(2008/09) Sep 2008

Flos.. I juz got a can of Enfalac fr Cold Storage (cost me a whopping $40!! cos the Econ at my neighbourhood has run out of stock) and it has Malay words. But I remb seeing it made somewhere in Europe, forgot which country.. now u've gotten me worried! heheh. 1st thing when I read home tonight is to double check!!

Lanolin.. Did contemplate Melb, but not sure how to go about bringing bb's FM & cereals into Oz since they're pretty strict abt food pdts... An indon fren who accompanies her Balinese hb there often with her 2 kids (one is 3yrs & the other 1 yr now) told me tt Bali is a good pl cos they 've all the necessary baby stuff at their supermkts. but of course I still 've my reservations...

Lanolin, Yes yes... i support Melbourne.. love that place... but cannot go from May - Nov.. cos is too cold for baby..

I just booked a trip to Perth in April.. can't wait to fly off..

Jessi
U oso kena soreness too? Sounds like urs is slightly diff from mine cos mine is not at anus portion bt seems like inside me liddat.. I visualize it like on the left side of my reproductive system! Keke. I actually went for a gynea checkup cos my gynea said it sounds like an infection bt after he poked me, he said nothing unusual cos not womb prolapse. I am doubtful loh. For ur case, issit internal or external soreness at the anus portion? I was given antibiotics to eat loh
Sianz

Xuanting,
Is ur pink discharge alittle mah? Mine is alittle nia leh.. on and off leh. Abit worried whether issit something wrong down there manz!!!

Flos,
My bb oso same as urs! Is not flipping yet bt thumping his leg on mattress. Mine always lift his leg high up in the air, and always have this ‘seat-up’ kinda of posture.. majiam wana to curl up liddat. Erm…

mrsseng: how mcuh is enfalac at ang mo?

jaymickey: yes pls check, i'll go to econ nearby if it's really not the one with Malay words
the Malaysian one has one ingredient short, dunno if it's DHA and etc...

bali is very cosmopolitan, so many expats and therefore many bb stuffs...there are over 20 consulates i think. my dream posting = bali!! everyday can go sunbathing and snorkeling after a tired day's work
come evening, can go to ku de ta to chillout some more...

lanolin: nice to be able to go home at 4pm. i'm waiting for everyone to leave!!! hey, do they hv lifejackets onboard the cruise?

bye! separation anxiety kicking in...

hi can I know where to buy medela spare parts like softfit, personalfit?need to get them ready before start work this Friday. Thanks..

jaymickey - really? i went to parkway today and bought one from minitoons. cost me $119 185 x 140. but only usable on one side... the sale girl said a lot of parents bought it and they have been selling for two years already.
hope it is suitable.

Jo - think pampers promo until 7 jan.

wow, bigtoes u actually took the train in jpn during peak hrs! i hear it's v common for young ladies to kena groped in the trains. hope u didn't hve any such encounters there.

thanks for your feedback re the ang pows. here's what i think i've been giving:
1) nieces/nephews: $50
2) close friends' kids: $20

can't remember how much i gave to random kids here thou. in hk, we're expected to give each kid 2 ang pows as a couple. can't remember how much either cos we're always stuffing money into red pkts at the last minute whenever we meet a kid & hv to ask mil who it is & how much to give.

goldfish, i think i've gotten the pinkish discharge twice so far. very little also, so i didn't see the doc abt it. how long have u been feeling the pain? maybe u shd consult the doc again.

qqq, mums & babes sells the medela parts.

Xuanting ,
in hkg , macau they couples ususally give 2 angpaos ..... cos my hubby sis married to macauese and during my wedding they gave two ... haha .. say it is custom.

sorrie for the typo.. have to type in the dark .. haha ..Zac sleep already ..

Mrs eng ,
where is angmo ?

Flos ,
I have not been to bali island ... should ask hubby to bring me when both zac and zen is older so that i can throw them to clubmed .. keke .. is not will be wasted cos time will be bb time

Flos
If i don't remenber wrongly Ang Mo selling at $35+.

Chewy_ring
I knw there one located at Bishan st.22 market & there another at AMK ave 10 near to blk 409 market.

i know it has been posted somewhere but just ask again.

i m still TBF but having low SS problem recently. juz bought fenugreek and started taking oni ytd. Any other ways to increase SS??
will like to BF till 6 months. but now SS is not even enuff for a day's DD. and only left with 30pkts of EBM.

hope those with good SS to share some tips ...

thanks in advance

green baby, was just going to ask a qn on fenugreek too. i'm only meeting 2/3 of my bb's dd presently.

mommies, do u take the recommended dosage or keep increasing till u see a boost in your ss?

Sasa, last nite he also tested my patience big time. I think he wants to slp with us. He kept waking up every hour to whine. Piang eh! I whacked him on his thigh. Of cse, tat made him scream even louder. To let hb have a good slp, I even brought baby out to the living room to slp on the bumper mat. And he slept soundly... #^$#^@

xuanting, pen cai is supposed to be a dish made using leftover food (in the past lar). Now its repackage into a delicacy with abalone, mushroom, scallops etc.

Flos, I kid u not! The nurse wrote down 61.5cm on his health booklet. I hope tats bcos she did not pull his legs straight! *bawls* ahaha.. and yup, pen cai looks damn gross and disgusting rite?

Storeberry, ya lor. I will freeze in the same position until the next morning and get pins and needles in my arms. Tats why i don really fancy having him on our bed.

haaa.. after bringing R's hanky wherever we go then I fully understand why the old ah mas like to stuff their hankies into their sleeves/ under their armpits.. haa.. easy access!!!

dmbb, when my sis visited me in melb, I believe she brought along an entire tin of FM leh. But think u might have to check again. At the most, u just dispose in front of them lor.

Thanks lok and lanolin for the suggestion. I think tung lok has as well. Will compare which is value for money ;-)

Mummies, wondering if this is the correct thing to do.

I'm still on tbf but I would like my sumo to "get use" (if there is even such a prob) to FM. Hence, I am planning to give FM for his last night feed at 830pm. Do u think its a wise thing to do? Or shd I just continue with bm?

First day of work today.... not tt bad as i expected.. probably coz I am so busy with work to miss my darling boy...

just recently put my darling boy on the same bed as us coz he was having some flu & cough...surprising.. he slept soo well that he didn't even eh for his pacifier for the whole nite... Both hubby & me enjoyed our rest so well... haha.. although we had to turn on the spot... the undisturbed nite is great for me... =)

Tml LAST DAY for Pampers Promo.... Mommies remember to grab them!!! =p

crayon

but y would u want to intro FM now when u doing tbf right? unless u intending to wean off bm soon..last time for my FB,i started to give her Fm at night when i wanted to stop pumping/bf..then i slowly replace all her feeds to fm..

Sigh!!! I'm going back to work on this Friday to resign..

Dunno my Boss will be stunned or not.. Hope he can release me before CNY. Else v wierd to go back and work the last few days after CNY..

Bigtoes: is your room floor parquet or laminated flooring? i think those kind of flooring not as cold as the tiled flooring. my parent's place flooring is tiles and i find that it can be quite cooling on the floor especially at night.

Goldfish: oh, we have a different kind of soreness. mine should be external portion. at first i thought mine is piles that came out after delivery. hehehe..

Morning Mommies...

Tired tired tired.. Baby J refused to fall into deep sleep last night again. only managed to put him to beauty sleep ard midnight and I am so tired that I din do my last expressing
And this morning when I expressed out, it is barely 150ml. OMG!! What happened?!!

Hi, Crayon

If you can still TBF, then continue lor. unless like wat Angeline said, you are weaning off. Guess Baby can get used to FM one.. its just a matter of time. Just like solid food, they will also slowly get use and enjoy..But if you are worried, can give FM as last feed..my friends are doing so cos they said FM last the baby thr the night..

Hi, qqq

Why resigned?

Hi,Jessi

I put those rubbery mat on the floor, underneath the mattress.. dun know if this help to mitigate the cold air or not.. My boy dun like to sleep in cot leh.. headache!!

dmbb

u can bring one tin of unopened formula milk into OZ. just make sure it is unopened and u should declare. they will check it.

hi dseptkon,

wld u know abt cereals? can we bring it as well or only restricted to 1 unopened pdt, ie either FM or cereal? my mom says juz buy in OZ wh may 've more varieties & tastier but I scared bb not used to it then hunger strike!

jo- i tired pamper active on my boy, seem like the pamper also very fast very heavy and 'bloated' with urine. baby k cant stand the wetness nees to everytime change him also

my boy have a bit rash on the back neck, what can i apply to reduce the rash

momopanda- isnt good? coz i intending to buy that and put into his playroom

Millie, Angeline: I paid $88 for a cut, wash, blow and scalp treatment. Usual price is $108 only. Having promotion now. I went to Chapter 2 in bugis. It’s opposite Bugis Junction, near bugis street. I have also switch to an Organic shampoo which I stock up when I was in Japan when i was preggy. Dun want too much chemical ‘attacking’ my scalp.

Jessi,
What size of Fitti diapers did u bot during the promo that u told us previously ? They told me is $60 for a carton of M size (6x 44's). Isn't it $60 ?

Jessi,
Pls disregard my earlier post.
What size of Fitti diapers did u bot during the promo that u told us previously ? They told me is $66 for a carton of M size (6x 44's). Isn't it $60 ?

millie: should be $60 per carton. I paid $120 for 2 cartons when they delivered last week.
it's the same price for all sizes.

flos,
IKEA highchair is very simple in design. Nothing is adjustable (except the strap for the buckle).

crayon,
Jonas is quite the opposite. The few times when he didn't managed to get good beauty sleep is when he's given FM for the last feed. He sleeps better on my BM. Most bbs can get used to FM. U just need to find the RIGHT one for him --- typical problems would be constipation or loose stools if intolerant. Jonas can't take cow's milk based FM (lao sai) and goat's milk (also lao sai but not so bad) whilst soy milk makes him constipated (once in every 2-5 days).

For mummies who latch on most of the time, the most common problem is actually rejection of the bottle. So u hv to introduce the bottle e.g. 2 weeks b4 returning back to work to get him accustomed. I latched on Joshua for 5 mths and he took him a very long time (till he's abt 1YO) to drink well from the bottle. He hardly finishes his 120ml and will only dream-feed (refuse to drink when he's awake). That's why for Jonas, I hardly ever latch on!!!

bigtoes,
Jonas is very "zai bo", too gentle for a boy. Nope, he doesn't scratch himself or anyone for that matter. At most rub his eyes when tired, tickle my maid when he's being fed or flash his mega-watt smile. Sometimes sneeze or burp into my face and then give a sheepish smile. Brightens up my day.

LC,
I need to resign as my hubby will be relocated to USA.. Therefore baby and me will be tagging along.

Btw how should I let my boss know? Wonder if I should place the letter on his desk and wait for him to call me or just see him the first hr when I start work? Which one is more appropriate? Don't want him to think I'm rude...

Btw seems like the mummies here had been travelling ard.. Any tips for places that are -3 degrees or even lower? Any place selling baby thermo wear(she will be 6months 1week by the time we fly)?

Gunibabe/Jessi,
I emailed them the day i saw Jessi's post, but they only replied yest....urghhhh, so i guess the price has increasd and yes , it's now $66 for all sizes.

dmbb

not sure about the cereal as the last time i only brought in formula. but if it is unopened the same principle should apply right? otherwise can jettison at the airport, ceral isnt as expensive as formula
plus ur mum is right, think that most of the standard brands are easily available in OZ

qqq
when are u going to the US? if soon, dont buy too much, a few pieces will do cos the stores are having their winter sales now to clear stock (which is a lot nicer and cheaper than here!)and u will kick urself if u have already bought lots of stuff. unless u have been posted to some ulu-ated plac where its 2 hours to the nearest decent mall then....
Marks and Spencer sells thermal wear for kids.

dseptkon,
I'm going on the end of March. Ops.. I've brought a lot for my little ones except thermo wear.. For my hubby and me.. So far only brought gloves..

Btw the part I'm staying is quite ulu and cold.. need 1hr to reach decent mall..

Millie,
Ya.. I've clear all of my ML leave.. I'm also v excited to go there somemore dun need to work(my dream is to b SAHM).. but only worries is bb as she's quite sentitive to cold..

Btw u know any websites which will show the whole year of USA?

Millie: At least they contacted you. They keep emailing me to ask for address and contact number, which i have provided them 4 times. Pissed off sia.

i trying to pump:
- wake up about 7am (100 to 160ml)
- at work about 11am (100 to 120ml)
- at work about 4pm (100 to 120ml)
- home about 8pm (less than 100ml)
- home before sleep about 12mn (around 100ml)
- midnight if she wakes up latch on.

Her intake about 6x120ml = 720ml
Say i managed to pump max amount each time, can only get 600ml. Still short of 120ml....

how???

i used to pump more than 150ml each time. but over the last 1 month, ss keep dropping.... how to up my ss again?

btw who is interested to get the fitti M size? i got 3 unopen packets to let go because my girl got expensive bum. Got v bad rash using fitti.

bought from NTUC 3 for $39.90. so willing to let go at 3 for $35.

btw how many pills of fenugreek can we take per day? i bought the GNC one. is it good? currently taking 1 in the morning and 1 at night.

qqq: when i had to leave for china several yrs ago due to hb's posting, i just mentioned in the letter i was going to china. for record purpose in case u return to sg next time, future employer call to check.

-3 degrees is ok for adults if u are sufficiently clothed and nourished (i took lamb during winter and brewed winter soups), not sure abt babies cos was never preggers during winter.

dseptkon is right, buy in US. I lugged a lot of 100% cashmere from the US outlets back to China. of course ironically, the cashmere is from china but u can't get nice cashmere jumpers in china, so must buy from US

once u got that cashmere and down feather jacket, subzero is sap sap water! of course, try to buy cashmere/angorra socks to protect your feet if u walk on the snow a lot. i bought a lot from scandinavia. gloves and scarves are all nec.

green_baby, ur pump timing seems quite far apart. abt 4-5hrs. Why dont u try to do pumping every 3hrs if u can. It'll take a few days to a wk to see an increase. Likewise for Xuanting. Maybe u can do a 3hrly pump?

LC/Angeline/Lok, actually I intend to bf for as long as I can. But he still wakes up at least once during the night to nurse. I'll be returning to work next month and hb thinks it will be very tiring for me. I also dono lor.. Like very duh rite? Have milk but want to feed FM.

Lok, I realised that Reyes has that prob when I introduced the bottle again to him 2 wks ago. He was using his tongue to lick and twirl but not drinking. So now, I try to feed him using bottle more often and he's better at it now. BUT i hate washing and sterilising and pumping!!!

I rented bumbo and the jumperoo for my boy and he seems to enjoy them. Let him have fun for a month.. haaa..

qqq
since u already bought your stuff never mind
always better to be prepared and the US has the wonderful concept of "garage sales" so..hehe u can unload if needed. by march the weather may be still be chilly. which state r u headed for?

<font color="0077aa">Millie, afetr seeing your posts on the Fitti's price, I called them &amp; they told me they are processing my orders &amp; its still the same price for me. The staff said that last day everyone rush to email them so they have alot of backlogs. I will most prob get the diapers end of the week.

qqq: US is the place I want to visit!!!! Its a shopping haven!

Crayon: If you have BM, then must persist on! Cos if you still want to continue BF-ing even though lil" sumo can sleep thru still need to get up &amp; pump to keep supply going? Your sumo good leh, only wake up once, my smallberry wakse up at 2am / 4 or 5am recently.. I also don't know why, he can sleep to sleep thru either...</font>