(2008/09) Sep 2008

Sean Lau photoshoot “15 mummies already”

hi mummies im from the aug thread. im trying to gather mummies for this photoshoot to get a better price...anyone interested?

the package can be used from newborn to 1 year old ( no time restriction to the month of Feb)

http://www.seanlau.com/Home/Index.html

Classic Baby
Original price $238

2 hours of studio session
5 pictures printed on 5”x7”
1 reprint on 8’x12” with framing
DVD with selected images in high resolution

If can gather:
10 mummies - $208
20 mummies - $188

Extra cost:
- Above price is for weekday only, for weekend photoshoot please add $35
- To include parent please add $25 per person (u can still get to have a photo shot of your baby on her/his own and a photo shot of the whole family as well)

mummies interested in photoshoot pls email me at [email protected]

ello mummies had sudden severe tummy ache.. dunno why!!!! But after medicine ok already..

anyway, Lil S decided to do a new Bruce Lee stance this morning.. very unlady-like!!

Her way of contributing to the Chinese-ness of CNY... Hope u all have a good day ahead!

2112200.jpg

Ang pow

guess should ask jaymickey ba since shes the host..i oso got this qns to ask but springz ask it liao..keke..coz if going to give,must prepare 1st ma..got so many bbs...mus go n find the same design angpow coz mine mostly 1pkt type...

xuanting,
the nonya shoes are made of new beads but the fine ones, not the fine potong beads. the shoes cost abt $280. If made from the fine potong beads, will cost abt $900+ .

Springz/Angeline,
Don't think we will be giving angbao.. my family is not celebrating CNY *rem*??

so just come like any other gathering.. bring urself and ur stomach..

morning mummies ...

My zen head is small .. haha .. 25% 38-39 cm only ..

Sarahmay ...
logico is called " luo(2) ji(1) gou(3) " in chinese .. in china the chinese version is cheap .. written by some beijing uni

Stef ..
nonya shoes are exp .. even the clothes cost a bomb .. it is very popular nw bcos of the show ..

ash: i also thot of buying vaccines over to macau but later changedmy mind. basically they need to be stored at a certain temp n maintained if not integrity of vac will be compromised. how do u monitor temp in ur fridge? cos i asked docs n it proved a bit hard for me to ensure temp. so i fly back here for his jabs.

SarahMay,

Basically the doc told us to keep it in refrigerator condition but dun freeze it. I understand your concern coz my hubby would be very paranoid abt the vaccines. He checks the refrigerator rather regularly to make sure that its cold but no too cold, that the door is closed properly etc. We think its too costly to fly back for baby's jabs coz she needs to take them rather frequently for the first 6 months and it would cost us a bomb to order thru the expat hospital in Shanghai. Later on when the jabs are not so frequent, we would bring her back for her jabs i suppose :p
Actually, can u go to HK for her jabs? they should be pretty established medically rite?

GONG XI FA CAI everyone!

It's been a long while since i came in here.. very very busy at work once I went back to work.. so I hardly have time. Hope that every babe and mummy here is doing well!

May the Niu Year bring good health and properity to everyone!

<font color="ff0000">Happy Chinese New Year mommies! I have not been on the forum for some time now too - been busy with work. Here is Baby K wishing all a happy niu year!</font>
2113598.jpg

Happy Lunar Year, everyone! Wishing all a prosperous and fantastic year ahead for everyone, and may our babies continue to grow healthily and be pretty and handsome!

Hi ypg, I saw your post. I understand what you mean. My mom knows about my MIL just not about my HB as I don't want her to have a bad impression of him. I will have to try my best, I guess.

Hi LC, you know what? I have exactly the same thought as you, that I must make sure I have a very strong bond with my baby so that if things go wrong, at least I have my baby with me. Nothing can break us up. You hit the mark on my MIL, she really thinks she knows everything which is why I'm worried and stressed about leaving my baby with her. Well, my HB would not consider infant care at all, as I mentioned before, they already decided without asking for my opinion even before the baby was born that my MIL will take care of her.

sorry, just need to vent one more time. You know the Chinese custom of 'song li' to our parents, right? So this CNY, my HB and I went to buy some stuff for our parents. For mine, he took some stuff from his mom that she doesn't want and bought another box of 'yu sheng' from NTUC to give. I wanted to look at the most expensive variety of yu sheng but he refused, buying the cheapest. Then for his mom, he got sharks' fins and complained that it was not enough and even added fish maw. I was so angry, and he said I was being calculative. But where is the fairness in that when he could buy expensive stuff for his parents but I could only get cheap stuff for mine?

Angbaos.... my baby collected quite a few this year, and my HB purposely segregated the angbaos into 'from my side of the family and from his side of the family' just to see whose side gave more money and then gloat if his side gave more. I really couldn't believe my eyes when I saw him doing that. On top of that, he actually wanted to tabulate the angbaos, writing down on a piece of paper, who gave how much. I nearly fainted. Is this normal? I've neve done this kind of thing before!

gunibb: u shd be getting more cos u go to church
We collected about 70 angpows so far:p of cos, we also gotta give to relatives' maids, gfs, subordinates, etc. ultimately, it's the same lor...

ash: u jabbed your bb yourself in SH?!!! ewwweeee...

sarahmay: ur airticket is cheap, by all means, fly back to get elisha professionally injected:p

chewyring: a lot of OLs in Raffles place came back this week in the nyonya costume.

Flos
The WZ-s give big amount angpows
I guess its the same with u right?
likewise my relatives side, i receive big amounts, give back big amount so it equals out

<font color="119911">angpows - I didn't really tabulate, but think we have a net loss...give to more kiddies than baby K has been receiving. Think we would need 2-3 kids to even out!

Btw, mommies - I have diapers to clear. These are in M size for Huggies Dry, Mammy Poko and Pampers. Baby K has thunder thighs and cannot fit these comfortably anymore. Pls PM me if you are keen, and I can offload them for cheap - don't know what to do with them otherwise cos there are no younger babies amongst my relatives or anyone expecting
Thanks!</font>

Flos,

No lah, of course we will bring our baby to a hospital to get her jabbed by a medically proficient person like a doc /nurse lah!

Diapers: My baby has been using mamy poko since birth and recently her pee has been leaking/soaking through her diaper. At first i tot she needs to change to a bigger size, but after i changed to M the diaper still cant hold her pee for more than 5-6 hours sometimes.Thinking of changing her brand of diaper so she can sleep better at nite. Any suggestions?

Big Toes,

Wah your baby cannot even fit in M size diaper anymore? You must be feeding baby K very well until baby got so chubby :p

ash: i didn't know they would do that...

my son is able to wear XL Pampers already! L is very tight but I'm trying to finish them cos I dun want to waste.

mrs yap: what is WZ?!

<font color="0077aa">Ash: Think most mummies here like Fitti 360, I personally like it after strong reviews from gunibabe &amp; Jessi!

I went to Metro today alone with smallberry &amp; survived! Haha! Cos wanted to get the Ergo baby carrier since there is 20% discount! So mummies intending to buy Ergo can go Metro Causeway point. Price is $199 after 20% is $159. I had Metro vouchers so is practically free.

Baby sleeping thru: Have been a hard-hearted mummy by letting smallberry to cry out in the middle of the night to let him self-soothe. Its really difficult!! Cos so heartpain to hear &amp; see him cry so loud. Two days ago was about 40mins, yday was 25min, just now was about 15mins... Hopefully he will stop his crying soon... But smallberry really long-winded, when I thot he had stop his crying, he will start his loud cries again! Gosh!

Gunibabe: I really peifu you able to do that! I needs to stop myself a few times to go to him!</font>

<font color="0077aa">Flos: No lo... I have been waking up once or twice to feed him. Tried dreamfeeding him but he still wake up at the same timing...
And I am working now so hope to cut down his waking up so mummy can have more sleep!</font>

actually storeberry..
i read up on books and they say that we should not "train" baby to sleep through the nite... we should leave it to the baby to decide when he wan to drop the night feed... because he can't control if he gets hungry at nite...

somemore... when his cries are not attended to he may feel that his request for attention is not attend to and thus will stop asking for attention by not crying le... dun noe will affect his emotional development in the future..

since you already tried dreamfeeding him and he still wakes up a the same timing.. maybe he is not awake because he is hungry.. but just feel insecure and hence will wake up suddenly and cry to get assurance.. i think perhaps when he cries.. you can give him assurance by holding his hands and give him a kiss and tell him that he will be ok and that you are with him... try holding his small hand and make him feel secure...

are you giving him pacifier?? sometimes they cry in the middle of the nite coz their pacifier dropped and thus their self-soothing item is "missing".... so just stuff it in and a few pat will do the job... if not can try intro a comfort toy where he can hug.. think its a way to make him feel more secure too... or perhaps you can try putting him between you and hubby for a while to let him gain tt security before putting him back to his own cot...

well.. hang in there... mommy will always be the best!! bet you will get through this phase very soon!!! =)

Number of feed: my baby is currently taking 5feeds each 160ml. I tot of reducing to 4feeds each 180ml. Is it ok to do that?? coz my bb only wake up at 9/10am this few days which make her last feed to change from 10pm to 12am. i want to maintain the last feed to be 10pm as i need my sleep ;p

storeberry: did u try to give him lesser milk when he cries in the middle of the nite? what i did is i reduce her milk from 150ml to 90ml to 60ml, and finally if my baby wake up in the middle of the nite, i will just pat her. this method works for my gal. now she has been sleeping thru since 3rd mth.

Morning,Mommies..

MIA for awhile. Have been busy with CNY and both myself and little J are tired and sleepy almost everyday. Plus I have a bad tendonitis on my right wrist so not able to type
went acupuncture last night.. Ouch ouch ouch!! 6 needles adminstered on my wrist! today somehow is better, at least can type..

Hi, Storeberry

Was thinking of you this morning when on way to work. hahaha.. was thinking if you have started work.. so how is work? expressing frequently? Understand the heart pain to hear our baby cries.. I also will tend to little J when he cries. What I do is to latch him on ard 9plus at night and he will kind of half asleep. then after that I put him on the bed and pat him sleep. Usually he will sleep on his own after some patting and will sleep till 4plus, sometime 5plus and then move ard like a snake, signalling for milk.. I am a light sleeper so his movement is enough to wake me up.. my little J is drinking 170ml every three hours in the morning and day - 4/4am, 10am, 1pm, 4pm, 7pm and then 9/10pm..

Hi, Wingkei

I am thinking if you have financial means, then can consider putting in a good IFC, rather than leaving your baby with MIL who dun really know the good practises.. Continue to bond with you baby, talk to your baby etc etc.. its VERY important.

<font color="119911">Ash (mummylau) - Baby K has humungous thighs! So now he has graduated to L sizes for his diapers. The M ones are still lose at the waist but cannot fit his thighs anymore.

Meanwhile, he is attempting to crawl already....abit too fast, but he is very impatient. His legs are pretty strong now (can bear his own weight), and i am hoping he starts crawling &amp; walking soon, so we don't have to carry his 8kg frame around! My nephew started walking by 7 months, so maybe baby K would start walking early too

Number of feeds a day - wow - most mummies here are feeding their babies quite abit!
K is drinking about 120ml every 3 hours during the day, and drinking on demand during the night, which is not that much. Last night for instance, i did a final latch on at 9+pm, and he slept thru till 5am - drank like 80ml, then fell asleep again till we woke him up at 7+am today.</font>

Hi, Bigtoes

Little K's drinking pattern quite similar to my boy.. oh ya, saw one of your posting abt a faulty playmat.. did you order from a BP here?

Yes - LC - ordered the mat from a BP here from Babysoft! The person has conveniently stopped replying my emails, so now I am stuck with the defective mat....Here is a photo i emailed her of the battery compartment, cos she insisted that the mat was brand new!

Take it as a lesson learnt to not buy from random BPs!
2115548.jpg

Storeberry, take heart for u are not alone ;-)
my boy is also not sleeping thru the night yet.
I've also tried dreamfeeding and even resorted to formula milk at night, but did not work at all.

Like what jeraldin says, I'm pretty sure mine doesnt cry for milk. He cant soothe himself back to slp. He doesnt like pacifier and neither does he know how to use his thumb to soothe himself (even though he sucks on his fingers all the time in the day!)

I've stopped feeding him in the middle of the night since a week or so back and he still wakes up at the same time (2plus). In the beginning, i had to FORCE him down to pat him. So there was a bit of struggle there. Then a couple of days back, he allowed me to pat his butt without struggling. Last night, I heard him make some noise at 2plus but I stayed in bed and observe him. After eh-ing for like 20mins, he fell back to sleep. I am hoping that it stays this way from now on cos next week will be my turn to go back to work. sob sob

Hi Flos
WZ is the initial for our dialect grp
wow yr baby is really feeding well... XL size diapers already... mine is still using Pampers M. She didnt grow much... i came back from japan aft 1 wk and she still looks the same to me. She used to look diff every 2 to 3 days. She drinks v little. Only 5 feedings per day and each feed 2.5oz to 4oz (max). She hardly finish 4oz

Storeberry
I bought a carrier too!!
Carrying Little R is so tiring... cant take it!!
We went to Mothercare and Kiddy Palace to try out all the different types... she loves sitting in them and cooperates so well while trying. In the end we chose Baby Bjorn cos I feel its v user friendly. I did not see Ergo brand leh.. else wld definitely give it a try.

Bigtoes
I have PM-ed u regarding defective mat

<font color="0077aa">Jeraldin: Yes, actually I read books that say not to let baby cry out &amp; must attend to them when they cry if not they will become insecure but its when they are still an infant which is 1-3mths of age. So training him now at 5mths, I feel should be ok.

Yes, don't think he is hungry, just that he don't know how to self soothe to sleep. And from the book "What to expect in the 1st year", it actually states that to try the cold turkey method which is to let them cry out. If we don't bear to let them cry for so long, they also recommend we go to them pat them, tell them we love them &amp; then leave. But this method will also confuse our little ones &amp; may result them in crying even more.

Crayon: Yah lo, smallberry still cannot self-soothe, sometimes need the pacifier. The past few nights after crying he can go back to sleep but yday night he cried for 5mins (yeah!) then after 15mins start his crying again &amp; this go on for like start 5mins, stop 5mins.. Then I check on him &amp; realise he is struggling to sleep &amp; decided to give him the pacifier &amp; he drift to sleep. Guess I still need to depend on the pacifier.

LC: Haha!! Thinking of me? I don't have you no, I PM you my no? Have been expressing once in off around 2pm, so far so good. But at home milk ss is pathetic. Only 60-80ml both sides... Take care of your wrist yah?

Mrs yap: I compared &amp; decided that Ergo is better &amp; I had metro vouchers so its a plus plus for me. Yess.. my cheapo baby carrier make my shoulder so painful!

rlrenn (rlrenn): I latch on so I don't know how much he is drinking..

Smallberry is only drinking about 120ml. But he is growing well so its ok for me. Yday went to see PD cos of a very bad rash on his neck &amp; face! His face have red itchy patches! Gosh, not so handsome liao! Aand PD gave some cream to apply, today looks alot better. He is 7.17kg &amp; 64cm.</font>

lc, how did u get the tendonitis? take care!

bigtoes, is that rust i see? it can't be brand new!!! keep emailing the seller; perhaps he/she is just taking a break from checking emails during cny. btw, has anyone booked your mamy poko size m yet? if not, i would love to buy it over.

diapers
mine is still wearing mamy poko size s! dunno how long it will take for her to fit a size l or xl like some babies here!

storeberry, i find that bb's skin heal v fast. mine can be looking quite mor-peng one day but the next, it can be completely gone, not even any trace of the rash. but then, come back just as quickly also la.

xuanting
My gal got mozzie bites all over her face and body... i am so worried it will leave scars which i think there is a v high chance. I dunno it will go away or not cos it has been 1 week n it still looks quite bad.
Any mummies got good method to heal scars?

storeberry: that's a great improvement! I believe you can train them and they won't feel insecure if you let them cry it out just for the night part la! what I do is explain to my baby, let him know that he's capable of falling asleep by himself (speaks positive). If you're scared that he'll feel insecure, just tell him you love him and kiss him good night. =) my boy still cries sometimes. but most nights he just play by himself, turn to left, try to crawl in his cot, will cry if he kena stuck in some corners ... then we'll rescue him. Once he's tired, he'll fall asleep on his sides.

yes, metro 20% off is best time to grab the Ergo cos it cost even lesser than ordering from US with the discount!
hope you're enjoying the Ergo!

Bigtoes: my boy has also been trying to crawl! and he actually moved! he can move pretty fast now after I place him at end of cot, and he can lift his butt up, curl in his legs in squating position and then straighten out and doing the leopard crawl with his hands! wow, your nephew walked at 7mth? that's super fast! the earliest I know of is 9mths! Baby K's appetite is so small but he's growing so fast! your milk is darn powerful!

Flos: we dun give ang baos in church lah, church is too big and we'll definitely "lugi" manx! only give to close friends' kids.

bigtoes, u shd insist on a refund or exchange from that seller,maybe post this pix on the bp thread. jus to share, my fren also hv very unpleasant experience with this seller too.

storeberry, can i ask is e ergo available at other metro outlets too, n many colours to choose? i'm interested to get 1, cos baby ting wants to be carried all the time.

MrsYap..

Perhaps you'd like to try pearl powder, works for many kinds of scars and skin problems

Guni,

I am bought over!! Can let me in on the contact to purchase the Fitti 360? Fitti 360 club sia!

kymkym: get a pack to let Lett try first from NTUC or Kiddy Palace.
they dun have promo price now so no point emailing them to order liao. sometimes NTUc sells 2 packs at good price

Bigtoes, i bought the musical mat too. Bought 2, 2 also got problems. the ABC's the mode is not working at all.. the Farm's i cant even unscrew the battery cover. E-mailed her, she never reply at all. Wait for a few more days, if not, maybe i can check with the BP co-ordinator.

kymkym
thanks for yr recommendation
Now i feel like getting Pearl Powder for myself too.. haha
BTW pearl powder is to take orally or apply on skin? Definitely can be suitable for bb below 6 mths? Cos I wanted to buy the J&amp;J Mosquito repellent to apply on Little R's face but the instructions states for more than 6 mths baby... Too bad

Flos,

Yeah they do that in Shanghai but we have to pay the "injection fee" lor. Of course nothing beats having baby jabbed back in Singapore but i think this is the best option for now.

Storeberry,

We dun have Fitti 360 here =( so i can only change to other brands like pampers and huggies.

Big Toes,

My baby doesnt have such big thighs but she has big tummy. We had to change her from S to M last month when her waist was getting too red coz the diapers were getting too tight. I just bought one new pack of diapers, hopefully she can finish using them before she outgrows them again! I was lucky the last time as the shop allowed me to change my extra packet of S size to M size when i realized my baby could no longer fit into S comfortably :p

Feedings: Think my hub and me did not attempt to train our baby. We dun want to starve her and we believe she would sleep thru the night when she is ready. Moreover its too painful to hear her cry for more than 5-10 mins. Currently she is drinking 150mls every 3 hours but sometimes if she misses one/two of her feeds due to her nap, she might just ask for extra bottle(s) every hourly back to back to make up for the missing feed(s)! Is this normal?

Mrs Yap,

I personally love my baby bjorn as its very convenient to carry my baby when i walk ard the streets, take a train or simply when i have no more energy to carry her while i am at home since she usually refuses to lie down or sit quietly if she is awake :p

Ash
Ya... i too love the bjorn when I first tried it. However I decided to give other brands a chance cos they are much cheaper. But I went back to mothercare eventually. I like the bjorn air, the one with air ventilation cos the material is softer and not so hot for spore climate.

Hi, Storeberry

Yup, I was thinking ofyou this morning..hahaha.. I dun have your number too.. PM me yours, k? I also get lesser milk when I express at home.. puzzled puzzled!!

Hi, Xuanting

I got the condition from the wrong way of carrying my boy for a few months.. tonight still have to go poke by needles

Hi, Bigtoes

It is so obvious that the mat is faulty! I nearly bot one from that BP too (cos it is quite cheap) but realise I have one similar one as a gift from my neighbour. the person doing this BP is so irresponsible!

AIRCON - Any babies sleeping in aircon room and develop dry patches on body and legs? Any good remedy? I try california calendue cream but doesn't seem to work..

LCfaint
Try putting a bowl of water in your aircon room
The water will be absorbed instead of moisture from your baby skin. Can reduce cases of dry skin

storeberry: i also fed on demand for the first 3 mths, and never adopted the method to let miniflos to cry his lungs out. somehow, i'm very blessed; he just decided to self-soothe by sucking his fingers. he sleeps from 9pm-7am, and drinks 1 litre of FM daily.

Gunibabe: that's great to hear guniboy can crawl a little now...mine? he just flipped on his own this morning...at week 20! how delightful :)

mrs yap: yes, come to think of it, they do give very big angpows...got a lot from them for my housewarming, manyue, birthdays, wedding...my son's manyue takings of $4000+ came mostly from them.

The quantity u see up there in my posting is attributed to my hubs' cantonese relatives though. they must hand out 2 angpows per couple, but the amt is usually small.

ash: same here, the only reason why i need to change to XL pampers for my son is cos his waist is getting wider. can't seem to fasten the velcros.

Hi, Mrs Yap

Where should I place the bowl of water? Near the aircon or beside my boy? ANd, any idea what to apply on the dry patches?

Lc
I place the bowl of water near to the aircon or rather, below the aircon
I am not sure abt wat to apply for the dry patches. Maybe u can try more moisturing ones... and apply when bb is sleeping so that chances of bb wiping away the lotion is lesser

flos
ya they can come with $200 angpow each