(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="119911">sasa (sasa_xie) - yes, can u PM me the details (color, size, cost etc) of your neck float?
Just want to use the float for a couple of months at most, cos i have a cute mushroom tube for when K is bigger.

Flos (flos) - most of the baby carriers can take up to 10-12kg in weight only right? At the rate K is growing (7kg and about 61cm now), i think it might not even make sense to get a carrier for him anymore! We are also finding it cramp in his car seat (Britax) already - have to remove the inner padding very soon.</font>

Anyone's baby (6 months and below) had chicken pox before? I've just been dianogsed with chicken pox and worry that I could have passed it on to my 3 month old baby.

Care to share your experience so that I can be prepared if indeed I had passed on the virus to him? Thanks much.

Hi Mummies..

For the EBM in the fridge(store abt 24hrs and above) tat have metallic smell, i'll throw away.. Only those that smell strong, I'll used it.

I'm a milk lover yet i cant stand my own BM..

Btw thanks for adding me in FB.. Mummies U all look so pretty.. Seems like all are back to pre-pregnancy figure..

Time to work hard...

<font color="0000ff">Flos
ya lor.. didnt buy. Have been carrying Max whenever in the car lor... terrible rite.. sighz

Wow.. Isaac is really growing well. He's even heavier than Max. Think Max is only 6.7kg at the moment. N he's one of the older babies here..

Bigtoes
PM u

xuanting: yea, that's my own home scales reading. 10 days ago, he was 7kg at the clinic. my PD had quipped that Isaac is gonna be one tall boy. For girls, it's a diff benchmark altogether.

bigtoes: yeah, i'm like racing with time, rushing to dress Isaac up with all the smaller sized rompers I hv!

remove the inner padding? How could I hv forgotten abt that? OK, I will remove that this weekend.

BBjorn AIR can take up to 10kg, so it's going to be redundant very soon...And that Rainforest bouncer, 11.3kg? Shd last till abt 6 mths old?

sasa: do u take the highway often? We need to take the highways to get to CBD. Every turn &amp; swerve my hubby takes, I'll sway from one side to the other in the backseat. If I'm not firmly seated, Isaac's head will knock agst the car door leh! I already had two NEAR accidents: 1) at the junction (when a stupid cab suddenly dashed thru the red light from the opp direction); 2) highway jam brakes. so dun play play hor!

When I take taxi, I'll bjorn Isaac. At least he is vertically strapped and it makes payment to the cabby easier too

<font color="0000ff">Flos
onli take highways on weekends
when we go out shopping or to my parents' place. Have not taken cab with Max coz each time go out, will be with my hb wor. So far still ok. hb drives like a gentleman when Max is in the car. else he surely cheong alrady

yeah... noe its not safe, sighz... i have to brainwash my hb into getting one leh. we have 1 passed down. but i dun see how I can use tat, coz it's so filmsy AND it's so huge. Not suitable for Max yet</font>

CY

same lah..i got mild childhood asthma but outgrow liao lah n now my fb celest oso 'asthmatic' (keep coughing,phlegm,panting etc) my hb always say inherit my genes..

Bigtoes/Flos,

At some stage, the growth will slow down (typically after 6 mths when they are more mobile and start falling sick..). Not logical to expect your bbs to continue growing linearly. Joshua doubled his birthwt at 6mths but only gain another 2 kg till 12MO.

millie

haha..i oso not sure.if take mrt,very far lei.but 1 thing for sure is i will bbjourn my bb again if going.these few days weather no good.keep raining..which part of lavender u stay? i stay at farrer park..quite near lavender..

flos

Air also 10kg meh? thot Original is 10kg..the other model slightly more right?

flos/sasa

ya..get the right fit carseat else defeat the purpose..its impt for a carseat.my head scar will forever serve a reminder to me...

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - haha, me too! I bought K alot of new rompers for 3-6 months that can barely fit now! Most of these have not even been worn cos the look too nice for daily home use, but now they are too small...!
Meanwhile, his thighs have gotten huge! I am calling K "Fat boy", together with "Nou nai boy", "Smelly boy", grubby,....don't know why all his names have negative connotations, but he just smiles when I call him these anyway. He even smiles when he is naughty and I threaten to throw him into his diaper bin! How to get angry with him like that..

Lok (lok) - yes, i am monitoring his weight weekly and the average weekly gain has tapered down abit. Even then, he doubled his birth weight (<3kg)in 3 months, rather than the recommended 6 months! And he is on just BM, which I thought is supposedly less fattening compared to FM. Not too bothered though, as long as he is not lethargic and healthy

Hey mummies, sigh missed a great party! Hee recall that Kym offered for the CNY one??

I think my ss dropping again coz I've been dragging to 4 hrs (lazy me wanted to sleep between 2-5am!) Tried latching lil s just now to stimulate but guess too late, she doesn't want to latch!!
WAILED so loudly! Again, I feel I've lost some sort of bond.. sigh

Fri's sale.. storeberry, did you mention that you heard it is not as good? Do any mummies happen to know if it is baby-safe?

any similac mummies?? got some b-day vouchers couple $$ off similac mum n formula.. give me a tinker on FB ya?

wah i feel so accomplished!!!

bought my boy down to causeway point to send in my brand new phone for them to assess coz this new phone got hardware problem right from the box!! so angry..

but anyway today first time bring him out alone and put him in the car seat!! surprise me tt he didn't cry at all... was in fact enjoying the scenary ...now more confident of bringing him out alone =)

Flos.. i oso dun noe why cannot let him clear his AL... he request for 3 days and only 1 day approved lor... the sickening thing is that his boss went for 1 week plus Europe Trip lor!!!!

Back from the book place ... the books are cheap ... so even cost as low as $2..flashcards at 3.50 i think ( too small so did not buy) it is at the 4th floor .. called children book store .. i bought some board books but gg back later end of year when i have the time to slowly browse .. rushing back ..

flos ,
my zac is only 10 kg at 18th mths old .. think he only gain 1 kg from one year old benchmark .. haha ... cos when they are active they dun gain too much ...

hi flos,

my son (yy) is also around 7+ kg and he has just turned 3 mths. my arms ache if i carry him for too long, so in the end he gets passed around in my family to carry.

how much bm does he take per sitting? yy takes abt 120 - 150ml (fm + bm) my hubby keeps wanting him to drink more. he takes the cue fm the similac tin...but i scared that he will continue to pile on...

and same same, have to race against time to wear his rompers...his rompers are all quite tight around the tummy...hee hee

and thanks to the mummies who have added me to fb. the party looks fun!

hee.. happy got a loot hey Chewy ring? Btw, did u manage to see the recommended authors and bestsellers as Flos mentioned? Last I went, they only had lvl 1 bazaar and I didn't spot any, so ended up buying from Borders!

Oh, bought "Guess How Much I Love You" from Kino.. haha had vouchers from last year's Christmas pressie so paid $2 for it only!! seems like the books at kino are a couple of $$ cheaper than Borders..fyi

btw Flos, do you like eric carle's books? I previously posted that I find 'Animals Animals' quite good as it has poems from Rudyard Kipling, Emily Dickinson alongside carle's illustrations.. I bought it at $19.90 at borders (paperback) and yesterday saw it at a BP at $12 http://www.freewebs.com/mumandbabe/apps/photos/album.jsp?albumID=3286221

haha my boy opposite le... his 3-6 months rompers are too short for him although the body part still quite loose.... coz my boy was 60 cm when he was at his second month..... weighting about 5.35kg tt time..

going for the 3rd month checkup plus second dose of 6-in-1 jab next tue.... can't wait to find out his weight and height!! =)

LC: i dilute the BM with some water first before my feet soak so the smell not so strong. yup i will wash my feet with water after the soak. i think cos the BM is oily so after the soak my feet seemed to feel softer. hehehe..

Bras Basah book store
is there sales at the book store? how come so many mummies buying books there. i'm thinking of getting more board books.

Jeraldin: i'm also thinking of going to the sales in tampines but going without bb. if you are going then maybe we can go together.

Jessi sure! but i'll be bringing bb coz nobody help me take care....

I most prob go down in the noon le coz i wanna go after my bb finish poo-ing...

anyway sherrifer intend to go down earlier to see if got things to buy... so i'll also wait for her info first =)

<font color="0077aa">Jessi: I don't think there is a sale but they sell very cheap books! I want to go there but no time to go to town! I hoping I can go to the Tampines sale but not sure whether I can go so early cos need to make my baby sleep at 10plus..

Jeraldine: I ncan totally understand how you feel! Cos initially I was feeling jittery bringing my smallberry out but I managed to bring him to Springz's house &amp; he enjoyed his ride so much!! Keke!

Springz: This Fri garment sale is good I heard but the pther learning stuffs sale might not be so good..</font>

Lok: That's what my hubs said too
Can't possibly continue to grow taller and heavier like those mythical characters, 十兄弟! But still, my dad and bro are both above 1.8m, and my mom and sis both near 1.7m
I'm the shortest in the family, only 1.62m.

Angeline: What happen to ur head?

Bigtoes: my PD said 1kg per mth is normal. Mine also <3kg at birth. I expect him to lose some wight when he learns how to crawl...

BLOWING BUBBLES: r u babies blowing bubbles? Isaac has just discovered the cheeky act of blowing bubbles with his milk/saliva!

miow: Yeah, I just went for my full body massage. u hv no idea how painful my back is!

Springz: i din recommend any authors to anyone here, dear! It was Lilboymom, the #1 committed educator of this thread!!! I just mentioned some established bookstores in SG, not that there are many!!

Nope, I dun hv Animal Animals. Is it interesting? Even the link that cloud posted here sometime back is cheaper than the bookstores!!

Jeraldin: 60cm at 8weeks? then your bb could be taller, cos Isaac was 57cm at 8weeks. In 4 wks, he grew 7cm. I wonder if he is going to fall off his Mothercare changing wedge cos that is 70cm long I guesstimate?

Jessi: Go to Kino/Borders/Page 1. Those are my favourite!

Jaymickey,

What time we meet tomolo ah~~~~ give me a buzz ya, PM also can :p~~

Friday's Gimmill clothing sale:

What time should we meet ah, it starts at 9am lei!!! Spring, storeberry, bacon, jaymickey, cupcakes and all mummies you all must come ah, to grab good stuff for the sept mummies first!!!!!!! after that we can go for breakky hehehehe

Bras Basah Children Book Store:

Not really sale la, but they sell pretty cheap books, cept that mummies must sieve it out for themselves ya, not all books are suitable even if they are cheaper..

Hi Breadmum,

I went to my cousin estate to collect the jumperoo today. WIll fix it up for the baby tomorrow.

you keen to go the warehouse on friday as well ? I am quite keen to go as well. S

FRIDAY SALE
i was thinking of gg at 9am after seeing the horrific squash at FOX sale! Hee hee

Am so happy with my borders loot!
Got so many books!
The giving tree - shel silverstein
The rainbow fish - marcus pfstier
The gift of nothing - Patrick Mcdonnell
A whole range (6 to be exact) of Sarah Boynton books (Uber cute!)
Spot's First Words
Spot's Big Lift the Flap Book
The Very Hungry Caterpillar Board Book
And a silly "Super Shiny Robot" book FB insisted on getting though I dun like it one bit!

I realise that I love BIG books!

wah.. you all going so early ah...
if i have to reach tampines at 9am.. i will ganna ERP le... plus i confirm my son will poo poo around 10 plus and i normally bath him around that time oso... em....

anyway mommies who will be going earlier... must remember to sms me when you reach there.... inform us got good buy for baby boys or not k??? =)

Jessi.. so how so how??? wat time you intend to go???

Jaymickey - am 3 bustops away from the sale place. Am staying at the junction of Tampines Ave 1 &amp; 8.

JoJo - I was home. aiya. we could have met up. have fun assembling it.

yes, Fri - i want to go?. I got to go early at 9am and leave by 10am cause bb got his jab at 11am.

bigtoes
tks for having us at yr cosy place, enjoyed myself very much...both baby and I were so tired aft that...I slept really early-at 11pm i think!!

cupcakes
cheekycheeks is such an angel...my hb kept saying she's so adorable!! I also think she is super cute...cupcakes also very sweet..esp in her pretty outfit!! U're a lucky mummy to have 2 sparkling gems!!

oh..i wanna to go to the sale too! I am intending to apply morning half day leave though! i stay at bishan lo.. damned far from tampines and i try to google for direction and ehem.. i tink quite remote leh!

anyone wanna to meet at tampines mrt and go 2gether huh?

i wanna to stock up bb clothes cos i was kena 'suan' by the caregivers at infant care centre that i have not been shopping clothes for bb ethan cos all his clothes are TOO SMALL liao :S

cupcakes - ya! borders only has the autumn, winter n spring series but i like the storyline of the original one.. hee me picky abt story.. quite against those ugly/ pretty concepts...
kino has it!! paperback only though!

flos - haha no did not mean to say that you recommended books but that i identify with you in that there were no recommended books/ famous authors at Bras Basah...

your guys are tempting me to go sales again!!!hahah..cannot cannot lah...

but then i need clothes for toddler boys!!im sure there wont be many there??

bras basah children's bookstore
actually they do sell books by eric carle, karen katz and others. their stocks usually move very fast. so you have to go once every 2 weeks to browse.

else you can strike up nice friendship with the lady boss and get her to keep for you when the stock comes in...

actually there is a store at 3rd level selling chinese books. so if you are interested to start your child on chinese reading..go browse...

storeberry
if you wanna get educational resrouces (teaching aids, charts etc), better get it online. singapore stuff very very ex!!!

<font color="0077aa">l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum): I want to get some chinese books but not sure what to look out for or buy? Any recommendations?

Wah, you all start buying books lah???

I only start buying flashcard few days ago. I'm sure very slow than most of the moms here leh. Haha.

I flash the cards to Ryan and he just look at the pics. He din really fuss or get impatient which i'm quite surprise, haha.

Btw, i think i read from one the mothers that when flash cards, no need to talk or explain the pics, just keep flashing. Is that rite? Or did i misunderstood anything? heehee.

lilboymom: ok, i'll try to go there once every 2 weeks to browse once i start working in 1/09. it's too troublesome to get there from home now.

i asked the lady boss about those 'famous authors', she said she didn't carry them. maybe they didn't take them out for the Hari Raya Haji sale.

HMMMMMMMMMMM..... Springzzz

That headband BP is posted by my friend one lei!!! if all of us mummies want... maybe i cannnnnnnn tryyyy to get some discount :pPPP>....< hahahaha

~~~~~Mummy's Chiong-ing Session on Friday~~~~~ Don't forget to come!! and CASH only!!

1985241.jpg

Bras Basah Bookstore:

Yinyin, Seems like I'll have to pay a visit every 2 weeks la!! Although i bought quite a bit the last time.... my stories are a bit running out!.. am reading two stories to scarlett everyday, one in the morn one in the evening and nursery rhymes during bath.. a bit scared will run out of stories man!!! hhahahaaa

Bigtoes
I had a great time at the party. Nice to meet so many mummies. Thank you to drawcy for guiding the blur sotong, I drove to the other end of Ave 5, ended up in Thomson. Haha...

cupcakes
You can try ELC. I got my board version there or Bookaburra

storeberry &amp; Jeraldine: i'm thinking of going to the sales at 10+ cos can only go after i'm done with my pumping session at 10.30. how are you girls going down?

Flos: my girl had been blowing bubbles too. i had to keep wiping her mouth and chin else it will be so sticky. ya i think kino and borders will have a wider range of books, i'll be waiting for the kino 20% discount before heading down for a look.

i want to go for body massage too! can any mummies who still BF tell me if it's ok to go for body massage? cos i'm wondering if the massage oil will go into the BM?

Hi Kym,
Just found some time to surf the web. Saw the discussions...
Can I ask you which Bras Basah bookstore you buy your books at?
Also, I am also interested in getting a nanny. You mentioned your nanny is Chinese with a diploma. Is she from China?
Many Thanks!

morning chewyring! Quick check, when you went to the sale last yr, was it very crowded, dusty and messy? Wondering whether to bring baby and helper along.. thanks!!

Bras Basah
I don't have time to go down and browse the books there. Only went to Kino yday to get The hungry caterpillar cos got 20% disc for members, and went back cos down with fever

Borrowing from Library
Any mummies here borrowing board books from the National Lib? I am guilty of not buying any books for Rachael yet, except for flashcards. I went to library and found out that they have a good collection of board books for toddlers, even got books by Eric carle and Karen Katz! Hee..think I am one mummy who will only buy books when she is at least 12 months, so can see her reaction to which books she likes, then I invest in them hee...too many books in the market to choose from! So for now, it's all hard work going to the library every 2 days to change the books!

kym kym,

u have the url for friday's sale?

on books,
So far i have bought only 1 set of board books on Mr Men...it is a seven day set, one for each day of the week. my son absolutely loves the bright colours! his hands and legs goes kicking and starts coo-ing whenever i start reading..

now waiting for the sesame street board books + ERIC Carle cloth books ordered from BP.

i guess i will frequent the library when kiddo is older as i am quite worried about the hygiene of the lib books.

Good morning mummies,
Is today's topic on books??

Actually, I think u can considering borrowing from NLB rather than buying. In Joshua's 1st year, I only borrowed as I find the books very ex (considering the number of pages and how easily they get bored with it). Eric Carle especially!!

Only after his 1st birthday then I started procuring more books and they are largely levelled readers (pitched at emergent, beginning, advance readers). Recently burnt a $600+ hole in my pocket at Edventure books (bought phonics, Joy Readers, National Geographic Maths, Chinese books). And nowadays, if I can't decide where to bring him on weekends, will take the easy option and dump him in the library.