(2008/09) Sep 2008

a good website to share on nursing room available at shopping malls

http://mumcentre.com/index.php?option=com_essentials&cid=4

was at suntec the other day checking with the info counter but they say they don't hv nursing room??!! ended up i had to change bb in the changing station in the toilet. some ladies actually played with my gal when i was changing her.

din bring bb to watch movie in the end coz my concern is also the same as some of the mummies here. scare we cant enjoy the movies and also scare her screams will disturb others. she likes to scream nowadays. especially when we are having dinner outside. :0

Baby growth

Would appreciate if anyone could give me some advice as i'm getting kinda worried.

Brought my boy for vaccination yesterday and realise there's no growth (increase) in his height and weight as compared to last month. (ok, maybe 1 cm increase for his height) he is currently on tbf and is taking about 800+- as per 24 hours = 150ml; 6 feeds)

PD advice was to start him on semi solids as he say that my bm do not have enough calories. Can anyone advice whether if this is true? i mean not enough calories in my bm? (even though i have been taking lots of meat in my diet.) is there anyway to "improve" the quality of my bm or should i start him on formula? as i still hope to only start him on semi solids only when he is 6 months.

Please advice.

<font color="aa00aa">Tinkerbell Lim (tinkerbell_lim) - Don't worry too much k. The growth won't be even, and there would be months of growth spurt and months where he doesn't grow as much. How heavy and long is ur son now? Kieran went for his 6-in-1 on Friday evening, and he weights 8.5kg and is 67cm long. Kinda heavy for his age, but very active, and i can already see him getting abit less chubby. He just turned 6 months and i intended to start him on HT rice cereals yesterday, but because of the vaccination, my PD told us to only start next week.

He is also on TBF, and on about 800-900ml a day. On your BM "not having enough calories", just check on the chilled BM in the fridge and see how thick the later of fats is? I am not on any special diet, but my BM is still very fatty - think fish oil helps, so you might want to take some.

Hiyall!
Have been a silent reader for the past few weeks cos' nothing to contribute.. life is routine loh

But, yesterday we started with rice cereal wif bb. There was a conflict of opinions cos' HB say feed the cereal before bb finish the milk, but i told him i read from somewhere is to finish the milk first den cereal wor. So who is right huh? U all be my jury leh

And for the first few days, it is onie ONCE a day, with 1 or 2 teaspoon rite? Do u all do it more than one feed per day?

And hoh, do u all still stick to the feeding routine now wif cereal huh?

hi tinkerbell, 800ml+ sounds alright to me too. i've noticed that babies' growth in length seem to taper off around this time too; before this mth (5th), my bb was growing abt 4cm a month but at last visit, she only grew 2cm from the mth before. not just mine but i think several other bbs in this thread are like that too... if u're reluctant to start him on semi-solids, do try improving/supplementing your diet like bigtoes suggested?

<font color="0077aa">Goldfish: Both are right! You can feed before or after the milk. In the begining I feed in between cos I want him not to feel so hungry &amp; become fussy about the new stuff. And I didn't feed after cos later ge is not full &amp; don't want my cereal. But now he is ok with cereals I feed him before his milk feeds.

tinkerbell ,
My zen drinking about 500 ml max per day and two feeds of cereal ... he has been a small drinker since birth but since he is still growing and happy with the small amt .. i just dun bother myself too much ... zen even on milk strile one day with 6 -8 hrs refusing milk .. keke and end up with 300 ml that day .

Mamyvelle, I didn't buy the magazine...so, only have 10% discount.

Chewy ring, really ar? I just stocked up few tin and enfapro last week. 500ml consider small drinker? My boy also only drink more and less 500ml per day...I felt that my boy quite short leh, only 25% on height.

chewyring: yesh, they mutually disturb each other!! haha

tinkerbell: 800ml is ok what...mine also drinks 800-1000ml per day. my bb only grew 1.5cm from 4th mth to 5th mth...i'm not worried at all...

goldfish: my PD says feed cereal then FM. I think it makes sense cos the beverage helps to wash down the semisolids mah...also i will pour the leftover cereal (i use spoon to feed first) into the FM and bottlefeed my bb the thick 'concoction' through the Avent variable airflow teat (for thicker liquids).

Since u r weaning, your priority shd be to save his stomach for the cereals rather than fill it half-full with the FM; sekali he cannot stomach the cereal after u stuff him with the FM?

blackberry: hv u started phasing in enfapro already? cannot just switch suddenly, must progressively intro the stage 2, starting with the midday feeds. u still need to feed with enfalac for half of the total daily feeds for 1 week, slowly phase it out and replace with enfapro for all feeds by end of week 2. And, dun intro enfapro when he is taking those major jabs that week, cos it might cause him to feel quesy.

Hey storeberry
Ah, i thot can onie feed bb after a feed wor. How many times did u feed ur bb wif cereal now? Still got alot of ??? hanging in the air.. hopefully 2mr the infant care teachers can enlighten me more

Oh, how u all wash bb mouth now when they are on semi solids?

Hi Bigtoes,

My boy was 7.5kg and and 67cm when he went for his 4th month vaccination. And yesterday, 5th month, he was only 7.6kg and 68cm. PD mentioned that he should be around 8kg this month and due to no increase in his growth, he actually advice me to start him on semi solid.

I was also told that with his 150ml intake of milk is on the low side.. so kinda stress lor.. cos at times, my boy can’t even finish his whole bottle of milk and starts to reject after 100ml.

Gal, can you share with me what is the brand of fish oil you taking and where can I purchase them?

Hi Xuanting / Flos,

Its actually his weight that I’m really concern. Sometimes I do feel that I am actually force feeding him cos he would take an hour to finish his bottle of milk. Sigh..

I really envy those mummies whose babies just gulp down their bottle of milk in 10 minutes every feed.

actually tinkerbell.. my boy also taking 150ml per feed (5 feeds/24hrs = 750ml) only... there were a peroid where he oso didn't put on much weight and didn't grow taller either..

but i took him for his 6-in-1 jab last weekend when he is 5 months... he actually put on about 600g and grew taller by 4.5cm.. think its growth spurt so no worries.. my boy is abt 7.16kg and 65.5cm..

just started him on cereal over the weekend.. but i realise he is taking less than 1 tablespoon.. maybe coz i feed him after his milk feed...

coz i tried feeding him before the cereal but after a few mouthful. i think he go too hungry to patiently wait for the spoon to go to his mouth and he actually grab my spoon! haha so ended up giving him about 120ml of milk first(the remaining 30ml i used to mix the the cereal) then follow by the remaining cereal..

but well.. planning to take it slowly but i realise he is getting better at sucking the food off the spoon and swallowing the food... so much so that i think he must be feeling that how come mommy is so slow ..hahaha but well.. we shall continue over next weekend.. =)

hi tinkerbell,

My boy is 7.2kg and 68cm. My pedi said he's ok. =) But anyway, he has been on the smaller side since he was born. And I am still on TBF, so I duno how much he drinks. He drinks mainly 4 times a day w/o solid yet.

Just wanna check here if it anyone here started their baby on the glutinous rice with e si sen ting? Cos I haven start with solid. I was told 2 start with rice cereal.

And.. has anyone's baby started 2 crawl? Cos I was at the Glen Doman booth. The guy said my baby shd have started crawling already since he is coming 6 mths.. so i got a bit stress...=P so came here ask.

Hi Tinkerbell,

Like you, initially I was worried because my son has only put on 100grams since last month.
Evan is now 5 and half months old, 8.1kg, 68cm.
He takes 5 tablespoons of HT Brown rice 2x a day plus 170ml every 3 hours but he is not gaining weight so I brought him to the GP.
My GP says Evan is already in the 90th percentile for weight and it is normal for growth to slow down after the 4th month.
Most importantly is that he is healthy, alert and reaching his milestones...

Hi Tinkerbell, Cordelia, C.Ttt, Jeraldin &amp; Bigtoes

My boy went for his 6in1 jab on fri.
He now weight 9.45kg n lenght 70cm, compare to u gals bb think my is much much big size n overweight.
he now estimate feeding is abt 150ml every 4 hr.

Flos: Thanks for your advised.I'm really don't know must progressively intro the stage 2. I not yet change to Enfapro, he just 5 mth 3 weeks now. I also still have quite many tins of Enfalac. Yesterday I let him tried the rice cereal, just few mouth..he will open mouth to eat, but hor will throw out later on..seem he don't know swollow...The remaining I put into his milk to let him taste the cereal.

Bigtoes, I also realise my BM not 'fatty' , maybe due to I am stop taking fish oil?

hi mummies... got an urgent question to ask -- my son is 21 weeks and have started on cereal 4.5 tablespoon 2X a day...he has responded well to milk feeds be4 even on cereal, and will drink 100ml every 3-4 hours (even in early morning 1am, 5am etc). these few days he has been on strike and refuse to drink during the early morning feeds.. i am wondering if it is a normal thing?

yun, how is heat rash like? I dunno if my dd also having heat rash as she keeps getting red spots with a small raised bump in the middle on her face, arms, back &amp; tummy area! I'm getting very worried but she din cry or become cranky so dun think it itch. Then they disappears in awhile but again appears in another part of the skin...

<font color="aa00aa">Tinkerbell Lim (tinkerbell_lim) - I think ur PD is stressing u unnecessarily! 8kg by 5 months is actually quite heavy. At exactly 5 months, Kieran was 8kg, and even then, i think he was on the 90th percentile for the weight chart and the PD did comment that he is very solid (i.e. fat!). You are feeding ur son 150ml during how many hours of interval? If he drinks EBM, Kieran only takes 120ml max every 3 hours, even lesser during the nite (like 80ml once or max twice a nite). So pls don't 'force feed' your son, else he would be fearful when it comes to meal times!

Tinkerbell Lim (tinkerbell_lim)&amp; blackberryB (blackberryb) - There are several fish oil brands in the market. I am taking 100% pure fish oil from Kordels (you can get this from Robinsons). Used to take 2 capsules per day since I found out i was preggers, but cut down to 1 per day now cos my BM looks too fatty.

C. Ttt (ttt) - I am precisely avoiding teachings like Glen Doman's etc...very stressful to expect babies to all start crawling by 6 months! Kieran started crawling (mainly backwards) when he was 5 months, but without any prompting by us. Since then, he hasn't been too keen to crawl but wants to progress to walking (some babies don't crawl but just move on to walking - so many your baby is one of those also?) Anyways, you need to just let your baby grow up at his own accord - eventually all babies catch up anyways!

mrsseng (mrsseng)- wow, ur son is a good weight!

I agree wit Bigtoes..

Last Sat went for DD vaccination. DD weigh less than 8kg but nurse said BB weight on the right track..

=============================================

Btw gd morning to all of u...

Long time nvr chat here hor...hehehe..

<font color="0077aa">Goldfish: I feed baby only once a day cos now he just past 6mths so am not feeding him more than once a day. Yes, now I feed before milk feeds but before then I make sure he take his mailk 1st (about half of it) then introduced cereals. Mine still got alot leh, cos I gave him sweet potatoes last week..

Tinkerbell Lim (tinkerbell_lim): I don't think you should be too worried. My boy only drinks 140ml every 4hours but he is growing well so am not too affected by it. I think youd boy is of a good weight! Mine is only about 7.5kg but he look chubby dubby!</font>

Tinkerbell:
Not to worry, my ger 5mth n 2wk old weight 6.6kg measure at 64cm. The nurse at polyclinic never say anything.
storeberry:
ur boy drink 140ml every 4 hr? u feeding him ceral?
my ger just increase her intake from 150ml to 180ml, drinking at an average every 3hour. (sometime she fell asleep n skip her feeding.)I don really give her ceral yet, abt 1 to 3x a week only.

Back track to soft toys :
How often do u gals wash the soft toys ?

Throwing away of milk bottles :
Have u gals thrown away any milk bottles yet ? I heard that it's advisable to throw away milk bottles after 3-6mths usage cos of the plastic thingy. Can anyone advise ??

<font color="aa00aa">Millie (millie22)- Am guilty of not washing Kieran's soft toys yet! Then again, he puts way dirtier things into his mouth - for instance, his mattress is besides the curtains in our room, and he has munched on these curtains which i have not washed for umpteen years!

On milk bottles - I have thrown out teats after about 2 months, but not milk bottles. Am using the Medela BPA-free bottles for all his feeds, so these (and glass bottles) should be fine, but for non-BPA free brands, i think it would be best to replace them every couple of months cos heating would disintegrate the plastic and release toxins?</font>

Hi, can I check if anyone's baby is trying to stand? How do you prevent him from standing too long?

Miow: You want medela PIS advanced tubings? I have an extra set from the dingdong spree. Will let go to you at whatever I paid her if you want, which I think is less than $15. Let me know and I'll let you know the exact amt. Thanks..

Bigtoes, ttt: I read it's no good to let the baby skip the crawling stage. Cos the baby might develop deslexia - confusion of the "b"s and "d"s etc. According to the experts, crawling is a highly complex neurological development and if the baby skips it, may impede this development.
There're some useful tips on how to encourage the bab to crawl in the link below. I try to shake his rattler or teether in front of him to get him to kick off..
http://www.babycenter.com/0_developmental-milestones-crawling_6501.bc

bacon&amp;egg, dun think its food allegy cos she's been eating the same food.. i'm thinking its heat rash cos after bathing, she got ALOT appearing, then after 30mins or so, disappear again.. But the red spots look VVV scary! Only that she din cry or make a fuss if it really did cause her any discomfort.

Bigtoes, u dun wash the soft toys?? BB K munches on ur curtains?! wow!!! Then i'm abit relieved cos little A ytd went to lick the table when we were having dinner at a foodcourt!!!

<font color="aa00aa">A&amp;A (2as)- I am not sure if Kieran will skip crawling completely and move on to walking, but he definitely seems more keen to stand up and walk/jump around. He has however been crawling backwards since he was about 5 months. That counts as crawling no?

This is the 1st time I am hearing about the link between dyslexia and not crawling. My sister's son skipped the crawling stage and went on to walking at 7 months too, but he reads perfectly well
Anyway, I think i am a very laissez-faire mommy - will let Kieran does as he pleases, be it walking or crawling.

yan (bbfam)- Yes, i don't want to be overly concerned about hygiene and bring Kieran up in a too sterile environment. Don't wash his new clothes or toys or sterilize the milk bottles. Of cos, i don't purposely let him munch on the curtains, but he pulls them and chews on them occasionally. I am sure some moms would be appalled, but so far, he has been a healthy and happy baby

Bigtoes, I'm surprised! But also keeps my mind at rest so i dun keep thinking abt it when A puts dirty stuff into her mouth. At least i would know she's not the only one!

<font color="0000ff">Bigtoes
I second with what u mentioned. I'm oso not too concerned about hygiene but den sometimes too extent already lah. I let Max chew on his soft toys (which I know I shouldn't coz of all the 'fur) and he likes to pull n try to munch on the cot bumper which I lay between his mattress and the hole under my bed to fill up the gap. So can imagine how much dust is accumulated there... oops.. now i feel guilty</font>

Little Jayden went to his 6months 6in1 jab today
He weighed 10.20kg and 68.5cm long, only gain 800gram for this 2months.

Yan, hehe.. my son also lick the baby chair at the restaurant yesterday...
But I didn giv him soft toys to play... he got sensitive nose as his Dad I tik.. keep sneezing to those fabric..
As for the rash.. I dunno how to describe it leh .. Its appeared at the neck and face, I tik its itchy coz DD will crying in the middle of the nite and scratch his lower face/ears.. after put on powder.. now the rash is subsided liao.
By the way, got the cream "GENTRIDERM" from PD just now

GAIA, has been asking GAIA for disc rate.
Must order $600 or more then get 25% disc..

Hi...am starting to wean my baby this week. Will start with rice cereal. I wanted to ask if anyone has tried getting brown rice cereal with 'sisen' from the medical halls. I went to one medical hall at Jurong Pt to enquire and she was adding all these herbs to the brown rice and it came up to $42 for 2kg brown rice + sisen,'pao shen', etc etc. (Can't remember). Advise pls? I was just thinking of starting her on the normal healthy times brown rice cereal.

Bigtoes: Not many is aware of the link between the 2. I was told of it by a friend in this field. Because of the complex coordination of the 4 limbs, crawling aids brain development. You can check with your PD next time you bring K for vaccination. My 2 nephews skipped the crawling stage. For the elder boy, his teacher at school had to write b and d on his right and left hand to help him differentiate between the 2.

My boy takes any chance he has to stand now to my dismay. He's using his buttocks, legs and hands to creep forward but I would like to see him crawl properly (ie on hands and knees) before moving on to pulling to stand, standing and then walking in the proper order.

Much as I let him do as he pleases, I try to guide him in his developments. By the way, I'm a strong advocate of the GD method.

Yun: Your baby is heavy at 10.2kg! Wow! He's the super heavy-weight then..

You baby could have eczema. My baby does. He's got 2 round pink patches to the right and left of his mouth, and he likes to rub his hands on his face as if to scratch the itch. He would wake up at night due to the itch I think. We're applying a thin layer of a mild steroid cream twice daily on the affected areas. His condition has improved a lot and he could sleep through the night without waking up last night.

A&amp;A,

Yah my boy also likes to rub his hands on his face and mouth, but PD didn mention eczema to me leh.. just ask me to apply cream to the affected area.
My mum said that is "superbig heat rash" hahaha...

Hi A&amp;A, what a big boy..can have a sumo match with mine liao.
waw.. ur boy seems can stand quite steady
Mine definitely can't stand like that.

Yun: My ger also got a big patch of reddness at her neck, at 1st i tot was milk rashes, so when we go to see doc for her flu, we get cream that also. But as time goes by the rashes did not get better and her skin tend to come off. It was till lst wk when I bring her to polyclinic for jab, then the nurse introduce another cream. So far so gd, we can see her neck is getting better. Thinking to change her shower form. she now using johnson &amp; johnson. Any recommendation?

Yun: When we weighed him at 4mths, he's 8.2kg. No where near 10kg yet leh. Looks can be deceiving.. Kekeke..
He needs to brush up on his crawling first.. Cos no good to walk before crawling properly.. But of course it'll be some time from being to stand to being able to walk..