(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="0000ff">Lok
haha.. i see my nick!!!
glad u managed to find ur baby bjorn carrier from there. Think Jaymickey oso found hers from the thread I started

LC
sob sob...
yeah sure.. lemme noe when u going back to ur mum's place. I'm usually home alone with my boy on Sat

Lok
the correct height is when u can can kiss yr bb's head...i have the manual for synergy...i can bring along to springz's gathering if u want...

jaymickey
the pic of janelle u posted resembles TY a lot!! she is truly a daddy's gal...chubby chubby!!

Flos
hw old is yr maid? mine also take long time to get ready.. ever since i gave her most of my clothes, it's been a fashion parade, so far didnt see her wear anything more than once!! When she first arrived, she also wanted to change to jeans and blouse to the market!!

BB POO
Charlotte is on poo strike again!! today is the 4th day liao... no sign of poo yet..

PLS CONFIRM BY 15TH NOV :)
Date: Sat, 13th Dec
Time: 5-8pm
Venue: Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy's place (Seng Kang, one LRT stop from Seng Kang MRT)
Attendance:
1) Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy &amp; Baby Kieran – CONFIRMED 2 adults
2) Bacon&amp;egg, Baby Kaiden &amp; hubby – CONFIRMED 2 adults
3) Ava &amp; Hb &amp; kids
4) Preggie &amp; HB &amp; Bb
5). Cloud &amp; BB
6) Isa_belle, Hubbs &amp; 2 kids
7) Lanolin &amp; HB &amp; Declan
8)Autum &amp; 2 kids (+ maid or hubby)
9) storeberry &amp; Zane
10) Flos &amp; BB (maid and/or hubs)
11) Mei, hubby &amp; Devon
12) sunrays,HB &amp; Charlotte - CONFIRMED 2 adults
13) Jas(mobilesuitegal)+ HB + Rachael
14) lilboymum + CY + CH + HB and/or maid
15) Jojobar, Hb &amp; Marcellus
16) KymKym, HB &amp; Scarlett
17) Evan_gigi, HB/or maid, BB
18) Angeline Goh + BB

Here are 2 photos of Kieran taken over the weekend! The smelly teddy bear belongs to daddy which i bought for him think 8 years ago! Don't know when it last went for a bath!
1866833.jpg
1866834.jpg

take care, goldfish. i hope your baby will be fine.

dracwy, what's the meaning of (ii)?

cane:
dh and i haven't actually thought abt this yet but we have one for our furkid (been using one since she was a pup). now, it's more for show only; she only needs to see it to behave properly. i would prefer not to cane my kid though.

sunrays, time for your that threat again? charlotte is so lovable.

food home delivery
besides mcdonald's, pizza hut, sakae sushi etc, what other home delivery options are there? i am so lazy to cook or go out for lunch today! must be the weather...

<font color="ff6000"> xuanting: 养不教父之过 means it's the fault of the father if he fails to discipline the child. it comes from 三字经. i wouldn't use the cane unnecessarily too, unless the kid does something really bad, e.g. stealing, shoplifting. no parent will ever have the heart to hurt his/her child. but it is better for the parent to discipline the kid and instill the right morals in him the hard way when he is young, than to have him learn behind bars.</font>

smelly teddies, blankies and other nubnubs...
my cousin has this baby bolster which i call the 千年抱枕, for its powderful fragrance. she's had it since she was a baby and it (incl the cover) never got washed/sunned ever since my granny passed away when she was 8. it smelled something like many homeless people huddled together in an underpass and she would sob piteously into it each time someone suggested washing it. it eventually got washed when she was in uni, but IT STILL SMELLS!

LC
Agree! When we go back to work, we will miss some of those melting moments..I guess my mom will benefit instead..hee..she is really laughing whenever Kaiden smiles at her..

Ava,
I finally found the scrapebook store (owned by your hubby's JC fren)..they have changed shop location..now v "in"...alot of young people, they even have a mini cafe in the shop! I was shopping like siao woman...buying non-stop...so addictive!

<font color="ff6000"> alabone: i'm very glad to know that u're teaching your kid good etiquettes! i totally salute that. i'm planning to teach my kid a lot of basic manners from young too, which i think the kids nowadays totally lack, such as addressing the people whenever he steps into a house (my granny's teaching: 入庙拜神,入屋敬人), not entering other people's bedrooms without permission (believe it, there're actually kids who entered my bedroom and jumped on my bed without me knowing!!), not littering, returning the trays, etc.

Goldfish: sorry to hear about your kid. be strong and take care ya.

Aloysius: great pics! u should try to make your girl smile instead of frown! haha.</font>

Bigtoes &amp; dracwy
Kieran looks so happy with his daddy's smelly bear!

Here are some shots of Devon taken yesterday.

1867054.jpg

1867055.jpg

soft toys...

normally how do u all wash them? i check with a few cleaners..they said a small plush will cost at least $15....those bigger will cost lots more..tink can comparable to buying a new 1...i got so many i wana wash coz played by my FB...

PLS CONFIRM BY 15TH NOV :)
Date: Sat, 13th Dec
Time: 5-8pm
Venue: Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy's place (Seng Kang, one LRT stop from Seng Kang MRT)
Attendance:
1) Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy &amp; Baby Kieran – CONFIRMED 2 adults
2) Bacon&amp;egg, Baby Kaiden &amp; hubby – CONFIRMED 2 adults
3) Ava &amp; Hb &amp; kids - CONFIRMED 2 ADULTS
4) Preggie &amp; HB &amp; Bb
5). Cloud &amp; BB
6) Isa_belle, Hubbs &amp; 2 kids
7) Lanolin &amp; HB &amp; Declan
8)Autum &amp; 2 kids (+ maid or hubby)
9) storeberry &amp; Zane
10) Flos &amp; BB (maid and/or hubs)
11) Mei, hubby &amp; Devon
12) sunrays,HB &amp; Charlotte - CONFIRMED 2 adults
13) Jas(mobilesuitegal)+ HB + Rachael
14) lilboymum + CY + CH + HB and/or maid
15) Jojobar, Hb &amp; Marcellus
16) KymKym, HB &amp; Scarlett
17) Evan_gigi, HB/or maid, BB
18) Angeline Goh + BB

Dracwy
will ensure Adan doesn't jump on your bed!

<font color="ff6000"> can't believe bigtoes revealed my deepest darkest secret of having a teddy bear...
no, just to clarify, i'm not a fagala, i'm holding on to it cos that was a gift from bigtoes many many years ago.</font>

thanks, dracwy. literally, does it mean "feeding without teaching, father's fault"? i cannot quite figure out the meaning of the 3rd character.

dracwy
having a teddy bear does not make one a fagala (assuming my google search of fagala has given me the correct definition)...having a collection of hello kitty dolls, maybe...

hi!
life's been crazy last few days.
Big gorgor was down with fever 1st.
Then small gorgor...together with some rash.
Then poor meimei had high fever + full body of viral rash!
And of course, bz mama oso down with fever but no rash...

here's how terrible the rash was for Jvel:
1867219.jpg

I couldn't find any area throughout her whole body bigger than a five cent coin with no spot at all!

Thankfully, all has recovered during the weekend...

oh! I missed the xmas gathering registration???

hello!

baconegg,
that MWL shop in PS is super expensive.. but very nice to go see-see-look-look.. I buy my scrapbook materials from online.. Oriental Trading or Joann.com .. the Spotlight shop in PS also has many SB materials.. i buy whenever there is sale.. MWL stuff are super nice but really too exp.

Jaymickey,
I like the pic of Janelle.. so pretty n sweet.. wonder when will my girl ever look like that! Cos i feel she looks a bit boyish.. haha.

Crayon,
thanks for compliment on my girl.. but i think she looks boyish le. :p

hey Aloysius,
are u a photographer? nice shots of your baby..

<font color="ff6000"> xuanting: 养 means "bringing up", 不教 means "not teaching or disciplining", 过 means "fault".

ava: thanks. now i feel so much better. haha...</font>

dracwy
u sound like a great daddy in the making... in my case, most probly i'll be the 坏人..it's alrdy starting to show liao..hb is showing signs of spoiling her royal highness rotten...

Mei
Devon's looks strting to change liao!! handsome lil darling... i love his mouth ...so cute!!

xuanting
YUP, the poo strike is on!! All i can do is wait patiently for the massive poo bomb...sigh!!
the 千年抱枕 is gross but i can relate to it...though mine is not really tat 千年 lah...probly 百年 only haha!! before i got married, my mum always say tat bolster is part of my dowry,haha!! Now Char is starting to do the same!!! she rubs her face on her lil' bolster and hugs it like a koala bear clinging on a tree... I've been searching for a nice bear/doll/toy for her but it's all fugly ones out there!!! HOW??? cannot imagine if she hav to lug the bolster wherever she goes in future!! reminds me of Linus in Peanuts...
1867246.gif

sunrays

my neighbour son now around 4yrs+ still lugs his bolster whenever he went out...n my FB haiz..sometimes will want to bring her blanket 'peipei' along during shopping...i always told her if u drop ur peipei onto the floor,u wunt be having any peipei tonite coz mummy gona wash it...she got a few soft toys but seems like she doesnt like it sooo much..most prob coz their peipei n bolster got their smells ba..

hi LC!
i'm staying near to the Stadium near the new Pioneer MRT. And you are most welcome to come my house but pls dun mind my hse is a bit messy haha.
So is this thur rite? wat time you looking at?

Sasa: wat a pity...but we sure can meet up again!

sunrays
I already standby a security blankie for Devon. At least they need a 'chao' toy, the toy must look presentable mah. I got a Humphrey's Corner blankie from MotherCare for Devon. Actually, I find Linus so cute lugging his blankie around. As long as my son is not that character in Peanuts, the one who's dirty &amp; a cloud of dust surrounds him... haha.

Angeline Goh
Just put the soft toy into a washing net &amp; wash &amp; spin dry in the washing machine.

<font color="119911">Ava - he used the word "fagala" cos we were just watching that silly Adam Sandler DVD (You don't mess with the Zohan) some days back and 'fagala' came out numerous times (together with "Make sticky" which means the same thing as "Make sexy time" in Borat)
Btw, the new James Bond movie is quite bad...

TRaz (traz) - ohh, is the rash itchy? Poor baby
Hope it goes away soon!!

Meanwhile - I posted Kieran's photo on this site - mommies pls vote for him!! He is the one lying down in a yellow Ah Pek singlet.
http://www.mumcentre.com/index.php?option=com_rsgallery2&amp;Itemid=0&amp;page=vote&amp;catid=2062&amp;picid=</font>

<font color="ff6000"> sunrays: someone has got to be a "bad guy" when it comes to disciplining the kid. i've volunteered to be the one, cos i think bigtoes is too nice. for the good of the kid, i don't mind being the bad guy if he turns out to be a great person in future.</font>

sunrays,
It would be great if u can bring the manual along to Springz' gathering.

As for poo strike, I have secret weapon for Jonas --- load him with lactose (via my BM) cos he's lactose intolerant. On the last occasion when he didn't poo for 3 days, I had horlicks with cheese sandwich and then he did a MASSIVE poo which leaked onto my bed, onto his clothes, onto the changing mat and onto his hair (when I tried to remove his soiled shirt!!).

I have a smelly pillow too (more than 3 decades old). Now my FB has taken over and treats it like his own. He loves MY pillow (cos saturated with mummy's smell) and especially like to sniff the corner and tell me NICE!! But my pillow is never the same again (sob sob) cos it has to be washed for the sake of Joshua (afraid he will breathe in the dunno-what inside since he has sensitive airway). SO SAD, my most prized possession "destroyed" by my own flesh and blood

hi, mandy

i pm u later..
baby jayden is naughty again..

hi, bigtoes

your baby boi can sit upright.. mine can't.. he is 3mth old this fri but still can't do wat your boi is doing..

WoodlandsMummy, exactly, I can't understand that either. I just find it so ridiculous. I can bring the baby alone to his parents' house but not to mine. And the minute I'm out, he would also bring the baby to his parents' house. I really feel so so unjustified.

I was so happy yesterday cos I finally brought the baby to my parents' house. Poor baby cried the whole time she was there, cos she could not recognise the place at all and when my siblings carried her, she cried too. I was so sad inside... as I think that shows how strange my baby finds them. And I believe inside, my HB feels happy cos that gives him another reason not to bring baby to my parents' place. When we came back, he sent my world crashing down again. He complained that they still place the dog on my parents' bed even though I said they would not. And I told him not to worry that every time we go back, my mom would change the bedsheets just for the baby. And he immediately replied, ho ho... we would not be going there every time. So what does that tell you? I was again very devestated. He also complained that my parents' house is very hot, too hot for the baby to take, so that gives him another excuse not to bring baby there.

Actually, earlier on in the evening, before we went, he wanted me to dress baby in long sleeve and pants even though it was rather warm, as we ARE GOING to my parents' house and it is not clean! Then he said that there will also be many people carrying her. I simply stared at him and ignored him. He really made it sound as if my family has some kind of vrus or disease.

I really thought things look brighter but it does not seem like it. I still feel lost and sad these days, and many a time, would find myself crying myself to sleep.

Traz
Your poor kids (and u too!)...that rash looks so uncomfortable!

bigtoes
Is Don't Mess with the Zohan worth watching? I'm a big Sandler fan...(except didnt watch Water Boy, Big Daddy and that one where he was the Devil's son???)...he's pretty good when he plays it straight (i.e. non comedic roles like in Spanglish and Reign Over Me).

We watched Bond too...I'm not a big fan anyway so can't tell what's a good Bond movie and what isn't. Hb (the Bond fan) was not impressed...

BTW, I'm so desperate now, I'm thinking of getting a third party, a friend of both of ours, to talk some sense into my HB. But I'm afraid it will backfire. haiz..... But I really have no idea what else to do.

<font color="ff6000"> ava: zohan is super duper hilarious! no sense, totally stupid, but it's really extremely funny! at least i find it so. haha. yeah, it's like borat.
we watched bond yesterday, was only impressed by the action scenes. other than that, not worth the money. didn't even know what's going on in the beginning. luckily we got our tickets free from starhub.

dracwy
yeah. the beginning was fuzzy for me too cos we didnt re-watch the previous one to refresh our memories...it's a direct sequel...the first sequel in the Bond franchise! Takes place a few hours after the end of the previous one

xuanting..
well, there's pastamania, arnold's chix and even pungol seafood if you are dying for seafood..

traz
poor kiddoes!! yes i know how it feels when one infects another and then another, and then get well, then infected again...like neverending charade..

limay, drawcy
haha..i really like keiran's hair..izzit always so...ruffled?

mei

i thought of tt but will the inside dry up?..my hb ask me to throw everything away...haiz..

BB sleeping

Carine these few days decides to be a naughty gal n sleeps at around 5am+ for the past few nites..so tiring man.she will zz at around 10pm+ but wake up 3hr later for her next feed n then it will be all the way till 5am+..last nite,i am esp tired..so i tried to put her on her tummy on my bed,hoping tt she could let some wind/burp...but guess i was too tired n i fall asleep n then i woke up in shock a few mins? later to find her lying still..quickly turn her over to find her zz..she could usually turn her head left right when i put her tummy during daytime...scare me stiff man...

Autum, Janelle looks boyish too without the headband.. Each time people will ask if she is a boy or gal.. even when she is dress in pink from head to toe.. try to dress your gal up, i believe you will think otherwise..

Sasa, yes i got the bb bjorn synergy from your WTB thread for $170. Just got it 2 days ago, havent wash, havent try Janelle in yet..

Mummies who had c-sec

Have you all started doing exercise? Can start doing tummy exercise ma? My tummy is flat but is flabby, i wanna start doing exercise.

Any babies doesn't have tummy time? I don't put my baby on her tummy.

Jaymickey
Where you purchase the headbands? I'm looking for it for my princess. Heard that kiddy palace ones are not good.

afternoon ladies ,

Alabone , agreed with u that manners hsould be taught young and family education is more important .

Ava ,
heard from friends that bond is a very good show not to be missed .. i guess i have to wait for hubby to come back from shanghai in another two days time to bring me to watch .. keke

It has been a month plus since he last seen zac and zenneth ..

Traz ,
the viral rash seems bad , u bring to PD , is bb on medication ?? i remembered last time my zac has rash , he was put on medications .. U take care of yourself .. not easy to have three kids down at the same time .. anyone to help u out ?

Mummies ,
today is a sad day for me .. went to school to do my year end work review with HOD and she informed me that i am getting a D grade next year .. So sad ... to think that i have worked so hard since january and have refrain from taking MC , stayed back in schools till pretty late for the students for PW work , especially also for the whole of June holidays .. The reason is because of Maternity .. so much for doing the country a service of increasing the birth rate and also so much for contributing my two sons to the national service next time. I should emigrate to other countries ...to save them to live in such " meritocracy state" where even the civil service is like that .. how to spare those mummies from the private sector ..
The most sian thing is that I actually preinformed them taht i will be taking npo pay leave next year out of courtesy so that they can get a replacement teacher for manpower and also that the students will not be having relief teachers.. and that a D grade was given in lieu cos next year i dun have to expect a performance bonus since i am on leave .. so much for fairness .. hmm .. I am of course not expecting bonus cos i will be leaving before the payout but I am still sad that i was given a D grade for so much work I contribute to the school for the half of year I am in service ...hmm .. even my collegues asked me to write up and protest cos of the unfair treatment.. guess i will just have to rant here and forget about it the next day .. it is affecting my mood nw .. so unfair

<font color="0077aa">Angeline Goh: I wash Zane's soft toy in the washing machine, low tumble dry, &amp; sun it in the sun, so far so good! Zane also naughty these two days, wake up @ 6 or 7am &amp; fuss &amp; cries very loudly! Today is such a good weather &amp; he keeps waking up during his afternoon nap while mummy is trying to sleep! Yah, sometimes I wake up in shock trying to figure out where is Zane or did I drop him!

So many handsome boys! Love Kieran &amp; Devon's smile!</font>

autum,
thanks for the sites..will check them out! Agree that MWL is expensive..but they are sooo pretty, i cant help but grab lah! hee..

qiuling,
never know they can grade-in-lieu..a bit ridiculous to me...so those who get low grade in-lieu dont have to bother with working hard cos grading is already confirmed?!
Guess you have to console yourself that your bundle of joy is worth all the frustrations at work..*hugs*

Mandy,
haha .. 4 years in service of teaching and this is the first year i got a D grade cos i am leaving next year for my two sons .. should have kept my mouth shut and leave and dun inform the school so early cos i only need to give a month notice .. but i just want them to have a easier replacement and that teh students will not suffer .. and sad ... so sad ... haiZ .. hubby saying me stupid nw .. and worse case is that even i resume ( go back to teaching ) after no pay leave , promotion will be freezed for three years based on D grade .. stupid civil service .. so much for encouraging birth rate and no support for mummies ..
Next time , will choose to work for dad company overseas than to work for such lousy organisation.

Hi Big toes,

Will confirm my attendance soon once my hubby confirm his travel schedule for next month. Will let you know soon.

I managed to capture Marcellus's smile ! He is in extremely good mood over the weekend and laughing away in his spider rocker...

1867632.jpg
1867633.jpg

Qiuling
this is crazy. seriously, write in to complain. the systems' crap. it is true they are supposed to grade you only for the time you are present. but the middle management's a load of rubbish.they have never gotten anythign right. if you remember peter's principle which goes something like 'an employee in any organisation will be promoted to his level of incompetency, any work in the organisation is done by people who have not reached that level'...so to hell with all these people. fight for your rights, girl!!! illegitimi non carborundum!!!

i can totally understand how you feel. i was in HQ before the delivery of my fb. i was told that the maternity and any NPL will not affect performance grading since appraisal is done only for the time you are around.it turned out to be so untrue. when i wanted to take extended npl, i was told they wll have difficulty grading me, so asked me to request posting back to schools.

frankly lousy of me to discuss such things on a public forum like this. but hell, do i ever wanna go back!!!????

hey btw, didnt receive your pm on which college you teaching at leh...wonder if i met you before? you teaching PW?very few schools have full time PW teachers. the two colleges i used to teach in are the exceptions.

angeline, u shd be able to machine wash them but drying might take a while. i'm also going to wash a bag of my old bears &amp; monsters to give to my baby.

traz, i hope the kids are feeling better already! poor you, must be really tired out those few days. what sort of viral rash is that?

dracwy, thanks for the explanation.

sunrays, your mom is v v funny! so is your jia4 zhuang1 still sleeping with you and your dh now? or perhaps you shd pass it down to charlotte as a family heirloom. another cousin had a blanket which he really lugged around like linus. over the years, it eventually became a small hankie, then a wisp of threads, then nothing.

mei, the dusty one is called pigpen or something i think... the characters are all so cute.

Bacon &amp; egg ,
my collegue said the correct protocol is that they have to inform u by mid year ( june ) that they will be grading D for u so that u can improve or rectify the situation .. however the school doesnt follow protocol .. even my review was done only now in november cos my HOD was herself on maternity from april till july , where i am on ML from august .. keke .. she added ( to pacify me ??) that I actually have one more month of extended maternity leave already .. huh ??? .. her bb is april ..so she doesnt have ... wah loh .. nothing to do with my performance while I am in service ... from Jan till july 08 .. they should at least have another grading system for mummies in lieu of maternity leave if they feel that mummies are away for 4 mths and taht they are " not performing" during these 4 mths ... HOW TO PERFORM when i am delivering ??

Mei: u standby a security blankie for Devon?!! I also agree that the comfort toy must be something that is presentable!! Maybe get a branded toy that will look presntable when we go travelling on the plane next time?! LOL

sunrays: your maid too? I think it's inevitable cos she has been tagging behind me with ISaac in the stroller when I went shopping...I'm sure she'd be imagining herself in those beautiful clothes, etc. What's more, she got to see hordes of her fellow Filipino compatriots clad in fashionable clothes, camping at Orchard (They hv off-days whereas she doesn't)...

alabone: when u saw her at Lok's place, she was only in SG for 6 days
Now it's a month, so her mindset has changed somewhat...

crayon: u can try riding on the escalator with your stroller without Reyes first. Anyway, it's hazardous to push bb on a stroller onto the escalator, I feel...better to take the lifts...

jaymickey: I see that youve purchased the cherry Babylegs! Very sweet! There are many designs that are more suitbale for girls, rather than boys. BUT, I still order like a total of 9 pairs of leg warmers for Isaac! Whatever for, I hv no idea
I'm just nuts!

bacon&amp;eggs: I hv finally seen pics on Babylegs website on how to wear those warmers on toddlers. I think it's just timely now that we're now ushering into the coolest months of the year. Most likely he can finish parading in those 9 pairs of warmers till Mar next yr, when the weather starts to get warm in SG...

dracwy : so will u use the cane on Kieran? My DH has been very harsh on Isaac, i.e. smacking him real hard when he doesn't behave! I was really mad at him for 'abusing' my boy when I was buying my sunglasses ytd. Why smack your own son? that's so violent! If only my hubs will be as patient as you!

bigtoes: r u sure those Aussies were not helping u becos u r a pretty lady?! LOL. I know some of my tanned frens were mistaken as Vietnamese (no offence) and were verbally abused at the bustops in Australia.

L'CY ( liboymum),
Rubbish system they have ....
Yah , teaching PW on top of PE load and it is simply crazy with markings and testing and nw even PE have assessment grades reflected in the results slip .. still have to organise camps and hit targets for the school for their SEM ...

Think after NPL , really not going back .. felt so unfair .. and sad to be treated like that .. hmm .. can u imagine what will happen to private sector mummies ?