(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi all~~!

Jaymickey, Little A also keep looking at me hoping to catch my eye when I'm busy at the study table, then wait for me to smile at her then she smile back n turn away, then look at me again to catch my smile. Simply adorable & lovely feeling!!

Have done her passport straight away after her full month party. Since then have been bringing her to JB most of the time, but this weekend will be the best so far as we are bringing her to an overnight trip at KL for a relative's wedding!! Am very excited for this is her first time staying overnight outside Singapore. Yay~~! Looking forward to that. Except the fact the MIL will also be joining us, hope I can survive the car trip over and back...

Lanolin, agree with you. We get back to work on monday feeling more tired than before we go on leave. But then the extra day off I took on friday went by pretty fast, and the weekend went by in a flash where i realised i have not had enough time to accompany baby..

Bigtoes, i also print little a's photos at home and display in the office. Am using canon's all in one printer and the photo printed out are v nice! I love canon's camera & printers except have been duped to buy olympus's camera, regretted big time!! Anyway, before she 'transformed', i kept thinking why my baby looked soo weired without eyelash/eyebrow etc.. but that time too scared to voice out.. haha!!

Rabbit, I also had little a's photo as my mobile, office and home computer. Even my boss always comments on my wallpapers when I change them as she loves babies!!

Breadmum, how to wake up at 5am daily?! I need to learn to wake up earlier (plus hubby too) as I'm always late for work nowadays. And my hubby even later as he had to send me to work even when it's very inconvenient for him.

yes i am feeding him paracetomal. The paracetomal was given to me by PD the last time when baby M went for injection..... We never use it at that time...

Well, being mummy really not easy... Beside the schedules, the work, the early hours..when the baby is sick, we also worried like mad.

So far, i have yet to put any photo on my desk
Guess i am too used to hotdesking system during my consulting days where there is no fixed seat... Hence now, even i no longer in consulting i still maintain a clean desk policy... But i loaded Baby M video and picture on the work laptop ... hee hee

Flos, me me.. baby J automatically flips while sleeping and i ended up didn't sleep well for a few nights until i decided to put her with us so that we can rotate to check on her.. that's so much easier and can sleep better too..

lanolin, in fact i have been feeling giddy, heavy head since sat when i had to carry my "2 pack of rice" around.. even the V-day dinner i wasn't very keen cos i was very tired. but hb booked so i just go. Plus this J was making so much noise until i almost lose my cool and i wanted to dump her in her pram and push her away from me.. lucky my hb carried her to walk around.

hi Flos,
mine flip all over when she sleeps. one moment on her tummy and next on her back..180 degrees turn etc.

hi lanolin,
I am still thinking abt the logistics part..so far, have not travelled. Perhaps will get maid and hubby to take care..see how long hb can bear with the night duty. We are training her to wake up at 6 plus after her midnite feed. Decide to give it a try and see if i can cope with the emotions of being away from her.

hi yan, bigtoes, jojobar etc, think we are simply addicted to our bb photos...just brighten up our days and give us the extra energy that we need.

I really admire those mummies who works, take care of their bb and does the hsework..PeiFu. Especially SAHM.

hi jojobar,
hope baby M will recover soon.

Flos:
my ger also. Since she know how to flip, patting her to sleep on bed seem to be fighting. Once put her down, she flip, flip her back, flip again. If i just ignore her, she will just turn her head left n right, sometime, she rub her face again the mattress, then start to cry. flip her back, she will flip back again. end up, have to carried her, pat her to sleep before putting her down. sometime, in the mid of the nite, she will flip over, but she know to turn her head, if she really uncomfortable with it, she start to cry.
there is one time, she sleep n flip over, then her daddy saw it, the 1st thing he do, touch her, see whether is she still breathing, then wake me up, asking me want to flip her over.
Since then I put a pillow beside her to stop her from flipping.

kym .
-6 // wow ..... must be cold ... i cannot stand such temp .. little scar went with u ?

Flos ,
i use two small pillows to " kiap" him .. forcing him to slef one side at night .. and after the dream feed at ard 2am , i will turn him the other side to balance out .. keke ..he cannot flip this way ... cannot even move cos i already corner him .

Talking about maid ... will let her have her well deserved off days .. in fact she is on such good terms with my auntie maid next door ( since i shifted to mums place last week ) that they are planning the celebration together ... the maid next door very free .. and cook lunch for us soemtimes when we are too tied up with children .. haha ...

yan - initially getting up was tough. but now, once he is up, we are up else sure late for work. hee hee...we've been late before, then with the PIE morning peak traffic jam. Its tiring. So now we also sleep early so that we all all recharged.

working mummies
kudos kudos!!!

i suck at suffering, that's why im sahm
when i was working, i had to wake at 5am to bf my fb/cy. then have to also wake up at night for nightfeeds cz of his weight issue...so i wentr part time after that, then still couldnt take the travelling to and fro so gave up working eventually..so peifu mummies who are still there!!

your bbs will defeintely appreciate it one day!!!

breadmum - u really are v strong and inspire me! You still do night pumps right? I'm officially 24/7 cabbaging already.. gross, esp that day got retreat at work and everyone had to wear same T-shirt design and mine was tight-fit.. had bumps la so awful!

Anyway, really need the cabbages.. life saver esp now I am easing off night pumps and dragging to 5.5 hrs interval (abt 4 pumps a day). Get about 180ml each pump and I don't bother emptying coz already spend like half hour slowly massaging.. sigh.. u take care, dun get engorged, once u get it, quite tough.... i'm now perpetually scared I get it again..

chewyring- two pillows to kiap bb? that's a good idea. I find the bean pillow very useful. It acts likes a stopper. He'd cry when the pillow gets stuck below his tummy as he flips. That way, he wakes me up.

jasmine-your bb is really vey active...shiong...i just couldn't sleep...I need to use Chewyring's method tonight.

jaymickey: I also co-sleep with bb, but still i need to wear my glasses (I'm 750 degrees blind!) to check if his nose is pressed agst the mattress...I usually put my finger under his nose to check for breath, followed by his navel to check for movement...its really unnerving to see his face pressed agst the mattress a few times last nite!! aiyo...When I flipped him back onto his back, he would flip back again, after I fall asleep...tsk tsk... I've to do this cos my hubby sleeps like a pig! I'm a lighter sleeper.

chewyring.. Same method!! haha I oso use 2 bolster to Kiap EJ so that he can't flip and he is forced to sleep on his back.. but his head will turn left and right... so i nv turn him coz he oso dun wake up for night feed le

but then..somehow he will move upwards and get away from the bolster... and by morning.. around 7 - 7.30am when he wakes up... he will have enough space to flip after he finished stretching himself!

I consider myself quite a lucky mom with my understanding boy... i normally wakes up at 7am to get ready for work and will feed him at 7.30am before changing his diaper and getting ready to my aunt place who is taking care of him... leave the showering to my aunt... so no morning shower for me..

anyway i was thinking of giving him a quick bath at 8pm or 8.30pm every night before he sleeps.. coz he tends to jump alot after his 6.30pm feed and sweat alot... whole botak head is wet one...
is the timing too late??

<font color="0077aa">Rabbit, I totally agree with you!! I had a bad day at work but when I went home this evening, talk to my smallberry &amp; he giggle &amp; smile at me, I really felt really blessed! He takes my unhappiness &amp; troubles away!

Jaymickey: Yah, I think our baby knows we are their mummy. Cos when I came back from work &amp; usually I will wash my feet &amp; hands before I carry smallberry &amp; when I walk off, he will start to fuss cos he wants my attention! And today cos I want to bond with him while pumping, I talk to him &amp; he always gave me a big wide smile!

I am definitely sleep deprived!! Smallberry is wakin up at 2am again!! Gosh!!

No photos at my desk but in my laptop! So I can stare at him everyday! Haha!

Chewyring: Wow, your next door maid very free!! Kekek..</font>

flos : baby E flips over a lot too. at first i was quite worried and tried to flip her back when she was sleeping, but she became super grouchy and flipped back on her front again. she sleeps a lot on her front nowadays... I do check on her once in a while to see if she is breathing!! haha. but i figured as long as she can adjust her own head position and cry for help when she can't, it is ok...

back to work : i am going back to work on monday... not too sure what will happen but i will sure miss Baby E a lot. already started compiling a little photo album to take along to work so can look at it when i miss her...

Lack of sleep
I'm so exhausted and SLEEPY! This few days wake up 5-6 times to feed or pat the little boy. Don't know why keep waking up? Also can't finish his milk in 1 time..drink 40ml then 1 hour later drink 30ml...

hi mummies who are feeding their bb solid feed - do ur bb get constipated and poo is v hard? I have been feeding my bb brown rice cereal for 2 weeks and now he is on 4.5 tablespoon, try feeding him 10ml apple juice 1X a day...last nite hb said bb tried to poo but cant and have hard stools... wonder if it is the brown rice cereal...

Jeraldin
I have been bathing my baby twice a day since he was 2 months old. Once in the morning at 9am &amp; once at night at 9pm.. so long as you keep the room warm, it should be fine.

Storeberry
Baby D is also waking up at 3 to 4am every night now!! So not used to it as he has been sleeping through. Have you started Smallberry on solids? I am guessing D is ready for solids, that's why he keeps waking up at night.

Jaymickey,
We brought Alston together for our so called Valentine's dinner (We decided to go hotel buffet dinner on Sun instead of Sat as I dun wanna to be "kan cai tou" as menu is normally overpriced on V day. He slept initially but later woke up and wanted us to carry all the time. So no choice, hubby n i took turn to carry him.

Breadmum,
I wake up slightly later than u daily. My waking time is 530am and i try to pump the bal milk before showering myself and leaving hse at 605am. I need to catch co transport bus at 615 to workplace at Tuas. Nowadays, there are 1 or 2 days where i am too lazy to drag myself out of bed so end up late for work. Furthermore, i need to wake up 1 or 2 times during wee hrs to milk bb . Super tired during weekdays , luckily hubby's aunt ( caregiver) is staying at my hse during week day, but she has the freedom to bring Alston anywhere during the daytime.

Aquaducks/ Marsden:
Pls count me in for the private class for east side bb too

Storybooks :
Mummies, any recommendation of any story book that is suitable for bb at this stage now ?

Blackberry,
Alston is also rejecting milk nowadays. He drinks 100-125ml every 3hrs, but sometimes, he will puke out the milk if he doesn't feel like drinking. I will feed the bal after 15min or half an hr later. Not sure myself what is the reason behind for the lesser milk intake.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Lack of Sleep</font>
I'm getting a lack of sleep too... Max cries in his sleep every few hours. Tot he might be hungry but after patting for awhile, he goes back to sleep.. and the cycle continues.

Some more... these few days he has been waking up at 7. haha.. usually he sleeps till 8+...

but the good thing is.. he's back to sleeping thru the nite again (apart from the crying a few times a nite). Not sure if it's good coz on the one hand i'm glad i do not have to wake up to make milk (not that I get to sleep through tho, yet on the other hand, i'm afraid he won't have enough)

<font color="ff0000">Vanilla pod 2</font>
From what I gathered, brown rice are actually heaty so You would have to feed baby lotsa water after they take brown rice. My boy is taking 5 tablespoons of brown rice twice a day and I make sure he drinks about 100ml of water daily. So far... he poos everyday if not once every 2 days</font>

hi sasa -- thanks..wow 100ml of water is alot. My boy drinks 100ml of milk each feed..so i worry if i give him too much water his little tummy will be full and he will reject my milk! He poos everyday but it was at 2am that he constipated and cried cos tummy ache.

sasa, is brown rice heaty? no wonder baby E never poo for two days... but thats a lot of brown rice! is that the recommended amt for babies our age?? I was afraid Baby E was allergic to it, so have only been giving 1-2 teaspoons.

lack of sleep : baby E also woke up at 3 plus last night! she normally sleeps through. spent 1 hour pacifying her and later gave up and nursed her to sleep. maybe she is really ready for more solids. ok i try to feed her more today. :p

100 ml of water, sasa?! that is really a lot of water...5 tbsp of brown rices twice a day!!! How many weeks is your lil bb?

momopanda/chewyring: i placed the bean pillow on his tummy, so he couldn't quite flip...

storeberry: i'm no photo of my miniflos on my office desk, but I've his pics in my laptop. I need full concentration at work!!!

Millie/Sasa, day time still ok, 2 times installment! Last few weeks is ok, only wake up at 2am and 5am or 1am and 4am...I really envy those baby can sleep through the night. Since I give birth till now, I never never sleep more than 4 hours in one short. Eventhrough my hubby will feed or pat him, but it still disturbing my sleep, maybe I am light sleeper...
I just started let my boy drink water using Mag Mag Cup!He only able to drink 20ml whole day!

Sasa: Is it you ask before that use existing blender to make puree? What is the answer ar?

Limay, Me too! I got 2 pix of baby at my desk and a family photo of the 3 of us. Really heartwarming to see the pix esp when you are really stress up at work!

Wow, breadmum, your baby is really an early bird! wake up so early!Does baby wake up so early on a weekend too?

Every mor, baby will wake up at 6+ the earliest. Then i will change his diaper, feed him &amp; play with him for a while before passing him to MIL. There are days that he will sleep late too, so end up missing the time to bond with him. I took 2 months maernity leave and have the remaining 2 months to clear slowly, which i'm doing so by taking a day off every week to take care of him. After work when i reach home, it's bonding time with him again as my MIL is more relieve that she doesn't have to look after him. I usually try to clear everything quickly for, so that i could leave on the dot &amp; spend more time to baby. There was once that i have to entertain my client and have dinner with her. Throughout the whole dinner, i kept calling home and check on baby and could hardly concentrate on having my dinner at all! As for weekend, i took care of him on my own and it's really tiring coz baby is an early bird who can wake up as early as 6am! Even though with this arrangement, i can feel that baby can still regonise me as his mom and only MIL &amp; I was allow to feed &amp; bathe him. Hubby was only allowed to play with him. Like for example last night, he woke up at 2am to drink his milk. Hubby was still awake so he offered to feed him instead. But baby refused to let hubby feed him, so in the end, got to take over instead. It's really taxing at times, but i feel very relieve that baby prefer me more than his dad. Even hubby was complaining that baby only wants me and he gets very upset when baby chose me instead of him.

Jojobar, my boy also having fever last night after his 5th month jab. He was very cranky before he sleep and kept waking up before he finally fall into a deep sleep.

Flos,jaymickey, you can get a sleep positioner for baby. I realised my baby likes to flip when he is sleeping too. Hence, i went to get one from the 1st few years last night. It is about $20+.

<font color="aa00aa">lanolin (lanolin) - I am using a Canon Selphy photo printer.

yan (bbfam) - what's wrong with Olympus? I am using a Casio Exlim for my digicam which is idiot-proof and really compact
(credit card size) and hubby has one of those bulky Canon SLR with all the accessories.

Flos (flos) - think babies feel more secure sleeping on their tummy. Baby K didn’t use to do that when he was younger, but once he started flipping, he also has the habit of sleeping on his tummy. Sometimes, he ends up doing his tummy time and wakes up…so we usually place heavy pillows beside him to prevent him from flipping.

sasa (sasa_xie)- wow 100ml of water is a lot! The most baby K has drunk was 20ml in one sitting - I just introduced him to water a couple of days back cos he is on TBF, and he is still not too keen on the taste of water. Usually end up pushing the teat around his mouth and smiling at us!</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Vanilla Pod 2</font>
of coz 100ml in a day lah... he wake up den let him suck suck abit lor.. not all at once.. hehe.. he'll be very full oso.

I have to give my boy alot of water.. coz i dun feed him milk after his cereal. I juz mix the milk powder in the cereal den add water.. so as compared to his usual intake of milk in a bottle.. the water quantity is not enough..

aiyoh... i think his tummy muz have hurt badly. poor thing

<font color="ff0000">momopanda</font>
eerrmm..... 5 tablespoons for Healthy Times cereal is for 1 serving. It's what's stated on the box. In fact.. it's nvr enough for my boy. If i give him lesser den that.. he will cry after i give him his last spoon.. like as tho he wants some more.. den no choice gotta make some more..

Brown Rice is very very heaty... so give water k..

<font color="ff0000">Flos</font>
my little one?? He's turning 6 mths on thur
as explained to momopanda, 5 tablespoon is for 1 serving as mentioned on the Healthy Times box. In fact.. doesn't seem to be enough for Max

<font color="ff0000">BlackberryB</font>
haha... i decided to get the U-like one.. but haven found time to go and buy yet wor..

<font color="ff0000">Bigtoes</font>
haha... actually Max oso.. he usually ends up biting the teat and pulling it out.. think his gums are really itchy..</font>

Breadmum, must learn from u the art of sleeping n waking early. Usually I need to settle my hubby's paperwork till 1-2am on most nights(although weekdays are set to ard 2-3days max) so really cannot drag myself up in the middle of the night or early morning. Today late again lo.. hopefully i can get to bed before 12am tonight and be on time tml for work...

Bigtoes, I was using canon digicam before my hubby lost it for me at work, and was duped at harvey norman to change my original plan of buying back canon camera to an olympus one. Dun think i really know v well how to use olympus camera as i always use auto setting for canon, the pictures came out nicely.. But for olympus very difficult to get the right setting and dun think i can get the right setting 90% of the time.. Headache but have to live with it!!

Sasa, i think if 100ml broken up for the whole day is alright? ard 20ml 5 times a day?? I dun really remember to feed little A water when i take over at night n weekends.. (hopefully i get into the habit soon as she's turning 6 months) but my mum do feed her water during daytime after each feed n after her cereals. btw, i feed her HT brown rice cereal &amp; bottled purees, my mum feed her brown rice that is grinded and mixed with chinese herbs (also dunno what type of herbs) as her friend with knowledge in chinese herbs helped her get the mixture and for that needs to be cooked first. and she adds in mashed potato or carrots to make the cereal yummy so little A can finish it all up. btw i saw the brown rice cereal with herbs (other brand) selling in ntuc and its for babies 4 months onwards. So in the end, let my mum handle everything for dd without questions..

Hehehe... My boy finally flips a few days ago.. Kekeke..
And he's been wanting to flip at every chance. Changing diapers is a fight with him now.. He's been standing up a lot though.. See the pics of him standing up in the exersacuer?
2167300.jpg
2167301.jpg

Flos: Can understand if you bring her out to help with groceries and stuff. Cos you mentioned bringing her along when you're having a meal with friends and giving her money to go settle her own lunch. IN this case, might as well let her stay at home..
If you lock your valuables away, it shd be ok to let her be alone at home bhah. Unless you're worried she takes off?

Bigtoes: My girl loves to sleep on her tummy, even
up til now. My boy, however, prefers to sleep on his back.. Guess it's a matter of preference..

U gals must becareful once ur bb filp.
My boy just filped n fell from the bed yesterday, lucky no serious, only a small PAO on his head. i was so worry n monitor him the whole nite. Dun even darn let hubby knw.
My boy is 5mth old, hv 2 little teeth on the bottom. Any other bb teething liao?

Mrseng: Oh yes... Once the baby knows how to flip, got to lower the platform to the lower level cos we don't know when they'll flip and roll off the railing! Gosh! Might have shock all of you..

<font color="0077aa">Hi sasa, you don't feed lil' M with mailk after his cereal? I still feed smallberry the same amt of milk &amp; use some of the milk to mix with cereal, &amp; he usually left about 10-20ml or so.. I thot we sould continue the milk feed or I am wrong here? Opps!

Brown rice is so so heaty? Oh no! But if he is pooing well should be ok? Or should I alternate with Heniz white rice cereals? But cos must discard after 30days, don't know if I should open a new one.. Hmm..</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Storeberry</font>
eerrm.... by rite should be like tat lah... but i've been having difficulties getting him to finish his milk after cereal or even b4 cereal... so i've got no choice but to mix the powder with cereal den add water..

it's the same thing.. juz tat his water intake is lesser so i got to make it up by giving him more water lor..

Ohh... actually i alternate between HT brown rice and Heinz rice cereal too... if not too boring for him le. hhmm... so far my cereals last mi almost 2 wks...</font>

Mrsseng,
My boy oso fell down from my bed 1 or 2 weeks back . I was at work and hubby still sleeping. My hubby only realised he was on the floor when he cannot find Alston on bed when he heard his wail. Luckily, he was fine, but i am very "xin tong"

blackberry: yeppers, that's moi
It's $350 from Cheong Choon, but $418 from elsewhere in the malls. FFY = OOS.

Ade: sleep positioner? Great idea!!! anyway, he was good last nite. Didn't flip so many times. Just once.

sasa: OK, becos u bb was born in Aug right? U probably started him quite early on semi-solids as i read the earlier posts by u :)

sasa: u dun feed milk after the cereal? I was told by my PD to do so per normal after the teaspoonfuls of cereal you know...FM or EBM must resume right? What say your mom's PD boss?

blackberry: mine also managed only 10-20ml water daily, nothing like sasa's boy!!

A&amp;A: hmm, she also helps to change bb's diapers and clean his poo outside:p I suppose it's cos I want her to go out and take a breather as well...just like those foreign workers are loaded onto buses and ferried to places of interest in Singapore on Sundays.

yan: so the Chinese herbal cereal is ok on your bb? My MIL fed my son once and he pui the stuff out.

Springz: me too! botak liao...was going to colour my hair jet-black but scared it'll heighten my fair scalp and make me look even more botak

flos, my bb is ok with the herbal brown rice cereal. But she definately like it better when my mum add in potatos or carrots to enhance the taste. I smelled it once and find that I LIKE the smell..!

btw, i think bb's need to get more water now that they are taking in cereals n stuff. Mine's poo is getting more n more 'solid' leh...

Springz: Hey, hair-dropping is one post-partum symptom. Go buy hair loss shampoo and conditioner (I recommend Shiseido) and hair tonic..

Flos: Then can't be helped I guess.. If I bring out both my kids, I'll also bring my maids out for gatherings and they join in whatever we eat.

springz, my hair's also dropping like never before.
intend to wait and see before taking any remedial actions...

flos, ahem... "places of interest"? hehe...

flos, the chinese cereal (eys one) contains some kind of 開胃 ingredient too. will go look-see when i pass by eys.

storeberry/sasa: we're supposed to continue with the milk feeds after starting on solids.

hi sasa - haha i cant pic my boy drinking 100ml water in 1 go...he will think his mummy is doing water torture on him! Called PD and was told to give him prune juice (for bb) cant find, but found gerber stge 1 prune. Was told to switch to white rice cereal for now.

my gal is a big fan of water. i think she likes water more than milk these days.. she can drink like 40 - 60ml at 1 go 1 to 2 hrs after her feed. Until when i pulled it out she will scream and want to snatch the bottle back..

Sasa, my boy also drinking about 100ml of water every day. Sometimes more than that. I will give him water in between his cereals and after his cereals. He is also used to drinking some water before he naps and when he wake up.

Storeberry, i also give my boy milk before his cereal. He is having 1 feed of cereal now. Just started him on it for about 1 week+. Usually he will take his milk at about 12pm, then about 1 hour later, will give him his cereal. I'm also afraid that he will find it very boring to keep eating the same old thing, so last weekend, i make some spinach puree and kept in babycubes, so MIL can give him some variety. Will be making some pumpkin puree for him this weekend. Just got some organic pumpkin from cold storage yesterday. I bought a couple of baby jar too to standby on days that i will be too busy to puree. Would still prefer to give him those that are not out of the jar.

Springz, i'm dropping a lot of hair too. So much that i don't even dare to tie my hair now, coz when i tied, there will be a bald patch at my side, that it's so easily to differentiate my bangs from my hair.

yan, xuanting, what chinese rice cereals are u refering to?

yan: i'm not agst those chinese herbal brown rice cereal, in fact i recognise the goodness in it
just that it might be coarser than those factory-ground cereal we purchase from supermarkets.

Yes, the poo is more solid than ever now.

xuanting: I think it's got those 参 thingy inside as well? I think it shd be ok lah...given that my nephew was a supersonic bb! My MIL added all the Ngor fish fillet inside the porridge after 12 mths. I heard that my sis also added ground cordyceps into the porridge! WHOA...

A&amp;A: I usually let her makan with us at foodcourts or family restaurants, not during friends gatherings or special occasions though. Just so inconvenient to have her 'lo hei' or 'lo the steamboat' with us at Jumbo or Tung Lok...all my friends' maids ate at home before they went, but I was kind enough to treat her to fast food :p Sometimes, we really need our privacy. The maid in tow can be really redundant if you just have ONE kid now

Where can I buy the Shiseido shampoo?