(2008/09) Sep 2008

thanks cupcakes

yr cheeky chubby angel flip liao? ;)

mrsyap, springz
if u ladies r gg to japan, must let us know how ur trip went ok?
Japan is also on my to-go list. Cos i wanna take my cheeky girl to Tokyo Disneyland!!! But mebbe not now cos I dun think she's tall enough for most of the rides. Plus baby can't do anything at Disneyland. And I'm not sure hubbs is keen on shopping at harajuku with me... Dun think he's into sanrio land either... If I say go Odaiba to take ferris wheel, he'll tell me to take the Sg Flyer. LOL
He asked me last nite, if we go to TOkyo u wanna squeeze in the trains with everyone else?
I'm like, it's only that crowded during the peak hours...
Actually I wanna go japan more for myself. Hee hee... I've never been to Osaka. I wanna go there someday!

hi xuan xuan, welcome! my babi girl was born on sep 4th too!

kymkym - what is the store that sells bumper mat at parkway? i going there later!

Dear Momo:

Minitoons at ground floor, check it out :p I'll be going there later too =) and Motherworks at great world, the baby shop on the top level at tanglin mall sells it too

Japan:

I soooooooo want to go.. for the hot springs, for the cherry blossoms, for the seafood, for the shopping! Sanrio Land- yes yes yes!

KymKym, the minitoons material is different from the small small world's.. I checked out the minitoons one before but the sales person was saying might not be safe for the baby..

<font color="119911">Jas - Baby K also has the habit of putting his fist/thumb into his mouth, and leaving drool all over! Very normal.

Today, i noticed that he was able to pick up his rattle from the mat and switch hands as well, but i think its more pure coincidental than actually knowing what he is doing. Meanwhile, I set up a numbers mat on the floor today to see if he could crawl during tummy time - and he is actually able to move a couple of inches, but with his head on the mat cos he can't coordinate the hands with the legs yet...then gets frustrated that he is not moving much, and cries!

ROUGH BABIES:
Are your little ones very rough? Like K would pull his ears, press his nose and eyes...and yesterday, he scratched his nose so hard when he was sleeping, he left a 1cm scratch mark with blood on the nose.
He doesn't seem to know the meaning of pain! Didn't even cry when the PD gave him his 6-in-1 jab the other day! Am wondering if this is common with the other babies, esp baby boys?</font>

bacon &amp; egg... the nepia is cheap leh... cos we bou direct from them is $15/pc... bt i dun rem seeing the promo at NTUC ytd leh...

ytd late evening i went NTUC to buy the pampers active oso.. i bou 2 packs of L size to try.. I think alot of ppl buying.. cos ytd the shelve for no more! I get the staff to get the stock for mi.. hee hee

if it is GOOD.. i'm gng to stock up MORE... the Nepia ones which i'm using cannot last thru out the ngt...

digress a bit here.. any mummies know where I can get good pen cai? 盆菜.. been wanting to get it for reunion dinner since years back but nv got around to sourcing for good ones..

Bigtoes, my dd also scratched her face(near the eye) very deep, alot of blood. She din cry or struggle, we were watching tv together then suddenly hubby saw the blood. I dun think she feel the pain as she was still v calm until i applied aloe vera jelly on the wound then she felt the sting and struggled. Btw, she din cry last time when she had to go for blood test and for her 5in1 last sat she just scream less than 5secs. haven even get the pacifier out then she stop already. LOL! I think they forget pain easily cos they dunno wad's happening? but she knows when her mama smack her and she'll scream until no voice come out!

<font color="0000ff">Koras
aiyoh.. poor u. why dun get a mattress and let him sleep on the floor? den at least u get ur deserved rest. I always find that i'm not able to go into a deep sleep if M is sleeping next to me. Any slight move he makes will jolt me up

SarahMay
haha... I ended up lining the cot bumbers around the mattress against the wall, which had a good result. coz M didn't fall last nite. He ended up juz turning round n round in bed..

Jas (mobilesuitegal)
good buy hor the mattress!! now we are considering whether to get another one
oohh.. I won't put M on a bed with height at least for awhile. Will prob wait till he's older. In the meantime, it will juz be ti-lam on the floor beside my bed, protected with all the cot bumpers around

Oh.. Max loves his fingers as well. can't stand it coz his chin will always end up very wet. gross. Dun think the guard rail can be attached to ti-lam leh.. coz the rail quite high i think. Can consider like wat i did lor.. juz cushion the ti-lam all round. It should be fine

Max doesn't have interest in teethers as well. Like Guniboy, he can hold on to them for a few seconds, find it in his mouth (sometimes knocking it on his face / forehead) den 'plop', it lands on the floor.

crayonshinchan
haha.. dun say ur Sumo ah.. my boy oso.. when he wants to slp.. will whine n fuss lor.. pick him up, diam.. put him down, he cries the house down.. sighz.. luckily it happens onli once a blue moon else i think i'll juz smack his butt n leave him to cry

Babies Flipping
Just wondering, anyone whose babies here born before Aug 19 and still cannot flip yet???

Miow
I've been using Huggies Pull-ups.. yeap.. ur mum is rite.. juz tear from the sides. Find that it's ok onli.. coz kinda diff to wear lor.. esp when bb keep kicking. but so far it hasnt leaked on me.. tho my boy always give mi huge bomb

XuanXuan
Welcome!! Wah.. ur bb flip so early..... envious

Bigtoes
haha... Max is rough too. He likes to pull his ears. Oh.. he plays rough too. Gentle gentle play doesn't interest him.

Wow... K didn't cry when given the 6-in-1?? brave boy
hehe.. mayb coz his thighs well-cushioned

bacon&amp;eggs, be careful w the tissue though, they tear easily and can get stuck on bb's lips or tongue.

me too dropping hair.
when will this stop?

crayonshinchan, sumo's height is quite average leh, quite a number of bbs here are ard that height too i think. maybe cos he's heavy so seems shorter?

morning mummies ,

Just bought Zac and zen for their injections ...
Zen is 65 cm and 6.6kg already ... keke .. all on the 50% range .. but the head frame is small .. 0-25% range ....PD says no issue cos Zac also head small 25% from birth till nw ... haha ... no Mass in their brain ..*Cham *

Zen did not even cry .. for two injections .. keke ... Prev 2 and 6 in 1 .. so proud of him .. Zac cried so loudly and kept pointing to the injection area and show me a glum look. They are both sleeping soundly after the visit.

Pampers active ... I am gg to stock up at my mums place already ....choinging to NTUC .. I still have 6 packs of L size left for zac ( My zac is still wearing L size at 19mths loh and he is only 11 kg ) Am gg to store some XL size ..

CNY getting nearer .. changing notes already .. anyone knoes bank start to change notes already ?

Hair loss 4 mths after delivery to 1 year ..Hear say only ... buty some hair tonic to prevent hair loss for those concern mummies

Can check with Whoever mummy who bought bb for Cruise? Is the cruise facilities good ? bb friendly ? I am thinking of gg after CNY when bb start on cereal ... quite easy to feed and bring bb for an outing..

Welcome to the sept forum Xuanxuan. Aiyoh…ur bb can flip at 2nd month??? Tat is amazing fast leh!

The beanie hats are so cute and there are so many designs!!! Keke.. at least something to keep me awake at work now!!

Minitoons
Oh, I din know they sell LG mats there!!??
I paid $138 leh.. opps.. if got cheaper option I will be DUI manz!

BB Scratches
My bb oso scratches himself at his face and ear. Every morning I will see new scratches on his face. I started calling him ‘xiao-hua-mao’ oledi. In e end, I ‘handcuff’ his hands with mittens every night when he is asleep

Pink Discharge
Anyone experience faint pinkish red discharge? I wonder whether issit menses coming soon or my ‘factory’ got problem esp nowadays I feel a numb soreness whenever I seat down!!!

rough bbs
bigtoes, mine does pretty scary things like yank her hair, dig her fingers into her eyes, rub nose &amp; ears v hard too. has left a few scratch marks on her little face which she too didn't seem to notice. i think they are exploring the use of their hands but can't quite control their strength yet.

mine sort of push herself forwards a few inches too when we put her on her tummy! her butt goes up and down and is very funny to watch!

crayon, what's pen cai? for eating/deco?

Gunibabe: The beanies are here! Can’t wait to get my hands on them. Btw, where can I get the Dentinox teething gel?

Angeline, Millie, kymkym: My hair dropping have improved after I went to the salon to do a scalp treatment last Friday. Because our hormones changes and we tends to have oiler scalp now. Maybe you can consider doing that.

My boy is also putting his fingers into his mouth a lot recently. And I found out that he accidentally cut his gums coz when I fed him with milk, he would cry the whole house down. End up, have to give him milk at a lower temperature instead. I don’t understand how he can cut himself even though his finger nails are short. Now have to resort to wearing mittens again. Anyone baby have been scratching their ears? My boy does that and I discovered ytd that his ear bled from the scratching. Read somewhere before that when babies does that, it means that they are teething, coz the nerves for the teeth and the ears are connected. So heartpain when I see the wound.

Welcome Xuanxuan!

Japan: My last trip to Japan was in March 2008. Going there again this June. Depends on which area you wanna go. I find Disneyland a waste of money as I went there in Aug during their summer holidays, so it was overcrowding with people and I din get to go on the ride most of the time. My last trip there, I stayed in one of the Escott apartment in Roppongi. That area got a lot of expatriate and famous for their night life. Can go visit Shinjuku, Harajuku, Shibuya, Asakusa, Ueon. These are very good places to shop. Akihabara can buy electronics. I have been to Odaiba too, their shopping centres interior can take your breath away. Must go for their hot spring too. There was once I went for an outdoor hot spring during winter, very good feeling, coz you are freezing cold, but yet feel so warm in the water.

GTG! will tok later.

Hi, Jaymickey

already PM you.. You got the bumper mat as well? Hmm.. maybe can take a look during the gathering at your place before deciding to buy or not. My hubby will scream if he see a big piece of mat in the living hall. He is already complaining that little J has a lot of things lying around but bo bian cos we do not have a storeroom. The previous owner has knocked it down to make space for the kitchen.

Hi, Bigtoes

My little J is not any better just that he dun scratch himself but more on mummy!!! He will pull my hair, scratch my face, especially my nose and mouth. Piangz! My nose already so small and he can still scratch. I got a small scratch mark from him!

Hi,Xuanting and Kymkym

I am losing a lot of my hair.. scary mann. Always ask my hubby to check my head to see if it is balding but heng dun have.. dun noe if he is telling a white lie. any remedy?? helpppp...

chewy_ring: omg! hair loss up to 1 year? i'll be bald by then. anyone got any good hair tonic to recommend? the jackie chan one? hehe..

Goldfish: i also have soreness down there whenever i seat down, near the back of anus part. it had been there eversince delivery. i checked with my gynae during my pap smear the last time, he said that it's cos the tail bone not yet recover. but it had been so long till now, don't know should i visit gynae again to check.

baby sleeping on mattress
is there such a thing that sleeping on mattress on the floor is too liang for baby, as in too much cold air? cos my girl going to outgrown her playpen at my parents place, wondering should i buy a cot or just get mattress to put on the floor.

Ade,
I did the scalp treatment 1 after confinement leh, but can't rem the price, i think it shld be quite ex...how much u paid for urs ?

cny ang pows survey:
how much do u normally give to:
1) nieces/nephews
2) friends' (close) kids
3) other random kids

i've only given out ang pows for 2 yrs (in hkd cos spend cny there) and also hardly meet kids so dunno what the market rate is here. suppose someone with 4 kids gives your kid a $20 ang pow, would u be expected to give $20 x 4 or divide the $20 out (-ish) among her 4 kids?

chewy_ring, i've been getting the pink discharge too! dunno if it's remnants from delivery or a weak menstruation either.

Hi,Jessi

Me also have the same question as you with regards to sleeping on mattress on floor.. any advice, mommies?

chewy_ring,
Zen did not cry, tat was so brave boy! my DS cried out for a few secs after the jab was administered. PD said he was a brave boy, coz he only cried AFTER the jab was completed! hahaha....abit slow rite..

my boy was 64cm @ 7.4kg as of last tues. he is quite a big boy! pd mentioned tat he might flip later since he is over-weighed! i tried to help him and he seems to like flipping! he loves to "stand" thou...

sasa,
J is not showing signs of flipping yet either (he's born on 11 Sep). Not fretting too much abt it yet. I believe every child will develop differently. His kor kor has better motor skills when he's an infant but based on what observed, didi seemed to be able to "comprehend" what we say better than his kor kor at the same age. So they have different strengths (One's "wen", one's "wu"!)

crayon,
We tried the Crystal Jade pen cai for one year. Only decent, not fantastic. My dad (who runs his own restaurant) tells me actually it tastes better if u leave it overnight...

LC, yah.. u can check it out at my place first.. i leave it in the room so that she can play with her toys while i do my things in peace.. don't have to worry abt her falling down from the bed etc.. Plus she is attracted to the colorful pics on the mat too

jaymickey
r we supposed to pm u regarding the cny celebrations?
sorry, too long din log on, am lost in the posts. pai sei...

whoa too many posts to catch up on...will respond in detail when i get home tonite.

aloevera: over-weight, therefore flip later? maybe that's why mine isn't flipping yet. 65.5cm/7.380kg at week 16. however he has been thumping his legs on the mattress a lot and aloud!

crayon: can't be...he is certainly heavier and bigger built than my son.

BEANIES: so cute, but my son's head is always perspiring!

BANDABIBS: I'm also aunty. I use small face cloths to wipe his mouth/drool. use tissues only when the burp cloth is soggy or soiled when we're outside... he doesn't take to stiff bibs cos the velcro fastener irritates his neck. Ikea bibs are however very good.

gunibabe: diaper cloth material on the other side of the bandabib? got closeup of the bib to show?

jojobar: did i answer u? anw, it's $350 nett best price by CC. where to get preloved ones?

lok: is the ikea high chair adjustable? can u lower it?

lying on mattress on floor: is it cold and too liang? but if the floor is parquet? luckily my pils set up the travel cot liao. miniflos will sleep soundly inside the travel cot.

HAIR DROPPING: HELP!!!!! Can U rub some XO on my scalp?

bigtoes/chewyring: yeah, miniflos also never cried when he took his jab. phew!

xuanting: economic downturn, u can reduce the amt per packet &amp; no one will say a thing. if each family has more kids, than each kid gets lower sum. if only one child, then bigger lor, esp if he is your nephew/niece.

WHERE TO BUY NICE KUMQUATS?

crayon: u like 盆菜? yucks...

NTUC promo: no harm stocking up if u r using solely Pampers. mead johnson's ENFALAC A+ also hving promo at NTUC. Only $36.85. cheapest in town

Hi,Flos

aloevera is right. my PD also said my little J is overweight so the head a bit heavier so can't flip so fast.. in fact put on tummy, he is already panting :p

baconegg

yah..$39.95 for 3 pkts is cheap..can stock up..
but i tink over liao if i not wrong..3days only.

chewy_ring

cruise? if going,better bring more warm clothing for bb coz of the strong wind/coldness + aircon on board..we brought FB go cruise when she 1yr old..end up she caught a cold n gota see the doc on board.

ade

i got my dentinox gel from guardian...where u did your scalp treatment? how much?

flos

XO?haha..my mil was just telling me yesterday again to rub XO on my FB,Carine hair..then my hubby oso add in say can rub my hair oso

<font color="0077aa">Crayon: Yah lo, when baby sleep with us, I am the one having aches coa hubby don't know or don't care. So I am freeze in that position till morning. And your hubby same as my hubby!!! Super boring, he don't want any holidays either, he rather work though..

Keke.. We are quite similar also, I also carry a hanky whenever I go, even I have bibs I don;t usually let Zane wear.

Limay: Smallberry scratch his face like nobody business as well. And a few times with blood. BUt baby's skin heals very fast so should be ok.

Yday baby fusses again at 2am / 4am / 5am &amp; I got to wake up at 730am today to send my car for servicing. And there was traffice jam on PIE &amp; Bt Timah, was dozing off while waiting!

Remember I went for a wedding lunch on sat? Halfway going home there was a jam at Bt Timah &amp; smallberry was crying for milk behind the seat. I quickly turn in Namly road, not knowing that one of the minister stayed there &amp; parked after the security post at the authorised vehicle area &amp; brought my boy in front to BF! Then I saw from the mirror the security guard was writing down something on his pad, maybe he thot I am a suspicious character! Haha!! But thank GOD he didn't come over &amp; ask me wat I am doing!</font>

jaymickey: the Enfalac u bought is the one with the Malay words one (red background) or the one in cyan? yes, the Malaysian made ones are cheaper at my neighbourhood provision shop too

LC: really? my son's head circ is 42.5cm. he hates to keep his head up for too long when we give him tummy time.

angeline: XO is not supposed to be rubbed on bb's head rite? it worked for my mom when she lost a lot of hair after giving birth to us.

<font color="119911">sasa (sasa_xie) – he had some numbing cream before the 6-in-1, so that helped. Plus his fat thighs of cos! Even then, he cried for like 3 seconds during the last jab when he was 2 months old, and without the numb cream, and didn’t cry when the nurse took a blood sample last week! Braver than me when it comes to needles.

chewy_ring (chewy_ring) – wow, Zen is quite a long baby! K is 63.5cm, but 7.4kg! Think about 50% percentile for length, but 80% percentile for weight. He also has a big, heavy head.

Rough baby – looks like everyone's babies are the same! K also likes to grab my shirt or seek out my fingers when nursing and start tugging on them or scratching me with his nails!

Sucking fingers – he is doing that a lot more now – I noticed today that he does his tummy time and tries to crawl, he stops to suck his fingers, like to 'refuel'!

Japan – hubby spent 3 months there when he started work at his new job 2 years back, and I was with him for 3 weeks, working out of my Japan office and going for meetings so I didn’t need to take leave. I actually survived taking the train to work during peak hours and not getting lost!

xuanting (xuanting) – CNY Angpow rates:
This is what we have been giving:
1) nieces/nephews - $38
2) friends' (close) kids and other relo's kids - $8 to $28
3) other random kids - $6 (or $4 if really random kids we don’t know belong to who, but we bump into during CNY visits)
4) other random people – auntie that cleans the corridor for my apartment building, security guards, etc - $4 and 2 mandarin oranges

Jessi (jessi) – don't know about being too 'liang' on the floor, but we have been putting baby K at our room (his mattress on our floor) ever since the CL left. Been ok so far.

Detinox for cradle cap – got this from the PD some days back, think she charged us $11. Its pretty good - been using it a couple of days, and K's dandruff has cleared.

D has been fussing more lately &amp; crying inconsolably at times.. I think his gums hurt. He stops after I apply the dentinox on his gums, poor thing.

storeberry
I do that too.. when baby wails non-stop, I'll stop the car &amp; whip out my portable milk bottle for baby (provided it's not on the expressway lah).. lol. But I do it on the backseat coz my back windows are tinted.

Flos ,
enfalac cheapest in NTUC .. u are right ...i always buy from them .. in dozens

Angeline ,
IS the cruise bb freindly ? liek a lot of things for bb to play ?

Dentinox ,
I only got their teething gel last time when zac is teething ... by the way my zachary first tooth came out only when he was 15 MONTHS .. long wait for his maiden tooth and till nw 19mths old he only has 8 teeth ... haha ... a record holder for my family for late teething .. haha

Limay ,
63.5 and 65 not much difference la .. haha .. but the weight a lot of difference to a lot of bb ... Zenneth is not big nor chubby cos he never drink much .. my daily pump of 600 ml is able to satisfy all his feeds.( and he has been drinking this much since birth ).. haha ... PD says as long as bb is growing ... no issues on low milk intake ...

flos

not sure lei but i heard of these rubbing of Xo on bb head to grow more hair b4...anyway,i haven try yet..too lazy to go rub..haha

chewy ring

for bb i tink not much lei..only got the pool..cant even put bb under their bbsitting...n oso cannot go gamble..have to have 1 person look after bb

cupcakes - oh! That's a pity!! I think it is impt for u to choose the right place for a holiday. I'm planning to go to Bali and Melbourne next. Not sure about Bali yet as u can't buy a lot of things which u might need but Melbourne is a definite GO coz it is very baby friendly! Can u get refunds on ur bookings?

Chewring - It's me! :D I found that being on the cruise was great coz you are like only 3 mins away from ur room. If the baby fusses / poos / needs milk, it's easy to go back to the privacy of your room. But like Angeline said, good to pack warm clothes as it can get a little chilly but Mini D was fine! I brought a beanie for him so he is kept pretty warm. The sound of the ocean seems to make him sleep better as well. The downside is that neither my husband nor I did much as we were just going around the baby's schedule. He naps about 2 hours after he last woke up......If budget is ok, I strongly recommend getting the balcony rooms as you and ur hubs can hang out there and chit chat / read while baby is sleeping! Let me know if u have any other questions!

Miow / LC - thanks! My first day back at work went better than expected today coz I couldn't get onto my office network and IT couldn't solve it and I told them I'm going home (at 4pm!) since I was just sitting around. I came back during lunch to pump! No nursing room in my office. I think I need to find a meeting room . store room. SO SAD

POO POO - is ur baby poo-ing more? Mini D did 3.5 times yesterday and 2 times today but it's not watery. Looks rather normal. Previously, he poos once a day or sometimes once in 2 days. Is this normal?

Flos / Crayon - I like peng cai too! I had the one from the chinese restaurant in Orchard Hotel - Hua Ting - and it was quite good! IS it a very aunty dish? HAHAHAHa...

storeberry / Meie - hahaha....portable milk bottles. That's one reason why I really hope to keep on bfing. When nothing else works to soothe him, bfing does the trick 99% of the time!