(2008/09) Sep 2008

XMAS GATHERING: Pls add your nicks.
Tentative date: Sat, 13th Dec
Tentative time: 5-8pm
Venue: Bigtoes & Dracwy's place (Seng Kang, one LRT stop from Seng Kang MRT)
Attendance:
1) Bigtoes & Dracwy & Baby Kieran
2) Bacon&egg, Baby Kaiden & hubby
3) Ava & Hb & kids

bigtoes: u looked great in RED!!! I wonder if the "housebrand" hair-dye offered by Mdm Jean Yip lasts?

Do u find that u need to change your entire makeup palette once u chang your hair color? I've got orange hair, blue-black hair, purple hair, copper hair...what hv u!!! Luckily I've some plum-colour lipsticks and pink blushers to go with my new hair colour

Bigtoes: U hv fewer pieces of clothes than those ornaments?!! Dun blur! U were the one with 50+ Maternity tops!!!

Btw, where can I get cheap and nice X'mas ornaments? Concourse ones?

autum: ok tks, i'll continue to watch tonite! Like Bigtoes, I missed out on that crucial episode on Mon.

shazz/bacon: what Ch 55 HK serial r u two watching? The Lawyer one? or the Carmaker one? Not the Abalone tycoon one right? I've cancelled my Ch 55 in July, so I dunno what u two r talking abt!!

I happened to watch the new TVB "TEN BROTHERS" at 7pm last nite. It's...erm, quite hilarious!! I mean, those BIG babies!

xuanting: my DH and I thot we wanted to sail the seven seas before settling down in our first 3-4 yrs of our marriage. Then when we decided to "quit the night scenes", we found it really hard to strike!!! So better hurry up before hitting the Big 4!!

TINGKAT: why r u ordering tingkat? I think it's possible to cook on your own even without a maid. I cooked my own lunch and dinner without my maid on certain days when she's cleaning the windows or bathrooms. Just gotta find the right time when baby's asleep...

hey shazz
thanks for the info. will be getting a medela cooler bag with the barang inside
depending on how well it works might get a smaller FTG to bring to work. the medela will allow me to shuffle bet home and parents place.

sarahmay,
im still latch on unless almost necessary getting tired already
last feed i try to keep him at the breast as long as possible. occasionally when im out my MIL says that he will take up to 150ml of EBM for the last feed at 11ish. yesterday he slept at about 12 and woke at 4 so i suppose the 5 hour thing is a one off haha

i wanna come too ..... i ljust love christmas and my tree is already up! without the deco .. coz we cant find the box of deco in the storeroom haha

Venue: Bigtoes & Dracwy's place (Seng Kang, one LRT stop from Seng Kang MRT)
Attendance:
1) Bigtoes & Dracwy & Baby Kieran
2) Bacon&egg, Baby Kaiden & hubby
3) Ava & Hb & kids
4) Preggie & HB & Bb

<font color="0000ff">Ch 8 9pm show
Gosh... how come so many of u are able to turn on ur tv to watch? Hb was juz commenting this morning that we should sell away our tv since it has become a white elephant. onli turned on on Sat when he watches his football. other than that.. we juz can't seem to find the time to watch. every nite whatever time we have is spent playing / talking to my boy / coaxing / feeding him to slp... sighz....

Spree-ing
that's the downside of having gals.. hehe... can juz spree non-stop. but i sure wan a gal nxt round. jia you!!! my FIL has agreed to stop smoking if we have a gal and this grand-daughter of his were to tell him "Ye Ye, please stop smoking". so according to him, he still can continue smoking for the nxt 5 yrs at least...</font>

dracwy,
i burst out laughing whilst reading the post you wrote to bigtoes! men!! dun u understand we can never hv excess of anything??? it was so funny that you even mentioned size of said box!

flos,
the abalone tycoon show over liao lah. now they are showing the carmaker and steps with bernice liu and steven ma. me ch 55 addict. and i like the ch 8's 9pm show now too. like flos, i missed monday's episode. luckily got my mum to update me.

watching tv...

haha..me too..everynite glue to the tv for the ch55 or ch255..the car maker show getting more interesting to watch liao whereas the dance show i like coz they all dress up nice nice in their dancing gear...

TCM

any mummies koe if taking tcm can bf? or must pump n throw? coz been having v bad cough so went to c chinese physicians..

abalone, flos... i love watching HK dramas too but i watch them on dvd, the carmaker show is called 'Drive Of Life'. The cast of the abalone show starr in another show called 'moonlight resonance', this time the family sells mooncakes. Those of you who like watching drama series should consider getting the hubstation, its really cool, ever since i got mine, i've been recording a lot of shows and watching them at my own free time.

MS: i was also suffering from very low milk supply so i asked my gynae for a medicine called Domperidone and it really works, my milk supply has increased by a lot. i used to only be able to pump 10 or 20ml.. now i can pump around 80 to 100ml. i take it together with fenugreek tablets.

can i tentatively put my name down for the sengkang gathering?

Venue: Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy's place (Seng Kang, one LRT stop from Seng Kang MRT)
Attendance:
1) Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy &amp; Baby Kieran
2) Bacon&amp;egg, Baby Kaiden &amp; hubby
3) Ava &amp; Hb &amp; kids
4) Preggie &amp; HB &amp; Bb
5). Cloud &amp; BB

Shazz, i forgot to thank you for sending the calendula cream to me.. thanks a lot, it has a very nice smell, been using it for my boy's cradle cap.

Milk stains: does anyone have problems with removing milk stains from bb's clothing?

Teachers: when the news came out that the 16 week ML only applies for babies born after Oct 31 i almost freaked out because i'd already gotten my P's permission to extend my maternity leave for another month.. initially i thought of returning to work next week and then continuing my ML in january but now i've decided to just extend my leave and return to work in december..

alabone: OIC! 岁月风云? Who is Bernice Liu &amp; Steven Ma?

er, I dun quite like Charmaine Sheh cos she is always rumoured to be w/some married actors

sarahmay: Like R(A)?!!! Sorrie, me not Cecilia Cheung or Gillian Chung!!! dun want to expose my face here...

Bandanas on boys. Like Jack Sparrow in Pirates of the Carribean? That's really cuute!

sasa: surely there'll be a window of opportunity (when he is sleeping) at nite for u to watch something on telly, no?

Flos,
It is now the dancing and carmaker serial on Channel 55.

Sasa,
8-10pm is my off time from Kaiden. Hubby will take over Kaiden while i rest for those 2 hours before I resume my shift again! During the day, v tempted to turn on the tv to watch repeats but no chance...bb cries whenever i attempted to turn on the tv! haha..

alabone,
me Ch 55 addict too!
u can watch the repeats the next day if you miss the previous nite. Or watch the repeats during weekend.

ava,
Tried on my old working skirts just now, it fits!! Thank god i listen to your advice and hold my purchases
I am so motivated to lose more weight now!!

Hi Lanolin,

Both you and Ava found me familar ? Then i am pretty sure that my face is common then.... Ava send me the possible connection(the schools). Nope i did not attend any of those schools.

Spreeing:
I am also addicted to it.. buying so much (from legwarmer to toys) and hubby is complaining so now i am also selling away lots of the stuff that i dont need. Esp those brand new ones....

Sunray &amp; jaymickey,
You know what ? You guys make me so envious... to be able to dress up your daughter... So limited accessories for boy... These are some the dress up i have Marcellus

1854728.jpg
1854729.jpg

Flos,
Haha..u r really humorous!
Bernice Liu is the spokewoman for Expression. Steven Ma not my cup of tea..i like the actor in the carmaker show though...the bad character - Wei YongBiao

Jojo,
Do you find the leg warmer too long for newborns? I bought a couple..they are cute but really long in length..

Are you tempted to buy those neck float? i just bought a swimming float for 6 mths onwards..not sure if i should get the neck float for now to 6mths

Hi bacon&amp;egg,

You are a Hong Kong drama addict too ??? I am, I chase the series till late nite...

On the leg warmers, I am okay with the lenght cos at the lower leg, i create multiple folds...look nice mah... hee hee
Oh, there is a new spree on the bandana bib spree... I will buy as well... look good as well....

Flos
I'm a Pupsik beansprout pillow fan, I have 4 different pillow cases. I love it, very useful for baby.

Bigtoes &amp; drawcy
That's a grand idea! I just hope Devon will be more well-behaved by then &amp; not scream the whole house down.

jojo &amp; bacon&amp;egg
Haha, I didn't use to 'chase' drama serials last time.. only started during confinement.. now must watch every night! Miss the one that just ended, Glittering Days.

<font color="119911">bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) – okie, my catering is now on a 2 week trial. Will try First Catering once this one is over. Is their food less oily compared to Lexin's one?

xuanting (xuanting) – wow, u guys are thinking of no. 2 already? My gyne said not to try till at baby is at least 6 months, but I read that the best timing is at least 2 years after delivery, to allow for the womb to heal completely and be able to nourish a new foetus. For us, whether we have no. 2 or not really depends on how easy it is to cope with Kieran when he is bigger.

ava (avalyn) and Flos (flos) – the last I went to a salon to color my hair was last year (Jean Yip) – ended up spending $300+ and hours at the salon, and the color didn’t last any longer! I much prefer DIYs – just leave the color on for 30 minutes and watch telly, and then I am done.

Flos (flos) – hah, I have had an assortment of hair colors over the years as well! Been meaning to add blonde streaks to my hair these couple of days, but been too lazy to do it.
Hah, yes, I know I have a lot of clothes. But then, I still complain that I have nothing to wear! My maternity clothes are fighting for cupboard space with Kieran's clothes now!

Xmas ornaments – I think they have some at Concourse, but haven't checked those out. I usually get mine from CK Tang/Metro, or if I go to the States, then from shops like Crate &amp; Barrel, and lug them back (yes, even the crystal baubles). I even checked in 2 chandeliers from Boston a couple of years back when we were looking to furnish our apartment!

sasa (sasa_xie) – don’t u watch telly during the day when baby is asleep? I am watching a lot more TV nowadays cos I switch on occasionally when I am BFing. Am also borrowing DVDs from an online DVD rental shop (Hollywood Clicks).

Jo Jo (jojobar) – Marcellus is so cute in that photo!
Your photo reminded me that Kieran has the same octopus toy (hand me down from his cousin) in the storeroom somewhere! This is the one where you can press the legs to make music right?</font>

wah me is a hk drama serial chaser too!!! Just too bad i dun speak cantonese. Seems that it sounds better in canto!

lilboymum
good idea! hee hee

bigtoes
am keen to join the celebration too but need to check with hubbs first!

Venue: Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy's place (Seng Kang, one LRT stop from Seng Kang MRT)
Attendance:
5). Cloud &amp; BB
6) Isa_belle, Hubbs &amp; 2 kids

Hi Limay, count me in for x'mas gathering too!

Attendance:
5). Cloud &amp; BB
7) Dmbb &amp; hb &amp; bb

Jojobar - maybe it was through work or something. Anyway, doesn't matter la. We know each other now!

Limay - which brand of hair colour do you use? I would like to colour my hair too....I've got quite a lot of white hair so it's time to do some touch-ups, esp for the festive period.

Attendance:
5). Cloud &amp; BB
7) Lanolin &amp; HB &amp; Declan

I USED to love HK serials ... What's on now? I hear that there's a good show with gigi lai about jewellery....what r the timing of the shows that r good on Channel 55??

wah so many TVB addicts ........... me tooo haha just that all the shows on ch 55 and 255 i have watched. coz i always rent or watch online. but i can watch one show like a few times until my hubby always ask me what will happen next. so anyone needs to know the ending of any show ask me ! hahahaha as for DRive of life this is the second time im watching .... think someone asked what's Wei Yong Biao's name right ... his name is Joe Ma hehe for those who wanna watch really old shows but in cantoese can watch ch 48 also ... now they are showing Bu Yi Shen Xiang and Xi Guan Da Shao (my all time fav TVB drama!)
i wish my ML will go on coz i totally dig watching TV! but now i master the art of watching tv in the softest volume possible coz of bb
my mum says its been a habit since i was a baby. all she had to do was put me in front of a tv with my smelly pillow and i will be totally occupied until i got hungry

Hi Bigtoes,

Yes, the octupus can squeeze to make different sound. Marcellus love this toy... You are so lucky to have hand me down from relative..For me, no hand me down at all... Have to buy and now two of my cousins are pregnant so i will pass Marcellus clothes to them !

Lanolin, come to think of it..We could have met thru work. Some workshop or presentation or networking event ..Since we both are in the Human performance arena as well....

Bigtoes,
I would like to join your christmas party too.

Attendance:
5). Cloud &amp; BB
8) Autum &amp; 2 kids (+ maid or hubby)

<font color="0077aa">Shazz: Your mum &amp; Mil is so sweet! Mine is pass me down from my sis but mother made the cover.. Keke..

Limay: I hope to join in the gathering! Can I put my name tentatively first?

Attendance:
5). Cloud &amp; BB
8)Autum &amp; 2 kids (+ maid or hubby)
9) storeberry &amp; Zane</font>

mei

glittering days is? wats the chinese title har?

Blocked ducts

mummies,can tell me what are the steps i should do to remove it? last 2 days,i was sick till very jiat liat + breathless but still gota 'tong' to take care of FB &amp; bb at home as hubby is away at the wake most of the time.last nite only manage to get my rest &amp; i overslept my pumping session...didnt pump for 7hrs &amp; my left breasts hard like rock man..now,got abit of 'redish' &amp; lumps...sian sian..so scare it will become the mastitias again n then gota take antibiotic...now i didnt even dare to take my tcm coz i need bb to latch to try to unblock it..arrghh..n the milk pump from left is lesser than the right in the same time frame...

Milk Amt

my bb seems to be taking lesser milk these few days now..abit worried lei..night time she was sleeping so i dun wake her up but daytime her intake oso not much..abt 5/6 feeds a day at about 120ml/latch on mixture.n her diaper hor was dry,tink only 1 pee last tonite from 2am-10am....

<font color="0077aa">nelc: yah man, bb's habit changes super fast lo! First he loves the pacifier till he make the "zu zu" sound, now he push it out &amp; make a disgusting face when I put inside his mouth! Haha!!

Sasa: My room is facing the living room, I just need to tilt abit of my Samsung TV to face my bedroom then I am able to watch the show while sitting on my bed carrying baby! Haha.. I reckon it would be less bored then trying to coax him to sleep.

Jojo &amp; bacon&amp;egg: Boys wear leg warmers too? I always thot bb gals wear it only! Doh!</font>

SarahMay - milk spilling , so far my boy just yankes off the spray and stares at me, then i will wipe it off him. LOL.
Bandanas - my HB asked for the same thing, he say boys will look cool in them and there seem to be a lack of baby sized ones or not at all around.

autum - cookies..hmm..am not into cookies making. Am into bread, cakes, muffins and cupcakes making so i dont have a good recipe to share. One good website to look at is www.realbakingwithrose.com. All her recipes are simply wonderful. Although i do have a box of cookie cutters that a friend gave me for Xmas and I have not used. usually for cookies, its best to have a big oven, maybe that is why i never made them.

xuanting - Get the Zojirushi, i swear by it. used to have a Princess and my aunt has the Kenwood. The final bread texture is really different. With the Zojirushi, the bread is simply soft and maintains like that for 3 days.
Me too, i can eat bread and butter only, every meal.And i cannot not have no bread at home. The bread maker is really convenient, though i must say a loaf of plain bread cost cheaper if bought- like NTUC bread. The upside to your own machine is that there is no presevatives and u get bread without much work. But bread is best when made by hand still. When HB and i were DINKs, i could make bread from scatch, but now with my boy, i think its harder.

Ch 8 - Bu Fan, am watching it on miotv so am ahead of the eps at 9pm. I usually watch when expressing milk. Anyways, my job is watchin tv, so am a true tv serial addict.

Used to have SCV and Ch 55 , but gave it up when i switched jobs.

breadmum,
i think it was Isabelle who asked u for cookie recipes.. hee, but i would love to have them too! thanks for sharing. hmm, bake cookies need big oven? oh, then i probably can't.. cos my oven is super small. I bought a real cheap ($49) oven just to try baking muffins.. cos i was worried it will be a spur-of-the-moment thing for me.. so i didn't want to invest in a good oven. anyway, after i start attending the baking course, then i will decide if i should get a bigger n better oven. But i have headache over the lack of space in my kitchen.

I am a big fan of TVB shows.. I have already finished Tang Xin Feng Pao Part 2, 40 episode.. is very nice.. currently watching Yu Di Tong Xing and The Fours.. I am going after the channel 8's 9pm show.. missed last friday's.. luckily monday's then they saw how he contacted Aids..

Bacon&amp;eggs: U like Yongbiao the character or Joe Ma De Zhong, the actor?! I like him too
Chen Hao is my idol as well (the illegitimate son of the Abalone tycoon in TangXin FengBao)

preggie: now that u mention, yes, I do hv Ch 48 but I only watch the E-news. I dun like Bu Yi Shen Xiang, but I like Xi Guan Da Shao (which is an old soap).

Mei: which four did u buy? I ordered the Cupcakes and Aqua Sheep. I'd like to see real photos of the Blue Chicks, Blue Boats and Lime Boats. Do u happen to hv them in your collection? The new poss bloss bib is really nice but it's currently NA.
1855263.jpg

Bigtoes: u checked in the chandeliers from Boston?!!! U r really a shopaholic!!! It's really extreme to hv a diff colour scheme every yr! That's really extravangant. I love Crate &amp; Barrel stuffs as well
I find Robinsons' X'mas decorations very beautiful. I just browse thru Ikea's X'mas decorations; they are quite lovely too.

Where did u buy all your maternity dresses? I've never seen them before. Are they tailor-made?

Hair colour: hv u tried jet-black for your hair? Like Dee Hsu (Xiao 'S'). Actually u look very pretty without makeup and tinted lenses lah!!! Try the new Chinois look for CNY, how? keke

ON WATCHING TV: is it safe to feed baby whilst watching tv? My TV is rather huge (40") and very near to the sofa. I dun want Isaac to become myopic!

By any chance are u going to order a turkey for the X'mas gathering?!!

bigtoes: u r at park green? good

Attendance:
5). Cloud &amp; BB
9) storeberry &amp; Zane
10) Flos &amp; BB (maid and/or hubs)

Possible to invite some carollers?...I love carolling!!!

Hi hi! Took Kym and Jaymickey's advice and brought Shauna for a swim
She didn't really move alot at first but started kicking after a while.. think it devts motor skills so signed up package
Oh - noticed that the tub was half full and they added fresh water.. the lady explained that it takes a looong time to fill the whole tub so they will fill half first.. says they will empty whole tub after each use...

Bacon&amp;egg - Rem our encounter outside Lok's place? Haha few days ago it was my turn to be on hp with hubby asking him how to close the mclaren!! and u know the mclaren is quite idoit proof and less heavy than your P3! I'm so bad with hardware..

Bigtoes - you look good as a redhead! Not my gathering la! Ava's was the NEL gathering, so the upcoming one is just a Nov gathering n yrs the Christmas special
My flat isn't very big just that we made our rooms smaller for larger living area for church gatherings.. now can put ti-lams for mummies to chat, share experiences! Would love to celebrate Christmas with you all.. gotta check with hb if any activities lined up already (usually sat nts quite bz)... will update u again ya..

Mummies - just got back from Amara Sanctuary Sentosa. Quite a nice getaway with little one.. fyi!

Forgot to add in my attendance earlier!

Attendance:
5). Cloud &amp; BB
9) storeberry &amp; Zane
10) Flos &amp; BB (maid and/or hubs)
11) Mei, hubby &amp; Devon

Flos
I just went to the website.. so many new designs now leh! I ordered when I was still preggy so the designs I got must be old. I got moon &amp; stars, alphabet one &amp; a horse one (both are not on the website anymore) from the cotton range &amp; sage retro from the designer's range. Oh man.. feel like getting more pillowcases after seeing the website.

Flos: I didn't realise Pupsik got a similar print for the pillow case. I just went there to choose the cloth and pass them to MIL to sew them.
They're much smaller than the ones Pupsik is selling though.

I usually get my Christmas ornaments from IKEA, cheap and nice, can afford to change theme every year! When the trims and all adds up, can be so exp! I love Metro's collection this year, italian inspired, totally reminds me of Venice and Murano and Burano.

I watch tv when feeding my boy too! I dun think it's serious enough to cause any myopia!

TV addict: yes! I'm tv addict too! Was so into korean dramas! hehe ... now my son is a mini tv addict too! I know some mums frown upon tv, but I'm so amused when my boy squeals in delight when I played Your Baby Can Read introduction DVD! Been playing that for him whenever he's up for some entertainment, very useful when I run out of things to tell him! haha ... he joins me when I watch ch 55, 16 and CNA too! hehe

cloud: you're most welcomed! calendula cream works for cradle cap too? didnt do much for my boy cos i applied it on his eyebrows, which kena cradle cap. I rub facial olive oil on his brows instead and for his head, I use the Mustela Infant Shampoo, meant to treat cradle cap.

jaymickey

Tang Xin Feng Bao got part 2? is it connected to the part 1? some series part 2 abit far off lei i tink...hopefully ch55 will show them soon..

flos

i oso worried abt carine's eyesight as my tv oso v big..dun koe wat inch but tink too big for my small living room..carine's eyes will usually turn towards there when i feeding her the ebm.i tend to switch on coz sometimes she take abt 15min to fnish n it gets tiring n sleepy for me...then hor, when i tease her say she watch tv, she will smile back at me...argghh...

springz

very nice pic..sharp n sweet..i like the pic 2 close up best..

Angeline Goh - is completely not related, part 2 is talking abt mooncakes.. but the casts are more or less the same.. i doubt 55 will show them so fast cos i only finished them during confinement.. hee hee..

Springz, u bought Shauna to Hwa Xia as well?

Jaymickey - ya ya!! her first time!! were you there?

Tks Angeline.. ya the close ups quite deceiving.. makes her look bigger n older than she is! haha... oh n her 'sweetness' also quite deceiving.. wait till you hear her cry!

autum &amp; isabelle - opps. sorry, so many posts that i lost track who asked the question.

Autum - I too faced a small kitchen problem, so that is why i bought a tabletop oven. for cookies, why i say must be a big oven cause, you wont have to bake in many batches = time wastage. Small ovens = lesser no. of cookies baked at one go. My dream is to have an island kitchen..like nigella's kitchen.drool...

Springz - awww..she is so adorabe and the bed looked so comfy.

Sigh I'm still up.. Kym Kym! The massage that made Scarlett sleep for hrs is not working on Shauna! She is crying even more (me so sleepy now..)

breadmum - can teach me how to bake? haha.. my attempts always er look like a crater.. ya now that u mention it, the bed was very comfy!!

Springz
Shauna looks so adorable. I like the picture with her lying on the bed as if saying,'It's MY bed, so plush.' Nice shots. You took it with an SLR?

Mei: that's great! was about to ask you how's Devon's skin. Saw his model pictures on FB, looks ok already, so forgot to ask!
I love the smell!
and I like to apply the cream, to deter his grandparents from kissing him! keke

breadmum (breadmum): now I know why your nick is breadmum, cos u simply love bread! I love bread too ... especially the Cinnamon loaf from Simply Bread! Yum!