(2008/09) Sep 2008

Springz (springz): huh? I thought Anna Nicole Smith is dead? If she's dead, how to sell baby's clothes on eBay? *blur*

Baby refusing to drink milk: My boy decided to go on a diet! He refused to drink milk since yesterday afternoon! His last feed was 100ml of EBM at 230pm and he refused to take his next feed was supposed to be at 530pm but till now he refuse to drink! He would wail very loudly, as if we're feeding him poison!

Then when his daddy got home and fed him, he happily drank! The same thing happened last night! sigh ... we never used to have a problem feeding him! argghhh

Anyone's baby rejecting milk?

shazz - oops it is the husband who is putting up the clothes for sale.. ya she has passed on... think he is putting all 500 clothing in batches...

thanks, bigtoes/l'l cy/qiuling/flos, i was thinking of going there too! anybody in particular that's good? i don't mind threading either; used to thread whole face at rupini's in little india. only no trimming lor. kena trimmed once at a salon and while it was okay in the beginning, it became spiky and v hard to maintain when the hairs started growing longer.

flos, u're talking abt the clothes detergent or dishwashing liquid? my dishwashing liquid runs out quite quickly (it's v runny hence i have tendency to squirt more) but my clothes one still got A LOT, first bottle only.

hong kong
when are u guys booking your flights for? i might be going over for cny also. visit in-laws. how much do they charge for infants?

yun, my baby has that too, comes and goes v quickly. pd gave some cream for it and said to keep baby in cool environment.

angeline, is that the one with an outlet at central? is it good?

shazz, mine is also getting a bit hard to feed. she used to guzzle 100ml + 30ml (if she cries for top up) but now, she gets v disinterested even before finishing 80ml. sometimes only manage to drink like 60ml. i have to tease/shake/poke etc for over an hour to make her finish the 100ml. i've just cut her feeding to 80ml as of yesterday (dun want to waste the ebm cos not like there's a lot sitting in the fridge!). she's still alert and her usual feisty self so i'm quite puzzled too.

<font color="0000ff">I tot mine was the only one drinking lesser milk den before.. so it seems so many of u have got this prob too... hhmmm...</font>

xuanting: BOTH. She will squirt one pump of my Pigeon bottle detergent into each milk bottle before brushing it, whereas I'd squirt the detergent on a sponge to multiply the bubbles &amp; form a lather to clean several milk bottles. Then I'd use the bottle brush to scrub the inside of the bottles to get rid of the milk curd.

I was talking abt the Fab soap which she uses to handwash her own clothes.

My Kodomo still got a lot. Doesn't seem to finish...

lilboymom: how far can the bb see at 2 months?

shazz: HAHAHAHAHAH!!! "anna nicole smith is putting up her daughter's 500 plus baby cloths on e-bay"!!!!!!!!!! Dead Man Walking! Anyway, she is super BIG-SIZED! Who wants to buy her 'lingerie-looking' clothes??? Bad luck some more!

alabone: psst, the asiatravel.com boss is my good fren
I always buy my tix from him...which hotel is the package offering? Got hotwater kettle or not?

flos
around 30cms at birth...now ah..not sure...but they should be developing colour perception now...so bright colours and contrasting cols are good...

bb travel
think it's exhorbitant..better to get a package. coz the infant in arm has to pay 10 percent of actual air fare..which maybe more than the discounted ones used by adults..dumb...

for my son's first trip to hk 2007, we paid around 200plus for an airspace...not even a seat.but they will usually be nice enough to offer you one more seat lah.his second trip even more ex. think 300plus to taiwan.next year most likely heading down under or nz. nice place for todds mah.

i think infant bassinet's not very safe...best to get carseat and get htem a seat...after the recent quantas incident..scary

lilboymom: 30cm? I think Isaac recognises me from a distance. His face will brighten up when he sees me or hubs from afar. His eyes will also follow us when we walk away from him...

Lug along a car seat and pay for one seat on the aircraft to buckle up that car seat? I'd rather lug a stroller cos it's got wheels.

Do budget airlines provide bassinets?

hi shazz and sasa,

my bb has also been drinking much lesser (e.g. 50 ml) and at irregular hours (no longer 2-3 hours). bought her to PD and he says ok..to feed on demand.

flos
sorry, i mean details. they can recognise the outlines and shapes from certain distance i guess...

stroller cannot go onboard leh..if im not wrong, some airline require you check in the stroller. use teh modular system i guess...

cy didnt have a seat then but im so paranoid after that quantas incident..can you imagine your bb flying up and hitting the lights and going piak!!!!!

hk not stroller friendly ley

<font color="0077aa">Yah, I know its very tricky, I gotta stay at home &amp; see how it goes. Now I am extending my leave cos MIL can't take care of both.

My MIL wanted that particular maid cos she said the maid look very honest so even she does not understand english, my BIL would still want to go ahead with her (we are sharing the costs). The agent claimed that the english standard for all the maids are like that. I also understand from Kymkym &amp; rabbit that both their Indon maid cannot really understand english. I really pray that she will be a good help to me.

My MIL will be the main person to talk to her cos she can speak Malay.

Flos: Think you can limit the amount she eat &amp; if she finish very fast then ask her to use her own $ to buy? I have heard that maid finish one bottle of nutella a week! Gosh!

I understand where my MIL is coming from but I still cannot put my mind at ease if I know Zane is alone with the maid only. And I don't have a place to lock my valuables so there must be someone to watch over the maid. Else if I want to install lock on my walk-in wardrobe bi-fold door, who should I look for? Guess I have to take one day at a time. I don't think the maid will be bored by my hyper-active nephew! :p

My 24mth nephew Jayden loves to hug his di-di, Zane! He don't poke his eyes, just like to make alot of noise when di-di is sleeping!</font>

<font color="0077aa">Shazz: Zane is rejecting the bottle today! Don't know why? I went out to settle the maid things today so prepare EBM for him then when I fed him he uses his tongue to push out the teat! Aiyo! In the end have to latch him on &amp; he happliy suckle away!

My boy also drink lesser milk now!</font>

Bigtoes,
ha..ha.. yah lor,7.2kg is a bit too heavy .. I think.And he still drinking 120ml every 2 hours, think must cut down liao
the PD also said"oh..tis kind of body..must be eat sleep eat sleep..". Then I was thinking "of course lar.. then wat u want my Baby to do.."

Xuanting
I think ur Baby one is heat rash, My Baby has it since he was 6 weeks old and nvr go until now..

lilboymom: correct; must check in strollers; and it is incl in the weight limit of 20kg? But any clue how to buckle up the car seat using the aircraft safety belt?!! LOL

Was tinking of wearing the BabyBjorn carrier and strap myself to the seat!! BUt then how to makan liddat? the tray table will be stuck!

PIAK?!!! sooo morbid

Got a stupid question to ask u: is there a changing table inside the aircraft lavatory? Above the WC is it? I cannot remember liao. If bb poo, change inside the lavatory?

HK not stroller-friendly cos of the undulating terrains but it is manageable lah...Also, the subway stations/underpasses got elevators for the handicapped &amp; strollers.

hi storeberry,
yes, my bb also push out the teat. so i try to push the bottle from the side and she gets fool into thinking it is the nipple (she is willing to latch). it works at time.

flos
they dun allow you to bjorn the bb when the aircraft takes off and lands leh...that's the problem..must use their very flimsy seat belt...

they stewardess will do it for you, the buckling and all i think...

yes there is a changing table.super difficult to use lah...think the bb will end up rolling around..kekekke...

but go hk better to just sling or bjorn the bb. so troublesome. and you have to consider the hk crowd as you push your stroller along the streets. if we think singaporeans bb unfriendly..then hkgers worse leh...

storeberry: eamon rejected bottle and got so angry and cried! then he turned towards my breast, and i offered to him and he latch on! i was surprised! cos he used to be impatient to latch on!

BABY SLEEPING THRU THE NIGHT
Last Friday &amp; Saturday night, Devon slept from 10pm all the way to 6am.. I thought that was the end of my sleepless nights. Alas, since Sunday night he went back to his usual ways, waking up at 2am &amp; 5am for feeds.. sigh.

WAKING BABY UP FOR FEEDS
I personally think if baby is hungry, he/she will wake up &amp; demand for it. So of baby sleeps, we better sleep too.

BABY RASH
California Baby Calendula Cream is fantastic for clearing up rashes &amp; rough skin!

xuanting
I go to Browhaus for my eyebrow threading.. love it.. it's very clean &amp; also shaped very nicely. I go to the Paragon branch &amp; Mary does it for me.

My boy hardly latch on nowadays, cause our timing is not syncronised and if it is, its wee hours in the morning. So hubby does the feed while i pump out.

Any of you noticed that sometimes the balls sag sometimes its one nice round lump. Any ideas why? my mum's theory is that if it sags baby is frighten. Any truth in this?

flossssss,
pssst, then can i 'borrow' your name to get discount??? hehe. the hotels all stated on the web. not sure if got kettle or not leh. how i check huh?? u mean they dun provide huh?

Bigtoes
Sorry, me and Hb both not ordering buffet coz we need to attend thanksgiving dinner after the gathering. Thanks!

Xmas Gathering
PLS CONFIRM BY 15TH NOV
Tentative date: Sat, 13th Dec
Tentative time: 5-8pm
Venue: Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy's place (Seng Kang, one LRT stop from Seng Kang MRT)
Food: Kriston - http://www.kriston.com/index.htm (Buffet Menu A - $25/head)
Gift exchange: Please bring along a gift per mummy (cap at $15) and we will do a random draw on that day

Attendance:
1) Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy &amp; Baby Kieran – CONFIRMED 2 adults
2) Bacon&amp;egg, Baby Kaiden &amp; hubby – CONFIRMED 2 adults
3) Ava &amp; Hb &amp; kids - CONFIRMED 2 adults
4) Preggie &amp; HB &amp; Bb - CONFIRMED 2 adults
5). Cloud &amp; BB
6) Isa_belle, Hubbs &amp; 2 kids
7) Lanolin &amp; HB &amp; Declan
8)Autum &amp; 2 kids (+ maid or hubby)
9) storeberry &amp; Zane &amp; hubby - CONFIRMED 2 adults
10) Flos &amp; BB (maid and/or hubs)
11) Millie (millie22) + baby + ??
12) sunrays,HB &amp; Charlotte - CONFIRMED 2 adults
13) Jas(mobilesuitegal)+ HB + Rachael - CONFIRMED 2 adults
14) lilboymum + CY + CH + HB - CONFIRMED 2 adults
15) Jojobar, Hb &amp; Marcellus – TENTATIVE on hubby
16) KymKym, HB &amp; Scarlett - CONFIRMED 2 adults
17) Evan_gigi, HB &amp; BB – CONFIRMED (w/o buffet)
18) Angeline Goh + BB

Waitlist - alabone (alabone), Jaymickey (jaymickey)

xuanting

not sure though.i only remember tt theres 1 outlet at bugis junction n that they r wearing jap kimono...

sasa

mine oso milk intake drop..from 140 to abt 120 roughly...dun koe y...today fed her the frozen ebm,she gives a yucky look..haha..most prob because of the 'fishy' smell aft u defroze it..

Gd morning mummies!

I can't remember who's aking me abt my r/s wit him.. We broke off few days after his mum came to my hse to propose..

AVA
I don hv any lawyer... if u don mind plz ask ard for me..
I need to be prepare b4 he "attack" me....

This fri i hv an interview..hopefully i get the job so in terms of custody I'll be more in advantage..

alabone: hehe, but he'd normally do it for my domestic flights within mainland China
I think joint packages are pretty std, so he can't do anything much to the prices leh

panda hotel is it? that's in tsuen wan u noe...so far from town. sekali u need to take sleepy cadence bk to room and rest halway thru how? stay at TST vicinity better...tired can go upstairs to nap, too many shopping bags to lug can go bk hotel to dump them and come down again to walk...plus, all the shops and brands hv branches (and very large ones some more) @ Harbour city, no need to cross harbour to HK ISLAND with 3 todds in tow at all...siong...

Yah, must check got kettle or not, if not u gotta ask the restaurants to offer u some hot water to make your milkmilk rite?

lilboymom: but if u just go to the large malls, they will give way. PS: it's the mainlanders that are not civic-minded at the malls and escalators, but NOT the honkies. The honkies are a lot more civil than Singaporeans in certain areas, e.g. stand religiously on one side of the escalators. Their MTR staff are most helpful to tourists as well. I feel that their service standard is alot higher than ours!! heh...

Hi Jas
I actually send my bb to infant care at 2 months old… even though PD and KK doc adviced us not to do so cos bb immune system is low (low white blood cell).. but we bobian oso loh.. This week is his 2nd week there…

Shazz,
Is Ergo baby carrier easy to handle alone? ISsit easy to ‘slot’ in the bb in and out without getting someone to assist you?

BB BURPING
I find that nowadays my bb does not burp that easily as before. Do u guys experienced that as well?

BB Merlion
My bb nowadays ‘merlion’ after a feed even I attempted to burp him unsuccessfully. He will merlion when I put him down to bed and den suddenly u see the milk oozing out from the mouth. Does that means he has air in the stomach or overfeeding huh??

<font color="0000ff">Shazz
gosh... after reading how ur bb refused to drink milk, I went back and MIL complained to me Max refused as well. Only drank 60ml (the one i managed to pump in the afternoon) den when maid went to make another 30, he simply refused to drink. Teared the whole house down with his cries... weird. What stage are they going thru now?

Dreams
Someone mentioned the other day that she woke up forgetting where baby was and tot baby fell from her hands? It happened to me too, but this time round, I woke up thinking my baby was lost. In fact, I woke hb up too.. n asked him where's Max? Max lost le. Den he 'gong gong' look at the cot and told me, isn't Max sleeping there??

Oh no.. think i'm simply too tired alrady. I tot I was feeding Max, den nxt thing I know, Max wasn't in my arms, wasn't on the bed beside me. Gosh!!!

Goldfish
Ur bb 'merlion' juz abit only rite? Not those super gush out rite. If juz abit it's ok. Happens to every baby de. Mine at 1 pt almost everyday will 'merlion' de.. n I mean lotsa it come out, like mayb 30ml. So I tried not to force him to finish. It became better. Now he's back to drinking 120ml le.

Oh yes.. i oso realised sometimes upon burping, the milk comes out together as well... hhmmm</font>

sasa: me too had a strange dream last nite...dreamt my collegaues and my relatives came over to visit my baby, but my DH and I took so long to tidy up the house (e.g. I was arranging 3 vases of fresh flowers!), causing them to wait for several hours at the patio (yep in the dream I had a patio!)...halfway thru, I went to check on them and found them were huddled up &amp; fast asleep! so i quickly stole the chance to scoot to Watsons to look for the CB Calendula cream, which i couldn't find in the store...then i came home and found that my aunty had cooked kambing soup for all my colleagues who were famished due to the long hours of waiting!!! DUH...

I din catch my nap ytd...yawn...

sri leo
huh? how come broke off after the proposal?

I will try to ask around for you, but no promises they can offer a lower fee...you can PM me your budget (how much in total you can afford for the whole proceeding and I can find out if anyone can do it for that sum)

ava
cz when they came to propose, his parents &amp; sis corner me.. keep blaming me..said the whole thingy is my fault.. they even criticise me infront of my family members &amp; wants me to accept all their terms! I'm nt the type whr u can juz bully me.. i'll stand up for myself.. so during the proposal, i speak up which they find it rude as they are elders, i shldnt speak up..

and i nvr speak to them i malay..so they find it even more rude.. for goodness sake la, his father understand eng lor...

usually hw much it cost? i noe nth abt lawyer fees.. can i pay by instalment?

Hi mummies, have a question to ask: my baby has been pretty constipated lately (not pooing for 4 days). Brought him to see PD and was given medication. He will poo if I give him the medicine but will stop pooing (again for 4 days straight) if I stopped the medication. Anyone's baby with similar inactive bowel movement?

I must add that he has been on the same formula since birth and he used to poo every day for the first two months. I didn't want him to rely on the medicine so was rather reluctant to keep administering it.

Safe to give very diluted prune juice at 3 months? At least it's more natural than medicine...

<font color="0077aa">Shazz: I hope Zane can get accustome to bottle feeding if not no need to go back to work &amp; be a milking cow at home! Haha!

Sasa: Is it me? Yah lo, sometimes so tired &amp; suddenly I wake up &amp; see that Zane is not in my arms &amp; thot I dropped him only to find him sleeping soundly in his cot! Super frigtening lo! Sometimes I thot I put him back to his cot then to find him still in my arms! Keke..

Flos: your dream is so interesting! Guess we mummies are very sleep deprived!</font>

<font color="0077aa">Need help on my infant car seat. I took photos of what I have install but it doesn't look right. Anybody can help? My car seat brand is Baby Ace.</font>

1877271.jpg
1877272.jpg

storeberry
the seat belt is supposed to go behind the seat if im not wrong. what car are you driving? is your seat belt long enough?cant really describe to you here...

why dun you approach the shop you bought carseat from for help? or google?

Hi, Shazz, Sasa, Rabbit and Xuanting

A lot of postings to follow. Went to in laws place yesterday to oversee how they handle baby but half way, i went out to join my friends for dinner, leaving baby jayden and hubby with them.

My boy is drinking my EBM from bottle and latch on for the last feed around 10plus and 1st morning feed at ard 6am. During the day, he can also be using his tongue to push out the teat when he only drank abt 50-60ml. and he will cry a bit and then continue... if not, i will have to burp him or change his diaper (cos he usually poo as he drink :p) and then continue to finish out the whole 150ml. It can take around 30mins to 1 hour. tiring mann..

I remember one mommy here mentioned before that maybe bec no poo poo so baby not hungry to drink. I also observed that when my boy is not that active and dun poo a lot, he usually dun wan to drink and if drink only a bit..

Hi, Mei

May I know where i canget the california cream for rashes? My boy has heat rash on the neck (blame on his doulbe chin too).. I use drapolene on it but it still come and go.. will california cream heal the rashes for a longer time before it resurface?

babysage
Try giving glucose water. can also give diluted juice as u said...VERY diluted!

storeberry is the other part of the seat belt behind the car seat? u shld go to the shop and ask them to demo for u if not sure.

sri leo
my lawyer friend will speak to you directly. Please PM me and I can give you her phone no.

<font color="0077aa">Lilyboymum &amp; Ava: This was given by my sis (her fren pass to her &amp; she cannot remember who gave her). I tried to google Baby Ace but cannot find anything &amp; also tried google "How to install infant car seat", most of the demo has this bracket to be fix so not the same le.

So can I say that the one horizontal across the car seat is right but the other should go around the outer car seat? Mine is a Toyota Vios. Thanks!</font>

eih storeberry ah...

i think vios seat belt might be too short for this one. coz im in the same predicament.

one half of hte belt should go round at the back, and the half the bottom of the carseat..chances are, toyota cars seat belts too short..

my infant car seat works well for our previous car but not this one we have now (a toyota too)..so am sourcing for one with the base now...

<font color="119911">xuanting (xuanting), shazz – baby on milk strike. I wish Kieran was like that, he is the complete opposite. When he is hungry, its like we are starving him to death – cannot even wait one minute.
So even during the nite, when hubby goes and warm up EBM, i have to latch on a couple of minutes so he doesn't cry the house down!

Maids and food consumption – its amazing the amount they can consume! The maids my mom had over the years all eat like 5-6 pieces of bread for breakfast, or a packet of maggi mee, and finish a long loaf in 2-3 days! Used to secretly eat up all my ice-cream as well!
Even my CL was the same – she finished up the kaya, peanut butter and condense milk in 1- 2 weeks, then leave the empty bottle in the fridge, though she said she "doesn’t like sweet stuff".

breadmum (breadmum) - on your question on the balls sagging – its not cos the baby is frightened lah! The balls sag (pull away from the body) when it is hot (e.g. when he is in hot bathing water), to keep the scrotum cool (heat regulation), and will retract closer to body when it is a cooler day.

Cordelia (evan_gigi)- okie, thanks for telling me. Wont include you and hubby for the buffet cost then!

Sri Leo (sri_leo) – good luck for your job interview on Friday!!!

Goldfish – if its just a bit of milk oozing out from the corner of the mouth, this is just repositting, not merlioning. Think its quite common and doesn’t mean that the baby is overfed, so no need to worry.

Flos – you dreamt that u went to Watsons to look for Calendula cream? Heh, weird. Last nite I dreamt that we needed to warm EBM for Kieran, and I didn’t screw in the teat properly, then accidentally warmed up with some soup instead of boiling water – ended up with soup and bits of food mixed into the EBM….then cos I didn’t want to waste my milk, I ended up fishing out the bits of food from the EBM and was deciding if I should give Kieran the milk! Decided better not, so I threw it out and made FM for him!
Think it is an indication that I am subconsciously worried if I have sufficient milk for him cos he is a milk guzzler!!</font>

<font color="ff0000">Xmas Gathering:

REMAINING MOMMIES - PLS CONFIRM BY 15TH NOV IF YOU CAN MAKE IT, AND IF YOU WANT TO BE INCLUDED IN THE BUFFET!!

Date: Sat, 13th Dec
Time: 5-8pm
Venue: Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy's place (Seng Kang, one LRT stop from Seng Kang MRT)
Food: Kriston - http://www.kriston.com/index.htm (Buffet Menu A - $25/head, with a minimum order of 30 pax
Gift exchange: Please bring along a gift per mummy (cap at $15) and we will do a random draw on that day

TO CONFIRM:
5)Cloud &amp; BB
6) Isa_belle, Hubbs &amp; 2 kids
7) Lanolin &amp; HB &amp; Declan
8)Autum &amp; 2 kids (+ maid or hubby)
10) Flos &amp; BB (maid and/or hubs)
11) Millie (millie22) + baby + ??
18) Angeline Goh + BB

If anyone drops out, then alabone (alabone), Jaymickey (jaymickey) can take their slots!</font>

hey sri leo
if in case you still need help my bro in laws all lawyers. can ask them to help you. instalments wont be problem. will speak to them about charging minimal fees for you.

Thanks ava, glucose water is it! Why didn't I think of that *palm face*! The sugar will draw water to the digestive tract and make the poo more watery (and hence easier to pass out). You're such a gem! Thanks!

haha okok no worries
if im not wrong for just settlement of divorce is about 2-3k but for custody will be much more. i dunnoe the details but if you still need help just let me know
we stay together so i can speak to them anytime

l'ilCY l'ilCH
OOOhhhh no wonder I had so muh trouble with the Picnic and the car seat! luckily for middle row I can recline the seat and the belt is jussssst nice!

storeberry
yeah usually we put the belt across the seat like your pic, fasten it, then stretch the belt around the back (n there is usually a catch at the back of the babyseat to slot the belt in)...hopeu can attempt it if u drive a toyota!

bigteo- same issue with you. have to let kaylen latch on for a min before my hubby present the milk infront of me. sometime i will let him change his pamper while i rush to make milk. but everytime when i finish making milk, he still not done with it yet. end up i have to feed him milk while he still lying down. Wondering if next time i stop BF my boy will scream very loud for milk le

ok not really following thread but remembered some previous posts..

B&amp;E - There was once I woke Shauna up to feed her at 12mn too. Not very successful as well. So I cheated. She is on 4 hrly but skips the night one. In the past she'll wake up at 6 plus but I'll drag and ren her crying till 7ish near 8am. Once it is 8am, my 4hrly will end at 12mn just nice
Either that or the 2nd last feed I give lesser so that she will wake up for feed near mn.. makes sense? Also depends on baby la I guess, Shauna will finish 70ml very fast then will play/ sleep. After 20 min I'll try again and she'll finish the remaining 70ml, esp if she is asleep (somehow mouth can still suckle!)

Bigtoes - I also like happy babies! How I wish Shauna is like Kieran who smiles and laughs after his feed... the naughty girl will smile with the teat in her mouth or push the teat around in her mouth!

Xuanting - yup think babies are erratic.. till now for some feeds Shauna also can't finish the 140ml..

Backache - tks for advice! Now watching my posture when changing, carrying baby etc..

Mrs Yap - backache from epi is just the injection portion only izzit? then mine is not.. I know some frens who complained abt backache from epi even yrs after giving birth but I never asked them to describe the pain...