(2008/09) Sep 2008

Dear Rachel,

Hmm, 1:5 is really too many babies lei.. what if they seriously all cry for milk at same time...

Rachel, you want to consider my option of putting ur baby at my place? Since u stay tampines

Dear breadmum,

IFC also charge by the mth don't they?.. Do they have hr-ly basis? hmm..

Dear LC,

Where do you stay again ah..? Which IFC you looking at? I agree with you.. 1:3 in my opinion is a little too many already.. let alone 1:5 :p

bacon&eggs: what's with the leg warmers? I hvn't been following all the posts closely...

chewyring: i had chwee kueh, and the pink glutinous rice kueh this morning...hheee

busy bee: i totally agree that with the right tools and proper time mgt, we can manage without the maid. I survived without my maid for a week before the new one arrived last nite. Loved the privacy, boy! Just Isaac and me at home, albeit in a very dirty one

Bacon&Egg - yes yes, I do love shoes!!! I agree the shoes in hue and tang&Co designer section r very nice!!!! I did not use to buy shoes from On Peddar until the HK trip this year. I was pregnant by then and my husband just wanted me to buy comfy shoes that I like and I could only find them at the On Peddar there! hahahaha...bad excuse. How many pairs of shoes do u have?

Angeline / Flos - *paiseh*. I got nanny AND helper. 2 different people. I didn't think my maid could handle my boy as she's new and has zilch experience. But Nanny doesn't come every day now, esp when I bring Dec out more often.

We were thinking of stopping the nanny services by end of the year but she spoke to my hubs and I and said that she is happy to continue until my son is on solids (she'll teach my maid how to prepare) and then she can "fang xin". ha ha. I know it's income for her but I do think there's an element of true concern for my son which made her say what she did. We talked about it and my hubs is very supportive of keeping her. So we might let her carry on till Feb / March. Also allows time for grandmas to transition into the role. Might ask her to only come for 3 days a week. Not decided yet!

Cupcake - U're right ... I don't know how I will manage to exercise after going back to work esp when the gym isn't exactly near my work place. It's all about discipline I guess, which I have to be honest, I don't have much of.

Twin studies - cupcake, r u a psych grad as well?

Ava - I didn't think u had the same size feet as me!!! Do u wear heels? I might be able to pass u some!!!

mommies of bb girls
do u guys find it hard to clean between the folds of their private area? there's always this cakey layer of nappy rash cream that i find v hard to clean off completely but don't dare rub too hard lest i irritate the skin. how do u all normally clean it?

flos,
My MIL & mom said the warmer are too tight lah, too warm lah for my boy...which I dont think so cos usually put on the warmers in an air-conditioned room...

Lanolin
Shoes - i lost count already (hubby mentioned i have at least 60 pairs during our last house move)...i love buying shoes cos they are easier to shop for than clothings..esp now i am still fat and spotting a tummy..
just bought myself two pairs last wkend - in-hse NineWest and a hosting brand with ninewest...cant recall the name..

xuanting,
i would use my finger to gently rub in bet folds when bathing baconboy..for bb girls, maybe u wanna use cotton wool to rub?

<font color="119911">lanolin (lanolin) – I also have the same mentality for bringing up K. Like how my sisters are raising their kids, I will bring him to places like Jacob Ballas at Botanical Gardens, to the beach, ubin, zoo, etc etc…think its more just me wanting to relieve my childhood days!

Meanwhile, yes – I agree that men need to be trained to remember stuff like anniversaries and birthdays! I think mine is well trained – he still remembers our monthly wedding aniversaries

Flos (flos) – you didn’t watch telly till Sec 1? Wow….my parents were pretty lax bringing us up – we had our ballet, tae-kwon-do, piano, swimming lessons that every kid took in the 1980s, but I also remembered growing up in Malaysia, catching spiders and ants, climbing trees and skinning my knees all the time!

SarahMay (sarahmay) - I did occasionally sit K on my lap when I watch Simpsons on StarWorld. But since reading that article on the correlation between babies below 2 watching telly and ADD, I have stopped doing that. Now, I try to time my telly sessions with his BFing sessions.

Angeline Goh (angeg) – Kudos for being a SAHM!
Jia-you and don’t be so bothered by people's comments. I was just telling hubby that after being a full time mom these 3 months, I now have so much respect for SAHM who cook, clean, take care of their kids (and hubby) 24/7. Working in air-con comfort is relatively much easier and I am looking forward to going back to work, though I know I will miss K terribly and wonder how he is doing at my MILs.

Springz (springz) – yes, there is another bout of growth spurt at 3 months. K is feeding about the same during the day (every 2.5-3 hours), but has been waking up 2-3X at night, supposedly cos he is hungry, but not finishing his 100ml at times. I think he is just bullying us!

Sleeping Habits – we are currently co-sleeping with K (his mattress is in our room) – only cos it is easier to check on him rather than to walk to him room, and easier for me to BF him at night whilst hubby warms the EBM. However, the plan is to move him back to his own room by 6 months old. On getting him to sleep, we don’t cuddle, patting, use pacifier, etc..but just put him to bed, and give him his final feed there. By the time the milk is finished, he would have dozed off.

LC (faintz) – thanks! Not sure if I am a good mum, but I do try.
Am consciously opting for a middle-ground and not be too protective/possessive/kiasu/kiasi when it comes to raising K. At the end of the day, it doesn’t matter if a baby walks/talks quicker than the next, they all catch up eventually! As long as the little one is happy and healthy, and eventually grow up to be a decent, compassionate, filial human being, that is all that matters. Like you, I won't have much time with K once I go back to work in January, so I rather spend what little time we have doing stuff we both enjoy!

Lok (lok) – wow, so your hubby's IQ is off the charts? Impressive! Hubby is a Mensa member with a very respectable score, and I did take their online test on the fly and qualified. I didn’t go for the proper sit down test though - partly because I know I would need to do preparations prior to that and I am too lazy, and partly cos I don’t want to have to pay membership dues for the rest of my life (like what I am already doing for other professional bodies just to use the qualification for work). And yes, academic results is in no way a reflection of intelligence – hubby didn’t have very impressive results..hehe!</font>

<font color="ff0000">Xmas Gathering
Any mommies attending who have not gotten the details, please PM me!
Millie (millie22) – you are still coming ya?

Hopefully it doesn't rain on Sat. The Xmas lights for our apartment building are also out (short-circuited by the rain i presume) - i hope the mgt office people get that fixed before Sat cos these are quite prettily done up and the babies would love all that red/yellow blinky lights!

Meanwhile, have to warn mommies again that it is going to be a tight squeeze – think you would have to park your strollers outside by the corridor, and hubbies would have to sit on the floor! Paiseh. Also, our place has a lot of metal furniture, small decorations and odds and ends, so do keep a watchful eye on the toddlers to prevent any mishaps.</font>

hah...K is so piggy. I was just talking to him, noticed that he has gone quiet, so I turned round saw that he fell asleep SITTING UPRIGHT on the couch!

Hi bigtoes,

Dun know leh. When I ask the nurse, she took out the chart and tell me when should I let my girl take the rotavirus vac. maybe have to be one week after her 5 in 1 injection then can take the rotavirus vac.
2 -3 wks later then can take another dose of 5 in 1 injection. I also dun know I just orh orh orh when she told me.......

Bacon&amp;eggs: too tight? this is what my DH has been saying...he always make me remove them cos he is afraid that there'll be red marks on his thighs and legs. It's is true!

Bigtoes: Yes, becos during my era, there were a lot of Canto dramas from HK and my parents didn't like us to pick up dialect. I could watch the Sat and Sun cartoons though, just not the adult shows!! And, oh, I do go to the reservoirs, botanic gardens, parks, seaside, hills, zoo, etc. Not so cloistered lah!

xuanting: u mean the labia or the folds on both her thighs? For boys, it's rather diff to clean the area just beneath their birdie. urghh...

I don't know if there's something wrong with the forum...can't post!

Angeline - I wrote something about not bothering with ignorant people's comments. Seriously. Those who judge will be judged and somehow, through my own personal experiences, I have found that when I made insensitive remarks about other people, I'll be put in their situation someday which makes me realise what a fool I was to make nonsensical and probably hurtful remarks.

just ignore them ya?

lanolin: you hubs sure dotes on you loads! and he married you cos you complement each other in terms of personality On Pedder shoes are too exp for me! I can probably afford a pair of Louboutins and then not buy any more shoes for the rest of the year! haha

springz: I used to co-sleep with my boy but started on sleep training once he turned 4 mths. By 6 weeks plus, he started sleeping thru after we used the "cry it out" method for about 2 weeks. Once he's sleeping thru, we shifted him to his own room and used a baby monitor. Now, he has a bedtime routine, by 730pm or 8pm, he'll get a wipe down, change into PJs, swaddled, fed and placed in his cot, with a Tomy lightshow &amp; tune, to let him associate that it's bedtime. He'll be amused by the lightshow on the ceiling and drift off to sleep after a while. Sometimes he will struggle and cry, especially when he's over stimulated or over tired. But the crying will last less than a min or 2. And he'll sleep thru from 8pm to 9am the next morning. We'll dream feed him at 11pm to 12 midnight. It works well for us cos I've gone back to work and would appreciate the sleep! As for security, I've read that so long as you attend to the child when they cry, assure them that you're there for them and attend to their needs, they won't feel any less secure. I believe this has helped my boy alot, cos he used to cry so much, but now, he don't cry at all most of the time. he's a much happier baby and I'm a happier mummy too!

Dear Gunibabe,

Your method is almost like mine too, scarlett's been sleeping through 1 and a half months ago, and like you and bigtoes, we also wipe down at 7 or 8, swaddle, sing a song and after that milk and baby will get the idea, she sleeps on her own cot. We don't cuddle, carry or rock as well and this has helped her sleep on her own, we also dream feed at 11pm and she'll sleep till 8am. Like you, scarlett cries sometimes too when she's overstimulated and overtired (because MIL/FIL LOVES TO PLAY AT SLEEP TIME !@#$) on days when we bring her out late, she'll also fuss 1-2 mins and then will fall asleep on her own.. yes, happier mummy happier baby!

<font color="0077aa">bacon &amp; lanolin: I also intend to send smallberry to childcare / playgroup when he turn 18mths! But most likely cc then I would prob ask my maid to go...

bacon &amp; flos: Yes, the leg warmers is too tight, that's why I told springz that I wore on my hands to expand it!!! LOL!

Angeline: Being a SAHM is not easy, you are brave to make that move! Same as CY mum! I really hope to spend more time with smallberry &amp; be there when he grows up but finances don't allow so no choice. Working is definitely alot easier for me!

Sarah, my bb pooh lately has turned into THICK pasta sauce texture, bt it is still yellowish wor. What is no seedy texture? As in lumpy issit?

Spring, thks for the thermometer information. I think Cheong Soon carry this brand wor.. what P brand wor.
And yes, my bb was cranky after the 5-in-1 jab. He cannot finish his milk, and was fussy!!!

Gunibabe, yeah, I am relieved that bb ethan is fine. It is concluded that he seems to have catch this virus from someone, and we suspect it must be the baby swimming thingie!!! And we are so ‘phobia’ now that we have grounded bb Ethan away from crowded places :p

BB BELLY BUTTON
I realized my bb belly button abit hei-hei (black black). Wonder issit accumulated dirt? Any antidote?

IFC
Yes, I agree it is beri challenging to meet the collection time by 7pm. I have experimented it for one month liao and argh, it is torturous!!! But I think I am quite pleased with this IFC arrangement.

SAHM: when I was taking of my boy alone, I was barely coping and I really salute SAHMs. Now that I'm back at work, life is not much better cos after work, I still have to do the daily chores of washing bottles, sterlising, the laundry etc. I have help from my mum to clean up the place whenever she's here to look after my boy, but I'll still use my Karcher electric broom to clean my place daily whenever I can. I'm already tired out by all these chores, can't imagine if I still need to pump milk. So I really salute the rest of the mummies who're still pumping and all.

My hubby, who is quite a SNAG, can sometimes fall into the trap of taking me for granted, and thinking that I'm a wonder woman who can work, take care of the household and the baby and serve him like my master! He will get it from me once in a while and he'll repent by treating me better ... but then after a few mths, we're back to the same cycle again! Men!!!! they need constant reminder!

KymKym T (pebblez): yeah, our method pretty much the same.

mummies, just wanna share one of my best investments besides the Fisher Price rocker with vibration.

my boy would smile, chuckle and flip his legs when he sees the images cast on the ceiling.
I would hide at a level where he cant see me and watch him enjoying the show. Makes me so happy to see him enjoying the toys we got for him.

I got it at a promo price at Kiddy Palace for $49.95.

http://www.tomy.co.uk/products/winnie-the-pooh-moonlight-dreamshow/?parent=6470

<font color="0077aa">Gunibabe: Understabd how happy you are when you see youe small one enjoying himself! Smallberry likes the Hop &amp; Pop also!! And he smile &amp; laugh while there but only for a short while lah!

And will they outgrow the rocker very fast? I am thinking of putting smallberry in the ABC mat so that he can try flipping cos on the bouncer he can't...

Mummies, need o ask about frozen EBM, when I freeze, I will anyhow freeze the amt cos I cannot determine when I will feed smallberry the BM &amp; the amt then. But I have this problem when I bottle feed him once a day cos when the EBM is 120ml &amp; I only feed him 100ml then the other 20ml how? Cos frozen EBM once thawed onlt have a lifespan of 24hours...</font>

Mummies... this is my advertisement :p......help me look look see see ...

""" I am looking for a FTWM mummy to share in-house experienced babysitter in Tampines St 83/ Pasir Ris

Timeline: Starting from Feb’ 2009
Ratio: 1 Nanny to 2 Babies
Age Range: 3 months – 9months only

I am a FTWM (I have a 4 month old daughter), and am thinking of employing an in-house babysitter (the contact i got has some background in childhood education and she is Chinese, very pleasant lady) to care for my girl. The babysitter will come to my house (Tampines Blk 865) everyday to look after our babies from 8am-7pm (will be flexible) and she'll have to do reading, flashcards and baby chores.

The in-house nanny is charging me roughly $1500 for two babies ($700 x 2 for nanny services, $100 transportation), will not have overtime fee, but I will have to provide for her food during the day (which may be around $50 per month per baby)

Nanny charge does not include:
1. Food/ Formula Milk for Baby
2. Perishables- Diapers, Shampoo, Wet Wipes etc.
3. Washing laundry (which will be done by my maid)
4. Cooking (which will be done by my maid)
5. Sleeping linen and blankets

I have planned up a timetable and will get the nanny to:
1. Make Puree / Vegetable soups until babies ready for porridge
2. Feed formula to a timetable
3. Follow baby routines
4. Shower baby (assisted by my maid)
5. Change baby (assisted by my maid)
6. Play and Sing to a timetable
7. Read and Flashcards to a timetable (English, Math, Chinese)
8. Be on stand-by when we need her for weekends
9. Protect, look after the house and oversee the maid's chore..

I have plenty of toys and books and Glenn Doman Flash Cards (Math, Chinese), if mummies like to bring materials to share, we can plan this into the timetable

We will still need to interview this babysitter before anything. The downside is this babysitter does not speak superb English but she speaks great mandarin, can manage basic Vocab such as ‘shopping’, ‘please finish your food’ etc

Interested mummies, please call me at 81682107 Email: [email protected], my name is Kym. Please note there is only space for one baby, also, we are a simple family and is just looking for someone kind and loving to take care of my daughter, we will try to accommodate any mummy request only to our best abilities, thanks

To let in a bit on my family and our arrangement-

We are a family of 3, and we stay at Tampines St 83, Blk 865, is a 5-room flat, airy and cozy. I am in the Pharma industry, and my husband is a Stock Broker. We have an Indonesian maid who is 32 yrs old, cooks great Chinese food and has children of her own; therefore the maid will provide good help to the babysitter.

The reason I’d like to share this babysitter is so I can share costs, as the babysitter has to come to our place everyday, her rates are more expensive, but she is willing to drop her price if there are 2 babies. We must state that this method is quite unlike the traditional nannies whereby the baby must confine to their lifestyle, as we are hoping the babysitter will engage our babies in play and reading rather than just doing nothing. We are also looking for a mother who is not too fussy, as you would agree that nothing can be perfect

My maid will do the food marketing and the babysitter will not be allowed not bring our children out. As my husband and I are mobile, we will always drop by to check out the babysitter. """

Hi,Rachel

1:5 is really not a good ratio.. I am surprised that it is the standard cos the centres so far I check out are all 1:3 or 2:5.. what is the maximum no. of infant? this is also one of the consideration points, I feel..

As for bringing back baby from the IFC on the stated time, its bec the insurance only cover up to the stated time. The penalty charge for over due time is hefty but I guess this is the only way to deter parents from delaying picking up the babies.

If you are putting baby in IFC, try to give your baby the optional immunisation such as pneumo, rotavirus.. cos high chance of virus spreading.. but at least mitigate the possibility of baby getting it with the optional jab..

For me, I am putting my boy in IFC next March or April when he passes 6mth old.. very sad but have to do that cos my MIL leg is getting worse..I rather my boy to cry badly (people said in IFC, babies tend to cry loud as no immediate attention is rendered as compared to grandparents) than to put my baby in a dangerous spot (in the event of my MIL dropping my boy down due to her bad knee).. I guess by that time, it is another round of separation anxiety for me
If really IFC dun work out, we have to think of another way out.. There is usually a 2 or 3week trial..

Thanks..
feeling better after letting out &amp; after a night sleep.his frens (all men) dun really understand how hard it is to stay home.coz their kids are all taken care of by their inlaws..1 of them whoes kid stayed with the wife parents all day even the nite...another 1 oso inlaw look after etc...we r the only 1 doing it on our own..like wat some of u said,some days can be nuts when my fb is especially naughty n keep doing opposite instructions etc..there will be times also when i wonder y i get myself into all these mess n quit my flying job..:p

not to mention $..now have to depend on hubby for allowance..although they give willingly,but during quarels,the spending subject will always be brought up..now i never spend on myself..all on kids clothes/books/outings etc..the stupid man nv tink,if i didn buy all the clothes till now,wat will his daughters wear?? like my fren says 'use banana leaf cover'?? LOL

so,i tink its really good for women to have a job,earn some $ to use on own n some 'secret $' hehe

flos

my area here no good nanny...no recommendations..as for maid,since i not working so didnt wana tax my hb further so i am the maid lor...anyway,i oso dun like the lost of privacy..ya,i quit my flying job to look after them..now so fat,ugly, like an ah soh like tt...sob sob..

jasmine

i oso dun like the use of pacifier &amp; yaolan..coz got the extra work of getting them off next time if they get addicted..my FB,i didnt use any oso..so hopefully,i dun need to use for my carine..although occasionally during her bad crying spells..have the urge to give in..

the busy bee

ya..last time i can spend without thinking..now haiz..now no go facial,hair treatment,shop for clothes...

storeberry

ya..i got no choice so pretty easy for me to decide..as for finance wise,still ok..just tt have to give up certain items...all abt needs &amp; wants..

goldfish

carine's belly button oso black..pd said tt its bcoz we used too much of the cord powder last time..will ask again next time if they will go back norm..

kymkym

for kindermusik..tink would be better if we go after 6mths or at least when they can crawl...so tt they will enjoy n 'understand' more...in a few months time,we will all be bz going for trials...haha

mummies with tods

just went for the barney show 2day..its pretty good n engaging but theres lots of ppl..i went to queue for the tea party pass..but hor waste of time coz nothing much..jus give a mac happy meals + take photo only..arrghh...

Hi,Flos

YES! It is a chore! My MIL suggested to leave my boy with her over night from Mon till fri.. I cannot lar.. will miss him badly.. so bo bian have to ferry him to and fro everyday.. I think it is illegal to leave maid with someone else.. unless the maid is employed to look after your inlaws.

<font color="0077aa">Saw on the threads that you all didn't pat your babies to sleep &amp; let them self-soothe themselves. So I decide to try out on smallberry &amp; I am so proud of him! He managed to sleep by himself! It may not be a major feat to some of you but just feel so happy cos I have been carrying him &amp; patting him to sleep. Only when he is half-asleep then I will put him in his cot.</font>

Hi Kym, I'm open at this moment, since I've not register with any IFC yet. What’s your deadline for confirming the nanny?

There's a new IFC opening in Jan 09 at Changi Business Park, and I'm checking that out next week. It's just oppo my HB's office, so he can drop Kydric at the IFC if we decide to choose this. I called this new IFC, and their ratio of staff to children is 2:5.
However, they are quite ex... charging at $1.5k.

Envy envy! I've been carrying my boy to sleep, and till he's into a deep sleep, then I'll put him down... and sometimes, he still fuss when I put him down (esp when he's not into a deep sleep yet), and I had to carry him again and start all over!

Storeberry - on your EBM, maybe you can freeze 100ml (if 100ml is always the amount your baby drinks) in 1 bottle, and balance in another bottle, so your balance will not be wasted?

chewyring
Yeah my feet didnt grow during both pregnancies either

lanolin
Oooh, if u have heels u dont want, sure! I havent tried the adidas properly yet...will let u know how it fits.

kymkym
i wish i could share nanny, but live too far away.
Lanolin, if your nanny is stopping after a few months, will she be available to come help out at our place when the girls start crawling?? worried gloria will not be able to cope. **this is assuming I find a job!

Ava - ok, we meet at my parent's place for the shoes AND your books. *ashamed!* hehehe...

I will ask my nanny for you. She brought up this baby from birth to 1 yrs old so I believe she's going to be good for your girls. She stays at Tekka so I think going to your place isn't a problem. And she'll speak Mandarin to them too!

hihi, lots of post today.. Brought Janelle for 5in1 today, she is 7.7kg and 65.5cm at week 13.. :p

Springz, how much was ur 5in1? mine is around $120

Flos: I heard if you employed the domestic helper to take care of your baby, if you place baby and maid at a guardian's place, it's not illegal since the maid is fulfilling her duties.

True Yoga Membership

Anyone interested to buy over my True Yoga membership, please pm me for details. I bought it in Sept 07, and suspend it from Feb till Dec 08 due to pregnancy. Still have 25 months of membership from Jan 09 till Jan 2011. However, I dont think I'll ever have a chance to go again, as I have to take care of my baby...

Please pm me if you are interested.

tks mummies for replying!! hee was just curious coz it is really a personal pref thing. If i am nursing, I'll also pref to co-sleep like cupcakes less ley chey...

whoa bigtoes, gunibabe, kym n storeberry - self soothe babies!! my dream hee! also learnt fron your routines, will try to adapt.. quick question, so yr babies' night sleep won't be affected if they sleep from 7/8pm onwards? Seems like a long stretch of sleep!

kies my experience, lil S feeds at 8pm, plays abit (either we read to her or show cards) then she sleeps at 9plus (must carry and walk or else she'll cry and cry - like now!!!). Then dream feed at 12mn, place her in her room with baby monitor... sometimes she'll fuss about at 2-3am then I'll carry and walk again... then at 6am she'll fuss again and only pacifier does the trick for this time.. carrying doesn't help. but someone must sit at her cot to make sure pacifier stays in mouth. then she'll sleep/ play by herself till we feed her at 8am. Weekends we buay tahan having her so far away so we co-sleep haha (very nice to have a little bundle next to us).

i admit that the walking up and down hallways to/from her room to mine is super tiring. esp when head hits pillow for couple minutes then she cries again..
nearly slept on the floor beside her once!!! but past 2 wks her 2/3am one has not surfaced and i ask my helper to see to her 6am cries while I sleep..

I bought a book on sleep and like gunibabe mentioned best to tend to their needs. They also recommend crying out method for 6 months and abv but below 5 (apparently by 5 if they don't sleep independently, it would be very hard to train then). The Young Parents Dec issue on other hand did not specify age and reports that even young babies will not feel insecure with cry-out method.

shrugs, dunno la. For me, it is partly to teach her to be independent, will eventually try the cry-out method but more so to preserve our sleep (so helper can tend to her!!)

ah yeah.. just put her down she's crying again.. got to walk and carry again

jaymickey.. ya i checked my GP's 5-in-1 and pneu only $65 each! And I'm sure polyclinic even cheaper..

my bill was:

5-in-1 - $110
pneumococcal - $170
Rotarix - $100
GST - $26

The 2nd half of the jabs I'm seriously considering cheaper alternative. MIL was horrified says polyclinic quality poorer.. i mean majority of Singaporeans go there right and as a govt body it should serve its preventive purpose well..

Wah.. ur 5in1 is cheaper by $10.. the rest are the same.. GP is so cheap!

Poly is okie, just that the waiting time is very long.. otherwise i dun mind going to Poly.

<font color="0077aa">Springz: Wow.. so lil S is asleep now? Great!! My smallberry would want to sleep at 745 - 8pm, its HIS time! I want him to sleep about 9plus but its a dream lo.. The he wakes up at 1 or 2am, I tried to dream feed him yday around 1130pm but he wake up at 2am again.. Maybe I will try again today &amp; pray that he will wake up for milk at 4 or 5am!! I miss my sleep!

Tmr going to have a buffet lunch with my colleagues!! Will be bringing smallberry there! I miss good food!</font>

storeberry - enjoy!!
Hope Z will zzzzzz...

for me i really hit the sack at dawn (4-6am) but coz of 6am pump I end up catching up on sleep till 10ish. By then, I usually miss lil s' waking moments where she is chirpiest and miss feeding/ bathing and playing with her. Honestly i feel very very bad leaving these (playing/ bathing/ feeding) to helper. But I really can't keep my eyes open and I feel so lethargic! I've been advised to sleep when she naps.. but I just can't sleep at noon!!! The guilt also extends to times when I pump and helper has to read/ play with her... my mom was saying I should not beat myself expecting to engage lil s/ bond with her at her every waking moment. But when I see how she is more calm with helper and smiles at her I'm saddened

Flos ,
no lah i am not sacking my maid ... her attitude towards working is good and i find her caring .. 1.5 mths is the countdown where my MIL is leaving for Australia to help her daughter look after her kid.. The watching TV habit started bcos MIL watch mah .. my maid dun dare to on the TV unless there is a nod from either me or MIL .. that is the rule i set ..

SPINGZ ,
i dun think the prunmmoccocal jab at GP is that cheap .. it is usally ard 150 to 170. nothing less than that ..

Springz (springz): some sleep training books I've read mentioned that as weird as it sounds, sleep begets sleep! I totally agree with it because when my boy sleeps well in the day, he'll fall asleep easily at bedtime too.
Sleep training is best done when they're younger, and easier to train. We used to have to walk my boy around the house too to make him sleep. Think little S is ready to sleep by herself and learn how to self-soothe.

cupcakes, qiuling
*gulps* dun compliment me! im lazy thats why i hardly diy cards. you see the standard of my diy cards...yucky la, but cy is not fussy...hahaha...

im considered lucky and blessed i guess. hb is really supportive of me staying at home and doesnt mind my spending (So far...wait till he sees my christmas bill!!!)..so nothing to applaud. i wouldnt want to go through those days where i had to work and rush home to bf cy (Coz he refuse bottle) then rush back to work again...thank God those days are over...

rachel
dream feed means milky time when bb isnt awake!!

storeberry
have you tried moving his 2am feed bit by bit instead of so abruptly? like 1:30am, then 1am, then 12:30am etc??

sleep begets sleep???? Really??? Thats new!! Haha.. coz in 1st month, when she had night/day confusion and slept so much in day she kept us up at night! Since then we make her busy in the day so that she can sleep at night

yup agree sleep training when young is best
okies okies will try ya? thanks!!!!

Oh.. btw, one of the Young Parents issue also talk about toilet training newborns!!!! It is like the CL methods some mummies mentioned.. hmm i'm skeptical abt that though

Spingz ,
bb will recognised their mummies no matter how many hrs the helper interact with them .. to put it plainly .. when your kid start to understand things .. they will always run to you for support .. keke .. no need to feel sad .. you should be grateful for having a caring helper who like kids instead of frustrated helper ...

wipe down at 7pm? I wish I could but I need to guide the maid on how to cook dinner so my wipe down is brought fwd to 5.30pm.

dream feed? I still feed the same amt 150ml as the rest of the day.

sleeping thru? Impossible for us cos we always drag Isaac along with us to hv our dinner outside, say 7-8pm. And tomorrow, we'll go to a friend's house for Tok Panjang, meaning he will not sleep till 10-11pm tmr nite...

co-sleep with bb: me! can't bear to leave bb with the new maid. he sleeps like a log even as we enter and exit the bathroom. We even chitchat &amp; bitch abt our maid between the sheets everynite and my bb just continues to sleep on...hehee.

Isaac recently started to fuss again at 3-4am, so we decided to wake up to feed him one more time. wondering if we shd just ignore him and let him cry out loud...

storeberry: for me, it's not just about finances...i'm just not a good and patient educator. really hate to do housework, hate to give orders to the maid, hate to wear jammies and shop online all the time...i love to cook though...

Gunibb: ok! good to hear it's not illegal

Angeline: didn't noe u were a flight attendant b4. u mustbe very tall and gorgeous!

chewyring: my former maid didn't watch tv at all. She was not interested at all. The current one sleeps by 9.30pm!!

SEPHORA OPENING ON 19 DEC @ NGEE ANN CITY!! Hmm, wondering if they carry the brands I want...

flos ,
my maid usually sleep at 1030 or eleven .. she still have night shift to feed my zenneth ... keke .. not that we want her to sleep so late but sometimes she will be reading her bible ( she is very dedicated)for one hour or sometimes writing letters or sms ... her free time after 9pm .. so i dun bother what she does .. as long as she can still work the next day ... she wakes up at 6 am thou...

<font color="0077aa">l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum): That's something I didn't think of!! Hmm.. will rty it today &amp; hope that I will have my beauty sleep soon! LOL!

Smallberry is still drinking 80-90ml &amp; sometimes when my MIL bottle feed him, he drank only like 50ml but I latch him on again so really puzzled by how much he is drinking!

Sephora opening in S'pore? Wow.. so long never been to town..</font>

KymKym - nice talking to you. sorry, my little one was fussing as he poop and after the change, he just got edgy and cried non stop. Believe he was looking for my mum who had just gone to do some groceries shopping.
I spoke to hubby and he is not keen on sharing nanny nor IFC. He said at most he will look after. Thanks for the offer, although am just a stone's throw away from you. Am opposite the Caltex station.
FYI - my estate has someone who is also keen to look after babies, JoJo's cousin who is certified. You want i can pass you her contact as another option, but note she has a Pri 3/4 daughter to tend to as well.

SAHM - I've always dream of being one, but so far during my maternity leave, the chores, cooking, grocery shopping etc. I think i'd rather work. So kudos to Angeline and CY who had made the sacrifice. Plus i don't think i can stand taking money from hubby and tending to his needs.

Springz - i put mine in a cot next to me, so that am at arm's length. Only in the mornings, do i bring him to my bed to sleep with me. Its true he is more comfortable on our bed.

DISCIPLINE
Anyone ideas how to tackle crying baby who will stop when carried, then picks and chooses who he wants? He just kicks and turns while you are holding him and am just getting so irritated cause here you are trying to pacify him and there he is tossing and turning in your arms. My back hurts and my arms going to break liao.

ROUTINE
Nowadays, mine sleeps by 8pm, Dreamfeed at 12am or 1am and 3am. the up at 5 or 6am. Am trying to wean off the 3am feed. Anyone any tips? i need to do this before i go back to work in Jan.

Oh breadmum,

no problem, got a couple of mothers expressed interest already.. but i can only take in one other baby.. i do not wish to send baby to another person's house since i can't monitor the routines and i can't call the shots.. my current contact is also a friend's recommendation.. and i rather she does not have young children because they can be pretty rough or careless at times :p...speaking from experience la :p