(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="0077aa">Lilyboymum &amp; Ava: Ok got it! Hope I can fix that up! Aiyoo.. Why Toyota seat belt so short?

Ordered the leg warmers but the organiser sent me two wrong colors! One is a pink one!

Travel with BB
Jetstar charges $50 per trip for infant. No charge for seat as infant does not require a seat. Does that means bb has to seat on my lap or in my arms with me on seat belt as the plane takes off? Bassinet - am sure there is one near/or in the toilet?

HK
Intend to use stroller and bb bjorn..stroller for shopping mall and restaurant. Bjorn for walking... should be ok rite? Anyone who has been to HK with infant can share?

I have some silly/bo liao questions:

1) Do you mommies throw dirtied diaper everytime or accumulate them (throw in a dustbin with plastic bag) and throw them only at the end of the day?

2) Rompers - For 9 mths and onwards bb, do they still wear rompers? Will look too kiddish?

<font color="0077aa">Yan: its the pink one with strawberries beside L41 without any code. I ordered L41 &amp; L47, but now L47 no stock so I gotta accept the wrong one.

Bacon&amp;egg: I accumulate the dirty diapers &amp; throw away end of the day. My nephew still wear rompers when he is 9 mths old. Still cute!</font>

Goldfish (goldfish1395): Ergo was designed by parents and supposed to be able to strap on, put baby in and out single-handledly. So far, I have no problem putting it on an putting baby in and out by myself. When I tried to help my FIL with it, it kinda backfire, and we concluded that it's easier to put it on yourself. The carrier comes with a booklet and DVD with instructions on how to put it on, so it's very easy. By the way, can u PM me your address so I can mail you your Desitin cream?

Sasa, storeberry, Rabbit: seems like it's pretty common for them to reject milk now. I also dunno what stage they're going thru, but I find it funny how the babies born around the same period, can "pak kak" and reject milk! haha

But the good thing is, despite him drinking lesser, he's still sleeping thru the night! Perhaps it's because of the cool weather, so he prefers to sleep rather than drink. But I'm darn surprised that 80ml at 1am can last him till 830am the next morning!

Dreams: haha, I also woke up with a jerk and shock before, because I thought I was carrying baby and I dropped him! When I woke up, I was holding my bolster! haha ... the same way I hold Eamon! What a typical nightmare for mommies!

Bigtoes: Eamon was like Kieran, cry till the house come down when he's hungry and the type who can't wait for his milk to be prepared type! Dunno what caused the change.

Springz (springz) : Eamon is just like Shauna! When he don't want to drink milk, he would smile at me sweetly! just like when we put him in his cot and he don't wanna sleep, he would smile sweetly at us too, hoping to get out of it!

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg): the rubbish chute is outside my place, in the common corridor. So we usually accumulate the soiled diapers and throw at one go, but if he poos, then we'll throw immediately cos i can't stand the smell of his poo! very smelly! haha

<font color="0077aa">Yan, is this one, I miss out the model, its L40

1878043.jpg

Sure! So when we meet next sat then exchange? Then I will let the organiser know.

I took a photo of Zane in his new leggings!</font>
1878044.jpg

storeberry, yup. change the leggings when we meet up.

I also tried the leggings on my dd but she cannot wear!! only the thigh part is ok, her legs not enough meat to fill the legging!
btw, is the top part meant to be v tight?

<font color="0077aa">Ok, I inform the organiser alr. Top part not very tight still ok but its very looong! Mine still ok cos Zane has chubby thighs!</font>

agree, the leggings very long! anyway Zane looks cute wearing it. his chubby thighs can catch and hold onto leggings when pushed up to his length. ytd i tried, but my dd legs too skinny to hold onto the legging. end up the bottom part keep drooping down. lol!

Zane looks so cute in the leggings! I recieved mine, but didnt really check if they're correct! I better do it when I get home.

I need to rant about MIL! She's slowly turning my kitchen into hers! I have a electric airpot for boiling and storing water and a glass flask to contain cool boiled water. Last week, she started using my Scanpan saucepan to boil water and cool it as drinking water! She said my FIL drinks alot so she needs to boil. I was like, just press from the airpot into the glass flask lor. Then she said my flask too small, not enough! Can replenish right? Then this week, she bought a big pot from IKEA for me! I was like, my kitchen is so small and I don't have enough storage space and she still buy me a big pot, saying I don't have a pot of this size! Harlow! I didn't get a pot of this size cos I don't need it and I don't have the space for it! Then today, she turned up at my place with a kettle, those you use on the stove! Wau lau! My kitchen is so tiny and I don't have storage space liao and she keeps buying things for me! Wau pian! Not that I need all these, hope I don't get billed for them, cos rem, she keeps a black book to record everything she buys for us!

Then, I did the laundry last night for the white clothes and she cleared them this morning when it's still not dry! And she mixed my other laundry and washed them! I was like err ... paisei u do for me, next time I do myself lah. Cos I usually do my laundry at night, after we've changed our work clothes showered and all. Sigh ... and she put in so little clothes to wash, and she dunno how to use my machine, sigh ... waste so much water and electricity! I usually wait for a full load to wash.

sorry for long rant and if I sound unappreciative of MIL

Dummies/Pacifiers
Hi all, how many of u use pacifiers? I don't like them and neither does hb, but my maid has asked if she can use them cos when she does the bath and 7pm feed, they really cry the house down and she's alone...I feel kinda bad not letting her use the pacifiers as I know she feels very stressed when they cry together...and frankly I don't think pacifiers have a long term bad effect...what shall i do!!??

shazz, understand ur frustration! I have come across these problems before and my MIL is the same. except she dun even buy from IKEA, is those market shops. but now got the problem solved except for once in a blue moon have to deal with it. lol!

anyway, its not that we're unappreciative of our MILs, is just different generation have different thinking and way of doing things.

Storeberry,
Thanks for your input. That set my mind to carry on buying rompers for Kaiden! Yeah!

Leg warmers,
The weather is really cold today..the leg warmers come in v handy..
Flos, did you use yours today?

I ordered additional 4 pairs today!

Pacifiers,
I personally think it is ok to use them. Just pull them out when the bbs are asleep/pacified.

ava, i let me dd use pacifier! especially when after bathing and milk time. otherwise she will really cry like no tml! she also need pacifier sometimes when she sleeps, then remove it when she fall asleep.

shazz,
ask your hubby to tell your MIL nicely and with alot of tact that you dont need new pots &amp; pans? Sometimes MILS are like that..they like to impose their beliefs and practices on others..esp difficult for DIL to speak up..sigh..get the husband to be the bad guy.

shazz,
i totally understand what you are going through now. coz it was the same situation (sort of) when my mil was staying with me. some more, that time, she shifting all her old barang barang here and left it in my living room, my kitchen. then turn MY kitchen into HER kitchen. put all her vitamin pills in my fridge and take up soooooooo much storage space (coz she'd buy in bulk and put in fridge).

she also tried to do my laundry and i also used the same excuse you did. that'd i'm paiseh for her to 'help' me when i didn't want her touching any of my stuff instead.

why is your MIL over at your place now? coz she's taking care of Eamon is it?

I so hate clutter in the kitchen too coz like you, i don't have lots of storage space. is there anyway you can tell her you don't want those things? i told my mil to take away all her stuff when she shifted out. she wanted to leave her things here saying we'll need them. but i said i didn't!

poor you. must be soooo frustrating. *hugz*

flos,
i'm not gonna bring cadence for the trip. will only bring jared and nat or just jared. and we're not staying at panda hotel. the hotel was either panorama (new) or novotel nathan. i like prudential for the convenience. but not sure if we can get that.

storeberry,
we had the same prob when we had the wish previously. the seat belt is absolutely not long enough. i think youve done it correctly for the front but the seat belt needs to go round the back too. not sure how to describe to you. but i can take a pic of how my hb fits in the seat belt and post the pic for you. hope that will help.

sleeping through:
yesterday morning, after cade's 6.30 feed, she didn't want to sleep. so i held her, rocked her, burped her, sang to her and she only fell asleep when i put her in the rocker at 8am. then from 8am, she slept all the way through to 2.30pm!!! the same thing happened today. she slept from 7.30am to 12.30pm. if only she can sleep for such a long stretch at night. so far the longest she went without milk at night is 4 hours...

storeberry,
zane looks so happy and cute in his leggings!

bacon &amp; eggs,
i accumulate and throw.

<font color="0000ff">bacon&amp;egg
i dun think they look childish in rompers
I juz bot 3 more rompers for Max today from BP, haha. But den perhaps it's juz my personal preference, but I would prefer buying those shorts kind instead of v-shape kind these days

Storeberry ,
the car seat belt has to go behind the car seat and next place the reminder belt position like what u have shown in the picture . ..dunno if u understand how ..

Gathering at limay place .. my cousin staying at the condo too ( u mention PG).. often bring zac for a swim there .. cos the splash often attracts him .. cannot join u gals for the gathering cos having another gathering for zac'

Sri leo , u interview at MOE ??

Flos ,
your dream very odd ...

Glodfish ,
i think it is the unsucceeful burp ,. cos my bb will regurgitate some milk if he did not burp ..

alabone: MIL and FIL comes to my place to look after my boy. thanks! my MIL claimed that her place is too small, not enough storage space, so she dumped alot of things at my place! Then when she needs it, she comes over to pick it up and puts it back when she's done with it! Before I delivered, Eamon's room was filled with my in laws and BIL's stuff! We had to tell them we're making space for Eamon, and need to throw stuff then they finally brought some stuff back! During my confinement, hubby borrowed her big slow cooker. Now that I'm done with it, I want to return to her, cos I have not enough space, asked her to bring it back, and she said leave it here, she got no space! I said I also got no space, and I don't use it, so it's better that she brings it back!

shazz, and he says that my face is black all the time. But I just really have nothing more to say to him. I don't know how to focus on myself as I can't bring baby out and the minute I go out, he will bring baby to his parents' place which I absolutely refused to let him do. Since I can't bring baby to my parents' place, I don't want to let him bring baby to his. I don't care if I'm being unreasonable now or what, but tic for tac, I feel.
And if I go for spas, facials, etc, he will say I'm wasting money and tells me to pay more for our loan, when he is earning double of me! Nowadays, I find him more and more calculative in terms of money. Sometimes to the extent that I get so fed up, I will pay him for whatever amount he has paid for me. And he accepts the money!!! Am I being very stupid?

I know what I want, but I just don't have the energy to stand up for it anymore.
That's the problem. I just feel like giving up on standing up for myself and just focus on my girl.

Yesterday, he told me that his mom is making a bean sprouts pillow for baby and made it like such a big deal. I'm mad because I also made the effort to wash the sarong that my mom gave me, disinfect it, etc, and he simply disregarded it and also because it is from my mom. Yet, his mom's suff is a big deal!!

Sorry, one more ranting. When my siblings asked me to record shows for them, he gets angry, don't want me to record for them, etc. When his mom asks me to help her record, he CALLS home to remind me!! Where has all the fairness gone to?

ahhhh... s'pore zoo white tigers mauled a man to death!! no details yet from the report..

oh i'm sure mummies receive Toys R Us sale booklet today! I received my Robinsons Toys booklet yesterday...

B&amp;E - I remembered some frens commenting that older todds wearing rompers are cute!!
For soiled diapers, sometimes i put them in the bin and throw at end of day, sometimes I throw it into the chute immediately..

Storeberry - Zane looks so happy - perfect model for the leg warmers, which look good! Tempted to buy more! Already bought 6 leg warmers and last nt just spend another 100 plus on gap spree!!! wat economic crisis heh for us mums.. hee.. (if onli hb doesn't find out.. )

More details just came out...

"A MALAYSIAN cleaner was mauled to death by three tigers which pounded on him when he fell into the moat in the enclosure at the Singapoe Zoo in Mandai on Thursday. The man has been identified as Mr Nordin Montong, 32, from Sarawak. His family has been notified of his death, said the Singapore Zoo in a statement. The Singapore Zoo has three Bengal white tigers, Omar, Winnie, and Jippie. Earlier this year, 9-year-old Omar was short-listed as a possible contender to replace Ah Meng as the zoo's icon. As a precautionary measure, the Zoo has temporarily closed the White Tiger exhibit. The Zoo said the man, a contract worker, jumped into the moat at the tiger enclosure at 12.15pm and was pounced on by the three big cats weighing over 100 kg each. Terrified visitors near the section watched the vicious attack in horror and screamed.

The commotion attracted the attention of a keeper who was nearby. Other keepers sprang to Mr Nordin's rescue by distracting the tigers. The keepers managed to separate the workers from the tiger. Mr Nordin started working at the Zoo in June. It is believed he was not supposed to be in the Tiger enclosure and was assigned to clean the Chimpanzee section on Thursday."

The visitors who witnessed the killing must be horrified!!!!!

Sprinz ..
just read teh news at yahoo... so scary ..
Yup .. received toy- rus brouchure today ... shopping only tomorrow at robinsons and toya rus cos have to go parents place tonight.. yesterday went out for dinner since Hubby is back in singapore yesterday .. Hmm .. will make him pay for toys this time round .. for xmas presents .. for zac cousins too .. keke .. can shop for girls things ..

sasa, springz
thanks for the input! Just wondering cos not sure by 9-12 mths, would bb be v grown up liao and would need to wear apparels like separate tops and bottoms? 1st time mommy, so asking v wuliao questions..hee

Springz
I give up trying the feeding-midnite stunt! Keeping to last feed at 8-9ishpm and waking up at 4isham to feed again..am contented i can watch some tv and sleep a couple of hours during the interval

Legwarmers/spree
Springz, u r so rite..i think we mommies on maternity leave is totally ignorant of the crisis out there..been spreeing too much! Need to stop liao..
Just ordered more rompers and legwarmers for Kaiden..

Zoo incident
V sad..it must be near to feeding time for the tigers..think it is dangerous to have a tiger as zoo's icon in replacement of ah meng? how to have close up pics taking? How to continue the traditional breakfast with ah meng? with omar? ...I wouldnt dare..

Ava ,
i used pacifier for zac .. and I stop him ard one year old .. and only took two days ... for zanneth .. not yet ..cos he is still sleepy and not crying / wailing for one .. so i just wait and see approach .. will use it only when necessary ..

Was reading teh previous posts ...
Flos ,
just dun release maid downstairs too much .. they will get to know other foreign helpers .. if it was filipino .. still okay .. but if those " guys workers" then cham .. cos i rememeber my auntie caught her two maids with another male " upper body uncloth" in her house when she went back to her house in the afternoon. Both maids same case .. bring unwanted " males" home during the day .. and was send back to the agent ..

yan &amp; shazz...

i oso got the same problem as both of u...

i dun like my MIL to anyhw buy things for mi and do things for mi.. cos i got my own way of buying and doing things... sometimes i do get reali fed up leh... hee hee

Bacon &amp; egg ,
u asking about flight basiinets and changing .. last time i bring my zac , i let him sleep on teh bassinet for the 5 hrs of flight .. and he slept through.. i change his diapers in the bassinet .. cos the changing table and the bassinet is enacted at the same place .. have to remove the bassinet for the changing table . too troublesome.. they will remove the bassinet during air turbulance and take off / arrive ..

Sasa , rompers are cool ... i dress zac in mostly rompers cos it is cute .

Alabone / Shazz ..
Me .. I am just the opposite.. cos i dun even cook and dun even care what is in the kitchen, my MIL who is staying with me is the only person in charge .. where she store her things , cookery I dun even ask or care .. no conflict in teh kitchen .. My clothes .. i used to be super paiseh .. that I told her i wash them myself .. but after looking at how neat she is and particular on clothes( my maid is trained by her like that too ), i gave up .... cos everytime she will come and re- adjust the hanging clothes or rehang the clothes to dry .. hmm .. until she told me i dun have to wash clothes .. think she gave up on me ( really have not done any housework since young) I know how to operate washing machine and how much detergent to leave in teh machine but she is super particular to separate the colour/ material clothes into during washing bags. and her hanging techniques also .. same colour , same height cothes all on one hanger .. then a lot of things like even the towels have to hang in specific way and fold in specific way to fit into the cupboard ..haha.. the maid has to follow .. she doesnt allow maid to iron clothes cos she says the tmperature and dunno what heat i think have to be adjusted .. mentioned something on speed as well .. hmm .. her super neatness really impress a lot of my friends who came to my house before .. hotel standard they say ..all my clothes are folded to same size and coloured stacked .. all ironed and sleeves adjusted to specific angle .. keke .. I am fortunate i think .. so i bochap on a lot of household issues .. everyti=hing i leave to her .. my MIL .. keke

shazz: Your MIL sounds like my new maid; never wait till full load start tumble-washing already! Taught her a lesson on how to save water and electricity the other day. We usually wash whites and coloured apparels in two separately loads too...

Returning MIL and MOMMY all the utensils! I also couldn't wait to return all the pots and pans to both of them...my kitchen has no space at all for all these metals!

storeberry: like the rest have said, u need to loop it one more time behind the car seat with half the belt. My Honda belt is JUST JUST long enuff, but if Isaac starts to grow a tummy, the horizontal belt will surely stifle him!

Bacon&amp;eggs: U ordered another 4? U should! U r going to HK in Jan/Feb rite? In the end, I resisted the temptation to buy those Leg'W ones.

Which part of HK r u putting up? Kowloon or HK island? U shd bring both carrier and stroller of course. But Jetstar has a weight limit rite? Ask SarahMay who took Jet* to Macau this week.

BabyBjorn: I just wore it to the mall again just now. With more practice, the AIR seems to feel more comfy now

I bought some FOX BABY stuffs just now cos they are having a 15% discount if u hv UOB card.

Accumulation of soiled diapers: Like Shazz, I'll tie each soiled (by poo only, not pee) diaper up in a mini plastic bag and dump it into the nursery trash can. In the morning, my maid will empty all the trashcans in the bathrooms, nursery, kitchen; and throw them into the common rubbish chute outside the corridor.

Why morning? cos in the wee hours, Isaac poops as well.

Bigtoes: I'll check with DH again if he's able to attend the Christmas party on 13 Dec. I almost forgot to ask him as he is very biz lately...

alabone: where is prudential? How abt YMCA Salisbury which is next to Peninsula Hotel? Good value for $ but a bit old. Get the same HK Island view as Peninsula but at a fraction of the room rate nia...USD100 thereabts!

Check out the view from my room...but of course, I was not in the room most of the time to enjoy he view...walk downstairs is the Harbour City liao...where I stock up all my loots

1878909.jpg

Bacon&amp;eggs: go to the basement of Harbour city for all the baby boutiques. SOgo TST/causeway bay also got but brands are more or less similar to Taka's/Kids21's. Festival Walk level 4 at Kowloon Tong too far for u guys. As for those cool&amp; unique bb/maternity boutiques, u need to go down to Central CBD area and hunt. I went there cos my office was there, but if u r a tourist, dun bother to go to Central...

ROMPERS: Forgot to add that u can wear rompers up to 18 mths... My DH bought so many from H&amp;M that says "12-18mths". Even my Mothercare ones are up to 18months...(got 24 mths even!) My neighbour's boy at 20+mths is still donning rompers at home.

storeberry: zane is cute in those new leg warmers! Too bad my Babylegs haven't arrived yet cos the bank requires 3 days to approve the new beneficiary. He should get his warmers tomorrow
Poor ISaac was so cold when I brought him to the meat freezers at Cold Storage! *Brrrr* We need those Babylegs now!

B&amp;E - tell me abt it! I actually bought rompers for 12-18 mths when preggers now regretting.. in fact I am starting Shauna on separates coz I find it quite cute! But I have so so so many mothercare rompers I bought ages ago! sigh... spreeing is ADDICTIVE!!

Ava - On pacifiers. My sis was adamant agst using it but in the end realised it is like the best gift! And both her older kids (3.5yo and 2yo) have weaned off already.. the third one (5mths) found her thumb.. heard THAT is harder to wean off.. for me I just chuck it into Shauna's mouth. Loud wails IMMEDIATELY becomes hard sucking and whimpers.. you should see her look when it is in her mouth.. like blissful lalaland, drugged kind of look? No surprise Freud says it is the Oral stage for psychosexual devt...

Er maids n lovers - when I was in sec sch my parents caught my 18 yo Filipino maid with an NSF! He was in his undies hiding between the cupboard and wall.. off she went the next day.. my 3rd maid, a Sri Lankan, went to NTUC and came out of the changing room with several bras under her clothes.. off she went too the next day. Next monday my helper is coming. Praying real hard turns out well

Ava
I know how you feel. I don't like the pacifier too. When I was pregnant, I was adamant in not using the pacifier for my baby. But I had no choice but to cave in as my baby is a real 'crybaby'. He cries a lot &amp; can go on &amp; on without stopping &amp; that causes him to have a lot of wind. Also, my mum who is going to take care of him when I go back to work told me that she prefers to use the pacifier for him as he cries too much &amp; he needs something to soothe him. I feel bad for my mum as I know that my baby is a fussy baby &amp; not easy to take care, that's why I relented.

Actually it's not so bad afterall, the pacifier stops his cries &amp; he calms down. After that we'll pull it out. All along I was afraid that the pacifier is used to shut the baby up without addressing his needs.. but I don't need to worry as my baby spits out the pacifier when it's something else that he wants like milk, diaper change, etc. He knows what he wants. Moreover, we don't use the pacifier unless really necessary, so it's fine. So long as we wean them off the pacifier before 1 year of age, it should not have any effects on them. I guess you have to be open &amp; let your maid use it.. it's also tough on her to take care of 2 babies at once.

oh HK!! B&amp;E if you don't mind cheapo stuff.. I bought cast-offs of Carters, Pooh bear rompers from street markets.. it was like $1-$2 per piece.. It is the thinner material sort so I use it for homewear for Shauna.. bought mine from Fa Yuen Street (花園街).. open between 10:30 a.m. and 10:30 p.m. daily. It is a long stretch and the children's clothes are at the other end after the sports stuff I think.. will ask hb if u interested to know..

Zoo incident ,
i woke my hubby up just nw to tell him about the tigers .. his response " the Zoo will have good business , cos all curious singaporeans would want to visit the three tigers nw " haha .. i burst out laughing ...

So many posting to catch up....
Today, I was guilty... I bought Marcellus to Ferragamo Preview sale... Poor him, yucking in his stroller while mummy was busy trying shoes... hahha... Think that motherhood does not cure shopping addiction.. In fact, it expand our shopping scope to include baby stuffs !

Motherhood fair starts tomorrow at United Square. Blur me, thought it was today and ended up window shopping. :-(

Bigtoes - wow, i learn new things each day :=)

Anyone has tips on how to cut baby's nails. All at home is too afraid to do it and now am thinking what to do with my boy's nails

<font color="0077aa">Thanks for the kind comments on Zane, mummies! And thanks for the advice on the car seat, I have a better idea now! I will try it tomorrow morning again.

Thanks alabone! If its not too troublesome, I would like to see how it is like.

Flos: Yah, I am thinking if Zane tummy grows bigger won't the seat belt suffocate him?

Yah, if I managed to fix the seat, maybe I can fetch you next sat. Will sms you again.

Sasa: I also like those shorts kind but BP like always have those bodysuit kind only.

Pacifier: I relent to pacifier but like what other mummies do, I will take out once baby fall asleep.

Shazz: When my MIL came over to stay, she put in 4 jeans into the washing mahine to wash for 90mins! She didn't know how to use my washing machine so anyhow start it! Now she is staying here, I have no say in the kitchen so I just close one eye. But she has no time to clean the kitchen cabinets when she finish cooking so there is usually a thick layer of oil that I have to clean off. Next time will ask my maid to clean it daily.

Quiling: Did you received my PM?</font>

Bigtoes,
My hubby said he might be travelling during December but he can't confirm with me the days yet.. so I think I better give up my slot for the Christmas party.. paiseh about this..