(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hiyall!
I am totally lost in all the posts!
I was lying low ever since the KK incident with my bb. Today, we went to meet up with the infection specialist doc and the doc kinda of concluded that BB shld be ok and is not as jialut as i thought to be. But we need to monitor his hearing and eyesight all the way till 1 year old wor. PHEW!

Btw, any good recommendations on bb rocker huh? I am looking for one that can be used up till maybe 2 years old? I saw that baby bjorn has one bt quite ex. Anyone using that?

Also, any good recommendations on thermometer? Will it be braun huH? I find that my existing typical cheapskate thermoemeter is hopeless esp after the 5-in-1 jab

Hi Kym, I stay in Tampines too. Was thinking of sending Kydric to IFC at Street 43 when I return to work in Feb 09. Which are the IFC you've explored so far??

When are you planning to engage this nanny? We can explore this further...

However, I was wondering since the nanny's English is not too good, would it not be better to send your baby to IFC instead, cos the IFC will do the same things, other than doing the flashcards? Of cos, baby may fall sick, etc, depending on his immune sys....

lanolin: i'm not conscientious. i don't have routines...and i just do what i feel like. unlike some other mummies here who do research. i do stuff cos i enjoy doing it...plus it keeps me in touch wiht my profession whilst being a SAHM. hehe.

flos: sorry if i missed ur post abt isaac's growth. how tall is he again? you n your dh are both rather tall aren't u?

kymkym: sounds like a great deal!but with two babies,...she can still cook? wow!

isabelle: your girl can tell you 'enough for the day'? hahahah. so farnee...

sasa: npothing to worry about la...got love more than enough for a well-nurtured boy! you commmunicate with him right? and you spend time with him? so those are the most crucial things for our bbs now...or so i think.

storeberry & xuanting: yeah...this carry all the time thing is wearing my back out. today i just plonked him on the play gym while i went to the ktchen to wash my veggies for dinner. he 'eh-eh-eh' for a few secs and then suddenly went quiet. when i came out to check, he was KO! but only for 10 mins. hahah. i dunno if i shd try really letting him learn to self-soothe like what shazz did. really tempted...but afraid he will bawl as if the world's ending, and then sniffle when i finally pick him up...or worse merlion!

springz: so you have domestic help? what pump are you using tt u can surf and do stuff on PC while pumping?

jojo: how come shrink? sooooo weird! mine grew a bit bigger i think.

storeberry: so good tt z has settled into a 5 hr then 3 hr nite feed schedule. mine had that for a few days last week..then for the past 2 nites, it's been like 3 hours!!! wonder why?

GD & PROVEN TRACK RECORD: Springz...I was also curious about how good GD really is so thanks for sharing your research. ANyway, i also suspect that GD may not all that it is cut out to be. Hehe. Anyway, think the conclusion i have after all our discussions abt GD and various hothousing methods is to really understand our children's personalities/temperaments and inclinations, love them and work from there. I don't really want a genius but more interested in nurturing a loving, compassionate and wise child who knows how to live life and make life better for others. That is, i rather nurture the EQ which is more crucial than IQ.
CHORTLING IN SLEEP: mine does that too...esp when i carry him in my arms. it's soooo cute!

CREAMY POOP: have a q for TBF mummies, my bb's poop is just creamy mustard yellow with no seedy texture. is that ok?

Another q for TBF mummies: Do you know if the dry weather can cause TBF bbs to be more thirsty and thus need to nurse more frequently?

okie...gtg go have my dessert. my treat for having an incredible day juggling bb care with domestic stuff...I managed to prep both lunch and dinner! squeezed in laundry, and two grocery shopping trips! hehe.

Sorry to interrupt.

I have one brand new pack of Pampers Size Small (58 pcs) for sale at $20.

Self Collect from AMK (weekend) or Lavender (weekday).

SMS me at 9720 9740.

Dear Rachel,

Are you planning to send your baby to the NTUC IFC at blk 497? I did explore that option.. but its $1600 per month (including the IFC sundry charges..GST ++ etc), even after subsidy will come up to be $900 still.. too costly for me..and i have a maid to pay for too..

I agree IFC is a good choice, but I have yet check out any of the IFCs in tampines, mainly because its too expensive to maintain, teacher -to-baby attention ratio is another concern, healthy food menu and lastly, if baby becomes sick, i'll have to be at home for baby.. which is not very flexi.. and we prefer undivided attention of maximum 1 teacher to 2 babies..

Plus i can't control the time to pick or drop baby.. what if i need to run an errand or be home later.. (which will be pretty often)

I am planning to engage her from 6/7th Feb 2009 onwards after i get the keys to my house end' Jan..

Regards to English, since we speak English at home and outside, I forsee no problem for baby to pick up the language, and since it is an arrangement only for baby's first and a half yr, I don't think will be much of a problem.. as long we are religious about using english with baby during the weekends and after work,

Personally for me, chinese is altogether a more difficult language to pick up..

Dear Sarah,

Hmm, i plan to formulate a menu for the nanny to follow and will get the maid to puree the ingredients beforehand, with the nanny overseeing the cooking, cutting and cleaning..

Like lanolin says.. the nanny must love the babies, if she does not, nothing can be accomplished.. :p

Hi Kym, nope, it's not the NTUC IFC. It's at Blk 493E. When I visited them in July, their fees was only $950 before subsidy. I'm sure they will increase their fees in 2009, but wont be that drastic as $1,600. The lady I spoke to, said it'll be something like $1k or $1.1k something like that.. so after subsidy, should be like $500 - $600? Their cap is at 11 kids, I think.. and they have 2+1 teacher and I think they currently only have about 7 or 8 kids... (not sure though.. will need to call again and ask them)

I'll be sending Kydric to the IFC on 2nd Feb and yes, I do face the same prob having to watch the 7pm timeline set by the IFC. haha.. if you are sending your baby to same IFC, maybe we can help each other to pick up our babies??

Your new place is also in Tampines? Which part of Tamp?

yikes...erratum: just realised i attributed the quote 'to be the best they can be' to be the ACS motto. but my hubs pointed out that it isn't...their motto is 'THE BEST IS YET TO BE'. muahahahah....

bigtoes: you let k watch 'simpsons'?

Hi Lanolin,

Ha... I basically avoid On predder.... even if i am at ngee ann city.... Walking in there will cost a bomb !
The lambskin 2.55 is about 4K plus. I saw one that i like the other day, it is in metallic grey with a small pouch attach to it. It is going at over 5K. I know paris is cheaper but i need to be there and select... not asking someone to buy for me...

SarahMay, exactly ! I thought leg will grow right ! But i am weird.. So fed up with myself... All my nice shoes....

hey goldfish and rachel! was wondering how you mummies are..

rachel, did you get your leg warmers?? I got mine but MIL was saying whoa thighs so red, too tight etc.. how to last few more months since it is looong? any other mummies with tight leg warmers prob?

goldfish - i am also trying to figure out how to use the thermometer I bought coz lil s went for 5-in-1 today! I got a petit terraillon. Taka and Robinsons got.. abt $200 plus.. read reviews on it seem quite good, has forehead, ear and normal oral all in 1.. http://www.amazon.co.uk/TH-MULTIGE-R16-Terraillon-Multi-Thermo-Thermometer/dp/B0001MQ7OA

sarahmay - medela PIS la.. i balance on legs hahaha! whoa dessert! I want!

<font color="0077aa">Springz: Smallberry also gets redness after wearing the leg warmers. What I do is it expand for him lo, I pull it or wear it on my arms to make it bigger! LOL!</font>

Dear Rachel,

Oh~ that IFC i have yet explore..

When you say 2+1 teacher, meaning there is only 3 adults to care for 11 infants?... ratio is 3.5 to 1 ah.. can they handle all the babies..?.. am more keen on bringing in the nanny though.. many more things can control!!...rather than sending baby to the IFC :p.. hubby also hopes that i can drop by home sometimes to 'peek' and make sure everything is ok.. and that I can do...

$1.1K, thats not very expensive.. Can I ask a few questions though?

Did you get to see their menu, and what materials will they teach the babies ah?

How is the cleanliness and the babies' sleeping areas, how is it structured?

Do the babies share milk bottles? or they mass use the IFC's bottles ah.... meaning mass sterilise too ah.. Do they have to share the same milk formula and food? can't be 11 different cans of milk formula with names on the cap right :p..

Can we bring our own food to feed baby?

Paiseh... ask so much

hahaha pull it on your arms!!!!!!! Mine are so fat it'll be hanging on her if I do it!!! But it is an idea

kym: oh so on top of nanny will have maid. good la! think it is really a decent price.

storeberry: what kind of redness?

springz: oh PIS! can balance on legs... you good la. as for dessert...ordered from this shop downstairs n they deliver. heheheh. the petit terrailon thermometer sounds really good. how's little s doing after her 5 in 1? this is her second dose right? mine's coming up in a month.

jojo: very weird...use those insoles to tighetn the shoes can or not? or sell them off, at least can raise some funds for your new collection. hehe

Just finished briefing my new maid, yeah, the one that was rejected by another employer. So tiring to repeat the JD a second time...this woman is a smart one i can tell.

Ava: hothousing? OH, all the traditional enrichment classes (art/piano/organ/calligraphy/language/swimming/dance...) that were popular in the 1980s, what hv u? I couldn't watch tv until I was in sec 1! still must take part in silly contests to win awards... weren't u 'hothoused' too? ;)

lanolin: u r lucky that ur hubby doesn't spend as much. Both my hubby and I spend a lot! He just bought a few watches for himself...grrr....not for me though...it's ok, i'm not a watchlover.

i find people with high IQ kinda reclusive and 'weird'!! kekeke...

lilboymom: i know...i feel insecure to leave my son with a stranger as well...but what to do...i need to work

sarahmay: isaac is 64cm on Sat. how tall is elisha?

storeberry: there's nothing i want for christmas either. My hubby and I dun exchange gifts on: christmas, birthdays, anniversaries, valentine's day!! Everyday is a celebration

jojobar: ur feet is smaller than before? how come? that is really odd...

Jo Jo (jojobar): you can always get those insoles inserts for your shoes that's slightly too big now.
You can also use Scholl's Party Feet gel inserts, I use those for my shoes that are in between sizes for me (size 5 too small, size 6 too big, but shoe doesnt come in 5.5)
very comfy and no blisters!

http://www.scholl.com.au/partyfeet/PF%20Heel%20Shields.htm

goldfish: glad to know that the situation is not as jiak lak as you thought.
your boy is growing well too, so you must be so relieved to hear the good news.

bacon &amp; egg, lok, bigtoes,
same here. when it comes to topics like this, i think i just switch off. my mentality is that my kids are going to have a life time full of learning later on. i think i shall just stick to reading/singing/pretend play...

i agree with flos. pple with high IQ seem to be a bit reclusive. this is only on a personal experience with such pple. don't seem to be able to mix well with others.

Hi Kym, I thought the ratio was 5:1??? I cant remember their menu... cos I'm not really fussy about the kind of food... :p The infant care is separated from the childcare, so in a way it's good, as your child will not get infected by any sick older kids.. I think u have to bring your own bottles, diapers, milk power etc. You should be able to bring your own food too if u want to. Just like if u hace specific medicated powder or shower foam, u can bring your own too.

Kym Kym - okie. noted your requirement. I'll check out the IFC then.

Rachel - do you have the name of the IFC you mentioned? Am staying in Tampines too, so am looking around. My niece mentioned one at SAFRA as well.

Anybody can answer my question on baby's belly button? Dunno if it is pigmentation? what colour is your baby's belly button?

I went to see 2.55 at chanel two weeks ago... It is around 4.9k for small and 5.3k for medium. think same price for lambskin. But buy from paris cheaper by 30%! good deal esp when euro lower now...

flos
you have a new maid? what happ to your prev maid?didnt know you changed a maid..

alabone...
hmmm...personal experience?kekeke..is the person who i think he is???kekekekke

sarahmay
wow! delivery for dessert?!!! way cool lah..i wan!!!!

l'lcy^^l'lch,
yes it is. and a whole bunch of others... remember the time i attended the wedding dinner n ended up smsing you throughout???

RE: SAHM

Damn angry man with hb frens.just came back from his fren wedding dnr.as usual,they feel tt i am jus being lazy by not going back to work.oso 1 of them commented tt how come my hb was the 1 handling carine most of the time while i didn do anything.but,i was feeding my FB from the dnr food n handling her! as if i am an octopus got so many hands!then my hb oso 1 kind,told me yalor..i didnt do any work!ask him take pic of me n carine,give me a 'tsk' n irritated look.hes the type tt needs a personal maid coz best if he need not do anything!tts their view on sahm.but they didn koe tt we work 24hrs a day,7 days a week with no break.i cant even get my inlaw to help me jagar my kids while i go out coz they will say things.frankly,i would rather i go back work.had to give up my job as no1 wana look after them.

me so tired everyday lookg after 2 kids,do housework,lack of sleep coz i need to get up n pump tt everynite i just knock off when i go bed.

sorry ah..inside bottled up,need a release space.still can ask me y i not happy today.

storeberry

at least yours needs strong hints only..mine i need to tell him wat to buy!like for my bd a few days ago,i had to ask him 2 get a cake for me n wats the program.guess what.ends up we spend lunch wif his fam + 'nua' at inlaw house.haiz.as for present,ask him to tink n get me something so tt got abit of surprise for me but he lazy...arrghh..

lanolin

haha..your nanny in love with your son..
now so fast coming end ofyear liao..she stopping soon rite?

hi angeline.. i honestly think SAHM moms are the best!! It is really not easy and so much more tiring and taxing than work per se.. most importantly you are investing into your kids' lives. The sacrifice alone beats anything anyone else can give and the attention, care and nurturing is irreplaceable.

sarahmay - sometimes I type with 1 hand, other hand hold both bottles! Nope, it is lil S' 1st 5-in-1.

Crankiness or Growth Spurt
Mummies whose babies have been jabbed.. do they get cranky after that? Lil S has been howling but no fever. So thought it might be that babies generally get cranky..

OR she could be going thru growth spurt coz she cries every 3.5 hrs (instead of usual 4 hrs) and guzzles her milk. BUT strange thing is she doesn't finish it!! If really spurt will finish righto? Can check what is the average mummies are feeding now? I give her 150 every 4 hrs...

Sleeping Habits
Just curious, how many mummies here co-sleep with babies and how many put them in a separate room alone?

No right or wrong answer but want to hear your views on assisted sleeping (i.e. co-sleeping, cuddle, patting, using pacifier, swaying, rocking etc) and putting sleeping baby to bed. Apparently this is good for bonding and security.

Alternative is the cry-it-out method. Baby self soothes. Babies are trained to sleep by themselves such that even if they wake up at night, they can go back to sleep on their own. Good esp to train when 4 mths n abv before it gets harder for todds... apparently some claim that babies may feel insecure..

views?

angeline : I think SAHM moms are really wei da! I am on maternity leave and I feel like a maid everyday! Housework is a never ending story! when housework is done, have to feed baby! no time for myself sometimes... very depressing. Well, nothing can buy the time you sacrifice for your child.

Hi, Mommies

Manage to catch up with the postings...Have been busy at work..and need to express milk at work.. I am doing it twice a day, at 11am plus and 4pm plus.. so far so good, milk supply is still there but pai sei that it is eating into my working hours so I make it up by reaching office early and leave office slightly off the dot.

Hi, KymKym

Din hear of your plan when you gave me a ride to JP the other day.. :p Me never consider nanny cos partly of the horror stories heard and I dun have someone at home to check on the nanny .. tat y I go for IFC...But I guess if it is thr good recommendation and you have a maid at home, it is a good idea and your little girl will have a one to one attention..

Hi, Rachael

Re: IFC, the ratio is really 5:1? meaning 1 caretaker to 5 infant
(highly unlikely) or the other way round? If it is former,pls do not go for that centre..overcrowding of babies.. If not wrong, the standard ratio set is 1:3..

springz
i co-sleep with my kids. Easier to bf baby and also i spend such a long time at work so i feel happy to sleep with them. Also, when i put them to bed, i get very tired myself and conk off tog with them.
I dun think there's any rite or wrong. Depends on what u prefer. Diff things work for diff families.

Hi, Bigtoes

I have always feel that you are a good mom with thinking of your own..and, a creative mom you are, I believe.. singing and reading and playing with your K is a kind of committment already. and I am always envious to see your K doing so well from the photos u posted. and this is attributable to your effort and your hubby, of course.. I am not showing flash cards to my boy too.. I will talk to him.. Like you, I will also make an effort to read to him but it is tough cos my the time we get him home from MIL place, he is already very sleepy.. so I will do it whenever he is alert enuf and I am glad we both enjoy it, even hubby will read but not that often.. For TV, I am not ready to put my boy to it yet. partly also bec we have short-sightedness history in our family line so tot to introduce TV at later stage.

If not for the concert, I will love to join you all at your place

lanolin
i am trying to take up pilates too. But so far have only managed 3 measly sessions. No time! I really wonder if i can continue after i go back to work when i dun even have time now!

TWIN STUDIES
This is really interesting and a lot of studies have been done on this. If u hardworking mummies r really interested, mebbe u can search on studies done by Robert Plomin. He is like the guru of twin studies.
I rem reading in uni that genes do play quite a significant role. Twins separated at birth and growing up in vastly diff envts actually chose similar types of wives, had same no. of kids, etc.
But of course the nature nurture thing is more complex than that. Have always been fascinated by this!

sarahmay
nope, i'm not the one who said i wldn;t leave mt baby with strangers.

morning ladies,
pumping milk sesion again after a long night .. thinking my ss is dwindling cos been pumping at 8-10 hrs interval so that i pump three times a day nw .. keke .. lazy mummy ..

Flos ,
updte us on your new maid ya .
My maid is following MIL nw .. on the TV set to control zac .. I just went downstairs to take my pump up and saw it .... gotta close my eyes and dun say anything nw .. 1.5 mths countdown ..

Sarahmay,
U make me hungry .. deseerts...brealfast is still not here yet ..

SAHM ,
Angeline .. you are the best ... dun worry on what people say as long as bb is safe and under your care .. nothing beats that..keke ..

IFC is so expensive , even after subsidy ..with 2 babies , think the bulk of pay will be to centres ..

angeline
*hugz*....i know how you feel!!!there are so many of these horrid days at home! you are doing a great job! just look at carine! and to handle a young todd and a newborn is not easy,especially you are doing it all alone!...even with a maid,i get exasperated with the kids on days!so you are doing very very well! your children will appreciate it one day! and you will look back on those fond memories you have with you children one day!

try to ignore the comments of such ignoramous!i have been questioned by people, evne hb's friends on why i chose to give up a nice job for sahm (well, ive been questioned about so many things when it comes to raising children eg why no tv, why go to bed so early...), just give them a piece of your mind. peppered in a few raised eyebrows looks and deprecating comments and be firm...they wont bother you anymroe after that...

hi kymkym,
thanks..me still look for nanny and am going back to work soon..sigh.

hi angeline,

i saluate SAHM, i think they are the greatest.

angeline
hey, SAHM is not easy. Ignore those horrid comments. Think it's so good and can stay at home everyday and "keow kar". They can't understand how kids can actually drive us nuts! So jia you! U have sacrificed much to stay at home with the kids!

U too lil'boymum. *clap clap*

RAINFOREST JUMPEROO
#1 is now pretending that the jumperoo is a kiddy ride for baby. She is pretending to put $1 into the jumperoo so chubby cheeks can have a go!
Aren't kids imaginative? I think i lost my imagination a long long time ago! I hate to think that one day she'll be dulled by all the 'ordinary' things of this grown-up world that she'll lose this too...

Angeline/I'lCYCH,
I absolutely salute both of u as SAHM! I wanted to do that too but after experimenting with it for 6 mths, decided it's way beyond me..

Bigtoes,
My hubs went to Mensa to do the test. Results = extra-terrestial IQ. But he's not a member, just walk off after that. Are u a member of MENSA too? He's a very logical person so excels in subjects like Maths/Physics. But the sad thing is that he was the last boy in Sec School cos all the Arts subjects totally bored him and the poor results demoralized him. Almost dropped out from school. Me on the other hand did very well in school but only average IQ. So my conclusion is that we cannot judge a person purely based on academic results.

alabone/flos,
I have come across "reclusive" scholars too. Sometimes find it kinda sad for them as well.

Qiuling,
Good luck in correcting Zac's misbehaviour. Josh also "bullies" us. In school he can self-feed, listen to teachers and learn. But at home, he can't sit still to eat despite us putting him on the high-chair since he's 6 mths old. (We stopped using the high-chair now. He sits at the table but unfortunately if the TV is not on, he will not sit still).

I'lCYCH,
Thanks for complimenting Josh. He is such a darling most of the time. But when he's totally cranky and monkeying around, I do feel like spanking him or giving him away .. oooppss.

Isabelle,
Perhaps u need to set a routine for Isabelle? My Josh was equally inattentive initially. I just follow the same consistent routine after he comes home from CC(unless I'm really zonked out) --- which is snack, TV, shower, storytime (so this last for abt 30 mins), then 5 mins Mickey Mouse Clubhouse at 830pm and then time to zzz...

Mrs Yap,
Very very cute indeed!!

twin studies
Altho the thought has crossed my mind, I can't bring myself to subject my girls to experimenting! not fair lah!

l'ilCY l'il CH
Yes, the planes are a big feature in the lives of little boys...but the paya lebar airbase part answers the question...cos where got time to go see plane unless u stay near an airport or base mah ...?

Flos
I wasn't really hot housed. just read to by my mum a lot. and whatever meagre talent I exhibited was encouraged...so story telling contests and story writing contests etc. and some TV stuff.

JoJo
wat size are those shoes that are too big for you?
I wear size 39.....anything for me?

Hi Ava,

My leg is 6 1/2 before pregnancy, now i thik i am wearing 6.
haiz, need to go and buy insole and try loh...but i am not used to wearing insole....But what to do

chewyring: didn't quite understand your post abt maid watching your tv downstairs is it? Why 1.5mths to go? u r sacking her? my new maid is far more intelligent than the previous one, but ironically, I'm kinda missing the old one!! Kept calling the new maid by the wrong name this morning..oopsssss! The previous one is dumber but she is genuinely caring towards Isaac. The new one, becos she has her own 3YO daughter in the Philippines, tends to be less doting (maybe it's just her first day lah) on other people's children...she also asks too much questions cos her English is damn good. I get ver tired answering her many questions...yawn...ok lah, she is new, so she needs to check with me on several things.

lilboymom &amp; alabone: 2 two hv common reclusive friends?

angeline: didn't now u hv quit the workforce. why dun u get a maid or nanny?

lanolin: u mean the nanny angeline recommended to u is going to leave end of this yr? isn't she your FT maid-cum-nanny?

LC: Can I ask if u find it troublesome to put bb in and out of the car seat everyday (once in the morning before going to work, and another time in the evening when u pick up your bb)? My mom advises me to place my bb at my MIL's place from Mon-Fri full-time but I think I'll miss my son terribly!!! Also, I believe it's illegal to leave my maid at another person's place rite?

MOODSWING: I'm so moody today cos of a new member in my house...I felt the same when my CL left me with the previous maid in Oct. It's like having someone u r so familiar with, &amp; who had spent 24hrs by your side, leaving u forever...oh dear...i shouldn't be so sentimental towards domestic workers!

Springz (springz)

My baby is sleeping on the same bed with me and my hubby. Going to move to a new house soon and she will have her own mattress but still sleeping in the same room.

My MIL gives my daughter pacifier and rock her in the yaolan everyday (exclude sat n sun) in the day. During the night, me or my husband will cuddle her, pat her, walk around to make her sleep.

I hate to use pacifier and yaolan but i've no choice since she is the one looking after her. The patting and walking around is contributed by people who carried her since both so now me n husband have to suffer. If we sit down she will cry... hais!!

Me too also didn't give any flashcards to baby. Everyday after work i only talks to her and sings to her when i'm patting her to bed. Weekend is bring her out. She hates tummy time too.

sarahmay

"don't really want a genius but more interested in nurturing a loving, compassionate and wise child who knows how to live life and make life better for others."

I'm totally with you on this one!
though i have no idea how on the 'wise' part.

Back from Breaskfast ... keke ... went coffee shop downstairs have a cup of tea, chee cheong fun , yan kueh and a waffle ... felt so refreshed with undisturbed breakfast ...

Lok ,
i agreed that academic results does not equate to IQ ... n i guess EQ is more important in society nw .. given the coming recession .. AQ will play a part .. haha .. so much "Q"

Ava ,
me also size 39 .. keke ..and my shoe size never expand in both preg .. guess i dun have the water retention during preg

IICY ,
that is y i alwasy very peifu ni .. and even spoke to hb about how resourceful and dedicate u are ... role model .. cos i really dread being SAHM but seeing u motivates me to spend more time and effort with both nw ..
three cheers for u

Lok ,
as mentioned i also dunno how SAHM life will be until i can truly experience it .. school holidays usually i will be KO by zac alone ...but i am determined to try out for one year and see how things go.. at least i will haev wonderful memories of my little ones I guess .. cos i have two boys and boys usually dun stick to mummies once they are grown up...spend time with them nw and work in my later part of life.

Breadmum - The IFC that I checked out is called Happy Family. You can check out a list of IFC from the link below.

http://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/ChdCccSrch.jsp

LC, Yes, the ratio is 1 caregiver to 5 babies. This is the guideline set by the Govt. See link below on page 11.

http://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/uploads/CCC_Guide.pdf

Which IFC did you go to? How many caregivers are there, and how many babies are there? Can your baby already fall asleep on his own? Or does he still need to be carried to go to sleep? Will the IFC carry him to sleep all the time?

springz,
My baconboy sleeps on his own since day 1..personally i find it a better arrangement cos we wont disturb him when we wake up for toilet breaks and I can rest better without having to wake up to look at him at every sound he makes

Legwarmer
My MIL and mom also said the same thing! But i told them I am the mommy and i make the call whether or not to take it off..
besides it does keep the boy's leg warm and it is cute! Bbs are supposed to be cute!

sarahmay &amp; cupcakes,
Agree totally with u ladies!
I wanna raise a god-loving, pet-loving, kind, wise kid..most importantly i want him to be happy and healthy

NAN 1 HA

Mommies whose babies r taking the above.
I've 6 new tins of NAN HA 1 (900g) to let go cos my son is taking Friso comfort due to his reflux. Expiry date is May 2010.

Letting go at S$34 per tin or S$200 for all 6 tins. I'm also giving away a brand new pack of Drypers S size diapers (64pcs) if u r getting all 6 tins.

Pls email me at [email protected] if u r interested.

p/s: I may b slow in reply (2-3 days) as I'm taking care of my son alone n won't hv the time to come online daily.

lanolin,
I intend to send baconboy to playgroup at 18mths too! Think he can learn alot more than staying at home with a caregiver.

Are you a shoe person? Or was it someone else? Cos i am a shoe fanatic!!! Likes shoes from Hue &amp; Tang designer corner..but stop short of On Pedder.. But really cut down alot since giving birth...rather spend the money on baconboy than myself...

Losing weight
Thot I have lost most of my weight but goshh...i spotted a tummy this morning when i dressed! gggrrr...hope the trimmer i order on BP comes soon...Gunibabe, u got the trimmer already?

Jasmine ,
when your kid grow older , pacifier can easily be removed from them .. yao lan more difficult from my experience .. cos my FB is on yao lan from birth and afternoon sleep in mattress is always a challenge .. crying , scream and then sleep for 15 mins , reapeat the crying .. and always ask to be "yao" .. when sleepy ... so difficult to quit him.
Since it is the only way nw .. just make sure during the day sleep in yao lan only.. else really "cham"

chewy_ring

Ya pacifier can easily removed and yao lan is difficult. I'm always against yao lan but my MIL have to take care of two so no choice. The other kid she take care also difficult to sleep in mattress during the day. I told my MIL when she never take care of the other kid liao don't put my baby in the yao lan. Starting will be tough but no choice. Hais..

Haven't posted much this last week as hubs cleared his leave to spend time with Baby M and me. Had a hard time catching up with your posts!

Salute to u shopper mums. Saw your F &amp; P stash, amazing. Do count me in next time you guys go for a warehouse sale!

Angeline, I understand how u feel, I'm in the same situation. I quit my banking job to have baby m and we used to have a maid . But we find that we did not have enough work for her ( she sits around in the afternoon drinking coffee and watching tv with me) esp since we live in a flat and I chose to remain as baby's main caregiver. So we decided to give up this luxury, it was a struggle in the beginning but with the right tools and time mgt I actually enjoy the privacy and time I share with baby now. Moreover the savings from the maid expense can be used to splurge on ourselves and baby. However, sometimes as SAHM with no economic contribution I feel very out of control especially since I used to earn a comfortable income and was very independent in my spending. Now I need to depend on hubs, just feel so needy. I've been thinking of returning to the workforce but the job mkt is so bad. Considering the mid career Teaching opportunity. Several mummies in sep thread are teachers right, any comments?

Learning Resources for Baby...
Are the GD flashcards good? I've always felt awkward flashing cards for baby. Like some mummies mentioned, I would like Mikayla to enjoy her childhood and learn thru play. At the moment I am mainly just reading to her and using creative play techniques during playtime. Just bought the Leapfrog little touch and can't wait to introduce it to her. Care to share more on flash cards? I would like to learn more.

Haven't posted much this last week as hubs cleared his leave to spend time with Baby M and me. Had a hard time catching up with your posts!

Salute to u shopper mums. Saw your F &amp; P stash, amazing. Do count me in next time you guys go for a warehouse sale!

Angeline, I understand how u feel, I'm in the same situation. I quit my banking job to have baby m and we used to have a maid . But we find that we did not have enough work for her ( she sits around in the afternoon drinking coffee and watching tv with me) esp since we live in a flat and I chose to remain as baby's main caregiver. So we decided to give up this luxury, it was a struggle in the beginning but with the right tools and time mgt I actually enjoy the privacy and time I share with baby now. Moreover the savings from the maid expense can be used to splurge on ourselves and baby. However, sometimes as SAHM with no economic contribution I feel very out of control especially since I used to earn a comfortable income and was very independent in my spending. Now I need to depend on hubs, just feel so needy. I've been thinking of returning to the workforce but the job mkt is so bad. Considering the mid career Teaching opportunity. Several mummies in sep thread are teachers right, any comments?

Learning Resources for Baby...
Are the GD flashcards good? I've always felt awkward flashing cards for baby. Like some mummies mentioned, I would like Mikayla to enjoy her childhood and learn thru play. At the moment I am mainly just reading to her and using creative play techniques during playtime. Just bought the Leapfrog little touch and can't wait to introduce it to her. Care to share more on flash cards? I would like to learn more.