(2008/09) Sep 2008

Breadmum, I've pm u my email

Ypg, yr bb look so lovely in that headband.. May I know where u brought it?

Ash, Im v lazy.. I seldom burp my bb.. Sometime when I carry her in standing position, she'll auto burp..

qqq,

Ur baby must be very good lah, mine dun burp may puke or will be uncomfy and will cry. Day time i carry her in the standing position and she will auto burp too but nite time i try not to coz she will wake up if i carry her upright and i really want her to go back to sleep lor :p

Ash: these days my boy takes so long to feed sometimes I'll just feed him when he lies in his cot and I sit in a stool beside him to hold the bottom while he look at his cot mobile. After which I'll let him lie there for a while and when I get back, I'll pull his hands and let him sit, while I burp him! hehe ... super easy!

Bigtoes: he makes such a cute little Fortune God!

dmbb: there are many ways to skin a cat, so too are there many ways to change portrait background using PHOTOSHOP. nevermind, just bring bb to ICA to take pic

dseptkon: it's ok, cos our BBjorn is underutilised anyway

chewyring: keke, someone posted one article that says walkers are the worse.

qqq: mine also auto-burp these days. just lift him upright and BURP...

liliboymom: i hear u!!

SpingZ ,
i asked hubby to but back the full set already la ... thanX ba ... the set two cost 118 rmb thou and I have extra one set ....whoever want i can sell ... new set .
I asked my HB to bring back the hungry caterpillar from china but the english version one ... they have the chinese version one but cheaper thou ...

Ash ,
can buy the jab ??? haha ... will teh doctors here released the jabs to u ??? never asked b4 but this is the first time i heard of this ...

qqq,

I bought the headband from one of the BP in Nov last year. Cant remember who the seller. But now got this BP on the forum. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2092700.html?1232519830 I am tempted to buy the Ribbon hairband. Hehe... Itchy hand again.

Flos,

I also think walker quite dangerous n hinder bb walker cause as compared to jumperoo, bb tend to stay longer on walker, so the effect is stronger. But hor, both my mum n hubby want to buy walker, I find it hard to convince them walker is bad for bb.

BURPING: Me also facing difficulty in burping my Clarissa. My mum say she got more flesh on her back so much harder to burp and she love to jump upward so all wind come out automatically so not much less to burp. What a reason... Haha. But still we continue to burp her.

INJECTION: My gal temperature keep raising since she have her 1st 5 in 1 jab. But luckily it stop increasing at 37.4 n anything more than that is consider as fever. Can I check with u all, after bb get their jab, when they are clear from developing fever?

Frankly speaking, I am quite pissed by all these vaccination. Cant imagine that my poor bb got to get injected almost once a month. Also, I got to go through the worrying fever cycle for so many times after her jabs. But wat to do, for bb good, die die also must do.

<font color="0077aa">Smallberry's passport is approved!! Yeah! Head abit slanted but went thru!

2101667.jpg

Mine burp easily so sometimes I don;t or even forget to burp him!! Will be trying the HT cereals next week cos CNY will be free-er. Smallberry still gives the disgusted look when I spoon feed him with water!

Kym: Sms you liao..

Chewyring: I keep forgetting to get it from you! Gosh! Or you sms me your ac no to transfer 1st? By the way you going to jaymickey house?</font>

ash/chewyring: yes, i am also hearing it for the first time that the vaccines could be bought from the local PDs.

one of the reasons why i'm working in SG and not SH is cos I want my bb to complete his whole course of jabs in SG. aint' too prepared to pay a huge sum to the Parkway, Gleneagles, Worldlink clinics there, which literally fleece expats!

Flos/Chewy_ring,

Oh my PD at Gleneagles recommended that we buy from Singapore and bring to Shanghai so that our baby can have the same course of vaccines while in Shanghai. The vaccines bought in Singapore would be much cheaper and guranteed to be safe =) Only thing is we had to hand carry all the vaccines in an ice box up to the plane and then store it in our fridge when we got home in Shanghai.I totally agree that the Parkwayhealth hospital here is a rip off ..we usually pay about S$200 just to see a PD here and its not even that good. But then wat to do ...i have been to a local hospital and the standard is just ridiculously unacceptable (in terms of hygiene and doc/nurse's attitude)

ypg,

I think your mum's theory is very cute. My mum would have said the complete opposite that since my baby likes to jump she would swallow a lot of air so must burp.I tend to hit her harder on the back nowadays coz she has a lot of clothing on and its very hard to burp her. Anyway i am not the patient sort so will just try for 10 mins and stop :p

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Sales at OG</font>
Anyone knows if there's 20% storewide discount at OG from now till 25/1???

<font color="ff0000">Puree</font>
Need to check with mummies who have given their babies puree. I bot the Heinz one from supermarket. Do we give them the whole bottle at 1 shot? Or can give them on different days? Coz we need to observe if they've got allergy rite.. so have to give them the same food for 3 consecutive days?

So if we can divide the portion, do we put the remaining portion in the fridge? Or can leave it out at room temperature?

FYI: I bot the pear &amp; banana puree...</font>

<font color="119911">sasa (sasa_xie) - u are starting with pear &amp; banana?
I have not started baby K on puree, but read that it is best to begin weaning with stuff like rice/barley cereal first, then move on to the yummier sweet stuff like fruit purees later.
This is to make sure that they do not get too used to sweet food and not want to revert back to drinking BM/FM anymore.

And nope - just 1-2 spoonfuls to begin with, not the whole bottle. Just make sure the spoon is dry and don't contaminate the rest of the bottle, and put the remainder in the fridge. Can leave to room temp again the next time you wantr to feed or warm up abit?</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Bigtoes</font>
ooh.. thanks
hehe... Max has already been on rice cereal (Bellamy) for 2 wks.. juz recently started him on HT brown rice cereal. So tot of introducing the puree.

okok, noted to take a few spoonfuls only
Thanks</font>

ash, sometime i'll burp her in the day but when she doesn't burp for abt 2-3min, I'll let her lie on the bed. In the night, I normally dun burp. Cos when she's done, I'm so ready to doze off.. Sometime she will puke a mouth if i carry her by placing her stomach to my chest.. Last time she can burp frm that position. But now, she will puke.. dunno is it too much milk?

Flos, ^5

ypg, i also order from the bp.. but they cant make it before CNY n i happen to see yr bb's pic so tot it can be purchase elsewhere..

I also tempted to buy more headbands to doll my princess

storeberry, yr son look so cute! Nice pic taken!!

ypg, it's hard to bring the message across to my HB that BB is also mine, not his alone. He would also call home to check during the day.

I'm so mad. When we were having dinner, my MIL put a piece of macaroni at my BB's mouth, touching her lips, tempting her to eat it. My BB is still too young to be eating solid food! Also, what if the macaroni really accidentally goes into her mouth, then what will happen? I gently requested my HB to tell his mom not to do that in future and he actually told me off, siding with her! Have any of you experience this? Should I just ignore the whole thing? I'm so worried now that in future, I will have no control over he food that my MIL feeds my BB when she takes care of her.

I just realized that my baby is having cradle cap and the surface is quite big. I tried to comb some away with a soft brush before i wash her hair but only a little would come off. Read on the web that there is this mustela shampoo for cradle cap. Has anyone used it before? Is it effective? Any tips?

GuniBabe/qqq,

My baby wont guai guai lie on the bed and drink milk one lah. Even if i carry her she will fidget a lot until there is milk all over the place some times. I think the puking of the milk could be either due to too much milk or the position we carry the baby when we feed them.Anyway nowadays i just put her on her side to sleep if i cant burp her at nite. Seriously need some decent sleep!

sasa,

You started your baby on cereals oready ah? I am still reading up to see if its safe to buy cereals from China. Nowadays anything from China seem to be inedible esp for babies sigh!

ash: yep, RMB1,000-1,500 per consultation.

with the new flight regulations, can we still pack those vaccines in the ice-pack and bring them onboard? will they ask u to dispose of them prior to passing the boarding gate? vaccines look like explosives man!

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Wingkei</font>
That's so mean of ur MIL. She's prob secretly thinking that ur dotter is big le. Can eat anything. Wah... u better keep an eye on ur MIL whenever she looks after ur gal. Can tell ur MIL that it might affect her milk intake? What if she prefer our food taste hor.. den start rejecting her milk.

<font color="ff0000">Ash</font>
hhmm... actually my boy oso got cradle cap leh.. but i juz leave it alone wor. if it doesn't affect too much, mayb u should juz let it be? it will prob clear by itself

Oh, my bb will oso fidget alot.. esp drinking till left about 50ml. In fact, he will push the bottle away, use his tongue to prevent the teat from going in, and scream his lungs out.

These days I dun burb him too. haha.. i'm a lazy mummy. dun even attempt to burb him for 5 min. once he finish drinking, i'll TRY to burb him... if he still doesn't burb (usually he does it quite promptly), den i'll juz leave him to be and let him sleep

He ends up burping when we carry him up the next morning

Oh... my boy already 5 mths and 3 days le. haha.. started him on cereals when he was 4.5mths lor. so now trying to see if can move on to other things
. hhhmm... cereals from China. buy those imported ones. safer
think i heard even the Chinese themselves are buying imported milk powder. They dun trust their own home brands too</font>

flos,

I think they close one eye when you bring baby on board lor. Basically the doc said hand carry the vaccines coz they need to be stored in cold box and then check in the needles. For us it worked lor and now we have all her vaccines stored in our refrigerator. Will bring over to the hospital in the ice box when she needs to take her next set of jabs.We just pay the admin fee for a professional nurse to jab her after the doc does the check up.

sasa,

Was your boy's case of cradle cap serious? My ger's one, surface area almost as big as a poh pia skin leh (ok a bit exaggerated:p) I shall monitor and see if it gets worse then act accordingly.

The way your boy drinks milk really sounds like my ger. And i keep thinking there is something wrong with my baby!

Definitely have to go for imported food stuff coz even the foreign branded (made in china) products cannot be trusted! Its going to burn a big hole in our pockets since imported things in China are really expensive and i mean ridiculously expensive!

wingkei: please google and print out that starting your baby on food that she can't eat yet will either cause her to choke or have allergy, and show them to your hubby and MIL! I also dread to think of what my in laws will feed my son when he starts taking solids cos I witness them feeding my niece whatever they were eating!

Ash (mummylau): my boy had cradle cap since birth and I was using the Mustela shampoo meant for cradle cap but it was still there, but fading slightly then. Later on, I read online that I can put olive oil (the facial type, not the cooking one) and massage onto the cradle cap. Leave it on overnight or for a few hours, then use a baby comb with tooth like the Pigeon one, and gentle comb thru the area. Those that are dislodged from the scalp will come out. After which, i use the soft brush to brush out the flakes that got stuck to the hair. But take note, when I did this, my poor boy's hair came out together with the yellow flakes! After 2-3 rounds of doing this, his head is now clear of cradle cap! ;)

Ash
can jab yourself right?quite easily done, ive seen diabetic patients doing it...

why not get cereal from japan. so near, the shipping will be ok.

storeberry
wow...smallberry so cute!!! nice ncie eyes wor...CH's passport photo super ugly. looks like kong bak bao...

GuniBabe,

Thanks for the tip will try to see if it works. I think my baby's hair will oso come off with the flakes since she has a lot of hair. I read somewhere that its not good to leave the oil over night coz may clog the pores, but you tried and its ok huh? Maybe i try a few hours first lah :p

l'l CY^^l'l CH,

By right can jab urself lah but i dun want to be the one inflicting pain to my baby . Also, i am not trained to use syringes so better to ask a professional to do it lor:p I think Japan could be the nearest and safest for now lor. Last time my frens used to get stuff from HK but now HK oso not safe liao sigh...good excuse to go Japan for holiday ;)

FEEDING BABY: Went hawker centre eat lunch with my mum. She as usual, kaypoh about other ppl baby. She saw a boy drinking orange juice from his bottle. Upon asking, realise the boy only 3 months. I am shocked when I know that.

Can bb so young drink the orange juice (Sunkist type)? I eat orange will have phlegm so I dun think it is good for bb.

wingkei,

I realise old ppl tend to like to feed bb with the food they are eating. I dun think ur bb so young can digest the salt or MSG inside the macaroni, also there is a great possibility that she choke on that small piece of macaroni. If u worry about ur MIL taking care of ur bb, maybe u can consider getting ur own mum or put her at infantcare or getting a nanny for her? Cause I can foresee there will be even more conflict between u n ur MIL due to the baby. U can tell ur hubby that u dun want his mum to be too 辛苦. Haha...

Regarding ur hubby, I am not encouraging u 2 to fight or quarrel. But if he is making u sad or not respecting u, I think u should 离家出走 to make him realise that u need him to respect ur view. Not really leaving the home, but just to stay over at ur parents place for a couples of days lor. U can also make use of this opportunity to be with ur family.

I think for some men, if we keep giving in to them, they will be even worse. So maybe time to make ur hubby wake up.

hi mommies here,
sorry to interrupt your thread but i need help to get a confinement lady urgently.
can anyone help to recommend yours?

i'm due in Apr and my CL last min had to canx coz her hb kena mild stroke, hence hv to take care of him instead.

kindly PM me your CL's contact and i'll try to liaise with her directly.

thank you in advance!!

ash, holiday to japan is not cheap right? just to buy imported bb food? RMB6,000-8,000 per pax.

actually, what's wrong with foreign brand made in china? nestle, p&amp;g, meiji, yakult, are all ok leh...

i dun think they are expensive at all. i bought my imported foodstuffs from city super at times square/citigroup bldg, carrefour or parkson (huaihailu). they cost the same, if not cheaper than in SG
what i mean is stuffs like Lavazza/Illy coffee, barilla pasta, bertolocci olive oil, Maille mustard, european cheese &amp; sausages, morning post cornflakes, cadbury hot choco, etc.

flos,

I was only kidding lah. Of course wont go Japan just to buy stuff but if we happen to go then can buy back some lor. The last time we paid abt rmb 4k each to go to tokyo then we traveled free and easy so not too expensive though going to Japan will never be cheap lah.

I am just being paranoid of china made products becoz no matter which foreign brand, the checks performed in China would not be as stringent as in Singapore so i dun feel that safe lor.

You find the stuff in City supermarket cheap ah? Perhaps they are slightly cheaper than stuff at Jiu Guang Freshmart supermarket. I usually shop at Freshmart coz its nearer to my home.Do go to carrefour too for sauces, dry goods and toiletries. The last time i went to parkson to get some prima sauces and they were more expensive than Singapore leh.

I took my bb passport photo lying down on her changing mat which is white. i think is missy post de
and approve lor although look weird. haha. and very fast lor . i send in on 20jan and 24th jan can collect

Hi,Wingkei

Agreed with gunibabe! show your hubby and MIL some true facts in writing.. this is wat my SIL does to my mother when my mother tried to feed my niece honey but it was an innocent act, thinking honey will bring my niece's fever down a bit.. by telling my mother cannot feed honey, she wun buy it so my SIL printed some articles for my mother and it worked! Now, my mother even will tell her friends not to feed honey for babies.

And, if you remembered what I posted to one of your posting, what I meant by doing something big is what YPG mentioned - to leave home! vry evil to instigate you but have to give your hubby some whacking on his face to wake up!

ash

city super at times square and parkson are nearer to my house, walking distance

i hv the parkson VIP card, so its cheaper for me
i highly recommend this place for SEA sauces and gravy

carrefour's housebrands are my fav

city super is my all-time fav, be it the one in HK or SH. it's not ridiculously expensive. It's SIngapore prices lor, so it's within my budget. it's the closest to jasons and marketplace in SG.

Sogo (jiu guang) at jingan does not hv the stuffs i like; i dun fancy japanese groceries. i only go there for yamasaki bakery...yums!

hualian at pacific gateway is not very good.

u cook? i order sherpas almost every night.hehehe

Ash ,
can try out what gunibb suggest for the cradle cap .. it works for my bb ... try to remove it slowly .. dun forcely comb it out .. keke .. cos dun think the crdle cap is itchy to them ..and even leaving it on is no harm to them ..

Storeberry ,
your things still with me la ... Dun need to rush ...

*yawn* I am sooo tired. Baby woke up every hour crying for comfort last nite and she has not been sleeping well since birth.I wonder when i can start to have decent sleep!

Flos,

No wonder you dun find the expat supermarkets expensive in Shanghai..coz u go to Jasons and Marketplace one:p
I go to NTUC, Sheng Song and Shop &amp; Save one mah.Moreoever i think i eat mostly any brands when i am back in Sinagpore but i am very selective in Shanghai heeeheee....I agree that Pakson has the best selection of SEA sauces. We do go there when we run out of the sauces that we need. I am a Japanese food freak lah so Jiu Guang is my fav and of couse Yamazaki has the best breads in Shanghai :p I am munching a bun from there as i type this heehee...

I used to cook every weekday before baby was born. Now my ayi cooks every weekday. We order sherpas sometimes when we get bored of the ayi's cooking.Oh ya have you tried this Singaporean restaurant Orang Tree?

Chewy_ring,

I know cradle cap is not harmful to babies but my baby kept scratching her head until she cant sleep well the whole day. I tried to brush some of the flakes off her head last night and she was enjoying the "scratch". Once i stopped, she started scratching herself until the flakes came off sigh...i should start the remedy today or tomorrow..need to get the oil and comb! Thanks for your advice =)

sasa, how do I keep an eye on my girl when my MIL is taking care of her? I will be working.
I can tell her this cannot, that cannot, but behind my back, who knows what she will do, right?

GuniBabe, I don't have to print out as I have also been reading books and when I tell my HB about them, he doesn't believe at all, or don't take it in. When I show him the books, he has no interest in reading. He just lets his mom do what she likes and instead tells me off, which really angers me. I am saying for the good of the bb, and yet he tells me off for the sake of his mother!

ypg, guess what? My MIL tells me that feeding the baby orange juice everyday is good for her. I told my mom about that and she was also shocked, as like you, she says that the baby will develop phlegm if given orange juice everyday. My MIL also doesn't know to prepare fruit juices so that babies can drink, like straining it, diluting it, etc. Haiz.... I'm making myself paranoid by thinking about all this man. Worse still is, I have no support from my HB on this. I wonder if I can tell my HB to tell him mom not to start BB on any semi solids or solids until I start them so that I can monitor for allergies, etc. You think people in their generation will think about all this?

Yeah, I also worry about my BB choking on that small piece of macaroni. I can't, my MIL HAS to take care of my BB. They have already decided on that even before I gave birth and did not even ask my opinion or if my mom would like to take care of the baby. My PILs and HB just naturally take it that my MIL will take care of the baby. My FIL even asked me to quickly have a second baby for them to take care, you believe my MIL alone can really handle? Anyway, after such a terrible experience with confinement, etc, it's really turning me off having a second child.

I think I will really leave home one day if we ever have a major fight one day. But first, I must make sure that the baby is with me when I leave home, I don't want him to use her to threaten me.

Hi LC, I only have facts in English, and since my HB won't cooperate with me, how can I bring the message across to my MIL about food? Now I'm also worried about her feeding my baby orange juice everyday when she takes care of her. And she still says that bringing the baby to my mom's place where there is a dog will cause asthma. She will be the one causing it!

As mentioned to ypg above, if really driven to that, I think I may just do it!

I believe in interaction with my bb will bond me closer to the baby and helps in her development. So I make sure that I set aside some time everyday to interact with her and play with her, and not leave her alone to play on her mat. My HB actually tells me to decrease my interction with the bb so that she doesn't get too sticky to me. I can't believe my ears when I heard that. I was so proud when I told him that I make sure I interact with the baby everyday and thought he would agree with me and he actually asks me to decrease the interaction time. It was really a damper! Isn't interacting with the baby supposed to be good?

ash: munching yamazaki bread? i hate u!!! my tummy is growling, as I patiently await my lunch hour to approach.

oh no lah no lah..i also buy from other supermarkets like fairprice, ang mo, prime, cold storage. my hubs and i LOVE those deli meats and 'ang moh' sauces/herbs, yogurts &amp; olive oils, but we could only get them from marketplace.

hv u tried the malaysian restaurant at 大沽路? of course, there are the Bugis, rendezvous, frankie's etc... anyway, i cook prima taste food at home.

oh, ash, i love LISBOA, charmes, ZEN, royal china, crystal jade, Xinwang Cafe, and Grandma's soup kitchen...not to mention the rest of th e sichuan and hunan chains

only ordered from sherpas cos my hubs was always travelling. Tapas Bar was my fav choice from sherpas menu. keke...

ch into nighttime flipping now. she'll whine every other hour and i will go in and find her on her tummy
...turn her back then go back to sleep, an hour later same thing happened. the entire night wor, for the past two nights...

i tried pillow on tummy,, bolsters on the side, etc method, didnt work so far. Fb cy never had this problem...know she is merely practising her new found skills, but it's driving me nuts coz she sometimes wakes her bro...arghhh....i dread the day she learns how to sit up, to walk...then practise it at night

flos,

Dun kill me but i am eating yamazaki for lunch again! i told my ayi to finish more house work no need to cook lunch since she is going back to her hometown for cny tmr :p

I have tried most of the restaurants that you mentioned except for the LISBO and Grandma's soup kitchen. Not a fan of spicy food but i have tried Pin Chuan and its rather nice :p My hubby loves to go to the Hunan restaurant Guyi with his colleagues.

Oh you hubby traveled a lot huh, then its better to order lah. No point cooking for one, need to wash up some more.

Its so cold today -7 deg leh *brr*

wingkei,

I sympathize with ur situation. I feel sorry that ur hubby is unfeeling towards ur thought n feeling. But it is really u r the one who can do something about it. Dun let him push over u again. Stand firm on ur decision. Cause this is wat couple supposed to do. We reconcile our differences, not just force one to listen to another. If he dun understand that, do something BIG to make him understand.

This is the festive season! I dun hope that u will continue to feel troubled. Do enjoy ur holidays with ur family. Perhaps it is time for u to tell ur parents about ur issue with MIL n hubby. Dun suffer in silence. So wat if it will blow up the matter. At least u should let ur hubby know that he cant push over u n u got support from ur family.

Sean Lau photoshoot

hi mummies im from the aug thread. im trying to gather mummies for this photoshoot to get a better price...anyone interested?

http://www.seanlau.com/Home/Index.html

Classic Baby
$238

2 hours of studio session
5 pictures printed on 5”x7”
1 reprint on 8’x12” with framing
DVD with selected images in high resolution

If can gather:
10 mummies - $208
20 mummies - $188

Extra cost:
- Above price is for weekday only, for weekend photoshoot please add $35
- To include parent please add $25 per person (u can still get to have a photo shot of your baby on her/his own and a photo shot of the whole family as well)

mummies interested in photoshoot pls indicate interest:
1. babyemma
2. catherine
3. twin stars
4. Nini(diorly)

or please email me at [email protected]