(2008/09) Sep 2008

Breadmum,
cut nails when baby is asleep.. then u won't feel so gan-cheong.. actually even if baby wakes it's ok.. just make sure u hold onto his hand.. baby is not likely to make sudden jerking movements, so won't get cut. don't worry.. u can cut a few at a time.. stop when baby wakes.. then next sleeping session, cut the rest.

Hi Quiling.. haha i told my hubby i got boliao news to tell him n told him abt the zoo incident... his reaction was "That will make headline news!!"

more on the tiger saga.. ST interactive report now seems to cast doubt on the cleaner's behaviour.. "A CLEANER, who climbed into the enclosure of three Sumatran white tigers on Thursday was set upon and mauled to death... An Australian couple, who did not want to be named, said that they heard a splash and saw the worker making his way across the 10 metre-wide moat at 12.15pm. At the other side, he looked as if he wanted the tiger 'to check him out,' they told The Straits Times. Waving a broom and pail, he approached the big cats, each weighing over 100 kg"

Mummies - me just came back from sun tec.. bought a strapless nursing bra n a maxi dress
PM me if interested to know shop name for the bra.. I personally had a hard time searching for a strapless one.. quite pleased now hee though baby was grumpy faced!!!

Flos: which Honda did you get in the end? I rem you were on a car hunt then. totally forgot to ask what you got. we're still contemplating changing our car cos it'll turn 5 years old next march.
considering the stream RDZ/odyssey and the 523.

Springz: please tell me that the bra is not from Perfect Mum! I got conned into buying the package and conned into believing that maternity bras and nursing bras does not come in various cup sizes! They DO!! Just that their shop don't sell them! And they bluff me, told me sure can fit, their bras will grow to fit your growing cup, blah blah blah .... my foot! I wore them for a few weeks and my nipple was out of the cup that will "grow"! *grrrrhhhh*

More about MIL: she called me just now, to tell me about my boy. My boy has been acting up and refusing to drink milk, then guess what she did to make him drink? She put her finger into his mouth and he sucked happily, so she quickly stuff the teat into his mouth! Gosh! then she quickly add that the next time, she washed her hand and did the same thing and my boy drank his milk. She was so proud of that! *faint* when I got home after work, I fed him, and he drank, no problem at all, that's before I learnt what she did! sigh .... the other day, I caught her making milk by using her finger as a stopper on the teat! wau lau! I told her nicely, cover first then swirl the bottle around, dun use finger. *smack forehead* duh ... why bother to sterilise the teats and bottle if we gonna put finger on the teat right? unless we sterilise her finger too! *evil grin*

shazz,
Not to add oil to the fire..if my MIL does that, i will be v v furious! Gosh..are her fingers clean?

Flos & Springz
Thanks for the HK bb shopping tips! Springz, pls do check with yr HB on the bb clothings shops/streets..would be most useful..

bacon&egg: sigh, I just need to close both eyes since I'm dependent on them to take care of my boy. just need to pray they're clean!

breadmum

i will normally get my hb to feed carine milk while i cut coz she will be concentrating on drinking n less fidgeting..

POO strike

cham..carine today is the 3rd day at least nv poo liao..i oso lost track when her last poo...getting worried coz it seems her tummy is abit bloated n got lots of air inside..when she drink her milk,will twist n jerk etc n will fart alot...oso,her milk intake is afected...wonder how to make her poo..haiz..thot bb on FM will have this problem...

Springz: tat means the worker was purposely want to court for his death is it? doesn't it become like commit suicide?

Gosh, so did he really jump into the tiger enclosure? if yes, then what i told my fren this afternn is true le. People cannot jump into mrt track to commit suicide so now choose to jump into tiger enclosure? what a way...

but everything still too early to say...

Bigtoes: I checked with my hubs over breakfast this morning re the gathering. He doesn't seem to be interested at all! As such, it's only fair I release my slot to other mommies on the waitlist! Thanks for organising

Shazz: I was to buy my sis' Stream before she migrated to Texas in Aug, but becos we found that the aircon is not very cool at the third row, we decided to buy the good ol' 1.8 Civic instead. Remember I mentioned I hvn't been driving for eons? I probably can only manoveure a sedan:p

using her finger as stopper? That's so 'old school'!! kekeke!!

BReadmum: yes, cut with the roundtip Pigeon nail scissors when bb's asleep...

Singapore Zoo should place these 3 white tigers at the Night Safari to boost admission sales. isn't it thrilling to ride on open trams to meet face2face with these ready-to-pounce-on-you beasts? LOL

bacon&egg - when u going HK? with ur baby? i am going early dec with my hubby only, also looking for places that sell baby stuff. c whether can find some nice and unique items. where are the recommended places to go for bb stuffs?

angeline - do you give u baby gripe water? cos i noticed that when i started giving my girl gripe water, her bowels and appetite are much more regular. HTH.

MILs.. sigh.. dont we "love" them???
I'm really glad I dont stay with ILs..
as it is, seeing them over the weekend can create friction liao.. much less seeing them everyday.

Just 3wks back, my MIL cheonged into the room while I was just pulling up my tshirt and bra to feed my boy. I expected her to apologize and leave the room first. But she didnt lor. She stood there and chitchat and the best part? she commented on my stretchmarks "WA, 你还有很多stretchmarks hor?" $%&#$@!!!!

And she has all these warped old wives theory which she repeats EVERY single weekend. And she also repeats the SAME story abt her 2 sons EVERY single weekend.. *yawns* *boring*

And she bot a potty to potty train my son at 2months!!! I know its do-able but........

And she keeps calling my boy 笨蛋 becos she believes that babies will be petty.. cannot praise!!!!

And she likes to use our boy to hint us.. Eg, "u poor thing, ur mummy doesnt want to give u water"
"Ur mummy says cannot carry u" etc.. pek chek!!!

And she wants us to use cotton bud to "stimulate" boy to shit... This is enough to stop me from letting them care for him even for 2hrs lor.

How to stay tog like that?
But my HB thinks I'm a good actress. I can always keep a straight/smiley face whenever she comes up with all these nonsense. I've found the best way to ignore her nowadays. I just pretend I'm engrossed in watching tv/reading newspapers. hahaha..

Hi mothers!
I delivered my baby girl in Sep and have been reading your posts. I have a problem with my supply of breast milk so like to ask if anyone can advise how to increase my milk supply. I read that some of your babies are drinking abt 100ml of EBM each feed.

I've tried to pump out my milk to see how much I can derive and i get only abt 20-30 ml from each breast. My baby girl needs abt 70-80ml (I feed her with 70ml EBM on bottle, she is satisfied for each feed (every 1.5-2hrly), hence I gather that she doesn't have enough when she suckles directly. When I latches her on, she suckles for abt half hr on each breast but is always not satisfied after each feed. Either she asks for milk again in less than an hr, or demand more milk and I end up giving her some some formula.

Please kindly help me!

Morning ladies... anyone going for the Motherhood Fair at United Square, do give a review.. I stay nearby so thinking of going in the afternoon but want to know whether its worth going.

Crayon: """ I'm really glad I dont stay with ILs.. as it is, seeing them over the weekend can create friction liao.. much less seeing them everyday. """

You got it man...!!! ..... I stay with them everyday sia....... I am counting down to the days We are gonna move!!!

cloud,
since you stay nearby, can help me, the Extreme Ultra Super West mommy to see see what the Fair has? haha. Cos i need to beat the PIE traffic to come to United Sq, hoho.

Crayon,
I dun understand a single of the dialect my in laws speak so i'm a deaf n mute at in laws' place. So its a good way to act blur? hehe.

Klara,
Welcome here!

Klara,
there are ways to increase BM. Just rem,
Demand = Supply

1. Can try to drink more fluid, green papaya with fish soup, Milo, or herb call Fenugreek which can be bought from GNC.

2. After BF, you settle your BB down 1st then you continue to pump for abt 15mins. This will tell your body that your BB still want more milk.

Actually when your BB latch on, she can drink much more than you pump out. Cos BB can suck out more hind milk than you pump. A machine can only do that far but having your BB suck out, she can drink more.

You can ask any mommy here, when you experience engorement, just let your BB latch on, after she's satisfied, she'll unlatch herself and immdeiately, you'll feel your breast very soft and tender. Sometimes after you pump, you still feel your breast certain spot lumpy.

For frequent nursing, it could be due to her growth spurts. How old is she now? 6weeks old now? Could be due to growth spurts. During this time, her stomach is expanding and thus need more milk. Also could be our BM is easily digested, tat's why she feels hungry very soon but it's normal. After 3mths old, her stomach size will become stable and wun need so much BM in a sudden.

You can also read up more from these webbies:
1. http://www.askdrsears.com/
2. http://www.kellymom.com/
3. http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/

Mandy, I'm also waiting to see whether anyone else is going and whether they think that its worth making a trip there. I can only go in the afternoon when my mum comes over to take care of Kieran.

crayonshinchan (crayonshinchan): u never fail to make me laugh!
hehe ... you're darn good manz, I can't keep a straight face one, I'm the type who shows my emotions like an open book. I need to learn from you how to act blur manx! gosh, your MIL calling Reyes 笨蛋 is unforgiveable! *bish* I also can't stand it when MIL make use of my son to suan me, with sentences like what your MIL said. Got guts tell us in the face lah, no need to tell our sons, your mummy say cannot feed you, cannot carry you to sleep, cannot feed water, cannot bring you downstairs! your MIL and mine can be good frens or they probably went to same school, only how to say such things!
1880558.gif

Klara: have you tried taking fenugreek? It helped some mummies here to increase their milk supply. Pumping and latching is kinda different. Babies can somehow empty the breast better than pumps, so pumping is not a good guage of how much milk you have. By right, if you latch very often and you girl suckles for at least half hour on each breast, it should stimulate more supply and increase your milk supply.

cloud: I may go to the Motherhood Fair in the afternoon if it doesn't rain. Will bring either my MIM sling or Ergo carrier, can let you try to see if you like it.

morning mummies!! had a horrid nite.. no not thinking abt white tigers but Shauna was fussy whole nite.. towards dawn found out the reason - all thanks to yours truly who thot it was gonna storm, I donned her in long sleeved, long pants romper, the mothercare pretty thick kind. She wasn't sweating but the min I changed her out she was fine!

oh i forgot to add that las night I bought various baby learning DVDs.. was not sure which 'brand' good.. we can check it out at the gathering ya.. will project on wall so all can watch.. not sure if it still works for babies when it is that big though.. mummies who are coming pl feel free to bring yours, we can all compare 2gether
Oh I also have some Glenn Doman flashcards (someone gave me) not sure how to use though!

Shazz - Yes!! It is Perfect Mum!! Oh no.. I did find them sweet talkers.. thank God I only bought 1. And coz it is after birth I think should be ok right? I tried 2 sizes and bought the smaller strapless one... hopefully it is ok... btw your MIL and finger-stopping habits.. *speechless*

Klara - welcome! how often do you pump? My baby drinks every 4 hrs but I pump every 2-3 hrs so that the supply will be there. With constant pumping MS will increase. Latching once in a while helps increase too. However, when you pump less, it will drop.. sends signal that don't need to produce so much. So now, each pump I get av. 110 (15min) but if I endure and pump for 30min I can get abt 150... try pumping more ya? Initially it won't seem to help, but body reacts about 3-4 days after... heard fenugeek helps.. I have an extra bottle can sell to you if interested... oh green papaya soup with fish bones also pretty effective..

crayon - we can set up acting sch!! I also keep straight face and on phone is 'ah ah, ya ya'. My MIL calls Shauna 'Chow Babi'.. sigh..

Btw Mandy - the reports on the tiger incident are inconsistent.. CNA's say all 3 pounced on him, ST said the 3rd stayed out of frenzy.. ST front portion said 'fell in' then middle portion said 'jumped in'... ??????

Rompers on older babies.. hee got my fren's permission to post her 1yo son's pics for you to see if cute or not... for me.. it still works!!

1880613.jpg

Cloud and Shazz,
actually i wanted to go also but the moment I think of driving there alone with Ryan make me shiver haha.
Unless no jam,if not I really dun dare to drive thro the PIE (well known for accidents and jams). Plus Ryan will cry if the car stopped. So i feel like i'm the Sandra Bullock in the movir Speed 1. Must keep the bus moving if not the bus will explode, wahaha.

BM STORAGE
I try to pump after finishing a latching session with baby & normally I'm able to express out another 30 to 50ml. Can I combine the EBM from various sessions into one bottle? I have bottles & bottles of EBM in my fridge & it's taking up space.

<font color="0000ff">Mandy
tell me about it. Really horrible staying at the extreme west of SG rite.. only can cheong sales in Jurong.. sighz.. I wanna go Motherhood sale too.. but too far

Storeberry
oops.. haha, i juz ordered 3 shorts rompers in the BP leh.. cheap cheap
gosh. i'm into shopping mood these few weeks. been buying so many clothes for Max. Am looking for wat to dress him up for CNY too haha...

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1877372.html?1226633827</font>

Hi Mei - Yup I surfed on this issue before and various websites diff ans.. My sis and I mix and so far all 4 babies are ok. To be on the safe side, mix same temp ones.. i.e. chilled into chilled.. may not be good to mix fresh warmly pumped ones into chilled.. but I dun care I do it anyway and baby is ok.. hee...

Mandy
I know how you feel! I feel the same way too... I drive from Bukit Timah to my mum's place in the east from Mondays to Fridays &amp; I'm always super gancheong throughout the journey as I'm afraid baby will scream. He normally wakes up &amp; cry when we stop at the traffic light!

Klara's mummy.. drinks lots of fluid, latch latch and latch, squeeze in pumping in between latching..take fenugreek if still insufficient.. be patient for the milk to kick in...

haha.. kym, when's ur flat ready?

Mandy, how I wish my MIL doesnt speak my language. haaa... and Reyes starts bawling when the car stops also.. next time I wonder what'll happen when we get stuck in traffic jam!

Shazz, ya lar.. i've oredi told hb if she calls him tat again, he has to stand up for our boy and ask her to stop it!! muahaha.. ya man!! maybe they come from the same school.. Everytime she sprouts nonsense, I'll look at my hb and ROLL my eyes nonstop!

Springz, the boy is so cute!!!

Meie, last time I called tmc hotline, they told me not to mix in.. due to difference in temperature..mayb u can go and get the milk bags? they take up less space.. and ya.. I went to order a nursing cover from couscous.. and I'm loving it!!! the first one I got did not have a "stiff" neckline.. hence my difficulty in feeding.. now its a breeze ;-)

<font color="0077aa">Thanks alabone! That is a life-saver! Keke! I just finish fixing the car seat, the seat belt is abit short but I tilt the car seat abit so that it can go round it. Looks quite stable now but don't know whether Zane fat legs will be stuck? :p

Shazz: i think its hard for us to demand that they have to wash their hands with dettol soaps &amp; washed hands when preparing milk. My MIL don't do that &amp; I told her before must wash hands with soap when going to toilet &amp; preparing baby's stuff. But guess during their time they don't have handwash so they are not too concern with hygiene. Haiz.. Really have to pray for GOD's protection to be upon baby! But when my maid comes, I am going to write in black &amp; white &amp; make her remember to wash hands with soap cos Indon wash their backside with their hands right? Eeeks!

Crayon: Yah man, you are always dar* funny! I guess sometimes we have to act blur abit. Haiz, with MIL its a love-hate r'ship!</font>

shazz/crayon
looks like MIL using bb to suan DIL is a universal trait1
mine will talk to my bb when i am trying to feed FB breakfast and get him ready for school. she will say things like " oh u poor thing no one pays any attention to u har? everyone is so busy with their own things... ah? mummy left u hear by yourself ah?" DUH.

mei/mandy
haha! ya all the mummies who have to drive their bbs are like sooo tense! whenever i drive Jonathan out i have to time it after feeding so best chanc of falling asleep. then if he is awake keep inching the car forward at red lights to continue with the "moving" feeling...so dangerous1

just got back from NTUC and for once am filled with warm fuzzy feelings for Singaporeans who help the poor mummy with groceries and sleeping bb in carrier- the cashier helped me load my bags and this woman even got out of her car to help me return my trolley...ok so maybe she wanted my PRIME carpark lot... but still... hehe

greetings mummies,

I am also having challenges with my in-laws as they just come to my place without calling etc since they have keys to my place..i am like a prisoner trapped at home. I was also fedup with my mil. she says if we ask her to look after bb at nite, she will make sure she feeds plain water if bb cry (no milk). This will stop bb from waking up at night..she says that this is how she bring up her children.

anyone heard of this theory? told hb that i do not want her to look after incase bb get starved.

also they will threaten us to get external help whenever they are not happy with our comments...

dseptkon! I do the opposite.. I start slowing down very far from the traffic light to extend the motion haha..

so there is hope for Singaporeans!

i must learn from you mummies to show a smiling face and ignore all comments as i will just shoot her off..not sure if she is aiming at me, she always talk to bb 'aiyo, why you so fierce'.

<font color="0077aa">Mandy &amp; Mei: My house to my mum's pl or town is all expressway! So if I were to drive Zane out, I will be super kan cheong when he cries too! Cos no way to stop! Haha!

Mei: Usually I mix like what Springz says, chilled with chilled, &amp; freshly pump one mix together.</font>

qiuling
been meaning to post but simply havent had the chance. think that for ranking, if we are away on maternity or PDL, we get a technical C. from the amount of effort u put in for the months u were around, dont think u shd accept the D. write in and appeal. they need a case file on u and need to show that u have been forewarned of the D rankng n did nothing to remedy performance to merit the D.(sorry typig w 1 finger and latching

Am home today,clearing leave...! So nice to be able to cuddle my cuties in the daytime! even if they are pooping machines!

Using babies to 'suan'
Hhaha...my MIL doesn't do this, but sometimes I do it to let my maid know how I feel without being too direct! Gawddd. hope I don't become one of those MILs using babies to suan DIL in future!

dseptkon: Ya me too! i stop behind the car far away from me when the traffic light turn red, Whenever he stir, i'll inch firward bit by bit to let him feel the car is still moving.

Ryan also wakes up when the car is not moving or stop at traffic lights! Very tense to drive him out.

Using babies to 'suan':
my mum does that to me almost all the time too! in a way, finding things to talk to baby, and i also suan my mum back using my dd. eg,'wah, now ah ma turn dun wan you liao hor... cry so long nobody come ar. aiyo, ke lian ar, mummy lai le lor~!'

actually find it good to use baby to suan back. sometimes u dun like wad ur mil do to baby or feed baby, can use the same method too! like when ur mil feeding baby water which u dun like, then u are beside them, just say 'aiyo, why ah ma give u drink so much water. dun drink so much water la. not good ok? enough liao hor, later mummy give u yummy milk. now you drink so much water liao later cannot finish ur milk milk leh. cannot finish mummy will spank you one ar!'

Just an example of wad i would say lo. cos i not much conflict with mil, and my mum and me suan each other using baby all the time so its quite like a game, criticise each other using baby! lol!

Thank you all so much for the advice
Will be patient and continue to latch and pump more...
My baby is 2mths this week...
I latch her on every 1 hr-1.5hrs or whenever she demands it coz she is like always hungry for milk...
For pumping, I try to pump after nursing her ... but still no increase in my supply...
Maybe i shld try fenugreek...

Mei:
LIke what crayonshinchan has mentioned...think not advisable to combine...

one silly question... do u all pump both breasts at a time or individually? During nursing or when pumping one side of my breast, the other breast will leak milk if the former is having a letdown... does it happen to u all. i find it a waste lei...but can't find a device to collect the leaking milk...any suggestions?

<font color="119911">breadmum (breadmum) – get hubby to cut the nails when you are BFing baby? Or when he is asleep? I find that the best time for Kieran is when he is suckling, cos he is oblivious of everything else – I also clean his ears when he is BFing.

Klara's mummy (xianee) – on milk supply, some of us are taking Fenugreek pills. Not sure if it actually helps, or if it is psychological, but I have been taking about 2-4 per day since delivery. My milk supply is pretty decent – I think Kieran gets about 900ml-1 liter per day (he weighs 6.2kg) from latching during the day and EBM at night, and he is on total BM.
Meanwhile, I have been drinking barley water the last 2 days for my sore throat as well, and reckon it helps with milk supply (get engorged and leak within 2 hours), so you might want to try.
Like Mandy (forrestgump4) mentioned, you also have to stimulate supply – I make it a habit to wake up to express 2X a night (at 3-4 hour intervals and I yield a total of about 300-360ml on average in two 5 minute pumping sessions), even though Kieran sometimes sleep right through to 6+am.

dseptkon (dseptkon) – wow, there are kind and helpful Sporeans around!Hurrah!!

<font color="ff0000">Xmas Gathering:
Autum (autum) &amp; Flos (flos) – OKIE, NOTED THAT YOU BOTH ARE NOT ATTENDING THE XMAS GATHERING ANYMORE!

alabone (alabone) and Jaymickey (jaymickey) - I added your names in. Let me know if you gals are still keen? Other mommies who have not confirmed, please also do so, thanks!

TO CONFIRM ARE:
5). Cloud &amp; BB
6) Isa_belle, Hubbs &amp; 2 kids
7) Lanolin &amp; HB &amp; Declan
8) alabone (alabone) + HB + 2 kids + BB??
10) Jaymickey (jaymickey) + HB + BB??
11) Millie (millie22) + baby + ??
18) Angeline Goh + BB</font>

Klara: hoho, you are not alone. here's what i did in the past. U can decide what you wanna do, hehe.

1. use baby food containers trying to capture the leaking milk. but everytime my BB will yank his legs after he unlatch. so there are countless times he's kicked those BM away and i often got to clean up the mess....

2. use a pump to pump the other side while nursing. well, maybe he's disturb by the pumping sound and he still kick the bottle away, haha.

3. tis is the best solution for me so far. get those cheapo face towels n press against the other leaking breast. after applying some pressure on it, it will auto not leak. then after nursing, will use dual pump to pump both sides.

Bigtoes:

Wow! I am very motivated by what u say... for me, at nites, I wake up 2 times to nurse my baby + pump after that but i only yield abt 40ml, even when my breasts feel hard.

okie.. i think i have to buy Fenugreek... have to try all ways to up the supply...haiz very desperate. haha.. my baby weighs 3.2kg++ at her last chk up when she was 5wks ols...now shld be close to 4kg

have a question reg bb's weight here..
do you guys refer to the growth chart concerning bb's weight?

ch was 4.2kg at 6 weeks and i thought that was pretty miserble until the doc told me with raised eyebrows that that is 75th - 90th percentile liaoz (she was born 2.68kg at 30th percentile)...

can i check what';s you bb;s weight at 6weeks or maybe 4 weeks? are our growth charts the same? (i know the developmental charts/checklists) are different for different hospitals)...

dseptkon, qiuling
i rem a friend of mine wasnt warned of the D grade and in fact wasnt told she got a D even until the next march when she realise she didnt get the performance bonus and ask the P about it...the P just blurted " o really, tha;s coz you got a D"

my friend didnt complain and left hte service. she is in japan now, teaching and is very happy...

i dun wanna add this. but when she was in tehs school, she was badly bullied by the HOD and VP...she prayed about the whole injustice of it all though, but God assured her He is in charge..

when she was in japan, she heard from her former olleague that due to complaints by parents, the HOD (who was responsible for the D grade) received a warning (for other matters as well) and his promotion/training to VPship was frozen.

the VP who backed the HOD faced other predicaments too morbid to be told here...

<font color="119911">Klara's mummy (xianee) - which pump are you using? Its not a dual pump? I also leak when BFing, but usually just stuff a tissue to soak up the leak.

I think if you can get 40ml after nursing, that is pretty good.
You need to shift the pump when you are pumping to get the right suction and massage abit - the boobs shouldn't feel hard if you/baby have cleared it.

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum) - i was just wondering today if Kieran is gaining too much weight! I have been weighing him every Friday and discovered that he is 6.2kg today! He puts on an average 300gm per week.
Weight at birth - 2.97kg, 4 weeks - 4kg, 6 wks - 4.9kg, now (11wks) - 6.2kg.</font>

"MOTHERHOOD FAIR SUCKS, KENNA CONNED" according to my hubs who went there hoping to buy cartons of Pampers again! Only have those 'boring' educational booths! Maybe u moms might like?