(2008/09) Sep 2008

afternoon mumsies!!

catch a quick post while the children naps!

sri leo
congrats!!!!! so you working at that building beside biopolis now ah?which level?

think kriston is halal? no?

shazz
got it too!! thankie!!

hk
seems that most mummies' first trip overseas with bb/todd is always hongkong...hmmm

dispoasble pads vs towels
i used to use towels in the first fw months of my fb. then got too lazy coz towels soak through very easily i i can run like buckets of towels for laundry everyday...very chiong hei..

can you believe it, ive been using breastpads nearly everyday since 2006!!!! except for few months wheni was preggy and not nursing ...gosh...i should have some loyal patronage from those breastpad companies man!!

going overseas...
any mummies chancing downunder/nz or maldives next year?good for the bbs to be exposed to some nature..by then they will be old enough for sandplay!! and some waterplay!!! yipeeeee

Hi,Sasa

Join us for the gathering at Lot 1 lor... can take a cab there and then we can take a cab back together as i will be visiting my mum at westwood after the gathering.. how?

lilboymum
its halal!! hahahaha...

http://www.kriston.com/halal.htm

LC
Thks but i cant... nt halal.. heheeh...but nvm.. u galz go ahead... enjoy k... don 4get to take pics so i can take a look.. hehehe.. :D

am back online again after a short hiatus... Been busy at work and at home. no time to catch up on posts!

Brought Gabbie to see PD on thurs after work. the site of her BCG jab was swollen with pus. Thot it was a minor thing but I took her to PD anyway cos I had no cream for her to apply.
Luckily I went! When I took off the diaper for PD to see, the pus was dripping out and she rushed to get a cotton bud! Then when PD squeezed it, the pus was like the size of a small pea!
But that was just the prelude. PD proceeded to use a needle to make an opening and drained yet more pus! Poor gabbie =(
Apparently she's one of those who react to the BCG jab...

Big Toes
my attendance is confirmed.
Isabelle + Hubbs + 2 kids

West mummies
can;t join u gals cos I already have a gathering. In any case, I stay with in laws on weekends and am a NEL mummy then!
And am unfamiliar with CCK area. Guess I'm not so far flung west after all... More to south west. Furthest i have gone is IMM! Hee hee
U mummies have fun!

BB in carseat
When isabelle was 2 mths old, i just let her cry in the carseat from my place (Alexandra AYE) all the way to Potong Pasir! Din take her out though i was sitting behind with her. In laws kept saying to carry her for a while but I refused. She did that once and after that she stopped cos she knew it didn't work. I'm a real hard hearted mummy hor.

Poppy
I take care of my own baby at nite even when I work and have to crawl out of bed at 530am. If i can't manage occasionally then hubbs helps out. My rationale is that in the day other ppl help out with my kids, so the least I can do is to take care of them myself at nite. After all the kids r my responsibility and my mum and maid need to rest after helping me the whole day!
If I had to choose, i'd rather let my kid sleep with my mum or ILs rather than the maid cos I'd rather they get close to their own family than a maid who might go home anytime.
But i guess it's best you work out what's best for the situation u are in. Everyone's situtation is different and the bottomline is we have to be happy with the choice we have made and the consequences that follow.

Sri leo
glad u found a job!

bigtoes

ok..haha..count me in for the xmas gathering..i can make it on my own with bb...will leave my elder gal wif hb at home.. :p

mei

i tink for our normal fridge freezer is only 2mths...whereas for those deep freezer, is 6mths... i recently fed my gal those Frozen ebm..she dun like the taste i tink.keep giving a yucky look n make those vomitting sound...

hi mei,
where did you get the couscous nursing bib? the one i have from obuba is good but it's so thick. i feel so hot when i use it. i saw the one you have on facebook and i think it's so much lighter.

isabelle,
oh dear. how is little gabbie now?? is the wound there healing alright?? school has finally ended right? do you have to go back to sch often for cca/meetings/nonsense??

storeberry,
haiz, i find it difficult to tell my own mum to clean her hands properly too. repeat so many times but she also don't do it. then i even resorted to buying the dettol soap for her and placing it in her bathroom. not sure if she uses also. i can imagine when my brothers have wives, how their wives would complain about my mum - their MIL...

hi, abalone

Me also dun know how to tell my MIL to wash hand and not to carry baby after she is done with her cooking.. imagine I just bathed baby and then shortly she carried after she done with her dinner cooking. din put a piece of cloth or anything, just like that carry him.. I din say anything, very tired liao. said so much, she still the same.

I also dare not download too much to my hubby on how my in laws handle baby.. see him also stress at work already. I will just endure..

HAIR DROPPING - Any mummies dropping a lot of hair? any remedy?

BB WATCHING TV - Is it ok for baby to watch TV?

alabone
Wound looks better now, but i have to apply antibacterial cream on it now and i forgot to bring it over to my IL's place for the weekend. So now I keep checking to see if the diaper is clean or not.
Yes I still have to go back for the whole of next week!!!

Angeline Goh
I discussed with hubby, we decided to dispose of my frozen EBM if it's not utilised. The frozen EBM is for emergency purpose anyway.

Alabone
Yes, the coucous bib is definitely lighter & more airy for baby. Devon doesn't struggle when I nurse him with this bib & both of us feel much more comfortable & cooler. You can order from http://www.couscous.com.sg/order.html or http://www.thepinkcream.biz/couscous.htm

isabelle
Devon's bcg wound also had some pus coming out but my PD says it's ok. It's healing well now. Funny thing is his bcg is shot at the arm, not buttock.

MrsYap
I guessed so.. Melody's too right? I was so silly, the bump only appeared a month later, I thought Devon got stung by some insect or something. Felt so silly when my PD told me it's BCG.. lol.

Xmas Gathering
I was talking to my hubby just now concerning the Xmas gathering. He was ok with going, but had the same fear as me..Scared we dunno anyone there, then will be only the 2 of us talking to each other, as I have not met any of the mummies here yet, but most of you know one another already...Is there going to be an intro section? Hee, sounds like a funny question though, like the Primary 1 orientation I had with my 2009 P1 babies coming into my sch next year.. Dunno why got this feeling, like first day of school

Jas
don worry too much.. when i 1st time meeting the mummies, they were so friendly! u & Hb wont feel left out... we chit chat wit one another like we noe each other for yrs!

during the gathering @ Kitty's place, we paste a name/nick tag at our shirt so we noe each other easily..

No worries la..juz enjoy urself..hehehehe... ;)

<font color="0077aa">Jas: Don't worry too much! There is always a 1st time! Come &amp; join us!

Mrs Yap: How are you? Long time no see!</font>

<font color="ff0000">Sri Leo (sri_leo) – congrats on your new job! You are starting work already?

On Xmas gathering, yes – we can still slot in 2-3 more people. Don't worry, the food is halal – I will be ordering from: http://www.kriston.com/index.htm (Buffet Menu A - $25/head) – see their halal cert on the website!

So let me know if you wana attend as well! don’t worry if you don’t want to participate in the gift exchange.

Date: Sat, 13th Dec
Time: 5-8pm
Venue: Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy's place (Seng Kang, one LRT stop from Seng Kang MRT)

Jas(mobilesuitegal) – yes, don’t worry! The mommies are all very friendly and chatty – no problem making friends at the gathering! Think there are other mommies that are 1st timers as well.

Meanwhile, I already bought the name tags today so we can tag ourselves and our babies and everyone will know who is who!

Still to confirm are:
5) Cloud &amp; BB
7) Lanolin &amp; HB &amp; Declan
11) Millie (millie22) + baby + HB

Hubby has already done up a cute invite card, will post that up once everyone is confirmed!</font>

Hi hi, I just read this forum and realized that there are a few teachers here also. Just wondering if you know of the new circular that says our maternity leave MUST be taken as a block, meaning our nov &amp; dec holz are used up as maternity leave and we have to report in Jan? What is your school's stand on this? Any advice? thankz

Bigtoes
Thks dear! start work tis wed..
hehehe..
I wanna join! I luv to celebrate Xmas... gt xmas tree? :D btw hw cum dere 2 places? both neighbour? pardon me, longtime nvr catch wit u all so I'm abit blur..

Jas
I m a newbie here so I am excited to go to the Xmas gathering too. Think that after being a mum, I can now walk up to any mommy with baby and start chatting with them. Haha.

Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa
Finally got a chance to sneak out last night for a movie and par-tor with HB. The movie is so funny I laughed until stomach pain.
Highly recommended for stressed out mommies!

Bigtoes, so sorry for the late reply, been really busy with Kieran.. I won't be able to make it for the gathering..

first time mom: I have read the circular and it says that mothers are strongly encouraged to take the block of 4 months, even if it falls during holiday month. That is what I'm doing, I'm currently into my 4th month and will only report back to school on Dec 9. However, I think that it all depends on your P. If he/she is understanding, you might be able to take the 4th month separately. I believe that if I had returned to work on Nov 10 (after 3 months leave), I would have been able to use my 4th month leave in January (that is what my colleague is doing).

Dear cloud, thks for the advice, but i only delivered in sept and by right shd have last two months of my maternity leave in jan and feb. but now gotta report in Jan instead, it's almost two months difference.

sri leo
no lah, im in the loafer's club (SAHM)...but i used to work around that area the first five years of my work life...check out Holland V for lunch...miss those lunch hours!!!

isabelle
hope gabbie is alright!! how did she take to the doc's poking??? must be traumatising...

mrs yap, mei
NUH you have to choose where you wanna BCG to be, on the arm or buttock. buttock higher chance of infection coz of fecal material lah...but arm not nice on girls..my girl on buttock, son on arm...

tv watching
eih someone's asking.think it's ok lah...

pros
tv watching is high speed information transimission. children learn very fast when watching educational programme (eg bb can read )coz it targets those right brain...(fast speed infmtn)

cons (okok,,,this is what i read from research ok..)
1. tv is also known as cold medium. it does not allow a child to imagine and leave the child 'cold' as all his senses are engaged by the tv (unlike reading where you have to create your own 'scenes', tv watching does not allow that...
2. research has shown it affects a child's attention span
3. reseach has also shown it affects a child's eye sight (especially in the early years)
4. in the long run, a child brought up with tv may not enjoy books as much as books are more boring...

heee...you can see my take on tv watching from the above...

ALL TEACHER-MUMMIES
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I sent an email to an MOE personnel 2 weeks ago to ask if the 4th month can be taken sepaprately like the 3rd month, and she said yes, but still subject to the school's discretion. I am already back @ work last week, and the next few weeks of SEM and department meetings...my 4th month is still pending.

Qiuling, I saw tt u are going to take NPL right? I am still under bond, and only 1st year after graduation, although I've taught as contract teacher for 2 years. How many years have u been in service? I am seriously considering taking NPL and being SAHM since my mother (cos of work) and ILs are not able to care for the baby, and I don't trust maids.

XMAS GATHERING
Thanks mummies for all ur assurance!!
Me definitely turning up to meeting u all! I showed my hubby the postings u left, and he felt enthusiatic too
So I guess we'll all see one another @ Limay's place. HO HO HO!

Sri_Leo
Will you be coming for the gathering? Do come and enjoy the festive celebration with us, we would love to have u and BB around

Mei &amp; Angeline - update on the nail cutting today. Lo and behold, my boys left hand's forefinger was clipped and started bleeding profusely. He wailed and when i saw blood, i cried too. Hubby and i panicked and hubby blamed me for asking him to clip the nails.

I frantically started getting antiseptic wipes and dettol cream to tend to the wound. Then i put a plaster over his little finger and cling wraped his hand before he had his bathe.

After bathing, we removed the plaster and it was still bleeding, so hubby was so upset and that made me felt worse. We both are feeling so bad so i ended up cuddling baby the whole day until now, just to make up for the pain i caused.

I hope tomorrow when i clean his wound he will be ok. I left the wound open and put on his mittens, in case of further mishaps.

Sigh. think this is the first and last time for a long time before we cut his nails again.

Anyone knows if i should send baby to see a PD and how long will th cut heal?

Cloud
For me, I will start a brand new year fresh, cos can control the class more easily this way. I will probably leave the 4th month to be taken before the june hols and after ther june hols. So long does not affect exam periods, and can take within 12 months of baby's birth, should be fine i guess.

u baby gt suck his/her fingers? my dear baby been sucking her mittens..izzit better to let her use mitten or w/o? her mitten all wet wit her saliva.. LOL!

Sri leo - mine sucks mittens then wipe the wet mittens all over his eyes. sigh. i dont know how to stop him as he does it very often.

Am afraid rashes will appear near his eyes as i can see some small red dots.

jas
are you a scholar? if you are, might ahve more constraints...a friend of mine was under bond when she took NPL to join her hb in US for a few years. for every year of NPL she takes, she has to add on to her bond. she served 2 years of 5 years of bond, and then added another 3 years to it when she came back...

breadmum
dun feel guilty, its very common. your bb wont rem it
just make sure it doesnt get infected can liaoz...

Sri Leo
My gal salivates too! I think she is teething, cos near to 3 months now. PD says its safe, so i don't really bother much. I think at this time, u can take out her mittens. Babies love to have their fingers touching and feeling things around them.

Lilboymum
Nope, definitely not a scholar! Hee, not so smart, just uni grad, completed PGDE. So under 3 years bond, but now still finishing probation. Since 3 months already gone on ML, so have to clear probation within next 6 months. What u mean "she served 2 years of 5 years of bond, and then added another 3 years to it when she came back"? Tot it's known that if u defer / under NPL, have toi return to fulfill the bond? Or she came back and completed (5-2)yrs+3yrs=6yrs?

Jas
i oso tink teething..but my muz said no.. 2mths plus nt yet...hmmm... I wld luv to take out her mittens...but she luv to rub/poke her eyes!! den ltr she'll cry...sigh..........

Wow.. Bigtoes,
got slot for the x'mas party ah.. hehehe.. wish i can join too.. got to check with my colleague about the schedule for dec...
sign.. going back to work already.. ahhhh... really dun feel like going back.. since now market is really bad.. car sales are down too.. go back also dun know will have sales or not..

For mummies in teaching line..
Think it is really not easy to work as teacher now.. see wat all of u written here.. like poor Qiuling.. see wat she suffered.. after all the good intention..Qiuling, think u just resign.. go join ur hb to China next year lah..

lilboymom: e thing abt ur friend serving so many years extra is sOoO SCARY!

Jas/Cloud: i have only cleared two months of my, by right the other two to be cleared next yr but cuz of new rule, the last 8 wks gonna be gone as sch holz. called HQ but they direct to principals. so now making appeal but seems rule hard to bend. sigh... any positive e.g. for me to bring up?

Springz
HK - I think i have been to Fa Yuen St (after you post the map and pic..thanks) and bought couple of those factory outlet rompers before I was in pregger...years back! Cos someone then told me buying rompers will bring bb luck!! hee...

Flos,
Thanks for the HK shopping tips..i will definitely visit Harbour City and of coz Esprit outlet..

Mrs Yap,
NUH - they give a choice of where you want the BCG to be..i chose arm cos PD says less likely to get infected..whereas backside, sometimes poo/pee might cause it to be infected easier.

Isabelle,
Next Westerner gathering, we can have it more central west..
Holland V??
My in-laws stays in CCK, so I can deposit my bb (if not bringing to the gathering) and hubby there next week!

Flight taking off
How to prevent bb from getting their ears blocked? Feed milk? Suckle? Pacifier? Will they be frightened when plane is taking off?

08First_time_mum
You mean to say that now u are not teaching all the way to Jan? I am due to go back even for the next 2 weeks of the Nov hols! If the school is NOT going to give me my leave, I sure will appeal!

<font color="0000ff">Sri Leo
My little one loves to suck his fists too.. till the whole mouth so wet. oh yah.. he often blows bubbles too.. so I guess it's normal

Watching movie
Oh.. Max is staying with my mum this weekend so hb n i finally had some time off to do our personal stuff and go watch a movie. but lo and behold.. I slept thru the end of the show. Watched Quantum of Solace. Wonder if it's becoz the show was boring.. hhhmm... or I prob was too shagged!!!

LC
will let u noe again if i'm going to the gathering k

HAIR DROPPING

LC, haha..me dreading it man..last time i really drop alot n for a long time..tink nothing do will help..it will stop on its own...

Jas

i oso 1st time meeting them..hehe

breadmum

dun be upset..they will get well v fast...carine always scratch her face n then got marks but after a few hrs,u cant see anything liao...
my hb always say i cut too near to the flash..

sri

haha..mine oso these few days starts to suck her mittens..end up always wet wet n got smell...really hope she doesnt got the habit to suck fingers man..sometimes,got saliva drooling out from her mouth..like she playing like tt..