(2008/09) Sep 2008

Ash ,
really ??? haha ... can form playgroup together for the little ones there when i go visit my hubby there in april .. keke ... but how can u cope with such cold weather there ....hmm .. nvm .. will catch up with u once i am in shanghai ..

Flos,
in between teh wrist and elbow , there should be " crease " on them .. that is teh lines on the hand ... and for teh thighs line .. it is in between the hipbone and the knee ... count the horizontal crease loh ...

LLCY ,
i sms u in the morning

ypg,I have no idea but that's what one of the counsellor told me when we talked. Yeah, I call their hotline only, as I am not able to go down in person, maybe that's why different people talk to me?

Actually my BB didn't show any sign of wanting to eat solid food. I just asked the PD when I brought my daughter to see him and he said I can start feeding cereal at 4 months. After I tried it on her for the first time, she seems quite ok with it so I just continue with it.

Ash ,
y cannot go shopping ??? hmm ..

Jeraldin ,
yes , i put my boy in to jump for 10 mins only and he laugh and enjoyed it so much ...nw the fabric washing .... keke ...

IICY ,
wont be BIMBO la .... it is good to have a gal to be able to dress up and doll herself pretty but with brains as well .. no worries on education man .. u are the best educator ard ..

It's very funny but my BB doesn't seem to cry as much when she goes to my parents' place as compared going to my ILs' place. One of my sis was actually able to carry her and she was quite contented. Yet, whenever my PIL or MIL carries her, she would cry after a few minutes or soon after we stepped in my PILs' house, she would cry. My MIL doesn't know yet about the BB not crying at my mom's place but she is rather angry that BB keeps crying at her place. And the ridiculous thing after my HB witnessed it himself is that he says we go to my parents' place more often and not often enough to his parents' place. I keep complaining to you guys that I don't go to my parents' place often or see them often, so how can BB see them more often than his parents, rite? BB sees his parents definitely more than once a week, if we don't go over, they will come over too while sometimes my parents don't see BB for more than a week. Perhaps baby knows best. hehe..... Haiz... But I guess now my HB is going to force us to go to his parents' place even more often.

em... chewy ring..

can your boy feet reach the ground? i took my boy tt day to try out at Kiddy palace... but hor.. he can't reach the ground le... so he not very interested like that... coz his feet nv touch the ground

so i am wondering isn't the seat not adjusted to the lowest level or he is simply just too short? my boy only 62cm at 3m3w

Jeraldin, I think most of us put the rubber mats or something below..

For lil S, I put ABC rubber mats and hold it while she jumps haha.. I stack them quite high coz I don't want her to tip toe...

Ash- mine now better. but still keep making that patateric cry to make us sayang or carry him. We just ignore for some time then carry him

chewy_ring,

your hubby is working in Shanghai huh? I dunno abt u but one baby is enuff to keep me really busy the whole day. You know we actually have my confinement lady come over with us for 3 weeks when we moved back from Singapore coz many things need to be sorted (like visa, pay outstanding bills etc)and we need an extra pair of hands.
Winter is really bad for babies and i have to put on 2 layers of clothing for baby ash every day to keep her warm with the heater on all the time. Also have to apply moisturizer on her every day and rub the ruyi ointment few times to prevent ezcema and wind!!If we go out, she will have to put on her space suit and she hates it coz she will be sort of immobilized in the suit :p Let me know when u do visit Shanghai. Weather in April should be very nice lor. Planning to have my ILs come over in April too!

koras,

I know that pathetic cry. I used to ignore her but these few days i try to give her more attention since my apt block is doing some stupid renovations and the drilling and hammering (whole day)is definitely making my baby very scared. Nite time she looks at the wall and starts crying non stop..so poor thing!

Ash,
How do u change ur bb's nappy when u are outside in Shanghai ? I noticed there are no nursing room over there. My friend told me she changed her bb in stroller. Actually i'm quite apprehensive on taking stroller out in China as the toilet cubicle is a bit too small to push stroller in and it's dangerous if u left the stroller wif bb inside oustide the cubicle. In fact, i heard that someone tried to steal a bb in Carrefour and luckily the parent spotted on time and alerted the security. They immediately shut down the gate and found the bb inside the washroom....After hearing this, i tink it's safer to bjorn bb if out alone , but it can be very taxing on the shoulders when bb grows heavier. In fact, now my shoulders hurt when i bjorn Alston for 5-6hrs and my son is oni 6.4kg.

Ash,
Agree that the best time to go over to Shanghai is in April/May. I'm planning to go Suzhou during tat period
, but i'm procrastinating cos i HATE CHINA !!! No user friendly enuff to bring bb out esp alone.

sorry to disturb u.. i need to engage for a confinment lady... anyone has any recommendation??? My EDD is july 09. pls pm me the contact. thanks

Millie,

Actually hor, China is very baby unfrenly one leh. I guess since their kids all wear the pants with a big hole (kai dang ku), they dun really need a decent place to change diapers or let their kids pee lor. I really detest that kind of pants lor, so degrading for a toddler. I remember seeing one boy abt 3 yrs old wearing one and having his d*** hanging out of the hole..sooo gross and unhygenic!
For us, we either go to more expat places like hotels to eat so we can change her on a sofa, if not then in the pram lor.Oh, once we really had no choice coz din bring our pram and we were at the park,so one of us carried her vertically and the other changed her while her legs were dangling. She pooed somemore hor :p I tried bjorning her for like 5 hours while shopping when she was abt 5.5 kgs and i was totally tired when i came home but this is a more convenient lor.
Dun think we will bring baby to diff cities of China for now since everywhere is dirty and yucky.
Was thinking of bringing her to Japan since its nearby, a world of diff compared to China and very nearby =)
But then again, Suzhou and Hangzhou are worth visiting lah. We visited the nearby cities before i got pregnant so wont be going back there again haha ! :p

Jasmickey,

7 Feb, I dunno can make it or not. My daughter got baby swimming competition at Plaza Singapura that day. Have not got the timing from Hua Xia yet.

Chewy_ring,

Guess I am lucky to get the jumperoo at $100. The condition also very good, nothing spoilt. I rather buy a 2nd hand 1, if rent n we damage the part, we got to pay somemore. Not worthwhile.

Jeraldin,

I put the bumper from her cot comforter under her feet. Though jumperoo is fun for most bb, we got to watch out if they r tiptoeing on it. Not good for their development. Luckily my gal never tiptoe. Her feet rest flat on the bumper. If ur bb tiptoe, u can restrict the use of jumperoo to 15 min per day.

BUMPER MAT: I got my Parklon Yellow Bear from Small small world at $119. They going to have a new BP. But hor now they is a BP by other suppliers. Luckily the price that I got from SSW is still competitive or else I sure faint. Haha... Ladies who wish to get bumpermat can check it out.

wingkei,

Ur bb is urs also. Not just ur hubby. U have every right to bring her to whichever place u like. So u dun have to wait for ur hubby to go together with u n ur bb to ur parents house. If he is unhappy, let him be. Sometimes, the more u care for his opinion, the more he demand u to listen to him. U have not go back work right? U can make use of the daytime to go ur parents place lor.

ypg: my PD referred us to a doctor at Mt E. He's Dr Khoo. Hv not make any appt yet cos I'm still hoping his crossed eyes will go away on its on

Jeraldin: I alrdy put my son in the jumperoo since he was abt 3mths old. His neck wasnt really tat strong yet but at least he cld support his own neck then. so i guess it shd b ok bah cos he's still playing wz it till now

ECONOMIC RECESSION

was shopping at taka on sat with hubs and bb, and was very alarmed and concerned to see the entire ngee ann city quite dead! it's only one weekend before the CNY and it's already that bad, huh?

anyway, i feel so terrible spending over $100 over lunch on one pink top to wear on my CNY day 1. must tighten belts...

dseptkon/chewyring: oic! but i want a girl

collected my bb's passport today. surprisingly, the queue wasn't too bad! their passport nos no longer follow their bc/ic nos like ours. wonder why the change. now need to remember another set of numbers.

jeraldin, my bb's feet also cannot touch the floor when she's in the jumperoo (adjusted to lowest level already). she's abt 2cm taller than your boy at the same age – doc said average height leh.

ash, the kai dang ku really is just a hole down there?? isn't it very liang and dirty then?

flos, been shopping the last few days also and getting really sian. apparently, now i'm not just fat, but short and fat!!! small sizes cannot zip/button, larger sizes are too long.

jpg,

You've really got a good bargain for the jumperoo leh. We wanted to get one for our baby too but its very expensive in China and i am not sure if she would out grow it very fast since she is oready 7kgs.

xuanting,

Yes the kai dang ku is really just a big big hole in the pants. When a toddler stoops down, the hole will allow peeing or pooing very easily. For babies, the diaper would be exposed through the hole too.Ya lor its very liang and dirty coz they allow their kids to sit everywhere, even on a very dirty pavement with that kind of pants. I have yet to understand why the mainlanders do certain things even though i have been here for almost 3 yrs now :p Anyway they frown at wat we do too.

sorry to intrude... I m a Jul08 mummy and looking to buy a Medela freestyle breast pump from US site addalittlelove.com. Need 2 more orders to go ahead w the spree. If you know of any1 who is looking to buy Medela freestyle or PIS, pls look into this link.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2081856.html?1231999787

My 1st pump is dying and I really want to get a new one from this spree!
... oh, and I am not related to the organiser of the spree, jst a really desparate mummy.

hhahaa.. gunibabe! u made me laugh out loud!
My boy has only ONE line!!!

jeraldin, I rented a jumperoo for my boy 2wks back and I'll put him on it for abt 15-30mins per day/every other day...

ypg, when I rented the jumperoo, the lady told me that for jumperoo, they shd be on tiptoes so tat they can "take off" easily. OH NO.. have I been doing it wrongly?

gunibb: two lines!!! this is the first time i see two lines cos mine got one only!!! If the old saying is right, u might be expecting a girl next!!!!!!!!!!!

xuanting: i mean tighten my purse strings, not the real belt!!! kekeke!!

dmbb: just place him on a exersaucer or walker for 5 min to snap the picture. alternatively, u may use Photoshop to remove the background and replace it with white.

hello hello!

just a quick note to say i'm back in town! but have limited net access. today got cos my dad is taying over at my place and he brought his modem over.

baby e jusok his5in1, rota and prevanar today. cried for less than one min cos he was pinned down. then started smiling immediately after i picked him up. less blood this time too.

funny thing is he is only 25percentile for both length and height (63cm, 6.7kg) BUT 75 percentile for his head circumference!!!! aiyo. i didn't know it was like this until i was paying up so didn't have chance to ask doc abt it.

JUMPEROO & BUMBO:
I asked my PD. She said that even at this age (4mths) they shd not be sitting upright for long. A few mins is ok BUT their back and neck must be supported. Asked her about bumbo - she said she didn't know what it as...but i described to her...she just said that it is preferable NOT to let bb sit in it as he shd still have his back support all the way to neck.

Crayonshin: Eh...i think someone on this thread told me NOT to let them tiptoe BUT feet must be flat against surface.

SARONG CARRIER: Snuggle hold with legs folded in is NOT as good as letting them hang out i.e. the hip carry is better.

Gunibabe: Can you FB me and describe to me how you carry guniboy with legs hanging out? that means you use hip carry - he is on your side? OR it is snuggle hold?

ROLLING OVER: Asked PD abt this too...she smiled and said, "Not until 6 mths". So i guess i am not fussing about it now. hahah. he turned tummy to back that day...and so far no more signs. Today however, i left him in his playpen only to find that he has kicked himself from 12 to 6 o'clock position...and he had pooed! Poo leaked out of his Drypers...and there were poo stains. I found him laughing away in the playpen with a poo stain NEXT to his face! He had also pulled down the diaper change mat i hung over the edge of the playpen . aiyo. was so funny.

Ypg,

Na.. i'm no teacher.. just happen to recognise that word :p! and the MI thing you shared was really interesting, care to share more?

Guni,

Lett's got one line on her thigh!!! YEa~~ i am gonna get a little boy next! kekekeke...

Rlrenn,

I took neurogain as a supplement during pregnancy, then krill fish oil after giving birth, your GP or gynae should be able to prescribe something for you =)

dmbb
can use the bumnbo too. that's what they use at ica...

sarahmay
is elisha's leg still folded when in the sling? you can hip carry and front carry him liaoz. i 'upgraded' ch to ergo recently wo the infant insert.

flos
it is so even in malacca!quiet...no one is spending, and all the sales people are yawning away.

l'l CY
LOL... heartbreaker eyes... hehehe... hopefully he doesnt gve me headaches once he start schooling, and comes back wif little love notesin his bag... ;p

dmbb
my fren takes her baby's photo while her baby was lying down, with white background. so she has to snap d photo from d top. She applied online, so as long as meet the ICA dimension requirements, should be alright..

sarahmay
Your PD said 6 months for baby to flip... Let's continue waiting... Hehhehe.. Mine still cant flip either. D other time during d photoshoot, he flipped from tummy to back.. So far dats all.. No signs of flipping still..

<font color="0077aa">dmbb: Like what l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum), can use bumbo also. Cos my sil just help to take smallberry passport photo with him sitting in his bumbo..

Gunibabe: Two lines!! Ok, tmr I shall look at smallberry's thighs!

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum): My cheapo baby carrier is making my shoulders so painful after 3 hours of carrying smallberry. I am thinking whether I should get an ergo but lifespan is short?</font>

hello all - happy niu year ahead!

l'l CY^^l'l CH - am wondering when placing boys in ergo or baby bjorn, will it affect their balls? I noticed if i don't insert my boy correctly, he cries.

storeberry - how is smallberry's head? am seeing physio tomorrow.

eve,

I will ask polyclinic doc tmr. My gal having her 1st 5in1 jab tmr. Me very kancheong. Worry she got fever. But I think my daughter is not really crossed eyes. Her eyes still look at same direction, just that the eye ball not at the same position. Like the left eye ball all the black colour at the left while the right eye ball still got a bit white at the left.

ash,

Ur bb is 7kg at wat age? I always thought my gal very big. But guess she is actually on the small side. She is about 5kg a month ago, dun think she will grow more than 1kg cause when we carry her, dun seem to have much difference. Even maryann from the Studio Loft comment she is very light when she carry my gal.

JUMPEROO/WALKER: I think there is concern from PD that it may hinder baby walking cause they are used to tiptoe in jumperoo or walker. But I think a couple of minutes a day should be fine. Besides bb got short concentration span, they dun want to sit in it for long.

MI: It actually mean we human have 8 intelligences. But we need training on all these to develop them further. If u dun allow ur child a chance to draw, u never know that she can draw. Also, for some of us, we are more inclined towards certain intelligence, hence we learn better through activities that use that particular intelligence. Take for instance, a child who is more visual-spatial (arts) inclined, learning through drawing or flashcard with only picture appeal to him better but for a child who is more linguistic inclined, u can use flashcard with only words or letters.

But for early yr, we need to explore our child inclined in which intelligence so we got to give training on both.

I am still reading more on early years education cause I know more about middle years education (primary school). By then, most students already inclined towards certain intelligence n training for weaker intelligence will have to be together with some use of the stronger intelligence. Or else not easy.

Hope I dun confuse u, Kym. Now many parents pay hundred or $ to pre-school to do this MI training. But actually we just brainstorm a bit, we can still do it.

I put the ABC bumpermat around the bumper playmat I just bought from Small small world. This is to allow my daughter to see letter as well as picture. Later, I will everyday read out the letter to her while she is crawling. This is visual-spatial intelligence. When she is bigger, I will call out the letter n she will have to jump onto the letter. This is linguistic n bodily intelligence. I am still exploring more. This is a few ideas that I thought of.

I more worried about her interpersonal intelligence since I am certainly not going to have no. 2. So got to send her to childcare at 1.5 yrs old to have some training in this intelligence.

on weaning,
what are you mummies feeding?
i started on cereal then sweet potatoes. got organic food but is it necessary?
anyone feeding non-organic?

kym, tks
coz i din take any supplement after giving birth and im still breastfeeding.. juz wondering is it too late if i start nw.

ypg, did ur sch ask u to do the MI tests? muaahahha.. i ish an Interpersonal and Kinesthetic learner. Pointed backside one..

greenbaby, I'm not weaning yet but I think to go organic or not its up to u. I dont think I'll be giving organic stuff cos I haven read up abt them yet. Just know that they are supposed to be good.

sarahmay, welcome back to sunny island! eh, if I rem correctly, u go to the PD at tampines st 11 rite? According to her, when my sumo was around 3mths plus, he was 62cm and TENTH PERCENTILE!! hmmph! I think her charts are all wrong! ahhaah

storeberry
ergo lifespan is quite long. can use until toddlerhood.

breadmum
eh, not sure. but my fb used his ergo ok...it's like sitting down, shouldnt affect their balls leh...

missy
awwww,,that will be fun!!! you can always check his bags for lil notes....hahahhaaa...

l'l CY^^l'l CH- true la, but i think they get squashed in between us and them. LOL. But if we use it till they are toddlers,they will be too heavy to carry-unless you piggy back them.

Already, most of ours are in their 7kg or 8kg range, and so quite hard to carry them around.

breadmum, yr bb head getting better? As recently realise the back of my bb head is getting flatter and flatter.. hope her head can become round again..

crayon and sarah - can try this webby for weight percentile.. how can sumo be 10%!! ??

http://www.onlineconversion.com/weight_common.htm

Can't find the link that someone posted before on toe walking for jumperoos and exersaucers.. anyway, alot of forums apparently say that PDs and physical therapists say that it hampers motor skills and are using wrong muscle groups.. just google it..

oh btw, yup the mummy who posted the warning before correctly pointed out - no more than 20 min on the jumper/ exersaucer in a day (not a stretch)...

Line on legs
Eh I thought it was the other way around? Some lady told me that one line means girl next and two loines mean boy next!

thnks mommies for ur tips!
i did take one earlier with her lying down on my white comforter but cos comforter is not smooth, looks crumpled, my hubby said ICA will reject
we tried to photoshop the background but didn't work out well either..
mebbe i'll juz buy a bumbo afterall. have been procrastinating on this for the longest time!

ypg: same same. my son also like tat. it doesn't look tat bad to me but the PD still say better to refer to the eye specialist. dun worry on clarissa's jab. not all babies will kena fever after the jab. u can always standby some fever medicine jus in case.

LINES ON BABY'S THIGH
i went to chk on my son's thighs but i dun see any lines like wat Gunibabe's son has leh. does tat mean i wont b having #2? hope tats not the case cos i really wan a #2 even though hubby is abit apprehensive...

eve,

Hope today see doctor, hope dun have to refer to eye specialist on her cross eyes.

LINES ON THIGH: I going to keep my finger crossed that clarissa thigh got no line. But think she got 1 line. Sian...

BUMBO: I try out the bumbo at Studio Loft. Thinking of getting 1. Anyone bb outgrow their bumbo liao? Clarissa head seem quite firm to be put on bumbo liao. Her eyes look crossed from this picture.
2097022.jpg

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Gunibabe</font>
haha... 2 lines deep n clear. Think Max only has 1 line.. sianz.. i wan a gal next!!!!! but den.. he has 2 lines on his arm. the part between the elbow and the wrist.

<font color="ff0000">SarahMay</font>
hey hey.. u are back!! muz meet up ya
oh, on rolling over, dun worry too much k. Remember I told u b4 Max rolled over a few times on his own? After that he didn't already. He's very very lazy. That was juz after the new year. When he turned 5 mths yesterday, he started the day in the morning by flipping over by himself. N he has been doing it more frequently though not that smooth yet. So 5 mths it is. I've been so worried about his motor skills coz he didn't turn yet. but guess everyone's rite. give bb time. they will turn when they are ready

Max now turns more than 5 times a day. He's lazy so doesn't always turn when opportunity arises. oh.. n he only turns on 1 side. the other side he's been trying but can't yet.

<font color="ff0000">green_baby</font>
I'm still feeding Max cereal only. but recently I introduced Healthy Times brown rice cereal to him. His 1st cereal taken was Bellamy rice but has since finished. Have already bot pear &amp; banana puree. Will introduce this to him next. Dun think I will give him our food yet. At least not so soon, coz I always think that our food has a higher sugar content and what others

<font color="ff0000">ypg</font>
y u not having no. 2???

<font color="ff0000">ade</font>
added u on FB le

morning mummies ,
Saraymay ,
u are back in sin ??

Ash ,
thanX for the info .. will definitely look for u in shnaghai ... u are such a brave mummy ... i dun even dare to bring my boys over in winter ..although i am free from load nw ..

Millie ,
we shall meet up if possible in shanghai.

Spingz ,
the conversion can check the health booklet la .... think those online one not very " zun"

LLcy ,
I wanted to buy an erso too but i am worried that zen dun want to be inside ... think will have to wait ... saw online that mummies are selling those used for treking .. keke .. dunno if too big and uncomfortable for the little one .

Green bb ,
i have not started bb on cereal yet but i have bought the Frisco cream for him already ...and healthy times brown rice cereal too ...

bb poo ... zen have not poo for 4 days already ... still waiting for tomorrow to insert him with pill ... keke ... bad mummy ..

Ypg ,
the bumbo cannot sit for very long ...
in fact my zac only sat inside for one month plus only .... nw waiting to put zen in ...

Oh ya .. jumperoo ... i never put any cushioning for bb cos zen can tiptoe and i thought the purpose of jumperoo is for them to jump tiptoe ?? haha ...

recently my boy like want to flip. he keep trying to turn to one side.now put him on his tummy, he doesnt to flip. only seen him flip over from tummy to back twice

sarahmay,
at least bb E is growing quantum in the brain size .. keke .... my zen is the opposite ... height 90% but the brain is on the 25% .. keke ... PD says no worries on all the growth cos might be related to genes ..