(2008/09) Sep 2008

lanolin: thanks, he's better now le. Just that recently these few days evening, he wun sleep after feeding. Always want to play or carried till the next feed...

bacon & egg
glad u can fit into your old clothes...I'm still struggling with mine, esp the tops. bottoms, some can already

That scrapbooking shop..haha dont think u'll get discount if u mention me lah...i dont know her all that well, altho she still has some of my old maternity clothes which she couldn't find to return them to me!

I know her hb better as he is my JC senior and we were in uni together (also my hb's friend)...maybe next time i see her i'll try asking?

sasa
why did the pd remove the teeth?

West Mummy
I'm a west mummy too! shuttling from yew tee to my mom's place at bt panjang everyday now. would love to join in west gatherings if schedule and hubby allows. not really confident to bring baby out myself and hubby worries. so haven been to any gatherings yet, but have been an active silent reader all this while!

Jas, my bb like to sit upright and look around all the time too! even in the stroller she like to sit up. have been carrying her upright facing in or out while walking. she loves it, wherelse she will struggle when we have her in cradle hold. she only wants cradle holding when she is sleepy and will try to dig her head towards my 'armpit' to fall asleep cos its dark inside! lol! if you all can understand wad i mean, its difficult to describe!

sunrays - oh!! I have that as well....ok. wil try it out for a nap during the weekend and see if it works. I damn worried we'll roll over him!!!

So what got rid of the wind in Char in the end since nothingg seemed to work?

ava - ha ha ha....I don't have that problem!!! :D Much less hair though I got many more white ones now. Sigh.

Bacon&eggs - ohhhhhhhI think I know which one u r referring to though I never watched it. Before my confinement, I hardly watch TV!

Mandy - I think kids are like that in the evenings....Declan is esp fussy from 6- 8 pm usually.

Mummies - do most of you still carry ur babies at least till they close their eyes or do you just put them in the cot when it is time to sleep? Declan can't fall asleep without being carried though we r trying to put him down as soon as he closes his eyes, not to huge success though!

bacon&egg - there's also a shop at wheelok place though I don't know if it is more expensive than others...(coz of rent).

Jas , u are a teacher as well ?? next wek holidays already bah .. nice time to go back ..

Me still in school working , today is results release for JC1 .. Hmm .. gotta call parents for two retainees in my class

<font color="0077aa">Shazz &amp; lanolin: I dig Korean drama as well!! Last time was Jap drama, I love "Mo Nu de Tiao Jian". For Korean drama, I love "Kim Sam Soon" super hilarious! "My Girl" was abit draggy but nice! Attic Cat, Full House &amp; Lovers in Paris are also quite funny!!

Lanolin: I have Full House if you want, the rest are all borrowed from my fren &amp; aunt! Keke..

Bacon&amp; egg &amp; Jojo: Aiyoo... You all have made me so "gian" about the leg warmers that I went to BP &amp; ordered two pairs! Hubby say its very kawaii! Online shopping is addictive! Also bought 3 bags, some Cds, a portable mini speaker for my MP4 so that I can play music for Zane in the living room.

Yes, agreed that Calendula creams is very good! I always apply on Zane's face after bath &amp; it smell so nice!

Flos: I saw Calendula cream at Raffles City Watson as well! Was so shocked that it costs $29.90! Gosh!

Thanks Shazz for the good lobang for us! Aiyoo.. My 3 tubs still with you hor.. :p</font>

Storeberry
Where can we buy Calendula cream? Want to get one for Rachael too. Thanks!

SHOPPING MALLS
Which shopping malls have lots of shops selling kiddies / baby stuff? Nowadays when I go out, I tend to only buy baby's stuff!! Sooo much to see, my hubby tot I must be mad! Keep buying and buying, been into romper-craze, and now, stroller-crazy! Want to find out which malls sell lots of babies stuff, then can compare prices
I know United Square, The Forum onl...

<font color="0077aa">Lanolin: Quan Xiang Yu has an absolutely hot bod! Wow.!!

I don't like weepy Korean drama either, the comedy ones are dam* funny!

Jas: My boy also like the upright position! When I put him in cradle position, he will fuss! I am in the West as well, Yew Tee, quite near to you! But I need to figure how to install the infant car seat before bringing bb out!

I bought my 1st tub of Calendula cream from the Want to Sell thread. Then I join the spree Shazz oprganise &amp; bought a few more. Mayb can check out the Want to Seel thread or overseas thread?

Jaymickey, Unless you are one year old member then can post in the Overseas &amp; Want to Sell thread. Else you need to PM the organiser.</font>

Lanolin
carrying babies to sleep: naps or night? naps are free n easy here (meaning we do carry them) except the 7.30-9.30am nap where they just fall asleep themselves on the cot. nght time, meaning the 7pm feed, i feed, burp then put into cot before they fall asleep and leave them to fall asleep on their own.

storeberry: yes yes! me love jap dramas too! so many drama mamas here! haha. Oh yes, attic Cat and full house, how can I forget all these! Oh yes, Coffee Prince is also funnie!

Calendula Cream: u can pop by my place anytime u swing by your mum's place. My in laws or my mum usually at my place, just let me know when u wanna pick it up, will leave near the door for you.

Jas (mobilesuitegal): can get Calendula cream from BP in this forum for about $18/$19 or from Watsons at Raffles Place or Bugis Junction for $29.90. The $13 plus we got was during our private spree and during sale period by the merchant.

lanolin: Me too! My Ryan cannot sleep on his own. If we put him down, his eyes can shine even the room is dim already. Then he'll cry as if like we have abondon him like that. Cry until so ke lian and we have to pick him up and cradle hold him until he sleep then put down.
Sometimes we have to repeat this 2 times before he can really go back to sleep but his eyelid will still move even though he shut his eyes.

Ava: How u manage let them sleep on their own? Won't they cry when they sense no one is holding them? Gosh did we spoil him in a way?

sleeping on their own...
can i chance this theory? think it's often difficult for bb boys to learn to sleep on their own unless you train them. it might be easier for girls...same reason as why bb boys are crankier and have higher chance of being colicky...

my boy used to cry bloody murder if we ever ever let him down into his cot, yes, even in the middle of hte night...

CB
i love their stuff!!! im using their body wash, swimmers defense, moisteuriser, mozzie repellent, spf spray and calendular cream for my tow kiddoes!!

Hi Mandy, just share with you for my baby, at first need to carry every night to sleep and even my mum have to sleep while carrying her! But baby slowly will learn to sleep on their own. just need to take time for them to adjust. slowly start by lesser carry, carry alittle and lots of patting, follow by just patting them without carrying(to let them know patting = sleep) then somemore lesser patting by each day. then finally they will sleep when its bed time already or when you put them on the bed and switch off the lights. now my bb can sleep on her own too and only sometimes need a little patting(less than 5mins). - my own theory and method that applied and happened to my girl.

btw, day time she will still want attention and ppl to carry her to sleep. only at night then she can manage to fall asleep on her own.

<font color="0000ff">Jas
I've been cradling my little one like tat too. he hates to be lying now... so either gotta carry him sitting down (if u can picture what I mean) or carrying him uprite. That's y i was bz looking for a bb carrier

Sunrays
haha... i dun drink milk!!! ok.. i drank choco milk, but that's abt ALL!!!

Ava
apparently they dun call it teeth. In fact, it's not the milk teeth oso... forgot wat they called it le. but according to her.. it wouldn't affect his teething nxt time tho the teeth might be smaller. ohh... they were sharp. perhaps tat was why my boobs suffered when I latched him on??</font>

<font color="119911">Xmas Party Gathering:

Flos (flos) and Ava - I checked with the mgt office today, but the function room at my apartment is fully booked on the 13th! Argh…so everyone will just have to squeeze into our place. Perhaps if mommies can do without your maids for that couple of hours – pls don’t bring them along? Also, no strollers if possible – not sure where to park everything!

On attendance, if anyone cannot make it between now and the 13th Dec, can you pls let us know, so that we can free up the slot for Jaymickey? I really have no idea how everyone is going to squeeze in!

Cordelia (evan_gigi) – pressies to exchange for the Xmas gathering is a good idea provided that we get useful stuff and there is a budget imposed. Lets see what other mommies think?

Jo Jo (jojobar) – thanks for the recommendation! The buffet menu A looks yummy and reasonably priced!
Other mommies – what do you think? http://www.kriston.com/index.htm if there are no objections, I will book from Kriston and skip getting anything else from Cold Storage/Jasons/etc.

LC (faintz) – no probs! Think the next gathering is for CNY in 2009!

+++++++++++++
green_baby (green_baby) – poor thing! Your girl lost her voice? I am also going to leave Kieran at my MILs when I go back to work – better make sure he gets used to her!

Jinxing our good luck with baby – yes! All very true. Just the other day, I was telling Kieran how he was a good boy and that I would tell hubby all about it (30min before hubby came back). And within that 30min, he shit-farted when I was changing diapers and dirtied the change mat!

Simply Bread @Guthrie House – I think I am one of the few who don’t really fancy their bread. I lived opposite the road for the last 15+ years before I got married, but I think I have bought bread from Simply Bread maybe 2X! I love the Italian gelato place next to Cold Storage Gourmet though!

breadmum (breadmum) – I don’t think my Murphy Richards bread maker doesn’t come with firm/regular settings. I suppose firm would be more compact and heavier (like when there is less baking powder?) I usually just set to 3 hours and "light". We were looking for a new Princess machine, but think they discontinued that in Singapore. The Murphy Richards one tends to brown the base cos the container is vertical (Princess's is horizontal). Have to stop the machine about 15 minutes before the time is up so that the browning is not so bad.

sasa (sasa_xie) – why did the PD have to pull out the teeth? Cannot just leave them in? Speaking of teeth, I am going to get crowning done for my 4 front teeth tomorrow to straighten them – vain!

lanolin (lanolin) – for Kieran, we give him his final feed of EBM for the night in his bed, burp half way though, then switch off all the lights when he is almost done – most nights he just dozes off after that and wakes up at about 4am for a top up.</font>

Yan: thanks for advise. my Ryan is opp from ur girl, day time he can sleep on his own, sometimes after feed he fell asleep n can sleep for abt 2hrs.
Only nite time recently ryan is like tat. Sigh the worse thing is my hubby keep saying to ryan "yes? yes? why u cry? sleep on your own la" So fed up lor. If BB cry sure got reason mah, if just by saying these can make ryan sleep, i would have won TOTO long ago lor.

jas: i'm interesting in a west side gathering if there is any.
i'm living in jurong west, the extreme west side, so it's very difficult for me to join in all the east and north side gatherings as i don't drive.

carrying baby
my girl also like to be carried in the upright position either facing the front or back. cradle carry only when she's fussing to sleep, then have to cradle carry and pat her to sleep.

Ava,
Though can fit into some of the clothings, still itching to buy new clothes..esp new underwear..hee..Have u been shopping too?
No worries abt the disc..

Yan,
We could arrange a westerner gathering then! We have storeberry, Jas, yourself and me on the west side...oh..not forgetting isabelle too..
If u gals are really keen, let fix a date/time/place?

Storeberry,
Hee..u will like the leg warmers..v cute! Which design did you buy? I bought the lime monkey and a classic checkers...wanted the grey ducky..but OOS liao..

Shazz, Storeberry,
Korean Serial- I dont like the actress in MY Girl..she act cute too much lah! Used to be so crazy over the lead actor in GONG and Sam Soon..FULL house is interesting too but Rain dont look good at all in the serial..a bit tu! haha

Bigtoes,
Are you referring to Xmas Menu A? looks good..

mandy/flos

i not sure if tts pokpok sound lei..cham..seems quite similar but minus the poo poo..she didn really poo alot... n her tummy look big lor...maybe will go get the gripe water/infacol to standby..

jas

my mil like to caary her like that...for me,i still carry her with her head on my shoulder burping position...coz wana air her back...haha

sunray/mandy

how u all give the rid wind etc? give direct feed or mix in her milk bottle? i forget alreasy...

bigtoes,
i missed the cut off for the xmas partyyyyyyyyy!!!! howwwwwwwwwwwwwww

bacon &amp; egg,
i might have met my match! i'm such a ch 55 &amp; 255 addict that i do the same as you. watch ch55 then 3 hrs later, switch to watch 255!!! then next day repeat, watch again! hehehehhe. hb just asked me last night wat i'd do without the ch.

jas,
i want a gathering here too. i stay at woodlands. wouldn't mind opening up my place. hehe.

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg): I opp! I love tat lead actress and will watch anything she's in! Even watched a sob sob one called Green Rose.

Sleeping through: my boy still cry when we leave him to sleep on his own at night, just that the crying duration is shorter now. But I think he sleeps better after he cry it out!

Am thankful my boy is sleeping thru for more than a week already! But this mummy is still waking up at night to check on the boy! Usually, last feed is 12 plus to 1am and he'll sleep thru till 7 plus in the morning. But one night, he fed at 1030am and woke up at 6 plus! That's like the record for this boy whose feeding hour is very consistent at 3 hours!
no secrets leh, I tried tanking him up before he sleeps but sometimes he'lll only drink 60ml or 70ml ... and the last feed is usually 100 or 120ml.

bigtoes

the menu A looks good...if book before 7th got waiver for transportation + disc for credit caRDS...

Mandy: maybe instead of having dim lights in the room, you can just turn off the lights to make the room dark. for my girl, usually her feed at 8pm+ will be in the room with dim lights then after finish feeding which usually by then she will be half asleep, we will put her on her bed, off the lights, close the curtains and door so the room will be pitch dark. she will then fall asleep by herself.

bacon&amp;egg: my place is in between jurong point and NTU area. ya, let's fix a date and time for a gathering.

Bigtoes, you are welcome. I order Kriston every year for my xmas eve party at home. So far for the past five years, no complaint lah. If we confirm on that, order quickly cos then tend to have block out dates during festive period esp weekend...

Flo, the legwarmers is good cos you do not need to remove when changing diapers...

bacon&amp;egg, keen! but i can only make it on some saturdays. cos sunday is family day and have since been back to work last week.

Calling all westerners - feel free to suggest a date/time/place for our meetup.

I vote for Holland V - Coffee Bean or Lot 1 (There is a new MOF outlet - serving Jap desserts..v nice!) Sat would be nice!

like to ask mummies here, does any of your baby make alot of noise when they want to pee or pass motion? noises like they having difficulty to pass urine or motion and trying to "gek" them out. is it normal? alyssa always make alot of noise till my mum get her cue now that she wants to pee or pass motion and put her on the potty and she really pee or poo poo in it.

West Gathering
How abt the following date/time/place?

Date: 22 Nov 08 (Sat)
Time: 2pm
Place: MOF Lot 1 Outlet
Attendance: BaconEgg &amp; BB

Since the westerner group is quite small, MOF should be able to accommodate us.

West Gathering

Date: 22 Nov 08 (Sat)
Time: 2pm
Place: MOF Lot 1 Outlet
Attendance:
1) BaconEgg &amp; BB
2) bbfam &amp; BB

Cranky babies: GOSH! ISAAC IS CRANKY TODAY!!! HELP! Since this morning, my boy has been wanting me to carry him! Now my arms are super sng!

sunrays: yes Sun Moulin is the bakery we are talking abt:p Next to Pepper Lunch and MOS BURGER u bet! How's your 'Cake' diaper bag?!

RIDWIND: I find ridwind useless too! Was forced to purchase it when I was at the PD for the first time. Yu Yee Oil is No. 1 in getting rid of wind for Isaac.

shazz: this 'ng ng' induction sound is really very effective. My maid does it to make Isaac poop when she sees him 'kek' until his face turns red!

Eamon is really a good boy! Mine will fall into a deep slumber at around 9pm (just in time to free up mom's time to watch those boliao soaps) and wake up to drink milk every 3 hrs thereafter. For the past 2 days, he's been sleeping thru for 4 hours. The mere 120ml milk has stretched his feeding interval to 4 hrs now.

lanolin: my hair lasted for 1h45min. That included the wash and blow dry.

Ava: I didn't go for highlights and lowlights. Mine was just one uniform dye! I've simply no time to sit there for the high and low lights

bigtoes: why do u need to go for crowning? do u need to extract your original teeth? I feel like going for liposuction. Anyone know Woffles or Georgia? LOL.

sasa: yeah, like others had probed, why can't your Max keep his two front teeth for Christmas so that he can wish you 'Merry Christmas'?!!!!*PUN intended*

lilboymom: u r a CB fan? Tell me, mommy, how r those Aromatherapy bath foams? I am so interested in them, more than I am with their delicious creme de la cremes.

HOLDING BB UPRIGHT: Yes! Since the Merlion era, I've been feeding and holding Isaac in an upright position. It's easier for the milk to flow down and easier for moi to burp him afterwards. He is always demanding that we carry him in an upright position in the malls. Otherwise, his head will bend backwards to peek at things upside down behind him!

Clothes: I've been wearing my non-pregger tops (though they are kinda tight when I'm engorged), but as for the bottoms, still no luck
I wish my DH would stop stocking up on Oreo cookies, ice-cream, Cheezels, Twisties! I can't stop munching on them at home when Isaac's sleeping...

Lanolin: a diaper clutch i merely a clutch bag for u to stuff your diapers or wipes into. OIOI bags hv them too, but they are transparent unlike PUPSIK ones which are in gorgeous designs. U shd get find them in your OIOI bag, no?

I must be the most blur Watsons shopper ever. Never seen CB Calendula creams there before! The "$13 market" is over I guess now that USD has gone up again. I wonder if it makes dollars &amp; cents (sense) for my sister to ship them back to me cos she's migrated to the US since Aug?!

Jojobar: thansk for the tip on leg warmers. But so far, I've not seen any babies wearing them in all the major malls I've ventured to (Vivo, Ngee Ann City, Paragon, Wisma, Centrepoint).

DANGERS of BEANSPROUT PILLOWS: OKAY, me just invested in 2 pupsik pillows but must warn parents to watch ur babies when u place those pillows over them when they are snoozing. I did just that and went on to do my own things. Then Isaac decided to raise both his arms and in doing so, he flipped the pillow upwards which landed on his face and almost smouldered him!!!! I happened to be reading nearby and heard the 'suffocating' muffled sound from him. Went to check, wah piang! the whole pillow was pressing on his nose and mouth! I quickly remove the pillow to rescue him...his whole face was white as sheet. thankfully he had that pillow over his face for less than 5 seconds...

BITING MITTENS: anyone of your bbs are biting and sucking his/her own saliva from the saliva soaked mittens?

RUBBING EYES: I wonder why Isaac is rubbing his eyes so often? Too dry? Infected? Itchy?

<font color="0000ff">Pulling of Teeth
hhmm.... according to PD.. those are not exactly teeth oso... so wouldn't grow some more lor. dunno how come have oso wor...

so now i'm praying hard tat when he starts to teeth.. it would be fine. but his gum still got the 2 'imprints'. like as tho there got 2 teeth lah..

hhmm.. think i should try to take a pic of his gum so u all noe wat i'm talking about

Westside mummies
I'm staying in Jurong West too *wave wave*!!!

Flos
oh Max sucks his mittens till they are all wet all the time. wonder if this is part of growing up process
coz he sucks my shirt / whoever is carrying him and even the bedsheet when we give him tummy time. oh.. sometimes he ends up sucking my arm too</font>

<font color="ff6000"> Flos: not sure what material pupsik used for the beansprout pillows. bigtoes and i made one pillow each ourselves, using very thin cloth from my old shirts. i caught kieran once with the pillow on his face at night, and was so worried, but then after i removed the pillow, he was still peacefully sleeping, and didn't seem very disturbed by the pillow over his face. i thought it's cos of the thin cloth and the air pockets between individual bits of the beansprout husk that allowed him to still breathe properly through the pillow. we made sure we packed the pillow loosely, so that there's sufficient space between the husks. of cos, i won't wanna risk having anything happen to him, i still check on him whenever i'm awake at night. anyway, i'm glad isaac is ok. just be careful, it's safer to place the pillow across his chest/tummy below his arms.</font>

Me too, a west side mom! but i cannot make it on that sat cos im not in spore

Jessi: i stay near the Stadium here, think we are qte near each other, hehe.

Flos,

My Isaac has also recently developed this "habit" of sucking his mittens and also rubbing his eyes and face furiously till the skin area is all red and almost peeling! I take the rubbing of his eyes as a cue that he's very tired. Sucking on his mittens... dunno if that's a new hobby!

beansprout pillows
flos, the same thing has happened to my bb twice too! and like bigtoes' kieran, she was still happily zzzing away. now i just place it vertically down her chest like a little bolster.

rubbing eyes
one bb site says it means bb is sleepy.

lot 1
can someone tell me where this is? and what's mof?

Wow... Xmas gathering at Bigtoes house in Sengkang. So sad...no more slotz.
Always envy you all having so much fun during gatherings. But I don't have much confidence to bring BB out myself.

Sunrays, your BB did not poo for 5 days? Did you bring BB to PD? My BB did not poo for 4 days I bring her to check, PD say it's common, BB trying to adapt to the digestive system and say her daughter last time did not poo for 8 days. As long as BB did not feel discomfort. But gosh, so many days of poo inside, and her tummy looks like going to explode.

flos
o yes ive tried that too. the tired and cranky, and bedtime whatever, o yes, and the cold and flu ones.....im not so sure how it is, but boy sleeps ok lah...i bought it not so much coz he wasnt sleeping well, just wanna try the range..

frankly think it works like any other brand...but i just like some of their other stuff lo...

when isaac is older, you can try their bubble bath...cy loves that!!!!!it comes with a wand so can blow bubbles while bathing...quite fun!!

dracwy: PUPSIK pillows are much bigger than the one I got from Robs and they are made of flannel cotton (i.e. those material used for your pyjamas). They are filled with green beans. But just for the record, it's NOT the pupsik pillows that nearly smouldered Isaac but the small one from Robs! PUPSIK ones are too heavy and huge to be flipped I suppose (no one knows and no one wants to know).

I'll just hv to check that it's tucked under his arms...

kyrie/xuanting: your bbstoo? I also read from the websites that it's an indication that the bb is sleepy. But the constant rubbing is causing his eyelids to turn red and swollen...

Hi mummies, so long never post here. Managed to read thru most of the postings. All the bbs pics shown here are so cute.

Maternity Leave:
Checked with my company, I will be given the 4th mth as long as they can claim from govt.

Flo:
Ur posting on your maid and the escalator and lift really make me laugh. I told my maid about your posting she also laughed. She said she is also like that when she first came to Spore.

Sri Leo:
Totally agreed with what the other mummies that $600 is too low. U should ask for more cos the expenses to raise a bb are high. From milk to clothing to education fees, etc all needs money. U are being so kind to him as to think if he can cope but will he think if you can cope on your own?

Wingkei:
Since he wants u to bring bb back to his mother house along, why can’t u do the same and bring the bb back to your mother house alone. Please let him knows married women are entitled to go back to their ‘niang jia’ to catch up and have dinner with our family members. I felt that he is too ‘da nan ren’ and always mummy said do this do that or friends said do this do that.

Wingkei, you are just like my friend who hubby knew you don’t dare to go against him and will always give in once they are more fierce than you, hence he like ‘ci ding ni le’. Hence you must find courage to stand up for yourself, fight for your right. Like my friend, was kena bully by her hubby for so many years and finally, she made a hard decision – divorce him. Please don’t be mistaken that I am asking you to divorce him.

For my friend hubby, he always threaten to harm her family or friends whenever he can’t have his ways. He always asked her for money but all these years he had never support my friend a single cent. Everyone around her asked her to leave him but she being soft hearted and of course love, gave him 1 chance after another. Until now she finally gave up cos she can’t take it anymore (cos she had other woman outside).
Wingkei, please be strong and take care of yourself cos your bb still need you.

6-in-1:
I brought my bb to GP for his 6-in-1 jab @ $123 including consultation (can’t remember if the consultation fee is $18 or $28). This doc was recommended by my gynae.

CH 55 / 255 / 8
Yup me also watching the dancing serial (usually watch at 11pm with hubby) and car makers serial (usually watch on Sunday) cos 9pm I am watching CH8 “Bufan de ai”.

For day time when bb sleeps, I will turn on either the TV or Nursery Rhymes. This is to create some noise level so that he won’t have problem sleeping outside.

For those who understand Cantonese and want to watch the “Tang xin feng bao” part 2, can watch at this website http://www.mysoju.com/. At this website, you can watch Korea, Japan, Taiwan &amp; Hong Kong show. I just finished watching the Taiwan show “ming zong zui ding wo ai ni”.

Maid:
I felt that luck plays a great part in getting a good maid and likewise for maid to get a good employer. I am glad my maid did not give me any problem.

Jas:
Me too carrying my bb this way too. Like you said, he can see the surroundings.

Hi Abalone:
Which part of woodlands do you stay? Me at Woodlands Drive 75.

Sorry for the long posting...