(2008/09) Sep 2008

alabone - hahaaha thats so funny!! i think my hubby can join the club

Chewyring - thank you thank you for assurances.. coming from a mother of two, i know what you say holds water! hee can sleep better.. ya and I SHOULD be more thankful heh that she looks after baby well

Breadmum - try giving more at 12? Discipline.. if you want, can try the cry-out method that gunnibabe used. For me, I wanted to try this only at 6 months but haha just now at 10pm left lil S crying while I was typing and little did I know, she fell asleep! haha.. hope this lasts! Ok gtg, dream feeding time! Somehow some babies drink better while sleeping heh?

Dear breadmum,

Hmm, Scarlett's feed routine is like this:

7.00am
10.45am
2.30pm
5.00pm (1 feed divided into half)
6.45pm (1 feed divided into half)
10.00pm

She will sleep from 10.30pm till next morning.. no feed in the middle of the night, but the key key key crucial thing to practice is to make sure baby sleeps or naps every 1.5-2 hrs after she is awake during the day, this will ensure she sleeps well during the long stretch, perhaps you can try these timing.. because just like you, i am going back to work.. now scarlett is my alarm clock! haha

Its true, the better baby sleeps in the day, the better he/she will sleep during the night, its really not less sleep in the day= longer sleep in the night, nowadays, she rarely cry her heart out during the 10pm sleeping time already, unless MIL/FIL !@#$^* come and 'ka jiao', after 10.00pm milk and 2 burps, i will put her on her pillow, she'll fuss a bit, a few pat and she'll go lalaland..

springz,
your hb reclusive ah?? that day he was happily chatting away with l'lcy's hb leh... my hb hor, don't know how to chat with others one. he is only interested in talking abt cars and soccer...

yes yes.. remember he said he wanted to shut himself in the room and do his thing rather than have small talk??

Haha i think lilboymum's hubby and my hubby were in "reclusion" together.. if u know what i mean.. the room was their little hideout!!

storeberry

barney now @ plaza singapura till 14th sunday..
nice show but lots of ppl..

lanolin

haha..now the nanny got lots offer liao..:p

flos

haha..u r wrong..now i so fat n 'ah soh' liao with a big tummy..

angeline ,
what barney show ? have to bring zac there tomorrow after his gymboree ... he loves barney ..

Angeline ,
try to get some aerobics video and dance with your little one .. keke .. can cut some fats thou..my auntie who has five kids herself does that when she cannot go out of house .. till nw the youngest kid is 12 years old, she has never stop her 4 times a week exercise .. just that she can nw freely go out for aerobics lessons instead of those video .. keke

storeberry,
I did that too! try to widen the neck of the legwarmer before putting it on for baconboy

after-effect of having bb with a caregiver (barely a week)
My boy doesnt take well to suckling anymore..i also find that i have less time for him (cos by the time i reach home, its time for last feed n bedtime). I am quite fussy with my kitchen n couldnt stand it when caregiver cooks! Ended up i have to mop, clean, wash after she goes home..more work...and i am worried my boy will want to be with her more than with me...sigh....

Hi Breadmum,

Oh, never realise my cousin is offering her service. She loves kid, when she is over at my place, both her hubby and her carry my baby all the time and sharing lots of tips on baby caring

I have yet to collect the jumperoo from her, guess will wait for her to send on during xmas even as we are having our family xmas party at my place ...

<font color="0077aa">Bacon: Haha.. Great minds think alike!! Aiyoo.. I also scared that my smallberry will be closer to my MIL / maid so I prob will not go to work everyday, not sure whether its feasible but I definitely want to be there when he is growing up!

Alabone / springz: Aiyoo.. think my hubby also the reclusive type except he has no high IQ!! Wahahah!! Opps! My MIL always say her son is a woodblock! He rather work than go out with friends &amp; the topics that interst him is cars &amp; drifting &amp; his work! zzz</font>

CNY clothes
Sigh.. every year I will wear cheongsams for CNY.. this year cannot coz of my fat figure!! *cries* I need to go hunt for some CNY clothes soon that hides my fats as well as easy to BF. Realise CNY is just round the corner.

Sleeping in the day (not too much) means that they will not be overtired and so will go down better at night. If there's confusion, just make sure day sleep is in bright room, night sleep is NO light or very very dim light.

Girls are sleeping from 8pm to 7am now, no more 10-11pm dream feed. Hope it continues...as this moring summer woke up at 5am, but more because of nappy change *wet her bed* and she didnt drink then went back to sleep after changing....so it's possible!!!

Springz
DON'T CARRY AND WALK!!!! that's the easiest way to NOT let her sleep by herself. Just need to tahan crying a few days, then after a while she will learn to self soothe and sleep in her own wihtout patting or walking.

breadmum
to wean off 3am feed, ry 50ml cool boiled plain water for a few nights.

KymKym, Gunibabe, bigtoes,

So envious that most of your babies can sleep on their own. Mine still wants to be carry and walk around till he fall asleep. I was telling hubby, if this goes on, my wrist will break. Tried putting him down when he is half-asleep, but he will keep fussing and fussing, and the next moment, he is fully awake! He is much better recently, tried to put him to sleep at 9+, and he will fall asleep by 11am. His bedtime used to be 1/2am. Imagine i have to carried him for 1 hr+ to put him to sleep. My baby is currently sleeping beside me, i hope to train him to sleep on his cot soon. Currently, his cot is being used to change his diapers, etc. If he is going to sleep on his cot, where am i going to put all his home clothes? Do all of you have a changing table or changing is done in his cot too? This is really a big headache. My hb's family is staying with us (read: PARENTS, and 2 SIBLINGS), so my poor baby got no room on his own, have to squeeze with us. That's why i got problems looking for space to put his stuffs. Btw, when you dream feed, do you pick baby up to feed? Will baby be disturb by us? Last night, my son slept at 10+, at 1+, he wake up for a feed, then at 6+, he will wake up for another feed again. I have gone back to work and my lazy hb won't wake up to do night feed. I hope my son will sleep through like yours.

any mommies have problem with lasinoh milk bags? I read on the net that the bags leak... the bag i left to thaw on the fridge last night leaked! Faint! My EBM wasted!

Btw mummies,

when your baby naps in the day, how long is it?

Ava,
I am so envious of you. Both your twins can sleep through! When i change baby in the middle of the night, the moment when i took off his pampers, he will be wide awake. And when he nap in the day, the whole house cannot be too noisy as he is a light sleeper like me. When MIL talks on the phone while putting him to sleep on the yaolan, he will grumble and make noises till MIL stops talking!

ade
both our girls sleep in our room in separate cots. we hv a changing table with storage space for diapers, wet wipes n stuff n we cleared one of our drawers for their clothes.

chewy_ring

Barney xmas show is @ plaza singapura..today fri showtime should be 1pm &amp; 7pm..sat/sun got 1 extra show @ 4pm. they be at PS till 14th sunday this week, afterwhich they will go to another mall..

ava

your girls good..mine these few nites need to carry to sleep..sometimes she can sleep on her own..sometimes cant..maybe bcoz we didn set up a routine for her..coz been bringing her out n sometime came home late..

<font color="0077aa">Mummies who let your baby self-soothe at night, what about in the day? Do you just leave your bb to sleep without patting? I just realise in the day if I put smallberry on the bed, he cannot just sleep, need to carry him...</font>

ava,

I don't have space for a changing table. Was thinking if i change on his cot, not very hygenie for him as it is his sleeping place. We bought some drawers for him to put his going out clothes, but since the drawers are located in my hb's siblings room, i cannot walk in and out of his room in the middle of the night. So most of his home clothes are on his cot. My room definately got no space to accomodate, coz most of my things are built in, hence, cannot move things around.

<font color="0000ff">SAHMs
I really salute u all!! It's the sacrifice by mums that dads can't match AT ALL!! They think bringing the 'bread' home is very 'wei da'... hmph.. snort

Springz
Max is still drinking 120ml every 3 hrly. sometimes doesnt even wanna finish it. so ends up drinking 90ml onli. on some weird days.. onli 60ml, sighz..

on sleeping, it really depends. I will usually try to let him cry to sleep but den again, I observe his moods. If I noe that he wont fall asleep even after crying out for awhile, i'll juz carry him n soothe him to slp. else will juz leave him on the bed to fuss awhile and of coz patting him... if i'm lucky.. he will fall into a deep sleep soon.

Oh, and Max sleeps with us.. in our room but on his cot

gosh.. seems like alot of bbs are cranky after their jab. Max is going for his 2nd jab soon. Hopefully he'll be ok...

Bigtoes
how do u feed K on the bed??????

Self-soothing
I've tried letting Max cry himself out.. but really cannot tahan. He will cry until the tears keep flowing.. den choke and give u tat really pathetic face. We tried to tahan for 5 mins.. but eventually still surrendered.. sighz..</font>

<font color="0077aa">Sasa: My fren always say that babies are good actor &amp; actress!! What to do, we parents will always be "xin ruan"!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Storeberry
haha... ya lor... we cannot tahan one. think muz be like gunibabe. muz 'ren xing'... go out of the room when they cry.. at least we dun hear, wont affect us

CNY Clothes
anyone got any good recommendations on clothes to get for CNY?? haha.. for ourselves I mean...

Mei
haha.. i wore cheongsum (ok lah.. not those really traditional ones, but alike lah) for 1 yr too. den realised I look so mature..

Lanolin,
Can pass me the contact ? BTW, how much are the charges ?
Wow..ur hubby really dotes on u hor...asking u what u want for Christmas and BIRKIN BAG !!!!

GD/Flashcards :
Glad that i am not alone here being inactive abt flash cards etc. Previously was getting stressed when reading you gals' posts. Most of the time, i was just carrying Alston, playing wif him and occasionally singing to him (I oni noe how to sing Twinkle Twinkle little star, so chia lak), but i talk to him quite often.

Co-sleeping with bb : I am sleeping with Alston as i am nursing him at nite.

Pacifiers :In the beginning, i do not give pacifier to Alston though i bot it, but gave in when my hubby's aunt (who is now helping to take care of my son when i work) keeps bugging on it. She will shove the pacifier to him when he's crying dunno for what reason (milk given, diapers changed). Initially i am still ok, but later changed my mind when my SIL told me she nv gave her kids pacifier. I told my hubby's aunt not to give him pacifier anymore. She agreed, but on a few days b4 i started work, she gave him pacifier, i was unhappy and told her not to . She will then say it's alrite as long as she takes it out after bb sleep and he's not sucking it most of the time. In fact, i already knew that some 'new' habits will develop when i go back to work. Sometimes it's very frustrating tat i need to give in, but really bobian since she's the caregiver to my son. I would say she has been great cos she is willing to stay overnite at my pl so that i can nurse my son. And ever since she came, she's doing most of the household chores that i hardly do anything. Unlike previously, i need to take care of them.
Actually there's only 2 things that i dislike : Pacifier &amp; sarong cradle (yao lan). Same for yao lan, i told her no yao lan when she asked me at the beginning y i din buy tat. I told her that nowadays nobody buys that liao and it's not good for bb as they will be too reliant on it. I prefer cot. So since she's staying wif me during my ML, so no yao lan episode for me. However 1 or 2 days before i started work, she told me that she will let Alston sleep in yaolan when she brings him home in the day time. I was SHOCKED !!!!. To my amazement, she told me she searched for the yao lan cloth at her own home and her mum's pl, but her mum's one has been thrown away. I was very pissed off in my heart, she still has the "energy" to find the yao lan cloth when all the time i told her no yao lan. Why can't she respect me ??? I once again told her i dun wan yao lan and that since Alston did not sleep on yao lan for the past 3 mths, then jus let it be.
I really hope she will not do that when i'm not around in the day time.

Pardon me for my long story here

kym: you're fantastic! you can stick to Gina Ford's schedule! I can't and basically take the cue from baby, but we roughly know what time he would like to feed, play or sleep.

Ade: my boy has no fixed sleeping, nap time. So long as he has been awake for an hour and a half, we'll put him down to nap, either on the living room sofa or in his own cot. Sometimes, my in laws or mum will still carry him and pat him. But they're slowly conforming to what we want to do now, that is, put him down and let himself-soothe and wind down to sleep by himself.

storeberry: during the day, we try to let him sleep by himself too and not carry him.
but sometimes when he's over tired, we'll need to carry him for a while then put him down. I find that swaddling him helps him sleep better.

I rem someone asking abt bb's growth ...last week when i brought my son to KK, the doc told me that the weight should double at 6mths old. My son is now 5.4kg and his birth weight is 2.45kg. She said she's not obese as he's born small so he's catching up. In fact, my son still looks small now .
Out of curiousity, i asked her how abt bbs who are now 6+kg though their birth weight is 3.1 -3.5kg. She said they are obese !!! Should this be so ? I doubt it as so many of the bb's here are within this range and so is my colleague's.
No offence here as i'm just sharing what i heard from the doc at KK.

Hi momopanda,

saw ur posting on lasinoh milk bags. can i know which part of the bag leak cos i juz started using it. all of them in my freezer yet to thaw.

now thinking should i continue to use them

thanks for sharing

storeberry, springz, alabone
aiyoh, reclusive and wooden blocks for a hb is good lah...if they have eyes only for soccer and cars they wont stray!!kekekekeke...

Millie,

I also don't like baby sleeping in yao lan, but ever since i went back to work, my MIL have been putting him in yaolan every afternoon. I wonder if that's the reason why baby always wanna to be carry every night to sleep. I told her a lot of times not to put baby in, and worse is she went to get the yao lan herself. I was so angry when i 1st saw it. Hb also gave in to her, telling me it will be easier for his mom to take care. and now she even wanna give pacifier. Hb also wanna give in. The thing is she got standby all these stuff without my knowledge. Who knows she have been giving my baby pacifier when i am at work. At times, i'm really too angry and loss of words at her actions.

Hi mommies...

I also co-sleep with my boy ... we shifted the master bedroom mattress to the baby room and put on the floor and my boy sleeps on a mattress next to me... I feel that this arrangement actually better for myself as i can get more sleep... He normally have a wipe at 7.30pm and he will wan to sleep at 8pm... sometimes when he is cranky or overtired.. i'll need to cuddle him... if not i'll leave him on the bed and off the lights and he'll drift off to sleep on his own

actually don't really get to worked up over pacifier and yao lan issue... i personally use that for my son.. and i realise he has been crying less... he actually use the pacifier to self-soothe himself and sleep on his own at nite... during the day.. i put in the yao lan and i find that he can sleep better and longer... but i only rock when he is trying to sleep.. once he slept i don't rock...

Actually if you are not the caregiver (just like me.. i am letting my aunt take care of bb when i go back to work in jan) and your MIL or aunt is all alone in the house handling baby and household chore... you really have to give in to what they think is the best option for them because they need to handle their household chore plus taking care of your baby.... imagine you bb only sleep like 30 mins on the bed and always wan to be carried when he is up.. then the caregiver is in a very difficult position..

I understand that some SAHM can train their kids to sleep on cot alone and yet managed the household very well... I really admire them alot.. but i guess all bb are different... some more demanding some more peaceful..believe sometimes when bb is more cranky it just get so tiring when you keep having to carry your baby.. especially when the baby gets heavier ..... if our arms are already aching.. what about aunt or mil or even mom who are much older? i bet theirs will be worst...

not trying to be offensive... just sharing my 2 cents worth...

I've not tried the "cry-in-out" method coz i feel it will not work on him now..... but i might try it when he is 6 months bah...

hi little doggie,

the bag leaked at the bottom. two small holes! Still upset from my wasted milk...
maybe i try to defrost one more packet again and see how. will update.

switching to medela for a while first.

Self-Soothe &amp; Sleeping through the nite: Aiyo...I'm truly inspired by all you ladies with bbs who can be trained to fall asleep themselves. So while reading the posts, i decided to let my boy cry it out. (Evil mummy)...but he really bawled so badly. I picked him up once and then he promptly fell asleep. Must be tired from all the crying.
QUESTION: So what do you do while baby is crying? Stay by the side and talk? Cos we've been patting and carrying (thanks to my MIL who in the first mth wld always insist on carrying and patting until fall asleep). But i dun think my back can take it already.

Bacon &amp; Egg, Cupcakes: I also dun really know about the wise part...but i guess that comes with exposure to life experiences, and providing opp for children to develop the right values. I believe that values are central to everything in life. THey are like the guiding principles that will set boundaries and inform decisions and influence behaviour.

Millie: Huh?!!! Mine was 3.1kg at birth, now at 11wks is 6.25kg. So mine is obese?!!! hahaha. will see what my PD says next mth.

Flos: Not sure how long E is. Think about 58.5cm or 60cm. The measurement always fluctuates since we DIY at home and he is one squirmy boy.

Bigtoes: K can fall asleep sitting upright? so cool! hehe. soon he will be nodding off at his lunch table. Btw, FM does last longer because it is harder to digest. Think K is having a growth spurt.

Ade: oh dear. Have you tried to speak with your DH again to come to a common agreement? Maybe you can explain why you don't want the yaolan and pacifier. I really am anti-yaolan because it affects baby's ability to learn to sleep on a mattress, my friend's kid is already 18 mths old. When they moved over from SG to Macau, they had to bring over the entire yaolan frame!!!!

CO-SLEEPING
I recently shifted him from our bed to his own cot, next to my bed. Heng! No probs with him sleeping there. But recently he's been waking up like 5_am and cannot go back to sleep in his own cot. So just let him sleep on my bed and he is fine. Hmm...hopefully he gets out of this habit soon. then i will slowly move him to his own room. my nightmare is that he still wants to sleep with us when he is 12!!! happened to my friend.

ava: your twins are amazing!!! can sleep like an adult. u used GF methods?

springz: your MS is really good. i haven['t pumped for like 5 days already...wonder if got milk to pump or not. i always latch on so have no idea what amt he drinks.

l'l cy: here, most cafes deliver food. hehe. but so happens that the dessert 'tong shui' place next to my block is v famous...so i've been v tempted by it. even right now...how to lose weight like that. and i also think u are a very dedicated mummy!

okie...i better go cat nap while he sleeps.

Millie - Sure....call Sky Pilates at 61007597. My instructor is Karrie Dene! If you would like a gym instructor, I've also got a great one to recommend, esp if you donn't mind going to the gym at hotel intercontinental for training. He is surely whacking me whenever I go and I am the sort who needs to be pushed to exercise.

Re Birkin - seriously, I don't think I'll never get one from him. ha ha ha...and at this stage, I still can't imagine forking out 10K for a bag!!!! OR r they more expensive?
But he is indeed very doting and will do anything within reason for me. But the same goes the other way leh! I wouldn't ask but I bought SLR for him and many other nice things.

Kym Kym - GF. My boy's routine is:
7/730am - Milk
1030 / 11am - Milk
230 - 3pm - Milk
5 - Milk
545 - Bath
630 - Milk
1030 / 11pm - Milk

He sleeps btw 3 to 4 hours during the day but he STILL wakes up about 2-3am for more milk and again at about 6am (which we don't feed).
Because I am latching on almost all the meals (Except maybe 1 in the day and the one in the middle of the night), I have a feeling I may not be producing enough for him to take all his needs during the day. somehow my boobs don't feel as "full" these days. I might have to start supplementing with formula again. sigh.

cupcakes - do you need any other pilates info from me?

Limay - it's great we share the same thinking. R u thinking of going on a trip anywhere with K soon? Big D and I r bringing Mini D on a cruise just before I go back to work in Jan.
We are already panicking about all the things we need to pack coz there's no way we can buy anything that we need on the ship! ha ha ha...we're even bringing his bath tub!!!!

Flos - I'm like u but just worse. I don't even like cooking. hahahaha....housework? Maybe only washing dishes.

Angeline - we might be extending Auntie till Feb / March next year.

Millie - Sorry I forgot to tell u about the charges. The group classes r about SGD 60 per class and privates r about SGD 120. It is a lot more expensive than the yoga sessions I used to attend but I need flexibility now so am going for privates. When I use up my current package, I think I'll move to a class during the weekends.

mommies who bought the highchair...

when can we start putting bb in??? must wait till the start on the semi-solid food???

i'm going down to the mattel sales this weekend again to get christmas present for kids....so thinking whether to get the highchair or not

Jeraldin,
I agree with you that we need to empathise on caregiver's part. However, my hubby's aunt often carries my son immediately when he cries. Not for me. I don't do tat and i told her b4 to delay for a while before carrying him. Yes, she told me the same thing ....how to do housework if dun give yao lan ? But to me, it's she who spoils the child by carrying him immediately upon hearing his cries.
I know this is to each his own, and i do at a certain extent feels that babies like to sleep in yao lan...

storeberry,
how to overcome that possessiveness in us towards our caregiver? sigh...any mommy wanna shed some light?

Intend to bring baconboy to swim in a private pool this wkend..my mom says NO! Anyone already bringing your kid to swim in a pool?

Hi mummies ....
Went to school to have meeting with students .. they are so sad .. cos my HOD dun approve of their retreat fees at costa sands .. hmm .. so i offered to pay for them first (cos they are looking forward to it with detailed plans of what they gotta do) n also today is pay day. We will raise the funds back next year hopefully before i leave school. Hmm .. just finish the consent forms .

Pay day today civil servants ..keke... so went for facial for a full two hours after school ... shiok ... felt so refreshed after that ...have a heavy lunch and nw back to pumping session at home.

Sarah may ,
Dun think yours obese la .. normal .. mine 6 kg two weeks ago ...latching has more mlk ..
Anyway i am co-sleeping with zac nw ... just that zen cannot shift into my room cos his cries wakes zac up and both will cry together. am waiting for both of them to sleep throughout then I will co- sleep with them together

Angeline ,
thanX for the info .. cannot bring him tomorrow at that time since he has lessons at that time .

im also a SAHM.. but i oso work from home.. meaning besides looking after bb, doing housechores, i still got to work!! it is v v tiring.. hw i wish i can go back to the workforce where i can really enjoy my breakfast and lunch break. currently i only get to hv my brunch.. coz i usually sleep til 10/11am with bb.. hehe

my bb still wake up for feed ard 4/5am. but previous 2 nites, she can sleep thru. tats the only days i got good 7hr sleeps. hope she maintains this way.

she is also sleeping in the same room as us but in her own cot. nowadays she can sleep on her own during day n nite times..i will juz put her in her cot and do my own stuff. previously we also need to carry n pat her then one day i decided to try to put her down n let her sleep on her own.. who knows she can do it! but i realise that when my hb is at home (he works shift), she will fuss before sleeping.. mayb she knows her daddy is at home. hehe.. tats why bully him

millie...
i agree with you tt don't have to carry bb immediately when he cries...

actually my boy has pnuenomia at birth so when we bougth him home... we are pretty worried of him crying too much.. scare tt will add burden to his lungs.. plus his colic quite bad.. so as far as we can.. we try to not let him cry too much... tt's why we gave him the pacifier to let him hv comfort sucking...

during the 1st month.. i also nv use yaolan &amp; he can sleep on his cot or bouncer for very long.. like 2 to 3 hrs... but as he grows bigger he always wan to be cuddle before he sleep and whenever i put him on the bed... his eyes immediately open big big... so ended up i carried him to sleep during the day for 2 weeks... and ended up doing nothing except for carrying him... so no choice.. i gave in to yaolan but surprisely .. he can sleep on his own at nite...

i guess my bb is more demanding bah.. even the nurses at NICU commented..

but then again.. as long as the bb is happy &amp; mommy is happy ... any decision is a good one =)

anyway for mommy who wanna try letting your bb sleep on their own.. maybe you can try accompanying them to sleep &amp; perhap give then you hand for comfort &amp; off the lights... after a few times then just lie beside him... let him feel security... after a while.. he'll understand tt sleeping alone is ok...
tt's my approach... works for me... =)

Dear springz~~
Thanks for the books directions~~~ the amazing thing was.. I only spent $50.20 for 23 books, got many board books, hardcovers and a large read-along book! but the flash cards cost me another $25 bucks ..haha

After our toy shopping.... i went book shopping... now my pockets are tearing.. HEHEHEH!!!

1975626.jpg
1975627.jpg
1975628.jpg
1975629.jpg

<font color="119911">Springz (springz) – K will fall asleep most nights by the end of his night feed, but these couple of days, has had the habit of falling asleep BEFORE finishing his milk…only to wake up 1 hour later demanding the remainder! I hope he reverts back to finishing his milk (final feed is at about 10.30pm) and sleeping till at least 3am for the middle of night feed.

These days, he hardly sleeps through the night, so we also have not had uninterrupted sleep. The morning feed is at about 6+am, and he is usually awake by 7ish, chirpy and yakking away. Most days, I am still so groggy, I just carry him onto my bed and doze off for another hour, leaving him there to kick about and yak.

Heh, so the Young Parents issue did mention training babies to pee on demand? (Like what my CL did to K – pee into a brands essence bottle!)

sasa (sasa_xie) – feeding K in bed – just bottle feed or nurse him lying down, without burping him.

Millie (millie22) – in that case, K is also OBESE! His birth weight was 2.97kg and he is now about 7kg (at 14 weeks) and I have been calling him fat-boy. I suspect that he is about 90+ percentile in terms of weight, but seems like a lot of babies here are also in the 6-7kg range. In anycase, the weight will roll off once they start crawling and walking!

SarahMay (sarahmay) – yes, K fell asleep sitting upright. Caught that on camera and its up on facebook.

SarahMay: I usually talk to my boy, tell him it's bedtime and he's to go to sleep on his own because he is capable of that, I'll pat him and kiss him goodnight in a loving manner, gentle yet firm. After that I'll close the door and leave the room! No more talking! If you talk to them, it's like negotiation! I'll then time it, if he's still crying after 10mins, I'll go in and talk to him, soothe him. But that hardly happens these days cos he's usually asleep by then! :p think I'm the evil mummy here who has hardened her heart! haha perhaps it's because i know why he's crying these days. I usually ignore him if it's the tired cry and he's just letting off some steam before he drift to sleep. If it's one of those continuous and sharp cry, I'll attend to him immediately.

Millie: my boy was 3.88kg at birth and 6.8kg now at 3mths plus. He's almost double of his birth weight but I doubt anyone will categorise him as chubby or obese. I think it's because he's rather tall, cos he is at least 65cm now.

<font color="0000ff">B &amp; E
my mum oso dun allow mi to bring Max to the pool. say gotta wait till 6 mths wor. but I bot a 2nd hand swim tub for Max to swim at home
so have got the neck float too.. haha

Bigtoes
ooohh... u feed him while lying down den wont he choke on his milk? When we feed Max gotta prop him up else he will choke de... sighz...</font>