes: i also dun wash miniflos' toys, bedding bumpers, bloster and pillows!! I do however rinse his new clothes...

Now that he is nearly 6 mths old, i'm more lax...after his 6-in-1 and rota this sat, i'll feel even more 'fang xin'...perhaps we can even consider taking him overseas

<font color="aa00aa">Sri Leo (sri_leo) - i think ur girl behaves like that cos she loves mommy and knows that you would tend to her when she makes abit of a fuss!
Think most babies are like that when it comes to their mom, and you should be flattered! Kieran does that too - will play on his own at the playmat, but once he notices daddy/mommy looking at him (me especially), he would stare at us and go "ngee ngee ngee" and want us to go play with him or pick him up!

Flos (flos)- I only washed a couple of Kieran's colored clothes initially, but have since not bothered. Plus like u say, our babies are getting bigger and stronger now, so can be more 'fang xin'.</font>

bigtoes: and also, i sterilise his milk bottles only once or twice per day. when i open the lid to take out a bottle, i know i'd hv already contaminated the rest of the bottles by doing so...well, i dun re-sterilise...just keep opening and closing the lid until i finish using all the bottles inside that were sterilised hours ago...

Hi Dseptkon + blackberry+ Jasmine! Thanks for ur advice leh! I did not know that nid to do tat one leh! And i remembered my SIL passed me some AVENT CITRIC acid in pkt form and i used it just now and GOSH, all the brown stuff just came off liddat in flakes!! OMG.. i am steaming my bottles all this while!!

Oh, regarding feeding cereal from the bottle, i read from somewhere that it is not encouraged cos’ dun wanna to give the false idea to bb that food is to be taken ‘lying down’ position
Kekek

Btw, anyone start using bb toothpaste now that our bb are on semi-solid though teeth haben erupt???

Thanks to all mummies for reassuring my baby growth rate.. I have started taking fish oil and eating MORE. Intend to drink more tonic soup and hope that he will gain some weight this month.. (keeping my fingers cross.. =I)

Baby Perspire

Any mummy's darling perspire till the whole pillow becomes wet?

My boy actually perspire alot when he is sleeping. I let him sleep on the babysafe infant pillow and now the pillow smells quite bad. He would actually wakes up in the middle of the night sweating even with windows are all open and sleeping under the ceiling fan.

<font color="aa00aa">Tinkerbell Lim (tinkerbell_lim) - My son! He is quite a smelly boy, and perspires quite abit even though we switch the air-con on every nite!
And yes, his winnie the pooh pillow is smelly and u can actually see yellow stains on it. Yucks! He inherited the sweaty head from my FIL and I think it also has something to do with babies not being able to regulate their body heat very well yet.</font>

Tinkerbell Lim
My boy perspire a lot too.

Bigtoes
My boy same as urs, his pillow is also wet even with air-con on. He's also a smelly n sweaty bb.
Normally, i will us a towel to wrap his pillow during the nite, then air the towel in the morning, wash towel two days once n pillow once a week cos it stink.

Tinkerbell, my son perspires a lot too.. I've resorted to buying an air-flow cool mat and pillow for him.. just got it a few days ago so not sure whether its really working.

Flos,
Me too.. I dun sterilise till i finish all the bottles in the steriliser. Most of the time, i sterilise once or twice a day. Actually, not good to sterilise all the time too cos of plastic disintegration.

TInkerbell,
Alston got a sweaty head as well, sometimes his back of the head were quite sweaty after sleeping .

Crawling :
Alston is now able to crawl quite well. Actually he's able to crawl for quite some time, but it's only on the bed prob due to the smooth surface, but not able to do so on the bumper mat (think cos of the rubbery surface). Last Sat, he's successful at crawling on the mat
However, i found out a new technique of his crawling skill last nite. He used his 2 hands to lurge forward as if swimming via butterfly stroke...Babies really know how to invent their own style

afternoon mummies ,
Just brought Zen for his prevnar and 6 in 1 jab .... he never cry for the first jab but scream during the 2nd jab .. so poor thing.
He is 7.4 kg and 67 cm tall ... never grow much in height and weight .. wonder isit bcos of the shifting of place and his droping milk intake these few days ..

Millie ,
My zen just use his legs to push his backside up to a height and rub his face against the mattress .. so funny .. like caterpillar but he doesnt have the strength to advance forward... keke .. so everytime ended up screaming for help

Tinkerbell ,
it is normal for kids to perspire in such weather .. just make sure we wash the pillow often and clean it lor .. in fact every four days , will sun and clean the pillowcase if not very smelly i also cannot stand smelling the head.

Goldfish,
Never tik of those brownish stuff in the bottom of the steriliser until I saw ur posting.
Went to buy a lemon just now, and put half of it into the steamer.. and really .. GOSH...then when I open, it smell lke chao da.

whew, thought mine's the only one with the smelly head! they really do sweat buckets! and with all that massive drooling and reduced intake these days, it's amazing how they can still stay hydrated.

xuanting, limay and other mummies
eh, not all bbs are smelly, my ch smells like she looks...sweet
(kekekeke - bu yao lian)

crawling
ch crawls sideways...she uses her arms to guide her...strange, always thought the crawling track is supposed to encourage crawling forward!

Hello all mummies pro..
My baby is coming to 6mths. Can anyone share what activities do you do at home between 7am-7pm?

Hi Yun
Hahha..chao da? I never use lemon method leh. U put half a lemon inside and cook it inside the sterilizer or u squeeze the lemon juice out?
Mine got brown flakes coming out when I use my nail to scratch it.. it comes off so easily and YUCKS!

Btw, mama, anyone of u experienced slight yellow or brown stains on bb clothes if it has not be worn for quite some time?

I intended to keep some small-size bb clothes away in the cupboard liao loh.. bt scare next time I take out turn ALL YELLOW
What is the best way to keep huh??

HI mummies..
Anyone of u can recommend any private driving inctructor at SSDC??

And btw, Auto or Manual easier for us ladies? I need to get driving license ASAP... Will change job location soon, plus wif Lil Q, am considering to purchase a car soon. Hehehehheh.. ;p